Perodua to go the sedan and above 1.5L capacity route?

According to a report, Perodua is expected to obtain permission soon from the government to build cars with an engine capacity larger than 1.5 litres, which it has up to now been unable to do under the limitations tabled in the original arrangement between the government and the company when it was set up in 1993.

The ongoing arrangement dictates that Perodua is only allowed to produce compact cars with an engine capacity of under 1.5 litres. The NST report quotes an unnamed source, who said that the existing arrangement was being reviewed as part of the revision of the National Automotive Policy (NAP).

Toyota Etios with Perodua badging by Theophilus Chin

The source said that if the revised agreement yields positive results, Perodua will be able to begin assembling and producing cars with engine capacities ranging from 1.6 litres to 1.8 litres, effectively marking the beginning of the company’s venture in the sedan segment, the report adds.

The source also hinted that the new models with larger engine capacity would probably be prototyped along the lines of the Bezza concept, which made its debut at the Kuala Lumpur International Motor Show in 2010 as a show car.

He added that the introduction of new cars in the segment can be seen as a logical step and consistent with the increased demand for sedan choices among first-time car buyers in the country, but added that the company would not be reducing its focus on the production of compact cars.

Learn more: ,

Anthony Lim believes that nothing is better than a good smoke and a car with character, with good handling aspects being top of the prize heap. Having spent more than a decade and a half with an English tabloid daily never being able to grasp the meaning of brevity or being succinct, he wags his tail furiously at the idea of waffling - in greater detail - about cars and all their intrinsic peculiarities here.

• Paul Tan on Feb 10, 2012 at 4:13 pm

Imagine a Perodua-badged Toyota Etios

http://paultan.org/2010/12/03/toyota-etios-sedan-unveiled-for-the-indian-market/

• Vader on Feb 10, 2012 at 4:44 pm

that’s a nightmare!!!

• Theophilus Chin on Feb 10, 2012 at 4:46 pm

Yes, I imagined too right after I read the Harian.
      http://www.theophiluschin.com/?p=3823

• MoFaz on Feb 10, 2012 at 4:46 pm

etios, vios and whatever ‘ossss’ are ugly cars. but i have no doubt that perodua will rebadge for their first sedan. maybe the old Daihatsu Charade car? hehe
      the question is, they have Myvi as the current best selling model in Malaysia ranging from RM46k – RM60k. so which price segment will they put the sedan? i don’t think anything lower than RM45k would be possible for P2, it will kill both Viva and Myvi sales. anything higher than RM60k will compete with its parent’s Toyota Vios and will only hurt themselves.. obviously people would choose T brand rather than P2. remember NaughtyCar (Nautica)? which one would you choose, P2 NaughtyCar or Toyota Rush, both RM90k??

• Nissan on Feb 10, 2012 at 5:14 pm

nothing is uglier than P1 (except Perdana & Inspira).
        all we need is hassle-free transportation and P2 is a reliable option for those who can’t afford T band at a not-so-much lower price.

• anti-vios on Feb 10, 2012 at 6:51 pm

nissan: macam nissan tu lawa sgt.. harapkan datang dari jepang je…

• nissan,
            owned by renault..
            boring

• theanswer on Feb 10, 2012 at 11:16 pm

i bet u never read a review regarding megane. plus..savvy handling came from renault too.

• MoFaz on Feb 10, 2012 at 11:53 pm

savvy handling from renault? WTF are u talking about?
            the ENGINE is from renault.

• theanswer on Feb 11, 2012 at 3:51 pm

yes the engine is from renault? but the chasis? its partially designed by proton..lotus dont have small car chasis. of course they have to refer it somewhere.

• theanswer on Feb 11, 2012 at 3:52 pm

yes the engine is from renault but the chasis? its partially designed by proton..lotus dont have small car chasis. of course they have to refer it somewhere.

• sawi was loosely based on Renault Clio, proton then knew nuts about car design, still yet to produce anything worth putting my hard earned RMs down for.
            Heck, even Tun’s son drives bugatti veyron. Nuff said.

• MoFaz on Feb 10, 2012 at 7:09 pm

you think proton is not reliable because you trusted your friend about what he hear from his friend of his friend of his friend so easily. many are prejudice and labelled proton bad based on their perception alone. if Malaysians said proton is reliable, you won’t believe it. now I give u a link, an article written by a British after a survey among car drivers in UK:

Proton beats British cars for reliability.
          http://www.independent.co.uk/news/proton-beats-british-cars-for-reliability-1097727.html

• Sentinel Prime on Feb 10, 2012 at 7:55 pm

After all it is based on the buyer favorite taste. if He say Proton terrible then it is terrible lah because he been driving other more better car than Proton brand. It is up to personal choices. He is the one who gonna buy not u. Don’t be busy body lah. i rather buy Perodua in the same range budget becoz Proton disappointing.

• Akina on Feb 11, 2012 at 3:01 pm

sudah la dgn perodua.pengalaman aku dengan perodua lbh truk brbnding ngn proton.sbb tu aku bnci sgt dgn produa.konon bagus,konon jepun..pirahhhh.kaki kelentong rakyat.myesal aku dok beli kereta perodua.tnggu abis byr loan je.pani aku nak letgo.no more to perodua..wekkkkk

• John zink on Feb 10, 2012 at 8:54 pm

Yes proton can be a reliable car in UK.. But u must beared in mind, quality of proton car in malaysia n outside malaysia is different! They give a high quality cars to UK but they just give craps to local.. Its a fact..

• theanswer on Feb 10, 2012 at 9:35 pm

hahaha u should know that in uk they get p1 with highest spec tht p1 can give. definitely different from what we get here. u think that brit can accept ‘tak apa’ attitude in uk? i have to agree that p2 offers hassle free..a good a to z car..but p1 can give better comfort & performance ride..u decide..u choose.

