2012 Kia cee’d – more images of Geneva-bound hatch

More images of the next-generation Kia cee’d have come about ahead of the five-door hatchback’s world debut in Geneva next month. Still nada as far as tech details go, but Kia says the new cee’d is longer, wider and lower than its predecessor, with the same long wheelbase.

Design-wise, the front of the new car gets the latest interpretation of the company’s trademark ‘tiger-nose’ grille as well as aggressive, wraparound headlamp clusters housing LED daytime running lights.

Other new detail touches for the exterior includes a new, bolder, more sophisticated Kia badge, an indicator blade protrusion in the front headlamps, the Kia-signature windscreen head castellations, a chrome side glazing surround and a specific aerodynamic shaping of the tail lamp which extends into the adjacent bodywork.

Meanwhile, there’s a completely new interior, offering a more premium look and feel and higher perceived quality, with the use of soft touch materials, as well as improved switchgear and enhanced driving position ergonomics – the dashboard layout features a cockpit-like design with an aircraft-themed, driver-oriented fascia.

Anthony Lim believes that nothing is better than a good smoke and a car with character, with good handling aspects being top of the prize heap. Having spent more than a decade and a half with an English tabloid daily never being able to grasp the meaning of brevity or being succinct, he wags his tail furiously at the idea of waffling - in greater detail - about cars and all their intrinsic peculiarities here.

• carlover on Feb 16, 2012 at 12:00 am

nice looking car..if it would be available in malaysia at below RM80,000…that will be nice

• alldisc on Feb 16, 2012 at 9:24 am

even the first cee’d model did not come to malaysia, its place taken by the cerato/spectra/forte which of exact same size.

as the name says…. its meant for europe. but the sister car is actually hyundai i30.

if not mistaken it stands for Community of Excellence European Design.

• kia cee’d is for european market..
      for asian we got forte..
      we will not get the cee’d

• really impressed with the koreans, just like the japs, they have the KaiZen spirit. Meanwhile in Malaysia…

• encik boss on Feb 16, 2012 at 8:12 am

…we have p3-21a. so what?

• ayamxxx on Feb 16, 2012 at 9:37 am

p3-21a?? huh!
        still using ancient junk campro engine, only plus a soft turbo. not improve FC.

inside interior is very basic (Proton don’t know on designing dashboard?)

2012 Kia c’eed is remind me of golf gti interior

• go naza on Feb 16, 2012 at 10:02 am

compare the interior of p3-21 and kia ceed la.

u got car, he got car.

yours is old saga blowing black smoke, while his car is a shiny ferarri, si pandai.

p3-21 looks good on spec, lets see how it goes.

• ayamxxx on Feb 16, 2012 at 2:32 pm

kia have transform very well in car design, remember very well the Kia car during early 2000, very basic.

nowadays, it have trend of european ala design style

• Lim Kopi on Feb 16, 2012 at 7:36 pm

Yea nice design in general …

But can they stop using LED daytime running lights?

Makes me cringe when I see it … cheap & tacky!

• thinkerr on Feb 16, 2012 at 10:17 am

Impressive…well done Kia!!

• clutch basah on Feb 16, 2012 at 9:29 am

Meanwhile in Malaysia… we have people like you with your colonized mentality and depressed with everything. Poor soul

• Kumar san on Feb 16, 2012 at 8:15 am

Very nice looking car,hope it makes it here.As usual being an excellent product from the Korean’s,it will be loaded to the hilt with kit and it should sell well.

The Americans will be probably all over this ride pretty soon..a nice effort.

Cheers.

• Hello Protongkat this is how a proper Global Car looks like so better suck it up lah!

Ha Ha Ha look at your Tuah basically outdated failure before launching!

Ohhhh Yeaahhhh….This 2012 Kia c’eed = Asian BMW…not that joke Waja Asian BMW crap by Mahaleleh lah!

Advice to Protongkat is: Just sell Tuah locally or risked made a fool joke in front of 300 million global viewers at Top Gear later kah kah kah!

“Kia – the Asia’s answer to BMW (not Protongkat lah)”

• clutch basah on Feb 16, 2012 at 9:32 am

Wow! seriously got issues with certain people, go get help before it too late.
      You sure you don’t work in KFC?

• ss427 on Feb 16, 2012 at 12:25 pm

What Ajaw bro said is very true.

A responsible person/business/entity must be able to stand by his/their claims and be scrutized by just about anyone in this world who can get the hands on the products.

Potong keeps claiming their P321A is comparable with Euro and Japs cars in almost every cat, then Potong should NOT be afraid nor weary to let independent western car mags to test and review the P321A when it is it ready.

I mean, Potong said the build quality and NVH is comparable to Euro cars right? Then prove it! That you also claim that your CFE/CVT and handling is as good as the Euro/Japs… well the western car mags will verify if such claims are true.

