New Toyota Prius c officially launched – RM97,000 OTR!

UMW Toyota Motor launched the new Prius c in Sunway this evening. The Prius c, known as Aqua in Japan, is an all new hybrid model for the B-segment, meant to go head-to-head with the Honda Insight. It has been teased before, but we can now confirm that the price is indeed RM97,000 on the road including insurance.

This RM97k price is quite a bit lower from the initial RM104k price estimated by UMWT last month, and makes the Prius c look even better value against the RM99,812.15 Honda Insight, which is its main rival. Till now, the brisk selling Insight has been the most affordable hybrid car in Malaysia, and the only one priced below RM100k.

We understand that the lower final price vs the higher initial estimate wasn’t a deliberate “strategy” but a result of hard work till the very end on UMWT’s part. We have to agree that it’s a great price for what’s on offer.

The Prius c is powered by Toyota’s Hybrid Synergy Drive “full hybrid” system, which here consists of a 1.5-litre petrol engine and an electric motor. The former is the 1NZ-FXE engine related to the one in the Vios. However, for this hybrid application, the VVT-i mill runs on an Atkinson cycle with a higher compression ratio (13.4:1) and unique valve open/close characteristics. It makes 73 PS and 111 Nm of torque.

The electric motor in question makes 61 PS and 169 Nm of torque, and the total system output is 101 PS. The motor is powered by a 144-volt nickel-metal hydride (Ni-MH) battery located under the rear seats (max output is 19.3 kW).

Other HSD components are the power control unit (inverter), a DC-DC converter, a step up converter and a hybrid control computer. The HSD system in the Prius c is 42 kg lighter than the HSD in the Prius, contributing to an overall low kerb weight of 1,140 kg.

Drive goes to the front wheels via a CVT gearbox. The Prius c rides on front McPherson struts and a rear torsion beam. Brakes consist of front ventilated discs and rear drums, the former providing energy regeneration to the battery. The steering system is EPS and the car rolls on 185/60 R15 alloys.

There are three selectable modes for the driver – Normal, ECO and EV. ECO reduces energy consumption by altering throttle response and air-con performance, because nothing comes for free! Go for EV mode and the car runs purely on batteries – this can be done at speeds of up to 45 km/h, and when you have sufficient charge, of course.

In the European combined cycle, the Prius c manages 25.6 km/l, which matches the Prius and is class leading. Toyota says that its 0-100 km/h of 10.7 seconds is also best in class.

Dimensions wise, the Prius c is smaller than the Honda Insight. Overall length for this standard shaped (no “signature hybrid look” here) five-door hatchback is below four metres, or 400 mm shorter than the Honda, but its 2,550 mm wheelbase matches the Insight. The width of both cars are identical as well.

Exterior aero reducing cues include the “pagoda” roof, “aerocorners” on the bumper, a flush underbody and aero stabilising fins around the car. The “under priority” trapezoidal front grille is designed for optimised aero/cooling.

Inside, the Prius c doesn’t have the Prius’ high centre console and tiny gear knob, but the dashboard is still interestingly styled. The Multi Info Display is a 3.5-inch full colour panel that shows everything from an Energy Monitor to an ECO Score. FC records are shown in a bar graph in 5-minute intervals.

Another cool feature is Touch Tracer from the Prius. The two control pads on the (flat bottom) steering wheel are touch sensitive, and when you press them, a duplicate image appears on the instrument panel. On the options list is UMWT’s DVD-AVN system – it’s a 2-DIN audio unit with 6.1-inch colour touchscreen, navigation system and reverse camera. It costs RM2,990.

The Prius c is richly equipped for the price. Besides the above mentioned unique features, standard kit includes seven airbags (front, side, curtain, driver’s knee), TRC (traction control), VSC (vehicle stability control), ABS, EBD, Brake Assist, auto climate control, cruise control and keyless entry with start button.

Five colours are available – pearl white, silver, black, citrus orange and red – the latter two were shown at the launch. The red car you see in our gallery comes with a full original Toyota bodykit, “blacked out” mouth and 16-inch wheels. These add ons are not available yet, but will be soon.

Once again, the Prius c is priced at RM97,000 on the road including insurance. The waiting list currently stands at “two to three months” according to UMWT.

Danny Tan loves driving as much as he loves a certain herbal meat soup, and sweet engine music as much as drum beats. He has been in the auto industry since 2006, previously filling the pages of two motoring magazines before joining this website. Enjoys detailing the experience more than the technical details.

• looks like myvi + corolla

• i_swear on Feb 20, 2012 at 6:59 pm

When I look on this picture

http://paultan.org/2012/02/20/new-toyota-prius-c-officially-launched-rm97000-otr/dsc_0016b-3/

It look like myvi lor. The aircond look ….. weird……..

• Gabla on Feb 20, 2012 at 7:12 pm

Why so pricy? Price in Japan is a lot cheaper. Thank to Proton, we have to pay more for imported cars. Oh wait, this is a hybrid so no tax on the car. So why the high price? A fat margin for UMW?

• Merc=Real Euro on Feb 20, 2012 at 8:37 pm

bro…u forgot one this in Malaysia there is no such thing as free market. Price is determined by Miti not UMW……So having said that to beat the system what UMW can do is give 3-5 years free services. That is what others are doing…..

• Gabla on Feb 20, 2012 at 10:23 pm

You have the cost of the car and you have the tax. Even though MITI dictates the price, the difference between the cost and the sale price is only the profit margin minus the tax. So if the price is higher, the profit margin will be higher since the cost remains the same.

• new proton looking good :)

http://funtastickodesign.wordpress.com/2012/02/20/panas-gambar-p3-21a-bocor-lagi-group-marketing-proton-tak-pantau-agensi-pengiklanan/

• As far as I know, Miti no longer dictate car prices quite long time ago. Car manufacturer only need to inform MITI and MITI will just approved it. I think the high prices is due to AP cert. Somebody is making lots of money out of it. Or UMW just simply want big fat margin..

• :) says :

Ugly

• JacKal on Feb 24, 2012 at 3:53 pm

You are partially right bro. MITI no longer fixes the prices of cars. The docket price needs to be approved by customs and the MOF. This is common knowledge to all who are senior managers in the automotive industry. Many manufacturers fight until the 11th hour to lower the docket price before any car is launched.

• You need to pay for AP cert which is 40k ++

• Wisdom on Feb 20, 2012 at 8:45 pm

Should only 10% sales tax left for the price tag.

The rest is UMW extra dough…

• kadajawi on Feb 20, 2012 at 11:03 pm

I thought hybrids are tax exempt?

• HollyFish on Feb 21, 2012 at 2:29 am

Y U NO blame Perodua as well? Because you are driving one? :)

• u r wrong…actually, thanks to produa! because they want to protect myvi and alza, thay hv to sell this for almost 100k. wtf!

• Wisdom on Feb 20, 2012 at 8:46 pm

If only they place the meter in front of the driver…..

• owh wowww.. loook at the dashboard..
      my god thats horrible..
      tak nak tunjuk plastik murah lagi??

• kimi_ on Feb 20, 2012 at 8:28 pm

The door panel looks awfully cheap and ugly with the matt silver plastic….gosh

for now, i still not interested in buying hybrid as i have read many reports that the battery change cost gonna same with the fuel saved. Greener environment, no use as i saw the bas kilang black smoke everyday on road.

So, i had rather buy 2nd hand white nissan LATIO sport 1.6 (A) hatchback (2008) for rm52k only.

• alhhin on Feb 20, 2012 at 10:51 pm

u probably right here hybrid dark and bright side :
          + fuel saver
          + environment friendly (in malaysia whjo care?)
          – Battery exchange equal to fuel you save
          – Unknown factory resale price

conclude Diesel engine rulezzz…….since Japanese car only built hybrid ,some more malaysia diesel quality suck……rather ride old-school car then gimmick car

• Stanley on Feb 21, 2012 at 3:00 pm

Eventhough battery exchange exual to fuel I save but I can enjoy the quietness of driving and bare in mins petrol price increase year by year

• dashboard new nissan vannette look nicer!

• Antisocial on Feb 21, 2012 at 7:49 am

How looks cheap also later sell like hot pisang goreng because it is Toyota

• This car looks cheap especially the inside. Is it CBU? Well, it certainly looks like it’s being assembled by Perodua. Just looks at the plastics. Even the folding mirror adjust button looks like the one in my Kelisa. UMW as arrogant as usual will always place their price at a fat margin, hoping to capitalize on Malaysians who for some blind reasons love Toyotas no matter what.

Oh btw, the sport version really qualify for #1 in Ah Beng’s car contest.

• Thunder on Apr 18, 2012 at 8:18 pm

Tax-exempt but still selling RM100,000 for such a small puny car? How UMW priced their cars is really beyond my understanding.

