New Perodua Alza SR – entry level variant from RM53k

Perodua has introduced a new variant of its MPV called Alza SR. SR stands for “Smart Ride” and this is an entry level variant positioned below the Standard and Advanced spec. It is available for viewing and booking at all 178 Perodua showrooms nationwide now.

Selling for between RM53,013.50 and RM56,513.50 on-the-road with insurance in Peninsular Malaysia, the new variant, available in BX Manual and BZ Auto spec, is Myvi SE priced. Previously, the cheapest Alza was the Alza GX Manual at 55,503.50, so this new one lowers the entry price by about RM2,500.

“The introduction of the Alza SR variant will make it even more affordable for Malaysian consumers looking to upgrade to a more spacious vehicle. Our customers like the versatility and functionality that Alza offers and do not mind having less features available compared with the standard and other variants. However, it does not mean we have compromised on the safety and the aesthetics of the Alza SR,” Perodua MD Datuk Aminar Rashid Salleh said.

Under the hood, nothing has changed, but what’s the difference is spec? The Alza SR makes do with “UV protected glass” on the windscreen only, as opposed to on all glass panels, and there’s no rear wiper. The wing mirrors are manually operated. Fog lamps, airbags, ABS, EBD and BA are unavailable, but that’s the case for the 1.5 SX and EZ as well, so it’s expected.

Note that in the Alza SR automatic, the parking brake has been moved to between the front seats (it’s foot operated in other auto Alzas), and the front seats are separated, not bench style. For the manual variant, there’s no change in layout.

The Alza SR comes in three colours: Glittering Silver, Ivory White and a new hue, Mystical Purple. Perodua targets to sell about 400 units of the Alza SR monthly, which will take up around 13% of Alza’s monthly sales.

Alza 1.5 BX Manual (Solid) – RM53,013.50
Alza 1.5 BX Manual (Metallic) – RM53,513.50
Alza 1.5 BZ Auto (Solid) – RM56,013.50
Alza 1.5 BZ Auto (Metallic) – RM56,513.50

Danny Tan loves driving as much as he loves a certain herbal meat soup, and sweet engine music as much as drum beats. He has been in the auto industry since 2006, previously filling the pages of two motoring magazines before joining this website. Enjoys detailing the experience more than the technical details.

• off topic,
    http://autos.yahoo.com/news/woman-wins-small-claims-suit-over-honda-civic-hybrid.html

hope we can do like that in here… any lawyer here? win/lost 50/50..

• LA Law on Feb 02, 2012 at 12:16 pm

there’s so many opportunities for consumer to suit Malaysia business entity due to false advertisement gimmicks…
      the problem is most attorney are too busy on political suits, business contracts, divorce suits, debt collection suits, etc…

• they should’ve taken away d alloy wheels too n give wheel caps instead,
        then it’ll cost another 2k less d price more cheaper…

those who want air bag abs can top up your money n buy d premium bah,
        no need to make so much fuzz bout it, not all can afford it

• Sutor on Feb 07, 2012 at 6:42 pm

Dont like that lah….d alloy wheels banyak penting utk justify tag SR itu ya.

Do the rite thing, drive within speed limit, dont speed during the rain and jgn selalu main zig zag atau potong guna lane kiri atau lane kecemasan itu.

Anyway, this thing is not meant to be full time 7 seater…part time shj.

Abs & airbag BMW std is not the same as the one found in P1 or P2 vehicles rite?

• what alza SR really means??

SR = Safety Reduced

• OMG…it is ALZA KOSONG…..

• Wisdom on Feb 03, 2012 at 10:36 am

Coffin car needn’t safety features coz the passenger is dead. Congratulation perodua for continues to kill malaysian.

Disgusting strategy to get more market.

• TheReturn on Feb 04, 2012 at 2:08 pm

it’s the basic Alza (means all special features removed).
          Stop complaining, if you want to buy better vehicle, go for other brands.
          Higher price Exora has much engine problems and such a bigger-size-coffin.
          Deal with it.
          I own older version of Alza, love it!

• acid burn on Feb 06, 2012 at 2:49 pm

safety reduced…haha…i like it…i don’t mean the mpv..no airbag no foglamp is ok by me..but no abs ebd…are u trying to kill us…safety is an issues…the gov already have tax for jpn and other brand to keep proton & P2 at safe..and now u give us alza ‘o’ with such price…mmg cekik darah btl…

• TheReturn on Feb 04, 2012 at 2:10 pm

Alza with special features will be launched soon!
      This one is the most-basic version.
      Wait for it.

• Alzhard on Feb 04, 2012 at 3:15 pm

At first when heard about Alza SR in the radio I thought it was a facelift model.
      Little bit disappointed coz just bought the premium model last mid year.
      Now little bit relieve…:) coz it just another variant with compatible price range.
      My previous ride was the Honda compact car but so far i’m happy with my alza.
      No need to mumble about the safety features. Just buy what you can afford.
      Kereta mahal also can become tin sardin la dude.

• taboogen on Feb 02, 2012 at 10:41 am

wow no airbag, abs etc… why not also remove the steering wheels all together… adoi dah lah this car is not strong enough… and the way malaysian style driving… its a death coffin.

• PTSCKS on Feb 02, 2012 at 11:30 am

make the price go down even more by removing the indicator lights…… malaysian drivers never use them…

• totally agree… remove 3rd brake light also P2 car even the new one 2-3month always kaput…

• Pornstar on Feb 03, 2012 at 1:37 pm

Well, the only brake light kaput I saw was from sampah P1 LED. Exora and Persona. Third brake light I rarely see kaput.

• theanswer on Feb 03, 2012 at 12:04 am

seat belt too! i wonder why ppl never want to use them..and claim they’r ricer. but actually an idiot.

• i only saw KL people din used signal lights.

• tot this year onwards 2012 all vehicle must have airbags?

• canaanite on Feb 02, 2012 at 12:08 pm

no airbag no problem
      maybe Perodua will throw in 2 full face helmet as freebies… lol

• yup no ABS, no airbag,
      less only RM2k..looks like perodua is taking advice from her parents,
      generate maximum income, care less about safety

TOYOTA

• kington on Feb 03, 2012 at 12:33 am

Very disappointed indeed with the omission of ABS, EBD and airbags. I’ve always supported PErodua, but not this round. This is wrong.

• ApaSaJa on Feb 02, 2012 at 10:48 am

Why not Perodua give Alza a set of rear disc brake? That would be better!

• canaanite on Feb 02, 2012 at 11:57 am

guarantee all-wheel disc rotor warp! lol

• theanswer on Feb 03, 2012 at 12:07 am

cost cutting strategy ;) but if u read abt rear brake then u know why some manufacturer didnt provide rear disc as standard.

• persona on Feb 02, 2012 at 10:52 am

fantastic job P2., now everyone can own it. thanks!

• asddsa on Feb 02, 2012 at 3:07 pm

everyone can own it by lowering the entry price by RM2500 only??! hahahaha

• eVilsin on Feb 02, 2012 at 3:48 pm

Alza SR = Safeness Reduce !!! Bravo Produa….

• OMG….just save RM2.5K , and everyone can own it…..DREAMING…ppl are smart now…ppl rather buy full spec than this SR – SoRRy.

• aleast la put two airbags !lol

• Chilavert on Feb 02, 2012 at 12:19 pm

my friend who works for perodua said they will install dual airbags in all model and all variant by july. even for viva 660 basic. govt regulation meh.

