Proton Makeover – a Satria GTI gets redone

Proton has announced the fourth My Proton Makeover programme recipient, and Salina Hisham’s Satria GTI is next up to bat in the rework run.

The Science Officer from Hospital Sultanah Aminah, Johor Bahru had submitted a photo-entry featuring two Satrias belonging to her and her husband, and the GTI was the one that ultimately received the nod from judges.

“I received the phone call from Proton in December informing me that the photo entry that I submitted for the makeover had won, but I was not really sure which car they were referring to, as the photo had both our cars in it,” an elated Salina said.

“I was a bit jealous when they said they were referring to my husband’s Satria GTi, but then again I felt it was the perfect gift for him considering the day we were informed of our windfall was our wedding anniversary,” she added.

Salina and her husband, Hafiz Mohd Hashim, a Quality Control Inspector based in Singapore, are both avid Satria fans, having met at a car club event. Salina, who drives a Satria Neo and is part of the Satria Neo Club, first met Hafiz, a member of the Satria GTi Club, on an inter-club Sunday-drive in December 2008.

Tengku Djan Ley, Proton Motorsports’ Head of Engineering of the R3 unit, said that his team had eagerly awaited the arrival of the Satria GTi when told about the winning entry. “Compared to the previous cars that we have made-over, this car is naturally sportier than the others,” he said.

The couple’s Satria GTi will be stripped down completely and given special treatment inside out. “From the first look, car has been well maintained and we can tell when an owner appreciates his car. As we start taking it apart, we will analyse its inner conditions to see what areas we need to work and improve on. We will also be focusing on making his machine run smoother. The Satria GTi has its history with Lotus, and we look forward to ensuring that it is tuned to that level of quality and performance,” Tengku Djan added.

“I had a short chat with Hafiz, and he is very knowledgeable about cars and the history of the Satria. He expressed an interest to see his car bearing more of the Lotus identity, particularly wearing the traditional Lotus Racing Green. It will definitely give it a unique look, as all Satria GTis were produced only in silver,” said Tengku Djan. He added that it will be interesting to see what other extras can be added on to the car.

“We’ll definitely work on the suspension to enhance the handling aspects. Depending on our resources, we’ll also be exploring other options, such as the possibility of upgrading the braking system, along with certain components that were designed specifically for the M24 platform, which the Satria is built on, to see if it’ll give the car a bit more muscle,” he added.

The My Proton Makeover initiative required submissions of personal and heartwarming stories involving contestants and their Proton cars, with the best five stories winning a complete car makeover.

Anthony Lim believes that nothing is better than a good smoke and a car with character, with good handling aspects being top of the prize heap. Having spent more than a decade and a half with an English tabloid daily never being able to grasp the meaning of brevity or being succinct, he wags his tail furiously at the idea of waffling - in greater detail - about cars and all their intrinsic peculiarities here.

• unknown on Feb 13, 2012 at 4:05 pm

this will be interesting! i cant wait to see how this 1 look like since r3 spend most of there time on the satria neo:P ,,,,(correct me if i am wrong)

• kedekutnya. makeover a tip top condition car. so that not much things need to be changed. Go la find a rusty proton tiara.

• paohyean on Feb 13, 2012 at 4:26 pm

I’m sure it’s a challenge for them as well to make over this car..
      Despite it being in tip top condition, it’s not a car that you can just simply mod..

• pacifictuna on Feb 13, 2012 at 4:31 pm

i really miss my tiara…. i drove one back then when i was a student.

• paohyean on Feb 13, 2012 at 4:25 pm

Congratulations to the couple..
    Definitely looking forward to see how R3 is going to improve on what in my opinion is the best car Proton has ever come out with..

