Peugeot 308 Sedan vs Peugeot 408 – two different sedans!

Peugeot unveiled the car above – the Peugeot 308 Sedan – at the 2011 Chengdu Motor Show in mid-September last year, a new three-box vehicle based on the C-segment 308 platform. But wait – isn’t the 408 essentially a 308 sedan? Well, not exactly. The 308 Sedan is an entirely different model.

It looks like Peugeot has created two different sedan products from the 308 platform – a smaller sedan called the 308 Sedan and a larger car called the 408. The 308 sedan stretches the 308’s 2,608mm wheelbase by a wee bit to 2,612mm, while the 408 takes it further to 2,710mm – one of the longest wheelbases in the C-segment.

308 308 Sedan 408 508
Wheelbase 2,608mm 2,612mm 2,710mm 2,815mm
Length 4,276mm 4,558mm 4,680mm 4,826mm
Width 1,815mm 1,805mm 1,815mm 1,855mm
Height 1,498mm 1,505mm 1,525mm 1,465mm
Bootspace 430L 565L 562L 475L

Nasim’s locally-assembled Project T73 is the Peugeot 408, not the smaller Peugeot 308 Sedan, which is good news for us since the car will end up having greater interior space. The 408 also looks like a proper sedan because of its longer wheelbase and redesigned roofline, while the 308 Sedan has a bit of that “hatch with boot” effect to its looks because it is shorter. The 308 Sedan also has a unique interior that is different from the 308 and the 408 – for example, the round air-conditioning vents have been replaced by squarish ones, and the dash is also shaped quite differently in general although there are some similarities.

However, it could also mean that the 408 sedan might end up being more expensive than the 308 hatchback, since Peugeot considers it a separate model, which might not be what people expect, given that our consumers are used to hatchback models being more expensive. This is just an educated guess on our part, of course, as no prices for the 408 have been announced yet.

After dabbling for years in the IT industry, Paul Tan initially began this site as a general blog covering various topics of personal interest. With an increasing number of readers paying rapt attention to the motoring stories, one thing led to another and the rest, as they say, is history.

• nebula87 on Feb 15, 2012 at 6:46 pm

BEAUTY !

• nighttrain on Feb 15, 2012 at 6:52 pm

can you guys put up some comparison pics?

• gangully on Feb 15, 2012 at 7:05 pm

whats with peugeot and making their sedans with convertible-like butts? i saw the 508’s rear from a distance on the NSE yesterday and thought “my my, that guy modified his old 307cc to look quite updated” only when i got near enough to see that it is a 508 and thought “yeeeecccchhhh!!”

• 4545er on Feb 15, 2012 at 7:08 pm

they all look alike..

• lemon on Feb 15, 2012 at 7:10 pm

this means 408 will b priced higher..hopefully the fact tat 408 is locally assembled will help to pull the price slightly lower.. :)

• Hyundai De Junk on Feb 15, 2012 at 7:11 pm

Phewwh ! Luckily Nasim bring in 408 & not 308 Sedan.

I do hope no more compromising on Left Drive not fully competable when convert to Right hand drive version, like pedal, hanbrake & etc.

• albag on Feb 15, 2012 at 7:32 pm

typical china design car… the china look is there….

• mikomoto-san on Feb 15, 2012 at 9:12 pm

come work in Shanghai or Shenzen, this car is dirt cheap here…

• civicEK on Feb 15, 2012 at 7:37 pm

confirm pricey.. around 130k above :(

• Thus, 408 sedan overall bigger than P3-21A?

• Monday on Mar 05, 2012 at 12:29 pm

yes, much bigger than the biggest c-segment car you can find today and even some yet to be launched japanese and korean model with actual space you can use. it is said to be very close in size to a popular large japanese d-segment car.

• VOLVO FOR LIFE on Feb 15, 2012 at 8:08 pm

the sedan version. the ugly sibling of the hatchback.

• eimrane on Feb 15, 2012 at 8:21 pm

the rear eand hv a persona look i guess

• eimrane on Feb 15, 2012 at 8:23 pm

the rear end hv persona look i guess

• ae101 on Feb 15, 2012 at 9:35 pm

omg!!! this is so ugly. look what happen to swift and fiesta.

• calvin_ng on Feb 15, 2012 at 10:06 pm

when you put a tail into a beautiful Hot Hatch this is what you get UGLY… all the same….

