Proton & YES 4G to unveil special edition Proton Inspira?

We’re back with interior shots of the Proton and YES 4G teaser peek-a-boo box parked in front of Lot 10. It appears to be some kind of Proton Inspira with 2 iPads installed on the front seat backrests for the rest passengers, as well as another iPad installed above the center dash area where the audio and air cond controls are located.

You can also spot a YES 4G Huddle MiFi router device mounted on the dashboard to the left of the hazard light button.

Exterior-wise, there are decorative decals with the YES 4G logo featured, as well as a black two-tone 18 inch alloy wheel design. Check out the image gallery below for detailed shots snapped through the peek-holes.

After dabbling for years in the IT industry, Paul Tan initially began this site as a general blog covering various topics of personal interest. With an increasing number of readers paying rapt attention to the motoring stories, one thing led to another and the rest, as they say, is history.

• sagatron on Feb 12, 2012 at 4:24 pm

YES!!!i knew it was INSPIRA.. R3 maybe??

• mohsin on Feb 12, 2012 at 5:26 pm

Free 3x iPad?

• Gabla on Feb 12, 2012 at 8:28 pm

Might consider this if they were Galaxy tabs instead of WIPad…

• whose in the world considering buying a car judging by its free gift?

• Gabla on Feb 13, 2012 at 2:09 pm

It’s not about free gifts but the interface between the gadget and the vehicles’ entertainment system is important.

• Regina Shwartz on Feb 17, 2012 at 8:13 pm

I doubt it’s integrated… maybe the centre iPad will have AUX connection to the speakers at most

• Then we will have many car theft stealing those ipads from the car lol

• JeremyNg on Feb 12, 2012 at 6:39 pm

R3 Inspira already hv what ………… Don expect new R3 Inspira with R3 engine tuning !!! it jz wont happen at all

• Like there isn’t enough accidents in Malaysia already, Proton adds an iPad to distract the driver…

• x suter on Feb 12, 2012 at 10:31 pm

Well said…… No distraction to the driver please…..

• Regina Shwartz on Feb 17, 2012 at 8:14 pm

It’s not the distraction that’s the problem – the the awkward and unsightly 10″ behemoth in the dash that’s the problem.

• If free Ipad i want if car dun want.

• Alpha on Feb 12, 2012 at 4:39 pm

Any chance of Proton making this one something like a performance edition with a better tuned engine??But from all the pics,it’s kinda more like a luxury edition though.

P/S-That looks like an iPad 1.

• so many ipads in one car, even radio ppl wil break in n steal. is it safe ?

• Akina on Feb 12, 2012 at 8:24 pm

They already think bout that perhaps.

• x suter on Feb 12, 2012 at 10:35 pm

i guess its drive n carry concept… he he

• MoFaz on Feb 12, 2012 at 10:53 pm

probably proton will only provide the docking. even if they give free ipad, it might be the normal retail version which is not built-into the car, so you can just detach it from the dock and bring it along when you leave the car.

• Man you sure never own an iPad or any Apple products is it? Even with iCloud, somehow you will still need your computer to transfer stuff in in..im sure it is removable from that dock

• mystvearn on Feb 12, 2012 at 5:09 pm

Ipad2 at the dashboard? Is that even safe?

• gavin on Feb 12, 2012 at 5:19 pm

I put my money on some really malaysian driver (read : very stupid), puts the car into a wall or the back of another car because he/she was trying to watch tv/watch porn/whatsapp while driving

• RedBeanBun on Feb 12, 2012 at 5:21 pm

so Protong think people will buy Protong because of the 4G ipad2?

btw, how many ipad owners drive protong now? there must be a lack of CRM to crunch out the data…those 7 years loan for Protong include ipad2? omg!!

• MoFaz on Feb 12, 2012 at 11:00 pm

why are you just looking at the dark side? no wonder you won’t see the light.
      previously people put in-car entertainment system which you can only watch VCD or DVD or listen to a radio with it. 1 system to be shared with everyone else. so if mama want to watch cooking show, the kids can’t watch cartoon. now everyone in the car who has smartphone could watch video, youtube or browse internet even if they don’t have data bundled with their phone.

• 2nd!!!!!!

• F Fiesta on Feb 12, 2012 at 5:47 pm

How long this 4G lasting? 1 days or less than 12 hours?….

