Proton P3-21A Tuah spotted on carrier along the Guthrie

Reader Iwan spotted what looks to be a Proton P3-21A being transported along the Guthrie Corridor Expressway earlier today. Nothing much to reveal, since it’s under wraps, but the car cover is thin enough to offer an outline of the vehicle, which seems to be wearing less disguise and cladding save white masking points at the rear, door panels and headlamp area. In any case, expect the car to be spotted more in the coming future …

Anthony Lim believes that nothing is better than a good smoke and a car with character, with good handling aspects being top of the prize heap. Having spent more than a decade and a half with an English tabloid daily never being able to grasp the meaning of brevity or being succinct, he wags his tail furiously at the idea of waffling - in greater detail - about cars and all their intrinsic peculiarities here.

• donadoni on Jan 19, 2012 at 1:21 pm

good one

• alhhin on Jan 19, 2012 at 11:28 pm

great , even i’m not proton hater or supporter , but this proton make me feel excited, many malaysian still hope Proton would give me WOW factor of this P3-21A. Still waiting for p3-22A surprise me more.

• OMG…not yet see the whole car,then said good car…..really P1 fans.

• TheReturn on Jan 27, 2012 at 12:24 am

they will introduce 2 version right? 1.6 and 2.0.
      1.6 will be launched next month.
      Overall, I’m not that excited because the car body is not that big (small sedan..a lil bit bigger than Saga), and it copies City & Forte.
      One more thing,…why they need to copy ‘Yellow-Style’ ??? Perodua already introduced their Yellow-MyVi.
      What a crap…
      Proton please give us attractive colors. Don’t be so boring.

I heard EMAS also going to be launched later by the end of the year.
      It’s good to see Proton back on track, but I still love my Alza. :D
      Alza much better than Exora. That’s a fact!

• Rayyan on Feb 01, 2012 at 7:51 am

And Perodua copied Suzuki Swift “Sporty Yellow-style” look… Also a crap right?

• Rayyan on Feb 01, 2012 at 7:55 am

And Perodua copied Suzuki Swift “Sporty Yellow-style” look…. Also a crap right???

• kingzzzz on Jan 19, 2012 at 1:22 pm

knn. keep post pics. last year full of spy pics..interior also got..makes no big deal..seriously, so what? specifications also all there. now just effin wait for the launch lah!

• queenzzzz on Jan 19, 2012 at 2:15 pm

ppl no post pics, u wanna pics, ppl post pics u sed too many pics. shut ur f up. itu salah, ini salah..

• jackzzzz on Jan 19, 2012 at 5:10 pm

just because u dont like it doesnt mean other ppl must hate it too. this is a public site not your father’s lawn…..juz sayin….

• khylie on Jan 19, 2012 at 7:43 pm

another example of failed parental guidance and education in childhood.

• addoooyyyaiiiiii……… tak suke tp lg mau view???? sakai punye org….

• sepul on Jan 19, 2012 at 1:22 pm

launching is imminent? hohoho

still waiting for p3-22a though

• waiting for p7-11z here….my future grandchild told me that it would run on fusion technology and won’t need to refuel for the eternity…we all could ride it 24/7 like the convenient store 7-11….perghhh…

• man syah on Jan 19, 2012 at 1:26 pm

tidak lama lagila tu….

• farhan on Jan 19, 2012 at 1:28 pm

Saw this yesterday at bandar baru selayang

• ijuladli on Jan 19, 2012 at 2:40 pm

me also spotted it at selayang baru with new exora terubok…

• nebula87 on Jan 19, 2012 at 1:28 pm

Launching soon! Hurray!!!

• tokmoh on Jan 19, 2012 at 1:32 pm

Carrier has arrived!