Jazz become Ugly City (the previous generation)
    Mazda 2 hatch become ugly Mazda 2 sedan
    Ford Fiesta Hatch become not so ugly bust still ugly sedan…
    Pug 207 become ugly pug 207 sedan…

CAN CAR MANUFACTURER LEARN PLEASE!!!

• stephen on Feb 16, 2012 at 2:17 am

I have seen the interior of 308 (China sedan) recently at their road show.also I check out 408 too. All look like crap on the interior. Seriously I mean it. The plastic don’t have the soft touch feel on the 308 we have….when we do the typical Malaysian bad habit of knocking the plastic. I just feel its an iswara. No kidding. Its that bad. the price is cheap if convert but not cheap if based on China chinese income.

ok for 408, the interior is like our local 308 hatchback but somehow when I go thru the spec, it seem the cruise control and audio control isn’t there. The air con is the normal version, not the 2 zone climate control. There’s only 1.6 if not mistaken and 2.0 version and no Turbo. The 1.6 is not sure its the VTi like we have too…it might be an outdated engine.

308 sedan is just getting the outdate 307 with 1.6 engine (didn’t see the VTi badge on it) with cheap interior plastic and outdate 307 hatchback interior that have some facial improvement. Cruise control and audio control is missing plus climate control too.

Overall, the front look like the updated 308 hatchback found at Europe but still the package is disgusting in a way that around RM70k you get a product that stripped off many things. Of course you can pay more for accesories to get upgrade. But still when I read it, the upgrade didn’t include stuff we had at Malaysia.

it just seem like rip off happening everywhere. The only product from Peugeot China that still look decent is 508 which seem to keep all the interior as it is.

• Paul Tan on Feb 16, 2012 at 11:47 am

408 has a variant called 408 Sport with the 1.6 turbo engine tuned for 163hp

• nighttrain on Feb 16, 2012 at 2:49 pm

Is it the same 1.6 turbo for our 508?

• Paul Tan on Feb 16, 2012 at 2:50 pm

Similar 1.6 turbo engine but different specs.

Old 308 1.6 Turbo – 140hp
          New 308 1.6 Turbo – 156hp
          508 1.6 Turbo – 156hp
          408 1.6 Turbo – 163hp

• Stephen on Feb 16, 2012 at 11:28 pm

Thank for the correction. I didn’t check Peugeot China website for a long time since I have no intention to drive at China :)

the road show I visit early this year only show they offering 1.6 and 2.0 but no THP.

• K-Man on Feb 17, 2012 at 11:23 am

Stephen,

The Chinese models do not have turbo. Perhaps you are looking at the wrong websites for info. This car is also sold in Latin America. If you check out the Peugeot websites over there, you will find the turbo among the other models.

• stephen on Feb 17, 2012 at 8:37 pm

K-Man

ok … my mistake, I wasn’t checking in details since there’s no interest to buy a car at China even working there.

• Roger on Feb 16, 2012 at 5:42 pm

To be fair, 408 is being sold as a C-Segment car (competing with the likes of Elantra, Civic, Corolla, Cruz, Lavida, etc) in China and priced as such. Despite it’s longer wheelbase and huge interior, it is sold cheaper vs VW Jetta (known as Sagitar) or VW Lavida (exclusive for Chinese market) for the basic 2 litre model.

I am currently driving a 408 2L Auto which was sold less than 140 K CNY. The higher specs which is obviously more expensive will have leather seats, cruise control, etc.
      Interior is decent and not as bad as you made it, It is comparable to other C-segment car here in China.

However, no comparison it is miles away if you compare with Citrioen C5, 508 or Passat wnich is understandable if the 408 is targetted at the C segment market.

FYI, I have driven a Sonata for 3 years before swithching to 408.

• Roger on Feb 16, 2012 at 5:57 pm

Guys,

To be fair, 408 is being priced as a C- Segment car in China against the likes of Corolla, Civic, Elantra, Cruz, Lancer, VW Jetta (known as Sagitar in China). Despite its long wheelbase and huge interior which is comparable in size with some smaller D segment car. The interior is not as bad as you made it and comparable to other C segment car. However, it is true that interior is pale in comparison vs Citroen C5, 508 or Passat which is understandble given it’s targetted market range.

I am currently driving a 408 2 L Auto with basic specs. It was priced less than 140 K CNY. FYI, I was driving a Sonata for 3 years before switching to 408. Did a lot of comparison (in China, car are priced very competetively as long as it is assemble in China and many choices)

If you wish to know more about driving experience of 408 (i.e power, fuel, others), I can post more. I am a M’sian and has been in China for 4 years now. I follow the Chinese car market with interest. Don’t make assumption untill you see how competetive the market here. Foreign brand bring their best to this market.

