Toyota Prius C sighted being transported along LDP

This Toyota Prius C in the flagship “Citrus Orange Mica Metallic” colour scheme was sighted by reader Alex Tan on the LDP highway near Bandar Utama – you can see actually Media Prima‘s building in the background.

With just one Prius C transported on a truck, this is most likely a display car (as opposed to a customer delivery which usually involves multiple cars on a trailer) being shipped to either a showroom or perhaps a shopping mall roadshow.

It looks like a public launch is going to happen very, very soon and UMW Toyota is already teasing the impending arrival of the Prius C as well as a revised version of its larger sibling, the New Prius via its “Rethink The Way You Drive” campaign. As a recap, you refer to our previous stories on the Prius C and the 2012 New Prius for preliminary specs and pricing.

After dabbling for years in the IT industry, Paul Tan initially began this site as a general blog covering various topics of personal interest. With an increasing number of readers paying rapt attention to the motoring stories, one thing led to another and the rest, as they say, is history.

• Jeremy Clarkson on Feb 18, 2012 at 10:33 pm

The design of Prius is getting better and better. The first gen seriously looks like piece of s***

• jenny ping on Feb 18, 2012 at 11:14 pm

2nd!!!!I see my office…huhu..

• But this Prius look like elongated Myvi only wor..

• VOLVO FOR LIFE on Feb 19, 2012 at 12:53 am

dafuq did they even come out of your mind

• Wisdom on Feb 19, 2012 at 10:02 am

Saw the interior. Its really myvilike standard…

• Jeremy Clarkson on Feb 19, 2012 at 11:53 am

Since Myvi is Toyota Passo.. And prius is also toyota, so same manufacture will share some design in common .

• driver on Feb 19, 2012 at 7:51 pm

but they don’t share the same price.. hehe..

• replying to @driver

of course not same price dude.. this is a hybrid card for god sake.. if its not a hybrid card and u take away those TAXES, it will range between the myvi price range

• OMG…This is a Hybrid with C-segment car features…well done….Myvi…can beat Savvy…lah.

• kukujiaoMartialArt on Feb 19, 2012 at 6:19 pm

Okie I m more interested on WHEN will the launch of Camry Hybrid 2.5Q just recently launched in taiwan…. Hold your Fire n wait for the camry hybrid mate!!

• alldisc on Feb 20, 2012 at 10:19 am

c’mon lah. 1st prius was launched 15 years ago.

just compare peug 308 and 306, exterior and interior especially. a lot of difference right?

compare current FD civic to SO4 @ civic EK.

compare volvo S60 to 850

compare saga BLM to iswara

compare E90 3 series to E36.

• Eugene Tan on Feb 18, 2012 at 10:48 pm

Heard from a friend, Prius C launching on 24th Feb!

• if priced cheaper than the insight then it should be a great alternative to the yaris, or even the vios for that matter.

• VOLVO FOR LIFE on Feb 18, 2012 at 10:56 pm

welcome back to toyota’s “soul”

• 123GO on Feb 18, 2012 at 11:02 pm

The official price is out RM97K …
    Is really nice and worth every penny for a green car.
    7 airbags as well

this is so sweet !! can’t wait to test drive ..

• Price confirmed around RM97K … lower than expected … :)

• paparadzi on Feb 19, 2012 at 1:39 am

Toyota Malaysia website still list it at RM103 990.

And I read somewhere that the waiting list is already 6 months….Anyway the Toyota Hybrid system is better than Honda’s.

• fanta on Feb 19, 2012 at 11:12 pm

Honda Insight IS NOT FULL HYBRID…still need using a lot of oil.
        Only Prius is FULL HYBRID !!!

• Wisdom on Feb 20, 2012 at 2:11 pm

Not oil bro. Fuel.

Full or less full hybrid, both recorded pretty much similar real world mpg, being prius 20km/l and Insight 19km/l.
          (http://www.fuelly.com/car/toyota/prius/2011) (http://www.fuelly.com/car/honda/insight/2011)

Prius C, estimated 21-22km/l. Real world driving. Toyota even reject EPA test initially.

• DavidB on Feb 20, 2012 at 2:54 pm

neither the Prius or the Insight is the future. The future is in plug-in hybrids or REEVs. And that’s a fact.

The only reason why car companies keep churning out all these “parallel” outdated hybrid nonsense is because so much of their R&D money has gone into it that they have to get some back, not because that is the best technology out there.

• Wisdom on Feb 20, 2012 at 6:05 pm

Talking about REEV, where the hell is Exora REEV?

• Nizam80 on Feb 19, 2012 at 12:21 pm

Great! I don’t like Toyota that much, but this is good news for hybrid buyers. More competition and having more choices is always good for consumers.