Remember Proton just had a issue regarding power window which is simple technology but took more than 10 years to solved it now this new technology which has more complicated circuit and problem maybe could take 15 years or 50 years for Proton to solved and at that time it is obsolete technology. That is why we need to worried about the quality after sales from Proton

Proton is resemble what BN has done to Malaysia I mean nothing…50 years rules the country increasing the car price and make Proton in comfort zone which underachievement could lead Malaysia into doom place!

• Akina on Feb 12, 2012 at 8:28 pm

foolish.pls dnt talk politic here.ur political view are not welcome here.jst stick to automotive matters. Wtf, y must everything mst be linked to politic. I’m really sick bout it

• Its rain today..it might be BN work….

I feel sick today..it must be BN…lol

• rookie on Feb 13, 2012 at 8:14 am

did they solved it..? really..? all i know is that proton only gave lifetime warranty on it..
      no they never solved it..yet..afaik..

• autojohndoe on Feb 13, 2012 at 11:13 am

i dont know Proton car was made 50 years ago?

hahahahahahahahahah

• yeah maybe Malaysia suck, but i rather be here than greece

• hanifhamzah on Feb 12, 2012 at 5:56 pm

the center dash ipad is too big to be placed there…it might affect driver’s concentration

• MoFaz on Feb 12, 2012 at 11:03 pm

i agree. but maybe could be good for google map, or super big GPS system. haha

• tycoon88 on Feb 12, 2012 at 6:00 pm

this is madness lah! the drug addicts & petty thieves wud luv 2 lay their hands on this bb laden with 3 I-pad2 inside

• BadBET on Feb 12, 2012 at 6:24 pm

car + wifi? can surf paultan while driving to work after this LOL.

• drMpower on Feb 12, 2012 at 7:04 pm

i hope this latest stunt doesnt cost proton even a single ringgit
    because from what i saw above, the car is fitted with… a number of ipad size device
    and a mifi huddle. thats it.

whatever YES people told u guys people, this stunt definitely favour yes, much that for u

• Danny on Feb 12, 2012 at 7:16 pm

Nice but not practicable, at least not for malaysia.
    Don’t know what I mean? Try to park this car at car park place, then will know the consequence!

• MoFaz on Feb 12, 2012 at 11:10 pm

dude, it will not be safe if you expose the ipad like that even in the safest county in the world like singapore. i’m very sure it will be just the docking, or detachable ipad which you can bring along when you leave the car.

• MYVI 1.5L SE on Feb 12, 2012 at 7:27 pm

looks good~

• Jolly_idiot on Feb 12, 2012 at 7:28 pm

Wow! Like that onli ar? No big deal. I’ve been using mifi, phone hotspot doing that for quite some time.

• kevin lee on Feb 12, 2012 at 7:31 pm

inspira 4g special edition!

• DArkerMarker on Feb 12, 2012 at 8:17 pm

suspense only…..

let the quality and the competitive price do the talking, Proton….

Do you ever see Quality cars brand play-play with suspense? They seldom because they know the quality matters to consumers.

Kesian fellow Malaysian being deprived of quality affordable cars. New cars prices like sky-high, tax, tax, tax….2nd hand cars prices like nobody biz (just look at the newspaper – 10 years old car still fetching 50k), gray importer making quick-buck with their grey imports…..Die la…..

• autojohndoe on Feb 13, 2012 at 11:16 am

maybe because you has been staying only in malaysia all this while… and you think other car makers didnt do anything or marketing in other country…

• jason on Feb 12, 2012 at 8:18 pm

this model only can sell in west malaysia .bcos east mlaysia not have yes 4g.

• underrated on Feb 12, 2012 at 8:25 pm

Are they unveiling the Proton Inspira taxi?

• ashraf on Feb 12, 2012 at 8:53 pm

with 4g internet

• november on Feb 12, 2012 at 8:55 pm

i’m ok with this, at least proton is doing something new.. u go proton!!

• mystvearn on Feb 12, 2012 at 9:16 pm

Another thing I just thought is that these ipad2 will be easy target for thieves if its just left there in the open.

• Whitefox on Feb 12, 2012 at 9:38 pm

I Think iPad is not related, purely introduce car with internal wifi and extra USB port for charging.