• neckotynne on Feb 13, 2012 at 4:32 pm

YG PROTON SAGA ISWARA MERAH NYE MODIFICATION BILA NK REVEAL…??? HEHEHE…!!! :P

• Proton Owner on Feb 13, 2012 at 4:43 pm

I have 2 Proton’s and now only Im aware got this program. A&P epic failure maximum……. all you know these couple is related to Proton employees!!

• lalok_stylo on Feb 13, 2012 at 4:50 pm

watpe rework kete yg tip top lg??
    adoyai…..

• Gavin on Feb 13, 2012 at 4:55 pm

Oh this is a nice one to do,

• apa jadi pada iswara

• Hmm..so this GTI transform to R3. Just add bodykit R3. What else?

• bobdbilder on Feb 13, 2012 at 7:24 pm

Look, its gotta do more than putting 4-2-1 zos, new cams and Recaro seats coz that’s been done.

The enthusiasts amongst us have always been thinking on how Proton could outdo the SGT R3. Proton might feel there is pressure from R3 owners. But WE say; “Go on! Break our Hearts!”

• JeremyNg on Feb 13, 2012 at 5:37 pm

Satria GTI = The best car Proton ever build !!!!! During that time, EVO magazine (UK) rated it 4/5 ……….

• alldisc on Feb 13, 2012 at 5:41 pm

from satria GTI to satria ah beng from brother’s. what else can they do?

the nearest option is R3 satria.

• http://paultan.org/2011/12/28/my-proton-makeover-1996-iswara-aeroback-is-third-up/

what happen to this chap’s car?un-makeover-able? :P

• sproc45 on Feb 13, 2012 at 5:55 pm

Why wasting time do all this. Go do proper R&D la.

• rosli on Feb 13, 2012 at 6:04 pm

bt ape bikin kereta yg dh tip top?owner dh la kaye…buat la kereta buruk mcm aku..kete aku korg x layan punn…

• Joe Radzif on Feb 14, 2012 at 1:02 pm

Bro, zaman dulu SGTi memang mahal…
      zaman skang dah murah giler…
      brader nih pun beli masa kereta tu dah murah..

• jolly_idiot on Feb 13, 2012 at 6:15 pm

Why not proton Inspira?

• this program meant to “renew” old p1 cars, what is the point recovering a year old inspira..duhhh

• fazron80 on Feb 13, 2012 at 6:27 pm

Proton need to makeover tiara and juara too. They’re part of proton history whether Proton like it or not.

• Who said that this car is in tip top condition? tsk tsk tsk.

• DArkerMarker on Feb 13, 2012 at 7:15 pm

marketing gimick. Cheap publicity…..

• its proton money no need to butthurt…its not like they use ur tax money

• James on Feb 15, 2012 at 1:38 am

well.. indirectly .. bcos of proton the govt forces all non national makes to sell higher in malaysia… and yeah.. they make other people pay higher taxes for cars other than proton.

• Foose on Feb 13, 2012 at 7:24 pm

Satu program yg bagus .. teruskan usaha. Sedangkan yang baru keluar showroom pun dimodifikasi apatah lagi keta yang dah digunapakai. Memang la jauh kalau nak dibandingkan dengan Overhaulin tetapi usaha ke arah tersebut telah dimulakan. Kalau terima kereta selain Proton pun bagus juga, kelass gitu.

• Keyboard Warrior on Feb 13, 2012 at 7:25 pm

congrates..
    nice car..
    good work for restoration

:)

• nebula87 on Feb 13, 2012 at 7:31 pm

Proton, plz lahh….buy them a new inpira instead. dont do any lousy makeover…u will do again after 10 years….=.=

• armandd on Feb 13, 2012 at 7:50 pm

I wonder when Honda Malaysia would do make-over projects like this. There’s so many crx, eg, ek, integra and predule from Honda’s Golden Era that badly need restoration. Perhaps they’re too busy making money… SAD.. :-(

• conslusion man on Feb 13, 2012 at 7:59 pm

this car still look good u know,, :)

• yeooooo on Feb 13, 2012 at 8:32 pm

cant wait to see this legend :)

• WUA770 on Feb 13, 2012 at 9:18 pm

Proton saga : done
    Proton iswara : done
    Proton wira : done
    Proton satria : on going
    Proton juara : on the list?
    Proton tiara : never say never ?
    Proton arena : awaiting?
    Proton satria neo : delete from list. Only on list after 20 years
    Proton saga new : ??
    Proton saga flx : ??
    Proton exora : ??
    Proton exora bold : next 30 years
    Proton inspira : mitsubishi will send angry bird to proton.

