Proton extends its lead in the S-WRC at Monte Carlo

P-G Andersson has stretched Proton’s lead in the Super World Rally Championship (S-WRC) category in Monte Carlo. Combing the icy roads through snow, rain and fog on the third day of the rally, Andersson’s Satria Neo S2000 held on to 9th overall and extended his overnight lead from 23 seconds to 1 minute 40 seconds over the second-placed S-WRC car, Kevin Abbring’s Skoda Fabia S2000.

Abbring dropped two places to 12th overall, while Irishman Craig Breen remains third – and 15th overall – in the S-WRC class, a further five minutes behind in his Ford Fiesta S2000. Bryan Bouffier, in a Peugeot 207 S2000, continues to hold 4th place in the S-WRC class, but has moved up to 18th overall.

The third day saw three special stages being contested in the mountainous region of Southern France, which included tackling what is reputed to be one of the most difficult stages of the rally, the 24.13km Cimetiere de Vassieux – Col de Gaudissart route.

Reigning world champion Sebastien Loeb continued to dominate Monte Carlo, leading Dani Sordo’s MINI by more than two minutes. Sordo, in the meantime, has taken advantage of Petter Solberg’s misfortunes to build a gap of more than a minute – the third-placed Norwegian damaged the wheel of his Ford Fiesta and subsequently suffered a puncture.

Anthony Lim believes that nothing is better than a good smoke and a car with character, with good handling aspects being top of the prize heap. Having spent more than a decade and a half with an English tabloid daily never being able to grasp the meaning of brevity or being succinct, he wags his tail furiously at the idea of waffling - in greater detail - about cars and all their intrinsic peculiarities here.

• wow

• Aku lah on Jan 21, 2012 at 8:22 pm

BRAVOOOO…..

• tokmoh on Jan 21, 2012 at 8:25 pm

Go Andersson go!! Go Proton go!!

• sleepwalkerz on Jan 21, 2012 at 9:41 pm

U make me proud…

• krs189 on Jan 21, 2012 at 10:40 pm

The photo looks like computer game!

• Jonathan on Jan 21, 2012 at 10:48 pm

Gosh that first picture looks like its out of Dirt 3 or sumth.
    But seriously awesome stuff.

• intermilan on Jan 22, 2012 at 3:42 am

Am listening to the rally live through World Rally Radio.
    PG Andersson, is out. Happened in SS16 (The first of two night stages). Very unlucky. Not sure what cause it but i hope its not mechanical or electronic as Satria Neo had always been hampered due to these problems (in IRC).
    He was in leading the SWRC category quite comfortably and was in 9th place overall.
    Look like both Satria Neo are now out of the Monte. What a shame really.

• He’s out with mech problem. Hope proton do well in next rally

• GG. May your next race be better.

• On a sidenote, P1’s Lotus F1 is in serious deep s**t. The money & time they spent developing Reactive height control has just been BANNED. Hope Paultan picks this up soon.

• Proton is becoming popular in Australia with good sales at the moment.

• RedBeanBun on Jan 22, 2012 at 12:18 pm

even though a basher like myself gota give thumbs up for the achievement.

• KageSenshi on Jan 22, 2012 at 9:57 pm

http://www.maxrally.com/news/entry/disaster_for_proton_as_andersson_retires/

Aww crap :( … So close! >.< ..

• Satria Neo is always a good car to drive.

• Definitely it’s a good car. thus PROTON is planning to reproduce the model in this April.

• Proton should come out with a new neo. there are quite a following on this segment Sad to say, problem plauged on earlier neos lost confidence in it. Interior design is also the downside of it. i personally hated it.

• KageSenshi on Jan 24, 2012 at 10:20 am

i prefer -> same car, but facelifted materials .. the chassis is perfect d ..

• azman on Jan 25, 2012 at 11:46 am

are the engines off the rack or specially designed alloys different from the one you buy from edaran?

