Google 2011 Zeitgeist list: Perodua Myvi tops car searches

Google has released its annual Zeitgeist list for Malaysia, which ranks 2011’s hottest search terms on google.com.my. Zeitgeist, which is German for “the spirit of the times”, offers a glimpse at the significant whats and whos in the eyes of Malaysians. Since we’re an automotive site, let’s focus on the car list. The top 10 fastest rising car brand searches on google.com.my in 2011 are:

1. Myvi/Perodua Myvi
2. Mercedes
3. Volkswagen
4. Honda Insight
5. Peugeot
6. Lexus
7. Perodua
8. Ford Fiesta
9. Audi
10. Lamborghini

This is a “fastest rising” list, search terms that have seen the largest increase in search volume over the year. Not to be confused with “most popular”, which indicates terms that are most frequently searched.

It’s no surprise that the Perodua Myvi is at the top – it’s Malaysia’s best selling car, and people want to read up before they buy. Also, the new Myvi was introduced last year, before the more powerful SE and Extreme came in September, further adding interest.

Mercedes-Benz came in second, so perhaps it’s the brand most Malaysians aspire to. Continental cars are getting more popular by the day, gaining a foothold in the Japanese dominated non-national segment, so it’s no surprise to see VW and Peugeot in the top 5.

Hybrids are “in” too, thanks to tax breaks, and the sub RM100k Honda Insight is popular both on urban streets and in Google. Another “hot car” is the Ford Fiesta, the stylish B-segment hatch that single handedly revived the Ford brand in Malaysia. A surprise for me is Lamborghini at number 10 – everyone wants a bull as their wallpaper perhaps?

Away from what we all love, here is the overall fastest rising searches in 2011:

1. Facebook
2. Angry Birds
3. Maharaja Lawak
4. iPhone 5
5. Samsung Galaxy
6. iPad2
7. Jawatan kosong
8. Android
9. Tonton
10. Aishiteru

Agree or disagree? Discuss and leave your two cents below!

Danny Tan loves driving as much as he loves a certain herbal meat soup, and sweet engine music as much as drum beats. He has been in the auto industry since 2006, previously filling the pages of two motoring magazines before joining this website. Enjoys detailing the experience more than the technical details.

• Obama on Jan 12, 2012 at 6:03 pm

Bersih 2.0 not in the list? !

• Nissan on Jan 12, 2012 at 11:11 pm

i think Danny had already mentioned that this fast rising list is different from the most popular list. Bersih is Top the list in “most search”.

http://www.thesundaily.my/news/231625

• Bersih is top in “what is…” but not the most popular, means that people mostly don’t know what is Bersih and they want to know, but don’t bother about it after they know it, hence not in the most popular search.

• RON97 on Jan 12, 2012 at 6:06 pm

1-Maharaja Lawak :- what kind of people watching this ???? so silly
    2-Angry Birds :- only for those with IQ below 5 (and teach their kids: mobile phone = playing game),
    3-No Proton??? not so surprise. people got boring with proton already, the only new vehicle with 90’s technology.

• Toyota also not in.. ahahahahha

• joepng on Jan 12, 2012 at 7:40 pm

Ferrari also no included??, yah,, i noe they also boring with Ferrari…LOL…

• Technically, “Toyota” is in the list. In fact TWICE.

1) MyVi = Toyota Passo
        2) Toyota and Daihatsu cooperation with Perodua is well known.

The only local brand that does not hit the top ten list is Proton (the rest is self explanatory).

Why nobody mentioned Ferrari or RON97? Cause NOT MANY PEOPLE can afford it, hehehe (but, please don’t tell me Proton is not afforadable too, haha).

• Trinitrotoluene on Jan 12, 2012 at 7:39 pm

Waaa…u talk like u are sooo clever..

• aiyooo.. your comment is full with negativeness..

• i think people search “maharaja lawak” mainly due to an pisode where Aflin shauki impersonated our “lovely” (yeakkkss) datin seri number one…..they wanted to check the great show performed by Aflin…

• Hey, I like maharaja lawak too…what I mean is aflin shauki has made it more famous than ever…!

