Mitsubishi ASX upgraded for 2012 – now with 17-inch alloys and smart key/push-start ignition, RM138k

Mitsubishi Motors Malaysia has announced the introduction of the upgraded ASX crossover. The 2012 year changes for the vehicle includes new 17-inch alloy wheels and a smart key/push-start ignition system.

Also new to the ASX are auto-retractable side mirrors, and the premium leather seats now feature enhanced comfort and increased lumbar support.

Otherwise, the vehicle continues on as is – the 150 PS 2.0 litre MIVEC mill and six-speed CVT box remains unchanged, as are the rest of the features list, which includes items such as magnesium paddle shifters, coloured LCD multi-info display, 2-DIN touchscreen entertainment system and rear view camera.

The 2012 ASX – which hits the showrooms on February 2 – is available in four colours, these being White Pearl, Mica Black, Red Metallic and Titanium Grey, and is priced at RM138,156 (on the road, exclusive of insurance), complete with a 3-year/100,000 km warranty and two-year maintenance package.

Anthony Lim believes that nothing is better than a good smoke and a car with character, with good handling aspects being top of the prize heap. Having spent more than a decade and a half with an English tabloid daily never being able to grasp the meaning of brevity or being succinct, he wags his tail furiously at the idea of waffling - in greater detail - about cars and all their intrinsic peculiarities here.

• Kiasu No Kiasi on Jan 31, 2012 at 12:34 pm

KIA Sportage Killer !!! ASX already proven to be more fuel efficient than Tucson in previous paultan blog SUV shootout, now will this killer price & higher spec the 2 Kimchi SUV is gone case for sured.

• japfans on Jan 31, 2012 at 4:08 pm

hey dude, Kia Sportage is a full time 4 wheels drive with more specs, beatiful design and come with 5 years unlimited mileage selling at RM138,888.
      How do you compare this 2 front wheels drive ASX with Sportage?
      Do you know how to ompare things??? Please do some home work, otherwise. you will be a joker here.

• Kiasu No Kiasi on Jan 31, 2012 at 5:22 pm

Korean car are alway 1 grade below that of japanese (THAT’S A FACT)
        same as Japanese car is 1 grade lower than German car & China car being 1 grade lower that of Korean, the Korean wouldn’t be so STUPID to offer cheaper price or more specs if their car command same status as Japanese.

Pointless to have full time 4 wheels drive as 99.9% SUV user wouldn’t use their SUV offroad, infact 2 wheel drive is more fuel efficient, offcoz KIA need to have 5 year warranty as customer already have phobia with previous generation Sportage which known to have various problem after 2-3 years. (Ask those who own 1st generation Sportage, they can tell you 101 horror story with their Sportage)

Now the do you see who’s the JOKER when looking at the mirror, Go back do you homework (U can’t even spell Compare, what is “ompare” ???)

• Metroboy on Jan 31, 2012 at 8:41 pm

Kiasu No – Talk of spelling, your spelling lagi teruk.

• Japfans on Jan 31, 2012 at 10:21 pm

The 4 wheels drive is always saver on the road especially during the wet condition. Having a 4 wheels drive does give you a big advantage of going off road when necessary and fun. That is why most of the expensive SUVs in the market are 4 wheels driven and not just a pretender.
          I remembered a chilhood friend of mine always commented the rambutans on a tall rambutan tree of our neighbour house were sour just because he could’t reached to pick them. You are having a 100 percent mentality like him.
          In Europe, the Sportage is rated as one of the top small SUV and is more expensive than the miserable pretender. Malaysian always worthship Jap cars and this give the local distributors to reep off consumers by selling the Jap cars higher.

Oh.. Btw, I really enjoying open up the parorama sun roof. And it is always a head turner. Haha……..

• theanswer on Jan 31, 2012 at 10:34 pm

in malaysia yes it’s a fact that korean is 1 grade below jap..but thats because of ppl mindset. but in europe..us..or aus..nope..on par or even better. i bet u never been to australia..in australia u’ll find more korean car compared to jap. its common to see hyundai i20 or 145(sonata). even is US Hyundai/KIA is a big brand. talking abt mitsu..they’r nowhere near hyundai/kia outside msia…except for Toyota or honda.

