Honda Jazz Hybrid to debut in Malaysia sometime in Q1

Word has it that Honda Malaysia is set to introduce the Jazz Hybrid in the country sometime in the first quarter, further widening the choice of hybrids for the consumer. There’s no indicative pricing for the five-door hatch, which made its debut at the 2010 Paris Motor Show, but it should be nicely clear under the RM100k mark and by all accounts cheaper than the Insight, currently the cheapest hybrid in the country.

The Jazz Hybrid is powered by an 88 PS and 121 Nm 1.3 litre SOHC i-VTEC engine, with a new generation Integrated Motor Assist (IMA) system made up of a 14 PS and 78 Nm DC brushless electric motor and 0.6 kWh Ni-MH battery pack.

A few subtle cosmetic tweaks help distinguish the car from its petrol-based sibling – these include revised headlamps (with a blue-tint), a new front grille and reworked front and rear bumpers, as well as a new tail lamp cluster. There’s also that signature Lime Green exterior shade to denote its eco-friendly character; wonder if that colour will do well here.

Anthony Lim believes that nothing is better than a good smoke and a car with character, with good handling aspects being top of the prize heap. Having spent more than a decade and a half with an English tabloid daily never being able to grasp the meaning of brevity or being succinct, he wags his tail furiously at the idea of waffling - in greater detail - about cars and all their intrinsic peculiarities here.

• WUA770 on Jan 26, 2012 at 12:49 pm

i was driving honda insight . boring driving. takde ummpphh..

• kerdil on Jan 26, 2012 at 2:53 pm

why did you buy a hybrid in the first place?

• did u buy the insightcuz it was cheaper than a prius?haha.u din realise the actual purpose of buying a hybrid.its to save the planet and ur wallet bro,not for umphhh

• MickuFIt on Jan 26, 2012 at 3:04 pm

Try put on S gear n see..also try of the ECO button..they its stil got cilok power

• albag on Jan 26, 2012 at 5:27 pm

LOL the most idiotic comment i hear so far… u tak suka u jangan pandu hybrid lar

• droll on Jan 26, 2012 at 8:00 pm

no wonder i see many hybrid drivers trying to mod their car to look like a race car. spoiler lah, lowering springs lah, change larger rims lah. etc. after that, go cucuk cucuk and drive laju. bro, buying hybrid is for saving fuel. but then again, it’s your money. u’re entitled to do what you want to the car. :)

• Stephen on Jan 29, 2012 at 1:22 pm

This is sad. I might not be able to claim they all have this mentality but it just kinda suggest these group of people who mod their hybrid to look sporty are people who don’t want to spend too much on fuel and then want to tell people they are update to jump into the hybrid wagon only to realize it didn’t give the same power they need for the fun to drive on the road.

they should have get something like Golf with TSI then….not as fuel saving….still look updated (trendy) plus it got the umpphhhh. but of course they have to pay more since most Golft or Polo cost a lot.

• albag on Jan 26, 2012 at 1:18 pm

wats with the alza rims… lol!

• More hybrids are coming to our land – something nice to learn.

Really hope H-san will price it correctly.

• odi862 on Jan 26, 2012 at 1:27 pm

Encourage the usage of diesel also…..provide better fuel quality.

• Anti Honda on Jan 26, 2012 at 1:38 pm

Honda suck!

• Carl Wong on Jan 26, 2012 at 4:51 pm

You suck!!

• i bet this is the proton lover..once be a proton cum worshiper, will always be a worshiper..hahahah

• how do you know he proton car lover? he might be korean car lover…so bias la u..all proton..i think if ur gf sleep with him oso u said he must be proton lover

aghh..my car get stolen, tis maybe proton lover
        who eat my food, tis maybe proton lover
        aiyoo…im late for work, tis maybe proton lover

• Honda The Power Of Dreams on Jan 27, 2012 at 1:10 pm

Anti-Honda, it’s you who sucks! If you don’t like Honda, then just shut up and don’t comment.

• Honda is not suck and Honda is M’sian fav brand…just look at the all Honda news on paul tan,always get more than 100 ‘ Excited ‘ !!! i click the Excited too but wrong click hehe

• Carl Wong on Jan 29, 2012 at 3:45 pm

I don’t really care about others but HONDA will always be my favorite :)……………..!!!!!!!

• @8250rpm on Jan 26, 2012 at 1:50 pm

Dun tink wil b cheaper than insight…mayb 105k… Hope nissan leaf can b below 100k dun let H dominate hybrid market

• bugger on Jan 26, 2012 at 2:27 pm

shld be cheaper la….current jazz no tax exemption….tin kosong!

• C.I.T.Y™ on Jan 26, 2012 at 2:11 pm

I think the price will be around RM95k.