• mkhor7 on Apr 19, 2012 at 12:28 am

FYI the info below which you can get from Toyota SA for your understanding.
        Our Prius C is imported from Toyota Motor Asia Pacific Pte Ltd with AP granted to OTOMOBIL SEJAHTERA SDN BHD, a subsidiary of UMW.
        On the customs declaration form, FOB cost is RM66,198.43 plus Freight RM3,009.69and insurance RM58.88. 10% Sales Tax of RM6,926.70 is payable while Import and Excise duties are exempted.
        Total cost is RM76,193.70 at Port Klang. UMW has to add local distribution and marketing costs. Selling Price is RM93,967 (OTR is RM97,000). It seems UMW margin for Prius C could be below 18% ! (Initially the margin for UMW was to be over 25% at RM103900 OTR)

Imagine if no exemptions, 30% Import Duty is RM20,780.10 , 75% Excise Duty is RM67,535.33 and then 10% Sales tax is RM15,758.24 for this CBU car! The government forgo almost RM100k for this car!

FYI, PriusC here is full CBU Japan except for local Reverse Sensors and Alarm systems with cabin motion sensors, and the stick-on number plates.
        Audio headunit is oem from Pioneer DEH-M8247ZT a 2009 model with 4x40W output and value about RM220 online.

• VOLVO FOR LIFE on Feb 20, 2012 at 6:34 pm

nice. now a test drive report please.

• wow..so nice..value for money..the spec better and better than insight…i will choose this prius c…

• alldisc on Feb 20, 2012 at 7:01 pm

many ppl regretted buying the insight, surely.

• BYE BYE HONDA INSIGHT….WELCOME PRIUS C the cheapest Hybrid in Malaysia….

• Carl Wong on Feb 20, 2012 at 11:34 pm

BYE BYE TOYOTA PRIUS C….WELCOME JAZZ HYBRID the cheapest Hybrid in Malaysia….

• James on Feb 21, 2012 at 4:46 pm

welcome to hot air when you car is stopped. honda jazz

• Carl Wong on Feb 21, 2012 at 8:25 pm

Not a problem for me. I don’t have a hybrid yet and more than half of the time I use only the fan. Half a century ago humans didn’t have air-conditioning, we lived until today.

• Wisdom on Feb 20, 2012 at 8:52 pm

Count like that, everybody regret every-time new model launch….

I regret they launch the blender last time. I’m the owner of mortar and pestle.

• taboogen on Feb 21, 2012 at 7:42 am

Wisdom… you the man… i dont even think so the new generation or so call battery head knows how to use mortar and pestle…

• VOLVO FOR LIFE on Feb 22, 2012 at 2:27 am

don’t regret. the mortar and pestle has less reliability issues than the blender, is more efficient and goes from chilli to crushed in 4.4 seconds.

• Quattro on Feb 20, 2012 at 11:23 pm

May anyone explain how atkinson cycle work and how does it output?

• Wisdom on Feb 21, 2012 at 12:01 am

Kinda two stroke format, but more efficient. Power output very low but compensate by electric motor.

• Aaron on Feb 21, 2012 at 2:14 pm

Nope I read on website it is a 5 stroke engine.. Not 2 stroke

• Owner on Feb 21, 2012 at 5:12 pm

2 stroke in the sense piston detonated everytime it goes up. Yes that 5th stroke is ‘extended intake’ stroke which bleeds air+fuel back to the intake manifold.

• blackrythms on Feb 20, 2012 at 6:37 pm

c segment or b segment?

• blackrythms on Feb 20, 2012 at 6:38 pm

sorry….b segment it is

• i like !!

• Core check ball on Feb 20, 2012 at 6:42 pm

yeay!!my prius is odw….your prius too….

• kadajawi on Feb 20, 2012 at 6:43 pm

Mhh… that interior. I don’t know. But… a relatively reasonably priced and safe Toyota?! What is going on? That’s just wrong…

This one is tempting. Good FC, good safety, design so lala, but that’s to be expected.

• wow! really like to have it

• apishz on Feb 20, 2012 at 6:50 pm

now honda insigh owner can cry.. lol 1.5cc :D

• papa rich mama shop on Mar 21, 2012 at 7:27 pm

1.5cc , almost same 0-100kmh as insight .. lol ,
      insight easily tapau the prius at corner,, haha
      who cares, it hybrid economy car … to save gas
      whatever is the car , it depend on people who wanna buy it ..
      some love honda spec ,design , handling and all
      some love toyota spec and all that ….

• Jeremy Clarkson on Feb 20, 2012 at 6:53 pm

WOW 97000? GREAT! Not to be rude, btw I don’t like the A/C design

• Yong Tau Foo on Feb 20, 2012 at 7:19 pm

Nevermine lah..come to my kedai potong woksyop then we cn chge that a/c design..

• kevin lee on Feb 20, 2012 at 6:53 pm

umw making some sense now? finally, no overpriced toyota

• Until you remember hybrid tax still free..

• VOLVO FOR LIFE on Feb 20, 2012 at 9:32 pm

still got sales tax la

• Calculator on Feb 22, 2012 at 2:49 pm

Sales tax only 10%.

RM97K – 10% = RM87.3K

How come? In other market, it was priced only USD20K = RM60K.
          U telling me UMW net profit per car in RM28K.

RM28K i can refuel SAGA or MyVI for 467 times full tank. And i dont have to fork out RM60K for SAGA or MYVI.

Dont say you have to pay more for toyota coz this toyota really look cheap. See those dirty dashboard. Last time i saw that kind of door open indicator was from 1982 Accord.

• JacKal on Feb 24, 2012 at 4:08 pm

The car is CBU. Price from Japan also depends on volume commitment from local distributor or principal. Obviously, US will have a higher volume commitment and therefore enjoy a lower cost. Malaysia still selling small volumes of hybrid compared to US or Japan. When this car was launched in Japan, they had 60000 bookings, 5 times monthly production.

• mkhor7 on Apr 19, 2012 at 1:47 pm

@Calculator

Here is a big common mistake almost everyone makes.

OTR price of RM97k is not the same as the Selling Price by UMWT as it includes Insurance, JPJ Registration and Road tax. Actual basic Selling Price is RM93,967.

On the customs declaration form, FOB cost is RM66,198.43 , Freight RM3,009.69 and insurance RM58.88. 10% Sales Tax of RM6,926.70 is payable while Import and Excise duties are exempted = Total cost is RM76,193.70 at Port Klang.
            You can see UMWT margin is much below 20% after marketing, AP fee and other costs! (Initially it was to be about 25% margin if OTR price is RM103,900 , but strategic pricing to compete with Jazz Hybrid and Insight made this PriusC a great buy!!)

• lol.. that’s what i called UMW’s Reality distortion field

• pororo on Feb 20, 2012 at 6:56 pm

nice car.. but, hmmm, the dahboard looks kinda ugly….

• crz01 on Feb 20, 2012 at 6:57 pm

I jus got my CRZ…. too late!

• prius see on Feb 20, 2012 at 7:22 pm

not late lor…crz ok what..more sporty…

• RadzLee on Feb 20, 2012 at 7:23 pm

dont regret… crz is fun to dive. and beautifully sculpted too… i dont think this one excel at those 2 criteria.

• VOLVO FOR LIFE on Feb 20, 2012 at 10:34 pm

people why didn’t you all just buy a suzuki swift sport?

• alhhin on Feb 20, 2012 at 10:56 pm

tell me if you intend to sell your CRZ….hehe

• BN=barang naik on Feb 20, 2012 at 6:58 pm

I can see Insight owner regretted!..wakakaka

• excise duty sucks on Feb 20, 2012 at 10:09 pm

lets reserve judgement until we see the Jazz Hybrid which is supposed to be priced below the prius c.

i bet the dashboard looks better.

by the way, i think prius c and insight is two totally different segment so we are comparing the wrong things.

• Insightowner on Feb 21, 2012 at 12:18 am

I’m the owner of Honda Insight.

Why should I regret? I like the Insight very much. Been enjoying my time owning and driving one. Sometimes, I feel satisfy by just looking at it.

Even if they launch the Insight after this Prius C, I still choose Insight.

• insight_owner on Feb 21, 2012 at 1:17 am

yah.. I’m Insight owner too. Looking back what’s the priority, a real owner who wants better FC dun really looks at how big is the CC. As long as we can get bigger car with very good FC, we’re good. Plus the insight interior is comparable with this model. Please have a look at insight interior.. expensive futuriostic design. I’ve never get tired looking those dashboard panel with blue ambient lights …. damn .. awesome ….

• Ya….i agreed with the ugly dashboard…but bcos of the Full hybrid system and the features (especially the 7 air bags and push start button)…it worth to buy….

