Volkswagen Sharan launched – 7-seater rolls in at RM245k

Volkswagen Group Malaysia has added another vehicle to its growing lineup in the country, with the Sharan joining the fold. The MPV, which was launched yesterday, is equipped with a 2.0 litre TSI turbocharged mill, mated to a six-speed DSG transmission.

Output numbers for the unit are 200 PS at 5,100 rpm and a maximum torque of 280 Nm from 1,700 and 5,000 rpm. This is good enough to haul the 1,838 kg seven-seater from zero to 100 km/h in just 8.3 seconds and to a top speed of 218 km/h.

Key features on the 4.85 metre-long vehicle include remote-operated electric sliding side doors, nine airbags, a touchscreen SatNav system and three-zone Climatronic air-conditioning system. The electrically-powered sliding doors come equipped with a pinch protection function to ensure that there’ll be no safety issues regarding entry and exit from the vehicle.

Meanwhile, the RNS510 TFT display touchscreen radio with integrated satellite navigation system comes with a SD card reader, a DVD drive as well as a 30 GB hard disk, USB and aux-in functions.

The interior of the Sharan is dressed up in ‘Vienna’ leather seat upholstery, with titanium silver decorative inserts for the dashboard and front door trim panels dressing things up further. Convenience features include two cup holders for every seat row and roll-up sunshades for the rear door windows.

Also in the kit bag is an electric panoramic tilt and slide sunroof, a headlight washer system, rain sensors and a remote operated electric tailgate/trunk lid. There’s also a Park Assist parallel parking system, with Park Distance Control (PDC) enhanced by a rear view camera – the Sharan has the honour of debuting the Park Assist 2.0 in a VW vehicle.

The Sharan – which rides on 17-inch ‘Sydney’ alloy wheels wrapped with 225/50 series rubbers – also comes with bi-xenon headlamps, replete with dynamic bending light feature, and the now ubiquitous daytime running lights.

As for safety, besides the nine airbags (including side airbags for front and second row seats, a curtain airbag system that covers all rows and a driver knee airbag), the MPV is equipped with ESP, ABS, EBD and brake assist. Other safety features include an anti-slip regulator, electronic differential lock as well as Engine Drag Torque Control (EDTC) and Trailer Roll Stabilisation Program (TRSP).

Additionally, the Sharan comes with an integrated child seat on the left side on the second row, including belt tensioners for the outer seats of the second row, in addition to ISOFIX anchor points.

Six exterior shades are available for the car, these being Candy White, Toffee Brown, Reflex Silver, Night Blue, Indium Grey and Deep Black.

In its standard form, the Sharan rolls in at RM245,888, with an optional Tech Package taking this figure up to RM269,888. The Tech Package includes the addition of the DCC adaptive chassis control, a 300-watt, eight-speaker Dynaudio Contour premium sound system, a ‘Keyless Access’ keyless locking and starting system as well as the inclusion of a ‘Lane Assist’ lane departure warning system.

Anthony Lim believes that nothing is better than a good smoke and a car with character, with good handling aspects being top of the prize heap. Having spent more than a decade and a half with an English tabloid daily never being able to grasp the meaning of brevity or being succinct, he wags his tail furiously at the idea of waffling - in greater detail - about cars and all their intrinsic peculiarities here.

• taboogen on Feb 20, 2012 at 10:00 am

wow lancer gt rims…

• go naza on Feb 20, 2012 at 10:25 am

245k i rather get ford s-max for rm170k only.

rm245k, that is like brand new alphard/estima price.

this is too much.

• kadajawi on Feb 20, 2012 at 10:41 am

Do you get that sort of kit in an Alphard or Estima? I don’t think so.

The S-Max is a bit smaller. This thing is competing against the Ford Galaxy (which is a brilliant car, good to drive, comfortable, well spec’ed).

• poorM on Feb 20, 2012 at 11:38 am

You seem to bash everything related to Japanese car…hmm…from earlier post till now…what’s wrong with you?wow you drove the ford galaxy already?you import yourself rich guy?

• loveit on Feb 20, 2012 at 2:36 pm

Japs car are **** nowadays, so what’s wrong with you?