• Black Dog on Jan 26, 2012 at 2:33 pm

Nice. Will add to my shopping list radar. (of course not for me)

• Saga R3 Biru on Jan 26, 2012 at 3:26 pm

Its should be Saga Hybrid. And sell it for 40k. Sure Honda die~!

• ultrajo on Jan 27, 2012 at 6:21 pm

Make Viva ‘Hybrid’ sure other automaker will die standing hahaha!

• Maybe aroung 70-80k bracket price.

• Carl Wong on Jan 27, 2012 at 3:25 pm

Hopefully, cheapest Honda and a hybrid? Mmmmmm……….!!!

• pelam on Jan 26, 2012 at 3:49 pm

hybrid gt aircond problem when stopping at trafik lite kn?

• its called Idle Stop,designed to save fuel when ur car is idle(not moving),ur engine pistons stop and the aircond becomes hotter,the compressor shuts down.its not air cond problem

• zaff1984 on Jan 26, 2012 at 4:36 pm

just asking, then how when heavy traffic jam especially in hot sunny day during festive season?

• No air-cond lah, what else?
          Drive hybrid, save the world, enjoy less, suffer sikit-sikit, never mind lah. :-)

• arcana on Jan 26, 2012 at 6:38 pm

means jialat lah….honda’s hybrid is only IMA and not a full hybrid…the motor is too small to run the air cond for long…hence shutdown…..only toyota’s system can maintain the air cond….of course with a higher price tag.

• i dun think idle stop has nothing to do with the electric motor,its just a measure to cut fuel losses during idling.even non hybrid cars have idle stop,mazda has it,even merc uses it.all of which is non hybrid

• It won’t happen to mercs or other conti, coz they dun use engine power to run the aircon compressor.. only low class jap cars does that. lol

• arcana on Jan 26, 2012 at 9:33 pm

referring to pelam’s post,

sorry…actually it should be the battery, the only source of power that the air cond can derive from since the engine is virtually shut. so far only honda has this issue i.e. small battery, small capacity to power anything.
            i have driven the prius and safe to say that i can stop for 10 mins or more with the air cond on and no problem.

to NSX,
            i’m curious how those air cond in start/stop cars work when they are non hybrids…..air cond off? bad news especially in malaysia.

• not too sure bout the aircond in non hybrids.as far as i know honda’s argument for the air con blower getting hotter is that even running of air con takes up fuel,which is true actually.the colder the aircon,the higher the load on the compressor therefore consumption goes up.maybe its their measure.Prius runs on a different hybrid platform,since u cud drive a prius as a electric car,maybe the air cond cut off measure is not necessary

• parasolx on Jan 27, 2012 at 10:36 pm

because insight doesn’t have dual compressor like civic hybrid. i own civic hybrid. no air cond shutdown during stop idle mode. it continuous running same as prius. but it has one mechanism where the idle stop mode will not turn in during hot sunny condition.

this mechanism to make sure the battery level will constantly enough for acceleration. but in insight you can manually disable idle-stop by leave and press again break pedal. but in civic hybrid, it doesn’t work since the compressor still can run powered by battery soruce.

• Like son and father dude.. coz got. ahhahaha, or else how to sell insight?

For those who think will sell cheaper or equal to insight.. My bet is 10k higher price than insight.

• Low2215 on Jan 26, 2012 at 7:41 pm

I think the aircon is when u switch on eco mode .. if u dont turn on eco mode , that should be ok .. anyway prius dont have this issue :)

• michaelooi on Jan 26, 2012 at 10:36 pm

econ mode on = no air con (fuel consumption gets better).
      econ mode off = air con on (fuel consumption goes up).

• Carl Wong on Jan 27, 2012 at 4:11 pm

I think current and previous Civic Hybrid have electric compressor so air-conditioning still works during Auto-Stops until the state of charge of the IMA battery is very low.

• also some news my sales person at honda told me.. it will be CKD.. along with 2 additional assembly line at melaka… the civic hybrid and this will both be CKD.. giving a hints of more competitive price

• civic hybrid ckd? new 9th gen or existing 8th gen? if 8th gen, the civic hybrid has been discontinued.

• squall_shinoda on Jan 28, 2012 at 3:16 pm

It won’t be the 8th-gen but rather the newer 9th-gen.

• Carl Wong on Jan 26, 2012 at 4:48 pm

Is that true? CKD hybrids in our country finally?? That’s………good news..

• VOLVO FOR LIFE on Jan 26, 2012 at 7:48 pm

how much cheaper will the price be? what about quality? i liked the civic hybrid a lot because it’s interior had significantly better leather compared to the normal civic.

• Low2215 on Jan 26, 2012 at 8:19 pm

will it matters ? since hybrid is already tax free ..

