Seventh-gen Porsche 911, the 991, launched in Malaysia

Porsche’s seventh-generation 911 has arrived in town – the vehicle was officially introduced last night in Sepang by Sime Darby Auto Performance, not just to the press but a veritable host of Porsche customers.

The 991 Series, which was announced last August before making its debut in Frankfurt a month later, is available in Carrera and Carrera S forms. The Carrera wears a 3.4 litre flat-six lump, and though downsized from the previous 3.6 litre displacement offers five horses more than before in terms of output, with 350 hp at 7,400 rpm. Maximum torque remains unchanged at 390 Nm, though now at 5,600 rpm compared to 4,400 rpm previously.

The Carrera S, meanwhile, retains the 3.8 litre configuration for its mill, and of course power – as well as torque – are up, with the unit putting out 400 hp and 440 Nm, 15 hp and 20 Nm more than previously. Both variants are equipped with the seven-speed PDK transmission, with SDAP electing not to introduce the 991 with the new seven-speed manual box, though die-hard stick shifter fans can get such an example through request.

We’ve already written about the car, so no point expounding too much about it again. Some quick points for a recap – for trivia, the company highlights the point that though it may not be obvious to the eye, 90% of the 991 is new (the platform among them), and the car is 14 seconds faster on the Nurburgring than its predecessor and offers 16% less fuel consumption than before.

Additionally, the wheelbase is now longer, and combined with a wider track width at the front, offers the new car improved tracking and roll stability at high longitudinal and cornering speeds. Overhangs have also been trimmed.

As for pricing, SDAP is in the process of finalising the prices for the new car, which should be completed in the next month or so – at the launch last night, only the duty-free (i.e Langkawi) pricing was available, and that’s RM430,000 for the Carrera and RM490,000 for the Carrera S. The cars come with a four-year free service/maintenance and warranty programme.

Anthony Lim believes that nothing is better than a good smoke and a car with character, with good handling aspects being top of the prize heap. Having spent more than a decade and a half with an English tabloid daily never being able to grasp the meaning of brevity or being succinct, he wags his tail furiously at the idea of waffling - in greater detail - about cars and all their intrinsic peculiarities here.

• till now doppelkupplung really impress me how quick the transition happen.

• In terms of design and shape I prefer the Cayman over this..

• quottro on Feb 18, 2012 at 12:45 pm

when? when will i be able to afford one…. oh man~

• Boring design..

• Gabriel the Angel on Feb 18, 2012 at 3:25 pm

Anthony, based on the Langkawi price, can you give us an estimate how much it will cost if bought in Semenanjung?

Anybody can help with this?

So, is it cheaper or more expensive than the existing C2S or C2?

• VoidDance on Feb 18, 2012 at 4:55 pm

Refer here on how to calculate car price.

http://funtastickodesign.wordpress.com/2012/01/12/cara-pengiraan-cukai-bagi-kereta-cbu-ckd/

Langkawi price (minus how much profit seller want to earn) + cbu import duty at 30% + excise duty at 105% + sales tax at 10%.

No, I do not know the exact price.

• focus tdci on Feb 19, 2012 at 8:14 am

usually 911s are close to 1juta rm. anyway, a cayman s is nearly as good and cost less than 600k. but if you are a true porsche fanboy and got 1 juta rm burning a hole in your apek shorts, only rear engine 911 will do. Google the beautiful “Singer 911” for more 911 porn.

• Which 911 are you referring to?. The base 911 Carrera is no where near 1 juta and probably better than spending on a cayman S. 911 Turbo is of course well over 1 juta.

• Gabriel the Angel on Feb 18, 2012 at 3:30 pm

Isn’t it pretty stupid to launch a car without giving proper pricing? Especially when Malaysians are very particular about pricing, including the very wealthy. Though the car is 90% new, the old 997 is a better car for it is truly a Porsche. This car, may not be a “true Porsche” as Volkswagen had already bought up Porsche by then and probably using a lot of VW parts.

That is why you see the Cayenne and Toureg same shape and same parts.