• didnt compromise in safety aspect but have no ABS, BA or EBD? think they actually mean no FURTHER compromise in safety as SX and EZ versions dont have them either.

• timber on Feb 02, 2012 at 11:44 am

the specs given reminds me of saga LMST. :P

• Wisdom on Feb 03, 2012 at 10:44 am

The only different Saga LMST 28K, this one 53K. Means u have to pay premium for a higher safety risk in perodua.

• Sutor on Feb 07, 2012 at 6:46 pm

harlo fren dont critisize my ride ok, the quality n workmanship n wiring is crap but I dont have problems with steering or window……..NPS mah…….all manual….faultless ok.

Except some dripping of water front the front to the rear.

• Nasai on Feb 02, 2012 at 1:26 pm

Perodua MD Datuk Aminar Rashid Salleh said.
      “However, it does not mean we have compromised on the safety and the aesthetics of the Alza SR,”

Complete bullshit. Fog lamps, airbags, ABS, EBD and BA are the safety features and all don’t have. Rear wiper is also essential during raining days especially for this type of car and he said they have not compromised on safety? Their Building Cars People’s First philosophy is so contradicting. I rather have all these safety features in replacement of normal steel cover plate rims (no alloy) or totally no rims, colour coded bumpers and side mirrors, power window exchanged to self winding windows. I realize that SX and EZ too do not have these features but why brag until say they do not compromise on safety?

• AnwarBullshittingUs@ABU on Feb 02, 2012 at 10:55 am

so now the called ride without airbag and ABS is smart..

• Redrules on Feb 02, 2012 at 10:57 am

Is this variant suppose to be P2 answer to Exora Bold? If it is , it really is similar to UMW marketing strategy which is cheapskate strategy….oo wait a minute P2 CEOs are graduates from UMW……

• habuan .. satu versi lagi untuk Alza.. banyak yang tak ada..

• Serbian Film on Feb 02, 2012 at 11:01 am

I’m enjoying Serbian Film more than I enjoy scrutinizing about this transport.

• Derahman on Feb 02, 2012 at 11:10 am

Congrats to Perodua for not caring about ppl safety by taking away the airbags…

p/s: i thought this year they started the compulsory 2 airbags ruling?
    http://www.star-motoring.com/News/2011/Airbag-ruling-only-for-2012-cars.aspx

• yalor.last year transport minister said all new vehicle must equipped with airbag..how on earth p2 escaped from this law. p2 shud be saman smpi lg best….coffin on the road….

• MoFaz on Feb 02, 2012 at 1:27 pm

that’s the beauty of ‘technical’ terms, the law is only for cars, so anything which is not a car can escape the rule. in this case Alza is not a car, it’s mini MPV.
      but this year we should get dual airbags in all car variants. i wonder how much they will increase for Viva, Vios, and all other entry level cars.

• Nasai on Feb 02, 2012 at 1:35 pm

As usual lah M’sian Government regulations. Say it’s rule but no enforcement. Compulsory rear seatbelt started I think last year and now renforced again this year. Later this year Polis nvr tangkap at all then next renforce again and so on for the following year. Same goes to driving while using HP.
      *Sorry a bit off topic*

• Area51LE on Feb 02, 2012 at 11:20 am

Priced at the Myvi range. Interesting…Buyers which is considering to buy a Myvi might consider this Alza too I guess. But the bad side is there’s no safety features like ABS, EBD

• Paul Tan on Feb 02, 2012 at 11:23 am

What happened to this?

http://paultan.org/2011/07/26/airbags-a-must-in-new-vehicles-by-jan-1-2012/

• Someone should bring this up with the authorities, blatznt disregard to rules.

• Savvy88 on Feb 02, 2012 at 1:48 pm

then their answer is: “the rules is applied only for all new model introduced starting 2012. Alza is launched in 2009”

• let bring them to the court.haha…. alza SR buyer dont be stupid

• maybe P2 get 6 month grace period… stupid action, regulation have but when came to enforcement cam setan…

• timber on Feb 02, 2012 at 11:49 am

Bro, Perodua is generous enough to give free airbags installations later or will ask govt to subsidize them for the air bag installation excercise since its the govt ruling and MOT that is the one who approved this kind of spec on the road.

This will create hassle for
      1) waiting time for installation
      2) booking for installation

Thanks to Perodua. and its “smart” owner for this model.

• Farouk on Feb 02, 2012 at 12:08 pm

You’re right Paul! Unbelievable at this day and age, new cars are still not fitted with airbags. Are you able to bring this up with P2 & MoT?

Or will they say (as in the article)
      “…According to reports, he said the Government is prepared to offer a grace period for vehicle manufacturers and assemblers in the country who are not able to comply with the new ruling. “For those (manufacturers and assemblers) who are not able to comply with the ruling, they can talk to us and we are prepared to give them leniency of time. Maybe six months for them to comply,” he told reporters yesterday.”

• Chilavert on Feb 02, 2012 at 12:22 pm

postponed to july la paul

• Kiasu No Kiasi on Feb 02, 2012 at 1:20 pm

U turned again i think !

• I know..I know… As Alza was launched some years back, it is not considered a “new vehicle” hence such rules are not applicable to Alza. Only “real” new cars sold in 2012 is required to have minimun number of airbags. This is the most probable answer that I can think of…

• Mokmeng on Feb 02, 2012 at 2:58 pm

nak letak 2 airbag pon susah..duit lagi penting dari nyawa..orang kat ‘atas’ tu peduli apa..janji duit dapat masuk poket depa..lagipon bukan depa nak pakai kereta2 macamni pon..
      pengeluar lain dah terkejar2 introduce 6 airbag,kita pulak boleh nak buang..
      takde airbag,takde abs,takde ebd,takde rear wiper..takde akai punye orang..

• Kalau ada benda benda tu semua pun , tapi attitude driver malaysian tu macam setan buat apa? Remember, punca accident is not about the car, but the attitude of the driver. Remember or not new year eve 2012, the case honda stream berkecai at teluk intan. Superb car with all safety features, but still at the end, tragic end

• MrDDR on Feb 04, 2012 at 11:19 pm

Aku sokong. Kereta kalau ada pintu pon buat aper. Buat susah nak keluar masuk jer. Kalau driver tuh bawak elok elok tak dernyer kes penumpang tercampak keluar. Semua salah driver tuh la.

• Sutor on Feb 07, 2012 at 6:50 pm

This is one sad story that should not be brought out again. Out of respect for their families n next of kin n the survivor.

Lesen kereta , check

Lulus, check

Experience, ………..2 minggu.

Kalau kereta it Volvo S60…maybe…just maybe….things might be a little bit better. Kalau banding dgn BMW,,,,,too far ahead.

• Thinker on Feb 02, 2012 at 3:32 pm

‘According to reports, he said the Government is prepared to offer a grace period for vehicle manufacturers and assemblers in the country who are not able to comply with the new ruling. “For those (manufacturers and assemblers) who are not able to comply with the ruling, they can talk to us and we are prepared to give them leniency of time. Maybe six months for them to comply,” he told reporters yesterday. ‘

pontential buyer should wait till 30thjune 2012 buy 1st of july.lol…

• pacifictuna on Feb 02, 2012 at 6:23 pm

‘not able to’? this alza is ‘launched’ without airbag even though it is obvious that it can be fitted with one. ‘not able to’ should be change to ‘doesn’t bother to’ or something…

• Triple A on Feb 02, 2012 at 4:43 pm

“The reports add that Kong said both Proton and Perodua had assured they could comply with the new ruling.” – What assurance?!