• David D on Jan 31, 2012 at 11:29 pm

What a stupid way to make yourself famous right Kiasu? Between both cars, yes, the Mitsubishi has the better performance and driveability, but, ride-wise, i’d give the Sportage the nod.

However, what let me down on the ASX’s side is the lesser safety kit, as well as the space provided. I mean, 3 airbags only, and it’s the same price as a Sportage? That is really dissappointing, considering the fact that the ASX is a real fun car to drive.

Cut it short, what i want to say is that both vehicles have different market targets, the ASX for the yuppie who wants a fun-driving crossover, and the Sportage for those who need the extra space as well as the style, not to mention safety.

One more thing, you mentioned Korean cars will always be one level below the Japs huh? Seriously, you need to open your eyes and look at how much the Koreans have grown. I’m not saying the Japs are getting worse, but it’s just that i feel that the Malaysian-spec Jap cars we get here are really nothing but empty shells, a testament to how local distributors have taken us for a ride, seeing how most gullible Malaysians are willing to pay high prices for poorly-specced, lower-grade cars, whereas better cars are available for equal or less pricing, with more kit, safety, and driveability.

I’d suggest you keep that mouth of yours shut as people here try to discuss about this car in general, not to listen to your anti-Korean, pro-Jap drivel.

• Kiasu No Kiasi on Feb 02, 2012 at 12:58 pm

What a Joke ! since when u become the moderator to decide what or what not allowed to be posted in this blog ?

The korean would only offer more spec & lower price because their know their car brand status is not a par with the Japanese, same here US, Europe & the rest of the world, maybe apart from South Korea itself.

I suggest you to shut ur mouth & brain since u cannot think as well.

• vincent on Feb 02, 2012 at 11:50 am

Korean car is not 1 grade lower, it is on par with Japanese now. Only some Malaysians still think that way, need to move away from the cocoon.
          I am not sure the local sportage is 4WD or a AWD, the two actually had difference in it, if is a 4WD, then the SUV can switch to 2WD in most of the time if you don’t need the 4WD feature.
          ASX got quite a good review, but Japs really think Malaysians are water fish by offering low spec car to us, I already stopped supporting them and will only support continental (which I did now) or even a Korean car. Screw them for being insincere to the consumers.

• the mechanic on Aug 18, 2012 at 2:39 pm

Mitsu is leading company in RnD of japanese automobile industry since worldwar 2 itself. They were designing fighter jets since japan was at war. Furthermore, mitsu cars always lack in electronics stuff such as the sensors and etc…..coz in the long run….there might be always technical problems with those accessories due to exposure of different temperatures and surrounding enviroment. By the way, we should also know that jap cars are still expensive although they have less asseccories in them compared to korean…which means the quality of jap is still unquestionable

• had used both the latest CRV and ASX, mitsu sucks… period, mitsu console always feels very cheap, dont know why, seats is better in mitsu, crv market leader, car to beat, kia , poor after sale support, mitsu after sale better than honda… guys just buy civic… best resale value in Malaysia… beautiful also.. IVTEC best engine… really sucks that they downgraded the DOHC to SOHC in CRV… poor overtaking when carrying luggage and 4 people…

• totti on Jan 31, 2012 at 12:55 pm

Proton should rebadge this car and sell at ard RM 90K. The inspira is a failure.

• Land Cruizers on Jan 31, 2012 at 2:05 pm

Everything rebadged by P1 oso will be a failure

• Kiddo on Jan 31, 2012 at 2:18 pm

Failure, says who? You?

• November on Jan 31, 2012 at 4:02 pm

in terms of sales u don’t know but in terms of the car itself, it is a success. a very good car indeed.

• i got an inspira..one thing is for sure..worth every single cent =D but of course, it all depends on the person at the end of the day…might be a failure for someone else, but the case would not be the same for another..happy commenting =D

• Gabla on Jan 31, 2012 at 11:03 pm

They would rather spend the same amount of money on a smaller, under powered car. This just because of the badge…

• rebadge and change name to Proton ASEX..and sell at RM68k..sure laku worst than goreng pisang..

