Kia Track’ster Concept – 2-door turbocharged 4WD Soul

When Kia Motors American chief designer Tom Kearns and his team was styling the new Kia Track’ster Concept, they went on with the idea to make the Track’ster tough looking, like a bulldog, but still instantly recognisable as a Kia Soul, but with a whole lot of attitude added. Something that could change people’s concepts of what a sporty Kia could be.

The end result – finished in a 2-tone Whiteout and Inferno Orange design – is pretty much spot on. Under the hood is a 2.0L turbocharged engine with a 6-speed manual making 250 horsepower – a 66% increase over the most powerful engine in the production Kia Soul. The Track’ster also has all wheel drive to help send all that turbo torque to the wheels.

After dabbling for years in the IT industry, Paul Tan initially began this site as a general blog covering various topics of personal interest. With an increasing number of readers paying rapt attention to the motoring stories, one thing led to another and the rest, as they say, is history.

• sicilian_defense on Feb 10, 2012 at 1:29 pm

What a splendidly fun car.. soul… yes it has go soul indeed

• Hmm.. too bad it isn’t a 1.6 Turbo, or else would be a great addition to WRC.

• Very sorry lah still long way to go for “Made In Tanjung Malim” become Global Car…

• awg1031 on Feb 10, 2012 at 2:27 pm

wow, this is nice..and that interior looks like production ready..

• Keyboard Warrior on Feb 10, 2012 at 2:36 pm

aiyo…
    another KIA..
    wonder who will buy..
    such no soul car..
    doubt ride is good..
    hyundai / kia is KING ON PAPER..
    not on real world drive..
    go test drive; dont kidding urself

• Murphy on Feb 10, 2012 at 3:12 pm

just stick with your keyboard…. and shake.

• Vader on Feb 10, 2012 at 3:55 pm

Hyundai Kia already be the top 5 manufacturer in the world.
      Go test drive, don’t talk nonsense and try to be smart..

• last time I’m kinda disagree with you but after awhile I think there’s some truth for Kia/Hyundai…. they do look good on design… but if people have a choice…honestly I think they’re more happy to say I drive Honda/Toyota/Mazda/Nissa/Puegeot than Kia/Hyundai…. sighhh… sorry… no offence to Kia/Hyundai owner…

• mentari-o-korea on Feb 10, 2012 at 2:45 pm

This is wat we called sports car, nice design with enough power ! Congratulation KIA!

• bobdbilder on Feb 10, 2012 at 8:38 pm

No one wants to drive this on the track when the spare tyre sits just behind your head. How you’re gonna heel-toe with those uninspiring pedals?

Haven’t seen them on a proper track. Have you? Anyone?

• niuhje on Feb 10, 2012 at 3:02 pm

can anyone tell me why kia soul is not sold in malaysia??? i think it’ll do well here, no?

• gogo2 on Feb 10, 2012 at 3:22 pm

I heard Malaysian driver go no soul

• yeah,got no soul..only resale value dat keep playing on their mind~hahahaha

• OilChange on Feb 10, 2012 at 8:53 pm

umno wont let us have 1…. maybe u can buy the emblem in mudah.my…

• Black Dog on Feb 11, 2012 at 1:15 pm

Answer: Due to their own success, Naza Kia can’t get any stock from Korea. As it is now, you got to wait a long time for Sportage & Sorento to arrive to our shores after you book one. So Naza Kia is damn scared to launch and then no cars to deliver. These are rumours I heard due to the long delivery.

• ss427 on Feb 10, 2012 at 3:13 pm

Folks, this obviously is a concept version of the next gen Soul, production versions shd be ready for 2014 model year.

Hmm… I’m not sure if this show Trackster uses the same 2L GDI Turbo engine as found in the Sonata… for it makes just 250hp instead of 271hp in the Sonata. But it could also be because the concerpt is a handbuilt car and some drivetrain parts can’t handle the power. Perhaps the show car 6MT can’t handle the torque hence engineers have to detune it slightly.

This is how the current gen Soul looks like in SG.
    http://www.kiaglobal.com/sg/en/wcm/groups/webcontent/@kgn/documents/webvehiclecontent/013208.pdf

• solenski on Feb 10, 2012 at 4:02 pm

this is way better than mini cooper.

• ezracopters on Feb 10, 2012 at 4:52 pm

wow.. nice design..and quite powerful.

so, do i want to buy it?? NO!!!

why??? well, im afraid after i bought it and used it let say 2 years, i might change my mind…maybe i wanna buy a sedan. and in term of money value..resale value, i think i better stick to Honda & Toyota.. then i’ll have more money to re invest in another vehicle.

beside this is not Sparta, this is Malaysia, KIA & Hyundai name means third class..barely above Proton & Perodua. But, just maybe.. if everyone start buying KIA & Hyundai..and people perceive these brand as classy as those on 2nd class (Japs).. i might jump in as well.

so, what am i gonna do here.. I’LL READ, I’LL SEE & I’LL WAITTTTTTTTTTTT!!!! hehe

• KIA De la Copy Cat on Feb 10, 2012 at 7:35 pm

Maybe we should put a pile of Korean Cow Dung photo here, i believe it too will get good comments & praises by Korean Fanboy/Lackey.

Typical Chopsuey car copying here & there, let me see Mini + VW on a Veloster Body.

• Fed up reader on Feb 11, 2012 at 3:05 am

Another moron. Every automotive industries do a bit of copying here and there, because its contemporary and it is what sells. Want justification? Audi’s LED daytime running lights. Go rant on every other cars that copy this design, dumbass.

• yippi33 on Feb 10, 2012 at 7:59 pm

emas taillight??..haha..

this is a mini contender…if only they can improve the handling especially on the steering feedback..its too light to my liking..

• kancildriver on Feb 10, 2012 at 10:51 pm

You drive this concept car? Woowwwww……

• yippi33 on Feb 11, 2012 at 2:53 pm

hahaha…my bad…im too lazy to type evrything..what i meant is KIA cars in general..the steering lacks feedback..the suspensions is a let down as well..a bit on the hard side…but thats just me..

• Such conservative thinking, how pathetic. Japanese are technologically more advanced, that I can give you. Continental cars are by a mile better in terms of Engineering. Mind you, Kia/Hyundai have both these qualities. Test driving any of these Korean cars will completely shrug off all doubts anyone would have against them. Such ignorance, pfft.

• yippi33 on Feb 11, 2012 at 2:59 pm

but i’m not impressed after test driving one..i mean they have all the gadgets n stuff but driving it felt numb..but thats purely my personal opinion..continentals by far are the best…

• nebula87 on Feb 11, 2012 at 12:49 am

Let’s shuffle….xD

• Is there any reason at all, the good folks at Tanjung Malim could not build something similar to this car? I mean, we already have a body, right?