Volkswagen Jetta Hybrid – 1.4 TSI marries 20 kW motor

You’ve seen the cool Volkswagen E-Bugster earlier, now here’s something less exciting but nearer to the showrooms, the Jetta Hybrid. The Jetta’s zero-flair bodyshell now houses a hybrid powertrain which marries a 150 PS/250 Nm 1.4-litre TSI petrol engine to a 20 kW electric motor.

Together, the combo delivers around 20% better fuel consumption over an equivalent petrol-powered Jetta (19 km/l) and decent performance – 0-100 km/h takes less than nine seconds.

Like the Touareg Hybrid, the Jetta is a parallel hybrid, using a decoupling clutch that can disengage the petrol motor for pure electric drive (or when coasting or braking), disengage the electric motor (for higher speeds or when the battery charge is low), or combine the two units for maximum power. Power is directed to the front wheels via a seven-speed dual clutch DSG gearbox

Using electric power alone, the Jetta Hybrid can be driven at speeds of up to 70 km/h and over a distance of 2 km, depending on conditions. For maximum performance, both the TSI engine and the electric motor combine for peak power of 170 PS.

A lithium-ion battery supplies energy to the electric motor. It is located behind the rear seat bench, making no compromises on interior space. The 38.5 kg pack is made up of 60 individual cells, and together they produce a nominal voltage of 220 V and an energy capacity of 1.1 kWh.

Cooling is provided by an integrated fan, operated by the battery’s own management system that performs diagnostic, monitoring and safety functions, including disconnecting itself in an accident.

If the battery has enough juice, the Jetta Hybrid is switched to electric drive mode either automatically (at speeds of up to 60 km/h) or at the press of a button next to the gear lever (up to 70 km/h).

When the driver releases the gas pedal at higher speeds (up to 135 km/h) the TSI engine is decoupled, reducing drag torque losses. Under braking, it switches to battery regeneration mode. At higher speeds, or when the battery is depleted, the engine provides extra power to recharge the battery.

Despite the extra weight of the battery, motor and extra safety mods to the vehicle structure, the Jetta Hybrid weighs only 100 kg more than the non-hybrid sedan at below 1,500 kg. Externally, the Jetta Hybrid can be identified by aero mods including a new front spoiler, a rear diffuser and a rear spoiler that help to improve the car’s Cd value by 10%.

With a 1.4-litre engine, the Jetta Hybrid qualifies for Malaysia’s tax incentives for hybrid cars – will this be the first non-Japanese hybrid player in our market? Read our review of the Jetta 1.4 TSI here.

Danny Tan loves driving as much as he loves a certain herbal meat soup, and sweet engine music as much as drum beats. He has been in the auto industry since 2006, previously filling the pages of two motoring magazines before joining this website. Enjoys detailing the experience more than the technical details.

• kevin lee on Jan 10, 2012 at 9:09 pm

this is gonna be yummy, gonna give lexus ct200h a run for its money!!!

• Jimmy on Jan 10, 2012 at 10:44 pm

This is gonna be cheaper than ordinary Jetta, so expect RM60K cheaper than CT200h.

• Paul Tan on Jan 10, 2012 at 11:57 pm

It depends if Volkswagen even makes a right hand drive version. There are many nice Audi hybrids that have engines smaller than 2,000cc so they might qualify for the duty exemptions, but Audi doesn’t make right hand drive versions so Euromobil cannot bring them in.

• Tankado on Jan 10, 2012 at 10:46 pm

Bro, they are of different class.

If this ever makes it to Malaysia, it would cost even lower than CKD jetta with adjusted price. RM115k?

• Danny on Jan 10, 2012 at 11:43 pm

Tested drive CT200h before, I don’t think it got the high class & quality, sound proof so so only, for a nearly 200k car, I would say not worth it!

End up I pick the VW Golf 1.4 tsi, much more high quality & class than CT200h, but cheaper! :-)

• If u can’t afford 200k car, juz admit it. Ur car is way 50k cheaper. If u got a gti version then i respect ur opinion la, brudder.

