Hyundai Veloster Turbo sports it up with 201hp and 264Nm

Hyundai has premiered the Veloster Turbo at the NAIAS in Detroit. The car, which is 3 cm longer and 15.2 cm wider than the naturally-aspirated Veloster, is powered by a 1.6 litre Gamma turbocharged four-cylinder GDI engine.

Output figures for the 2013 North American version is 201 hp at 6,000 rpm and 264 Nm of torque from 1,750 to 4,500 rpm. Unique to Hyundai’s twin-scroll turbocharger setup is a patent-pending one-piece cast design for the stainless steel exhaust manifold and the twin-scroll turbine housing, as well as a motor-driven electrical controller for the waste-gate.

Transmission-wise, the car is available with a choice of an in-house six-speed automatic or manual transmission. The manual features a wider gear ratio spread of 5.71 to the NA’s 5.25 to handle the additional torque output.

Speaking of increased torque output, the choice of an auto gearbox, as opposed to the NA Veloster’s DCT, is due to this. The gear ratio spread on the automatic transmission is slightly narrower than the DCT (6.0 versus 6.38), and this narrower spread maintains the engine in the power band when going from one gear to the other – Hyundai says the base Veloster’s DCT is tuned for fuel efficiency, and not for the performance feel needed for the Turbo.

The car features a sport-tuned engine intake and exhaust note – the Veloster’s trapezoidal centre exhaust has been removed and replaced with two larger free flowing circular pipes and a new intake manifold, allowing the engine to offer a more full-bodied sound.

It also gets some revised bodywork; there’s a bigger, bolder hexagonal front grille, sculpted side skirts and a new, dynamic rear bumper with prominent diffuser vents in the lower fascia, and the car is finished in a Matte Grey shade.

Additionally, the Veloster Turbo is equipped with unique 18-inch alloy wheels with chrome inserts, projector headlamps with unique LED headlight accents and a sport-tuned suspension – the front wears McPherson struts, coil springs, gas shock absorbers and a 24 mm diameter front stabiliser, while the rear features a light-weight V-torsion beam, monotube shocks and an integrated 23 mm stabiliser bar.

Anthony Lim believes that nothing is better than a good smoke and a car with character, with good handling aspects being top of the prize heap. Having spent more than a decade and a half with an English tabloid daily never being able to grasp the meaning of brevity or being succinct, he wags his tail furiously at the idea of waffling - in greater detail - about cars and all their intrinsic peculiarities here.

• chronous on Jan 11, 2012 at 1:34 am

Looks more ‘garang’

• Exterior is special and sporty but is too much there and the looks cannot tahan lama i mean fast out of date ! i prefer the looks is simple plus a bit sporty style…2 doors hot hatch i think VW Scirocco and Megane RS are better looking,better handling,better performance,better quality and the trusted brand ‘ VW ‘

• When will sime derby bring it in ?

• Glee power on Jan 11, 2012 at 2:05 am

I love the bodykit and paint but I think I prefer the NA rims and exhaust

• roadrunner on Jan 11, 2012 at 7:41 am

depan macam nak sama kia ceed..

• Joe Radzif on Jan 11, 2012 at 8:12 am

WOW…
    just WOW…

• And why similar 1.6L Protongkat CFE produce less power and torGue???

• HirumaKecil on Jan 11, 2012 at 12:21 pm

Because to avoid high fuel consumption la cek oi… Also to make the car more family friendly.. To lower the maintenance cost… And why the hell u want 200hp++ for MPV? And who the hell will drive mpv above 200kph???

• sawi cool on Jan 11, 2012 at 12:35 pm

Please be guided with the context.
      CFE is low pressure turbo, meant for a family car – MPV.

• ss427 on Jan 11, 2012 at 2:18 pm

Hyundai/Kia 2L Theta II GDI Turbo engine is also designed for family car duties.. and the Sonata/Optima, while great looking, doesn’t pretend to be a track machine even if you order the ‘sports’ model.

And it can offer 271hp while still returning almost 12km/L :)

The 1.6L gamma series was actually designed similarly with the Theta II series, hence Hyundai/Kia engineers can pull similar magic in the smaller engine too

• rapidshifter on Jan 11, 2012 at 8:49 am

manual turbo… just what I need… but will the price less than 150k?

• Front looked ugly

• ABTguy on Jan 11, 2012 at 9:01 am

It’s Turbo time !!

• ss427 on Jan 11, 2012 at 9:20 am

SG market will get the regular Veloster by mid year.

So to all Potong fans here, you guys were saying how great the Campro CFE is? :) Just look at the o/p the Hyundai 1.6L GDI Turbo can offer :D

Even the Americans and Europeans doesn’t have anything so powerful (in terms of hp and torque /Liter) right now… They will need at least 2L and possibly with forced induciton to achieve anything similar.