• Mr Wancer on Feb 02, 2012 at 4:46 pm

I agreed. Someone should bring this up with the authorities.

Or at least complaint about it in major newspapers. Ruling is already enforced and should be applicable to all new cars.

• I think the interprted new vehicle as new model that will be introduced starting fron Jan 2012. If this is their interpretation then Alza is not included since it is 2011 model.

The law can be intrepreted to suit their own interest ;-(

• Punisher on Feb 03, 2012 at 9:53 am

Something to share, i visited Proton showroom this Wednesday and was also asking the salesman the same question on dual airbags as the car they are selling also having one airbag or none.

Anyway, the salesman told me that tentatively the production will still based on their original design without making dual airbag compulsory, Proton will only announce the FOC installation of the airbag when government requested.

I too, confused on the ruling.

• Sutor on Feb 07, 2012 at 6:53 pm

Hmmmm, senang mereka pass the buck to govt subsidi ya.

This is not like the rear seatbelt…..not so simple to install. Warranty lagi.

• Taking a Qoute from Aminar: However, it does not mean we have compromised on the safety and the aesthetics of the Alza SR,” Perodua MD Datuk Aminar Rashid Salleh said.

1) Please explain the meaning of that statement when u have no ABS/EDB and airbags in the Base version?

Toyota’s J version has ABS/EDB standard and that statement fit it. Please learn not to compromise safety when u know most of ALZA are bought to cater large family. Would it be such a terrible thing when an accident occurs could been avoided if ABS/EDB was installed? This equipment should come mandatory on all cars soon, so make the wise move to install it as a standard item.

• its quote la vnoz dude,and wtf is perodua md is thinking when saying that word

• Mou Mou Ren on Feb 02, 2012 at 11:26 am

“Fog lamps, airbags, ABS, EBD and BA are unavailable”
    How come no airbag. Last year transport minister said tht all new vehicle must be equipped wth airbag satrng 2012. So how come this Alza SR no airbag? Commo lah p2, at least give Air-bag and ABS enough oledilah. Ur Alza was so big, later bring 7 PPL cannot stop how? I was very happy say that ALZA only Rm53K, but where is the basic safety?? But, 1 more point, not fair to Sabah and Sawarak. RM55k. Yeah, 1 MAlaysia or I say 2 Malaysia…

• you want to pay every single shipped car to sabah and sarawak? rm2k is most probably the shipping cost.

• maman on Feb 02, 2012 at 11:28 am

agreed. no airbags, cheaper mpv… accident fatalities is going to go up again

• paohyean on Feb 02, 2012 at 11:29 am

I thought that Malaysia has made it mandatory that all cars must come equipped with airbags??
    In that case P2 is actually going backwards..
    Sacrificing so many safety features and yet reducing the price by only RM2.5k..
    Shame on you P2..

• wilson on Feb 02, 2012 at 11:17 pm

Don’t worry another new version is coming. Alza with no seat belts and seats.

• umNone on Feb 02, 2012 at 11:33 am

cantik ni. beli lah. murah plak tu. :) . lets ramai2 booking new alza. takde airbag pun ok. bawak slow je. abs xde pun ok.

• critic_A on Feb 02, 2012 at 6:08 pm

bagus!! lagi best, lagi power, lagi cheap, lagi senang mati

• u mati cepat cepat saja ma, nanti bawa orang mati pun mudah sikit. prhhh stupid statement.

• Shahril on Feb 03, 2012 at 12:00 am

Ko beli nie ko tempah maut

• i_swear on Feb 03, 2012 at 2:35 pm

Lolz. Hear this comment make me think this car like “Keranda” car already

• theanswer on Feb 03, 2012 at 12:11 am

thats why they can provide cars without airbag n abs. nway, if u can wear a seatbelt it’s a bless! some of p2 driver didnt use seatbelt since i can see clearly the seatbelt icon is light up..it’s sad because u bought the car with an airbag..it wont work if u didnt use the seatbelt..morons!

• luffykewl on Feb 03, 2012 at 2:37 am

Harga nyawa seluruh family kau cuma rm2.5k je? Ape? Ohhh.. Salesman perodua rupenye.. Patot la pon..

• Leaving out the rear wiper is definitely a no-no, it’s dangerous driving Alza without it in the rain, because the water droplets/mist caused by car-tail wind will reduce rear WS visibility to zero!

• farisma on Feb 02, 2012 at 11:39 am

beza 2.5k je..rugi betul la sapa beli….ni strategi nak melariskan ke apa ni…mmg jualan alza ni kurang dr myvi dan viva…tak payah belilah..exora bold lagi terbaek..

• ah bear on Feb 02, 2012 at 11:41 am

SR = Safety Reduced
    alza SR ni memang menunjukkan yg perodua dan company bapaknya,
    toyota hanya fikirkan keuntungan semata2.

ada ke patut alza SR tu buang ABS, airbag, tapi harga kurang RM2k je..
    tak fikir keselamatan orang langsung

• harris murad on Feb 02, 2012 at 12:53 pm

‘Safety Reduced’.
      Superb bro hahahaha!
      I wonder until when will these companies (proton included) learn to ‘give something back to the people’.
      Show some appreciation laaa, tell the directors and all that its ok to loose some margin,and win the people’s heart.
      my 2 cents lah.

• setuju..

pelik la sape yg beli ni nnti..

aku lebih rela buang foglamp, radio hatta sport rims dari buang airbag/abs..

hai rendahnya nilai nyawa org skrg..

• passo sette ada buat spec mcm ni ke?

• tiadaid on Feb 02, 2012 at 1:53 pm

Sebab org Malaysia bodoh beli jugak Perodua even without ABS/EBD & airbags. Apa lagi, naik lemaklah!

• farisma on Feb 02, 2012 at 11:41 am

apa sudah jadi p2..kasi je la airbag dan ABS/EBD ni…kalau lain nak buang2 .. buang je la…

• iLikewheels on Feb 02, 2012 at 11:43 am

unethically marketing…

• A true example of Malaysia Boleh! Stupid Perodua!

• raybrig14 on Feb 02, 2012 at 11:48 am

no airbag? we should call it as alza the moving coffin..

• _xXx_ on Feb 02, 2012 at 11:48 am

Dangerous machine. Must drive slow so go ask the funeral service provider ppl to buy…

• confused on Feb 02, 2012 at 11:54 am

Fuuuuuu…. No airbag & ABD+EBD….!!!

Not complying to Gomen’s standards right? How come???

• i dont mind the manual side mirrors but no rear wipers? So, P2 expects us to manually clean the rear windshield as well, eh….

yeah, another WTF on the airbag issue also.

• draftboy on Feb 02, 2012 at 12:12 pm

Before Toyota but now Perodua…Bravo Perodua!! Perodua Alza SR = Perodua Alza Safety Reduced… What the h***! Perodua Alza and Toyota Avanza try to against Government rules…

• bahtosai on Feb 02, 2012 at 12:13 pm

What happen to P2,” However, it does not mean we have compromised on the safety and the aesthetics of the Alza SR”… no airbag, abs, ebd… http://paultan.org/2011/07/26/airbags-a-must-in-new-vehicles-by-jan-1-2012/

Is it the launch of the Alza SR just to response to P1 when they just lunch new upgrade model? Come on, compete to other big guy from the outside, not compete each other.

