Mandatory jail term for reckless drivers being mulled

According to reports, the government is considering enforcing a mandatory jail term for reckless drivers who cause deaths in road accidents, if it’s deemed that such a move can help reduce road accidents and fatality rates.

“If the jail term can reduce the percentage of fatalities on the road, then we have no choice. Educating and appealing alone does not seem to work,” Home Minister Datuk Seri Hishammuddin Hussein told reporters two days ago, in response to Road Safety Council member Tan Sri Lee Lam Thye’s proposal that the government impose such a move.

Lee had earlier issued the call for the mandatory jail sentence to be carried out after the 25th Ops Sikap saw a 63% increase in traffic summonses being issued compared to the previous operation.

Hishammuddin said that enforcement agencies and the government have tried their best to educate the public through awareness programmes and direct appeals, but the public’s attitude hadn’t changed, with the fatality rate increasing.

Meanwhile, in related news, Transport Minister Datuk Seri Kong Cho Ha said that there was no need to amend the Road Transport Act 1987 to carry out such a move, as the mandatory jail sentence for dangerous driving to the extent of causing death is already provided under the act, Bernama reports.

Kong said the existing provisions under the RTA for serious driving offences had a mandatory jail sentence provided, besides a fine. “The offences cover reckless driving that causes death, reckless and dangerous driving, unsafe and inconsiderate driving, and driving under the influence of alcohol or drugs,” he said.

He added that Section 41 of the act states that causing death by driving recklessly or dangerously carries a jail term of not less than two years and not more than 10 years, a fine of not less than RM5,000 and not more than RM10,000, in addition to offender’s driving licence suspended for not less than three years. Under Section 42, the offence of reckless and dangerous driving, but not causing death, carries a jail term of up to five years and a fine of between RM5,000 and RM15,000, the report adds.

Anthony Lim believes that nothing is better than a good smoke and a car with character, with good handling aspects being top of the prize heap. Having spent more than a decade and a half with an English tabloid daily never being able to grasp the meaning of brevity or being succinct, he wags his tail furiously at the idea of waffling - in greater detail - about cars and all their intrinsic peculiarities here.

• I am very pleased with this action, and i hope this goes to commercial drivers like those dangerously unskilled Bus-rempits and Lorry-rempits that has caused most fatalities.

I also wish for more speed-traps and Police patrol in main roads rather than high-ways since trucks and busses (especially in Putrajaya) are speeding recklessly causing major harm to pedestrians and other drivers.

• sembang-automobil on Jan 27, 2012 at 2:50 pm

if it can cut down on number of death. yes why not? But i don’t believe people drive recklessly just for no reason. Getting someone killed is the last thing on their mind. If jail term for repeat offenders? . Yes

• Saab 9-3 - SS on Jan 27, 2012 at 2:55 pm

A saab 95 being stopped for speeding.

maybe is an Aero model….d engine just perform too fast???

• Agreed with the statement, however, the need to enforce the law which is non existent at the moment. I’m pretty sure there will be improvement in drivers attitude if this is done, eventually.

I remember a university mate of mine back in the US who got thrown into jail for a nite, for driving at 100mph. Apart from that, his license got suspended for a year, if not mistaken. After that incident, his driving attitude improved significantly.

• yang curi duit rakyat berjuta2, terlibat dalam rasuah, tidak amanah dengan duit rakyat, tak pula kena jail term…asyik kena denda aje. “Big Fish” only fines, “small fish” jail terms. That’s why our act got jail term or fines or both.

• jul2305 on Jan 27, 2012 at 3:02 pm

What if the victim that died drove or rode recklessly? Is it fair the the driver who knock the dead to be in jail. And knowing the POLICE here, lazy to really find out / investigate the real cause of the accident, and “Asal lu langgar belakang, lu salah” rule.. Shehhhsss….

• Nick.C on Jan 27, 2012 at 10:18 pm

This is so true. I remember this one time I was driving from PG to KL and somewhere in the hills near Ipoh, i was on the right lane slowing down in a corner because i saw a jam going up hill. Suddenly this Idiot speeds up from behind me, obviously unaware of the jam, overtakes me from the left and slams his breaks.

Thank goodness I had 4 disc breaks and managed to stop in time with less than 1 car length between the jam, him and me. Otherwise i dunno how I am going to explain that story to the cops.