• kadajawi on Feb 20, 2012 at 2:37 pm

No, drove it in Europe. I don’t like the mentality of Japanese manufacturers in ASEAN countries. They offer cars they don’t even try to sell in Europe, because they know they are not competitive. They strip the cars of everything, especially in terms of safety. As if Malaysian lives are worth less than European lives. And then they charge way to much for these cars. Why does the Yaris have 6+ airbags, the Vios 0 to 2? Why does the Daihatsu Sirion has 4 airbags with more as an option, and here the Myvi has 2 at max?

I know what the Japanese offer in Europe. And here on the other hand they offer outdated ancient tech that no one else would buy.

• Rulered on Feb 20, 2012 at 9:09 pm

Yes Asian lives are unworthy, realised Lt. Adnan’s name was not even mentioned in the History Channel documentary on invasion of Japs in Singapura during WW2 recently? But then again not many Malaysians know about it just like not many Malaysian bother about maximum safety features a car should have.

• Rulered on Feb 20, 2012 at 12:02 pm

Brand new Alphard at 245k? Which shop?

• Stop comparing VW to the lousy cheap crap Fords ! cheaper does not mean better…what u pay and what u get ok?!this thing only can fight with the Estima or Alphard ! but most typical Asian ppl they’ll choose the boring Estima and Alphard ! ‘ if i can afford it ‘ i prefer VW Sharan,for the look,safety,good performance and good fuel consumption ! i own a VW TSI the parts body kits or some extra add are overprice than the cars but the car is awesome !

• kadajawi on Feb 20, 2012 at 8:09 pm

BS. I drove the Golf IV, Golf+, VW Touran, VW Cross Touran and Ford Galaxy, and I have been a passenger in the S-Max. Amongst all of these I preferred the Galaxy the most. Now I’m sure the Sharan can compete, the Touran plays in a different league. But the Galaxy is a genuinely good car. Comfortable, big, well designed. Also it looks pretty nice for such a huge vehicle. VW and Ford are pretty much in the same class.

• Keyboard Warrior on Feb 21, 2012 at 12:04 am

wow; u drove; but u dont own. isay… if drive short2 and dont own; why la talk to much.. be like me.. no action type-type only… NATO.. NATO…

• I own one or not and u don’t know maybe i lie…whatever…actually 100k + VW is not that expensive but for you maybe no one cant afford it lolx actually u r the same here no action and type-type only…

• Keyboard Warrior on Feb 21, 2012 at 8:39 am

yo la type-type only.. many people time waster here with no money..

• kadajawi on Feb 21, 2012 at 3:14 am

You do get an idea of a car after hammering down the Autobahn for 500 km. Maybe it won’t hold up over a long time, but it seemed to be a good car, striking a good balance between handling and comfort.

Hard to compare only cars we own, no? How many cars do you own?

• Timothy on Feb 20, 2012 at 11:08 pm

Beautiful. Simply superb option for those cant afford Mercedes R300L…handling performance plus safety at good price 250K. Good deal, couldnt ask for more!

• Nice ……compete with Estima dead on…….so, recondition Estima dealer will have a hard time ………This vehicle is premium.

• better bu Toyota Estima… too expensive….

• kadajawi on Feb 20, 2012 at 10:39 am

Estima got 9 airbags? Parks itself? Automated sunroof? Bi-xenon with curve light? And the rest of the equipment?

This thing beats the **** out of the Japs.

• DeLow on Feb 20, 2012 at 11:05 am

Agree with beating the **** out of the Japs, but it’s just too costly at the moment to do so. Perhaps maybe, after throwing out the crazy import tax first?

• kadajawi on Feb 20, 2012 at 11:26 am

A Sharan with this sort of kit will be very expensive in Germany too. Maybe not THIS expensive, but it will cost you a lot. I’ve tried it for the 166k Cross Touran, a similar one (will cost you around 140k in Germany, however you usually get around 15% on the list price).

Usually you will find the base spec price, however base spec in Europe is usually quite empty (except for safety features).

Also Japanese cars are also very expensive, but without any of the equipment (usually only stuff that you can upgrade yourself for a few RM… oh, it has a DVD player. Can buy that one for a few hundred RM. Or a body kit. I can do that later if I want to. But upgrading to 9 airbags? Good luck…). People still buy these Japanese cars instead.

• nazri on Feb 20, 2012 at 10:06 am

this car bundle with YES 4g as data package?