• Hybrid is Best on Feb 23, 2012 at 10:13 pm

Den u should regret…
          Insight is just parallel Hybrid….
          Prius C is full Hybrid…
          In term of FC Prius C is definitely better than Insight….

• Wisdom on Feb 24, 2012 at 9:07 am

Prius C test drive report…

http://www.youtube.com/watch?v=OPXVhV_kk-w&feature=related

Notice when the guy scroll over the multi-information display, Its recorded 41.6mpg, that is low 17.7km/l. That is current consumption (during the test drive).

Later he scroll and displays 46.3mpg, about 19.7km/l. This might be the average consumption per tank. Not bad but far off than expected 30++km/l

More or less about the same with Insight and bigger Prius.

Again, full or less full hybrid, both recorded pretty much similar real world mpg, being prius 20km/l and Insight 19km/l.
            (http://www.fuelly.com/car/toyota/prius/2011) (http://www.fuelly.com/car/honda/insight/2011)
            These are the actual figure from owners. Yeah some data might be arguable but remove the upper/lower limit, the average is about right.

• rashid on Apr 17, 2012 at 9:08 pm

If you want to save the fuel I prefer you to use kereta lembu “bullock cart”

• So how do you Insight owners like the aircond when caught in a traffic jam? i bet you don’t think of FC then.

• Owner on Feb 21, 2012 at 10:47 am

I have no problem going through traffic jam. Its not suddenly the air become hot. The cooling coil still cold and and emits cold air even after idle stop end. I think most Insight owner didn’t face any problem with that. Why should this be a reason for getting Prius C?

One factor i can think of is, Prius C compressor with electric motor sure expensive. Normal, belt driven Denso compressor already cost 3-4K original. Often compressor fail within 3-5 years. Besides preparing for 12K battery, Prius owner should also spare some money for the expensive compressor which is prone to fail in our hot country.

• mkhor7 on Mar 14, 2012 at 10:42 am

Our house aircons are all powered by electric motor (the better one has inverter motor), what’s so complicated with the one in Prius C?
            Furthermore, there’s no Belt to replace like those in our regular cars.

• alldisc on Feb 20, 2012 at 7:00 pm

umw is listening… and the price announced surely contains an element of surprise!!

Honda, the ball is in your hands ….

• toyota combine myvi combine lancer = prius c

• mrkthxbai on Feb 20, 2012 at 7:06 pm

the dashboard.. is just too ugly. imho, insight interior is much more better.

• zaman on Feb 20, 2012 at 7:07 pm

Myvi DNA

• seancorr on Feb 20, 2012 at 7:10 pm

Fianlly UMW is not being selfish and i guess they must have realized the super competitive market will eat them alive if they keep selling their cars at high prices. Now if they can adjust the prices of all the other Toyota models!

On the other hand Honda’s Insight kena sapu by this car. Totally doesn’t make sense for them to sell the Insight at that price point now. High margin of profit for HM! They better price the Jazz Hybrid below the RM90k mark to stay competitive.

• Honda Power on Feb 20, 2012 at 10:07 pm

Heard that Honda Jazz hybrid will be launched next month and it may be priced st around RM85K thus making it the cheapest hybrid on Malaysia. Honda Jazz hybrid looks nicer than Toyota Prius C.

• F n F on Feb 20, 2012 at 7:11 pm

i used to though my myvi has the most ulgy dashboard till i see this car’s dashboard and center console…

• mangata on Feb 20, 2012 at 7:12 pm

the interior looks sooo ugly and the plastic sucks…but a great car with impressive specs

• kington on Feb 20, 2012 at 8:22 pm

Many cars these days come with brittke plastics… even conti makes.

• tunguuu on Feb 20, 2012 at 7:13 pm

damn ugly interior..looks very cheapo!

• senol on Feb 20, 2012 at 7:14 pm

i think they are trying to make the exterior look “sporty”. sorry, i’ll have a CR-Z please…

• zizgas on Feb 20, 2012 at 10:19 pm

Honda engin ketinggalan zaman lor monkey…

• monkey on Feb 21, 2012 at 12:50 am

Ini Prius C guna enjin modify drp enjin vios la, 1 NZ-FE vs 1NZ-FXE. Ko lagi bengap drp aku….

• Hybrid Meevee

• Btw, please bring the GT 86 too..

• if cannot maybe u cn try get ae86…also good ma…wallao weh

• bujang on Feb 20, 2012 at 9:26 pm

AE86 too…

• Joker The Great on Mar 11, 2012 at 8:54 pm

FT86, will launch in Malaysia too in this year. around mid of the year, same as Camry. Altos will be around 3rd or 4th quarter

• They could have done a better job on the interior i feel. It feels half hearted.
    But for 97k? I’d go for this rather than Insight. I don’t reckon Insight can run on batteries only. or can it?

• It can,at low speed constant cruising the petrol engine will cut off.oni thing bout honda is that there is no EV MODE to set.but one way to look at it is that its hassle free.the car does everything for u

• Insightowner on Feb 21, 2012 at 5:25 pm

Depend on individual. If they like more gadgets, they like setting here & there on the screen, they like small & cute car as they’re cute and cuddly, Prius C suits well.

I like cars with nicer design especially the interior. Everyday i will face the dashboard so its better look nice. Insight dash looks very nice. Prius C plastic seems nasty and cheap.

• At last toyota launched a really value for money car….

• dodgeviper88 on Feb 20, 2012 at 7:25 pm

Not too sure if this is meant to fight with Insight cause it’s a whopping 40cm shorter than the Insight! I think a fairer comparison would be the honda jazz hybrid, which is rumored to be priced at around RM80k. Also the total ps doesn’t add up; the 1.5L engine makes 73ps while the electric motor makes 61ps to a total of 134ps, yet it is said the total output is 101ps.

• Gabla on Feb 20, 2012 at 8:49 pm

Power output is a product of torque and rpm so you can add up the torque but not the power output.

• when the car just running on battery. it takes only 61ps. While on purely engine, it’s a super inefficient output of 73ps which is equivalent to 1000cc engine or even less.
      When both run together, only 101ps is produced.

• RadzLee on Feb 20, 2012 at 7:26 pm

exterior design quite ok. but god… just look at the ugly dashboard! oh well… maybe it’ll look nicer in person

• glazee on Feb 20, 2012 at 7:27 pm

technically the car with this spec at this price is really great….

somehow the design (especially the rear) can be improved by a lot..

• Maserati on Feb 20, 2012 at 7:33 pm

Very very good car. A full tank of petrol can last u forever

• this time UMW gets some respect from me. good move!

• David D on Feb 20, 2012 at 7:36 pm

I’m no fan of Toyota in Malaysia, but this car is without a doubt, worth a serious look compared to the Insight. Granted, the Insight may have bigger boot space, but the Prius C really chops it up with its safety kit and convenience features, not to mention the HSD system which is smoother than Honda’s IMA system. One thing though, the interior of the Prius C is one of the most horrid Toyota interiors i’ve ever seen. I mean, seriously, they could’ve done much, much better with the dashboard.

• Maserati bz at event telling ppl how korean can go die.

• Joker The Great on Feb 25, 2012 at 11:37 pm

Always the same bias comment, from the proton persona started till KIA Forte ALSO the same… kakakaka

• ala..xder meter RPM la pulakkk.. :(

• bujang on Feb 20, 2012 at 8:09 pm

xde hal lah…kalu wat kt lua br bp jerk

• oleoresin on Feb 20, 2012 at 11:57 pm

Jangan jadi bodoh sgt. Wat kat kuar warranty void

• bujang on Feb 21, 2012 at 12:03 am

ape celup???

• insight_owner on Feb 21, 2012 at 1:30 am

battery hybrid kong …nak claim warranty.. warranty dah void .. makan biskut celup jer lah … Peace ! ..

btul gak nasihat bro tu .. nak claim warranty nanti macam2 hal sbb dah usik system

• Abuya on Feb 21, 2012 at 12:20 am

Myvi hybrid ni korang kata cheap price? Cuba tukar emblem tu kepada P1 or P2. Mesti korang jerit2 mcm org gila kata mahal. Pulak tu, pakat backup dashboard yg buruk. Mata korang dah lama tak basuh atau tak reti bezakan taik kucing dengan taik cicak? Bodoh lama tak abis dah datang bodoh baru.

So sapa ckp if dah takde tax pasti kereta luar murah? Jgn sebut fasal bateri mahal sebab if semua spec sama, just tukar emblem, korang dijamin meroyan jugak.