• Stephen on Feb 16, 2012 at 11:27 pm

but I don’t see that on those car put up in the road show. I was driving a 308 before leave to china. I can notice the interior wasn’t same as what we got at Malaysia. I am not comparing the interior of other brand. I am comparing the 308 which I missed a lot at Malaysia with those I saw at China (I can only compare it with 408 since that’s the actual direct comparison…)

further, i just don’t get it why 408 which is being a 308 hatchback reskin didn’t have all the item a hatchback have.

maybe that’s related to the market is different but I can’t get it. I am not sure have you ever tried any Pug at Malaysia. The only reason i can see is…. RMB140k for 2.0L but not a THP….it is cheap is you convert to other currency but for a local China Chinese, its still a lot. It just seem to be something they got to do to get car more affordable.

If not mistaken the Coupe 308 and 308cc (Station wagon) are direct import….it might be having the same quality you seen on what Nasim is selling.

• Roger on Feb 17, 2012 at 12:49 am

I agree that the interior is less vs the imported 308. Particularly the fabric of the seats and the feel of the steering. The interior is beige which is not to my liking and the steering of the basic spec is just awful. The dashboard quality felt the same (maybe was wrong) with 308. Same interior design. But interior all black looks so much cooler with 308. Went to see one 308 while back in KL. Nonetheless the 408 was priced very competitive .

What was funny, the basic spec did not even come with floor mat! I was so surprise when first received the car and thought it was a mistake. You will never hear of this back home even for the cheapest car from Proton and you are rite, at that price they strip away a lot. The highest spec ( with sunroof, auto cruise, leather seat, steering with better quality, USB, etc) cost 20 k CNY more. Otherwise quality is better than the old sonata in all aspect (not to be confused with the latest generation of Sonata). Cant complain too much. Been driving for more than 1 year now. The car is very comfortable and roomy. It comes with a tiptronic auto gear. Play with it for a while and got bored with it. Now always on D mode.

• Roger on Feb 17, 2012 at 12:58 am

Btw, the plastic is definitely not iswara. :) my first car…….some pleasant & unpleasant experience way back then.

Not sure what will Naza do with local manufacturing of 408, go knock on the dashboard when launched.

If it is price more than 100k, probably not worth it for a car with old engine technology.

• stephen on Feb 17, 2012 at 8:40 pm

ok sorry I exaggerated that part. but dont know

just hope they get plastic from proper vendor
            or just take whatever can fit from the 308 hatchback and put it onto the 408.

then put THP back to the high spec. and also 1.6 VTi used in current 308 hatchback.

plus I can’t knock it haha since I am not staying at Malaysia too

• Chilavert on Feb 16, 2012 at 8:11 am

the front is nice but the rear is ugly.

• Hmm, designing a small sedan seem tough for Peugeot designers…

• gtmaniac on Feb 16, 2012 at 9:19 am

So confusing la on how peugeot naming (numbering) their cars nowadays.

407 is a class above, and therefore bigger car than the 408. Imagine how the salesman is going to explain them to a non-petrolhead customer when the come to showroom.

• K-Man on Feb 16, 2012 at 2:48 pm

508 take over 4 & 6 series as the brand’s flagship model. 408 continues the 4 series model line up but is no longer the top flagship of the brand. that is the position of the 508 now. as part of a model line up, the 408 takes over from the 407, the 406, 405, 404 etc. hope this helps. interior of the 408 is bigger than the 407 and is more spacious inside.

• Well the 207sedan and the 308 sedan/408 are not sold in europe, im guessing they are sold in most part of SEA and S.america. So the design is not entirely european, a design that was not being researched and made for europe but designed in RD of china, s.america or india, that is why they look like that, to create an affordable sedan from something they already have without changing much to the body structure.

• nighttrain on Feb 16, 2012 at 2:59 pm

If it’s not sold in Europe and North America, they don’t give a rat’s ass about how its gonna look. As long as auto magazines there don’t bash them. As for Asian and South American buyers, I dunno what to say.. They must’ve set up a design studio run by a bunch of ‘asal boleh’ to create these uglies. Why the double standard? Even Proton don’t create this kind of double standards, HAHAH..

• the 408 is huge……..

• 408 has an old engine and gear box.