• Misai on Feb 20, 2012 at 10:09 am

Wow!! not cheap but it is nice :)
    Hope to see more European MPV rather than just Japs steed
    :)

• kevin lee on Feb 20, 2012 at 10:09 am

finally, a nice fast van!

• kadajawi on Feb 20, 2012 at 11:27 am

Ford S-Max? This is bigger though.

• Abidal on Feb 20, 2012 at 10:02 pm

Faord S-Max engine is good but build, road noise plasticky dashboard,, go n try testdrive n you will know it,, feel cheap., but engine awesome!

• Keyboard Warrior on Feb 21, 2012 at 12:06 am

ford is crap; known for cheapness..
          dont kidding urself..
          go sit and drive..
          dont buy; u hurt urself in long run (lie to urself)

• Sorchai on Feb 20, 2012 at 10:09 am

Great! Finally this has arrived. Cross Touran is just a bit small.

• Sharan vs S-Max? Which one is worth to buy?

• go naza on Feb 20, 2012 at 10:25 am

245k vs 175k, what do you say?

• kadajawi on Feb 20, 2012 at 11:41 am

In terms of safety they should be on the same level. Kit the Sharan probably wins a bit (it parks itself it seems?). Also the Sharan is a proper 7 seater… the S-Max is a 7-seater lite. More like an improved, luxurious and turbocharged Grand Livina or Toyota Wish than an Alphard. Alza vs Exora.

That’s not saying that the S-Max is small, but it’s the small, sporty brother to the Galaxy, which is the direct competitor for the Sharan (in fact the first generation Galaxy and Sharan were nearly identical cars, just with a slightly (and I mean slightly) modified front and rear end).

So if you need a 5 seater and occasionally want to transport 7, then the S-Max will be fine. Full fledged 7 seater you might be better of with the Sharan.

In terms of comfort I was only driven in the S-Max, but that one was sporty yet still relatively comfortable. The Galaxy is much more comfortable in its setup, although it still will corner nicely (it’s not a sports car though). Sharan _should_ be more on the comfortable side, although the Touran is pretty hard/sporty, especially in the Malaysian version with it’s ridiculous rims. They may ruin the comfort of the Sharan too. Or any other conti for that matter, cause they are all delivered with humongous ah beng rims.

• kadajawi on Feb 20, 2012 at 4:35 pm

Maybe see it like this: S-Max if you as the driver are the most important person in the car. You want to enjoy driving it. A sports MPV. Sharan if your family/passengers are more important. Traveling in comfort, rather than speed.

• kancildriver on Feb 20, 2012 at 10:12 am

Huyoo. Nice nice nice. Want to get one but I’ll have to wait for years….

• kadajawi on Feb 20, 2012 at 2:40 pm

With the depreciation of contis in a few years this will be a bargain :) Though perhaps VW has improved, rather buy a Citroen or Renault MPV. They have dropped in price… woah. And you still get lots of safety features, features in general, space, quality is good too.

• hamsor on Feb 20, 2012 at 10:13 am

Wah…so expensive…

I’d rather go for Ford S-Max at RM185K…

• Henry Ford the XII on Feb 20, 2012 at 2:10 pm

If only this price difference of RM60k applicable to the other Ford:

Mondeo 2.0 EcoBoost = Passat 1.8 TSI – RM60k = RM185k – RM60k = RM125k
      Focus 1.6 TSI = Golf 1.4 TSI – RM60k = RM160k – RM60k = RM100k
      Focus ST = Golf GTI – RM60k = RM210k – RM60k = RM150k

Hehehehe.. wishful thinking :)

• william chang on Feb 20, 2012 at 2:45 pm

u r good in mathematics

• clean on Feb 20, 2012 at 3:45 pm

you call it good mathematics?? well…

Mondeo 2.0L Ecoboost RM18K
        HP = 200ps
        Torque = 300Nm

Passat 1.8L TSI – RM185K
        HP = 160ps
        Torque = 250Nm

Focus 1.6 TSI and ST are NOT SOLD in Malaysia!

• clean on Feb 20, 2012 at 3:48 pm

correction to my previous comment..

