2012 Toyota Land Cruiser unveiled at Brussels Motor Show

Toyota has introduced its flagship Land Cruiser V8 in its 2012 model year form at the Brussels Motor Show. The vehicle features reworked exterior and interior styling, as well as improved mod cons and a host of additional tech.

The external styling changes are led by a new oversize front bumper with integrated fog lights and a new grille that pairs chrome and silver-finished vertical bars across its width. The headlamp units have also been reconfigured, incorporating LED daytime running lights and cylindrical high and low beam HID bi-xenon headlights, and the turn indicators now extend outwards, increasing their side visibility.

The rear bumper is new too, as are the rear combination light clusters, which now feature a new double-cylinder form that echoes the look of the new headlamp units. Also slapped on are new side protection mouldings – with chrome detailing – and new-design 20-inch wheels, as well as redesigned door mirrors, which now get LED turn indicators and side view cameras.

Inside, changes made to the Land Cruiser V8’s cabin focus on raising the level of perceived quality in the look and feel of the interior. Extensive changes have been made to the dashboard layout, including the introduction of a new audio panel, a piano black paint finish for some elements, with bright silver-finish trim and chrome-plated details on the switchgear and air vents. There’s also a new, lighter interior colour scheme, matched with high-gloss wood grain trim elements and bright silver-finish details.

Meanwhile, the driver’s instrument binnacle has white Optitron dials that are backlit with blue illumination and a large, colour TFT multi-information display. The front seats, upholstered in perforated leather, gain a cool air function in addition to built-in heaters, plus a position memory setting, and active headrests have also been introduced. A Toyota Touch Pro advanced multimedia and navigation system with voice command control, Bluetooth and rear-view camera is also in the mix.

Technical revisions include an uprating of the 4.5 litre V8 turbodiesel engine, which offers 286 hp at 3,600 rpm and 650 Nm between 1,600 and 2,800 rpm – it’s now compliant to Euro 5 standards, with the introduction of a diesel particulate filter and new G3 200mPa piezo injectors in the common rail injection system. The main exhaust silencer has also been reduced in size and weight, improving fuel efficiency and reducing noise and vibration.

Of course, the ability to tackle the toughest off-road conditions has been fundamental to all Land Cruiser models, and the flagship gets new tech to extend the vehicle’s capabilities even further. The raft of new handling features includes the world-first Turn Assist, which works in conjunction with Land Cruiser V8’s Crawl Control function, plus Multi-terrain Select (MTS), Multi-terrain Monitor and Tyre Angle Display.

The Multi-terrain Monitor works in conjunction with the MTS, displaying images from four external cameras (including the ones on the door mirrors) on the multi-information screen to provide a comprehensive view of the area immediately around the vehicle in off-road situations.

As for the Tyre Angle Display, this one complements the predicted tyre path guidelines presented on the Multi-terrain Monitor – guidelines linked to the steering angle are projected in real time on the display, showing the driver changes in steering angle between zero and 45 degrees.

The hydraulic power steering also gains a new Variable Flow Control, which provides direct response and feel when travelling at cruising speed and easy operation at parking speeds. A unique, dedicated off-road setting delivers a constant level of steering assistance, whatever the terrain condition.

Anthony Lim believes that nothing is better than a good smoke and a car with character, with good handling aspects being top of the prize heap. Having spent more than a decade and a half with an English tabloid daily never being able to grasp the meaning of brevity or being succinct, he wags his tail furiously at the idea of waffling - in greater detail - about cars and all their intrinsic peculiarities here.

• Masked Ryder on Jan 13, 2012 at 4:42 pm

This is how a real 4 wheels drive should look like, rugged & macho.

Not those hair stylist SUV pleasee

• The price? I bet you can’t afford it.

• VOLVO FOR LIFE on Jan 13, 2012 at 8:41 pm

it is more affordable than a porsche cayenne. affordable or not? depends. but less malaysians need to go off-road thus more people and more prefer the so called brand prestige thus more would prefer to buy a sissy SUV like the cayenne.

• i agreed with what you said. doesnt matter whether its affordable. if u think u need to go off-road more often. then, automatically it will be affordable by u. if i think i spend more on highways or city. then sissy SUV is more than enough.

• In Sarawak, this type of car sell for around RM520k. Expensive actually.

• alvinhlh on Jan 16, 2012 at 8:26 am

thgh,

whatever price it is, it’s a much cheaper alternative to any high end Land / Range Rover with comparable off road capabilities, size and power.