• Just insert 3G SIM into IPAD2 (with 3G capable) and issue solve la.. why need 4G YES which coverage is not wide, no YES in Sabah Sarawak, and no other other technology to fall back if you are out of Wimax coverage (3G can fallback 2G GPRS/EDGE)

Proton IS NOT THINKING… Why I am not surprised!

• MoFaz on Feb 12, 2012 at 11:48 pm

you’re not surprised because YOU’RE THE ONE WHO DIDN’T THINK. clearly you don’t understand the technology.
        the 4G connection is only between the Yes dongle and their internet server. the dongle will then create a Wi-Fi hotspot in your car. so, between the ipad, laptop or any other devices to the dongle, you still use Wi-Fi connection. this can be used for any devices which have Wi-Fi including those ipad without 3G capabilities and smartphone which didn’t subscribe to a data package.
        do you get it now? don’t surprise us anymore with your ‘quick to judge’ and ‘quick to bash’ mentality.

• MoFaz on Feb 12, 2012 at 11:28 pm

that’s why i thought. but seems that many people here thinking for a very short time and quickly jump into their own conclusions. but i wonder why Yes don’t just introduce the 4G dongle, so that everyone could just buy usb-charger for car and use it in any car, not just proton…?

• gangully on Feb 15, 2012 at 2:55 pm

i have a feeling proton and yes has done some collaboration to come up with some ipad holder and yes4g holder for the inspira and maybe other protons too… not a special edition inspira with 3 ipads…

by the way… what do you mean by “why Yes don’t just ontroduce the 4G dongle? please go google Yes4G and have a look at their website. they have a dongle, the mifi and also the home wifi system.

for the info of those who think “just pop a maxis 3g card into the ipad lah”, you can connect up to 4 wifi enable devices to the mifi, kapische?

• Rulered on Feb 12, 2012 at 9:59 pm

I’m only interested in 2 things from this news, 1) where can I get the ipad holder, especially for the rear passengers?, and 2) how much is the 4G service?

• urmmm on Feb 12, 2012 at 11:08 pm

i guess proton must stop produce cars.. they are waste of money.. I bet all the “supporters” here didn’t buy proton now a days.. They pretend to be nationalism..I think proton should focus more on design.. If lack of artists.. Why not take other talented designer from europe etc.. just like what KIA’s did.. They hired Peter from Audi TT designer! Look at the new forte, optima, sportage.. Is the price really matter? Think again..

• autojohndoe on Feb 13, 2012 at 11:17 am

and how long it takes for KIA to realize that?

• GT-R fanboy on Feb 13, 2012 at 7:43 pm

don’t be selfish,think about those proton workers! i think you right about the design part BTW.

• Next. Perodua car now comes with 27 inch iMac.
    Proton don wanna lose, they then intro astro…. Proton inspira CNN edition.

• 4g63t dsm on Feb 13, 2012 at 8:51 am

Proton, CNN edition? U think that’s going to happen. Haha.

Proton Bernama edition perhaps…:p

Yes has no choice but to use the dongle since there is a lack of ready devices in the market. I’m happy with a 3G device. Yes is just banking on the publicity of the new proton to market their wears. Nothing really to do with proton. Besides, irregardless of that speeds they are all trying to sell, broadband in Malaysia is in a sorry state….let alone mobile broadband.

As for the new proton, I’ll reserve judgement until I get to test it….but it would likely be protons best product to date after the first gen GTI.

• your dad on Feb 12, 2012 at 11:20 pm

New rim!

• Its not inspira… its the new p3…

• Ha Gnih on Feb 13, 2012 at 1:22 am

Hurray !!! Another SPECIAL edition. *yawns*

• yahya on Feb 13, 2012 at 3:54 am

Lame !! We will see more break-ins for Yes Inspira
    Proton is running out of ideas and
    DRB should sack the whole lot of imbeciles !!
    BTW YES coverage is poor and nobody wants
    to subscribe another line just for their car.
    We are happy with our 012 / 016 and 019’s.:)

• albag on Feb 13, 2012 at 8:13 am

i expect the thieves are watching this closely…

• rookie on Feb 13, 2012 at 8:18 am

what’s all the fuss..?
    proton just supplied inspira..nothing else laa..
    this is all YES..not proton la deyy~

everyone wants to condemn proton..kinda funny~

• hassan on Feb 13, 2012 at 8:31 am

it will only sell if buy Ipad and get the car for free

• alon-so? on Feb 13, 2012 at 9:15 am

nowadays ppl sit at table eating and playing with their tablets/smartphones with not much talking…now this car encourage ppl to do the same in the car ^^ no talking pls, busy with my FB reply

• Misai on Feb 13, 2012 at 9:58 am

Very dangerous, especially passenger from behind. If any accident occur, behind passenger might hit the ipad & chance of being injured by shattered glass.