• What was the earlier version cost? Same price with this or slightly higher price?

• MoFaz on Jan 31, 2012 at 1:51 pm

when mitsu launched it in 2010, the price is RM139,980. now upgraded but price drop by almost RM2k. probably due to competition from sportage

• jason on Feb 01, 2012 at 11:28 pm

138 is without insurance, i think close to 140k after include the car insurance

• mitsusuck on Jan 31, 2012 at 1:15 pm

i consider this model for few seconds, but really scared this gonna be rebadged to proton again lol…so jus forget it..

• V-Power Racing on Jan 31, 2012 at 7:15 pm

why would a badge influence your decision? whats more, the badge wont even be on your car.

• yusoff on Jan 31, 2012 at 1:31 pm

Know as ASX Platinum in Australia @ AU$28,500 :)

• I dont think Proton will rebadge this. Btw, I am thinking to get this after I saw the SUV comparison in Paul Tan. But WTF? only 2 years free maintenance? Currently Mitsubishi is doing 3 years free maintenance for certain models and also 2.05% for the hire purchase interest rate, ASX is one of them.

• Eponymous on Jan 31, 2012 at 2:02 pm

Dear Anthony, sorry for being an anorak. But is it really steering mounted paddle shifters? Looks like column mounted to me.

• Anthony Lim (Member) on Jan 31, 2012 at 2:27 pm

Ha ha, you’re quite right, if you want to be absolutely spot-on correct about it. And the thing is, the paddles were already there in the first place in the earlier incarnation. Just realised it revisiting the five-fold SUV shootout! No worries, about being the anorak. :)

• Kiddo on Jan 31, 2012 at 2:11 pm

with the new rims and new accessories, it’s now SUPER YUMMY!

• kingzzzz on Jan 31, 2012 at 2:32 pm

call this the Inspira Crossover. Confirm poorfags will buy

• Black Dog on Jan 31, 2012 at 3:48 pm

This looks like a better proposition, at least on par with some of the Korean offerings. The only thing lacking is the sun roof, but then for some, who cares.

• still looks dodgy…..

• Maserati on Jan 31, 2012 at 4:52 pm

Lol,someone said sportage is a all time 4 wheel drive? Yes but who the hell needs all time 4wd? Its gonna be so fuel consuming .this is like so much better than sportage. Its a embarassment to compare japs with koreans.

Will take this anytime over sportage lah,optima lah.. Aiya all korean cars waste time ! Design ok, technology rubbish

• All Korean Fanboy alway complain that Japanese car been expensive & bla bla bla, Since now Japanese car take the initative to bring down their price with more specs, so when is KIA Sportage going to reduce their price ??

Let’s Boycott KIA Sportage if they refuce to drop to RM 128K

• Oblong on Jan 31, 2012 at 6:46 pm

Why BOYCOTT when you’re not gonna buy it! Get a Medical Check-Up sir, please!

• RedBeanBun on Jan 31, 2012 at 6:04 pm

CRV, PUG, KIA challenger…

• japfans on Jan 31, 2012 at 6:34 pm

All that you said may have been true if this was 5 years ago. Today, in Malaysia we have Lexus and Infiniti competing with the Germans. And if what you said was true today, people would ditch their ideals about the Camry and Accord and go straight to the Passat and Peugeot 508 because they are “one class above” the Japanese. So my friend, i’m so sorry to say that you, are the joker here. Oh and by the way, “of course”, not “offcoz”. I hope you learnt something and stop arguing for the sake of arguing. :)

• Japfans on Feb 01, 2012 at 3:22 am

JAPFANS, thank you for the support and comment.
      May be you should not used the same nick name as mine.
      Cheers…..

• DArkerMarker on Jan 31, 2012 at 6:48 pm

hahahaha, install 17 inch rim considered UPGRADE ah???

What is next, Mitsu? if put sticker oso consider upgrade? I think Mitsu has make the word “UPGRADE” cheap-cheap liow….

