F10 BMW M5 to be launched on March 10, 2012

It’s the first BMW M5 ever to come with not just one, but two turbochargers, and it’s coming to Malaysia very soon! BMW Malaysia has just sent out an electronic mailer to its customer base that the F10 M5 will be launched on March 10, 2012.

The most recent M car launched in Malaysia was the X6 M, with a massive price tag of RM1,188,800. The last generation E60 M5 was sold for about RM888k – how much will the new M5 be priced at? I’d expect nothing less than a million ringgit!

After dabbling for years in the IT industry, Paul Tan initially began this site as a general blog covering various topics of personal interest. With an increasing number of readers paying rapt attention to the motoring stories, one thing led to another and the rest, as they say, is history.

• VOLVO FOR LIFE on Feb 10, 2012 at 1:39 am

waiting for recon models….

• SpeakUp on Feb 10, 2012 at 2:06 am

Jeremy Clarkson says … Press the M button! How nice to own something like this. How I wish … hehehehee …

• zerouzer on Feb 10, 2012 at 2:51 am

i think it going to be slightly less than 1mil since the engine displacement is smaller

• Paint on Feb 10, 2012 at 6:57 am

My oh my! BMW is set to ruin Proton’s Tuah launch party.

• Jolly_idiot on Feb 10, 2012 at 8:17 am

With that price tag, i have massive choice of car. Bmw m5 so what?

• BMW M5…perfect free gift for Crony to get mega projek…no hadiah no projek…help me help u…

Next time BMW send email better C.C. copy also to MACC office just for future reference…

• harris murad on Feb 10, 2012 at 2:20 pm

somebody seems to be angry he didnt receive any offer
      kesian

• ABTguy on Feb 10, 2012 at 9:38 am

Actually if BMW Malaysia is sincere, it should quote a price lower than the last E60 M5. Coz the import duty should be lower due to the lower capacity, 4.4 litre vs the 5.0 litre of the past.

• tokmoh on Feb 10, 2012 at 10:07 pm

They might just learn from UMW Toyota to price it higher to jaga 2nd hand value of E60 M5 lolololol

• ABTguy on Feb 10, 2012 at 10:11 am

BTW, I can’t remember which car megazine I read last week, where it reports a comparo between M5, E63 AMG & XJ (not sure XF or XJ).

AMG came out on top, though. Sorry BMW fans……

M5 won in straight line pace and hard handling, but AMG concurred with daily drivability, exotic engine note, communicative steering and no less inferior in 0-100 & handling.

• Jolly_idiot on Feb 10, 2012 at 11:17 pm

I know which car megazine you read last week, it is AH PEK CAR MAGAZINE.

• gtrGunner on Feb 10, 2012 at 11:03 am

I would prefer a 2seater supercar to go even much faster, maybe a recond gtr 2012.

• Beaky on Feb 10, 2012 at 11:08 am

theres an event going on at brabus bangsar this morning… i saw the new cls amg and a clk dtm amg…. is it the launching of the new cls?

• Just go for the GTR… :P

http://www.youtube.com/watch?v=FjJSY0eZpHs

• Jolly_idiot on Feb 10, 2012 at 11:22 pm

Can you differentiate between a sport car with a sedan? Damn!!! Why GTR? better go for F-22 Raptor.

• tricycle on Feb 10, 2012 at 11:41 am

In the US X6M with 21″ wheels only cost USD 100,989.00 = MYR 305,188.77.

In the bolehland it cost MYR 1,188,800.00. Whoooaaa!

In the UK M5 cost only GBP 73,040.00 = MYR 348,816.96

The price in the UK is including the PROFIT, TAXES and every other thing. If in Malaysia the price is well beyond MYR1,000,000.00 then imagine how much of the money goes to the g’ment in charge.

• Winter on Feb 10, 2012 at 1:18 pm

Funny that people keep comparing car prices with other countries just by the price itself. Did you check how much does it cost to own cars over there? Insurance/parking/gas… etc… Your comparison is like a no-brainer more like a 10 yr old kid.

• but it even funnier to see that the starting salary for a fresh graduate accountant in our country still earned the same RM1800 in 1980s untill now in 2012..
        the car price tag back in 1980s just around RM5k-RM15k for a very good n yet comfortable car i reckon.. n i believe, the fresh graduate accountants those year can even buy car in cash after months of working with that salary.. but now? even 9 years still need to pay loan for a car nearly to go scrap.. not to mention about the house price tag rite?
        okla, talking bout the cost to own a car there in UK.. so what difference with us here? every year to pay roadtax n insurance.. tolls tolls n tolls.. gas.. so, its all about a government’s consistency to make policy. if the gov not encourage people to own car, just make the car price tag high like a rocket.. BUT MUST IMPROVE THE PUBLIC TRANSPORT!

• lchan on Feb 10, 2012 at 4:25 pm

his comparison is actually valid. he is comparing after all the price of the car. not the cost of living or cost of ownership. in simply truth, the cars in malaysia is expensive. it is no difference if comparing to south africa. the cars are cheap, but the people are generally very poor. still, he is comparing ONLY the value of the car in general, nothing more.

• klata-klata on Feb 10, 2012 at 9:36 pm

When you “buy” this car, you’re basically making a donation to a system of taxes, AP holders, and rent seekers. 70% of your money goes elsewhere, only 30% comes back to you in the car as a consolation.

• Jolly_idiot on Feb 11, 2012 at 8:30 am

Buy ANY IMPORTED CAR will have to make a donation to a system of taxes, AP holders, and rent seekers. NOT THIS CAR YOU IDIAT!!