• Wow very good looking car ! u know what VW Hybrid is way sexy than the normal version of TSI !

• Gavin on Jan 10, 2012 at 9:25 pm

It’s all fun and games until something breaks

• We wan TDI…
    our G and petrol company takes forever to upgrade the Euro4 standard..

• kadajawi on Jan 10, 2012 at 9:52 pm

Sweet. But Toyota won’t give the advantage of being tax free to customers… understandable, because who would buy a Vios when the Prius C costs just as much, with better specs etc.?

Unless the manufacturer has no intention whatsoever to sell other cars, they have to use the tax breaks to make more profit. Lets say this Jetta gets sold for 100-120k… who would buy a normal Jetta? Or a Golf? Or a Polo? Although when they sell only a few of these anyway it could make sense, the only ones who would suffer would be the other brands.

Renault could do it if they had a hybrid. All the other Renaults they sell are performance models, so there’s no in house competition (although Tan Chong might see it differently).

Oh, and that’s an interesting car. Finally a proper engine in an hybrid that shouldn’t cost too much.

• raymond on Jan 10, 2012 at 10:05 pm

i cant wait for that ….

• woklt on Jan 10, 2012 at 10:15 pm

When will be the launch in malaysia?

• Danny, your article contains 2 speedo graphics, but they looked the same – whats the intention?

• Quattro on Jan 10, 2012 at 10:54 pm

Brapa harga cadangannya

• Wak Segan on Jan 10, 2012 at 10:58 pm

WAAAA….got LED DRL?
    I like….I like

• At RM120k this Jetta will sell better than gasoline version.

• Lion King on Jan 10, 2012 at 11:23 pm

This is for North American market only, no? Btw, I think you missed out (intentionally perhaps) some ”negative specs” for this model i.e. torsion beam rear suspension & low rolling resistance tires, as compared to our Euro-spec Jetta.

• Notice that the VW Jetta hybrid is using Li-ion instead of Ni-Mh like the current Toyota Prius available in malaysia.

And it’s 4WD …

At first glace, i thought the Jetta Hybrid engine redlines at 10’000 RPM…

• Jetta Hybrid is still boring. I want a Jetta R, the Evo X killer, instead

• VOLVO FOR LIFE on Jan 10, 2012 at 11:37 pm

bring it here!

• taboogen on Jan 11, 2012 at 12:07 am

wow.. and upgrade from gen2/persona meter and also reev meter cluster..

• Carl Wong on Jan 11, 2012 at 1:44 am

A lot of different kinds/styles of hybrids are coming in this year and the next thanks to the tax incentives :]….!!! The hybrid war is getting hot!!

• quottro on Jan 11, 2012 at 9:32 am

this is tempting…wonder how much would it be priced here?

• Unforgiven on Jan 11, 2012 at 10:16 am

I would like to be the first to buy this if it is below rm120k.

• Kevin on Jan 11, 2012 at 5:17 pm

Pls bring in this car, for me below 120k for sure I will buy as well :-)

• tikus on Jan 11, 2012 at 7:01 pm

VW please make right hand drive version…we Malaysian need it badly.My next car will be German…

• i am waiting the ckd gasoline jetta from Pekan..hybrid will make my choice differ..

• FC?

• Ian Sia on Jan 12, 2012 at 11:49 am

hope VW Malaysia brings in this car. I think it will give us more options for Hybrids. If priced correctly around RM120k, i believe this car will sell very well. it may steal a lot of sales from the Altis and Civic considering that is bigger and longer.. and it is German!

• If this is 120K the overrated prius can tapau.

• AntiFuse on May 05, 2012 at 9:20 am

When is it coming to Msia ?

• pearjai on Dec 01, 2012 at 2:33 am

in US this car sold at 94k-97k….the price should <rm110k in our shoes….erm,seem affordable VW jetta nowday ar ! great price with free excise duty ar ?

• When does it come to malsia?