New Lexus GS is coming soon – now open for booking

Lexus Malaysia has opened order books for the all new Lexus GS, which means you can now put your name down to be one of the first owners of the GS when it arrives soon.

First unveiled at last year’s Pebble Beach show in the US, Lexus’ challenger to the BMW 5-Series, Mercedes E-Class and Audi A6 is a huge departure from the car it replaces, looking more dynamic and sporty than its German classmates, something it has never been before this generation.

There are quite a few variants to choose from. Lexus Malaysia will import in the GS 250, GS 250 Luxury and GS 350 Luxury. By the way, this is the first time Lexus is putting an engine below 3.0L in the GS, allowing it to better match German rivals, who all have lower entry points. F-Sport variants for both engines will also be available.

The GS 250 is powered by a 2.5-litre V6 with D-4S direct port injection and Dual VVT-i. Maximum output is 206 hp at 6,400rpm and peak torque of 253 Nm is delivered at 4,800 rpm. 0-100 km/h is done in 8.6 seconds on to a top speed of 228 km/h. The V6 is matched to a Super ECT-i close-ratio intelligent six-speed automatic transmission, with sequential manual shift function. It’s likely that most GS buyers will opt for this engine.

There’s also a good selection of colours available, both for the exterior and cabin. Prices range from RM370k to RM488k OTR excluding insurance. We’ve seen it in the metal and sat in it before, at motor shows, and can say that the GS has never been more desirable.

Click here for full details and a hi res gallery.

Danny Tan loves driving as much as he loves a certain herbal meat soup, and sweet engine music as much as drum beats. He has been in the auto industry since 2006, previously filling the pages of two motoring magazines before joining this website. Enjoys detailing the experience more than the technical details.

• drgn86 on Feb 03, 2012 at 12:33 am

Wonder how the Lexus GS F-Sport will look like…

• avsmasher on Feb 03, 2012 at 9:28 am

much better design than the new 3ers…seriously looks good, the f-sport variant is freaking awesome! i luv jap av!

• Vader on Feb 03, 2012 at 9:40 am

the GS should be direct compete to 5 series, but not 3 series

• matakebau on Feb 03, 2012 at 1:24 pm

the new 3s and 5s design not the same design? lol sorry i can no longer differentiate both from distant away…

• GS vs a 3er? ….just goes to show how much u know about cars!!
        no wonder you like this glorified toyota!

• For me Merc and BMW F10 or new 3 series is better looking and more sexy ! as a young men i love the new BMW 5 series of coz i cant afford it but i can enjoy the view of the car hehe :)

• 1malaysia2020 on Feb 03, 2012 at 12:49 am

Overtime eh?

• Yawn…zzz

• VOLVO FOR LIFE on Feb 03, 2012 at 1:09 am

I have not a single clue on the what the colours look like. Starlight Blake Glass…seriously?

• It looks great! Those who can write a 400K cheque can go for it.

• a very good car

but those anti japanese will probably say “it’s still a lexus”

• kington on Feb 03, 2012 at 9:20 am

They will say it’s a glorified Toyota as well.

However, i must say that the current GS, after its update a couple of years back, was one of the better cars i’ve sampled. So good, that it’s only recently surpassed, in my list, by the F10 535i.

This is perhaps one of those you have to view in flesh to appreciate the design.

The D-4S and Dual VVT-i should make for some interesting engine charateristics. Hope i get to test one.

• Pricing-wise is too ambitious. Though I admire this brand slapping near RM400k to 2.5 engine that not even match Mercedes 1.8 E200 is too much.

• VOLVO FOR LIFE on Feb 04, 2012 at 12:06 am

well this is imported. the merc isn’t. the lexus interior is made out of higher quality materials than the merc. The car would probably outlast you. its a niche product. i’d be honest i would never choose this over a 5 series but this is a car i would recommend my friends to consider.

• ‘ looking more dynamic and sporty than its German classmates’? Probably yes. But a topspeed of 228 km/h is something the German classmates can laugh about. Even the A6 2.0 TDI diesel is going 232km/h, and this without ‘D-4S direct port injection and Dual VVT-i’

So it’s the perfect buy for someone who wants a fast looking, but actually slow car… ;)

• Nissan on Feb 03, 2012 at 10:39 am

how often do you drive at top speed? Pizza delivery man or DHL driver?