And don’t even mention anything about the Japanese. Honda modified the existing K24Z with DI for the new Accord and it offers just 181hp…3 more hp than the current one! :( Some kind of progress ya?? :( Hyundai/Kia existing 2.4L Theta II GDI as found in overseas Sonata/Optima already makes a heady 200hp with the same engine size. :)

Toyota?? Geez you need to buy the Lexus GS300 to get more power than this…that’s 3L V6 vs ‘junk Korean’ 1.6L 4 cyln… :D

• Ya… higher hp/liter is better…
      but i have read a lot of reviews of hyundai high hp/liter seems to be powerful on paper only… while it’s real world mpg and performance is not reflecting what they should do…

I think that most probably it has to be how efficient is hyundai is making use of it’s power…. they shud now concentrate to develop better transmission to fully utilize their power… or else… those numbers are solely for the engine performance…
      we care more about whp…not bhp…

just an example of the current sonata vs camry….
      sonata has more power…6-speed…and even lighter….
      but real world accelaration and mpg… it’s the camry who shines…

IMO, this small veloster should be a fun car to drive…
      i think the direction of having auto tranny for fuel economy and manual for performance is just the way it should be…

• ss427 on Jan 11, 2012 at 2:36 pm

I see your point. Yes Hyundai was accused of over declaring o/p figs in the past, but they can’t afford to do such things these days.

Rem bro, in North America and many European markets, many of their local car mags CAN and DO conduct their own hp test using sophisicated dyno equipments. They will dyno the engine both at the crankshaft and at the wheels.

If their findings is way lower than the manufacturers claimed figs, the manufacturers can be in for some serious nasty lawsuits. FYI back in mid 2008, Ford was slapped with some lawsuits when Car & Driver found that the then new Mustang Cobra was making some 20hp LESS than what Ford claimed. Ford were made to make good the changes on all Mustang Cobras back then and were made to compensate the owners for considerable amt of $$.

Therefore no self respecting car maker will make sure blunders anymore these days.

• I understand your point as well…
          a few cars did suffered these claims before (e.g the iconic MX-5 NB in 2001 etc…)
          actually I did not question about they over-claim of their figures…

my point is just that…
          if u have 200 hp at crank… but you only know how to make use of 150…while another guy has a 180hp at crank and he can make use of 160… that makes the difference…

The new design language of Hyundai/Kia really impressed me…
          i personally like the Genesis Coupe and Optima Turbo…
          I would like to one of each at home but the sad news are… not RHD for GC and i don’t think the OT will be at our boleh land…

Hyundai/Kia have really take a huge leap from the past…
          i hope they can continue their improvement…

sooner or later… i believe they will somewhat become the benchmark of the industry…. (still remember the Volkswagen’s CEO reaction to the steering wheel on the i30 @ Frankfurt motor show?)

• Masked Ryder on Jan 11, 2012 at 12:45 pm

What a Numbskull ss427 guess u know nuts about engine.

Toyota GT86 NA 2.0 = 200hps
      Mitsu Evo 2.0 Turbo = 295hp some UK version 400hp

Oh please don’t even ask me to talk about Nissan GTR Monster.

Ha Ha ! When the world trend heading toward full efficiency car your thick skull stil stuck in HP.

• ss427 on Jan 11, 2012 at 2:27 pm

Just a quick reply to our MR bro,
        What’s the fuel consumption figs for the Evo? What about the GTR? What about engine refinement and quietness? CAn you drive the Evo and GTR to your local supermarket without bursting your eardrums or or causing great strain to your spine?? :D

What about drivetrain robustness? Do Mitsubish and Nissan offer 10 yr 150000 miles warranty on their Evo and GTR drivetrain respectively? Granted such warranty coverage only applies to North America and selected Europe markets only, but it also showed how confident the Koreans are towards their products to issue such warranty.

• Masked Ryder on Jan 11, 2012 at 10:02 am

Look like an Ugly Fish, Puke…. >@<

• Unforgiven on Jan 11, 2012 at 10:32 am

Proton/supporter, pls try to beat this car with same spec and price in this Global World. Pls do it fast within this few years else you should know what to do next.

• ss427 on Jan 11, 2012 at 12:34 pm

Well in SG, Proton is so cheap and affordable that nobody buys them! :D And they’re priced too close to the Koreans. FYI the Gen2 costs more than the Forte 1.6SX even when COE $$ were of sane levels back in late mid to late 2009. The regular Exora, when 1st launched in SG, was priced very close to the officially imported Wish 1.8 from Borneo Motors. And the Exora was so slow and underpowered that our new Euro 5 compliant Scania and Mercedes Benz Citaro public buses can outrun the Exora at the lights anytimg of the day. :D

How to compete GLOBALLY when you have an expensive non starter in the 1st place?? The trouble with Proton is that they’re disillusioned into thinking they’re the best or at least competitive in the market.