Lots of big empty talks will only further cement the notion that Potong is just a local small time joker who has disillusions that they can take on the big boys.

• clutch basah on Feb 16, 2012 at 1:05 pm

Dude,
          The issue here is not P312A, tuah, or whatever. It was ones negative attitude towards certain perspective.
          Negative thinking produces negative action and negative actions brings negative reaction. One once said that sounds so familiarly Malaysian and I thus agree.

• ss427 on Feb 16, 2012 at 2:17 pm

Well Potong can’t blame the buyers for having such -ve thoughts on their cars when Potong can’t even bother to take their jobs seriously… :(

Unfair trade practices and biased gov supported marketing campagin can only bluff your customers that much and that long. Malaysians will eventually see exactly what a good car should look, drive and ride in. They will also see the supposedly cheap Potong is not THAT cheap considering the bargain basement parts used and the freq breakdowns… :)

• clutch basah is just another example proton cum lickers..just let him happy with his protong

• clutch basah on Feb 17, 2012 at 8:10 am

zxr,
            Since you brought the subject.. yeah I’m happy with my proton, still keeps my 2002 Waja for my wife’s frequent market trips.
            Also happy with my 2010 2.4 Accord and our family’s 2009 RB3 Odyssey. And if you must know I’m much happier with my 2010 Tucson in Korea where I’m posting since 2009.

What can I say.. am a happy man. :)

• paohyean on Feb 16, 2012 at 9:00 am

Looks like Top Gear needs a new Stars in a Reasonably Priced Car board already..
    XD

• The Enthusiast on Feb 16, 2012 at 7:50 pm

They might need a new board for that. Or maybe change the old Reasonably Priced Car for F1 drivers with this one :)

• blackrythms on Feb 16, 2012 at 9:14 am

a very nice looking car…..wat’s the retails

• Paul / Anthony,

Did I missed your MAA sales report after Oct 2011? Am interested to look at the statistic for a few models but could not find it anywhere….

• Anthony Lim (Member) on Feb 16, 2012 at 10:30 am

It’s in the process of being done, but will be for the Dec results. The task is nothing short of arduous (and tedious), since everything has to be tabulated and then keyed in individually – and we’ve been short of time. My apologies for that, will hopefully be up on site by this weekend.

• no apology required & thank you!

• Hyundai De Junk on Feb 16, 2012 at 3:07 pm

Anthony since is already off target date, why not a overall 2011 result, i would suggest a simple method of presentation need not to be too complicated.

• SAGA BeLum Masak on Feb 16, 2012 at 11:09 am

MAA Report for 2011

http://www.maa.org.my/pdf/market_review_2011.pdf

• ss427 on Feb 16, 2012 at 9:39 am

The Cee’d is a Euro market only model… and it will not be sold in North America nor the world. But this is essentially what the next gen Forte is all about :) The chassis is from the new Elantra and so will be the drivetrain

Its obvious how fast the Koreans are improving their products. If I cover the Kia badges now, honestly how many of you will mistook this Cee’d as the new Opel Astra or the Renautl Megane hatch?

The new Forte will be released by 4 quarter as a 2013 model. If the Cee’d is such a beauty here, I’m sure the new Forte will be equallt stunning too.

Oh yes, our Maserati Bro will come in shortly and proclaim that this piece of junk can only compete with Potong and anything Koreans will be total junks even though they may have won tons of awards in the respective line of trade. :D

Well Potong, at this rate this is going, your halo P3-21A will be completely outta date even before it is launched officially haha :D And you can brag about your CFE and the CVT with 7 gears for all you like..

Those virtual gears are NOT TRUE gears at all and technically, you can assign 14 ‘speed’ to it and brag even louder… Its totally laughable and evil of you to try to fool your citizens into believing Potong can finally offer a 7 speed automatic when its just series of pre-programmed CVT pulley positions. :( And with Potong notorious build quality and reliablity, your decision to adopt an inheritently unreliable, light duty gearbox technology will further seal your fate that Potong=crap cars. LOL :D

SE Asian BMW beater? Why don’t you add in Audi, Chevy, VW beater as well… you may as well learn from those pirated chinese car companies on how to make lots of hot air claims and then failed to deliver….haha:D

• looks at the thumb down..only protong cum lickers will thumb down..hahahahaha

• littlefire on Feb 16, 2012 at 4:27 pm

I tot Honda already done it with their previous Honda City + 7-speed CVT… But why now the latest revert back to 5-speed auto? Well… Just guess it.. now our P1 guys think they are so happy wif it, when ppl already tested it and throw it aside… :P Sorry, but P1 need to come out something which is really new (Besides CFE) to proof to the world that the new model is a global car…

• ss427 on Feb 16, 2012 at 5:12 pm

It has been proven and shown that CVT cannot and WON’T replace conventional torque converter automatics, much less twin clutch and manual trans. The gearbox tech is too weak to be used in heavy duty mode and CVTs can’t handle big power o/p from engines.