• hopeless police on Jan 28, 2012 at 3:58 pm

Exactly !! how do the police define reckless driving? they can simply charge you & send u to jail even without investigating.

know ur rights http://www.youtube.com/watch?v=iExMSubmOiw
      although i think the police don’t care & will even try to “hold” you for even longer hours

• autojohndoe on Jan 30, 2012 at 11:47 am

no needs to whining much here, friend…

without the POLICE, there will be much more fatality…

they had served much for the safety of yours…

if you dont want to get into trouble on the road… drive safely, keep your distance and be alert of other cars/ vehicles…

• Glee power on Jan 27, 2012 at 3:02 pm

That’s a nice saab 9-5

• taboogen on Jan 27, 2012 at 3:04 pm

what to do.. even driving beemers, merc, lexus that we might say well educated gentleman still driving on emergency lane… spend billions of ringgit still wont do it. i think rather then put them on jail, revoke their license for 1 year and re-sit for driving test all over again.. their license class should be intense.. i think that will do it.

• myvi like a boss on Jan 28, 2012 at 4:00 pm

Very Agree but i think Myvi, Kancil, & proton got more of these behaviors that you stated above, they drive like a boss on Highway with a piece of scrap

• Sure or not? I have been travelling along NSE these few days and hardly came across any enforcement. Many using emergency lane as they wish. Buses overtaking me on my left when I am at 110km/h. Buses using right lane at 130km/h.

• mastermind on Jan 27, 2012 at 3:09 pm

Better find other ways like how to reduce the vehicle on the road..the fatal accidents happnd when trafic slow or jams…..that will causing driver especially men…facing aggresive attitudes…

I think better
    1. we jailed toll operator because failed to monitor and control trafic jams efficiently…which causing so many accident because user fail to control their stress…
    2.On the public or federal road introduce the lowest speed limit….some drivers like to drive their car like “honey moon” to slow also increase the other driver stress…..
    3.Mandatory jail term for reckless drivers just for bus operators and public transport,haulage,lorry driver ….
    4.For car,mpv,suv reckless drivers must responsible to family of the victims..pay all hospital bills,food bills and etc until victims die.
    5.Government must introduce scrapping for car which beyond 25year for car and 15years for motocyles,buses and lorries..with special term and conditions to reduce stress among people…

Thanks
    Jailed for criminal only (corruption,robber etc but not for common rakyat..We always drive on Malaysia road..SO we dont know what happened to us for the future….

• RedBeanBun on Jan 27, 2012 at 8:35 pm

#4 if that is happened in China. You gota settle all the hospital bill.

That is not a bad law infact, as reckless driver not only to jail, but in debt to payback the victim’s family.

its all the law that is giving lots of loop hole in Malaysia, from Corruption, to Rapist, to Child Molest, to Child Abuse, and to road reckless.

We focus too much of Gov give RM500 angpao, and let all the above not care.

• 1. almost cannot be done since most accident not at highway
      2. that can be done
      3. no i think all reckless driver that cause kematian must be sumbat into jail
      4. that one i agree
      5. i think last time gov want to do that but many not agree

jail are for those who breaking law…criminal, common rakyat, rich people, king, politician, me, u and all paultan-ise..no one above law except GOD

• nabill on Jan 27, 2012 at 3:39 pm

Ya…dats abt 15million reckless drivers!

• whysoserious on Jan 27, 2012 at 3:54 pm

and then for those who drive super slow at fast lane?

• This rule I like, I can’t stand it when people drive like they owned the road..cilok sana cilok sini, padahal bawa wira mivec, kancil turbo etc etc.. rasa nak lempang

• tokmoh on Jan 27, 2012 at 4:09 pm

So I heard… Reducing speed limit reduces accident.

Right, datuk seri?

Jail ALL the reckless drivers!

• kevin lee on Jan 27, 2012 at 4:38 pm

its so damn silly, our beloved datuks and tan sris in their expensive cars never experienced whats it like to drive their expensive cars out of the city and into the kampung trunk roads. those potholes and lack of signage is the real killer to all the drivers on the road! fix those please and stop going out the easy way and make us drive as if this was the 60’s.

• shooter on Jan 27, 2012 at 5:20 pm

dont pin the blame on others- its the drivers fault. if you cant drive, stay at home. if you have to drive, then be in control ALL THE TIME. No exuses, no exceptions.

• Drifter on Jan 27, 2012 at 6:08 pm

Also jail road hoggers and cane the jaywalkers.

• mustafa on Jan 27, 2012 at 4:34 pm

(see last para)
    Funny how being reckless and causing death you kena fine between RM5K – RM10k…but being reckless but not causing death you kena fine between RM5k and RM15k…..funeral expenses lower than hospital expenses….hahaha…..

• drMpower on Jan 27, 2012 at 5:10 pm

politically, everyone must agree that reckless driving duk. big time.
    i dont want any of the two takes advantage on this. so okay, we are good on this

i will go one better
    i want the police given free rein to collect summons
    and we need a new tiered summon system. bigger the summon for bigger wrongdoings
    but fixed big summon on fundamental wrongs i.e turning wihout signal or cut queue. etc.
    on the spot.

the revenues on summon must be use to purchase high speed police supercars and larger chuck of it to be spent on training the selected elite high speed pursuit unit officers. and if u get caught after high speed pursuit, ur cars will be consfiscated and summoned with extra large. and maybe multiple charge in court for resisting arrest, man slaughtering, endangering the public tc.

make me the new traffic police head now and i’ll start hunting tomorrow.

ps- jail time doesnt work btw. we need to pay for their stay in jail. and maybe suhakam will come and throw rotten eggs to ur face.