• Ring Master on Feb 18, 2012 at 4:05 pm

Its even dumber not to launch your product on a promised dated. Car makers usually will negotiate with the government for a good pricing for their cars.

And many super-rich people don’t really care how much they pay for a brand new sportscar like this, as long as they can get it first. Try to be rich first dude, then you know the feeling!

• Gabriel the Angel on Feb 18, 2012 at 10:58 pm

I am pretty rich, so what feeling are you talking about? As far as I know, super rich people are the ones concerned about pricing. Its only idiots that think that rich people don’t really care how much they pay for something.

• value on Feb 19, 2012 at 3:38 pm

Don’t confuse ‘price’ and ‘value’. If you are as you say ‘super rich’. You’d definitely know the difference

• David Matthew on Feb 20, 2012 at 3:40 pm

He did not say he was super rich, just pretty rich. That is a big difference.

• nonono on Feb 20, 2012 at 5:06 pm

pretty rich? maybe yes but then maybe not. i think pretty stupid for sure, coz it takes one of the same to call another an idiot.. just because of differing views… nah, he can’t afford a Porsche.

• Ghanapathy on Feb 21, 2012 at 10:31 am

nonono, jealous and sour grape? Try working harder instead of sleeping too much, maybe then, you too can afford luxury

• harris murad on Feb 19, 2012 at 12:00 am

very true ring master.
        those lucky people dont care how much they have to pay as long as they can get their hands on the toys they want!

even saw an ‘avantador’ there last night.
        the towkay owner acted selamba as if that is a normal car hahahahha!

btw, i wonder how that feeling is, being freaking rich.
        hmmmm

• sedapnya on Mar 17, 2012 at 11:52 am

i don’t know how’s the feeling myself, but for certain super-rich people involved in the “cow scandal”, they now also begin to feel what’s it like to go to prison…. ha ha ha ha…

• LOL. It never ends. When the 996 was launched. Public complained that it was less Porsche than the 993 and like wise the generations before. There is no such thing as a “true” or “false” Porsche. There is only the Porsche of today. Anyway there is so much Audi/VW parts sharing anyway since as far back as anyone can remember because Porsche and VW/Audi are historically linked anyway. Having said that is there any cars in the VW/Audi group using Porsche 911 powertrains, chassis or bodyshell? The answer is simply NO.

• shawal on Feb 18, 2012 at 3:44 pm

best looking 911 , with the best looking interior too, it feels very special indeed…

• confused on Feb 18, 2012 at 4:15 pm

I don’t know how people got attracted with this 911. It looks almost the same despite some flashy thingy here and there, re-shaped bumper. It’s like an endless facelift.

One word; bland.

• GT3Hazmi on Feb 19, 2012 at 11:10 am

If you’re about to say that Porsche 911 has boring looks, endless facelift, only re-shaped bumpers etc then you know nothing about Porsche 911. The Porsche 911 is not going to have major change in it’s design because it’s revolution, not evolution. Porsche designer has already had the best recipe for this car since the first generation. I bet other sports car manufacturer cannot beat Porsche using 1970s design with slightly minor change.
      That makes the 911 so special.
      If you think Porsche designer are the laziest designer in the world, take a look at Cayman, Cayenne and Panamera first.

• Lim Kuan Seng on Feb 20, 2012 at 1:49 pm

You are wrong lah. Banyak cerita but wrong facts. Its evolution and not revolution.

• You say you don’t know so let me tell you why..
      1. You haven’t seen it in real life :)

• By the rich for the rich only. The rest of the ordinary folks pls look elsewhere

• gavin on Feb 18, 2012 at 6:27 pm

Oh look recession on the way, no wait

• VOLVO FOR LIFE on Feb 18, 2012 at 6:28 pm

porsche marketing fail. no pricing. off to the recon guys then.

• Black Dog on Feb 18, 2012 at 6:52 pm

Anthony, why so confusing, 911 or 991? The blue pix clearly states 911. Don’t understand lah

• Anthony Lim (Member) on Feb 18, 2012 at 7:12 pm

The seventh-generation Porsche 911 is identified by its code, which is the 991 Series. The previous gen was the 997, the ones before that the 996 and 993. The 911 nomenclature is for the car proper.