• Jerry on Jan 13, 2012 at 4:58 pm

Yet another day, here comes yet another motor show. How many are there in a year, really? Next stop, Geneva. Tsk.

• cerewet on Jan 13, 2012 at 5:48 pm

I would love to have this. dump my 02 cygnus for this!

• Haha, keep your old cygnus and get this as your new car. 02 cygnus is a good car and I believe the car served you well right?

• cerewet on Jan 14, 2012 at 11:05 pm

Well my baby cygnus really served me well, when I was off to wilderness. But it lacks of new technology. Not to forget mine is petrol, back 04(register year) the gas was ‘quite’ cheap. Getting this diesel power engine would help me cost less for gas. Peace! Happy Motoring!

• v8 cygnus?? good cars fren, shud keep it!

• cerewet on Jan 17, 2012 at 12:13 pm

Yes its a v8 2UZ-FE engine still running smooth since day one! Really good indeed. Its time to let go buddy.

• Land Cruiser is like a trademark for Sabah (I’m Sabahan ^_^). Here and there. But this one, with LED, hahaha, must have!

• Saab 9-3 - SS on Jan 13, 2012 at 6:22 pm

poor man’s range rover alternative

• Merc=Real Euro on Jan 13, 2012 at 7:29 pm

yeah poor man’s range rover….that is why u see them in the toughest condition around the world… Landcruiser doesnt earn its name as King of 4WD for nothing…
      And don’t tell me Land rover is the king….cos most of them are using toyota engine ha ha ha… actually most old range rover also using toyota engine…1JZ…ha ha ha ..

• RedBeanBun on Jan 13, 2012 at 8:13 pm

Poor man’s range rover? its a close to half million Ninja King man.

• The landcruiser has everything (capability , and specs) the land rover can offer, even better in some areas including the reliability, the price and cost of owning. What it lacks is only the “range rover” name..So, instead of saying it’s a poor man’s land rover, a wise man’s choice is a much better description it deserves.

• JacKal on Jan 16, 2012 at 1:23 pm

In Dubai, only Toyota and Mitsubishi are covered by insurance companies for vehicle recovery should they breakdown in the dessert or off road. Not even Land Rover is covered. Shows how insurers evaluate the risk of breakdown for 4WD. This Landcruiser is quite obviously reliable in harsh conditions compared to conti 4WD.

• Wise mans choice of offroader, in Australia, theres a saying, “if u wanna head for the outback, get whatever u fancy, if u wanna head for the outback and come home, get a landcruiser”

the UN dispatch convoys consider nothing but landcruisers

• mangata on Jan 13, 2012 at 7:13 pm

wow, now if only toyotas sold in malaysia comes more than 2 airbags!!!!!

• Gavin on Jan 13, 2012 at 8:21 pm

Full white for the Arabs and you’ve got a guranteed sale

• Hukaka on Jan 13, 2012 at 8:39 pm

i like this so Man.

• drMpower on Jan 13, 2012 at 8:53 pm

very encouraging to know atleast one mainstream car maker is challenging the land rover in this vehicle segment
    i can see discovery running for their lives.

• mirror mirror on Jan 13, 2012 at 10:25 pm

The ultimate peace of mind driving.

• Gavin on Jan 13, 2012 at 10:28 pm

Actually 4.5 litre v8 turbo diesel I’m surprised it’s not pushing close to 800 NM

• Silwen on Jan 13, 2012 at 11:10 pm

They probably reduced the output in favour of reliability. For a workhorse, you only need ‘enough’ as opposed to ‘extra’. A greater output will wear the engine down more quickly. But 800Nm doesn’t sound difficult for it really.

• Reduced for reliability fren, plus no nid for mountains of torque, real 4x4s have lo range.. 650 therabouts is more than enuff

• My favourite 4×4. If not for the road tax, I would have gotten one. Indeed a very nice machine. Big & rugged.

• If not for the road tax ……you would have gotten one ? Maybe you are referring to 90s model …. then road tax is a concern for those who are buying the 90s .model…haha

Those who can afford to shell out more than half a million bucks would not be concern about road tax …. are you for real, just like those who can afford a Bentley wouldn’t have to concern about petrol consumption or insurance right ??

• If I were to get it, it will be the ones year 2000 which is going for RM100k plus. And the engines are also big. Definitely not the one shown above. So, is it funny that I asked about the road tax? Don’t be too sure about people who buy Bentley and whatnot could just afford anything. I’ve seen many repossed luxury marques in bank warehouse.