• shooter on Jan 27, 2012 at 5:37 pm

i like the way think. maybe we should have summons based on the engine CC…the bigger the engine (means the more money you have), the pricier/ heavier/ longger punnishment….like kena kantoi speeding 180kph driving f430- rm150x 4300 = rm 645,000.00!!! kalau turbo small cc engine, kita multiply by 1.7 – (polo tsi 1.4 x 1.7 = 2380) appeal kalu get double trouble special (X2 !!!) can afford what??? foreign plates get automatic 50% upgrade!!! some more issuing officer get 0.05% of the summon value…gerenti semua polis buat keja…and mandatory lifetime probation…harta semua kena rampas….anak bini masuk jail sekali………i hate speeding rich buggers…

• drMpower on Jan 27, 2012 at 9:39 pm

haha.
        spare me those big cc people. current saman for speeding is nut to them.
        300 for a ticket? jesus they spent 300 on a cigar for gods sake!

but a bigger saman should dig their pocket even deeper andi believe thats where it count. hurting the deep pocket.

but what about a speeding kancil with 7 people on board? or a maniac on a smart for two rocketing on highway? they are small cc AND very reckless. or a crazy bus driver speeding like hes on a go kart or something.

• wat bout EV car or hybrid car for sure cc is very low

• Drifter on Jan 27, 2012 at 6:11 pm

Nice story there bro but it won’t work here. The current system is good enough. Just catch all the drunks and overloaded lorries and things will be even better.

• drMpower on Jan 27, 2012 at 9:41 pm

i am all for good stuff mate
        maybe i’ll get u as our pursuit driving director
        u will be doing stuffs like balboni was doing at sant agata

nevermind we’ll throw u on the street every now and then.

• Dipak on Jan 27, 2012 at 5:34 pm

What are the chances of taking a random photo of a roadblock and getting a late model Saab 9-5 in it?

• Maybe the #1 cause of death on the road is because of the lack of basic safety features by Proton and Perodua due to protection.

According to Wiki, our Road fatalities per 100,000 motor vehicles is 36.5. Definitely not the highest in the world like what people always say.

Look at the list at Wikipedia. Those with the highest are those from the poor 3rd world countries. http://en.wikipedia.org/wiki/List_of_countries_by_traffic-related_death_rate

Imposing more laws is not the answer. We need to educate and create awareness. Being polite and civilize cannot be done via law, only from the heart thru proper education.

• pelams on Jan 27, 2012 at 10:36 pm

but i dont really trust wiki 100%..

• driver on Jan 28, 2012 at 7:46 pm

Everything must work as a system. Enforcers, educator, parents, politicians, societies.. all have to do their own task then we can stop this. Indeed we’re not the highest in terms of fatalities, but why compare to the worse when you can compare to Sweeden (the best in terms of road safety!)

And one more thing, the 36.5 is a ratio, and we should not be blinded by this number. A ratio will always be smaller when the denominator get’s bigger. If we look at the absolute number of death on the road in our country, it’s more than 6000 lives on average per year!

Government, please stop investing on building roads. We need railroads as alternative.. a really effective and good rail system. Not ‘cap ayam’ like KTMB. If we can’t afford a bullet train, a high speed train like KLIA Express will do. Imagine if we have this service from Perlis to Johor, a train that can travels 300 km/h can arrive Johor in about 5 hours only. It’ll be safer, more comfortable, and we can also boost up the economy as people can travel further sooner.

Enough said.

• sirimusa on Jan 27, 2012 at 5:43 pm

This is the most ridiculous statement of all from a really stupid government.

First of all, maybe people would respect road signs and laws if they were better educated with programmes in school for example. Second of all, if the police force wasn’t so easy to bribe and the rule of law not constantly corrupted by officials, maybe people would have more respect for law officials.

Even if the government decides to jail wreckless drivers, with the same police force and people in government, RM300 will enable you to settle the case on the highway itself and drive away again.

So before you threaten the people of Malaysia, why don’t you first think of cleaning the police force, restoring respect and the rule of law.

Pathetic!

• whysoserious on Jan 27, 2012 at 7:26 pm

so true!!!agreed!!!

• bagero on Jan 28, 2012 at 12:39 am

the most pathetic and stupid comment.. u telling me, ive to blame police and govt for any reckless drivers who killed people?? ohh yeaahh.. i bet we should blame police and govt for robbing ur house, raping your mother??.. then we should put police and govt to jail laa??

police: uve been driving recklessly, u killed ppl.. ive to take u to jail..

the driver: yeah i did.. it was your fault!! coz i dont respect you!! and u should teach me how to drive properly and teach me how to respect laws… u should be put in jail brother no me!!

bodoh!!!