• MoFaz on Feb 11, 2012 at 12:25 am

higher spec will automatically means higher reliability?? so, why all those european cars with much much much higher spec than proton cars are rated low reliability??
            the spec provided by proton to export market are sometimes due to local condition or regulations there. for example UK is having cold weather almost entire year and it’s freezing in winter. so they need heater in the car. do you also want a heater in your car here and pay for it?? people in UK also opt for airbags, in Malaysia, you can see Vios being sold like hotcakes even though some model doesn’t equipped with airbag. many P2 cars doesn’t have airbag here! ESP is required in all new cars in Australia, while it is not compulsory here.
            so, theanswer.. pls answer my question. why Camry in Malaysia only have 2 airbags while they have 10 airbags in USA???

• theanswer on Feb 11, 2012 at 3:57 pm

u dont understand what am i trying to say. i mean p1 or p2 will provide better spec for europe country. i bet u never seen wira or iswara sold in malaysia using name ‘uk spec’. i grew up thru that period…its rare but salesman knew it can be an attraction to buyer.
            the reason why camry here got only 2 because our safety guideline is not that strict..and most of us didnt care abt care safety..(still driving without using a seatbelt). nway cheapest version of current vios got airbag.

• why Camry in Malaysia only have 2 airbags while they have 10 airbags in USA???

Tax regulation! Stupid

• Nissan on Feb 11, 2012 at 12:03 am

i don’t need to read or hear from sb else, my family members owned enough P1 for me the justify my comment. Most my friend who once owned P1 when they 1st start working had now changed to P2 or other brand. The reason behind is very obvious.

• i have to agree with nissan
            i thought i’d give p1 a try, thinking that things should’ve changed

car less than 6 months with engine knocking issue, rear windscreen rattling (hope no leaks), alarm giving problems, suspension issue and a few more small issues

• theanswer on Feb 11, 2012 at 3:59 pm

p1 fans no need to get butthurt. p1 didnt pay u to defend them. i got both brand at my hse. for fuel efficiency i choose p2..for comfortable drive i choose p1. if i got enough money..i wont buy both p1 and p2.

• HAHA ! YEAP.. SURVEY WHICH IS HUNDREAD YEARS OLD =)

• Akina on Feb 11, 2012 at 2:58 pm

Sorry to say, but u r the ugliest on this planet.huhuhu

• kuncisudu on Feb 11, 2012 at 12:42 pm

they will kill myvi for the new sedan. no worry, that sedan is the new myvi.

• dont worry produa sure redesign ethios’ bumper..
      perhaps several design for several edition :-))

• Perodua in M’sia is the best !!! wanna buy the local car but good quality and nice interior? Perodua is ur choice !

• Sentinel Prime on Feb 10, 2012 at 8:08 pm

Agree. Plus have good resale value!!! Money no loss no gone invincibly.
        Lagi best betul best.

• Akina on Feb 11, 2012 at 3:04 pm

haha.korang ni musti jurujual perodua.obvious gila babeng…kakakah

• Shahril on Feb 11, 2012 at 9:01 pm

Mana ada org beli kereta dapat untung selepas jual balik… Beli rumah ya ada untung

• duduk belakang kepala terhantuk

• u ingat proton gen2 meh?

• MoFaz on Feb 10, 2012 at 4:50 pm

amoi is P2 saleswoman or P2 cybertrooper.. she got pissed easily if people ever criticised P2 products.

• Kiasi No Kiasu on Feb 10, 2012 at 5:05 pm

But amoi was right what, this Etios c/w roof similat to Saga so where is the issue “Terhantuk Kepala” ? Gen 2 = Yes i also kena once.

• theanswer on Feb 10, 2012 at 9:36 pm

saga still better than gen2 and perdana. i perdana i cant sit upright properly..*as a 1.8m tall person.

• C~two on Feb 10, 2012 at 4:17 pm

make turbocharged sub-1.5 litres! enuf la!

• that path is for company without capability to produce car above certain cc. Eg. Proton with its 1.6 litre

• Bob Vettel on Feb 10, 2012 at 4:42 pm

Amoi, don’t be so kolot minded one – what about VW & Ford turbocharging their sub 1.5L engines?

• so,vw also got no capability la?hahaha..funny la u~

• MoFaz on Feb 10, 2012 at 4:54 pm

bodohnye amoi.. have P2 ever produce own engine? own chasis? if you think rebadge = produce then you’re totally absurd.

• Man, this post really proves that you are a genuine Perodua Sales Man/Woman.

• at least those 1.6 purely develop by p1(of course with other ppl help). but p2? amik org pnya then pasang???itu ker ‘capability’ yg dimegahkn sangat??wekk

• NeverWalkAlone on Feb 11, 2012 at 11:23 am

who cares if p1 engine is fully developed themselves? the engine and body parts are prone to defects. i had really bad experience with savvy. the mechanics at proton care centre was totally unreliable, even one dumb bearing defects they can’t detect and when i showed them that the steel axle underneath was rubbing against the rim, they told me it was alright. Oil was leaking on the inside rim for goodness sake.

do not bash us for mocking proton. it is their own fault for providing us poor services and parts.

• Akina on Feb 11, 2012 at 2:56 pm

org yg tk reti mnghargaai ssuatu mmg x kesah.kalo aku,aku kesah.

• People only interested to buy end product, not the process of creating the end product. If the product is good, it is good. Even you spent billions creating a crappy product, people won’t buy it. People are happy buying P2 copied product and P2 is happy producing it.
          You can tell the whole world how much effort you put in to design your own product and it it sucks, it sucks.

You proton people failed to understand simple thing. No wonder the whole company also kena disposed.

• MoFaz on Feb 11, 2012 at 10:32 pm

how about P2?.. still living with the parents ah? still can’t be independent after 20yrs collecting billions of RM by selling coffin on wheels from “Japan”? now even offer Alza SR or “Safety Reduced”…WTF. come on lah, if you just assemble car without any real engineering works.. you’re no better than the factory workers in Thai and Indon. you get it?
            no wonder all P2 supporters are still dijajah.