• The repossed luxury marques are the ones who bought 2nd hand, re-conditioned cars where they can’t afford a new one but still want to look good… that’s why …. eventually it will get back to you.

So my dear friend, do consider whether you can really afford even the year 2000 ones Land Cruiser…..

• LE_buruk on Jan 16, 2012 at 3:39 pm

i saw lot of super cars in damansara with expired road tax sticker …..

• a solid 4 wheel, but with very disappointing design as there is not much change / improvement. still looks like the land cruiser 10 yrs ago.

• haha bro, this car not really for impressing housewives of metro sexual males whatever u call them like those euro suv, its something understated for any occasion, whether u wanna go dune bashing or highway cruising or trekking along balak trail

• jolly_idiot on Jan 14, 2012 at 1:01 am

Some how still felt that Range Rover has the identity. Jappy still a jappy. Just like kimchi

Continental/European always comes with style and identity.

• Merc=Real Euro on Jan 14, 2012 at 9:38 am

and unreliability…ha ha ha

• moron..u can hate other japenese or toyota brand but u can’t do it to land cruiser..land cruiser is always the king..ninja king

• gaman-kun on Jan 15, 2012 at 7:39 am

bro kimchi is from korea la.

• Can Land Cruiser owners or anyone familiar with this car explains the difference between landcruiser, cygnus, LX470 ? Or are they all the same?
    And what’s the actual road tax price under personal ownership for 4.2 and 4.7 diesel variant?

• kiddo on Jan 15, 2012 at 1:50 pm

Landcruiser is the name of the offroad-car series, just like X-series of BMW’s while Cygnus is the Toyota version of the Lexus LX470. Cygnus and LX470 share the same platform but as usual, the Lexus is more luxurious and is equipped with more gadgets as well as safety features.

• samkhairul on Jan 14, 2012 at 6:21 pm

u can see this car on the toughest road on the globe…i bet this car can cruise on antartica …

• Disco challenges the Prado not the LC

• beli mahal2 bawak masuk hutan. oh, it hurts.

• Sambal Belacan on Jan 14, 2012 at 11:41 pm

This is every macho man’s dream car!!

• pulau on Jan 15, 2012 at 12:26 am

this is indeed the king of 4wd, 7years old ninja still sell around 200k while 7years old porsche cayenne or landrover/ range rover is merely around 160k, while the bmw x5 price is lower then 100k,

why land cruiser is the best??
    1)UN used it
    2)NATO used it
    3)private contractor(hired bodyguard) used it in iraq
    4) Lebanese army used it
    what more can i say, even the arabs love it….

• bashherebashthere on Jan 15, 2012 at 5:02 am

http://www.whatcar.com/car-news/honda-named-most-pothole-proof-brand/260541

Least resilient brands
    1. Chrysler
    2. Smart
    3. Mercedes-Benz
    4. Land Rover

land rover defeated by pothole

• TOYOTA SLOGAN

TOYOTA MOVING FORWARD

TOYOTA IS MOVING FORWARD ” TO MORE WORLDWIDE DEFECTS AND RECALLS ”

KING OF 4WD IS STILL LAND ROVER NOT THIS CRUISER SHIT!!

• VOLVO FOR LIFE on Jan 16, 2012 at 2:03 am

actually, both are great cars, along with the merc g-wagen, pajero, nissan patrol, these are cars which would be awesome in an acopalypse. so, yea…piss off if you want to take sides.

• Never seen a range rover recall? Becoz their vehicles’ reliability is so bad that it won’t be too long after u drive it, you’ll send it back for repair …..u think they are able to handle a recall program whilst their vehicles ‘s reliability have been lousy since ..?

• Merc=Real Euro on Jan 17, 2012 at 2:12 am

ha ha funny. lah u ….land rovers over time will have to use toyota engine…
      so moral of the story is get straight to the point….buy a Landcruiser

• gaman-kun on Jan 15, 2012 at 7:22 am

the KING!..the taukeh2 in sabah will buy this..

• albag on Jan 15, 2012 at 10:09 am

not to forget, the pajero is a legend too…

• ‘new G3 200mPa piezo injectors’

Isn’t this a mistake? ‘m’ stands for ‘1/1000’, ‘M’ stands for ‘1×1000’. A VW TDI has 200MPa (200.000Pa)

200mPa (0.2Pa) would be a little bit too less in my opinion… ;)

• What a hideous looking machine! Curiously enough it looks some what anonymous like the way a plastic toy car looks, when it melts. What has happened to Toyota’s designers? I think someone needs to check what kind of ‘green’ is in their tea….