• mfahd_88 on Feb 02, 2012 at 12:13 pm

SR= Safety Reduce
    new perodua moto: build car,money first, go to well with people (safety)

• nabill on Feb 02, 2012 at 12:14 pm

I bet p2 have higher margin seling disthan other elza variants….likw u take out 8k in terms of equipment but u only lower da price by 4k…

• ABTguy on Feb 02, 2012 at 12:15 pm

They should call this Alza KS but not RS. Alza KoSong mah….. @#$&%

• Was so happy to see a cheaper variant until i read about the safety features. :( better stick to exora. More worth the money

• taboogen on Feb 02, 2012 at 12:22 pm

SR = Safety Reduce

• No airbag? I thought air bags are compulsory in new cars starting from 2012?

http://paultan.org/2011/07/26/airbags-a-must-in-new-vehicles-by-jan-1-2012/

• ah bear on Feb 02, 2012 at 12:25 pm

SR = Safety Reduced
    alza SR ni memang menunjukkan yg perodua dan company bapaknya,
    toyota hanya fikirkan keuntungan semata2.

ada ke patut alza SR tu buang ABS, airbag, tapi harga kurang RM2k je..
    tak fikir keselamatan orang langsung………….

• Bongcs on Feb 02, 2012 at 12:27 pm

Airbags, ABS, EBD and BA are unavailable !!!!

• BoLiao on Feb 02, 2012 at 12:29 pm

More will die on the road…

• “However, it does not mean we have compromised on the safety and the aesthetics of the Alza SR” Perodua MD Datuk Aminar Rashid Salleh said.

Feel like wake him up with pail of cold water. Which automotive university or discipline he had graduated from? Nothing on the car that sound safety on this variant. Oh, he wont drive one of this too, or refrain his own family members drive one of this too.

What were the relevant government agencies thinking when they approved this model against the regulation that state clearly of compulsory airbags required?

• Bongcs on Feb 02, 2012 at 12:31 pm

Ok, SR = Smart Ride. You have to be very professionally Smart like jeremy clarkson in order to command this vehicle.

• sughow on Feb 02, 2012 at 12:33 pm

without air bags, ABS, EBD, discount should be at least 15K, ini RM2.5K jer?, kuat tipu ini P2.

• Bongcs on Feb 02, 2012 at 12:34 pm

Typical attitude of Malaysians. BOLEH LAH ATTITUDE.

• good & goods on Feb 02, 2012 at 12:38 pm

put parachute lah…if can not give ABS..at least can stop in emergency.

• Perhaps they should put up a groupon deal, buy direct from factory, save commission for dealer and salesman. Better than cutting corners. How Datuk, you dare? apa macam?

• kuncisudu on Feb 02, 2012 at 12:48 pm

apa yg smart sangat pasal alza ni?

• Carlzen on Feb 02, 2012 at 12:52 pm

Nice one malaysian cheapskate automakers. Another coffin on wheel is just what malaysian needed.

• kevin on Feb 02, 2012 at 12:58 pm

Personally i think Airbag, ABS and EBD should be written into law… Akta Pengangkutan Jalan… not just Minister said only… even some guideline by Road Transport Ministry is useless… guideline only… people tend to not follow it unless is a law…

• *sarcasm mode on*

apsal x buang strenghtening bar, side bar, brek bagi kecik sket, guna less material kat crush zone, n then jual dgn harga 40k++? confirm byk org beli nt…

• Stupid Ride!

• JeremyNg on Feb 02, 2012 at 1:02 pm

Buy it if you think that your RM2000 is more valuable than your life

• pronoton on Feb 02, 2012 at 1:04 pm

rakyat didahulukan?

bagi harga keta murah SIKIT…tp bagi safety features buang BANYAK

• kemuncup on Feb 02, 2012 at 1:05 pm

baik pakai std variant mcm tu mmg x de airbag..same je..beza,handbrek kat tepi sebelah pemandu

• kuriang on Feb 02, 2012 at 1:10 pm

ooo.. smart ride.. thought “Smart Guys Ride It”..

• Prismo on Feb 02, 2012 at 1:16 pm

Banyak sgt buang… buang sana buang sini… dah buang tebiat ke ceo PERODUA tu? dah ilang akal ke mempermainkan soal keselamatan jalanraya… untung punya pasal, nyawa jadi taruhan..

• GTR 2.0 on Feb 02, 2012 at 1:18 pm

“Building car… people first” masuk kubur. Enuf said.

• paparadzi on Feb 02, 2012 at 1:38 pm

The Perodua Alza ia already one of the fastest car in the market (try driving at 110 km/h on the highway and see how many Alza will overtake you). Without the useless things like ABS and airbags the Alza SR will probably be even faster. And the money saved can be used to add more meaningful accessories such as side skirts, spoilers and bigger tyres.

• rexis on Feb 02, 2012 at 1:39 pm

Good job Perodua for lowering price by remove safety features.

Good luck to potential owners, btw.

• 1malaysia2020 on Feb 02, 2012 at 1:48 pm

“However, it does not mean we have compromised on the safety and the aesthetics of the Alza SR,” Perodua MD Datuk Aminar Rashid Salleh said.”

Is the MD trying be funny or what? How can you make a car without “Fog lamps, airbags, ABS, EBD and BA” and still claimed the safety of the passenger is not compromised?

Does this MD know that these safety features are already a mandatory standard it many countries? And please DO NOT use stupid comparison (like what politician always do) between Malaysia and countries like Laos or Myanmar.

I strongly urged we as consumers through Paultan.org make a protest to the government about this matter. We want cheaper cars but not at the expense of buying it without adequate safety features.

If anyone here have proper authorities contact point, please help make an effort to inform them about this. We don’t want manufacturer especially local to keep selling cars without safety features.

• P2 MD drive what type of car meh die nih buat statment bunuh diri. die sedap lah balik pakai kebe mahai ader safety. ader driver. bodoh aah P2 sekarang semakin bodoh. terutama sekali MD,Engineer, die

• desperate moves to compete p1. still wise i think, but come on la weh bagi lah airbag

• this surely shows how serious(/lack of it) msian car companies are about safety

• 6 month grace period has been taken up ?

• Tenine on Feb 02, 2012 at 1:57 pm

Perodua Alza Safety Reduced….hahahha! Proudly SR version…

• kamaji on Feb 02, 2012 at 1:58 pm

Yawn…..another variant again only this time SR=Suck Rakyat.

• perodua on Feb 02, 2012 at 2:06 pm

I thought government already mentioned that start from 2012 all cars is compulsory to have airbag? Seems like the Transport Ministry is telling lie again.

• critic_A on Feb 02, 2012 at 6:16 pm

Transport Ministry, mayb had taken some loot from P2 devil

• Fast2 sell 1st then comply ?! http://biz.thestar.com.my/news/story.asp?file=/2011/8/2/business/9216108&sec=business

• luqman on Feb 02, 2012 at 2:11 pm

why dont we remove the rims, the tyres, the sterring wheel, the healdlamps….just give it an ENGINE..now thats a smart ride…

dumb perodua with contradictory statement. not compromise on safety but lack of airbags, ABS and EBD..