• ape ko memekak ni??ni antara kete hybrid yg termurah..n lg satu ko caye la sgt kerajaan xkene kan cukai import ley jd murah..jgn jd bebal la walaupun cukai import xde untuk kete hybrid,kerajaan wat cukai2 len lak yg kite xtau..duti eksais sume jadah tu

• nasurudin on Feb 20, 2012 at 7:53 pm

you all can say how ugly is the car, but every month, more than 5000 Malaysian will either buy a Vios, Camry Prius and Hiace

• zebulun on Feb 21, 2012 at 11:45 am

becoz Malaysian ppl like ugly car.. as long as the brand is TNH

• Honda on Feb 22, 2012 at 2:55 pm

Not TnH. But T only. Coz H usually have nicer design except our Freak.
        Sorry, Freed.

• William on Feb 20, 2012 at 7:56 pm

The interior looks so plasticky! especially on the door panel…..

• congrats UMWT on Feb 20, 2012 at 8:01 pm

I have to say this is actually really good value for the price. 7 airbags, VSC, and a more sophisticated hybrid system that can run on EV mode.

• originals on Feb 20, 2012 at 8:23 pm

just buy a myvi la, cheaper somemore.

• If think want to safe money, better buy saga flx 1.6 se.
        Got 50K extra drink fuel also cannot finish. If they say proton lousy, i dont mind driving lousy car with few tenth K in my pocket.

• jab fierce strong! on Feb 20, 2012 at 8:08 pm

not too shabby i must say when it’s being priced at 97k. styling is a love or hate affair, but if you see through it, this babe is worth every penny well spent! :D

honda need to step up the game if they wanted to compete. thumbs up for HSD and mehhhh to IMA. lol

• Wait till your HSD fail, cannot start, have to tow to SC, then faint when the bill come out.

IMA can also fail but it have normal starter and operate like a regular car… mehhhh

• Handling on Feb 20, 2012 at 8:10 pm

prius c poor interior, insight poor rear hatch..balance..anyone knows is it cvt with torque converter or clutch type?

• Gabla on Feb 20, 2012 at 10:28 pm

Planetary gear

• alldisc on Feb 21, 2012 at 4:46 pm

it uses CVT as the transmission. same as prius. same as insight.

advtange of CVT – better power delivery at all engine speed range.

• Merc=Real Euro on Feb 20, 2012 at 8:27 pm

price is ok…. but the interior is acquired taste…..
    just think as a an appliance…to get around a to b …. as frugal as possible..nothing more..
    I am surprise the G is allowing to sell at this price….anyway I prefer insight which is
    more car like…..one thing good is the price is comparable with insight….and not
    way off as if Toyota is more premium than honda..

• My goodness… the interior is definitely a let down… Insight wins way over this…

• donadoni on Feb 20, 2012 at 8:41 pm

umw, please kill me

• michaelooi on Feb 20, 2012 at 8:41 pm

The interior’s a turn off. I personally think it’s worse than some Protons…

• Merc=Real Euro on Feb 20, 2012 at 8:41 pm

This car will be a strong consideration for many only if the fuel subsidy is lifted
    and the fuel price rises to RM2.80 per liter. Then the looks and interior will become secondary…ha ha ha …

Hmm maybe that is the objective of Tax incentive for Hybrid…More cars on the road which are hybrid it is easier for G to remove the subsidy….Sounds like the perfect plan…..

• Stanley on Feb 20, 2012 at 8:47 pm

Honda jazz hybrid will launch soon… Around rm85k..

• buttons combo under LCD remain me of canon XP printer!

• Simon Ng on Feb 20, 2012 at 8:56 pm

The dashboard is really ugly. I wonder how the designers over look this? I honestly do not think Toyota leadership would not notice the ugly design when they first see the prototype.

Paul.
    Could this be a “watered down” design? I.e. Toyota is still have something hidden in their sleeves? Later come up with a “special edition” so that they can charge some more?

• Syahro on Feb 20, 2012 at 9:03 pm

Stop complaining about how it look.If you want better one,go to Lexus LH 200.i believe 97k is fair enough for this car.

• you think 100k is a small amount of money? ppl need to work hard and long to earn that and they have no right to complain?

the interior is seriously cheap and low rent given the price.

• U're fool on Feb 21, 2012 at 8:03 pm

97K fair for this kind of quality. U just flush your standard down the drain….

• Works on Feb 20, 2012 at 9:15 pm

even though the car maybe doesn’t fit some of malaysian taste, but somehow it’s great that UMW bring this car to cover some of their boring car that they bring here.slowly they prove to me that they are not boring company. hope honda malaysia can bring another excited hybrid to fight this car…

• Honda Power on Feb 21, 2012 at 10:54 am

Honda Malaysia is going to launch the CBU Honda Jazz hybrid next month. The price is rumoured to be around RM85K which will make it the cheapest hybrid car in Malaysia. Honda Jazz’s hybrid looks much nicer and the dashboard is a lot nicer and futuristic than Toyota Prius C. If you want to compare Prius C, please compare it with Jazz hybrid. You cannot compare Prius C with Honda Insight because Prius C is smaller and much shorter than Insight. Insight’s size is like the size of Honda City. Prius C can only be compared with Jazz hybrid. If Jazz hybrid is priced at around RM85K, it will be RM12K cheaper than Prius C and I’m sure it can beat Prius C. More Honda hybrids are coming our way. After Jazz hybrid, the Civic hybrid will be launched this year. So the hybrid car competition is solely between Honda and Toyota.

• alldisc on Feb 21, 2012 at 4:38 pm

prius C is shorter than insight but same cabin size – the wheelbase is similar. yif you want to move to a new house, get a van. or a lorry.

• Safety on Feb 21, 2012 at 8:39 pm

Same cabin size but smaller exterior. Sure the door, glass & panel thinner.

While toyota only advertise it equipped with 7 airbags and traction gadgetary, no figure on NCAP or GOA or NHTSA. I afraid occupants will die squeezed by 7 airbags during accident.

http://www.cars.com/toyota/prius-c/2012/safety-ratings/

• Kelvin on Feb 20, 2012 at 9:24 pm

A huge downgrade frm the prius i can say. Very CHEAPO feel especially the interior design

• WTH is with the dash? on Feb 20, 2012 at 9:31 pm

WTH is with the dash? That’s so 70’s.

• alldisc on Feb 21, 2012 at 4:43 pm

name 1 car in the 70s that has CD player.

or digital clock.

or.. push start button!!

• SAGA BeLum Masak on Feb 21, 2012 at 11:02 pm

I thought he ment The Delorion, Back to the future. That car for sure from the 70’s and have more nonfunctional gadget in it.

• WTH is with the dash? on Feb 20, 2012 at 9:33 pm

Power
    Prius C 1.5L : 54kW + 45kW (engine + motor)
    Insight 1.3L : 65kW + 10kW (engine + motor)

Torque
    Prius C : 111Nm + 169Nm (engine + motor)
    Insight : 121Nm + 78Nm (engine + motor)
    *Noticeably Prius C have a bigger motor.

Question: why Insight 1.3L produces more power and torque than Prius 1.5L ?

• littlefire on Feb 20, 2012 at 10:34 pm

Atkinson motor is different compare to Honda IDS-i engine.. In the end, Toyota engine still have better output compare to Honda Insight due to bigger cc..

• Insight kaki on Feb 20, 2012 at 11:10 pm

Because the toyota uses an Atkinson cycle internal combustion engine as opposed to the Otto cycle engine in the Honda

• Naz@AE111 on Feb 20, 2012 at 9:36 pm

what the hell happen to the dashboard?? its totally creepy to me.. and the meter, why its been put on the center like the vios style??

• Looks like P2 is gonna adopt this design into their next Myvi hybrid… the main question is, is it worth to pay RM97k for a myvi sized hybrid car? Unless you plan to drive this car for at least 10 years, I think its “cheaper” to get a myvi and use the balance cash for fueling up the myvi for another 10 years. Just my 2cents

• wtf.. the aircon part look like my old canon mp145 printer

• ‘In the European combined cycle, the Prius c manages 25.6 km/l, which matches the Prius and is class leading. ‘

Class leading? What class?

MAY 3, 2010 AT 4:53 PM BY DANNY TAN FILED UNDER CARS, HYBRIDS AND ALTERNATIVE FUEL

‘Fuel consumption? The previous gen Polo Bluemotion’s claimed figures was 26.3 km/l (3.8 litres per 100 km) and this car is expected to achieve 30.3 km/l (3.3 litres per 100 km) ‘

http://paultan.org/2010/05/03/volkswagens-3-cylinder-tdi-does-30-kml-in-polo-bluemotion/

???

• WTH is with the dash? on Feb 21, 2012 at 12:17 am

Malaysia sell this blue motion ?

• Ah, you’re talking about the ‘Malaysia class’.