• sirimusa on Jan 30, 2012 at 8:39 am

Can you please tell me the following then:
        -why is it that when foreigners such as the French of Americans, who drive very safe in their countries, when they come here, start driving reckless? Why?!! Because there is no rule of law!! Period.
        And why is it that when malaysians go to singapore or to Europe/US/Japan, they start driving safe again? Why?!! Because there is a law and the rule of law and uncorruptible police.

So yes Mr. Bodoh, the blame in the end comes to law enforcement agencies and govenment for having weak law, weak officers and a boat that leaks like no tomorrow. It’s not about attitude, it’s about respect of law enforcement.

When I drive in Malaysia, I know I can speed, because worst case scenario, anyone can bribe a cop or you can talk yourself out of it. In Singapore, I know there are speed traps everywhere and that you WILL get summoned no matter who and what you are. Same thing for Singaporeans: how many times do you see their cars speeding crazy on Malaysian highways? 150, 160 and above! Do you think they drive like this in Singapore? NO WAY! They just know our police force and laws are a joke. And so do all Malaysians. So next time, the Government can stop with their paper tiger threats and clean up the disgusting police force.

Truly yours Mr. Bodoh!

• drivingismypassion on Jan 30, 2012 at 2:16 pm

i really do not agree with your statement.. you dont deserve to be called a driver… you are just one sick bastard who is full of hatred towards the government and blames all the authorities for anything that does not go on your terms…

and… singaporean drivers drives like shit in singapore itself !! dont just simply say bullshit stuff like singapore is better… there are pro and cons !!

as for the terms, no one simply drives to kill people intentionally, i agree if the government put a mandatory jail term and bar the driving license for drivers that are DUI !! You have to be a blithering idiot to drive drunk !!!!

• drivingismypassion on Jan 30, 2012 at 2:22 pm

Hmmmm…..

i really do not agree with your statement.. you dont deserve to be called a driver… you are just one sick bastard who is full of hatred towards the government and blames all the authorities for anything that does not go on your terms…

and… singaporean drivers drives like shit in singapore itself !! dont just simply say bullshit stuff like singapore is better… there are pro and cons !!

as for the terms, no one simply drives to kill people intentionally, i agree if the government put a mandatory jail term and bar the driving license for drivers that are DUI !! You have to be a blithering idiot to drive drunk !!!!

• Azahari on Jan 27, 2012 at 5:47 pm

I agree! They should put people who drives against the traffic, blocking ambulance and bomba in emergency lane, road bullies over red lights should be put in jail for few days to teach them. All these offences are done intentionally so they deserve it.

• Reader on Jan 27, 2012 at 6:01 pm

We should learn from Saudi and implement blood money. RM100k per person killed to be paid as compensation to the victim’s family. So if a bus driver caused 10 people to die in an accident due to his fault, he needs to pay RM1M total.

Driving license should be suspended indefinitely for drivers who killed others, including mom and dad who reversed their vehicle and killed their own children. What action was taken so far to parents killing their own children? Nothing, since life is cheap in Malaysia. That’s why the fine is only RM5-10k.

The blood money should be doubled if accidents caused death at pedestrian zebra crossing, school zone, school bus picking/dropping students, or if the victim is disabled (e.g. blind people walking hit and killed by reckless driver).

And the blood money should be tripled during holiday seasons.

• Mastermind on Jan 27, 2012 at 6:34 pm

I think better government sees other ways…than jailed culprit because people money use to feed the prisoner…

I think better:
    1)G must finding policy to reduce vehicle on the road by implement scraping policy for car more than 25 years and for motorcycles,lorries,buses,and commercial vehicles at least 15years only..By special term n condition…
    1.Mandatory jail term for toll operators which failed to monitor and control highway or conssesion road…because accident happend when
    a) driver are too stress on the traficsjammed road so caused driver behaviour are change easily…..
    b)most death accident happened on highway are happened not solely on driver but design of the the highway …
    3) Introduce the lowest speed limit on our road because some road user failed to driving profesional and rational..Especially drivers who driver too slow on fast lane….
    5)Mandatory jail term for reckless just for buses and commercial lorry driver who failed to compliance the laws…..
    6)Mandatory jail term for reckless car and motorcycle change to pay hospital bills,food bills and etc for the victims depend on injury or victim situation if disable the driver or rider must pay compensation for a life…if die driver/riders pay death compensation to their family….with amount agree by both party maximum RM150k plus+other benefit which suit with conditions of family..