• sLayer on Feb 02, 2012 at 2:50 pm

just engine, chasis frame and one seat. No to forget one helmet (free gift)…hahaha

• Oblong on Feb 02, 2012 at 3:15 pm

No problemo…remove everything also will sell like ‘goreng pisang panas’…P2 die-hard-fans will love this great news…die.die…will buy!

• frankie on Feb 02, 2012 at 2:17 pm

P2 don’t really concern about the car safety, they only want your money. You can go die after owning this Alza. Might as well give white packet to the owner when taking delivery of this car.

• Keith Duckworth on Feb 02, 2012 at 2:21 pm

Even Proton is giving airbags on the cheapest Saga FLX. What is Perodua doing by going backwards, deleting airbags?

• Alter on Feb 02, 2012 at 2:21 pm

No safety! SAD….

• Deathtrap! deathtrap!

ABS+EBD+ESP should be mandatory on all cars in Malaysia.

• kaminski on Feb 02, 2012 at 2:32 pm

At a time when the Malaysian Automotive industry is trying to move forward, this offering seems to be one big step backwards, and gives the impression that this model introduction basically smacks at a feeble attempt to maintain/increase sales. Cheap cars are great but at least fit them with the basic safety equipment!

• calvin tan on Feb 02, 2012 at 2:33 pm

seatbelt only for front driver n passenger, rear passenger hugging left right passenger.
    they r back to kancil style, u want to own a mpv this the 1. apa pun tarak. all pakai manual even for basic thing, maybe they shld remove eps too.

• 1 set alloy wheel same price with airbag why they not just give simple steel wheel then maintain the airbag

• shawal on Feb 02, 2012 at 2:44 pm

coffin on wheels ….but wait! it does has seats for seven….

• P2 greedy nowaday, P1 go to the north as many recently introduced models come with abs/airbag such as saga flx se and exora cfe, but P2 go to the south as they come with empty alza in 2012….

• How did it lulus JPJ???!!!

• HirumaKecil on Feb 02, 2012 at 3:28 pm

All ok and expected.. But NO REAR WIPER???? Wat de hek????

• Eyesore on Feb 02, 2012 at 3:38 pm

Trust me… there will be a lot of ppl buy this crap… it just shows all the talk abt safety and accessories is bulshit… at the end of the day… ppl still look for cheap prices…sigh…

• Agree with you.

It’s actually a ‘smart’ move from P2 – and i’m talking strictly from marketing and sales point of view.

There’s no way they can beat Exora in terms of product – Exora more space, more style, and now more power.

But they do have point to attack in the pricing – for people who are looking for a bigger car but have financial constraints (please note that not everyone is lucky enough to afford Exora Bold).
      Now the all new Avanza is pushed to premium side – this is on cheap Alza way.

Well, doesnt mean that i like T’s strategy, but, in 1land, it’s work!

• kerelbort on Feb 02, 2012 at 3:46 pm

for that much of missing features. not much ‘missing’ RM from the price.

• Cucukman on Feb 02, 2012 at 3:52 pm

Bodo punya P2.. pegi buang safety features pulak.. DAH TEST GUNA KOMPUTER KE??

Habiskan stok Alza ke?

P2 harapkan jualan Myvi je..yg lain hancurrr…Tgk Nautica sebijik pun susah nak jumpa…

haii..Alza bakal ikut Nautica nampaknya…

• asgard on Feb 02, 2012 at 3:53 pm

remove the rear seats is better than remove 2 airbags

• i love malaysia, but not the gov on Feb 02, 2012 at 3:58 pm

go to hell with perodua.

• thunder cats on Feb 02, 2012 at 3:58 pm

n the ministry of transportation approved this car??? if that true then this country is going backwards—only 2.5 k difference for all the things removed?,,,something not right with this whole thing—it’s already bad locally made cars are expensive n now this? no wonder many ppl are migrating away from this country n they replaced with ppl from third world country from indon,bangla,paki,Nepal n so on. —just abolish car import tax so that Malaysians can enjoy Volkswagen passat cc for rm 67,000 only with full safety features,,,give more value for our ringgit n hard earned money—We pay so much money for local cars yet quality n safety isn’t there,,,We pay high road tax yet roads are full with pot holes,,,I just repaired my four rims n bend absorbers after when in a pot hole in ttdi. We need to move forward not backward

• Wtf? No airbags, no abs, ebd, no rear vipers? And he said he didnt compromise the safety of their customers? Wtf. Typical malaysian low spec.

This is pretty much a death wish, so families would upgrade to a larger car, get all their kids and family members in more than their current car and once the worse happens, it would be suicide. Thank you Perodua for introducing a large death box.

• why not introduce ESP at 60k for premium manual ? instead of reducing the low spec price ? imagine 7 persons seated on this tin milo . they should made 3 point ELR as standard as well .
      the p2 management will never care about the safety and lives of the pity malaysian consumer

• Seriously though, this is quite a shock that Perodua actually thought about bringing this out with a smile on their face.

No rear viper? The aerodynamic of an Alza or any MPV/4×4 will create no air flow to sweep water off, thus it would stay there and obstruct rear visibility, i drive a SUV myself and rear-vipers are honestly helpful.

They’ll be better off with a commercial version of the Alza, 2 seats and plenty of cargo for a lower price for small companies instead of this. But surely, i bet they would sell plenty of this car as safety is not yet an issue to most Malaysian buyers as they see airbags and complicated terms like EBD, ABS a ‘gadget’ for premium cars only.

We need to educate the importance of seat belts, ABS, EBD and airbags to Malaysians apart from ‘good looks and versatility’ so this vehicle would be rejected from thought because of the lack of safety equipments.

• 4G63T DSM on Feb 02, 2012 at 4:21 pm

what crock.

Not compromise on safety by leaving out all safety gear? It does still have seatbelts right? or he thinks thats also not compromising safety?

Perodua is going about this wrong.

They should launch this with only manual, 5 seats (or 2) and in white..sell it a few grand less…and use this for “commercial” applications only. At least that makes more sense. The Alza should still be able to lug about 400-500kg of cargo which makes it better than the almost evergreen AD Resort.

• farisma on Feb 02, 2012 at 10:48 pm

patutnya depa buat jadi kereta bawak barang je…mesti laris…semua pun mau buang…buang itu seat belakang la…letak cargo bead..

• theanswer on Feb 03, 2012 at 12:14 am

u should mention the ancient nissan vanette! yeap..p2 should launch commercial alza..manual..unpainted bumper for pasar malam use.

• farisma on Feb 03, 2012 at 9:48 am

bapak borek , anak rintik.. sama kes macam umw/toyota jugak..kalau E version ada 1 airbang, nasib baikade ABS , kalau J version ..apa pun tarak…ni avanza baru pun sama hal jugak…yg 1.3 cc apa beg, ABS pun takde.. kasi standard la semua atleast 1 airbag dan ABS/EBD..price pun kasi reduce sket..sure ade org beli punya…ni mau untung/lariskan stok aje..

• Triple A on Feb 02, 2012 at 4:34 pm

Good job Perodua! You’ve finally show how lacking you are in innovation and creativity.

• Great, we can now ignore whatever the transport ministry says and this looks like a new method of population control by P2. Way to go.
    Please value life over savings of RM2,500.00.