• theanswer on Feb 11, 2012 at 4:02 pm

inspira cmne bro?

• p1 engine, rev to 6000 baru ada oomph, wah petrol is free meh? and dont forget about the lembik torque at 3000 rpm. this kind of engine please bungkus saja lah.

• kevin lee on Feb 10, 2012 at 4:18 pm

imagine we have access to toyota cars rebadged under perodua!!!

• MoFaz on Feb 10, 2012 at 5:00 pm

doesn’t all this while, people already think that P2 = Toyota?

• taboogen on Feb 10, 2012 at 5:10 pm

access?? more like a puppets the japs playing us lah… at the end all the profits goes to them…. there is nothing to brag about

• theanswer on Feb 10, 2012 at 9:38 pm

bro..it’s business. they sell..we buy.. no need to be so patriotic. i dont have any problem wth rebadge myvi..in house saga blm..or rebadge inspira. in the end the quality and after sales servic etht matters.

• Avanza built by Perodua is priced cheaply at first….

• I thought they produced 1.6 litre P2 Rusa back then??

• rosdi on Feb 10, 2012 at 4:28 pm

I dont mind whatever can they want to produce, as long as they are PRODUCING the car not merely ASSEMBLING and tukar logo saja. Pirah!!!..

• Why you MIND they assembling dan tukar logo saja and still managed to outsell company that producing car and not only sell car but the company also sold?

• because the someone like u like to basing other company, complain bla bla bla but never use that car, ermmm

• because you and others like you think P2 = T

• BN=barang naik on Feb 10, 2012 at 4:30 pm

perodua sedan with 1.6 dual vvti altis engine!…wowwweeee

• brangan la u..look at how long p2 use kancil?now myvi? i bet dvvt engine still on their plan till 2020..hahaha

• BN=barang naik on Feb 10, 2012 at 5:01 pm

myvi & passo is using the SAME engine..1.3 K3-VE..org cakap x elok duk dalam tempurung lama sgt

• Tiguan on Feb 10, 2012 at 4:33 pm

“Perodua will be able to begin assembling and producing cars with engine capacities ranging from 1.6 litres to 1.8 litres”

Perodua to rebadge Toyota Corolla Altis 1.6 and 1.8? :p

Please rebadge Toyota Corolla Axio if possible. :)

• Others downsize our Perodua upsize. Very f***ing brilliant!

But maybe coz jap dun have downsized turbo engine, that’s why kenot make it.. hahaha..

• skypirate on Feb 10, 2012 at 4:53 pm

are you stupid or ignorant. the japanese obviously went the hybrid way.

• are you self proclaim smart or just plain dumb. Perodua will never ever get it’s hand on their hybrid. Like how they never got the new engine and new transmission on the new Myvi.

• eurohead on Feb 10, 2012 at 6:38 pm

why downsize when the smart govt still subsidising petrol… im rolling a 3.5 and i hope to go 5.0.. fuel still dirt cheap here.. welcome hummer!

• skypirate on Feb 10, 2012 at 8:28 pm

you are another idiot. he mentioned japanese not perodua.

• Loneranger on Feb 10, 2012 at 4:45 pm

since when P2 produce its own car?

though it is selling well but 50% of the money go to the Japs…

bot anti P2 but always wanted to see their engineers challenge themselves produce cars from 0……juz want to see whether they can produce better car than the other car manufacturer…..

• Nissan on Feb 10, 2012 at 6:04 pm

P1 once captured > 60% during the Wira era, where did the money go?

• MoFaz on Feb 10, 2012 at 6:50 pm

1. they build Tg Malim plant costing more than RM1bil without even borrowing from bank.
        2. they develop Waja, Gen2, Saga, Persona, Exora, P3-21A, Campro, which cost hundreds of million in R&D
        3. they bought Lotus

now is my turn to ask you some questions.
        1. P2 have been producing cars since 1993, so they’re almost 20yrs old now. if P1 could produce their own car and engine when they are 15yrs old, why P2 can’t?
        2. P2 sold hundreds of thousand cars a year, their revenue is several billions. where did P2 money go?

• Nissan on Feb 11, 2012 at 12:24 am

Why do you only mention Lotus? i’m sure you had not forgotten P1 bought MV Agusta as well at how many millions?

i don’t mind if they can build their own car or engine as long as they can offer a car that is value for money.

• MoFaz on Feb 11, 2012 at 9:55 am

and you didn’t answer my question
            why can’t P2 build their own car, and where did P2 money go?

• Inspiration on Feb 11, 2012 at 3:24 pm

Where did P2 money go?

You can ask any P2 staff every December meh. Bonus average 7month/year.

What did you get argue2 here? Nothing at all. Useless! haha~

• Alfa.com on Feb 12, 2012 at 12:03 am

Mofaz, why so defensive about the not so high rating on the quality of proton car. It is a fact…how many thousand of Malaysian have bought a proton car, probably every Malaysian have owned or used a proton car (and a perodua car for that matter) once in their lifetime. And the feedback comes to the same thing. And why bring into the discussion where the p2 money goes to, is that an issue here? Obviously it goes to pay the workers, management, suppliers, shareholder and last but not least to the Malaysian Gov’t in the form of tax (both corporate tax & the individual workers income tax).
          If you want to talk about patriotism, which I think is where you are trying to allude to here, proton should lead the way. Why after being given so much support in terms of domestic market protection for so many years still cannot produce a car that can compete in the international arena? Of course we all know the reason for that, and that is where the point of contention is. Clean up the rot in proton first, get rid of all the rent seekers, get your direction right in terms of addressing the quality issue and only then you have the right to seek the Malaysian public undivided support to be the no 1 car in the country.

