Toyota ‘rethink the way you drive’ teaser pops up online – PRIUS c and New PRIUS to be launched soon?

It looks like there’s something stirring in the air on the Toyota front, with a teaser for another impending arrival cropping up on the UMW Toyota website.

A graphic titled ‘Rethink the way you drive’ as well as a teaser video (you can watch it embedded in the post below) playing up the emission levels an average petrol-driven vehicle emits a year can only mean one thing, that the all-new PRIUS c – and in all likelihood, the new PRIUS as well – is about to hit town.

The arrival of both vehicles isn‘t exactly a surprise – we’ve carried stories on the specifications as well as the estimated pricing of both the PRIUS c and the New PRIUS, so we already know they’re due to come about.

The graphic, which features a light bulb equation on top of the tagline, doesn’t really disclose anything, but the video certainly does, what with its suggestion that it’s time drivers should be thinking about what they drive and how they drive – with the ‘Solution’ imminent – being a giveaway that one or both the hybrids are set to be launched very, very soon.

Incidentally, an average petrol powered car emits about 3,870 kg of CO2 a year and also gives off almost 85dB of sound pollution, according to the video clip, so you’ll be doing your bit to lower them if you’re set to join the growing ranks of those going green, it seems.

Whatever it is, stay tuned if you’ve got your sights set on either of the PRIUS models – we’ll definitely be carrying the launch story on them when the time comes! In the meanwhile, check out the microsite Rethink The Way You Drive.

Anthony Lim believes that nothing is better than a good smoke and a car with character, with good handling aspects being top of the prize heap. Having spent more than a decade and a half with an English tabloid daily never being able to grasp the meaning of brevity or being succinct, he wags his tail furiously at the idea of waffling - in greater detail - about cars and all their intrinsic peculiarities here.

• Johnny on Feb 14, 2012 at 12:53 pm

Pricey.

• koochai on Feb 14, 2012 at 1:27 pm

sneak preview for toyota merit member on 20 feb 7.30 pm @ sunway pyramid. c u there :)

• This story makes me…Think

• Unknown on Feb 14, 2012 at 1:22 pm

I was told by an insider that both models will be launching on the 24th February :D Prius C will be priced similar to Yaris

• PakAbu on Feb 14, 2012 at 3:05 pm

Price is out on Toyota.com.my.

RM 103,990

• UMW , The ads says the solution is coming soon. can i give a better solution? price the prius c around 90k.. it would be better..rite?
        and … RETHINK THE WAY U PRICING THE CAR AS U ASKED US RETHINK THE WAY WE DRIVE…. no offence to all bro in UMW management

• well somtimes its some ppl other than the car sellers that deterimine the retail prices and it may benefit some ppl if these cars are not really sold at the actual real world prices.

• alldisc on Feb 15, 2012 at 10:12 am

at 90K, the car is cheaper than new honda insight. but insight has 2 airbags only, prius C is anything between 4-7 airbags.

and talk about consumption… the prius C is easily anything around 40km/L. that is kapchai level FC already.

• That’s the best way to earn more money dude.. UMW have seriously rethought about it. As long as got Toyota Badge on it, no problems bro.

• QUATTRO on Feb 15, 2012 at 1:32 pm

hope toyota can reduce below 100k price tag >

• Toyota’s guide to green cars
    1) R&D ugly cars
    2) People who drive them feel ashamed
    3) People drive less
    4) …!?
    5) No one drives cars = Environment WIN!

• JeremyNg on Feb 14, 2012 at 2:00 pm

could it be Toyota Camry hybrid ??!!

• nighttrain on Feb 14, 2012 at 2:07 pm

Gone are the days when cars are marketed as sexy and powerful. Folks, our days as motorheads are numbered, hahah. Its the era of low emissions.

• bobdbilder on Feb 14, 2012 at 9:16 pm

We’re a dying breed bro.

Almost everyday I see one Prius in HP Alley (PJS11) has a big spoiler at the back. What was he trying to say? A Prius SPORT? Pointless…

• tonka on Feb 14, 2012 at 2:33 pm

saw a facelifted Honda Insight on a lorry just now at LDP highway heading to Putrjaya.i think its the 1.5 hybrid model

• durianhead on Feb 14, 2012 at 2:53 pm

guys, i dont think this is the prius c or prius! if you see, all the little cars used in the graphics are SEDAN, so this must be TOYOTA CAMRY HYBRID

• wishful thinking! but youre right it would be good if UMW could bring in more hybrid vehicles from the toyota arsenal including the RAV4 hybrid, prius V et al.