SEND TO PDRM and GGGGGGGG….better find other solution which give win-win situation to victim not solely to reckless driver…

• 1. they already done that but most dont want
      2. most accident not at those road
      3. that can be done
      5. jail for anybody who break law
      6. that one i agree

• 1. ask the reckless Motorcycle rider to be off the road! very dangerous to see them riding on road.

2. Enforce rule to use car camera to capture every happenings on road

3. Reducing speed limit wont do.. the road is to designed to take vehicle at the speed. why not make full use of it? Speed limit is not to be blame. May be enforcing all vehicles’s to be clocked at 120km/h maximum can save lots of life.

4. Ensure high quality planned route despite of cost and smooth road!

• Shooter on Jan 28, 2012 at 1:12 pm

You one selfish a-hole! Not everyone can buy a car. Some can only afford public transport. May be you should spend some time driving in the uk or the us, there motorcyclists are treated like every other motorists, a bikes space allocation on the road is the same as a car.

• pelam on Jan 29, 2012 at 5:10 pm

not only in the us & uk, but australia as well….. motorcyclist cannot simply zig zag between cars

• agree ! Motorcycle rider…most of them drive wrong way and potong sini or potong sana !

• RedBeanBun on Jan 27, 2012 at 8:30 pm

how about building a EURONCAP standard car in the most popular car on the road?

have they do a survey what is the most fatality rate of the car involved? it might not be surprise as all accident put the blame in the drivers.

• Paint on Jan 27, 2012 at 8:35 pm

Just do community service for traffic violation not amounting to death or grevious hurt.

• Works on Jan 27, 2012 at 9:15 pm

i don’t think by giving summons to reckless driver will make them learn because it can easily paid the summons later. why not replace it with community service for let say 50 hours community service at oldfolks home or disabled people centre..sure they will think twice do it

• reduce speed limit=reduce accident
    then cap all vehicle speed limit to 110km/h..
    less people die on the road=more people happy

• Shooter on Jan 28, 2012 at 12:56 pm

I was just thinking that. Mandatory speed limiter for all motor vehicles on the road. If removed or intentionally disabled then strip off nationality, seize all assets, whole family goes to jail….extreme situation calls for extreme measures…

• pelams on Jan 27, 2012 at 10:34 pm

nowadays, the G simply jail rakyat jelata…. sell 1malaysia book voucher pn, boleh kena jail…..the big fish rasuah ribu2, fine only

• kereta lembu on Jan 28, 2012 at 12:37 am

I kinda like the idea that offenders get slapped with fine PLUS making them do some community service and have their license revoked for a certain time. I think that would be good for everyone. Putting them in jail would take up too much space and money. Let’s keep the real criminals in jail instead.

• do you know what’s the most obvious reckless driving habit in our highway? some drivers turn their vehicles into emergency lane during congestion. can sial!!

• Carl Wong on Jan 28, 2012 at 11:42 pm

Ya I think all impatient drivers should be taken off the road. Zero patience? Don’t drive or don’t be a human, simple as that.

• most i think not giving signal lite when overtaking or changing lane r those can be consider reckless driver..eg what happen suddenly car changing lane at the same time fast car from behind…..if the fast car can avoid that stupid car infront wat bout car following the car or beside the car or car from opposite direction?

• ahmadfaris93 on Jan 28, 2012 at 1:41 am

It’s called ACCIDENT for a reason.

• Shooter on Jan 28, 2012 at 1:05 pm

The correct term is “traffic collision”. Calling any and all traffic collision an “accident” assumes that there was no party responsible at all or that there was no criminal elements involved. If someone rear ended you, you would be pressing for compensation- because our current paradigm assumes the rear guy as resposinble – hence it wasn’t an accident but a traffic collision.

• Carl Wong on Jan 30, 2012 at 2:55 pm

I believe the most common kind of collision in the world is front and rear collision. I don’t know how some people passed their Undang-undang and they have no idea what is the 2 second rule (minimum gap on dry road between you and the car in front) let alone apply it in real life on highways. And there is the 4 second rule (theoretical time required for changing 1 lane) and the IMPORTANT 12 second rule or scanning rule (time gap for LOOKING AHEAD). If you can apply all this and follow the speed limit and drive with BOTH HANDS your journey on the highways should be extremely safe…….

It’s a shame that a lot of people can’t even get the basic of the basics right, but it’s not a shame to learn again or ask others or use a few minutes on the internet to prevent some happening that you might regret for the rest of your life……………………….

• albag on Jan 28, 2012 at 8:09 am

a good law… but hope the implementation is really there… i mean FAIR IMPLEMENTATION

• Sorchai on Jan 28, 2012 at 8:47 am

Malaysians are barbarians… Just treat them as such. No need new laws. Just enforce existing ones.

I agree with “shooter”. Fine based on income. The more you earn, the bigger your fine. If you drive Ferrari, means you will earn a lot. Fine will also be a lot, if you break the law. Then only people will start to discipline themselves. Just like Singapore.