• Reeza on Jan 31, 2012 at 7:50 pm

I’ve had the ASX for almost 2 years now.. all I can say is,the car is almost faultless.Handling is fantastic for what is essentially a tall crossover,and the engine is such a gem.When combined with the INVECS CVT,fuel consumption is excellent.

Downside… well,let me see.The doors dents easily,I’ve got dents on all my four doors.So multi-storey carparks are a nightmare.I always plan to get there early so that I can find a space where there are no cars next to my ASX.
    The other downside is the car hates it when u ask it to accelerate fast..it’ll scoot quite quickly tho,but due to the CVT,the engine whine is rather tiresome.AGAIN,it will accelerate pretty briskly,but it’ll protest.Once u get above 100kph tho,this car flies! 160-170kph cruise is a breeze.

All in all,with what I paid for,I’m happy.The car is very very reliable,running costs low,it’s pretty brisk(with a little bit of protest initially),it looks a million dollars with a set of 18″ alloys and my kids love the 2-DIN media-player,which I’ve linked to 2 extra screens on the front headrests.

Oh yeah…. who the hell needs 4WD nowadays?? U into mudplugging??? Get a Defender for god’s sake.

• theanswer on Jan 31, 2012 at 10:36 pm

just wanna ask..hows the interior space? boot space? tq.

• Reeza on Jan 31, 2012 at 11:26 pm

Interior space is average.. I have a small family of four,and it’s more than adequate for us.Swallows all of our luggage well.Will take 5 adults as well,but for short drives only.
        The rear seats folds down but not all the way,unlike my old Honda Jazz.
        It’s a crossover,not intended as a cargo hauler.. taken as such,all is good.

• theanswer on Feb 01, 2012 at 12:09 pm

oh tq..just wanna know. being a car enthusiast makes me wonder how big is asx becaue from outside it looks small.

• tok-kok on Jan 31, 2012 at 10:57 pm

Made in Japan – RM138K

Hopefully it will be cheaper once the production started at Indonesia.

Reckon that the cars from Asean countries will enjoy lower tax than from Japan?

• _xXx_ on Jan 31, 2012 at 11:57 pm

fwd, CVT, mmmm, 3 berlian so wat? aku xnak

• so buat apa kau komen? kau ingat anthony tulis entry ini supaya kau beli? kau ingat mitsu boleh rugi kau tak beli?

• Mr Langkasuka on Feb 01, 2012 at 4:11 am

Langkawi price is RM73k…Cheaper than Exora turbo….

• theanswer on Feb 01, 2012 at 12:08 pm

yeah..welcome to malaysia. how old are u?

• tok-kok on Feb 01, 2012 at 10:42 pm

Only RM73K in Langkawi???

u mean people are paying more than RM60K import tax for the ASX???

• Reeza on Feb 01, 2012 at 8:39 am

Wow..so much negativity here.

Wake up and smell the flowers guys..it’s just a car.Make love,not war.

• Aaron on Feb 01, 2012 at 10:54 pm

i sit inside this ASX already.. luckily i went over to my friend wan Mitsu place. and coincidentally he showed me 2012 ASX.. just a few upgrades only.. only thing i don really enjoy is the new leather seats.. its more like bulging out a little.. this is subjective.. :D

• mat john on Feb 02, 2012 at 12:31 am

Aiya… New version $138k w/o insurance.. In 2010 I buy asx only $136k. $2k diff with little upgrade. Its reasonable… Nice car, fuel efficient. Full tank can go >600km. Quiet engine, spacious, KL-ipoh-Kl not even half tank.

• Korean car vs Jap on May 07, 2012 at 10:04 pm

Vincent… It’s not the Japs tht think v r water fish, jus tht the ‘dealer big fish’ think v are the water fish tht is easily been eaten by them. Moreover .. our taxes r really sky high! :(

• apeng on Jul 23, 2012 at 7:18 pm

had a view today..all are ok for me only rear seat for me its not comfortable for long distance..

• Stvloh on Jul 26, 2012 at 6:24 pm

Noticed that there is a new vertion of ASX 2013 will be available , any idea when will reach Malaysia. What is the difference between the 2012 and 2013 vertion?

• i am also quite excited to see the new version of ASX 2013.