Then, of course, the T is ‘class leading’… :D

• F Fiesta on Feb 20, 2012 at 9:59 pm

After I saw the pictures I may conclude that Ford Fiesta best buck! Every features Prius, Insight, CRZ got Fiesta already have except hybrid just for below RM90,000 only. More over they don’t have voice commands.

• Stanley on Feb 20, 2012 at 11:59 pm

Yap, fiesta is a good car actually and the spec is good

• insight_owner on Feb 21, 2012 at 1:22 am

I dropped my booking for ford fiesta after i went to KL motor show last 2 years and saw Insight hybrid. No regret at all. Dont tell me that I’m biased .. at my home already got my bro’s Fiesta .. and we know the performance. It’s a good car .. but still incomparable with Insight or Prius .. with tax still 80 – 90k .. without tax u know that it falls to which class .

• Beezyy on Feb 20, 2012 at 10:05 pm

The new Myvi lagi power lagi best HYBRID :D

• ThePolygon on Feb 20, 2012 at 10:05 pm

Is it possible the lighting makes the dashboard looks bad in the picture?… but seriously the bottom part button layout totally plastic toy car look. And what’s with the empty space below the square hazard lights button? Can put sticker I guess.

Other than that, this is as state of art hybrid as affordable money can buy!

• The Enthusiast on Feb 20, 2012 at 10:44 pm

The interior styling looks odd but it is cheaper than the Insight. That’s a good sell point. With 7 airbags, keyless entry and start button and traction control, at RM97k, it is quite a bargain considering the cost of fuel one would save driving a hybrid.

• walau eh…if anyone bother looking at d picture. FC at 2.7~2. 9L/100km. With 32L tank can get more than 1000km!!

• 25.6 km/l is 2.7~2. 9L/100km?

What calculation is that? :D

25.6km/l is 3.91l/100km (100 divided by 25.6)

• Mad Hater on Feb 20, 2012 at 11:09 pm

The interior design was made to look simple and not too confusing like a klingon ship. The plastics used in this vehicle are plant derived plastics or eco friendly plastics. It’s a hybrid not a rolls royce. At 97k it’s worth every cent. FULL HYBRID HSD. ONLY FROM TOYOTA. HSD combines both the ICE and the electric motors to produce enough torgue and PS for everyday driving. HSD doesnt favor either the motor or the ICE it combines both in HARMONY. This is Eco-tech guys not a Ferrari or some souped up shit. A sporty hybrid? get a Lambo.

• Power8003 on Feb 20, 2012 at 11:18 pm

Actually insight and prius hybrid technology are totally different. In Hybrid technology, definately Prius is more advance. For this price, definately it is a steal in Malaysia context. We cannot use to compare with US or Europe car price as in Malaysia when it is tax free, there are still element of taxes like Sales tax and AP ‘licensing fee’. I believe the AP fee is ard 30 – 40k, and also Toyota making more profit at the same time. I heard from a Honda salesman that Japan will always supply insight to Malaysia as the profit margin in Malaysia is best in the world. Therefore Malaysia car prices are still very expensive.

• Uncle Hond on Feb 20, 2012 at 11:18 pm

Hybrid, either Prius C or Insight for me CRZ is more suite to my taste.

• yh Inc. on Feb 20, 2012 at 11:25 pm

Good move Toyota. I can’t imagine the 2nd hand price of the Insight now and the sells of the new Insight. Feel very sad to them.

• Stanley on Feb 20, 2012 at 11:50 pm

Eventhought insight 1.3 but its very powerful and the interior is nicer compare to this prius c.

• u must be joking. Insight sucks!

• Stanley on Feb 21, 2012 at 5:28 pm

Please give sincere comments rather than jeopardise other brands. We all are car lover here and we like to share but not baseless information please.

• Insightowner on Feb 21, 2012 at 5:29 pm

Of course Insight sucks. It sucks air true the inlet manifold when the internal combustion engine operate. Prius C sucks too.

• Dr Mamak on Feb 20, 2012 at 11:35 pm

Woah… a 97k myvi

• shawal on Feb 20, 2012 at 11:51 pm

prius c is d car of the future for the masses, less showy in terms of design n quality but focuses more on economy and safety,
    id still prefer d insight cuz it looks nore hight tech n is more practical, bt both are d same underneath, honda is introducing d insight 1.5 soon, im sure itl land in malaysia soon before d tax free. incentive runs out.
    bt no doubt toyota have a sure fire winner on their hands,
    ev mode is useful when sneaking in n out of d house

• Carl Wong on Feb 20, 2012 at 11:53 pm

Good, at least it’s not a baby gear knob like the bigger normal Prius.
    A Prius can go for 800-1000km per tank. Prius C should be able to do the same, or even better with some hyper-miling skills, and even with a smaller fuel tank. As for CO2 emissions, Prius emits 89g/km, Prius C is even more fuel efficient so it should be lower than that. Kudos to all potential new owners because they will be driving the car with the lowest CO2 or maybe overall emissions on the road :)……….!!

• taboogen on Feb 21, 2012 at 8:14 am

like you car about CO2….. just saying it so you sound elegance… what a crap

• Carl Wong on Feb 21, 2012 at 8:35 pm

I don’t have a car for the time being, I like to exercise so I use my legs. Of course we all ’emit’ CO2 when we breathe LOL………….

• WTH is with the dash? on Feb 21, 2012 at 12:03 am

i will wait for the Jazz hybrid before committing my purchase, but at the moment its the Insight for me.
    This Prius C dashboard is a big NO NO NO!! And the colour, OMG!! What was Toyota thinking?

• BeemerFreak on Feb 21, 2012 at 9:25 am

err you guys also quite stupid… Honda’s Integrated Motor Assist is a serial hybrid assist where the engine is constantly turned on while Toyota’s Hybrid Synergy Drive is a parallel system where the electric motor can operate without the engine for certain periods.

Toyota’s technology is far more advance and guaranteed to save more petrol than Honda’s. Now with a very competitive pricing, why do you even want to consider the Honda? it is like Proton Perdana and Toyota Altis at the same price, which would you buy, that is no brainer right?

• alldisc on Feb 21, 2012 at 4:49 pm

let me add a bit bro… Toyota THS is a series-parallel type.

that’s why we call it a full hybrid.

honda’s are just mild hybrids. except FCX laa..

• Wisdom on Feb 22, 2012 at 3:23 pm

To be fair, both have their advantages.

Honda IMA system is fool-proof. If the battery packs die, it will operate like a normal car minus the fuel savings. It has secondary starter motor and there’s even a circuit breaker switch to disable the whole electric assist system. At the end of the day, u will still have a conventional car to drive around albeit low power with un-assisted 1.3 engine.

Prius HSD is advance but if the NiMH battery die, u cant start the car coz no power to spin MG1 (please learn MG1, MG2). Of course there will be warning and indicator before the battery dies. But its not fool proof which means, a fool owning a Prius and didnt bother on HSD fault warning will end up with an unusable car.

• MKhor7 on Mar 13, 2012 at 8:37 pm

The failure rate of Prius battery is under 0.001%, and the petrol engine can still start from the normal 12V systems.
            “If the traction battery has a problem, the Prius can be driven in a mode similar to the limp-home mode of a malfunctioning automatic transmission. It is slow and fuel economy is very bad. Reverse also will not work.”

• HoTsHoT on Feb 21, 2012 at 10:05 am

Think of this – this car is a CBU unit from Japan. The Japanese, simply put, are fine with the console. I’ve watched a few reviews from America and they don’t have a problem with it – but we may not necessarily agree when it comes to our shores.

If people can actually like it, then try to understand why. Too old for our tastes? Too avantgarde? I’d say the design is a throwback of the yesteryears – a re-imagination of a 70’s Japanese dashboard design. And frankly, it’s looks pretty well put to me.

• is this car has auto stop feature like insight and the air con will off together?

• alldisc on Feb 21, 2012 at 4:51 pm

all Toyota hybrid switches off engines when braking, or cruising, or whenever the driver release accelerator pedal.

the engine also switches off at speeds below 40kph.. provided driven with light foot.

the air-condition is on at all time since it is powered by a 650V battery so no issue there.

• Bongcs on Feb 21, 2012 at 1:04 am

Toyota AQUA

• Jolly_idiot on Feb 21, 2012 at 1:09 am

The engine compartment look rather complicated.

• Bongcs on Feb 21, 2012 at 1:23 am

So much to buy, So little to spend

• inderaloka on Feb 21, 2012 at 2:03 am

Interior macam interior van. Overall, kereta murah harga mahal.

• teelim on Feb 21, 2012 at 2:13 am

wtf? why does the dashboard look like its made of plastics that can be found in kancils?