• adding some. I have persona and it is bad product. list of problem very long.

i rather buy produa or another brand. i do not care where the money goes. As long quality is good.

for some reason, due the tax, another are expensive than proton which actually affordable to malaysian and far good quality than proton.

I bet next 5 years china car better than proton.

I call that “aniaya” rakyat.

For proton’s workers and datuk sake or for overall rakyat sake?

Think about that NOfaz.

• Dear sir, your item 1, 2, 3 above, my jawapan to that very short only – So what? Still can’t produce decent car.

• widespread all over malaysian companies (tanjung malim plant, new models development, lotus, etc). P2 money direct to J…………

• errr…designing new cars?
        which cost billions?
        unlike perodua..copy paste..
        tukar badge..

• Rulered on Feb 10, 2012 at 10:44 pm

Can’t see Tan Chong developing the country with all the money he made selling Nissan cars back then. BTW is the family still quarelling?

• myvi_1_5 on Feb 10, 2012 at 4:53 pm

Oh yeah…. Now altis get new engine already… so old engine will throw for P2…. it is same like Alza n Myvi 1.5…… I believe next badge of Avanza will get new engine….
    btw disappointed with P2 already since my 1st P2 car out from day 1 got issue which SC cant solve until now….

• Milk you until dry, that’s Toyota’s motto. Or else how to earn big bucks?

• jamee on Feb 10, 2012 at 4:57 pm

any p2 news is a waste of bandwith.

• Gabla on Feb 10, 2012 at 4:57 pm

A rebadged Toyota Allion?

• ezracopters on Feb 10, 2012 at 5:02 pm

PERODUA never was & is my brand choice. no matter how high the statistic was.

but i welcomes variety of choice in 1.6 -1.8 sedan segment. who knows, maybe they’ll produce much better car than we had “made in Thailand” vios..and people like me, the ignorant might give it a try one day!!

beside, Perodua (had best from both brand) = daihatsu + toyota .. i’m not saying this, but some said, and they beLIEve so!!! see for yourself.

• hassan on Feb 10, 2012 at 5:05 pm

bad news to proton

good news to poor ppl

• bonbon on Feb 10, 2012 at 5:24 pm

it was like ask proton to close shop…. :) …
      who say malaysian company control malaysian automative market? it japanese who control our market and using NAP as their protection….

• What a good news? Perodua despite being bumper, bonnet an light cluster re-engineering company, has taken us for ride too. The supplier of old models at their best except Myvi, Myvi Mk 2, Alza, Naughticar or Kembara and Rusa. The rest, especially popular Viva is 2002 model.

I’m satisfied user of Kelisa LE 2002-2008 and the car was very good and never gave me any problem. Second was use Viva 1.0EZI that’s quite ok in term of FC but build quality an safety is far from satisfied for RM45,000 car (l can get a cheapest Corolla Axio for the same amount in 2007 when RM-Yen not that bad).

If revise NAP just can give Peroua another license to rip-off us further with Indian-mean car (Toyota Etios) after under-Toyota quality cars like Unser, Innova, Avanza then better for government don’t award any license to second brand, P2.

If this license mean P2 will do their previous practice to offer new Toyota Altis at Perodua price and quality (i.e RM80k for an Altis) then why not?

No more license to rip-off us if government has no intention whatsoever to offer decent product with decent price. 1985-2015 is too long to make us carry living lizard (biawak hidup).

• Arrian on Feb 10, 2012 at 5:36 pm

poor people cant afford to buy perodua car, even the cheapest viva and as one of the most basic car in the world cost you merely 26K.

• good news to poor people?nonsense!
      p2 car are expensive..overpriced!
      cheap car from p2 was only kancil..but the quality is very hampeh..

• mystvearn on Feb 10, 2012 at 5:56 pm

I agree. Bad news for proton, good news for poor people.

• NONICKNAME on Feb 10, 2012 at 5:59 pm

Do u think that P2 will sell like a saga’s price?

• fair54 on Feb 10, 2012 at 5:11 pm

next, P2 will be the best selling sedan cars of the year. weeiiiii ^^,

• Lunch Up on Feb 10, 2012 at 5:13 pm

The hell??? I was right! The government intentionally introduced all kinds of restrictions to help P1 sell cars. How ironic after all kinds of hand outs P1 is still SAMPAH! Only one thing for certain, without the government’s backing, P1 would not last to outdo other car makers. Typical crony company mentality! Always hoping for government’s hand outs and uneven playing field. Embarrassing!

• RadzLee on Feb 10, 2012 at 5:25 pm

P2 is moving slow… perhaps too slowwww…

• Metroboy on Feb 10, 2012 at 5:28 pm

This is good news and hope it materialise soon. Looking to buy another car for my household, cheap cheap but highly reliably. You can only get that from Perodua.

• kivatt0024 on Feb 10, 2012 at 7:13 pm

p2 cars very cheap ka…?? i think not….

• Metroboy on Feb 11, 2012 at 12:06 am

Cheaper than Vios… of course slightly more pricey than proton, but reliability wise better than proton. That is what I mean. I have used proton for donkey years, from the first saga (circa 1990), to the wira & finally the waja. It was our company car. Each iteration have some improvement but still the defect rate is very high…I would think above 5%. Bought Myvi 4 yrs back for my kid and hardly have any problem. It is not perfect, but anytime I feel quite safe pushing it above 130 km in the NSH. I don’t have any particular affiliation to any car brand, coz when it comes to buying car I strictly behave like a typical consumer; cheap price, reliable product, good after sales service, low maintenance, etc. That is why I am looking forward to the about to be released proton tuah.

• Joe Radzif on Feb 10, 2012 at 5:30 pm

Can I say it a bit boring…

(someone will say Pro-P1)
    ha ha ha

• P2 don’t too happy, this also can be translate as Indonesia Astra Toyota/Diehardsure will be selected to produce small car and leaving P2 to produce sedan 1.5-1.8. Kena kencing by trusted Japs?