• kington on Feb 04, 2012 at 9:05 am

Is there a lot of difference between 228km/h and 232km/h?

Seriously, in most cases, such figures are merely academic and for all you know some figures might be purposely hiked up just to impress.

• even persona R can reach that speed

• albag on Feb 03, 2012 at 8:02 am

it looks better than the 5 series… seriously

• Jaybond on Feb 03, 2012 at 8:13 am

A good alternative to the German and the British luxo barges..

• littlefire on Feb 03, 2012 at 8:24 am

People already downsizing their engine and using high-tech turbocharged engine.. If not mistaken the Japanese use Turbo quite a lot, but now in this Lexus is really not in the same league as those European… Really felt outdated regarding their engine technology.. Even Acura done better.. If compare comfort, still ages compare to Merc… Sorry Lexus, maybe you will have to do better like introducing hybrid or something like Lexus CT200h.. to be out of the crowd..

• Merc=Real Euro on Feb 03, 2012 at 3:13 pm

japs are not convinced that slapping a low cc with turbo is the answer.
      Short term yes long term engine may not last …. remember the base engine is still low cc by adding a turbo is pushing the engine harder. worse still small cc with turbo with chassis weighing 1.5 tonnes. long term engine may not last…. euro look at short term where as jap look at long term… just different way of building cars….for jap long term durability and reliability is important….. that is why they dont buy into the small cc add turbo .

Again adding a turbo charger is not new technology and it is a no brainer….
      It is a lazy cut cost technology…no need to spend millions in R&D …just slap into any engine..and it will mimic a bigger CC. whether it will be reliable long term is yet to been seen…. again reliability and european cars dont mix… so no point take any direction from them….

so the key to the so called new technology is …what is the base cc of the engine and what is the chassis weight. If the CC is 1.4 and the car weighs 1.4 tonnes then no brainer…long term you can say bye bye to the engine. i am starting to see issues now with cars with this setup….

• carkrazy on Feb 03, 2012 at 4:04 pm

I’m not quite convince that reliability is the reason why Lexus didn’t go with a turbocharged setup. I see a lot of old Volvo turbos with 400,500, even 600 thousand kilometers still chugging along nicely on our roads.

I think the reason is cost. Turbocharged engines are costly to build.By the time you add the cost of a turbocharger, blow off valve, waste gate, extra strong bottom end(piston, con rods, crank) and all the extra sensors, it can easily cost twice as much to build as an equivalent N/A engine.

• Merc=Real Euro on Feb 05, 2012 at 11:00 am

seriously u see old volvo turbo on the road today. …those are 1JZ…mudah got few for sale…

• carkrazy on Feb 06, 2012 at 2:02 pm

Wrong again.The majority still have the original b230 turbo engine in them.Those who swap for 1jz,2jz, or Nissan RBs are ones into performance.

• littlefire on Feb 03, 2012 at 4:38 pm

Bro, are you saying that modern turbo engine technology is not new? How about BMW engines? Does Lexus engines does Better?

Anyway even Lexus/Toyota IS Altezza N/A engine also got issue… If not why a lot of ppl are selling now? Just ask them how many sensors need to replace? LOL!

• Merc=Real Euro on Feb 05, 2012 at 10:57 am

…..errr… cos the car is old aready and malaysian like to be seen driving the latest…

• It’s obvious you never studied engineering. So don’t give stupid replies..

But FYI, the turbos are not simply slapped on the old engine. The engine, especially european brands, are reengineered to meet with the heavier loads produced by the turbo. Engine wall thickness, thermodynamics, compression ratio, shaft diameter, etc etc are all strengthen to meet with the extra loads.

If the 1.4L engine is spewing out 200Nm of pulling power from 1400rpm, I see no problem of throwing it into a 1.4 tonnes truck. You DO NOT need to rev the engine since max torque is available at 1400rpm.

Thank me for even replying to your comment.

• Merc=Real Euro on Feb 05, 2012 at 11:07 am

sorry mr so called engineer……. so what u are saying is I can even 1,000 cc can slapped with big turbo can reliably haul 2 tonnes of weight…over long term….

Dont give stupid answers….

• Sorry Toyota Salesman. Those turbos are tiny, not big. Do more research.

1.4 tonnes = 16vavle 2L w124 merc. I am not even sure if you know what is a w124 merc. The engine is giving out 100kW (134hp, 136PS) of power and 190 N·m (140 lb·ft) at maybe around 3k rpm? Which the VW 1.4TSI is giving out 210Nm from 1.5k rpm.