• MARIO on Jan 12, 2012 at 10:26 pm

Hey dude…actually you are the silly one bcoz dont follow maharaja lawak..wakakaka…silly

• akina on Jan 13, 2012 at 8:14 am

eleh..macam la dia ni IQ tinggi sangat. komen pon nampak macam budak darjah satu baru daftar masuk sekolah bawak botaol air besar sambil menangis sbb mak da balik!..hahahahaha

• Peugeot is at top 5. ~GOOD~

• limaunipis on Jan 12, 2012 at 7:55 pm

bravo peugeot!

• IvorBiggin on Jan 12, 2012 at 10:08 pm

Peugeot made the top 5 probably due to the fact owners were searching for complaint contact numbers!

• limaunipis on Jan 13, 2012 at 9:32 am

based on your assumption, i guess it’s also applicable for the other top 4 brands/cars as well – the owners are ALSO searching for complaint contact numbers?

• IvorBiggin just got OWNED! :)

• Masked Ryder on Jan 12, 2012 at 6:20 pm

Mana Hyundai & KIA ?? :-P

• nabill on Jan 12, 2012 at 6:29 pm

Dat shows we live in such small buble when myvi is our top search word….we got to get a life seriously….

• Bongcs on Jan 12, 2012 at 6:51 pm

My name should be number 1 in google search list.

• Myvi is Lousy, Pussy Car on Jan 12, 2012 at 7:29 pm

Because Myvi is so pussy thats why people wanna watch it, to see the flying car. look at today’s car myvi is on the top of the VAN…nothing to shout about Myvi…bad handling…booooo

• Wak Segan on Jan 12, 2012 at 7:36 pm

DAS AUTO in top three?
    I like..I like.

• drMpower on Jan 12, 2012 at 8:18 pm

It cant be right, this service. Because i keep getting emails about penis enlargement.

People do that. With weird looking device from sweden

• LFA LOVER on Jan 12, 2012 at 8:20 pm

Myvi top search? noo lah. Whenever i search paultan with my tablet it automatically added myvi. if not careful i accidentally serach for it. boo

• VW_fan on Jan 12, 2012 at 8:25 pm

Lambo in the top 10. This one I don’t understand.

• as usual lah! on Jan 12, 2012 at 8:58 pm

no K-Pop meh? hmmm…yeah ford fiesta top 10!

• lanzxervia on Jan 12, 2012 at 9:55 pm

mehhhh….

• Perodua X maju on Jan 12, 2012 at 9:57 pm

Myvi top search?? mehh.. cause they want to find nearest myvi services centre, spare part and ‘accessories because rear and front it too ugly like a buffalo’..

• Porn leh??

• whysoserious on Jan 12, 2012 at 10:29 pm

no need to “Google” myvi..we can see it anywhere in Malaysia..seriously..too much of myvi..sick of it..

• yup…whats the point to google about useless myvi….can see everywhere left right front until sick n tired of it.

• kevin lee on Jan 12, 2012 at 10:36 pm

BMW not present , its the Merc and Audi era!

• kimi fan on Jan 12, 2012 at 10:48 pm

sincerely from my heart…..” sure or not ” haha

• Lim Kopi on Jan 13, 2012 at 12:53 am

LOL …. Protons not even in the list !!

But Perodua is !!

hahaha …. Dr M, time to give up the national car for good la, put it in the closet or something, do the rakyat a favour la …. thanks!

• Eyesore on Jan 13, 2012 at 10:24 am

Oh yeah… lets do that… close down all companies and entity that is not in the top ten search in google.. that will do rakyat a favour… What a brilliant idea…. I’m so proud of you… NOT!! Idiot!

• aik, nobody search for Potong ka?

• jamaluddin on Jan 13, 2012 at 1:47 am

You forgot … Proton power window warranty issue was the No.1
    search in the world.-no more juara kampung !!! :)

• Not necessarily a good thing..probably people wondering whether MyVi is a good thing..?