• udasalleh on Feb 10, 2012 at 5:43 pm

but then again… P2 is actually T/D company… just pick any models available from the manufacturing line n place it in M’sia… uses T/D engines n chasis n body with few tweaks here n there… not much R&D done n its so just rebranding…

simply not in the same boat as P1 who does ttheir own R&D n now design n build their own engine n chasis n stuff… do they get the same treatment from NAP? i just wonder.

• mamamia on Feb 10, 2012 at 5:46 pm

rebadge only thing that this p2 can do?make your own car by your own la deyy….

• Lunch Up on Feb 10, 2012 at 6:39 pm

Well, after 25 years P1 only managed to rebadged the Lancer. Yet P1 recieves all kinds of preferential treatment from the government and helped by clueless fanboys. What gives? After 25 years cannot produced their own car ka? Even Hyundai managed to do it in 10 years. Still, P2 is partially owned by Daihatsu. If the government is serious, remove all kinds of protection to P1 and let the competition begin.

• P1 after 25 years able to produced many new models is an achievement, but p2 still rebadging. i bet they will only produce own model in year 2020. even now after 15 years, if compared to hyundai, P2 still go no where. so no need to bragging P1 here as they already produced own models.

• Lunch Up on Feb 11, 2012 at 4:31 pm

Well, producing SAMPAH cars aren’t really an achievement don’t you think? If not, why do people still flock to P2? Ever heard of the P1’s power-window? Or the unreliability of Caampro? Look closely too. Many MyVi and Alza LED tail light last. Still, Exora after a few months many of the LEDs would be kaput. What gives??? Still backing P1 even after it is not owned by the Malaysian government? Wow! You’ve taken the term “fanboy” to new heights!!!

• it is an achievement from nothing to something.

example like moving from rented house to own low cost house. even though just a low cost house but it is your. this is an achievement. you rent semi-d house is like wasting money to the landlord only (like $$$$ that fly to Japan).

• Lunch Up on Feb 14, 2012 at 9:33 pm

Great analogy! But you are forgetting something.If there is no P1 to begin with, we would not have sampah cars! By all means if they want to sell cars, do it right. Instead of plundering the people’s money years after years, this is what P1 got to show for. No desire to improve whatsoever. Just keep changing the public. What is the point of having a low cost house if you have to keep repairing it on a constant basis. Better buy value for money house. But then again, this is what caused us all to buy low cost houses. The very existence of P1. Sampah!

• rebadge and build one is different thing…since when p2 manufact their own car?
        p1 produced their own car la…what rebadge of satria neo? asking u if it not p1 own car

• Lunch Up on Feb 11, 2012 at 4:34 pm

Of course Neo not a rebadge. They develop it in house. Based on Satria. Satria was based on Colt if I am not mistaken. Still SAMPAH! P2 still rebadge. But P1 producing SAMPAH even with the billions of taxpayers’ money. If they are confident of their own strength, build a performance car. A sport sedan to match Lancer istead of rebadging a Lancer to be called Inspira (many call it WaLan). And look for yourself… many of the buyer for Inspira are Ah Beng ones, trying to convert it to look like Evo. Still proud of P1’s products? Typical SAMPAH fanboys!

• Whynot on Feb 11, 2012 at 12:43 am

Launch Up has a point in term of bias. Let see how Proton do without the Govt helps!
        Proton is a mature company but lack designer skill even with Lotus around. Have to really speed up new design, especially the exterior part. Learn from the Korean but do much better than it. If you can’t, then go for Hybrid, Extended Hybrid or Full Electric Car. This sure works but only if Proton will listen to this!

• basic petrol engine pun cannot master, diesel engine also nil. now you want this bunch of kfc kitchen boys to do hybrid or EV cars? Renunglah dulu.

• mamamia on Feb 13, 2012 at 7:55 pm

at least they try to make their own car….bak kata pepatah ”sikit-sikit, lama-lama jadi bukit”…
      there’s no succes in your 1st try,but sooner they can compete with other car manufacturers out there…peace!

• inderaloka on Feb 10, 2012 at 5:54 pm

Government must give permission to Perodua to build cars with an engine capacity larger than 1.5 litres as Proton has been so long in comfort zone. This will create strong competition among these two major car maker in this country and the benefit will goes to the rakyat, the car buyer.

• andddd…
      the G also should let proton to bulid cars under 1000cc..
      which perodua are conquering and sold it wayyyyyyy more expensive than it should be..
      typical japanese, they acted up nice and cudly,

but inside their head..only greed

• Julian Lee on Feb 10, 2012 at 6:08 pm

BMW sedan nicer than this ugly car

• Nabil on Feb 10, 2012 at 6:12 pm

Well…thy can jua go tro a toyota leaflet n see which one thy wan to rebadge!

• Waste of time and money, just stick building compacts. Perodua should be happy with Myvi and current models. just facelift and produce models after 5-7 years should keep them alive. Malaysian are sick and tired of car developed by malaysian. if proton cant keep up the race what do u expect perodua to do?

• Abuya on Feb 10, 2012 at 6:30 pm

Klu kereta kecik pun dah mahal, ni kan pulak kereta besar. Below 50k or par like flx? I dont think so. With 1.6cc vvti, it will comfort at 68k, or as long as not higher that vios type J

New rebadge for current Toyota? Of course bebeh. Same interior? Err…. No comment. New engine dual dvvt? Dont ever dream. The great thing only come from their roof like what they did long time ago….. as well as mitsu done in old days of proton.

P2 is wise if being said 2nd class of Toyota. No? Will u dare say par like Toyota? Silence better than drop your water face. 2nd class is not good? At least better than P1 as many Malaysian used to believe. So you are 2nd class people la? Sob2….