Yes actually they can haul long term, since they were design to meet a certain working hours, so long as you maintain your car well. It sounds like me tat you are well that doesn’t even service your car.

• BeemerFreak on Feb 03, 2012 at 6:22 pm

Haha comments from a person living in a shed. If turbocharged engines are so outdated, why is F1 going back into turbocharging? Furthermore If it is a lazy cut cost way of building an engine, why does people like toyota, honda and nissan not using such engine, since price is the main selling factor for their cars?

Eh, Turbocharged engines nowadays comes with complicated cooling systems as well as a very strong engine block to withstand the enormous pressures of a turbocharger. A lot of money and R&D is being spent to develop the correct balance.

Naturally aspirated is only the way to go if the engine posesses large capacity where its efficeincy could be well utilized.

All your comments sound like some one who knows nothing about engineering and dont bother to find out. No offence bro, but you are out of date.

• yeah just slap the turbo thingy into the engine and walla there you go
        lol like what ah bengs do in bandar sunway
        later break down no warranty

• looks okok.

but remember. the lexus will breakdown 1 time in 300 days.

audi: 1 in 60 days. gear box and suspension
    bmw: 1 in 65 days. Hydraulics
    mercs:1 in 120 days. suspension & bushes

all cars are well-maintained but issues will still arise.

• Just me on Feb 03, 2012 at 10:09 am

What about Proton?? Kakakakaka.
      Can someone share? 1 in how many days??

• waja2007 on Feb 03, 2012 at 5:09 pm

My 2007 Waja Campro never broke down since day 1 until now clocked 132000 km after more than 4 years. But I know there are some Japs and Contis already broke down during the same amount of years..

• there are countless of old ugly iswaras on the road, not to mention the taxis

• Have you owned any of the cars you mentioned to come up with that nonsense?

• BeemerFreak on Feb 03, 2012 at 8:59 am

A GS 250 that is even pricier than MB E250 CGI and BMW 528i, come on, no way will I ever opt for that. The 350 seems better priced undercutting the 535i and Audi A6 3.0 TFSI, even then might not a tempting enough proposition. UMW really have to rethink their pricing strategy.

• Danny on Feb 03, 2012 at 11:10 am

Especially the performance part, 2.5 V6 206 HP? 253Nm ? 0-100km/hrs in 8.6sec?

Quote from Lexus Malaysia;
      “looking more dynamic and sporty than its German classmates, something it has never been before this generation.
      By the way, this is the first time Lexus is putting an engine below 3.0L in the GS, allowing it to BETTER MATCH German rivals, who all have lower entry points. F-Sport variants for both engines will also be available. ”

This kind of so-called performance sport sedan can compete with those from German? Well, I guess ppls should know the answer.:-)

• yup, toyota and lexus has always been so arrogant in their pricing. only die hard toyota fans will buy this!

• Merc=Real Euro on Feb 03, 2012 at 3:16 pm

keep in mind fully cbu from japan….not in a tin shed in pekan…big difference in quality control…

• BeemerFreak on Feb 03, 2012 at 6:13 pm

are you froma shed? Hmm i would really appreciate if you could point out the difference between the cbu and ckd units.

• Merc=Real Euro on Feb 03, 2012 at 3:25 pm

GS250 = 370K CBU from Japan.
      E250 = 403K CKD in Pekan
      528i = 410K CKD god know where..!!!!

Pricing point of view not too bad…what….

• BeemerFreak on Feb 03, 2012 at 6:14 pm

doesn’t matter from where, QCs are always the same for companies with such standards. The most important question is, would you pick the Lexus over the merc and bimmer?

• c2000 on Feb 03, 2012 at 9:06 am

Better than E-class.

• RedBeanBun on Feb 03, 2012 at 9:54 am

Japanese become so comfort with their own market, and lost the global competitiveness.

how in the world in this can compete with the BMW, MERC, AUDI in term of price?

• car Prices (reference only) in the UK

lexus: from 33k
    Audi: from 26k
    BMW: from 31k

• oko138 on Feb 03, 2012 at 11:02 am

From Rm370k? are you kidding me?

Will go ahead with A6, E250 or 5 straight away!

Don’t need to open for booking, just send it back to Japan please. . .