• OTR RM97K… Insight can ta pau.

• insight is horrible..
      hate cars that stops the aircond when the car stopped..
      just fan only..imagine stuck in traffic jam

• Just switch eco off la.. but what hybrid is this.. need to switch eco off coz of aircon.. lol

• Wisdom on Feb 19, 2012 at 10:01 am

I think it depends on the owner whether want to extend the idle stop or release the brake and aircond resume as normal.
        Also switching off the eco mode.

• pendekar mata satu on Feb 18, 2012 at 11:57 pm

nice hatchback + launch next week + price tag below 100k = yeaaayyyyy

• JaredDavid on Feb 19, 2012 at 12:10 am

saw this on a trailer on the way to shah alam plant.

• Jolly_idiot on Feb 19, 2012 at 12:13 am

Ops my new car spotted by paultan. The driver is actually delivering it to me. I import it from Japan.

Thumb me updown!

• likehondanotsomuch on Feb 19, 2012 at 11:18 pm

u are one jolly idiot,,,u makes me laugh,,,i thumb u up,,,,hahahha

• Heard the launching date is on Feb 26th?

• cipan on Feb 19, 2012 at 12:22 am

Now they lower the OTR pricing from RM103,900 to RM97,000.
    Why…??

• Heard the launching date is Feb 26th?

• seancorr on Feb 19, 2012 at 12:40 am

Lower than the initial price which is good…prolly a marketing trick so we all think its cheaper haha but looking at the spec…it is better than the Insight so no complains on that.

So Mr. Honda, how would you price the Jazz Hybrid then? =]

• thunder cats on Feb 19, 2012 at 3:10 am

heard that jazz is rm 85 k n now bringing in insight facelift,,,I’m not salesman,,,,,,I got info

• civicEK on Feb 20, 2012 at 11:13 am

yerp, jazz hibrid is otw besides insight 1.5L also coming to town some time dis 1st quarter!

• F Fiesta on Feb 19, 2012 at 6:42 am

The overall design copy cat from Ford Fiesta but in ugly way

• DArkerMarker on Feb 19, 2012 at 8:26 am

too early to say the car is a bargain, Have to see the specification, etc as well as design of the interior….

• RedBeanBun on Feb 19, 2012 at 8:26 am

lets see whats the spec and price…toyo always milk customer out..

• RedBeanBun on Feb 19, 2012 at 8:31 am

I got a feeling Leaf is coming next..:P

• everybody keep saying this car is better than inisght.spec wise i oni see sumthings better:bigger engine than insight,different hybrid system,7 airbags,push start and the touch tracer thing on the steering wheel and TRC.but we all know how boring toyotas are

But insight has space,2 ps more power although lower cc engine,real time guidance,colour changing meter display,eco score function,auto light and wipers,honda’s hybrid system allows power to go directly to the wheels,making it more fun to drive

SO each car has its advantage and disadvantages.wats the point of bashing

• Johan on Feb 19, 2012 at 11:30 am

Air cond shutdown when u at d traffic light

• Turn off the ECO mode then.use real time guidance to help u achieve fule economy.

• fanta on Feb 19, 2012 at 11:20 pm

U R FROM JUNGLE !!!
      Prius is far2 away canggih than Honda insight stupid.
      Insight is not FULL HYBRID ok !!!

• DavidB on Feb 20, 2012 at 2:50 pm

Full or not.. what difference does it make when a “full hybrid” cost 40k more and can only give 1sen extra savings per KM as compared to Insight. You won’t make back your money…

And any hybrid that still runs off a petrol engine is dumb anyway. The world is moving to plug-in hybrids.

• core check ball on Feb 20, 2012 at 3:01 pm

cannot say stupid lah..both hv smart system.stupid is just 4 people who don’t think how smart it is.

• Wisdom on Feb 20, 2012 at 9:50 am

Engine bigger but a lot of Malaysian didnt know that the engine run under ATKINSON cycle, which is very low in output on nominal cc.

Another downside on atkinson cycled engine, the power delivery is stagnant, while otto cycle (normal combustion engine), driver can feel the power when it comes to peak torque/hp.

The one u feel in prius is torque provided by the electric motor. The dependent on electric system is higher. This is why if the HSD system fails, usually it cant be started and have to be resolve.

Insight using simpler system, but can operate like a conventional car if there’s a problem with IMA system. There a normal starter motor & the cvt system is conventional.

So any hybrid system have it pros and cons.

• alldisc on Feb 20, 2012 at 10:25 am

prius C recorded 80km/L during tests.

the standard prius is good enough to deliver 20km/L.

I am more than happy if Prius C can give 40km/L. it is like honda ex5 already… as CBT described it.. 2 weeks and only refill once.