Sorry, starcraft fans will get this :P

Seems like it’s getting closer to launch. Hopfully it really will be in March. Here’s to the best saloon Proton ever! Hopefully, the p3-22a meanwhile will be the best Proton hatchback since the legendary Satria GTI :D

• Joe Radzif on Jan 19, 2012 at 1:33 pm

why never somebody stopped the lorry and take the photo. ha ha ha
    i think the driver can allow it if you asked soft and polite.
    maybe can give some token…
    token of appriciation…

• alldisc on Jan 19, 2012 at 5:30 pm

try to block the lorry first and the driver will sped off to nearest police station…

the lorry will only stop at

a. traffic lights
      b. breakdown / puncture
      c. toilets / rest area – driver sakit perut… ha ha ha…

• Will this replace Persona or Gen2 ? Either way I’m excited.

• audisad on Jan 19, 2012 at 1:42 pm

I love Daytime LED on Higher segment cars like BMW, Mercs, Audi, Lexus & etc….cos it made the cars look so classy on road, but on Proton??? Awwwwww

• MoFaz on Jan 19, 2012 at 2:08 pm

you’re such ignorant… all cars are required to have DRL starting this year for european market. even tata nano need DRL if they’re selling in Europe.

• Idiot

• apexg2 on Jan 20, 2012 at 7:55 am

u dont like then dont comment…even nowadays, DRL is like a trend here…people like to use it and its usefull…so, if come with the car then its a bonus la….no need to go to accessories shop to buy it….one more time i tell you, dont like it, dont comment….theres many people like it…

• When Proton will close its business? if proton not exist then we can buy luxury car at lower price tag..Proton actually bebankan rakyat!!!

• MoFaz on Jan 19, 2012 at 2:16 pm

no proton in thailand, but luxury cars in thailand are far more expensive than Malaysia price. would you say Toyota and Honda made the luxury cars expensive in Thai? Toyota and Honda bebankan rakyat Thailand??
      other people could afford luxury cars in Malaysia, why couldn’t you? blaming others is just the easiest way to hide your own shortcomings.

• maverick on Jan 19, 2012 at 6:42 pm

The real bebanan is AP and not proton lah..

• u go jiak sai la u..without proton, our public transport will be much much much much better, just becos tat old DR M come out with this shiat national car idea, all of us hav to suffer

• Bob Vettel on Jan 19, 2012 at 2:55 pm

Bodoh – luxury cars are meant for those who are rich. You can twist and turn, you can go back in time & kill the people behind the Proton idea and still you would not be able to afford a luxury car!

• asdfgh on Jan 19, 2012 at 3:52 pm

a lot of malaysians are really rich, even with all those taxes, many can afford to buy bmw, merc, porsche, bentley, audi, etc. imagine malaysia gov with no/little corruption, excellent economic and financial management, proper human resource planning, we have the potential to be at least like south korea, or even japan

• autojohndoe on Jan 19, 2012 at 6:11 pm

PR?

what PR promise you for auto industry?

• sukasuki on Jan 19, 2012 at 7:26 pm

apa guna kalau BMW murah tp xmampu nak maintain? ingat murah nak servis kete conti? otak letak lutut punya org!

• Setuju sangat2…. Baru Ada sebijik BMW dah berlagak kutuk Proton …. Try asking me who has an e28 525,e30 325,e34 535,e39 525 and e60 530d… Saya tak kutuk Proton malah saya suka memandu Saga SE anak saya… No complaint… Each Car has Its own purpose to serve the user. Tak payah nak kutuk Proton … Sekarang kaya pakai kereta continental… Bila jatuh miskin kereta apa yang dicari? Proton Saga buruk jugak yang dicari….Melayu mudah lupa….

• GT-R fanboy on Jan 21, 2012 at 12:06 pm

Why our country have people like you? GET OUT OF HERE!

• mfahd_88 on Jan 19, 2012 at 1:54 pm

dear canvas that covering my view from looking how the car looks like
    i hate u

• prrghh on Jan 19, 2012 at 1:55 pm

confpirm march will launch

• tenine on Jan 19, 2012 at 1:55 pm

16 inch wheels…better design than the previous Proton P3-21A ..

• Proton had preview of this car for all the salesman few weeks ago n they are not allowed to bring in camera/phone. Feedback so far looks so good…waiting for the launch…

• bumbleebeez on Jan 19, 2012 at 2:52 pm

What type of colour is that? SOme kind of Blue Green ahh?

