My Proton Makeover – more in-progress pix of the Iswara

More photos have come about of the 1996 Iswara Aeroback that’s currently being rebuilt in the R3 facility. You’ll know the car, belonging to Norzamzarini Mohd Bajuri from Muar, Johor, as the third vehicle to be rebuilt as part of the My Proton Makeover programme.

We ran in-progress photos earlier in the week, and now, six new photos have been put up on Proton’s Facebook page, revealing a little bit more about the reworked 1.3 AB, which is set to be returned to Norzamzarini sometime later this month. Looks like the interior trim work is almost done – the seats are back on, with the new leather wrap complete with orange piping, and there’s a pix of the stick shifter as well.

The bumpers are also back on the car, and you now have an idea of what the wheels look like. No engine shots, so we’ll have to wait for the finished article to reveal all. As mentioned in our earlier story, the Iswara, when completed, will join Sashideran Radha Krishnan’s 17-year-old Wira and Fadly Hisham Roplay’s 1992 Saga as the R3 makeover specials, with a Satria GTI next on the cards.

Anthony Lim believes that nothing is better than a good smoke and a car with character, with good handling aspects being top of the prize heap. Having spent more than a decade and a half with an English tabloid daily never being able to grasp the meaning of brevity or being succinct, he wags his tail furiously at the idea of waffling - in greater detail - about cars and all their intrinsic peculiarities here.

• lan87 on Feb 17, 2012 at 1:31 pm

is this orange or yellow?
    earlier pics looked like it was orange but maybe the angles from these new pics make it look yellowish like those taxis…

• Boon King on Feb 17, 2012 at 1:45 pm

sekali pandang macam teksi la bang..

• turboEvo on Feb 17, 2012 at 4:20 pm

Dua kali pandang memang superb beb…..the colour tone was really nice when hit by sun.

• Just me on Feb 17, 2012 at 2:06 pm

For those who worship proton so much … Read the first 2 paragraph.

http://www.asiasentinel.com/index.php?option=com_content&task=view&id=4239&Itemid=229

• kimi_ on Feb 17, 2012 at 2:54 pm

Good article bro, thx for sharing….A MUST READ for all !!!

Make me lol especially it stated there UMNO crony, hahahahah

• got to agree with u in some point but honestly almost all type of company thur out the world also suffer the same thing .if they dont step in and help …malaysia economy will fall into the deep sea. soooo at the end of the day ,so wat…it is life…..

• pronoton on Feb 17, 2012 at 2:55 pm

rim nmpk mcm RPF1…rim design R3 ke aftermarket…kalu bagi aftermarket alang2 sumbat la SSR type F matte black baru gempak hehehe…

• notice green satria back there?

• I say this is one of the better makeovers by this team. I dig the body color; it goes well with the rims.

• noname on Feb 17, 2012 at 4:02 pm

looks better than the blue wira, but the 1st 1992 saga is the best makeover so far

• Looks good to me and it have that striking colour which is will make it one of a kind Iswara. I think it would look better in person. Looks like the paint of the car is not a plain orange/yellow, I think they use a pearlescent paint.

• noname on Feb 17, 2012 at 3:46 pm

for FREE, more than good already :)

• During initial post, many peoples bash this particular project..they said the color is wrong, the seat is ugly..well, have a look at this! Not bad right? Plus its free..dafuq you guys are complaining about?

• turboEvo on Feb 17, 2012 at 4:33 pm

To the bashers out there – “Don’t judge the book by its cover”…..
      I know Proton R3 will do their best..look at the amount and effort those engineers have put on… .Simply because it doesn’t suit your eyes, others may not…..
      Pls show the engine and muffler please….

• Simply because they know nothing about it…Making complains is what they do best. Come on guys…be real.

• Still got space to improve of workmanship, especially the front bumper (with photo).

• FAIL! Looks crap even if it is free, still now looks like a loser car….Proton where is your passion?

• noname on Feb 17, 2012 at 5:43 pm

how is the winner car?? looks like lamborghini ka?

• lol……if u are so good y dont u show your skill and not talk talk talk and no action. only know how to complain. it is not your car, y complain so much .

• Hey guys , any idea how to participate this Proton Makeover program ? Selected customers only ? How much does it cost ?

• loveit on Feb 17, 2012 at 5:48 pm

saw a green satria (I think it is) in the background of one of the photos…I thought next modification is satria gti

• Hyundai De Junk on Feb 17, 2012 at 6:43 pm

If R3 refurbish look as good as Ah Beng Workshop & Bros Accessories, what the point ?

Compare it with Pimp My Ride & Overhaulin, this is really Pathetic.

• noname on Feb 17, 2012 at 8:19 pm

so u can now make a contest and refurbish your winner car as good as overhaulin & pimp my ride with your own budget for 5 winner..

• kita x de budget ma..lol..

• driverFromPJ on Feb 18, 2012 at 10:07 am

these cars mean the world to their owners, and for Proton to remake it, is already great! (why do you think they still have these cars with them all these years and in it’s modest condition?). the workmanship by R3 seems comparable to the budget that Proton might has initially put up in the first place. granted that there are room of improvements on the finishing and overall design, but I think proton should have done more in term of marketing and take this opportunity to reconnect to it’s wide-base customer.

realistically guys, not all of us can afford a good re-modifications of our car, let alone a full remake like what R3 has done. if you have something good / positive feedback, ok la. if not, no need to bash.

btw, can the bashers reveal their ride, before commenting? kinda fair to even include the pic of their better-than-proton ride, eh? that’d do more justice..

• ZenZarray on Feb 18, 2012 at 3:51 pm

Most of comment just complain the way the car is ugly….the car look the same. . .c’mon la…they do it for free…free new spray…free new cushions..free overhaul…free new rim…and etc…what do you expect from R3?? mod iswara to supercar??

• fraz006 on Feb 18, 2012 at 5:54 pm

hate the rim design.look like 12″

• CarFreak on Feb 18, 2012 at 7:40 pm

Come on la proton.give us malaysian a break.proton can simply get a persona or a gen2 to replace this iswara.no need to susah susah makeover.just make over sikit2 je.

• Eddie on Apr 18, 2012 at 8:11 am

i want to make over my iswara, mana bengkel yang boleh buat camni?