Ford’s 1.0 litre EcoBoost mill set to make market debut in March, to be available across the Focus model range

Ford’s new 1.0 litre EcoBoost engine is set to make its market debut in the UK, across the Ford Focus range starting from next month. The turbocharged, direct injection three-cylinder mill, which was officially unveiled in Frankfurt last year, will be available with two power levels, these being 125 PS and 100 PS.

The 125 PS output tune delivers 170 Nm of peak torque (200 Nm with overboost) between 1,400 and 4,500rpm, giving it the highest power density of any Ford production engine to date. In terms of numbers, this is equivalent in terms of power to the naturally-aspirated 1.6 litre Duratec Ti-VCT engine as found in the Focus, while the torque from the EcoBoost shades the 159 Nm in the NA 1.6 (conversely, the 1.6 Ti-VCT in the Fiesta here has 122 PS and 148 Nm).

After its debut in the Focus, the UK-developed engine is set to feature in the C-MAX, Grand C-MAX and all-new B-MAX later this year.

Anthony Lim believes that nothing is better than a good smoke and a car with character, with good handling aspects being top of the prize heap. Having spent more than a decade and a half with an English tabloid daily never being able to grasp the meaning of brevity or being succinct, he wags his tail furiously at the idea of waffling - in greater detail - about cars and all their intrinsic peculiarities here.

• jolly_idiot on Jan 31, 2012 at 2:04 pm

Price Drop? We’re getting smaller engine CC! should sell us cheaper.

• Although i do hope they sell us cheaper but price should be judged against value, not CC. In this case, the performance justifies.

Still give u a thumbs up thou.

• Jack Leong on Jan 31, 2012 at 4:54 pm

we are all being charged by CCs.. so please charge us according to the CC too this time okay? :)

• Impressive. Just need 1 litre engine to keep up with those City and Vios..

• azman on Jan 31, 2012 at 2:48 pm

proton selangkah ke depan Ford 10 langkah ….

• redkachina on Jan 31, 2012 at 2:53 pm

125ps for 1.0liter engine?.. that’ll fly..
    What about long term engine reliability?

• Silwen on Feb 01, 2012 at 6:00 am

I too wonder about the engine reliability. With a smaller displacement and larger output, the engine will work harder compared to an N/A. After about 10 years, would the integrity of the engine + turbo still be there? Or will such crucial parts need changing. I am not sure about the US, but in the UK, they don’t use cars for so long, many are exported out to countries like ours or just get crushed when they are not worth reselling. Since the cost of buying a car is lower, the resale value too is lower and with the higher maintenance cost and fuel prices, it’s cheaper to dump an older car for a new one, it’s rare to find cars over 10 years old here whereas in Malaysia its far more common.

The subtle reason why Toyota and Honda do so well is because after 10 years, the cars don’t have many problems.

Either way, I hope that Ford’s new chilli padi can last into the 10-15 year lifecycle without hiccups. It would really give the hybrid tech a run for its money. I just hope that it can last. It’s afterall, a workhorse, not a racehorse. I needs to survive to the 300k km mileage to make it worthwhile.

Promising, but I won’t buy till I know it will last. Just like with hybrids, many waited till they knew the batteries weren’t a major issue.

Nonetheless, a good engineering achievement!

• ss427 on Feb 01, 2012 at 10:48 am

Well there’s no reason why these super high tech engines can’t handle the mileage or usage that its is supposed to do. Just put in proper TLC to the engine and drivetrain and you can be sure it will go the distance.

Anyway, I’ve noticed many Bolehland cars are still using mineral oil as their choice of lub! :( Please, please don’t do that!. Modern high tech engines REQUIRES top quality fully syn oil to run properly. Min oil is thick, can’t handle high heat, stress and breaks down easily.

Do you know that in SG, Honda will void engine warranty if you fill up our Hondas with min oil? And it won’t run well if you put in 0W-50 oil either.

So pls, when western countries owners choose fuel saving fully syn oil eg 0W-20, or 0W-30, it is becos they value their cars and they expect the cars to perform at their best.

Top grade fully syn oil needs not to be expensive nor hard to find my northern friends. They cost slightly more than min oil in SG only.

Do drop by this shop the next time you visit SG.. http://mxtradings.com/

Note I don’t own this shop neither do I know the owner personally, but plenty of car buffs here buys syn oil from them…including me. :) The stocks are directly imported from USA, they’re not locally produced, overhyped syn oil.

• Kiasu No Kiasi on Jan 31, 2012 at 2:57 pm

Wow 1.0 Ecoboost is as powerful as Forte 1.6, Bring in this Forte Killer Fast !! Can’t wait to see Forte owner got burned by a 1 liter car.

• ss427 on Jan 31, 2012 at 4:55 pm

Well Ford engine tech is getting really similar with Hyundai/Kia and GM these days. To those who thinks the Americans can only build big but weak engines, see how far they’ve improved.

It is the Japs who can’t come up with any adv engine tech for their regular bread and butter cars. Yes Toyota have good engines in the Lexus lineup, but until Toyota see fit to install LS 460 4.6L V8 in the Altis, it won’t be able to compete with the best engine builders out there.

Forte may not be a goner bro. The next gen Forte will be here at the end of the year, and Hyundai 201hp 1.6L GDI Turbo can fit into its engine bay, just like it can fit into the new Elantra. Whether Hyundai will do so remains to be seen.

• Turboman!!! on Jan 31, 2012 at 6:11 pm

The koreans have great engines, but they don seem to come to malaysia.

When i was in US, my company gave me a forte 2.4 liter for 2 weeks to move about, and it drives extremely well.

Timed 0-60 at less than 8 sec with my phone without dumping cluthes ( Its an Auto ). But we can never get those cars in Malaysia.