No la…. We are Malaysian. Need a cheap car, low maintenance, kualiti klu bleh setinggi mungkin la dan jimat minyak. I dont care P2 nak kuar sedan as long as give us a additional variety of cheap sedan. NOT 68K !

• PakAbu on Feb 10, 2012 at 6:42 pm

Sounds more like they want to put a bigger engine into Alza….
    …. so that …. you’ll … uh … “feeling feeling”…. like driving a Wish.

:mrgreen:

• toyota sette got engine more than 1.5L or not?

• PakAbu on Feb 11, 2012 at 9:17 am

Apparently…. no. But they can always plonk in a 1.6 L engine … say … from Altis.

Or maybe … just maybe Toyota is moving the manufacturing some of its older sedans… again… like Altis or even Camry… to cheaper part of the world…. seeing that lately big cars are not selling well in Japan. But then they have that in Thailand already…

I’m still puzzled…. why perodua wants to go the bigger engine route…
        And why sedan? Sedans sell more that hatchback? Bigger cars… yes… but not small cars… which is produa’s turf. And then if they make bigger cars… they go head on with toyota…. Strange… strange….

:mrgreen:

• they should be allowed to build anything kind of car they want if they it can sell, if it fails, they take responsibility no hiding. Why should be p1 be allowed to build crap like the tiara and tbox and p2 be restricted to just subcompacts.

• sound possible as P1 no longer controlled by khazanah. now P2 can do what they want.

• Proton can produce compact cars like savvy and neo and why the hell perodua must get permission to produce a sedan?

And with this ‘permission’ i hope national car makers will be more competitive..

For Perodua, design your cars.. Don’t just simply rebadge others..

• danedz on Feb 10, 2012 at 10:13 pm

Appoint Tengku Mahaleel to lead this project for P2…

• I thought originally Perodua was supposed to build cars with 1,000 cc and below, then they are allowed up to 1,300, then 1,500. It looks like bagi betis, nak paha, bagi paha pijak kepala.

• Antisocial on Feb 11, 2012 at 10:30 am

You should ask why want to limit them this and that? They should have the right to get the whole chicken if they able to do it not someone in the middle constraints it.

• The problem is Perodua only assemble Daihatsu/Toyota cars and don’t make their own, and most of the profit may probably go back to Japan.

• izhar on Feb 10, 2012 at 11:53 pm

Rebuild balik enjin rusa 1.6..hehe

• ssthiru on Feb 10, 2012 at 11:59 pm

The government can give P2 a licence to open up the free market attitude in the country but make sure P2 do not just copy and edit any of the partner cars it should have own R&D team with real expect whom check the quality of the car in every expect. don’t be like R&D team (P1) whom unable correct from the past mistake.

• Zharfan on Feb 11, 2012 at 12:33 am

If Perodua making sedan, They will badge Daihatsu Altis 2.4G (Toyota Camry in Japan for Daihatsu). Daihatsu Altis stopped production on February 2010 due to low sales and strong Yen (Endaka) causing Daihatsu cars a failure for a same model with Toyota (Daihatsu cars more expensive than Toyota in Japan for same model such as Toyota Passo/Daihatsu Boon). I believe if Japan recovers fron lost decade and weak Yen (Enyasu) Daihatsu Altis will reproduced.

• Whynot on Feb 11, 2012 at 12:35 am

Perodua as a compact car manufacturer are mature and if they ever needs more boost in power to this and future model, they will have to go hybrid or extended hybrid. No need to go begging for changes from the Govt. Hybird with 1,500cc can have a 2,000cc forceful drive power if properly tuned! Anyway, it is a good try for Perodua and hope Perodua can have more slick sporty and more rework on the exterior to gain sells ground as compare to Korean upcoming super model designer featured cars! Seriously!

• Zharfan on Feb 11, 2012 at 12:59 am

Even a roadster can be rebadged from Daihatsu Copen. Daihatsu copen have JB-DET 659 cc and K3-VE 1.3 L engines. But roadster have limited market in Malaysia. Therefore, it can’t produce too much and offer limited market for who love sports cars or JDM lovers.

I know the reason of Perodua Nautica failure is Nautica a 5 seater SUV compared to Toyota Rush which a 7 seater SUV. If more RM 90k, people will opt 7 seater although to add more money about RM 10k.

Remember, currently no new vehicle from Made In Japan in Malaysia anymore due to strong Yen (Endaka). Perodua also affected if Yen very strong due to parts from Japan.

Recently Mitsubishi stopped production in Europe due to strong Yen and on 2013, Daihatsu will stop selling cars in Europe due to strong Yen.

If we wanted Made in Japan cars, we have to wait until Yen weaker than Ringgit.

• WhiteFox on Feb 11, 2012 at 1:09 am

although i mainly P1 fan but i still hope this will make P1 make better car for PPL since now there got competitor~~~~~

• squall_shinoda on Feb 11, 2012 at 1:48 am

This kind of development is a concrete proof that kiblat Perodua dah makin lama makin lari. Higher cc cars by Perodua means overpriced cars.

• harap lebih baik on Feb 11, 2012 at 4:49 am

yeah..even the myvi extreme 1.5 is already overpriced compare to hi-line persona… well lets take this news as a good vibe for proton to improve their self… and let see if perodua would produce cute sedan too?

• anak malaysia on Feb 11, 2012 at 7:57 am

P2 –> 4WD = kembara/nautica, P1 = NA
    P2 –> compact = VIVA,kelisa, Myvi, P1 = Tiara, Savvy
    P2–> Rusa, P1=Juara
    P2 –>sedan/hatchback,= NA, P1=saga, wira, putra, waja, persona
    P2–> van, MPV =rusa, alza, P1= Juara, Exora
    P2–>pickup P2= NA, P1=arena?
    mm ape lagi.?..so P1 kena buat 4WD – rebadge Pajero.
    P2 kena buat sedan. Setujuuu!!!

• Who cares if Protongkat or Perodua design its own car or own engine, or rebadge others cars?