• Hmmm, and how many airbags does the E Bold have? Ha ha ha, both just as “good” eh.

This will sell in good healthy numbers.

Just don’t drive over the safety limit and keep goooooooood distance from slow moving animals like a cow.

• im still waiting for hyundai elantra 1.6mt..hehe :D

• critic_A on Feb 02, 2012 at 6:07 pm

not a big issue for having airbag or no airbag or ABS/EBD~~
    even with those fit in, Alza is still not a safe car to drive as it is as milo tin as kancil~

• driver on Feb 02, 2012 at 6:23 pm

Dafuq???? NOT the airbags, ABS, or rear wiper..
    They should remove the speakers, ICE system, sport rims instead.

Now P2 is too much!!

• kalimutu on Feb 02, 2012 at 6:30 pm

Buy Alza SR…got free coffin…………..

• kalimutu on Feb 02, 2012 at 6:31 pm

free coffin

• Luke Skywalker on Feb 02, 2012 at 6:31 pm

Keranda bergerak daripada Perodua. :)

• Feel so sad, at least hire some pretty show girl like avanza facelit :p

• Wth is perodua doing??!!! pls rebadge better quality cars but not rebadge and further downgrade from.its origine. omg

• autojohndoe on Feb 02, 2012 at 7:19 pm

maybe for Perodua… by having Brake, lights, roof, bumper already enough for safety… hence comes the statement

“However, it does not mean we have compromised on the safety and the aesthetics of the Alza SR,” Perodua MD Datuk Aminar Rashid Salleh said.

• trust28 on Feb 02, 2012 at 7:35 pm

I was quite suprised that my relative who own an Alza complaining about the ABS kick in as brake system failure,he even go and skimmed the brake disc,change brake pad and eventually change the whole front disc setup to the used subaru set,and still complaining…
    Maybe this SR model suit people like him…

• Stupid to leave the safety features like ABS, EBD and BA…..

So next time change the brake disc to drums as well to lower the price further…..stupid Perodua…who ever wishes to buy this version…please give the money to me instead because you are buying a car that is bound to screw up…..last time ABS was a luxury but now it’s a necessity for all cars but Perodua is going backward

So why not make a Alza SE SR version that doesn’t include aircond, power windows,spare tyre, 13 inch wheels, no ABS, EBD, BA and stage 3 light weight reduction with no doors as well

• albag on Feb 02, 2012 at 8:14 pm

haha see you in court P2 with this alza with no airbags!

• zero2 on Feb 02, 2012 at 8:22 pm

changes the alloy to steel with cover is better than remove the airbags! who ever buy this just save their money not their family.LOL

• If this tactic can’t buy buyers, P2 will introduced Perodua Alza BX B=2 front seats X no rear bench and third row seats. They can save further two and half grand or even three grand to make it sub-RM50k by removing left mirror, get rid power windows for manual one, no roof lining, no thick door panel and use wheel caps.

Where’s 1.1.2012 2 airbags ruling? Pathetic

• Malcolm Lim on Feb 02, 2012 at 8:34 pm

What doesn’t make sense here is the minor 2k or so reduction with so many stuff removed, wont put much dent in your wallet if you’re taking a loan..so why get this “Stripped Rubbish” version?

• OilChange on Feb 02, 2012 at 8:50 pm

when i was a kid, back in 80’s, my teacher loved to make us draw a car of the future… year 2000 car… most of us will draw cars with no tyres… means, it can float/fly like the jefferson…

12 years after the year 2000… there is no flying cars….
    well it’s kindda ok to me ( a bit frustrated) ….believing flying cars will harm more people …

but, 12 years after the year 2000, and perodua comes up with cars that have no airbag… is shitty, barbaric and secular….. perodua deserve to die…

alza is an MPV… meant for carrying people with family and not for joyride… wut kind of f@ck@rs selling mpv with no airbags? the f@ck@rs who came up with this idea should die painfully… eat by a tiger or sumthing…

malaysia is such a f@ck up country… no wonder jeremy smashed kelisa with a hammer… no wonder

• moto-moto on Feb 02, 2012 at 8:52 pm

perodua removed all the safety spec. even the rear wiper is important for safety during rain. why not remove the alloy rim and the 3rd row seat ;) It would be reasonable rather than remove the airbags, ABS, EBD and BA

• SparC on Feb 02, 2012 at 8:58 pm

I thought Malaysia want to impose safety standard (air bag) for all Car from year XXXX onwards?

Now no more already?

• pomen keto on Feb 02, 2012 at 9:01 pm

Airbags, ABS, EBD should be mandatory nowdays..No more excuses or giving few month to comply this rules .Gov have power to do this. If gov really care about car accident statistic and people’s life,they must to this…Otherwise there are more money to burn to organize useless road safety campaign every year….

• Satbear on Feb 02, 2012 at 9:09 pm

Great strategic move!

Come one la, E Bold also got……how many air bags only.

For those who critisize, obviously u do not have budget problem, can make a lot of comments.

For us who have little funds but family to carry, we can choose to drive safely n slower.

Not too long ago, even so called hi end models Ckd also no airbag ma……and how many people know, airbags got expiry date?

Thank you Perodua, good job.

• Wisdom on Feb 03, 2012 at 11:06 am

Another dumb idiot on the loose…

• driver on Feb 03, 2012 at 6:30 pm

Dude.. crash can occur not only because of your fault.. but you can be the victim as well. And when it happens regardless of whoever fault it is, there’ll be injury.. and worse fatality. I believe you’re a good driver who’ll drive slower and safely, but that doesn’t make you immune from possibility of getting involve in a crash..

• Sutor on Feb 07, 2012 at 7:05 pm

Pls do count the number of cars here over 10 years.

Even if u had ABS/Airbag…….does it needs to be replaced?

Logic la brother or sister, look at the big picture…..later govt start back the lousy rule to scrap 15 yr old car becos many say no airbag, no abs = danger zone.

ABS does not mean stopping distance is nearer, it actually isn’t. It just gives u back steering control considering u still have room to spare.

Cheap ABS = fast way to die. Tell me, is our express bas passengers even required to wear a safety belt. Most of this buses are now turbocharged!

• masalahnya, orang beli jugak. bukannya kerana suka tapi terpaksa.
    berapa banyak pilihan yang ada ? Kerana nak MPV asal mampu.
    beli jugak akhirnya. realiti. kerana kroni !

• kasim selamat on Mar 07, 2012 at 7:52 pm

Rkyt Msia dihidangkan dgn barangan tempatan yang sampah

• crazy sky on Feb 02, 2012 at 9:56 pm

I think perodua thought most of the consumers are fool. A car not comprises of safety with absent of airbags, abs etc and yet still launch to market.

Btw, many people especially old people may not place much concern on these safety gears. They always thought driving slow and careful good enough to avoid emergency happen. So no matter how much young people like us don’t like and treat it like a crap, there are people still buying these crap.

Hopefully government or transportation department can strict up the rule to make sure the new vehicle is launched with airbag and abs as standard.

• everyone wants cheaper cars, but if want to cut cost there are some items which can be removed some musnt be removed. nowadays with so many cars on the road, airbags and abs are just for your increased safety. Of course, you can be a safe driver but you cannot say that those ah bengs/rempits out there wont run into you, right?

perodua can reduce the price from removing other items such as the sports rim, power windows or use non painted bumpers like the cheaper vivas, etc.