The only 2.4s are for D segment cars. Not C segment.

I’m opening a can of worms by saying that the japs seem to be quite left out in the fuel saving turbo arena. VW has their TSI and Ford has this engine. Even Mini/Pug has their Prince 1.6 turbo.

I said fuel saving light pressure turbo petrol engines. Not those in the 400hp Imprezas, Evos and Skylines but those 100-150hp turbo engines with good mid range torque. Even Proton is jumping onto the bandwagon with their Exora turbos which is a good move by Proton.

• 4G63T DSM on Jan 31, 2012 at 6:41 pm

ah there, thats where you have missed one point.

Asian Fords were never really American. Escorts, Cortinas, Capris, Lasers, Telstars

They are either European or Asian (ie. Mazda platform sharing).

American Fords are big lazy shoddily built cars until recent 3-4 years. In the 80s, Ford America tried to “Europeanize” its range with the Merkur range, with the European Sierra XRTi and Scorpio and more recent the 1997 Contour (which is a a ridiculously softly sprung Mondeo). Big flop. The only car which the americans did get into was the first generation Focus.

As much as I love big V8 power, Americans still loves thier big displacement and lazy low reving engines. Tide is changing though….slowly. V8 buyers are “downsizing” into 3.5L V6s…….

Install a 4.6L V8 in a Corolla? What are you on about? LOL. I think Toyota engines are the way they should be….not much unlike its image as a whole. Simple, dated, reliable as sunrise….. I find the 1.8L in the Altis perfectly well suited for the car….a car you wont be tempted to storm around in anyway.

As for the Koreans, its only here in Malaysia that Marques are reluctant to bring in thier latest GDI engines. After all, the turbo 2.0 GDI is well received and available in both Kia and Hyundai cars.

• Kiasu no Kiasi on Jan 31, 2012 at 5:01 pm

Not only forte.

Your fav best car in the world vios is not safe from this Ford too.

• ss427 on Feb 01, 2012 at 10:54 am

LOL. :) Of cos, many would say Perodua Viva and Kelisa will beat the shit outta the Ford Ecoboost 1L too. :)

• sirimusa on Jan 31, 2012 at 3:06 pm

These numbers are very, very impressive.
    A 1.0L engine will have superior torque to a 2.0L Lancer/Inspira engine and not much less horsepower. And the Focus being a compacter car than a Lancer, I wouldn’t be surpised that with the right gear-box, it would outperform in terms of raw performance, but also efficiency and fuel economy. Impressive.

I didn’t mention Vios, City and company simply because they are WAY behind. It’s not even fair to the Ecoboost engine to compare it to them.

Excellent effort by Ford to bring compression, downsizing and efficient forced-induction to a whole different level! I think petrol engines still have a long way to go and this 1L EcoBoost engine is just the proof the hybrid cars, much more expensive to produce, will still have stiff competition from very efficient petrol/diesel.

Good job Ford.

• 1malaysia2020 on Jan 31, 2012 at 4:05 pm

Better quick before the government suddenly realize many people are buying powerful cars with cheaper road tax…

• odi862 on Jan 31, 2012 at 4:14 pm

If the price is right, this will be enough for daily commuting to work. Low cc engine hopefully translates to low maintenance and FC perhaps? The big question is will this be sold here in Malaysia? The VW already offering low cc engine in their range and hopefully others will follow suit.

• cheaper roadtax some more :-)

• amirad on Jan 31, 2012 at 4:29 pm

How come car engine getting smaller but car body bigger? On the other hand how come bike engine getting bigger but the bike body getting smaller?

• What bike engine is getting bigger? What bike are you talking about?

• i_swear on Feb 01, 2012 at 11:16 am

What is your meaning in comparison??

Ecoboost for Ford = turbo charged. ITS TURBO, not normal petrol engine.

Please look in to here 1st
      http://en.wikipedia.org/wiki/Ford_EcoBoost_engine

For turbo, you got enough horse power for a small cc car. Try to install a turbo to a Viva. and you see it can take a myvi weight car with no problem.

If you can’t convinced, please look in to volkswagen for their TSI engine and what is the meaning on iit.

• droll on Jan 31, 2012 at 5:47 pm

i don’t see any technical reason not to launch this in malaysia, no? i remember when the ecoboost was launched, ford said it themselves that the ecoboost engines are a world wide engine meaning they took great pains to ensure it works across the different fuel grades available globally, our ron95 included. so here’s hoping sdac brings this in. exciting times ahead for the blue oval!

• Erm.. well, we tend to get screwed over here. Finger crossed..

• BN=barang naik on Jan 31, 2012 at 5:54 pm

price it below 100k and ford got a chance!

• Impressive torque and horsepower for 1.0 liter engine by Ford. OMG!! Proton is still far away from this.

• ahmadfaris93 on Jan 31, 2012 at 10:51 pm

WHEN IS THIS FOCUS COMING HERE ? It has been so long

• hway de Cruz on Feb 01, 2012 at 9:48 am

i just call auto connextion pj, they r not sure if this will be launch in here, their management hv no indication on this at this point of time. perhaps by 3Q or 4Q, we may hear something from these guys

• Hugo Chong on Feb 01, 2012 at 3:41 pm

New ford fiesta should use this engine.

• Carl Wong on Feb 03, 2012 at 3:46 am

This 1.0 ECOBOOST TURBO engine have some amazing crazy TORQUE….!!!

• c14man on Feb 03, 2012 at 11:13 am

smile when you pay roadtax

• Moses on Jul 07, 2012 at 9:29 am

Hopefully ford malaysia will bring it in. But the excise duty will make it less than affordable.