• but with RM350,000.00 in Malaysia, we just can have the 520d or 520i ONLY!
      congratz to the Bolehland and all its people! we already subsidize the gov with those crazy taxes… n not forget, we also have an ‘extremely outstanding’ public transport rite? cheers ;)

• G will not not improve public transport, becauseeee they want us buy a car ! imagine how much they earn from car’s duty tax …

• harris murad on Feb 10, 2012 at 2:23 pm

go ahead and move there lah
      wth are you being all noisy here for?

• doesn’t it was my right to make noise here? oh, sorry.. i don’t have any right here in my country to speak up my mind.. soo sorry. i forgot that after i’v paid income tax of my own hard earned money (which i paid more than RM5k annually to LHDN coz i worked on my own) n bought a car (forte) which i assumed that i paid more than half from the car price tag as a tax to the gov n also all the duty stamps on the banks agreement n so on.. as well as i bought my own house n paid more than RM30k for MOT and all other duties such as stamp duty for SnP n so on.. n every year pay for road tax n another tax charged from my insurance payment.. i just or must stay in my house quietly n make no noise at all rite.. n be a very polite citizen n only loyal to whatever thing done by my government… so when my PM asked me to give him money, i just give him money la rite with no right to question anything? i must not question where my money goes even it was clear that a project to provide lembu, went to 1menerong condos rite?

• tokmoh on Feb 10, 2012 at 10:21 pm

That’s why la he ask you to move out and find a govt that treats you like 1st class flight.

Here you pay so much tax, can afford Forte only.

There, perhaps you can afford BMW X6 with 21″ rims, live happily ever after.

• goreng on Feb 10, 2012 at 5:07 pm

The irony is that usually the people that complain about this are not actually in the market for one :)

• VOLVO FOR LIFE on Feb 10, 2012 at 8:53 pm

well we are. just not in malaysia. the price is just crazy and the road tax will kill you. i admit i’m not as rich as the guys who can afford to keep this sort of car in malaysia. still, even if i were as rich, for all the money i rather buy an M5 like say in Germany or UK and dump the excess capital it in other appreciating investments here. With the profits hopefully gained one can use it to store it in another country with roads and fuel suitable for the car. Then maybe in a few years time, bring it back. Another method is to buy it in Langkawi and then bring it back to the Semenanjung every few months. Wish to know more about the process though having seen many Sciroccos and Megane Renaultsports sporting Langkawi registration driving around in KL.

• Nabil on Feb 10, 2012 at 12:08 pm

Ya i tink most wil wait those 2nd hand frm uk/japan…easily can save 300k..n jus send to auto bavaria for service…

• VOLVO FOR LIFE on Feb 10, 2012 at 3:56 pm

one does not simply send his bmw to auto bavaria for service. seriously, the official bmw dealers service is thumbs down.

• Kumar san on Feb 10, 2012 at 4:14 pm

I agree with you bro,that’s exactly what i did with my current E60 M5,which i purchased in very low mileage,very well kept,tuned to 675bhp on wheel(Stage 2 supercharged) and bought on the cheap from my close mate in England.Since he was migrating to another european country which is all left hand drive,he did not think it was feasable to bring it there,alas,he sold it to me when i got back from the States recently.

I’m very happy with it,no complains,no problems,nothing has broken or faulted despite it’s tuned state.As far as the regular oil and filter change,AB has been handling it with no problems.But they always mention to me that nothing can be claimed if it goes bong which is perfectly understandable.It’s an ace ride if you ask me.

This new F10 M5 is seriously tempting,but i guess it’s new MSRP price will be at least cool million,maybe more.Can’t afford that,maybe the re cons which will eventually come.We shall see.

Cheers.

• mister potato on Feb 10, 2012 at 1:09 pm

It’s expected to be about USD$100k, which is less than what most buyers of the regular buyers paid for their 5-series. Why are Malaysians denied access to the ultimate driving machine? Who let this happen?

• goreng on Feb 10, 2012 at 4:00 pm

Denied access? But I see plenty of ‘Ultimate Driving Machines’ all over the place? Are YOU missing something?

• manoq on Feb 10, 2012 at 1:32 pm

I think the price could be more than a million as its direct rival here, E63 AMG is being sold at RM1.179 mil.

So, why should BMW sell the M5 much2 cheaper than E63 lest it be accused of having a much inferior product than the direct rival, hence the cheaper price.

Even Jag XFR here is sold at RM888,888-00.

Or, maybe M5 could be priced in between E63 AMG and XFR.

Manoq

• Keyboard Warrior on Feb 10, 2012 at 2:38 pm

dont worry much la.. wait for the re-cond.. sure cheaper..

drive2.. rosak2.. kasi jual..

• Redwings on Feb 10, 2012 at 5:26 pm

Watch this…
    http://i.autoblog.com/2012/02/09/this-is-the-difference-between-a-sports-sedan-and-the-gt-r/

• What a wonderful test: A four seater sedan vs. a two seater sports car…

Okay, how about comparing the BMW S1000RR with the GT-R then?

S1000RR: 0-300km/h, 19.1s
      GT-R: 0-300, 37.4 s

S1000RR: US$13800
      GT-R: US$97820

;)

• Redwings on Feb 15, 2012 at 10:41 am

Ha.. Lucky u mentioned the price in USD.. Don’t think u can get it in boleh land right even after impose the tax…
        The new m5 already cost more than a million MYR..

• Jolly_idiot on Feb 10, 2012 at 11:25 pm

Another only GTR idiat!!

• chris on Feb 10, 2012 at 5:27 pm

cool

• 88 ribu cukup laa

• RedBeanBun on Feb 10, 2012 at 9:18 pm

HA HA HA!