• transport fee n insurance for shipping should be less..since it will be assemble locally maybe not much…1-2k less maybe

• C.I.T.Y™ on Jan 27, 2012 at 5:21 pm

It does matter, right since Honda would save on the transportation costs to bring CBU cars from outside Malaysia if they assemble the hybrid cars in the Melaka plant.

• Carl Wong on Jan 27, 2012 at 5:38 pm

Yes I think there is a difference in terms of emissions because they don’t need to come here by ships :).

• yes.. because of the flood in thailand… honda have decided to add more assembly line in melaka plant.. if my sales person get correct information.. malaysia will be one of the main export for this region for some cars.. it will be the new gen civic.. going for a 1.5l power plant.. so its much better than the 8 gen hybrid which is 1.3…

if i bravely guess.. jazz should fall right around city price.. dont be suprise if it does.. cause the last civic hybrid fall right into the civic 1.8.. and ppl still buy 1.8 because the concept of hybrid is not there.. this time around.. the good result of insight.. i’m actually hoping it to be sub 90k.. yes u’ll be torn between 1.5 and larger space.. hybrid with a compact.. but better than no choice right..

besides.. toyota prius v is coming at 104k.. if jazz go into that range kinda suicide move.. but 8X K??? sweeeeet

• Carl Wong on Jan 26, 2012 at 4:50 pm

WELCOME, now just 2 more bigger hybrids to complete the Honda Hybrid family. New Civic Hybrid and Accord Hybrid (new full hybrid technology) later :]………………….!!!!!!!

• suhaimi on Jan 26, 2012 at 5:12 pm

cheap? cars are never cheap in this country..

• Albert on Jan 26, 2012 at 5:18 pm

Fiesta could do better than Jazz. Jazz overrated car

• we r talking bout hybrids here.fiesta is not a hybrid.plus how would you know what features the hybrid jazz would have?and as for jazz being over rated.it may not be as well equipped as the fiesta,but its produces 120PS on a SOHC 1.5 engine and its spacious.the Fiesta can only produce 122PS on 1.6 DOHC and has a useless rear visibilty n cramp cabin.so despite all the technological mumbo jumbo the fiesta has,its still crappy and not to mention a jerky,low grade dual clutch system

• as usual lah! on Jan 27, 2012 at 5:21 pm

i think the best handling is fiesta. agreed with with the rear visibility,jerky gbox.
        but i think fiesta tiru honda fit design. shame on you ford..LOL
        JDM forever~

• arvind on Jan 27, 2012 at 9:47 pm

i test drove the mazda 2 and fiesta.i bought the mazda 2.its handles better and way more fun to drive.though low in features but always reliable n fun

• Edward on Jan 26, 2012 at 5:37 pm

received sms from my honda sales rep… inital batch will be priced around or slightly less than 80k… 1.3

• RedBeanBun on Jan 27, 2012 at 7:50 am

will seriously consider as 2nd car to save some fuel $$…push it to vior price range.

• C.I.T.Y™ on Jan 27, 2012 at 5:18 pm

Initial batch only? Does that mean that the slightly later batches will be priced higher?

• C.I.T.Y™ on Jan 27, 2012 at 5:25 pm

Wow, nice! If only I hadn’t bought my City….sigh~

• timber on Jan 26, 2012 at 6:15 pm

The next is CRV – hybrid. :)

• arcana on Jan 26, 2012 at 6:28 pm

so this is honda’s answer to the cheaper prius C…..
    lets the hybrid price fight begin! good for us….

• RedBeanBun on Jan 26, 2012 at 10:19 pm

looks like the Honda might upset the Toyo hybrid market, where Yota hold winning too long and price ownself out the market this time! oh ya,!

If Nissan can join in will be cool…

• filixku on Jan 27, 2012 at 2:57 pm

Nissan not compete under hybrid category, but they will compete under EV category with nissan leaf… i’m happy to hear that Malaysia will be hub for hybrid and ev enhancement. hope will generate income to us with more prosperities and lucks hehe

• C.I.T.Y™ on Jan 27, 2012 at 5:22 pm

Wait for the 2011 World Car of The Year, Nissan Leaf to come to Malaysia.

• Eugene on Jan 28, 2012 at 11:50 pm

Nissan Leaf is already here in Msia. At the moment, there are 10 unit of Nissan Leaf registered but not for sale yet. It’s for the test-bed program. Only after that, it will be open for sale..

• paparadzi on Jan 27, 2012 at 12:22 am

For a hybrid, I’d rather have a Toyota.

• anyone know when is the new Civic coming out?

• Rosmah on Jan 27, 2012 at 10:20 am

Start saving from young and jimat like me. Then you all can buy a better car than this lil green box with jamban door handles.