• Danny, the 2nd&3rd pics on the main article do not sync to the actual pics, they are showing the nissan van’s dashboard/interior. Pls have a look, cheers.

• Danny Tan (Member) on Feb 22, 2012 at 7:26 pm

Kent, we’ve checked and the pics are in order, so it’s a little strange. Anyway, thanks for the note

• cheap myvi like interior.wonder why everyone making suching big fuss about this car.bigger engine but oni 3ps more than insight,boot oso small.plus do u know the Hybrid Battery Pack for Prius C is placed underneath the rear passenger seat.wonder if the passengers can feel the heat from the battery?how about radiation?just because its around rm 2800 cheaper and with a bigger engine and some gadgets everybody say its good.where is the futuristic hybrid look?where is the practicality in this car?what about the drive quality?there is more to a car than spec sheet.

• deftones on Feb 21, 2012 at 9:57 am

why are u making fuss here..go and test drive la to know all your question..rather than to put negative comment here..
      why dont you test drive and tell us here how it feels..thats more like a comment..

• i test drive cars for a living,dumbass.its my job

• deftones on Feb 21, 2012 at 6:49 pm

then change your job..cos u know nothing about cars..seriously..
          if you’re a good at your job,u shouldnt give comment like that..dumbass

• kindly enlighten me about cars then,since ur so good at it.u dun like my comments,dun read them la.

• beruk33 on Mar 22, 2012 at 12:46 am

honda fanboy! one man’s poison is another man’s meat.

• taboogen on Feb 21, 2012 at 7:49 am

NEXT

boring lah hybrid.. its just an aunty car to send children to school and to pasar….. just look at the rear light.. if i dont know anything about car i would say i came from kedai abang….

• Vj the Rat on Feb 21, 2012 at 8:08 am

Decent price but it’s ugly. From the yucky Orange paint to the myvi rear design to the really sad dashboard and plastics…

• ahlee bin ahtan on Feb 21, 2012 at 8:12 am

69MYVI and 96PRIUSC

• farizY on Feb 21, 2012 at 8:20 am

The interior kinda looks like it is made out of cheap plastic, the exterior looks fine though.
    The big question owning a hybrid car, battery cost, it is still too expensive for the time being.

• confused on Feb 21, 2012 at 8:35 am

The orange is nice.

• yeah…i think the interior dashboard looks cheap… Insight’s one is better….

• fuelpump on Feb 21, 2012 at 9:01 am

can save rm600 per month on fuel expenses, myVi boleh ka?

• GdtMan on Feb 21, 2012 at 9:38 am

The new 1.5 Myvi can go about 470KM. The Prius C can go double the distance on a full tank.

• Ahmad on Feb 21, 2012 at 11:34 am

Comparing this hybrid and myVi (assume myvi FC is 13km/L):

i) u can save rm600 per month only if you run 8320km a month.
      ii) u can save rm315 per month only if you run 4000km a month.

Let say i have RM20k for downpayment.

If i buy Myvi with 7 years loan and 3% interest (sorry dnt know the exact), my monthly will be RM440.

If i buy Prius C with 7 years loan and 3% interest, my monthly will be RM1100.

If we run 8320km a monht, then we still pay for the same amount of many (monthly payment + fuel).

So for me, to claim that Prius C can save money (compare to MyVi) is not a good point.

• i.) the majority of people travel around 2000-3000km a month only. 8000km+ a month is for taxi driver ( 100000km a year )

ii.)myvi is not cheap…very expensive actually. take a 1.5 myvi extreme at 62k. 7 yr loan (90%) at 3%p.a ( this is a very low rate to assume for p2 cars) works out to RM804 per month. while the prius c will be RM1258 per month for the same d/p n rates.

• Aaron on Feb 21, 2012 at 2:34 pm

Come on Myvi in City driving is not even 13 km/l ok? Light footed also 10 km/l only la.. The roads here so jam

• Andrew on Feb 21, 2012 at 7:18 pm

yea correct.. KL damn jam nowadays.. my Insight oso cannot tahan.. 15km/l only compare to school holidays, i cud get 20km/l city drive when going to office. All the break n stop really killing me, force use S mode..

• Stanley on Feb 21, 2012 at 2:58 pm

Dont think Prius C interest is 3%, might lower than that. We buy hybrid because the fuel consumption is less and quiet and please remember petrol price increase every year. You can keep your Toyota more than 10 years but Myvi i’m not sure.
        This is my opinion, no hard feeling.

• At the 10th year (irregardless of mileage and if you are even lucky to reach the 10th year without the battery seriously deteriorated), you have to replace the battery, add rm10k.

• alldisc on Feb 21, 2012 at 5:00 pm

do some research. from year 2000 toyota has never changed the main battery for prius, except for a taxi in australia doing 400,000km++.

do your part for the earth. for our children.

• Could you not know that heat and moisture will lower the life span of a battery? And that’s how malaysia is..

Even if I own a Lamborghini or a Ferrari, I do my part for earth by not driving to walkable distance area and take public transport when I do know that I have the option to do so. Who says you can only go green when you use a Prius. :)

Don’t get brain washed by Toyota.

• Wisdom on Feb 22, 2012 at 3:11 pm

Your information is misleading. Please read more.

This is the new trend in US.
            http://www.greencarreports.com/news/1071391_life-after-death-what-happens-when-your-prius-battery-dies

Recap:
            “If the battery pack in your Toyota Prius dies before the end of its 150,000 (or 100,000) mile warranty, Toyota will replace it free of charge. But if your car is out of warranty, you join the 500 or so owners every month experiencing an expired nickel-metal-hydride battery pack.”

• Stanley on Feb 21, 2012 at 5:19 pm

By the time Im sure the battery less than RM7k but I might save more than that. Anyway, is up to you guys, nobody force to buy and depends your preference. No wrong or right.

• alldisc on Feb 21, 2012 at 4:57 pm

prius C is easily more than 20km/L. in traffic jam myvi engine still idles for 850 rpm per minute, but prius engine is off.

lets take a half hour jam (example at kesas highway USJ interchange from klang) the
        myvi will idle for 25,500 revolution where else virtually the prius sits idle (provided battery is full charged).

see the diffferences? no petrol, no exhaust emission, no heat release.

• how can you save RM 600 per month? Your normal cost of fuel is Rm 1200 is it? so buy prius c, half of 1200 get rm 600??

• CK200H on Feb 21, 2012 at 9:02 am

i think it worth every cents you spent on this akua. go for higher spec and you will enjoy ur stay in the car.

BTW, will you spent RM90K on a proton anymore?

• 123GO on Feb 21, 2012 at 9:10 am

The rims is from Enkei !!
    lol

• This Prius range easily over 1,000km on single tank refuel (or a month mileage)
    -Refuel only once a month (not 3 or 4 times, save RM300/month if using normal car)
    -For 7 years save RM25K-RM30K on fuel cost alone
    -7-years loan at RM1170/month estimated

Compare if buying Protongkat Inspirah 2.0 also with similar RM1200 loan repayment but fools bought Inspirah just to boast they saved RM25K from buying original Mitsu Lancer 2.0 which can get you new wife wedding expenses cost covered

BUY PRIUS, YOUR SAVINGS PURELY FROM FUEL EFFICIENCY !!!
    BUY INSPIRAH, YOUR SAVINGS SIMPLY TO COVER WEDDING EXPENSES ???

HA HA HA LOOK HOW WISE OR FOOLISH A RM25K SAVINGS CAN BE!!!

Anyway the worst, ugliest hybrid of all still be Protongkat Savvy Hybrid…thank God Allah it never made it…!!!

And where is that Protongkat EMASs gonna launch…??? Oh yeah will ask local banks like Bank Rakyat to loan Lotus maybe another RM1 billion to do it kah kah kah!

• Any money dumped into cars are not called savings..

• the most stupid comment i ever read today, prius c vs inspira??? If u so butthurt with proton dont make yourself looks like foolish fucked around. At least compare with their league, insight, ct200h, crz and incoming jazz. Is it a must to compare with proton cars?? I dont see ur points dude, hybrid definitely fuel savings car, but to compare with petrol head driver, hybrids cant give enjoyment of driving pleasure. Get a life dude!

• hway de Cruz on Feb 21, 2012 at 9:28 am

wow, another exciting year for us consumers… prius c now launched, follow by jazz hybrid next month, for those potential buyers, go test drive both cars n compare. i am going to the toyota showroom this wkend to chk out the prius c first. just to get the feel of this car.