Look at Protongkat producing own engine Camproh and claim no longer buy engine from Mitsu thus save cost royalty payments but does it translate to cost saving to Protongkat car buyers so far?

Ha Ha Ha Protongkat price mostly unchanged but increased so it’s for Protongkat better buy and use MIVEC or their GDI petrol gasolinel direct-injection technology lah

In fact CBU Lancer duty-free Langkawi price lower than Inspira that claimed higher local contents WTF is that

Whoever can give fuel-efficient worth-buying cars in long-term plus eye-pleasing design is what matter the most

And don’t give a damn about being sucked up the Japanese or Korean, if they can sell good product what the fuss than local crap wasting our money such as Protongkat

Also stop that sick double-standard Perodua shouldn’t rebadge Toyota Etios then what about that crappy Inspira that need RM7K discount to survive sales? Says a lot about Protongkat always got it wrong, eh!

Even for car assembly also must be a law to restrict which engine capacity to produce Ha Ha Ha just how afraid paranoid inferiority-complex this Protongkat to face open competition! WHAT A JOKE!

Therefore it’s true what NAP stands for – Never Against Protongkat! kah kah kah!

“To kill Protongkat is to buy Perodua (and keep on buying!)”

• AlfaRomeo=Ferrari'sCousin on Feb 11, 2012 at 9:17 am

I’ve got to give it to you lah Theo!! That Etios somehow looks good with P2 badge…

• hway de Cruz on Feb 11, 2012 at 10:49 am

hmmm… that’s a good thought to consider, giving more choices to consumers. ultimately it is the reliable product with reasonable maintenance and ownership cost that will drive some good sales, with respectable amount of safety features and good plastic feel. like mix n match to garner enuf interest that generate into sales. rather keep my options open, afterall…. in no hurry to change cars anyway.

• Hmmm Etios rear also got long chrome line like Persona….But if Perodua rebadge must realign the number plate above the bumper looks better…
    http://www.auto-types.com/images/_autonews/toyota-etios-2010-back_63.jpg
    http://carimg.sulekha.com/toyota/toyota-etios/wallpapers800/toyota-etios-2010-12-7-0-50-39.jpg

Perhaps for Indian market the generic-looking dashboard is OK…But for Perodua better put USB MP3 port and blue-illumination (or red) type, trip-mileage info on meter dials like alza or Myvi…
    http://carimg.sulekha.com/toyota/toyota-etios/wallpapers800/toyota-etios-2010-12-7-1-1-42.jpg
    http://carimg.sulekha.com/toyota/toyota-etios/wallpapers800/toyota-etios-2011-3-8-2-35-25.jpg
    http://carimg.sulekha.com/toyota/toyota-etios/wallpapers800/toyota-etios-2011-3-8-2-35-45.jpg

For interior seats & plastics well just as good as Viva budget finishing…
    http://carimg.sulekha.com/toyota/toyota-etios/wallpapers800/toyota-etios-2010-12-7-1-0-18.jpg
    http://carimg.sulekha.com/toyota/toyota-etios/wallpapers800/toyota-etios-2010-12-7-0-59-45.jpg

The TRD racing version with over-the-top bodykits
    http://www.motorbeam.com/wp-content/uploads/Toyota_Etios_TRD.jpg
    http://www.motorbeam.com/wp-content/uploads/Etios_Motor_Racing_Trophy.jpg

Overall Perodua should rebadge it at least got competitor for Saga FLX lah…he he he

• lps ni kita akan menyaksikan krisis identiti terbaru produa owner..hihihihi
      perodua TRD???kihkih
      langsung xder jati diri. sama mcm myvi passo..:-D

• Gomen should allow P2 to build sedans >1.5l. P1 be monopolizing this market for too long, give people more choice for affordable cars. P2 is the actual competition to P1, not the Jap manufacturers.

• exJAVANESE on Feb 11, 2012 at 2:35 pm

yuckkk…menjijikan!

• perutdua produce cheap cars…yes cheap materials but NEVER cheap price!! use you brains la…do you really think the quality is on par with honda / toyota? just open up the door in see for yourself how thin is the metal. perutdua is expert in cost cutting & downgrading of jap models.

even a tiny viva elite already 45k. ( can buy proton persona 1.6 @ 46k )
    myvi SE 1.5 @ 62k. ( can buy suzuki swift @ 65k)

what kind of ridiculous pricing is that? and still i hear ppl saying p2 produce cheap cars? i guess alot of ppl’s brain stop growing at the age of 10.

they get all the tax advantage but never give good price to consumer but profit everything.

So the perutdua sedan 1.5 will be at 69k . 1 thousand cheaper than vios j.

perutdua really tamak!! dream on for cheaper sedan!! i will never give one sen to this greedy company!

even tho i dun really like proton but at least they are trying hard and more honest ( pricing-wise) than this cut throat perutdua.

• LOL….scared your 4 yrs old Vios resale value will drop like shit once perodua produce a rebadged Toyota model. Why not just dump that overpriced little car while you still can and move to Altis (still safe ground for now).

• i_swear on Feb 11, 2012 at 11:15 pm

Can’t agree more.

Lolz. After hearing the name called Etios, I think P2 instead rebadge, please rename it too.

If not: –
      When ppl ask you what car you driving, you said you ETIOS.

When one time IF your car broke down, YOU CONFIRM said Eeeee, Tiu Lor……..

• Non-stop sucking big profit by UMW. Untung making wang!

• modesto on Feb 11, 2012 at 8:38 pm

this happens after the private acquisition of proton, now produa has a freedom to compete on a fairer battle field? less government intervention in business is good.

• arulkay on Feb 11, 2012 at 10:19 pm

hurm this make me remember about suzuki sx6 sedan if im not mistake…..

• Produa earning good advantage due local proton products low qualities and bad services. Not because produa products qualities on par with T or H or Kia, but yes, much better than proton…….