• Any of the salesman here? You should relieved us off the pain

• BADboy on Jan 19, 2012 at 2:32 pm

Not excited at allll….. from all the preview photos posted by Paul Tan and the shape of the car…. can easily tell that nothing is interesting in this car…..

Again… Proton design is still behind market!!

Proton design is always so inconsistent…..

If the design is so actractive and good, the market will automatically look for Proton rather than Proton spending so much money in other events like rally and such….

Market is going for EV and Hybrid cars…. so Proton, where is your award winning EV car??? Kena tunggu sampai bila???

• Ko diam lah mangkuk. Kalo ko nk sgt ko buat la kilang kereta sendiri.

• buatkereta on Jan 19, 2012 at 2:44 pm

Hai Badboy,
      making a car is not that easy. Its not just design, making a amould, fit it and drive it. The design must meet latest tech and meet government requirement.
      Blaming is easy, to make a policy is not easy .

• AlCapone on Jan 19, 2012 at 2:45 pm

i’m sure that you are really2 excited.

Excited to bash.

• freako on Jan 19, 2012 at 2:54 pm

maybe you not of the people that get excited.. but some of them are.

• tenine on Jan 19, 2012 at 2:59 pm

Hybrids car technology is still expensive. In Malaysia kereta hybrid ni belom lagi menjadi kegunaan kereta harian. M’sian people still using the NA engines. We must look at the market…maybe another 5 to 10 years the hybrids technology will be more cheaper, than we can start our own M’sian hybrids car. hehe!

• Along Bukit Beruntung on Jan 19, 2012 at 3:05 pm

sampai bapak ko bagi duit buat R&D la macai!!!

• sepul on Jan 19, 2012 at 3:44 pm

dude, how bout you apply for a job in proton and join in the design team… i am sure you can design better than this.. i dare you

cheers!

• why bother?? u said nothing interesting bout proton but still interested and waiting for proton EV,etc.. plus, just by looking, u assume proton cars got nothing.. ever heard this phrase “dont judge the book by its cover, yet dont judge covered proton”..LOL

• sepot_reem on Jan 19, 2012 at 4:20 pm

wait until u can produce one. stop complaining, get a second job so that u can afford japs/conti cars.

• 4agze on Jan 19, 2012 at 4:21 pm

dude not all people looks for the design and styling..example look at current crops of KIA and Hyundai..they look great but how do they fare over here?
      current p1 design is more into european style..just look at VW..no continuous hard line on side profile but they does look subtle and easy to the eye..
      anyway just reserve our judgement until we see it in flesh during the launch

I remember during Exora launch few years ago if I’m not mistaken DSZ said “Malaysian want car with European style,Japanese technology but with Malaysia price”..I guess this is what he deliver right now..hopefully DRB will keep him as p1 MD

• LOL..
        “Malaysian want car with European style,Japanese technology but with Malaysia price”..

in the end..they created a piece of shit with shitty price

• VOLVO FOR LIFE on Jan 19, 2012 at 9:13 pm

european style…….er…………………seriously u blind bro?

• WHat, Wait! ISn’t it because of resale value mentality that ppl do not go for KIA and Hyundai. Sad for them.. coz they should hav bought a house instead.

• Eyesore on Jan 19, 2012 at 4:47 pm

So.. this is boring and hybrids & EV is interesting to you… i wonder.. why did u read this post when the post right after this one is about EV n Hybrids? Can’t resist the temptation right? Just admit it.. hypocrite..

• Nissan on Jan 19, 2012 at 2:47 pm

poor…poor…abandoned proton

• apexg2 on Jan 20, 2012 at 8:04 am

bashing proton with Nissan name….huh!What a shame…. N I S S A N , please look at here, somebody using ur popularity!!!!!haha

• akupunya on Jan 19, 2012 at 2:51 pm

bukak itu sarung, apa kita nampak?
    a persona forte only.

again, buat kasi jalan jammed dgn kereta proton yang murah untuk rakyat…tapi dah 26 tahun…besi sama plastik buruk atas jalan malaysia…

drb hicom took over, tukar lagi polisi model…hahahah
    last2 rebadge VW Vetta jadi Proton Saga…

itulah kerja proton.