• Abuya on Jan 27, 2012 at 2:47 pm

Green box? Laa….. celik IT tapi tau bezakan kereta ngan kotak

• C.I.T.Y™ on Jan 27, 2012 at 5:16 pm

LOL. I do like Jazz though but hates its so-called jamban door handles =)
      Honda should change the door handles to the ones like City’s.

• Carl Wong on Jan 27, 2012 at 4:01 pm

Hopefully Jazz EV will be next, possibly next year if not this year? USA and Japan is always first to get their new models even though we’re closer lol……………… I’m waiting……………

• hope so stream hybrid will be come tnext

• Mason on Jan 27, 2012 at 4:16 pm

Different hybrid platforms gives u different benefits. If max savings on fuel is what you’re seeking, then the Insight will help you to achieve that. What’s the longest time you’re on a complete stop during traffic? Maybe a couple of minutes in bad traffic. If you can live with that, I don’t see a big deal. But if you can afford to spend a bit more and get a Prius, then why not. Insight is just simply an affordable option for people seeking a reasonably good car with lower expenses on fuel.

• teelim on Jan 27, 2012 at 5:59 pm

Nice!

If really priced cheaper than the Insight, I am sure it will do well.

Also, Honda can forget about selling the petrol version if the tax exemption for hybrids remain.

• BENSON11 on Jan 29, 2012 at 10:19 am

just curious about it performance after years of use. Will the battery after 5 years used still provide same power as new one. With rapid charge and discharge battery, how about its battery life? if now 14ps now then later 10ps? Will the battery will discharge quickly after a long use? Take a look at computer battery performance, after year of year use, the battery quickly run out of juice

• Ahmad on Jan 29, 2012 at 1:31 pm

Assume that Jazz Hybrid priced at RM80k. I bet that Nissan Leaf will be priced over RM150k (since in Japan, Leaf priced at 3.8 Million Yen). It gives RM70k in price gap.

If I buy Jazz Hybrid, I can save RM70k, and use the money to buy petrol which gives me around 37000 liter of petrol. Since Jazz Hybrid consume around 26 km/l (in JC08 Test), I’ll get 962000km mileage.

If I buy Nissan Leaf, theres no cost for petrol. But I can only go for 200km per charge, means that I won’t use Leaf for balik kampong. Only for working + leisure. If I assume that I use Nissan Leaf everyday for 180km, then in one year (365 days) my Leaf will pop 65700 km, and I have to drive everyday for 14 years to equal the amount of mileage I can get with Jazz Hybrid (with the same amout of money=RM150k).

1km mileage with Nissan Leaf use 7.2kW. Means that to charge 962000km of mileage, I will use around 133611 kW. How much the electricity bill then?

• Carl Wong on Jan 29, 2012 at 3:50 pm

By the way what segment/class does Jazz belong to? Between A and B segment or A segment??

• NETCAT on Jan 30, 2012 at 12:15 pm

Is all these modified hybrid cars save to drive? The insight, prius are all purpose built to hybrid, but the jazz hyb is just like throwing a gas tank into your car and call it NGV..

• Carl Wong on Feb 01, 2012 at 6:59 pm

Jazz Hybrid use the same platform/ power train as Insight.

• Love it

• Carl Wong on Feb 02, 2012 at 10:46 pm

So the Honda hybrid family will soon look like this from small to big:
    CRZ, Jazz Hybrid, Insight -> (FUTURE) Civic Hybrid, Accord Hybrid (new full hybrid technology!!)

• Andrew on Feb 13, 2012 at 5:57 pm

I still love my Insight, Torque 200 leh.. who said no power, go genting hill can challenge Beemers.. handling superb.. Nice good looking car, at the moment still alot ppl envy the car i drive. I love to hear the sound of door closing, luxury sound compare to others which give me a harsh BANG sound.. Imported cars/made in japan really different from any local made cars..

• carnoisseur on Feb 16, 2012 at 10:21 am

one man’s meat is anothers poison. For those of you who didnt know, way back in the late 80s ,Honda already decided to go green .Generally Honda is targetting the green market while simutaneously bringing back performance into the scene.
    So it is a balance in equilibrium .More importantly choose what YOU want and NOT what others think . My parting words……be yourself and dont let your ego choose the car , I have a Beemer and an Insight , and i think you can guess now ,which car is used more often ……….

• Samlyn on Mar 15, 2012 at 5:49 pm

Called the SA . To return deposit next week.

Price out…..see how well Honda can sell.

• I got Turbo car, but now I fond of this GREEN beast.

Might not fast enuf but better in Fuel Consumption. No more power, all I want is GREEN.

Good for my newborn baby.