• Arzaq on Feb 13, 2012 at 3:58 pm

Ni seorang lagi……………………..tak tau nak guna seat belt ke???????

• 14monthsinspiraowner on Feb 13, 2012 at 10:52 am

YES dun have enough subscriber to resort to this lame ads…new subscriber with no internet coverage most of the time…whats more…
    extra gadget for break-in thieves…its a no-no

• DK BOSS on Feb 13, 2012 at 10:56 am

They should have done this project for the Proton Exora, at least the so call MPV can compete in terms of entertainment system and internet on the go for the passengers of that 7 seater MPV.

Sticking huge IPAD’s on a smaller interior like the Proton Inspira. Come on DRB-Hicom put some thinking power into Proton and stop pulling stunts like this which shows a lot of failure on Proton whom did not bother to look into the security and safety aspects by junking in an IPAD in the front dashboard of a small interior car!!

It’s either thieves will get new Ipads or the driver of this special edition Proton Inspira vehicle can pull the IPAD out as he goes to the hospital after an accidents for lack of attention to the road, thanks to Proton and YES !!

• farisma on Feb 13, 2012 at 1:47 pm

for what the internet browsing in the car..? we all have mobile phone ..

• You see just how very quick the Dr Mamak crony YTL snapped up deal with Protongkat in no time…

Better use front dual-display screen like Range Rover Evoque…the driver wont see any DVD or browser while driving but the passenger can view it…brilliant stuff…but sorry lah Protongkat to offer it lah…

• Instead of coming out with something more useful and practical, Proton are dying to be different and hope to create a legacy. So suck up to be different.

• driver on Feb 13, 2012 at 7:10 pm

Let’s wait and see what is the actual product – is it really the iPad or the internet connection service? If P1 installs a WiFi in the car, and YES can provide internet connection, then that’s a good thing. My guess is that, the collaboration is not just purely having an internet connection on the move, but also on the “package” that YES may offer to P1 owner.

Yes, you may choose other internet provider, but what if the agreement between P1 and YES provides us with “cheaper” internet connection? Or bigger bandwidth? I think that is the purpose on the agreement, rather than just “having” an internet connection on the move.

My personal opinion is that, having an iPad in the car is useful if you know how to use it. I myself, used to use iPad to navigate in KL via Google Maps. It was convenient – at least for me. This also opens up to many new possible products in the future for P1 owner and general road users – such as live traffic update, or perhaps weather or road condition. Or even a driver assist technology that is embedded in the car.

iPad is a powerful “computer” that in theory can do pretty much all of the tasks that a general computer can perform. By using this as a ‘brain’, there are many possibilities of product that P1 can offer to improve not only ergonomic, but also on comfort and safety.

Why should you reinvent the wheel when you can manipulate it for better use?
    Cheers~

• pomen keto on Feb 13, 2012 at 9:09 pm

WTH they put ipad on the dashboard???the driver want to drive the car or playing angry bird???stupid design…disturbing driver views…sure there a lot of accident will happen….

• steven on Feb 14, 2012 at 1:41 am

this project car was done by my fren… very detailed work i must say…

• Mia Ng on Feb 15, 2012 at 9:05 am

Car insurance premium may have to be increased, having such devices in cars increase chances of theft.

• SAGA BeLum Masak on Feb 15, 2012 at 2:14 pm

Please explain in detail. What was it about?

• eims @ gold on Feb 21, 2012 at 10:00 am

u guys are complaining abt security with the ipad in the car..
    stupid la..
    of course la proton will not sell the car along with ipad!!
    proton just promoting the use of mifi inside their cars,
    ipad ipad ipad, theres still a whole lot of other smart devices that can be use la..

• Wai Hung Fung on Feb 21, 2012 at 12:39 pm

Please read this news story……
    http://www.bbc.co.uk/news/technology-17073764

• Renan on Dec 23, 2013 at 10:48 pm

If any of u still check in here, It says 3 Ipads! R u goin to undock all 3 n carry wit you everytime u park de car??