• Joe Radzif on Jan 19, 2012 at 3:15 pm

Cheap publicity anyone?

kalau ada gak yang nak cakap,
    pas nih proton kena pakai trak cover full macam trak knigt rider tu la…

huhuhu

• azimy on Jan 19, 2012 at 3:30 pm

5 spoke.. gila!

• sudahlah! on Jan 19, 2012 at 4:51 pm

tunggu sampai ko jadi GUDboy haha..klu proton buat kete EV blom tentu ko bli,buat ape buat?

• kingzzzz on Jan 19, 2012 at 5:26 pm

HAHAHA..plotong sapporters butthurts..HAHAHAA

• AZHAR on Jan 19, 2012 at 6:33 pm

p3-21A
    FULL SPEC including:-
    6 airbag, 4 disc brake inculding 4 wheel ABS & EBD & BA
    7 Speed CVT combination with FULL TURBO
    LATEST DESIGH OF DASHBOARD AND CENTRE PANEL (NOT LIKE OLD ROTON DESIGN) – IMPRESSIVE DESIGN.
    steering paddle shifter
    5 star euro NCAP rating

• ahchong on Jan 19, 2012 at 7:00 pm

If you don’t like Proton cars. Just don’t buy one. Easy. Buy another brand. No need to bash.
    Try making your own car in your father’s lawn if you can’t afford to buy a car

• Annoynimouse on Jan 19, 2012 at 7:12 pm

Its not going to be named Proton Tuah when its launched by the way… :)

• RedBeanBun on Jan 19, 2012 at 9:18 pm

lets guess what is the price range…

0) 30K-40K
    1) 40k-50K
    2) 50K-60K
    3) 60K-70K

I will be Waja price range i believe at the RM59,999 range! :)

• armandd on Jan 19, 2012 at 9:28 pm

everyone is excited when a new proton model is launched, bashers and supporters alike!

• Quattro on Jan 19, 2012 at 10:23 pm

Akhir bulan ni boleh buat booking dulu

• My mum would trade her 2005 Gen 2 with this lovely car, I think it is a Waja replacement model.

• ketinggalan zaman..already known that waja replacement model is inspira not this model..go study for your exam than worrying what kind of car your mummy is going to bought

• alhhin on Jan 19, 2012 at 11:30 pm

man , look at PIC 3 ,the Con is drop a head to road, that freaking dangerous!!!

• So this car will have Exora Bold/Prime engine? If so.. Me Gusta

• Proproton on Jan 20, 2012 at 12:42 am

I am damm sick with this “Spotted”….can you pls stop showing the same “Spotted”…

• Olbert on Jan 20, 2012 at 1:45 am

Proton has been protected by BN for so long…Even until now produce low quality car like BLM and steal from Mitsu Lancer for Inspira.

I believe this new Proton is disappointed car just like we disappointed with BN.

I hope Pakatan will win and teach Mahathir how to develop better car or give more competitive market in order to push Proton become better car’s manufacture by abolish AP.

• 1. mahathir never develop a car.
      2. protected? no. you just a dumbass who don’t know the tax system in Malaysia. U just a bunch of d*ck head who just been cheated by the greedy imported car dealer.. If you know the real price of each Japanese, Korean and European car, u’ll know that u just paying almost 50% for the profit of the dealer.
      3. Proton is also taxed. which company not?
      4. PR? They promise to demolish the Tol Sg Nyior at Penang. But I bet you can still see it there. Making promises and doing it is a big different. You can stay on daydreaming.

• apexg2 on Jan 20, 2012 at 8:13 am

WTF???political issues here? Hey, we are talking about the car, not politic? if want to talk politic, go find political web….HERE WE ARE TALKING ABOUT CARS!!!!!i think u should go back to ur school, please study about car and politic…whats the different…

• Maha Der on Jan 20, 2012 at 9:17 am

Even rubbish in Selangor ‘Negeri Maju’ also PR cannot manage then how to manage this country…

• hahahaha in dream la oiii!!! Now proton not under goverment anymore la! tara baca news ka??? very ignorant ppl!!