• alldisc on Feb 15, 2012 at 10:16 am

it is pointless to bring in a hybrid with more than 2.0 litre engine, they do not enjoy the tax-free incentives given by government unlike civic hybrid, insight, and the prius models.

camry hybrid, estima hybrid, alphard hybrid… all more than 2.0

• Caldin on Feb 14, 2012 at 3:59 pm

which socio-economic group is UMW aiming for the prius facelift? Certainly not the middle income group with it’s rm 148-143k price tag. why even the jetta is almost the same price!

• so what if the jetta is the “same price”, the prius and the jetta are meant for ppl in different planets..anyway technically the jetta at the moment is being sold as CBU for RM 150k in one version only AND thats excluding insurance..so not really almost the same price at all.

• Caldin on Feb 15, 2012 at 12:38 am

Don’t get me wrong, the prius is a superior hybrid to whatever else is out there. Only thing is in the current economic climate, not many middle class income earners are going to consider it’s price tag.
        Perhaps introducing the Leaf might take a big bite out of them!

• The Jetta hybrid will be coming soon. With the TSi twin charger engine and tax free I think will give the Prius a run for its money.

• CK200H on Feb 14, 2012 at 5:57 pm

when I buy CT200, I don’t have to think of fuel when I drive. I used to be a light foot on my previous ride but not now.

Never think again when u drive a Hybrid.

• lemon on Feb 14, 2012 at 7:21 pm

seriously,….just launched the car!!

• bobdbilder on Feb 14, 2012 at 9:35 pm

The way I think; that’s too much money for one person trying to salvage the Kyoto Agreement when the biggest polluter don’t give a $#it about it.

Here’s the cost of a 30wp Polycrystaline Solar Panel; RM 570.00
    Here’s the cost of a 10A Solar Charger Controller: RM 220
    Deep Cylce 40Ah Battery; RM 360 (you could go for a RM 148 Car battery but it wont last very long)
    Add RM 15 for 15m length cable.
    Add RM 15 for a 12V, 5W flourescent light.

Most of it you could buy at Mudah.my

It gives you light and reduce your electric bill and definitely no CO2 emissions. Plus its very quiet.

• fuelpump on Feb 14, 2012 at 9:58 pm

Isi satu tank boleh pegi max 1000km, (1500km/tank-as claimed by Prius brochure-susah nak dapat, maybe Prius owner can clarify this). Okayla dari burn rm700-800/month on petrol. lepas PRU petrol naik lagi, so hybrid is the way forward, maybe no driving pleasure but wallet friendly car. battery maybe issue jugak, but i’m optimistic in a few years time, it will get cheaper.

• Note: Downsized turbo pots and diesel heads are also 2 of the solutions. Hybrid is not the only way.

• alldisc on Feb 15, 2012 at 10:25 am

100,000 cars stuck in traffic jams at idle speed – all produce CO2 no matter petrol or diesel, plus heat (thats part of global warming).

but hybrid cars switches off their engines altogether (until battery level drops very very low).. and that means hybrid is the only way forward for the advantages it brings.

• James on Feb 15, 2012 at 11:26 am

Only toyota hybrid systems switches off the engine.. not honda.

• bonceng on Feb 16, 2012 at 5:24 pm

honda also got auto stop features..please study 1st before comment. Even audi/bmw got it also…

• bobdbilder on Feb 15, 2012 at 1:35 pm

Bayangkan kalau ada Electric / Plug in Hybrid. Tambah kapasiti bateri kereta hybrid. Tukar dari jenis proprietary ke standard Lithium Ion.

Kalau cas bateri pakai solar panel sendiri, lagi jimat. Pasang Flexi A-Si PV atas bumbung kereta utk trickle charge bateri. Masa tu parking kat open space lagi bagus.

Its not rocket science. Its all DC. Two formulaes; P=IV and V=IR. Walaupun motor tu AC, bateri tetap DC.

http://ecomodder.com/forum/showthread.php/2nd-gen-prius-phev-conversion-enginer-plug-lithium-11555.html

• Hope toyota can give 1.88% interest for these two models.

• nxsan on Feb 16, 2012 at 4:19 pm

i saw on fb, ppl are posting of the revised price of
    Prius c rm97k otr
    Prius facelift rm139900 otr (same as the old one)

izzit true???

• fuelpump on Feb 16, 2012 at 6:03 pm

if it is true…a very good news indeed for hybrid enthusiast

• Quattro on Feb 16, 2012 at 6:42 pm

Betul ke ni