• oko188 on Feb 03, 2012 at 11:03 am

From Rm370k? are you kidding me?

Will go ahead with A6, E250 or 5 straight away!

Don’t need to open for booking, just send it back to Japan please. . .

• Look at how Lexus have priced their IS250 here locally…. sales for that model ain’t good at all. For that kind of pricing, most have gone for the German makes. Most of the IS on our roads are grey imports.

• drchan on Feb 03, 2012 at 11:25 am

any stock VW GTi can smoke this thing easily and i can get 2 units with money to spare

• Merc=Real Euro on Feb 03, 2012 at 5:38 pm

that is if ur dsg…doesnt breakdown…ha ha

• BeemerFreak on Feb 05, 2012 at 12:20 am

And it really does not. My 3 year old roc has never had any feeling of trouble. Regular maintenance is the key

• Merc=Real Euro on Feb 05, 2012 at 11:13 am

you are lucky so far…… They even have a website dedicated to dsg….

www.dsgproblem.com happy reading…

• vincent on Feb 03, 2012 at 11:32 am

Just a luxury Toyota. With 400k, I will go for something that comes with a more solid chassis, eg. Merz, Audi, BMW, etc.

• Lim Kopi on Feb 03, 2012 at 1:44 pm

OPEN FOR BOOKING even before testing or learning about the car ….

BUYING CAR the Malaysian way !!

Amazing!!

• looking-good on Feb 03, 2012 at 3:10 pm

expensive…

• bmw 325 e90 or the e60 525 churns better Hp and torque over this lexus and its used in year 2006 onwards….lame lexus now its 2012 man wake up! create or make better engines la rubbish toyota…

• Merc=Real Euro on Feb 05, 2012 at 11:16 am

yeah they do…however they are unreliable as well….oil leak lah valvetronic…, module lah… power without reliability is useless……. it is like a fast runner who is always sick..

• tmsoo on Feb 03, 2012 at 6:22 pm

The sales is the best proven who is the winner, conti. cars or Japanese cars..

• only those moron brainless will bought lexus!!!!

• Too expansive!!
    Looks not that impressive, engine is old engine old tech, performance below expectation, interior quality is good but too alike with camry sibling.

conclusion those buy GS is those really rich and i think most of them are UMW staff or top management lol.

• AudiQ5 on Feb 04, 2012 at 1:57 pm

Better brand in fact,

Audi always got silly problems. Never ending issues …

• statistician on Feb 04, 2012 at 3:59 pm

I am not sure about Malaysia . In Oklahoma state, ppl perception is you are a rich man if you are driving a Lexus. Not Benz or BMW or Audi.

• c2000 on Feb 05, 2012 at 11:35 am

Right only at Oklahoma state, ppl from the rest of the states will have a perception that Lexus is one level lower than Benz or BMW or Audi.

• NONAME on Feb 04, 2012 at 9:51 pm

Esai lah….. Haha

• i like the front face,the light bumper its fine(garang face)…but the rear light,..urmm somehow look like sonata…nothing special for the rear..the interior i can feel the luxurious…

• Jaybond on Feb 06, 2012 at 12:12 pm

To answer which one is more costly to build, between an N.A engine and a Turbo engine is really, a subjective matter. But a quote from Soichiro Honda, that revs is more expensive than boost does tell you a thing or two about engine technology. With high rpm engine, you need to use lightweight yet strong exotic materials and ultra short stroke design to reduce inertia so that the engine can achieve skyrocketing rpm. It is a delicate task. With the turbocharged engines, the main focus is on the strength (the engine could become heavier by strenghtening the internals) – the delicate part is on the turbocharger.

• Merc=Real Euro on Feb 14, 2012 at 11:39 pm

good point it is easy to make turbo engines…..but a high reving engine requires
      many years R&D ….which unfortunately i have not seen from normal conti cars.
      The key is high rev with reliability..
      so dont blame me if I am not convinced with the add turbo cos
      it is easier to achieve HP with tubo rather than spend $$$ in R&D and testing.
      Dont forget Jap killed the Euro with Variable Timing technology..

Imagine 1.6cc can produce 200ps Pulsar VZR N1
      Honda S2000 can produce 250ps with 2.0 engine.
      Best part both are reliable eventhough high strung engine…

No euro cars can ever match these facts….why ….. R&D cost money and
      that is something they are not willing to spend….like I said just slap on a turbo..
      and walah….