• Low2215 on Feb 20, 2012 at 11:00 am

i doubt it can get 80km /l , a prius , if you drive normally , get about 22km / litre , if i am not mistaken , prius c is more or less about that .
          prius C is lighter , but the engine and battery is smaller too .

Anyway mileage depends on how you drive and the road condition , you can achieve great mileage ( up to 30 km/ litre ) if you accelerate smoothly and make use of regenerative braking , and drive like an uncle ..

• Wisdom on Feb 20, 2012 at 1:59 pm

Reset the mileage after refuel. Old trick….

• alldisc on Feb 20, 2012 at 3:32 pm

sorry, my bad. it is 82mpg actually… or 35km/L. not 80km/L

run alldisc.. runnn…. ha ha ha

• Paint on Feb 19, 2012 at 10:12 am

Saw a new M5 transported along ELITE, heading KLIA direction, after Puchong exit. If only I had a camera at that time….

• Looks like a Jazz especially from the back…but who cares…? I only hope the equipment and trim level will be good enough…

• AripSon on Feb 20, 2012 at 9:38 am

One glance, it looks more like Ford Fiesta… ;-)

• Peter on Feb 20, 2012 at 5:00 pm

FIesta sucks to the max la… Overpriced and not reliable car. For me better take Forte, Mazda2, Swift or Inspira.

• darkVios on Feb 19, 2012 at 10:46 am

It will launch next week 21th, at Sunway Pyramid. I will be there as Toyota Merit Member.

• Rather take the original Prius since this Prius C is actually a downgrade version and only can be comparable with Myvi’s quality. Eventhough it’s cheaper, alah membeli, menang memakai.

• cipan on Feb 19, 2012 at 5:59 pm

Walawehhh……Perodua build quality is now higher than those cbu from japan?Waa…Japan must be doom….after this better build all car in msia je lah….
      haiyaaa…belum tgk lagi prius c betul2 dh ckp myvi quality……

• how to compare p2 to toyota ? my alza drove for 2 years , still got whole bunch of problems . wind noise , aircon clutch , aircon rising , poor noise isolation , weird noise when driving , car seat problem , steering sound , light buzzer not on when light is run on , sound like tick tick tick when driving in the rain , as the poor roof isolation .if you want to visit the p2 sc regularly , then buy from them … you might waste few hours for them to fix 1 item , then few month later , the problem occurs again … if I bought the used car , then I can accept the problems , but if bought in new , then where is the qc ? the parts are so fragile .

• alldisc on Feb 20, 2012 at 3:35 pm

welcome to the club. i thought by buying a naza citra will avoid me all those problems. turns out, after 8 months I was facing 16 problems with my car and nazakia finding all kind of excuses to avoid from providing answers.

sorry off topic, now back to prius C.

• those who bought jazz and yaris last year just got screwed really hard….

i think i can get really cheap 2nd hand jazz very very soon ^^

• Maserati on Feb 19, 2012 at 4:33 pm

This is a superb car. And yes waiting list is about 6 months. Can kiss those korean makes goodbye.

• Maserati on Feb 19, 2012 at 4:34 pm

And this is way better than honda insight

• likehondanotsomuch on Feb 19, 2012 at 6:52 pm

nissan Leaf competitor !!!!!!

• alldisc on Feb 20, 2012 at 3:40 pm

nissan leaf travels for 175km only per full charge.

1 full charge requires 16 hours!!

that means —> from melaka to penang in 4 days!!
      * including 2 days of recharging.

• OilChange on Feb 19, 2012 at 7:34 pm

and how much is the battery again?

• driver on Feb 19, 2012 at 7:59 pm

Paul, perhaps a head to head comparison with insight is worthwhile..

• Paul Tan on Feb 19, 2012 at 7:59 pm

Definitely.

• …and just for fun, put the 320d/FF Tdci as an alternative FC champ…..but wt power/torque for fun driving ; )

• I got my Prius C last week and you guys only talking about it now?

• Dr Mamak on Feb 19, 2012 at 8:47 pm

But i want my Prius V …

• Wisdom on Feb 19, 2012 at 11:13 pm

its a good car for a single or as 2nd car. family? 2xx liters boot space no place to put stroller + baby basket + pampers + baby toys + baby mattress + baby bag + baby baby baby ooh like…. baby baby baby noo like…

prius boot 440 liters
    insight boot 410 liters

• gotodmc on Feb 20, 2012 at 12:46 pm

it is a single or a couple’s car. not a family car. more likely appealing to gen Y buyers. and yes i agree with u, 2nd car. “C” stands for City according to the reviews found in youtube.