Anymore proton that i missing?

• RedBeanBun on Feb 13, 2012 at 10:43 pm

Chelsea Blue, Holland Orange, Brazil Green next? :)

Lets see who can guess what kind of stupid color this campaign can come up with next..

The owner will probably said, can i choose my color? or pay for my color? :P

• HirumaKecil on Feb 14, 2012 at 12:22 am

Lol.. They choose the colour after they ask the owner fav colour lah… U bising apa hal.. owner x banyak cakap pon…

• tah bodoh betul la. mst la dah discuss awal2 sblm buat ape2. knp ramai rakyat Malaysia tak mampu fikir bnde simple mcm ni.

• Joe Radzif on Feb 14, 2012 at 8:22 am

i know this guy.
    several time have SGTi TT with him..
    good guy with lot of spirit…

• Nissan on Feb 14, 2012 at 9:58 am

Just give out a NEO R3 lar, don’t make worst for this GTi.

• mentari-o-korea on Feb 14, 2012 at 10:18 am

Why not the pretty unique Proton Putra coupe?

• Joe Radzif on Feb 14, 2012 at 11:20 am

sebab tunggu que la tu…
      tak pun tak de budak putra yang nak…
      diorang dah conver ASTI, EVO..
      tak kan nak convert jadi bentuk putra asal yang tak cun
      www.protoncoupe.com

• mentari-o-korea on Feb 14, 2012 at 2:15 pm

For me the original putra still look awesome, just need a slight touch-up or simple bodykit to compliment the whole look. I know lot putras already converted, thus no originality!

• Joe Radzif on Feb 14, 2012 at 3:27 pm

kalau sudah slight touch up n simple bodykit pun sudah tak original la bro…

• it’s a competition lah bro bukan main pilij suke hati ada cerita disebalik kereta huh masih tak paham konsep betui

• wah lau on Feb 14, 2012 at 12:01 pm

i dont get it lah…when proton make new car ,people complain …when they dont do anything people complain,when proton try do something good for their loyal customer ,people complain.everything also complain.seriously…wah lau…

• Justice on Feb 14, 2012 at 3:23 pm

bcos they want,.proton tutup kedai.
      then G wont spend money for proton anymore.
      the money then, could make use for something else and if proton doesnt exist
      they hope G will reduce the Tax bcoz G hv nobody to ‘protect’.
      finally ppl will enjoy lower car prices…

just an opinion..LOL

• Eyesore on Feb 16, 2012 at 11:10 am

Lol where have you been living? Govt no longer spent money for proton ler… if you talking abt the rnd grant… that have reduced greatly since few years ago. Plus not only proton got it lor… your beloved berukdua and all other company (malaysian) with rnd get it…. reduce / abolish tax by closing proton? not a chance… not even if the PR became govt…. you can only dreams…

• Wah lau

not complains lah just tell the true…

• Buzy bee on Feb 17, 2012 at 10:48 am

Wah lau, Well said!

• tokmoh on Feb 14, 2012 at 4:17 pm

Hey, just noticed the Liqui Moly sticker in the bay, really good stuff there! This guy is a true enthusiast.

Very hard to find that oil brand in normal shops, such a shame. Just changed my oil using that and can easily vouch it’s probably the best semi-synthetic oil around.

I guess we can be more certain this makeover will end with British green racing paint. Congrats to him!