• roland on Feb 02, 2012 at 10:37 pm

cheap cheap cheap = crap crap CRAP !

IS Malaysia BOLEH ! Unbelievable !

• roland on Feb 02, 2012 at 10:38 pm

crazy

• policeman on Feb 02, 2012 at 10:46 pm

However, it does not mean we have compromised on the safety and the aesthetics of the Alza SR,” Perodua MD Datuk Aminar Rashid Salleh said.

Bodoh bangang! Apa safety put tada memang tak boleh compromise on the safety, cos safety don’t exists.

Airbag – tada
    ABS – tada
    EBD – tada
    BA – tada

apa safety ada? Seat belt saja! MD sama itu kereta dua dua tin kosong!

• passo sette guna high stregth mtrl, alza pulak stucture guna mild steel, lepas tu remove air bag..
    siapa master mind pero2 tipu brnda2 yg end user tak nampak..
    perodua dah terdesak ke??

• Sutor on Feb 07, 2012 at 6:37 pm

wow….is it true……..apa itu hi strength material……vs mild steel. Betul ke ini.

adoi itu passo pun bukan model taraf tinggi…..i ingat lebih kurang benda yg sama?

• Sohai only ingat Ada airbag will not mati

• SR = “Safety Remove, Saya Rela”
    The end of the day, this car selling number will take into account as best selling mpv in here. Oh nevermind, that’s really p2 priority,hit the best sales first. That’s so ‘building cars, people first’.

• The moment i read this, I was completely FUMING MAD. I take this as a serious INSULT from Perodua. How are we as Malaysian consumers or even the Malaysian automotive industry going to grow if Perodua can still compromise and offer us such unacceptable products? Their like feeding us Dog food. What difference does 2.5k make if it makes you life more vulnerable?

• Anony on Feb 03, 2012 at 3:13 am

this shit still up to 50k..better get new avanza…

• sirapbeng on Feb 03, 2012 at 5:28 am

Congrats now u done your share to scroll down to this comment…my suggestion.,

Stupidly Ridiculous
    Superbly Redundant/Reduced
    Seriously Replacable
    Sinfully Repairable
    Sarcastically Restorable
    Super Robotic
    Serious Rat
    Sogok Rasuah
    Sentiasa Rosak
    Selalu Rumit
    Suka Rasaku
    Super Rally(compete neo)
    Sawan Rusa(that old van)
    cheers!

• Abu Amir on Feb 03, 2012 at 7:34 am

Lagi ramai yg mati dijalanraya disebabkan ketamakan perodua utk mengaut keuntungan semata. Satu tindakan yg paling bodoh oleh pengurusan perodua. Lagi ramai yg memadu keranda dari memandu kereta, patutlah bila kemalangan semakin ramai yg mati.

Kereta kancil bila berlanggar habis mati satu kereta tetapi kereta spt camry dan setarafnya hanya cedera ringan. Nyawa rakyat bawahan amat murah dan pengeluar mengaut keuntungan atas darah mereka.

Lebih baik pengeluar macam ini jual kereta di afrika atau papua new gini. Boikot pengeluar yg bodoh macam ini.

• Do you know statistic bro? Fatal accident usually what makes and what brand?

• sarcastic word : eh ok lah kereta nih murah tau quality lg bagus dari proton, boleh masuk 7 org harga pun murah. abs ,edb tu tak penting seatbelt penting . jgn risau kereta nih selamat tau sebab test nirosh langgar belakang lori pun dapat 4 star second data . ok lah itu encik. jgn beli p1 product banyak komplen lah. berat engine turbo tu banyak makan minyak. <<< ok tak ayat nih kalau salesman cakap

• Naz@AE111 on Feb 03, 2012 at 7:51 am

my fiancee comment when i ask her what so ‘speciall’ on this SR version? she said, “there is no difference from the old one, but it become more ‘square-ier’ looking, mcm kotak suda!!” and then my respond is —-> @_@ ‘btul juga’

• Actually this is by far most creative counter-attack in car market: indirect reverse pricing tactic. Here’s how:

While Protongkat trying very hard to tell how great RM78K Exora Bold is, how many the upper level of MPV buyers would believe it and switch their Wish, Grandis, Estima, even Livina for this crap? It is an insult of intelligence to them.

The market for Protongkat is stil the medium/low income buyers (sub-RM60K or below market) not the premium buyers.

And Perodua don’t need to convince or pretend itself as super premium brand. Just offer the right price, the right fuel efficient car for the right market segment.

So here Perodua simply counter-attack Protongkat with reverse pricing (not head-to-head) without much effort, but Protongkat ha, ha, ha, trying hard to sell its delusional expensive crap, eh!

Lesson here: Delusional expensive crap don’t sell.

“To buy Alza is to kill Exora! WhoooHooooo!”

• luffykewl on Feb 03, 2012 at 9:39 am

no lah.. to buy Alza is to kill your whole family..

• farghmee on Feb 03, 2012 at 10:00 am

alah, ko buat karangan panjang2 sokong alza safety reduced ni?
      apekehalnye bro?

alza tu mmg sepatutnye ada benda2 tu.
      skrg 2012 beb.

kalu proton buat cmtu, byk pulak ko kondem?

porahhhcheitt!

• accord on Feb 03, 2012 at 10:10 am

Actually , P2 trying hard to overtake Persona sales …
      hahahaha……

• exJAVANESE on Feb 04, 2012 at 4:13 am

dude…remember..this is MPV (MPV ke?? kehkehkeh).. FAMILY CAR… are u sure wanna gambling all your family life while u driving it??

• neutral on Feb 03, 2012 at 8:43 am

crazy money minded business decision. the sad thing is, we’ll see more and more ppl buying this dangerous vehicle whithout considering the safety features should have.
    be considerate, buy the one really worth with your hard earn money and safety do come first!

• neutral on Feb 03, 2012 at 8:47 am

bravo perodua!

you money sucking power is lagi hebat now XD

• SR – Sampan Ride.

Perodua only know to maximizing the profits without thinking people safety. UMW motto – untung making wang!

• akøø on Feb 03, 2012 at 10:40 am

so, basically SR stand for Spesifikasi Rendah…?

• Wisdom on Feb 03, 2012 at 11:20 am

No foglamps: Reduced visibility from oncoming motorist.
    No rear wiper: Reduced driver rear visibility especially in wet condition.
    No ABS: Easily locks the wheels, unable to steer the car under emergency braking.
    No EBD: Longer/further stopping distance.
    No BA: Less braking force/boost under emergency braking situation.
    No Airbag/s: Less chance of survival from head-on collision.
    Couple those features with the considerably soft chassis, high center of gravity, mass produced Alza, still you can say;

“However, it does not mean we have compromised on the safety and the aesthetics of the Alza SR.”

Shame on you.

• Saga BeLum Masak on Feb 03, 2012 at 1:14 pm

The second Posting to be heavily negative comments after Suzuki Dizazter…. what a lovely 2012

• Arzaq on Feb 03, 2012 at 4:14 pm

hahahah….apa beza ni dgn kancil xD

• Seriously Perodua. Ur better off replacing
    – 15″ alloys for 14″ steel rims wit caps
    – reverse sensor for roof mounted reverse mirror (ol Avanza n Ria style)
    – integrated HU for single DIN player
    – integrated wing mirror repeators for those without
    – or plunk in d 1.3litre K3VE from d smaller Myvi

At least u get t o save d “Smart Ride” marketting gimmic, pass on more savings to ur customers n save ppls criticism.