• gotoDMC on Feb 20, 2012 at 12:46 am

check out the review http://www.youtube.com/watch?v=OPXVhV_kk-w&feature=related .. looks small. tempting but need to see and test drive it personally :)

• apexg2 on Feb 20, 2012 at 8:13 am

haiya…dun compare this Prius C with Insight la, if compare to Jazz Hybrid is ok la…if compare with Insight, sure2 insight is bigger in spacing aspect…wake up la…dun oni bash……u say this cheap that not cheap….then u ada beli ka?kalau takde beli, just shut la…haiyo…compare its real compatitiors, Jazz Hybrid…..if in that case, me oso want to compare with myvi la…haiyo…

Prius C….erm, not as aspected! smaller than expected…n for sure, this car will sell…and guess what, Vios TRD sure hard to sell after this with Prius C selling that price…

one more time….wake up guys! dont bash,supports!

• IS_vs_PC on Feb 20, 2012 at 10:26 am

insight?? for sure i will not buy…. reason is tall people cant sit well at behind, Tested.

• Wisdom on Feb 20, 2012 at 2:19 pm

Lower roofline for better aero?

I thought in Malaysia we got a lot of sporty driver who likes to cut their springs and convert the seat to used recaro’s, and driving in slouch position to get closer feeling to the road, better aerodynamics and neck-break handling…. ;P

• IS_vs_PC on Feb 20, 2012 at 4:45 pm

i dont think this is sport car….. ;p

• Wisdom on Feb 20, 2012 at 5:51 pm

Malaysian likes sports car but can’t afford one, thanks to tax.
            End up all model from all brand will have ‘sporty’ version…

• if jazz hybrid 85k vs this prius C 97k, which one u will go to?

• thinkerr on Feb 20, 2012 at 11:34 am

Prius C. Proven hybrid technology.

• Wisdom on Feb 20, 2012 at 2:29 pm

Jazz make more sense. More practical. Prius C seems like an overhaul of the last 2nd gen prius.
      prius v also making sense but when will it be here and how much.

Some people like to buy technology, full or complete or better hybrid, at the end of the day its the km/l that matters.

Its like buying iphone4S (prius C) or Galaxy S2 (Jazz hybrid). Some say samsung not full-dualcore :p.

• Prius C??? Myvi Extreme SE??? Turun harga lagi please.. Hahahahahhaah

• want new car on Feb 20, 2012 at 11:08 am

KL selalu banjir….boleh redah air ke ? nanti meletop2 shorts…hancus..hangit.

• cipan on Feb 20, 2012 at 1:13 pm

errr….ade ke keta yg bole redah banjir….
      kapal selam scorpeon gov beli bilion2 pun fail tak bole menyelam….kahkahkah…:P

• gilabangang on Feb 20, 2012 at 2:40 pm

setupid punya cipan..
        klu tak boleh selam mcm mana sampai malaysia.. terbangkah?
        lu punya beloved boss LGE pon sudah kasi two thumbs up la

• Mambang Di Langit on Feb 20, 2012 at 3:36 pm

gilabangang lagi BODOH Gila pulah tu.

Kapal Selam di tunda ke Malaysia pakai kapal tunda, kalo selam sampai Malaysia semua kru dah mampus sesat nafas lah bangang.

Saya bagi 2 thumbs down + 2 middle finger up kat hang ! Bahlol ! Unta ! Kelabu Asap !

• gilabangang on Feb 20, 2012 at 6:02 pm

dah la bongok, bangang tak boleh diajar pulak..

“KD TAR sailed from Toulon, France on July 11 and took 54 days to reach Port Klang, making stops at Jeddah, Djibouti and Cochin on the 6,000 journey, which included 32 days of submersion and 10 days of surfacing.”

– BERNAMA

• Carl Wong on Feb 20, 2012 at 3:44 pm

I’ll say it’s something between Jazz Hybrid and Insight for size. To each their own.

• fuelpump on Feb 20, 2012 at 4:51 pm

better beli cepat before they imposed back tax on hybrid car bila protong kuar keta letrik ….abisla…no more tax exemption…

• Wisdom on Feb 20, 2012 at 6:04 pm

Nice presentation & test drive for Prius C

http://www.youtube.com/watch?v=OPXVhV_kk-w&feature=related

However, i notice when the guy scroll over the multi-information display, Its recorded 41.6mpg, that is low 17.7km/l. I guess that is current consumption (during the test drive).

Later he scroll and displays 46.3mpg, about 19.7km/l. This might be the average consumption per tank.

More or less about the same with Insight and bigger Prius. It could get better after the engine wear down though.

• .. its luggage capacity?

• Ricky Goh on Mar 03, 2012 at 7:59 am

Hi,
    Can anyone tell me is Toyota Prius C can change the Alloy Rim from 15″ to 17″