• Fine based on income is illogical, ludicrous and discriminatory. Why punish someone for realizing his potential more than others? No sense at all. One’s earning is irrelevant to his deeds on the road.

Jail term is best! Applies to all regardless whether you drive a Rolls Royce or ride a kapchai. Both are equally responsible for the choices they make on the road

• Does that mean a beggar who never declare tax but driving a Perdana does not need to pay fine? What about the retiree who rely on their pension? What about a filthy rich man driving a Viva? What about the delivery guy who just crashed a Ferrari recently?

• Hope they consider mat rempit as well

• driver on Jan 28, 2012 at 7:53 pm

I think mat remit is a social problem rather than a road safety problem. But I understand your point because they manifest the action on the road.

Get to the root, then the rest will follow.

• Hope they consider mat rempits as well.

• hongkong on Jan 28, 2012 at 2:07 pm

this is really a “lebih” action. I think they should consider to set KPI for them self. catch mat rampit and put them into jail or clean up the streets. on top of that, they should teach themself not to ride motorcycle in the white line and do not over take the motorcar on the white line.

many motorist death is because their own reckless and our incomplete road safety awareness guidline.

last question but not least, motorist should ride on the white line or same as motor car?

• The one that always drive like crazy bad ass will be the mod wira, kancil, kelisa and those driving luxury car/box merc, bmw, alphard, vellfire. Damn, this guys tailgating other people + flashing light like they own the road. This rule need to be apply especially for singaporeans driving like shit.

• Yeah.. Those yang drive toyota and honda ‘sangat bersopan santun’ di jalanraya kan.. Kan kan… Hahahahhaha

• proso on Jan 28, 2012 at 8:34 pm

pity for luxury cars, cannot really use their strength of speed on highways, vehicles are too many nowadays so their chances only to tailgate and flashlight others or do zing-zagging

there’s gone their money – their luxurious vehicles are no faster than cheapos

• Albert on Jan 29, 2012 at 12:16 am

Seem like Vios, City, Myvi and Waja drivers the most rudest driver in Malaysia road

• I think stroke of rotan is far more better than jail term.

• Carl Wong on Jan 28, 2012 at 5:19 pm

I think education and ‘encouragement’ alone can only do so much, for a while now, so let’s move to more punishment NOW. Same goes for the LITTERING all over the country every single second. Most people know the law, but sadly knowing and doing/applying are completely two different things…………….
    Knowing what is right but not doing = IGNORANCE = Current weakness of some Malaysians…………………………………

• Gebang on Jan 28, 2012 at 5:33 pm

Eksiden jer terus kata driver bawak laju….haprak punya jawapan..tu cara senang wat keje…kaji la keadaan kenderaan, jalan, cahaya, keadaan traffic dll dulu. Kasi statistik kete besar2 bawak laju berapa banyak eksiden…ni yg keta murah tayar botak, brek pad haus, steering rosak pun bleh sebab eksiden walau bawak 50km/j…ni bila eksiden semua kata bawak laju…hakkkkkktuiiiiii la.

• Gebang on Jan 28, 2012 at 5:39 pm

Bawak 7 series, 180km/j sama rasa viva bawak 30km/j…kalau viva bawak 110km/j peluang nak eksiden lagi tinggi drpd ferrari bawak 200km/j….lu pikir sendiri la…hakkktuii

• pelam on Jan 29, 2012 at 6:53 pm

speed kills, no matter which car u drive. i bet u never saw ferrari eksiden kn?

• Gebang on Jan 30, 2012 at 11:11 am

Drive slow also can kill others….it is how u drive, how u maintance ur car, road condition and others factor….dont simply2 say…reduce speed limit maaaa…

• hafay on Jan 28, 2012 at 9:00 pm

are this is FOCUS to punishing c0untry???

• Anand on Jan 28, 2012 at 10:30 pm

I’ve been asking PLUS to close the U-Turn at Nilai toll for months since it’s too near to the SmartTag lane but till todate no action. Even wrote to Biro Pengaduan Awam but no action. Hope there will be an accident there one day. Sure i’ll call the PLUS and laugh at them.

• Annoynimouse on Jan 29, 2012 at 6:16 am

Merely speeding is not reckless driving… period!

• DArkerMarker on Jan 29, 2012 at 10:19 am

hehehe, if the police is serious about road safety, they should have done this many many years ago…..Obviously, the police forces just act like they are doing their job. actual fact…cari makan only. Probably a political stunt before the GE.

Rules? regulation? We have plenty of them in our country la…
    Enforcement of rule and regulation in Malaysia?? where got la…..Dream on la…..esp. in the land yang takde system, semua boleh….

• pelam on Jan 29, 2012 at 6:59 pm

hell yeah, no enforcement at all. its equal to having no laws..