• with the price disparity between langkawi and the mainland, perhaps there is a business case where someone can lease a langkawi registered porsche to mainland motorheads for a certain amount of time for a reasonable fee.

i’ve never bothered to know this, but i assume the langkawi car need to spend an xx amount of time per year in langkawi before the taxman homes in; so for yy period of the year it can earn its $$ in the mainland and i’m sure there are many takers.

thinking about it, the biz model is no different from ‘that oldest’ profession; but hey whenever there are willing buyers, there’s gonna be willing sellers too.

i don’t mind driving the car down to semenanjung to the willing buyer, that will be a super task… (oh no, someone gonna call me something for doing that job!!)

• Doesn’t work. You’re allowed to drive the car four weeks on the mainland only. Otherwise everybody would do so and register his/her car in Langkawi… ;)

• LOOK THE SAME 2 ME…

• I thought the badge was suppose to be written as ‘911 Carrera’ instead of just ‘911’ only. Anybody know why?

• Diablo on Feb 18, 2012 at 11:11 pm

Photos can’t do it justice. Until you see it in the flesh.. you’ll think its just a facelifted 997 etc but actually there are quite a bit of significant dimensional changes. You’ll see it noticeably different to previous 911

• lihwoei on Feb 18, 2012 at 11:14 pm

wellcome to Malaysia…!!!

• autobizz on Feb 19, 2012 at 3:08 pm

this is a marketing strategies .

Let you guess and chat about it..then it will getting popular..

• kereta lembu on Feb 19, 2012 at 8:29 pm

Only true Porche fans will understand and appriciate the Porche legacy and design. The 911 is legendary and will remain that way for a long long time. Sometimes its easier to design something new rather than being restricted to the traditional shape and design of a Porsche. For those who doesn’t understand the whole Porche Concept, there’s always a Ferrari or Lamborghini waiting for you :)

Anyways, beauty is in the eyes of the beholder and everyone is entitled to their own opinion.

• Joe Radzif on Feb 20, 2012 at 1:26 pm

saya sokong tuan hamba….
      akoo memang peminat 911 dari dulu sampai la ni…

• Dr Mamak on Feb 19, 2012 at 8:58 pm

Some say i’m senile that i should stay home and take care of my cucucicit. No matter how i will be trading in my old cayenne for nineoneone yay!

• XC70XC on Feb 20, 2012 at 6:04 am

The only 3rd all new Porsche 911 ever released. The duty free price is actually good value. Wonder what standard equipment does the 991 series comes with. Anthony, any idea?
    All I know is that over here, need to tick the option box for PASM, Sports Chrono, PCCB (Porsche Creamic Composite Brakes), PDK etc. Even metallic paint is not part of the standard package. Seven speed manual gearbox is still the way to drive a Porsche despite PDK is faster and more fuel efficient.

• Anthony Lim (Member) on Feb 20, 2012 at 10:45 am

Not too sure about the entire kit list as to what’s standard and what’s on the option box for the 991, for example the PDCC active roll stabilisation and PTV (Porsche Torque Vectoring, in this case PTV for manual tranny and PTV Plus for the PDK). What I do know is that PASM is standard on the Carrera S, option for Carrera. The ceramic brakes are still optional.

• Joe Radzif on Feb 20, 2012 at 1:27 pm

Saya tak kaya…
    saya dapat berangan pakai kereta ni pun sudah…

tapi utk 911
    saya target untuk memiliki 964 satu hari nanti…
    amin….

(Gravatar akoo yang kaler hijau ni – Carrera GT tau…)

• blackjkx on Feb 20, 2012 at 4:24 pm

Pls read feb’12 malaysian topgear and you’ll learn the 911

• what the hell! why ppl in langkawi and labuan can buy cheap car and we all in other states have to pay double for the price of one car? what the hell! not fair!