• the dashboard……. seriously???!!
    really hard to understand why the dash design can get to production………

• squawk on Feb 21, 2012 at 9:57 am

A Russian gets money every time Toyota (and some others) sell a hybrid. :-)

http://green.autoblog.com/2010/11/02/meet-the-man-who-quietly-profits-from-every-hybrid-sold/

• Kickass! on Feb 21, 2012 at 10:09 am

No matter how, nissan vanette still rock… 97k for myvi feel high hybrid? this car deserve better design…

• want new car on Feb 21, 2012 at 10:21 am

cant imagine if this car stranded somewhere outskirts while going for trips…no one mechanic can help….sayonara…

• 188oko on Feb 21, 2012 at 10:30 am

Hold on guys… 1-2 years down the road the same engine will found in Myvi hybrid and cost less than 80k.

• Rulered on Feb 21, 2012 at 10:33 am

If you decide to drive a hybrid, you have commited to a certain way of driving (slowly) as hybrid cars are not meant to be driven fast due to its high fuel consumption ie pedal to the metal type of driving. Btw reading hybrid fan arguing in this entry (both from Toyota and Honda) is like watching kitty kat and minnie mouse arguing.

• as usual lah! on Feb 21, 2012 at 12:41 pm

Toyota vs Honda = El Clasico!! better than Toyota or Honda vs Kimchi…..

• Honda Power on Feb 21, 2012 at 10:55 am

What an ugly car. I thought Honda Insight’s rear doesn’t look that nice. Now this Prius C is even uglier than Insight. Insight looks much nicer than this overpriced small car. Is it as small as Myvi?

• kamaji on Feb 21, 2012 at 11:02 am

A 97k car that really look like a Yaris got hentam from behind by a Myvi.Btw will bank provide loan for the battery change in Hybrid car.

• Honda Power on Feb 21, 2012 at 11:05 am

More Honda hybrids coming our way. Next month – Jazz hybrid (around RM85K). Later – Insight 1.5L hybrid and all new Civic hybrid. Civic 1.5L hybrid is rumoured to be priced below RM110k, cheaper than petrol Civic. Let the hybrid tussle between Honda and Toyota begin now. Honda The Power Of Dreams.

• squawk on Feb 21, 2012 at 4:36 pm

There’re class action suits in 5 US states against the Civic hybrid. :-)

• James on Feb 21, 2012 at 5:06 pm

Honda hybrid tech is not refined.. parallel cannot vs full hybrid.

• Carl Wong on Feb 21, 2012 at 8:42 pm

New Accord Hybrid is a full hybrid, coming later, hopefully.

• auto-guy-but-not-quite on Feb 21, 2012 at 12:56 pm

i believe the most difficult part of communicating one of the strong aspect of Prius C is the ride and handling. It is alot better than many existing Hybrids (dont count CT200h la, itu tune by Lexus plus fancy DWRS) based on US and Japanese test drives.
    Having all the heavy items low down to reduce CG,plus the low-roof height, this could be a more fun-to-drive hatch , maybe even Fiesta or Mazda2 equivalent type of handling/fun-to-drive.

looking fwd to test drive it….

• the front looks like catfish… too sad, but still in category of animal like dugong.

• pacifictuna on Feb 21, 2012 at 2:09 pm

i geuss it is now the most affordable hybrid around but one have to bear with the plastics and myvi look. i think insight looks better though this might be a better car overall.

• Andrew on Feb 21, 2012 at 2:09 pm

Interior FUGLY lar…

• Lauyiachia on Feb 21, 2012 at 2:20 pm

Cute front and nice rear. Like this Prius-C already

• If you’re going for reduced emissions and increased mileage for your ringgit, clean diesel or dowsized turbo petrol engines are still best. Simply because these technologies are a refinement of one method of producing power, as opposed to using two technologies to achieve the same result.

1) I’ve also read that the battery for this hybrid technology uses rare earth metals (please correct me if im wrong as im unable to recall the exact details).

2) If its true, i am curious if these rare earth metals are similar to the stuff that has caused controversy in the LYNAS plant issue. Kindly enlighten me, anyone who has relevant info.

3) Since the general public has mostly voiced discontent with the plant (myself included), can we accept this hybrid technology if the battery does indeed use rare earth metals? Once again those with the relevant knowledge please share your thoughts.

• HoTsHoT on Feb 21, 2012 at 4:06 pm

Your catalytic converter too uses these rare earth metals. Which rare metals or whether there are the same exact metals mined at the LYNAS plant – I’m not too sure.

Every car is equipped with a catalytic converter, so it wouldn’t make much of a difference in demand if a hybrid did use the said metals.

• go naza on Feb 21, 2012 at 4:08 pm

you’re right on the rare earth stuff.

• Hyundai De La Junk on Feb 21, 2012 at 4:21 pm

Don’t forget stop buying Samsung LCD/LED TV, Samsung Galaxy Tab, Samsung Galaxy S2, Galaxy Note, Note Book, & etc.

Then you talk about Lynas “hypocrite”, oh don’t even read my posting or answer it cause you may be using Notebook, Tablet or Smartphone with rare earth metal.

• 1)As consumers we are taught to jump onto the technology band wagon as quickly as possible for several reasons such as interest, wanting to keep up and fuelling desires. Most of the time we accept new technologies since the glossy marketing material doesnt push the need for social responsibility.

2)But we can’t stay ignorant. A good example of this is the consumption of shark’s fin, which got even president Obama in hot soup recently ;) We may not be informed in the beginning but thats no excuse to stay ignorant. Most people myself included purchased gadgets such as LCD tvs, hps and Tabs without knowing about the materials used.

3) Just because rare earth metals are used in a variety of devices already, it doesnt justify its application in something as large as a car. Several sources mention that hybrid car batteries consume the highest amount of the materials. So lets not be penny wise pound foolish. Enlighten yourselves folks.

• Ninja on Feb 21, 2012 at 5:57 pm

Prius 1.8 is still the best. I notice all off you who gives comments either don’t shit about car or are still virgins…:-)

• Wisdom on Feb 22, 2012 at 3:48 pm

We dont shit car. What about u?

Prius 1.8 bought buy rich man as a toy, or stupid man who didnt know how to calculate. UMW profit margin on single unit Prius 1.8 sold was more than RM50K.

Here, RM140K, elsewhere, USD25K. minus sales tax, each Prius only cost around RM85K. Yes its business and we have to consider profit margin but RM50K is just suck-blood.

• carazy on Feb 21, 2012 at 6:12 pm

you are doom honda..

• concept on Feb 21, 2012 at 6:21 pm

what happen to the dashboard? gosh ..

• carnoisseur on Feb 21, 2012 at 6:46 pm

elongated Myvi looks and cheap plastic interior has just killed this car….id go for the HONDA anytime even if the specs is slightly lower . cheap plastic interior gives me headache :-(

• i will take honda insight over this cock sucker prius-c.

• kc8ch on Feb 21, 2012 at 8:42 pm

such setup for 97k, where’s our value? tyt, soon you’ll be out of the game.

• kc8ch on Feb 21, 2012 at 9:02 pm

97k for such a interior setup…all budget went on the battery setup already?

• Finally a Toyota hybrid car that isn’t too ugly, like it’s big brother. Good on ya Toyota.

• Uno Moto on Feb 21, 2012 at 10:34 pm

99hp????? u gotta be kidding me

• I’ve been waiting for this launch for quite some time!

This is a great addition to our current Hybrid line, malaysians are quite new to hybrids compared to the rest of the world, they are economical but more importantly, Hybrids are a headturner, either in a good or bad way.

We buy hybrids not just to save fuel but be different, that unique factor is a selling point to consumers who wants more than the average rakyat. They are not cheap, compared to a car similar in size and quality.

You cannot compare a myvi to a prius c, or with any other cars unless it the prius, insight or the new jazz hybrid. Hybrids are considered a different type of car, they cannot be pushed to its limit and their reason on the road is to minimize fuel usage.

I do think this is quite cheap for a hybrid this size, also the fact that its a toyota hybrid, means its a full hybrid with EV mode, unlike the insight which is just Assisted Hybrid.

People would still buy a prius c and may not even consider a myvi due to their preferences and their high budget, similarly someone who owns a rm179k audi a1 would not consider a jazz because its too common and not up to their standard.

• Insightowner on Feb 25, 2012 at 12:36 am

Prius top speed is limited to 180km/h. Some owner reported 185km/h is achievable.
      Insight top speed I ever achieved 194km/h. Difference with GPS is around 5km/h.
      Some other owners reported 198 – 200km/h top speed.

Thought u might wanna know…

• penggy on Feb 27, 2012 at 1:23 pm

Hi FH,

What you mentioned is quite true. I totally agreed.

• Antisocial on Feb 22, 2012 at 7:00 am

Can I say this is the most desirable car at the moment since there are so many comments?