• heeman on Jan 29, 2012 at 9:19 pm

This will only encourage more hit and run cases. In such a case, the deceased’s family can’t even claim the offending vehicle’s insurance for loss of support of the deceased. Should leave the imprisonment at the discretion of the court.

• Izhar on Jan 30, 2012 at 7:22 am

Teringat zaman pak lah…minyak naik dari 1.95 ke 2.70…masa tuh mat rempit kurang, kereta kat highway majoriti drive slow..highway sban sg besi speed limit 110 tp ramai bawak 90…reason???nak jimat minyak…hehe…alah..laju2 pun dapat cepat 10 15 min jer…paling2 cepat pun cepat mati…bawak ikut speed limit jer…tp yang aku kureng setuju pasal speed trap..patut bagi margin besar skit…ni kat kawasan bandar 60km/h…bile bwk 81km/h dah kene capture..kadang2 kite xperasan sbb sebelum sampai bandar speed limit federal road 90km/h. pastu jalan lak masa tu lengang..polis kene ada budi bicara skit…

• It is strange that “international accident statistics demonstrate that limited access grade separated roads such as autobahns and motorways have much greater road traffic safety regardless of speed limit, suggesting that high speed alone isn’t a deciding factor.”

source: http://en.wikipedia.org/wiki/German_autobahns

We should remove all small cc cars, motorbikes less than 250cc, busses and lories from the highway. Remove the speed limit and Impose a minimum speed of 60km/h. Also impose a mandatory jail sentence for all those idiots who insists on driving at 80km/h on the overtaking lane.

• pelam on Jan 30, 2012 at 2:58 pm

this is 1 hell of a selfish komen… again, not all can afford a car… remove bus, how to reduce trafic congestion when every1 drives a car? remove lories, how to transport goods/petrol to dealers? i only concur with u about the road hoggers..

• autojohndoe on Jan 30, 2012 at 12:45 pm

for me… if someone caught for speeding, the fine should go as below

Speed limit + 20kmh : RM 300
    Speed limit + 21-50kmh : RM 600
    Speed limit + (51~ 100kmh): RM 1500

if accident… causing injury and death: jail + re-school + fine RM 5K~ 15K…

• halim darson on Jan 30, 2012 at 1:22 pm

Fair enough.. but it will be better if our national transport department can revoke the driving test & the pass level on our driving license.. it was just too easy to get license in malaysia… we dont have test on:

1. nite driving
      2. wet surface driving
      3. emergency brake test
      4. over/under steer recovery test

and many more… it may seems to be tough for old folks or house wife who just wanted a license to drive to the market or fetch their children to school.. but it it the best way on reducing the road fatality.

• KingBrutal on Jan 30, 2012 at 2:06 pm

The King is back…

This issue has been my biggest concern all this while. Driving on Malaysia roads are like playing Russian Roulette. You don’t know where the ‘bullet’ is coming or when. From my observation, most drivers are ignorant people. They don’t know (or simply ignoring) the rules and laws of using public road. You can have the biggest fines or summons in the world but when it comes to dealing with ignorant people, you just can’t win. Road hogging, beating the red light, using the emergency lane, parking indiscriminately and so on are normal everyday sight on the road. Just last night I saw a Viva cut in front of an ambulance which had the siren and beacon on. The ambulance have to apply emergency braking to avoid hitting that bastard.

It begs the question, how did these idiots passed the driving test? Do driving school even teach the RTA to the students? I passed my driving test more than 20 years ago. Since then I read a lot of so called improvements have been made to teach new driver. Did these improvements even works?

The only viable solution for these disease:
    1. The long term are educating the young (children) about road safety.
    2. Revise the Driving School syllabus to include learning the RTA.
    3. Limit the period of Learning License (L) for about a month or 2 only per year. If you take the L, you must sit for the test within 1 year. No more using L for everyday driving until God knows when.

These are for future drivers. What about current drivers? Well here is my suggestion.

1. Scrap the current summons/fines/compounds system. Replace it with Current Value system (CVS). Here how its work. Issue ticket as usual, rate are determine by value of car set by the government when the road tax is renew. Say if your car was insured for RM 40,000.00:
    a. First time offence – 10% of that amount ie RM 400.00
    b. Second time offence – 15% of that amount ie RM 600.00 and so on.
    (for 3rd party insurance, the rate will be determine by JPJ of MoT)
    2. For public transport vehicle, the rate above should be double. They are after all carrying other people and endangering these people should be punished severely.
    3. For good transport vehicle, the same rules as public transport applies.
    4. For motorcycles, first time offender will be fined RM300.00. Second time offender RM 600.00. Double up for every time for repeated offender.

Now for any arguments that these are burdening for the rakyat, the message is clear: DON’T BREAK THE LAW! You wont get summoned.