The TRUTH FACTS

• Zharfan on Feb 11, 2012 at 11:44 pm

Some people don’t understand the reason Perodua overpriced. Here let me tell to the readers (I worked Perodua before). Out of topic due to many commenting overpriced Perodua.

The main reason is Japanese yen is very strong due to recession in Japan. Exchange rate 2012, 100 Yen = RM3.90 (In 1990’s, 100 Yen=RM1.00) . Most materials and products for Perodua cars were imported from Japan therefore with strong Yen, the price of the car very expensive. Japanese (Daihatsu, Toyota and UMW) management in Perodua gone crazy due to recession in Japan and Perodua profits were not enough due to strong Yen. Salary in Perodua is based on Yen for Japanese employee (They are rich in Malaysia but average in Japan to give their family in Japan). If a Malaysian manager in Perodua given RM 5,000 per month, Japanese manager in Perodua were given 500,000 Yen per month (near RM 20,000). Therefore, Perodua is overpriced due to strong Yen.

Perodua management actually wanted cheap car but Japanese yen keep soaring, therefore Perodua is very expensive.

Therefore if Perodua needs to be cheap, Ringgit should be stronger than Yen.

General Made in Japan products such as washing machine, television, radio and cars is no longer available in Malaysia unlike the 1980’s and 1990’s where Made in Japan widely available. the reason is Japan not interested export to Malaysia due to weak Ringgit and strong Yen recession. Right now, we see Japanese brands made in Malaysia, Thailand, Vietnam, China and Taiwan.

Weak Yen like Rupiah is a sweet dream for Japan. Strong Yen is a nightmare for Japan.

p.s: This is based on my experince working with Japanese company.

• Zharfan on Feb 12, 2012 at 12:43 am

Sorry, Error.

In 1990’s rate 100 Yen=RM 1.90-RM3.30.

In early 1980’s rate 100 Yen=RM 0.80-RM1.00.

Late 1980’s (Plaza Accord were signed in 1985) rate 100 yen=RM1.30-RM 1.80.

• the greed of p2 on Feb 12, 2012 at 2:15 am

So in other words you are saying a myvi 1.5 SE with tax benefits sells at 63k cannot be significantly cheaper than a suzuki swift( proper jap car) 1.5 that incurs full taxes at RM65k bcos p2 use alot of parts from japan while the swift uses china parts?

get real dude!

this stupid p2 has always been overpriced due to the greediness and nothing else!!

• MoFaz on Feb 12, 2012 at 2:41 am

search for malaysia company review, insider story blog… there’s a review about P2 and how he populate P2 employees:

(1) Try to be Kaki Bodek but ignored by manager (10%).
      (2) Successful kaki Bodek which usually get high speed promotion & good review (3%)
      (3) Hardworking (20%)
      (4) Try to make people to see them as hardworking (but they still do what need to be done) (40%) – Me actually in this type!!
      (5) Try to make people to see them as hardworking (but do nothing – cakap kosong) (10%)
      (6) Bosses that try to find mistake of other division (especially on the people attitude) and they will highlight in their weekly meeting, condemning the respective managers (12%)
      (7) Bosses & engineers that usually “makan” while dealing with contractor (26%)
      (8) Stupid managers (2%) – this is because you have to be good enough (in term of knowledge in automotive industries).

26% “makan” from contract. that’s why P2 expensive compared to P1

what he hate most in P2:
      (1) As usual, cronyism.
      (2) Interrupt of “makan” bosses when choosing the contractor.
      (3) You don’t even know the price of what you assemble. Everything is confidential.
      (4) Lack of external training.
      (5) Lack of girl (95% of the workers are man – that’s why they refer themselves as manpower?? Haha..).

• Zharfan on Feb 12, 2012 at 7:12 am

If you ever worked with Japanese company, you will see Japanese management full of cronysm. Most of my family members working in Japanese company such as JVC, ShinEtsu and Panasonic, and I admit that Japanese bosses are greed due to their economic recession and sucking Malaysian workers money to bring back the money to Japan.

This is based on my experince working with Japanese company.

• Unforgiven on Feb 12, 2012 at 6:51 pm

It will be a very good fight if they are able to price this similar to Saga…
    I’m sure Proton will improve further with competition…
    It’s even better if Polo Sedan is the same price range too, remove protectionism…

• too early to be daydreaming mate….even tiny viva ( kancil replacement) is priced higher than saga.

• SAGA BeLum Masak on Feb 12, 2012 at 10:16 pm

Just wait for P1 totally new MK to be in the market by 2013, they are testing it now. We will see P1 – P2 battle for local compact car…..

• squawk on Feb 12, 2012 at 10:21 pm

A turbo 660cc or 1300cc engine not good enough?

• I will rather see a higher performance hot hatchback than a sedan from Perodua. That car is fuguly!!!!

• anynomous on Mar 02, 2012 at 12:54 am

Good move for Perodua. Lets Proton and Produa compete to each other for better industry. At least more realistic car to be re badged compare to proton which always make Malaysian’s NIghtmare more worst.Maybe both company need to hire foreign designer like what Korean Car Maker did.

• sorry to say, 1st thing about design very ugly. no need to be typical.. i don’t care about accessories inside.. the 1st is about look..( ade membe beli myvi baru da kne tuka econ sbb bnjir kt dlm.. karpet pon kene tuka.. very sad)

• ah beng on Dec 27, 2012 at 5:18 pm

my wife wanted a 7 seater..so we do some survey…went to mazda, chevy,…damn expensive lor..cannot afford…then go see Perodua Alza.. try seat in the cockpit… hurm…feeling is…like no feeling to drive…all so many cheap plastic..even my 12yrs old peugeot fell better… c’mon la perodua.. ur interior so lame lah… now got myvi lg best meh? also feel not so best la.. i think preve interior much better… perodua no need to sell car…sell tayar better..