• eugene on Feb 22, 2012 at 9:54 am

if proton makes the interior the same, ppl say it is ugly. if foreign car, everything is nice. F

• Andrew on Feb 22, 2012 at 12:29 pm

U didnt c my comment up there.. i said FUGLY.. i cannot stand it to drive it everyday with the stupid dashboard design.. total sad case for this car.. Before u enter u… :-D, after entered u.. X-(

• Wisdom on Feb 22, 2012 at 5:04 pm

Toyota is playing fool for giving a hybrid poor built material and less than attractive design. Still they thought that we Malaysian are fool and charge us premium price.

I’m not siding Korean make but surely they have sumthing up their sleeves. Either in the form of HSD or IMA or else, they are catching up fast, to the extend using Li-Polymer battery which is lighter and charge friendly. Currently they only have Optima and Sonata hybrid, but for sure they are finalizing their version of ‘hybrid for the masses’ which could be smaller, within B or C segment, and will be competitively priced.

Imagine a sub 70K hybrid with better built quality (like recent Korean offerings), brought in either by Naza or Sime Darby, with current almost 0 tax structure, Japanese make can start packing.

Toyota, you better return to your well known nature, building high quality cars at reasonable price for the masses.

• Tony T on Feb 22, 2012 at 11:19 pm

Wait…we should watch others too, bcos I felt they’re using a same modified mould as original Prius cut into half. Watch up forthcoming Honda Jass Hybrid is on the way & may from continental cars like VW etc.

• Prius C = Prius Cikai?

Sorry ><

But why does it still use Ni-MH? Isn't Li-ion the way to go? Is that why it's 'cheap'?

• Carl Wong on Feb 24, 2012 at 2:11 am

The cost of Lithium based batteries are higher at the moment even though they’re a bit better. Price would be even higher. And they need to be tested for safety. The stability and durability and safety of NiMH batteries are already proven, 10 years + and still going. First Toyota Prius sedan since 1997 and first Honda Insight in 1999.

• carnoisseur on Feb 23, 2012 at 3:55 pm

Im sorry to say i saw the car in flesh and the only thing I like about it is ….the orange colour ! It makes the Insight look a million bucks, those who disagree with me please go see your self , the grey interior is horribe cheap plastic , the dash board looks like a plastic tray that they use to serve food in a canteen and the seats …ooooh my GAwd !

• Calvin Foo on Feb 24, 2012 at 8:23 am

Some how it reminds me the ugliest Star Wars alien – Sullustan

• Green on Feb 24, 2012 at 10:49 am

I’ve been saving for this car but instead i’m booking an Insight just now.
    Really sad with the real Prius C. Came to toyota yesterday too book the car. Saw the picture before and people comment look cheap but initially i think should not be that bad.
    But once i see the real car. Oh my god. Its not a toyota! Cant be!

Hearing the salesgirl explain about the car while i’m sitting inside. It was like hearing cheats! Really i feel cheated. Telling so wonderful story but there the car in front of me with cheap plastic, shabby engine bay. Gone back home, rethink, i could wait for Jazz but seems too feminine. End up booking Insight. Yeay! Overall, the quality, worth tenth of thousands more than Prius C.

• hway de Cruz on Feb 24, 2012 at 4:28 pm

yeah, saw the prius c actual metal in the showroom… i dun like the plastic inside, real cheap plastic like local plastic standard. test drive is available only next week,so didnt get to do that. walkaround, the shape is good, aerodynamic. full size spare tyre n sports rim, tilt n telescopic steering. fabric seats, not full leather… i was hoping for full leather cause this is a 97k car… hv chk the windscreen n windows, these r not uv protected, so potential buyers hv to tint it with uv, or maybe get the salesppl to commit to that. small petrol tank 35 litres, but claim can do 900km trip. on the technology side, i like the safety features, it is at par with my targets. again, the big let down is the dashboard plastic… wish they put decent plastic, to justify the 97k price range. i was aiming for this car for my missus since the intercity travel is high here, but the letdown is the plastic. oh well, wait for jazz hybrid launch next mth then do a proper comparison

• Carl Wong on Feb 24, 2012 at 11:55 pm

Facelift version of Insight right? It’s even better (especially fuel efficiency) compared to first version. Enjoy it man :].

• Hybrid is Best on Feb 26, 2012 at 1:06 pm

But i dun tink Insight Interior is better…
      Summore the window is manual…

• Green on Feb 27, 2012 at 9:52 pm

Since when Insight windows were manual? U mean have to manually push or pull the switch to wind down or up is it?
        U can put Prius, Insight and Prius C side by side and compare the plastics. Sorry to say even the ‘expensive’ Prius have the same plastic quality compare to Insight. really. Please observe yourself. Both used rigid plastics for dashboard (no soft touch or leather laminate). Door panel, the Prius silver lining looks like painted plastic and not metal panel like it suppose to. Outside, the rubber lining surrounding the windows and windscreen is of a normal rubber without any chrome trim, like we used to have for a car in this price bracket (Accord, Camry, even Sonata have chrome finishing). Worst, it uses cheap alloy rims covered with plastic.

Prius C? plastic tray grade plastics.

• Mad Hater on Feb 25, 2012 at 7:01 pm

Sigh…. Keep bashing the interior…… IT’S ECO PLASTIC!!!! ECO FREINDLY MATERIALS USED TO MAKE THE CAR. It’s not a CONVENTIONAL CAR! IT’s a HYBRID! It’s meant to be enviromentally friendly. OK? Sheeh! BTW: Prius top speed limited?! I’ve driven my 1.8 prius up to 220kmph. Insight? please a 1.3 petrol car. Very very MILD hybrid. Bullshit!

• Green on Feb 28, 2012 at 9:38 am

No offence but majority here can’t live looking at that hideous dashboard everyday…

U must be delusional. The Prius top speed worldwide only 180-190km/h. Here, the best he can achieve 193km/h.
      http://priuschat.com/forums/gen-iii-2010-prius-fuel-economy/69255-in-name-science.html
      Suddenly u said u drove it to 220km/h? Haha.

• I also not understand ! Why majority here comment bad about this Prius c.Please be positive laa Malaysian. As we all know this hybrid engine makes Toyota no 1 in the world.

• Totally not understand why majority here comment bad about this Prius C. As we know hybrid engine makes Toyota No 1 in the world. No way Honda Hybrid better than Toyota hybrid.

• Lightning69 on Mar 01, 2012 at 5:59 pm

I think the interior is actually not bad at all. What is wrong with hard plastic dashboard? My Honda Odyssey comes with hard plastic dash they are great. BTW, who say soft dash is quality? They are harder to maintain and the crack too. As long as the plastic is of high quality and solidly built, I don’t really care as nobody really touch it anyway.

I have read almost all the reviews on the Prius C on the internet and all the reviews have been really positive. In fact non have mention about the dashboard design as bad. The best thing is that reviews have consistently mention how this baby can easily get 50+ MPG without having to try very hard at all.

Yes, its shorter than the Insight, but the cabin is actually larger than the Insight. I am truely disappointed with the Insight rear passenger headroom. But the C actually have a usable rear passenger seat for adults.

Now, the price might be a little high for a relatively small car, but its actually a good price considering the features. …keyless entry and ignition, 7 airbags, ABS, VSC, tilt and telescopic steering(my Odyssey don’t even have telescopic steering), electric compressor and power steering, climate control, and last but not least toyota proven hybrid technology. Even a City is RM90+K yet it doesn’t even come close in terms of features.

I am waiting for a test drive. Good job Toyota.

• Thunder69 on Apr 18, 2012 at 8:17 pm

Thank you Toyota Salesman. Your comments are appreciated.

• cost of petrol over the next 5 years, a typical petrol-powered car will be a lot cheaper than hybrid.

• Offence on Mar 11, 2012 at 12:12 pm

Prius C ??? Bcos the dashboard got one Big C??? Not really like it. Pricy. Better save the $$$ for petrol.

• Joker The Great on Mar 11, 2012 at 7:53 pm

Tested the car yesterday. Discovered the gear position have some problem. The R is not in the accurate position. End up a bit stun for few seconds. 2nd thing is, when I press fuel for increase the speed, just feel that the engine slightly shaking. For this part Toyota salesperson also can feel too when 3 persons was inside the car. Overall this car consider good. Approximately will help me reduce the petrol expenses for about RM200 per month if I change to this new model. Hahaha, future my house may hv Insight and Prius C….

• Carl Wong on Apr 07, 2012 at 10:52 pm

I just went for test drive too, quiet and relaxed drive, I actually like it. MID screen is colorful with useful information but no engine speed (rpm) is shown….

Gear knob is normal and not too small like big brother Prius, along with a normal hand brake which I prefer. CO2 emissions is actually slightly higher than Prius at 91g/km. It’s the most fuel efficient in the segment.

• All auto.. I like manual cars.. Sorry..