• not a car enthusiast on Jan 13, 2012 at 7:56 am

If I’m not mistaken, last few years, “Paul Tan” was among the most searched websites. What no mention of it this year?

• Nobody care to search Protongkat? Oh yeah who wanna buy crap, right!

• eims @ gold on Jan 13, 2012 at 8:49 am

oh.. so this is one of produa’s marketing strategy..
    keywords targetting on the net.huhuh…
    proton should do this also..

• Carl Wong on Jan 13, 2012 at 8:54 am

Honda Insight :)….!!!!

• soundsfishy on Jan 13, 2012 at 8:55 am

MyVI top of the list is no surprise..that’s just what most malaysian can afford…hu..hu…

• Quattro on Jan 13, 2012 at 9:28 am

Perodua should re thing in to bid proton , pls buy proton

• jawatan kosong search…hehehhehe

• Something is seriously wrong. Where is Proton? I tot that turbo mpv was the best thing happened after intercourse.

• kadajawi on Jan 13, 2012 at 11:26 am

It is interesting how it looked like last year.

http://www.google.de/intl/my/press/zeitgeist2010/regions/my.html

ford fiesta
      inspira
      proton emas
      waja baru
      hyundai sonata 2010
      honda civic 2010
      toyota vios 2011
      waja lancer
      honda freed
      honda city 2010

Except for the Fiesta here is no conti at all. Now they dominate… within 1 year. The resale value will go up. :( So it will get harder to buy a second hand conti soon. :(

I can’t find data for 2011 though…

• eims @ gold on Jan 13, 2012 at 11:41 am

Proton exora bold turbo mpv is new stuff,
      wait till next year la to see the next top searches..
      if keyword “proton” replaces keyword “produa”
      i’ll buy exora reev.. kekekeke :p

• samsam on Jan 13, 2012 at 11:11 am

.my << everything under control. undertable advertising fees =O

• TerBaboo on Jan 13, 2012 at 2:19 pm

those are not mentioned, they dont have to search by google…because they all already know where to go to the direct website…or they just go to the showroom n get a real life..not sit hours n look in the google n found some infos then tell everybody they are clever than others…oh plis ~ Malaysian peace!

• septzz on Jan 13, 2012 at 2:23 pm

jawatan kosong…. yeah. many Malaysian are still jobless. Just like me. Even with a Bachelor’s degree in Marine Engineering with European Standard certification, still couldn’t find any job. 6 months unemployed.. countless interviews…and still counting. sigh…

• exJAVANESE on Jan 14, 2012 at 12:24 am

must be something wrong with u resume n portfolio.. u may need to update your resume and build up your communication skills..keep searching dude…don’t give up!!

• dont so choosy on Jan 14, 2012 at 10:47 am

wake up youngman. Your field is limited to real world but with your degree paper you still could working in banking, insurance, marketing, factory production or other engineering field.

dont because the career is not link to your studies become you buttlock.

• ezracopters on Jan 13, 2012 at 8:02 pm

angry bird??? haha

• Perodua X maju on Jan 14, 2012 at 6:01 pm

always myvi, myvi, myvi, myvi.. till the world end, still MYVI kaa?? why not MYVO, MYVE, MYVU?? please la, new model and new name.. they buy myvi cause so cheap and easily get GPS, EPS and anything.. but, easily expired.. haha

• Only lack of knowledge peoples will think like that…why honda city,civic,accord, toyota vios,camry,corolla can keep its name for many generations?

Google bro..and learn…it’s a part of marketing strategy..

I think myvi be the top car searches last year because everyone try to figure out how the new Myvi look like…before it started to launch on May’11. Same goes to Inspira, Inspira was launched somewhere Nov’10,so peoples were interested to know details on the car before it officially launched.

• One thing for sure, “Proton” is not even mentioned in the top ten list.

Don’t tell me nobody wants to know about it at all???

Hahaha.

Malaysia Boleh!!!

Kekeke.