My Proton Makeover – 1996 Iswara AB work in progress

You read earlier about car number four in the My Proton Makeover programme entering the garage for the rework, and in case you’ve been wondering about the third one, here’s news about the 1996 Iswara Aeroback belonging to Norzamzarini Mohd Bajuri from Muar, Johor.

The return was supposed to be in January, but a quick check on Proton’s Facebook page revealed recent photos of the red Iswara AB 1.3 being rebuilt, and it still is – we’ve just been told that work is still ongoing with the car, with another week or two needed before the car is ready to be handed back to Norzamzarini.

We have no details about how far along the job is, but the photos offer the view that the engine is at the rebuild stage, and primary outfitting work is being carried out, with the seats and door cards giving an idea of how things are shaping up. Promises to be a bright affair, the end result, what with the striking shade chosen – great if you’re a Dutch football fan!

Norzamzarini’s Iswara, when completed, will join Sashideran Radha Krishnan’s 17-year-old Wira and Fadly Hisham Roplay’s 1992 Saga as the R3 makeover specials.

Anthony Lim believes that nothing is better than a good smoke and a car with character, with good handling aspects being top of the prize heap. Having spent more than a decade and a half with an English tabloid daily never being able to grasp the meaning of brevity or being succinct, he wags his tail furiously at the idea of waffling - in greater detail - about cars and all their intrinsic peculiarities here.

• nebula87 on Feb 13, 2012 at 7:30 pm

If proton going to thank their long-life supporters, this is not a good idea.
    proton iswara still remain iswara after makeover, ntg special…
    proton… just give them a brand new inpira instead.
    izzit you want to give them another makeover after another 20 years for their Proton Iswara?

• lantak la diorg la..not like they use your money anyway

• JeremyNg on Feb 14, 2012 at 2:40 pm

This owner Iswara is the only Iswara in the world tuned by R3 …… how about that ??!! This is make it very very special , deprecation will decrease too since it’s special edition

• honestly to you ,iswara is a old rust car ,but for the owner it is something more then tat ….they treat their car as a part of their family and dont forget the memory the owner have with their old car. this type of people are the real car lover . no matter wat car they own .(kacil or a super car) it is more then a car to get from point a to b.

• aigoo on Feb 15, 2012 at 3:52 pm

well that’s a super stupid idea~well done.you have just used your ass to think.pfftttt

• veeda afterlife service sdn bhd on Feb 15, 2012 at 6:13 pm

earn people respect only when you make over proton tiara…
      proton saga are still plenty on the road especially in taxi form but not proton tiara!

• GeGaLa on Feb 13, 2012 at 7:48 pm

Waa..holland….Johor FC….

• papa rich on Feb 13, 2012 at 7:51 pm

the seat’s wrap look very nice,
    proton please make new car seat wrap like that :)

• kimi_ on Feb 13, 2012 at 9:44 pm

The UGLIEST car make over i have ever seen in the whole world…Downright awfully cheap!

• udasalleh on Feb 13, 2012 at 8:29 pm

WHAAAAATT…? Why that color for goodness sake? They want the owner to convert it to ‘Teksi Pedalaman’ is it…? Is it too expensive to give it a dash of metalic paint…?

• prolly because the owner request it to be orange?ever think about that?

• why orange?

• awg1031 on Feb 13, 2012 at 8:41 pm

lucky guy..wish my satria was selected..

• WUA770 on Feb 13, 2012 at 9:06 pm

How abt the rim?

• Abuya on Feb 13, 2012 at 9:47 pm

Cantik seat… wah2… mana buat? bleh bagi info tak? Sgt berminat

• Nampak tak cantik sangat.. Tolong la tunjuk design lebih cantik…..

• Hyundai De Junk on Feb 13, 2012 at 10:19 pm

Orange Taxi !

• Yes now the second hand value will increase. Can sell it and go get a brand new Saga or Persona.

• RedBeanBun on Feb 13, 2012 at 10:38 pm

OMG! i think i was right that they pick their last few tin of color available and paint the car!! from the ugly blue to holland orange! what colour is next? purple?? hahhaha…

• why that colour

• mystvearn on Feb 14, 2012 at 6:42 am

New engine?

• Pekerja IWK on Feb 14, 2012 at 7:30 am

waaaaahhh!! kuning taik.

• clutch basah on Feb 14, 2012 at 7:31 am

My goodness, that orange piping on the seats is too much, downright ugly.
    Don’t mind the orange exterior though, the car will look like a hot-rod. Hoping for dark rims to go with it.

• mentari-o-korea on Feb 14, 2012 at 10:19 am

..the color is a joke!!!

• susah btul nak puaskan hati semua orang. ko igt proton & owner takde discuss ape2 ke sblm kerja2 makeover ni start. fikir gune otak, bkn kepala lutut.

• mentari-0-korea on Feb 14, 2012 at 2:19 pm

bro, kalo tak nak bagi pandangan atau kalo tak nak pakai kepala lutut ko, tak yah ler bagi comment apa2, ko pegi layan website yg takde comment! sapa yg tak pakai otak skrg, slow lar lu!

• noname on Feb 14, 2012 at 12:40 pm

most probably the exterior is from the LMSS model

• Justice on Feb 14, 2012 at 2:12 pm

aiseh,. takde langsung upgrading ke?

• turboEvo on Feb 14, 2012 at 2:48 pm

I personally think that this is actually a nice striking colour….
    pLs laa, each of us has a different taste. You like red, I may not like it at all, so what ??? Furthermore, Proton has done a great deal by doing all these for FREE.
    Its so very true that we can’t satisfy each and every people needs.
    How I wish my old car will be having such makeover like that…

• Cowboy on Feb 14, 2012 at 3:07 pm

why all the trouble, just give the poor guy a new persona or inspira, he would be very happy man already

• SUPER UGLY!

URGHLY!

• Thank GOD they didn’t use the LMST dashboard…
    BTW, hope Proton will look into the small detail like changing new seatbelt buckle to complement the new seat cover…

• sproc45 on Feb 14, 2012 at 7:06 pm

hmm, 1st department to be revamp under drb-hicom.

• nasha on Feb 14, 2012 at 7:54 pm

ahhh iswara ab…brings back fond memories. i used to drive this manual transmission kereta kebal. owned it for 7 years (during uni days & during my few first years in working environment). it served me well during those days. it’s a basic point A to B car. sold it for rm3k as it turned 14years. now i’m driving a smaller car —-> suzuki swift :p

• How can i rebuild my car Proton iswara since 2004 published. I love so much my car. Its more value and memories for me. I dont want to sell my car. People around me say ” jual je kereta buruk ni”, just want to slap her face when heard that sound.. Please help me..