However, when they leave Bolehland and compete with the best the Koreans, Europeans, Japs can offer of the same class, and on LEVEL playing field, Potong is grouped together with those junked pirated Chinese cars as jokers and a menance on the road. :)

• zzzzzz on Jan 11, 2012 at 5:53 pm

like ur comment..waiting for the proton suppoters who is butthurt to reply this comment..so pathetic proton

• Unforgiven on Jan 11, 2012 at 11:24 pm

Unfortunately not just for car industry, but for the rest as well, those in power still need certain percentage of the share in it… Including the Pahang thingy, that killer/poison…

• Gavin on Jan 11, 2012 at 11:08 am

i would have gone with the 2.0 turbo GDi

• Kiasu No Kiasi on Jan 11, 2012 at 11:17 am

Look like some deep sea creature form discovery channel.

• scumbag hyundai, says the car was tuned for fuel efficiency, but didn’t mention the fuel consumption .then go on and on about the gear ratio

• ss427 on Jan 11, 2012 at 2:09 pm

Bro, the regular Veloster uses the same 140hp Gamma GDI 1.6L engine as the western markets Elantra, and real road tests over there reveal that it can pull ard 14-15km/L combined when mated to a 6AT.

The Veloster is slightly lighter than the Elantra, and its available with a DST so what do you think ley??

• HirumaKecil on Jan 11, 2012 at 12:11 pm

Awesome… Can spot some Citroen and Renault DNA but overall this car look awesome… This is the type of car that when you paid for it, you did not need to modi and make up… The power is there and it look good… i would love to see this car in Malaysia.. Via AP???

• as usual lah! on Jan 11, 2012 at 12:22 pm

inokom veloster

• abu burn on Jan 11, 2012 at 12:37 pm

we want a shoot out of JCW BMW MINI Couper – Ford Fiesta RS – Renault Megane RS – Veloster.

• Joe Radzif on Jan 11, 2012 at 12:52 pm

haiyyaa…
    so many anti protong here..

• Sadly, I think we might not get this due to our current petrol quality …. If I’m not mistaken, I read that Hyundai are not bringing in their Turbo GDis due to the issues with our petrol quality ….

• I m just curious of some of the automakers claimed that our petrol quality is not suitable for their DI engine…. but the fact is quite a number of DI engines equiped cars are already running on our road… for years….and probably you can name quite a number of it… but most of them are european brands…
      (I can name VW, Merc, Audi, Porsche etc…)

can anybody help me on DI engines from Asian automakers which has car on our road currently…? (exclude the Mitsu 4G engines which they can only run on RON97, correct me if i m wrong…)

• Ryder Masked on Jan 11, 2012 at 2:31 pm

Wait till you deal with Hyundai Malaysia’s service centre. You will vomit blood.

• pelams on Jan 11, 2012 at 4:45 pm

caldina wannabe..

• Unimpressed on Jan 11, 2012 at 4:49 pm

Its “mouth” reminds me of this:

http://t3.gstatic.com/images?q=tbn:ANd9GcSgCPTwDK4w7-6BQXWqGfrmCMsINtMIAXqJv1iJ9pef530fhVC0

• Wak Segan on Jan 11, 2012 at 7:02 pm

SORRY…Only GOLF GTI or R in my mind right now!
    Others cars….no interest.

• wahlao eh ….what happened to the front grille?? the design team really fxxk up….looks like a toilet bowl…ol

• exterior too ah beng.

• front fascia looks like Darth Vader ….

• Brother on Jan 12, 2012 at 11:42 pm

hopefully this turbocharger kit able to load into Kia Forte 1.6 and transfer into another monster, dont know it is available.

• Leeman on Mar 30, 2012 at 4:32 am

I won’t buy this car. It’s just the same class with others, well slightly better than proton and i better off walking. My point is why buy this car which the +- as the rest in terms of fuel eff and driving experience??? Let’s support Proton. In Malaysia we buy in RM and our petrol price plus anything else it’s cheaper. Talk about fuel efficiency with 6gear and engine boring. The real petrol savers are now bigger engine with higher hp. That’s the next level

• Octavian on Nov 30, 2012 at 3:13 pm

malaysia car price sooo high bro… our fuel is pricey compared to others oil exported countries.. dont believe in govt subsidies, they compared real market price not with manufacturing cost.. why we should support proton if they force (with NAP) us to choose Proton.. they just never learn,,, in my opinion, i wouldnt give mymoney to proton

• pandab on Nov 23, 2012 at 3:09 pm

the 3 door concept…i luvin it

• mamasan on Feb 26, 2013 at 12:36 am

i love hyundai’s car and owned one but please guys don’t overly condemn our national car, PROTON. If this how your mindset worked, our country could never ever will become a developed country coz lots of the citizen still have 3rd class mindset.