PR want to develope car?? hahahah!! stupid joke! in their ‘buku jingga’ they never say single thing about automotive industry and they know lots of PR supporter working in Proton especially PAS/PKR ppl. hahahahaha funny!!!!

• steal? it call rebadge not steal moron,even Others Big Company also do the rebadge.lol how come you know this new proton is disappointed car?have you try or test the car?dont bash until you try and test it~

btw this is a automotive blog not a politic blog.

• firefish on Jan 20, 2012 at 3:22 pm

Sad. How our education work that produce people like this

• It’s confirmed, this new Tuah design already outdated. No need to compare to Altis or Civic, just take Elantra and Forte good enough as cAmparison.

Global car, really? The new 2013 Forte will beat the crap out of this new Tuah.

Just like Hang Tuah it’s a myth fairytale.

Protongkat going global car yes it’s a myth fairytale also lah.

• Maha Der on Jan 20, 2012 at 11:25 am

Civic cannot call global car la bro cos got US Civic/JDM Civic/Civic Euro…only name not the car itself…

• apexg2 on Jan 20, 2012 at 8:28 am

looks like Audi from aside…Gen2 + Audi…haha! looks nice…hope the price is nice also…

5 lug 16″ rim…small fender
    Persona sidemirrow…looks like
    good aerodynamic…
    Where is the antenna?
    if not mistaken, exhaust(dunno how to spell this) is at the right side, so fuel door should be in left side…usually proton put it in right side…

BTW, nice effort and good luck to proton..

• hway de Cruz on Jan 20, 2012 at 8:59 am

wonder wat specs available for this model? perhaps wait a month or two for the launching lor… for those bashers, go test drive the car first lah, find out the handling, space and performance, then u can start ur bashing n praises…. how u know this car good or not without trying the drving aspect of it? same as by just looking at a pot of curry and say it is hot, but how hot is hot? u hv to sample the curry then u will know. i am not a fan of p1 but u hv to be fair and unbiased, try it then can comment lah

• razzack04 on Jan 20, 2012 at 9:18 am

wow.. as usual with any posting about proton we can all expect lots of comments. Some of these comments make you wonder whether they bash just for the sake of it or they’re really stupid.
    Can someone tell me how many countries build cars (please exclude the european countries)? Any of them gain independence after 1950 ? With population less than 30 million ? Proton is not the best and it need our support. Honda was not the best, same with Toyota, Hyundai, Kia… AP,AP,AP.. we don’t just protect our local car manufacturer, there are a lot others that we protect. Same with every country in the world. You need visa to go to US, need permit to work in some countries, some charge high duties for camera , hp, some country allow soft drugs, some allow pornography and prostitution….
    Different country, different culture, different economic policy, different protection…

• foxis on Jan 20, 2012 at 10:18 am

saja saja nak buat orang syok… guna kain nipis untuk tutup kereta buat ape… macam bakai pakaian nipis saja…

• Lucifer on Jan 20, 2012 at 11:36 am

P3-21A 01.Good from the Proton. Proud with P1 because they can compete with the GIANTS in the Car Industry in Asia. To compare “TUAH” concept with KIA FORTE is bad comparison. “TUAH” concept is 10 years older than the KIA FORTE. Still some people (P1 Haters) said P1 is out dated? To make 1 car is not an easy task. See those Avansa & Alza is using the same engine but only the cover is different. Tampung Seribu is easy to do. Well, it is good to see P1 come out with the All New Model. 2 Thumbs up for the Proton.

• NiCK CReaTiVe WoRKS on Jan 20, 2012 at 11:59 am

Komenlah dengan rasional…..
    Jangan komen dengan emosional

• bmarket on Jan 20, 2012 at 12:44 pm

should i get inspira 1.8 wif 6-7k discount or wait for this ‘tuah’ ? hmm…?

• rockidz on Jan 20, 2012 at 8:31 pm

according to the Proton SA, she told me last month it will launch in March

• my boss told me the price will be around rm74k for premium …. and it is not persona replacement…persona production will continue… he got this information from someone who had business with proton..