In addition, that simple nylon drive belt tends to wear out and eventually snap from the 2 pulleys. Yes I do agree CVT is much cheaper and simpler to build as compared to conventional torque converter auto, but reliability is really a big issue.

Many JDM cars uses CVT boxes only because Japs in general are safety drivers and doesnt abuses their cars. But the manufacturers themselves also know that CVT can’t handle the stress in overseas markets hence when the models get prepped for export markets, conventional auto or manual are used.

Be prep for worn pulley surfaces and glazed over nylon belt surfaces in your P321A very soon :D

• Kia has done a very good job on lifting up the outlook of the car, but they have to spend more time on the interior… Their interiors are still very ‘Korean’ so to speak…ie. the latest Optima interior does not compliment the excellent outlook of the car.

• lockouts on Feb 16, 2012 at 12:44 pm

No for I’m think the interior is (euroish) look at the old kia dashborad and now day how many work have been improve, but still a kia thiet have a lot of work to keep up

• Shaekey on Feb 16, 2012 at 9:50 am

It’s Cee’d, not C’eed.

• Anthony Lim (Member) on Feb 16, 2012 at 10:26 am

And so it is! Wrote it both ways in the story. Will never succee’d at this rate. :D Thanks for the spot!

• 188oko on Feb 16, 2012 at 10:33 am

NICE….Automotive very competitive now…wondering how Protong is doing, look like they still asleep…

• alldisc on Feb 16, 2012 at 4:37 pm

no, sorry. i must correct you. proton have waken up already.. and found that they are 5 years back in time.

• hyundai i30 x laku la

so does kia spectra5 though it is better than nissan latio

but kia is keeping RIO brand so expect there will be new RIO soon

• It looks good.

• wow so many kia/hyundai salesman here…

• yakooza on Feb 16, 2012 at 12:44 pm

we cannot see the front looks like tiger nose?
    it looks more like warthog nose to us! LOL

• hearse driver on Feb 16, 2012 at 11:14 pm

just wait and see how the europe 2012 market sales figure for this make then judge for yourself.

• Jack Leong on Feb 16, 2012 at 1:17 pm

Bad choice for a name.. sounds like kiasi’d…

• ss427 on Feb 16, 2012 at 2:18 pm

Well few if any Europeans speak Hokkien or Taiwanese in Europe mah :D

• justice on Feb 16, 2012 at 1:49 pm

nice interior..
    …BTW is it a B or C segment car??

• Maserati on Feb 16, 2012 at 1:59 pm

All the kia hyundai salesman desperate for sales.. Another piece of rubbish from korea

• Chilavert on Feb 16, 2012 at 4:42 pm

from desperate honda salesman

• David D on Feb 16, 2012 at 7:41 pm

Then can i also say your Jap car is rubbish, but this time from Thailand instead? Shut up and grow up!

• woahh, sweet…kia kinda attached with that grill design nowadays, good looking

• Abidal on Feb 16, 2012 at 4:46 pm

Peugeot 308T wannabe..

• the protong cum lickers will always said their car is the best..and until now i wondering what is the related about buying stupid protong car with our patriotic spirit???only moron people will said like that

• Hyundai De Junk on Feb 16, 2012 at 6:02 pm

BMW 6 front light, VW rear, Audi dashboard, Mitsubishi engine,

Rojak Mamak Kimchi Chopsuey Copy King.

• mentari-o-korea on Feb 16, 2012 at 6:31 pm

If u see the trend, conti car tend to follow korean design especially the bold or aggressive lines, even mazda look very korean now! Kia is good in combine the best of design from both different world. Congrat KIA, u really got the power to surprise!

• Very cool design unlike P3-21A design but interior seems like not stunning as the exterior look, very Golf or Audi-ish and BMW design.

If next Forte look like this coupled with advance diesel engine this car easily sell 500 units per month. Features-wise, can’t match P3-21A.

Don’t simply hate Proton. I still remember my Koreans friends in my Uni will have their local brand car sticker/poster in their room or wardrobe.

• tan sari on Feb 16, 2012 at 8:56 pm

looks v good n cool inside out

• maddroid on Feb 16, 2012 at 8:59 pm

Similar to K5 interior.. Ok at least I know how the interior of next Forte is going to looks like but Q4 of 2013? Really? Then the design is kinda old already since K5 is already few years old by then.

• green beast on Feb 17, 2012 at 9:23 am

Maserati wannabe….

• careeron9.blogspot.com on Feb 18, 2012 at 9:59 pm

wow… nice interior… LIKE IT !!!

• careeron9 on Feb 18, 2012 at 10:03 pm

how much for this car..???

• Regina on Jun 14, 2012 at 8:05 am

I was quite disappointed to find out that this car is for the European automotive market only, I honestly think this car would do amazingly well in Malaysia.

Sighs~~ I hope they change their mind and bring this baby here.