• SR = Stupid Ride.

• shawal on Feb 03, 2012 at 4:38 pm

The real question is , which public figure will have the ‘cojones’ to criticize such move made by P2

• KingKong on Feb 03, 2012 at 4:59 pm

I am driving a 2004 MYVI and love this car since the day i took possession of it. Polished and taken care of it with full passion.

Recently I was driving back to KL from Purtrajaya, going at 100km/h entering a corner closeby LimKokWeng College.

Unfortunately, it was a rainy morning and road is slippery, therefore when I entered that corner, the wheels lost grip and car spun 720 degrees and stop right before the curb. No damage and everything is still in one piece.

I look back with full pride and gratefulness to 3 things and they are:

1. God spared both my wife and myself from any injuries
    2. ABS!!! – It was owesome. My first encounter of ABS safety at work. Though i didn’t manage to control the ride (was too shock to counter-steer), but the very fact the wheels didn’t lock, had allowed the car to gracefully manage it’s course by way of natural tyre traction. As a result, the car didn’t swing out of control..!!
    3. My Michelin wheels – it still has owesome grip even though it’s already due for replacement.

Why i am writing this comment is to tell Perodua, you guys made a smart decision to put in ABS into your cars. Taking it out is just risking the lives of the people your car will be carrying. Do the right thing – keep people’s safety at heart, and profit second. Afterall, Perodua is the 2nd national car maker. Perodua could do a long with with a good CSR.

• autojohndoe on Feb 03, 2012 at 5:26 pm

i think this a psychology play from Perodua to its buyers…

They create a flaw product from its own product line to lure buyer in buying higher spec one. They play safe within the price they targeted, as below will be concern by the buyer

[Alza SR; Cheap, very low spec] vs
    [Alza Standard; add 2.5K, spec OK] vs
    [e.g Exora Basic; add about 2.5K, spec low]

So, this will make the buyer left with only Standard Alza as option. Hence, maintaining their profit margin and possibility of increasing number of Alza sales…

• Haimi on Feb 03, 2012 at 6:55 pm

Datuk MD Perodua,
    “PEOPLE CAR ” juga bermaksud kereta yang selamat untuk rakyat malaysia memandu

“SMART RIDE” adakah saya “SMART” memilih kereta yang dah terbukti tak selamat untuk nyawa keluarga saya….???

Macam”Sehelai surat khabar lama di penyek penyek ” itulah yang telah terjadi pada keta2 keluaran perodua yang terbabas kat highway kita…

Datuk,
    jangan fikir keuntungan saja datuk….dah byk dah anak2 kita mati bersepai kat highway…dimana tanggungjawad kita…hanya mahu mengeluarkan kereta yg murah, jimat minyak, ringan …dapat jual banyak…UNTUNG…!!!

• Alzhard on Feb 05, 2012 at 12:34 pm

no any car maker except volvo are brave enough to mention their car are safe

• Haimi on Feb 03, 2012 at 7:06 pm

Datuk MD P2,

“SR” patut Safety Ride datuk
    ini kereta bawak nyawa satu keluarga datuk .
    dah banyak dah saya lihat keta keluaran datuk jadi macam surat khabak lama di penyet penyet kat highway kita…kesian satu keluarga tak tinggal zuriat…

nak tanya…Datuk pakai keta ni ke bawak kelurga datuk memandu kat highway…

• luckily they dont remove handbrakes…

• pomen keto on Feb 03, 2012 at 8:52 pm

biasa la…malaysian car makers…quantity first!!!(make money$$$)…quality and safety next(who cares!!!)

• syntium5000 on Feb 03, 2012 at 10:19 pm

Exora Basic is better..at least single airbag is there……..

• Yusrie on Feb 04, 2012 at 12:26 pm

Stop mumbling guys.. even some of you still can’t afford to buy this Alza SR.. i wonder that maybe you guys still using the first version Potong Saga or Kancil.. no one forcing you to buy this car.. is an OPTION.. get it?..

• neutral on Feb 04, 2012 at 4:27 pm

option to die?? better not offer this kind option…

• driver on Feb 05, 2012 at 7:19 am

Gimme a break! They can give us better OPTION. But why they decided to give us such a crap? It seems like they are taking advantages of innocence of people.

Untung dorg dah banyak, tapi kenapa tamak? Siap le menjawab kat sana nanti.. masa tu nak taruk sejuta airbags pn dh tak guna. Baiki la sementara korang masih ada peluang.

• zaidS on Feb 04, 2012 at 2:05 pm

perodua alza SR = Sampah Ride……..

• no namer on Feb 04, 2012 at 4:37 pm

acctually… ramai org xmampu angkat exora.. wlupun da jtuh hati ngn exora.. tp apakan daya.. loan lulus takat alza jer… alza jela.. n alza ni nk overtake persona sale jer..

• nizamsamat on Feb 04, 2012 at 7:27 pm

adoi..why ar marketing strategy so worst..ayo.

• malu kat org on Feb 05, 2012 at 2:42 pm

Alza SR
    SR untuk singkatan SANGAT RENGAN, SENANG REMPIT, SENANG REMUK, SENANG RENTUNG, SEKALI RAP……….paling senang cerita seapa guna Alza ni semuanya ada.

• Sutor on Feb 07, 2012 at 7:45 pm

Ada 5R…..ha ha ha.

Mmg dah ramai pakai kereta ini. Kalau mampu, ramai juga dah pilih Exora itu. Tetapi sampai hari ini, masih main tikam2….turbot la…..Cvt la….body looks good tetapi 1 airbag only…no side air bag…..DVVT itu belum siap lagi.

• Sutor on Feb 07, 2012 at 7:22 pm

If use tagline such as Safety den P2 should use the Toyota Global Assessment Safety for chassis n crumple zone.

Too many comments about the weak chassis but need external certification to really find out.

Adding some anti intrusion bars, stiffening work goes a long way.

SR means this is the basic ride……same body n engine n front wiper!

It is not the EX or some exclusive tag….

In manual, it is even more affordable.

• kucing on Feb 09, 2012 at 10:58 am

p2 sudah goyang sama p1

• Boleh pasang kemudian ke? I dah teroder lah.. :)

• Kereta berkerusi lenting (ejection seat) sebagai standard khas untuk “PILOT-PILOT” di Malaysia. klick “THUMB UP” jika setuju.

• CEO Produa..Harapa2 kete produa dapatlah mengeluarkan kereta yg berkualiti dan keselamatan yg terjamin.

• Exora Bold CFE price reduced to alza SR price… Love to see how they quarrel… as long as the consumer wins..

• Abs,ebd,airbag or the other is not the issue or reason for safetylah. Previous car back to 90’s and before already exist?
    This features came up parallel. With technology development as/to make driving handling and safety more easier.but it’s still cant avoid accdnt happen.
    Then show me/we which car with the most advance feature for safety and sturdiness chasis will not involve in accdnt.(if excluding human factor).
    Frankly,the point of these features create and applied as/for HELPING and NOT GUARANTEE to avoid accdnt.
    The most is humans factor.think by yourself for the rest.t.q

Skyline r32,aerio awd,323 owner.