• The fiancee of the brother of my wifes colleague (who is making business with Proton, she sells pisang goreng near Proton factory) told her that the price will be around rm49k

• cyberqash on Jan 22, 2012 at 11:42 am

http://a5.sphotos.ak.fbcdn.net/hphotos-ak-ash4/404186_10151194726610430_886890429_22916644_1960376444_n.jpg

This isTUAH rite?

• cyberqash on Jan 22, 2012 at 1:00 pm

Hopefully the tail light won’t be much differ from the prototype.

• Neo CPS on Jan 22, 2012 at 8:25 pm

wahhh cyberqash…where did u get tht? it was recently right? damn im gonna sell my neo cps..Solid White, year May 09, 17 sports rim, and mino modification, 0-100knh 9.1 seconds, RM50 can go 290-300kmh after good mods…whoever intesrested can book the on March on wards, hehe

• Ipoot on Jan 25, 2012 at 3:27 pm

Hello Mr Neo CPS…normally normal NEO can go maximum 250-250km for RM50…what is ur selling price?

• azman on Jan 25, 2012 at 5:58 pm

After reading tons of literature on cars, here are my conclusion:-
    a) hybrid cars – don’t buy yet as there are issues, like battery need to change after 5 yrs,
    cars now are designed to be very much fuel efficient eg Fiesta can go to around 600-800km/full tank
    b) japs cars are overpriced, but got resale value
    c) korean cars are now top of the class, good value, but no resale value
    d) (b) and (c) compensate each other since korean cars cheaper, u either pay now for higher resale value or take a discount later on Korean cars
    d) turbo charged cars are the way to go now, and Japs passenger cars do not have turbo offerings
    e) good to see proton is now coming up with turbo charged cars which are eco friendly and more powerful and good fuel consumption

but with two launches slated within this month/next month i am still undecided whether to go for Avante 1.6L or Tuah 1.6L Turbo

• brohai on Jan 25, 2012 at 9:40 pm

hope Proton can improve in their engine technology.Not just the handling.

• brohai on Jan 25, 2012 at 9:44 pm

proton must get improve in their engine.Not just the handling.

• Ahmad Kawannya Ah Tong on Jan 26, 2012 at 3:19 pm

i’m work in proton.. as internal circulation news said, the car will be delay off the launch as drb-hicom just take over the company..

as plan by syed zainal, the launch date is 17 feb 2012 (friday), but has been cancel due new management decision..

drb-hicom might consider to remove or retain some spec (6airbags,build in gps and few things) as to lowest sales impact deduction to their current product honda..

the product will be call as the new proton waja (2012).. and the price start from 59k to 74k..

the product only will be launch by april fool..

got cha!!!…

i see u smiling…

• mizzuddin945 on Jan 27, 2012 at 8:54 am

WTF is this..?

• Abu Kawannya Kiat Sing on Jan 27, 2012 at 9:59 am

ok quite funny ahmad kwnnye Ah Tong Sampah? but r u sure the name will be Proton Waja? So uncle sound la..Tuah ok lagi, bunyi muda lagi…hmm wondering the 59k would be dissapointing specs or quite satisfying…is your source is true? :D

• azman on Jan 27, 2012 at 11:35 am

my view on pricing

1.4L vw turbo – RM148k
        1.5L vios – 84k
        1.6L forte – 75k
        1.8L inspira – 85K

so this Tuah = 1.6L TURBO will likely be priced between Forte and Inspira
        =>RM80k

• Datu Syek Jenal Abe Din on Jan 27, 2012 at 4:12 pm

wak the hell u guys fight2 abot thih new proton car, dong worry beh, kawe sokmo bagi mu hago tebaik dari lade..

mu soba ja, bule depe kito kasi tubik keto nih.. siak duik muko jo kalu mu minat deh..

nulis2 sini kalu duik takdo wak nate gapo dio.. kawe tokse weeii… dah tubik dulu deh..

• Not sure what’s up with the Proton haters. If they hate the car so much, why bother commenting here at all?