These are just ideas but it will still remain as idea if there is no implementation and enforcement. The government should ensure all enforcement body apply these rules and God willing we can see a much improvement on our road.

On a side note, someone suggest 0.5% of the fines should be given back to the enforcement personnel who issue the summons. I support this and would suggest it a bit different. Instead to the personnel, give it to the station. So every personnel can share this ‘bonus’ and at the same time we can reduce if not eliminate corruption from these bodies.

PS: All the year I’ve driving, not even ONCE I was approach by any enforcement officer asking for bribe. So all those that says officer asking for bribe, are they asking or were you giving? It takes a thief to know a thief, as the saying goes. Ciao

• kadajawi on Jan 30, 2012 at 6:29 pm

In Germany they IIRC rate it according to your income. So you earn a lot, you will have to pay a lot. Also if there are too many offenses (especially serious ones) you will lose your driving license.

If someone is fined, of course he will want to bribe the enforcement officer. Why would anyone want to donate money to the police?

I’d enforce things like not using the emergency lane, not pretending to be just arriving on the highway, no driving through petrol station to cut the traffic jam, no overtaking on the left, but also (just as heavily summoned) no staying on the right lane if there is no need to, i.e. the person is not driving faster than the person on the left lane and there is enough space. Especially if someone is trying to drive faster. The speed of that person doesn’t matter (he will be summoned too when he is speeding).

Get rid of the anarchy on Malaysian roads, then it would also be possible to raise the speed limit (like in Germany… no speed limit on 50% of the highways, but also no anarchy. Almost no one overtakes on the slow lane, they’d rather push you off the road with flashing high beam and tailgating than to overtake on the slow lane. That’s discipline…! :D

• tttee on Jan 30, 2012 at 2:23 pm

vfb

• roti bakar on Jan 30, 2012 at 3:50 pm

what about the singaporeans who drive like mad on our roads? Our summon rates are too cheap for them…

• Just drive your own car and mind your own driving. The public road does not belong to anyone. I’ve seen someone tried to be a punisher on the road but end up causing unnecessary accident to other road users.

If there is an idiot hogging the fast lane, don’t use your own laws to punish them, you are just another road user after all. Unless the authority willing to change road transport regulation in eradicate these behavior. Some point to share, owners of more expensive brand tend to ignore the cheaper car behind and refuse to give way at whatever speed there are traveling.

Throughout my 20 years of driving, I met accident 3 times, one is at the toll while queuing, another at a traffic light late evening when car moved forward due to driver fatigue and the last one its just below 40kmh during morning rush hour when an idiot decided to slam her EBD without any reason causing 4 cars piled up. Am I suppose to go in jail? Since I am the driver of the 3rd car which in your outdated RTD regulations define that I should get a ticket too. Mind you, all the accidents above happened at lower speed.

And by defining reckless driving, it has no level of measure, when the sergeant says you are reckless driving means you are reckless driver, there is no such idea as minor reckless or more reckless. You can either leave the car at workshop and appeal til you success which would mean another 6 months without car, or you can choose to take the bitter pill, so you that can pay off the fine and get the car fix for your daily usage soon as possible.

Try to avoid a huge potholes and cause an accident unintentional also consider reckless driving in this country do you know? whilst authority or the person who suppose to look after the condition of highways does not need to pay even a visit to the deceased, even though root cause of the death was the potholes which is his/her negligent of monitoring the road condition.

Anyway, driving fast or slow has nothing to do with accident anyone. Road is not the place for picnic, it is the most dangerous place on earth. Stay off the road and you can reduce the risk of fatality by 300% compare to stay at home.

Sincerely hope that PLUS highway could have 3 lanes each side at least for its entire route. And highway should not have potholes and speed breaker for god sake.

• sumpit on Jan 30, 2012 at 6:54 pm

I agreed if the new rule also implement to all VIP and minister.. They always drive fast with patrol car. If new rule only for the Rakyat biasa the new rule not efficient enough. Our Minister really curi tulang and lazy think for better solutions. Jail is simple solution and easy solution for them. Why not our minister focus on criminal because our criminal case very serious.

• rally_fan on Jan 31, 2012 at 8:24 am

i just read the last post, and im already in agreement. jail and fines dont reduce road statistics…

better road design + better driver education & better enforcement in that order is the way forward.

• Boddin on Oct 04, 2012 at 6:28 pm

Its good to jail those animals (reckless drivers) who are actually very insane especially at the traffic lights. To these animals, either green, red or yellow lights – JALAN SAJA! But to jail such animals, it will hike tax payor money to feed them in jail. The best alternative is to “cage these animals” and put them under the hot sun from for few hours at that very actual traffic lights area that these animals had break the law so that others – the human can watch them as a lesson. But of course, this type of punishment cannot be done as politicians will exploit it as an excuse to buy votes! What the fish!