• NeoBest! on Jan 27, 2012 at 11:49 pm

Sekali lagi Proton Neo show the way…the champion way !

• lanzxervia on Jan 28, 2012 at 10:59 pm

http://www.independent.co.uk/news/proton-beats-british-cars-for-reliability-1097727.html

• Pornstar on Jan 29, 2012 at 6:41 pm

Wow! This SAMPAH company can produce performance cars? Yet the reliability of the engines and power windows still haunts the buyers. Well, what can you say. SAMPAH fanboys will stomach the stupidity. Now that SAMPAH crony bought this SAMPAH company that produces SAMPAH products, let’s see SAMPAH fanboys defend Proton. Or they want to defend the filthy rich Syed mokhtar? In Your face SAMPAH!!!

• Hey bro…u are calling “the company” as sampah…instead what’s your contribution to our automotive industry? Your dirty longkang tongue rambling the same issue over and over again.
      I strongly believe everybody in the industry are working hard to improve as we see “the company” keep coming with new good product.
      Why don’t you call TATA “sampah” since they produced bad “Awan Nano”. Or why don’t you mention that Nissan, Toyota and Honda also have to recall their cars from the market.

People like you even BMW put their emblem with PROTON logo still complaint there and here. BODOH betul kamu ni!

Before, we all know people don’t want to buy Korean car…..but with their people support, now HYUNDAI or KIA getting people trust globally.

Just wait for P3-21A….!!!

• Lunch Up on Feb 08, 2012 at 8:57 pm

Well, I criticize what is wrong. if Proton can’t take the heat, just close shops la! What I am criticizing is what is suffered by Malaysians. I should contribute to the automotive industry? Wow! having the “national car” status really makes Proton immune from criticism? Wonder is this how Americans treat Ford or how Germany treats BMW.

Well, I am not saying ALL Proton staff are sampah. Those who are sampah deserves it! Bad quality, bad after sales service, idiots at service centers, overpriced and low quality parts, cronies as vendors. is this what we should hail as hardworking? Do we teach our next generations this is the work ethics they should emulate? Recalls? Well, check again! At least recalling means they are responsible for their products. Funny how when Mitsubishi Eterna was recalled, the same was not done by Proton. Well, they do use the same parts. Kind of odd. Also, Protons usually have many problems such as power windows, engine reliability, yet, nothing was done to rectify this. Good ethics huh? Well, TATA NANO really is low quality and way cheapo. they make cars … mass-produce to enable their people to own cars. Proton make cars to enrich cronies and glorify one man’s legacy.

Dude? BMW put their emblem? Can’t even produce decent power windows, what makes you think Auto Bavaria wants to put on your Proton emblem? Proton only managed to re-badged all Mitsubishi cars and after 25 years, they did it again with Inspira. WTF? No capabilities to produce their own cars? What happened to all those years in R&D? Money down the drain?

Hyundai got their government’s help for 10 years. After partnership with other car manufacturers, they can stand proud. Proton? After 25 years all they got to show was a rebadged version of Inspira. What a shame!

Calling me BODOH? Well, I am not the one supporting a brand that shortchanges me. I still buy Proton because it is the only one I can afford after foreign cars are imposed all kinds of charges. I am not dub enough to become a SAMPAH Fanboy. Those SAMPAH Keyboard warriors are more fortunate than SAMPAH fanboys. At least they get paid. Me? I get the satisfaction rubbing it in SAMPAHs’ faces!

• pacifictuna on Feb 08, 2012 at 10:17 pm

you’re full of despair….. but i can understand. i drove proton myself, couldn’t get myself to buy those heavily taxed imports. but i think seeing proton go racing is interesting. whether they can benefit from it or even be successful is another story though. local make are pretty much the same. they did improve over time but i think they took it a little too light. if the tax tier is there, i can just hope proton would change. otherwise better dump the protection. we are not protecting it but spoiling it…