Ford Mondeo Ecoboost 2.0L = 180K

• samsam on Feb 20, 2012 at 10:15 am

i saw this car (white) on the road with register plate, the exterior very simple, steel feels like saga blm and WOW for the price

• road runner on Feb 20, 2012 at 10:16 am

Huh! Overall, better pick turbocharged exora

• oligopoli on Feb 20, 2012 at 10:39 am

different segment, different price. as much as i love my bold exora, i think this sharan is a much much better mpv. i hope i’m wrong hahaha

• Darenz on Feb 20, 2012 at 3:45 pm

If compare price, Sharan shoule be 3 times better than EXORA BOLD. But I really enjoy my EXORA BOLD.

• kadajawi on Feb 20, 2012 at 4:32 pm

It is not. Trust me. It is quite a bit better, yes. Maybe 30% perhaps? Not 3 times as good. Although there is a difference between a 5 star 9 airbag car and an Exora with… who knows how many stars (probably 4?) and 2 airbags. The Exora will have a hard time protecting you from side impacts. And of course there are gadgets like lane assist and the self parking feature that you can’t get for the Exora. (Especially lane assist can be useful, if you tend to fall asleep while driving or are too distracted).

• oligopoli on Feb 20, 2012 at 5:13 pm

exora bold of course la cannot fight with sharan. features not as much as sharan. tech-wise, beaten. beza langit dgn bumi ;-) i know exora bold is best in its class but far from the best MPV hahaha

• kadajawi on Feb 20, 2012 at 10:42 am

Different league loh. Maybe in terms of size they can compete, but this is much, much, much better spec’ed, more powerful, safer, probably handles better too.

• Exora turbo in term of sizing can compare wt the VW Touran….Yeap, the exora is a cheaper option wt abt the same power/torque with its 1.6 turbo engine vs the Touran 1.4 turbo.

This Sharan is a full size MPV (in term of size, is about Estima/Alphard/Mazda8). anyway, how about bringing a lower spec Sharan wt the 1.4TSI? can price it around S Max price

• Jeremy Clarkson on Feb 20, 2012 at 10:29 am

Not bad ar, 219kph for a minivan/mpv

• GC8EJ20 on Feb 20, 2012 at 10:31 am

rm296k better buy Scirocco…hahahah

• No centre aisle in between the front 2 seats, looks like mini MPV.
    Better to get 2 Alphards for the price of this!

• kadajawi on Feb 20, 2012 at 11:49 am

2 ancient Alphards. With no equipment whatsoever. Even the new ones play in a different league. You want space, buy school bus.

• oligopoli on Feb 20, 2012 at 1:04 pm

new alphards ok la. old alphard, no la. ok, but sharan is better

• droll on Feb 20, 2012 at 10:43 am

all of a sudden the smax looks like a cheap option. :P

• thinkerr on Feb 20, 2012 at 2:55 pm

I agree. The pricing is really beyond middle income family. S-Max does seems like a better proposition.

• The Sharan is larger than the S-Max and a direct competitor to the Ford Galaxy.

• clutch basah on Feb 20, 2012 at 10:47 am

One word. OVERPRICED

• Ya, too expensive . Shld set price which is ppls affordable , not denied is good car , technology !!

• BeemerFreak on Feb 20, 2012 at 11:30 am

Then how much should it be? 70k rite. Then all the bullshit will follow also. Eh this is a very competitive price for the mpv. As spacious as an estima with loads more power and equipment and some more brand new leh with 5 years warranty. Yr estima umw got bring in? Got factory warranty? Will you buy a brand new one for rm 230k? I bet not. If u don’t like then don’t buy la, or else everything also over priced including Nasi lemak and roti canai

• clutch basah on Feb 20, 2012 at 4:52 pm

I don’t deny it is a good car and not trying to offend anyone here but in general Malaysian buyers are not that technically incline and are very price and market sensitive. Literally speaking they are not that smart but calculative.
        That’s why you still see many brand new Camry and Fortuner on the road although they are prehistoric in terms of spec.
        Still thought its not a competitive pricing and people would still go for Estima/Alphard or Odyssey although they are recon. Bad move VW.

• kadajawi on Feb 20, 2012 at 6:30 pm

It’s a shame, because if it weren’t so Toyota etc. would offer us competitive, modern cars. As long as they can sell prehistoric models though, they will.

VW can’t push the price down too much. If people are too … to buy a Toyota instead, so be it. The VW is a premium luxury car compared to those.

• clutch basah on Feb 21, 2012 at 7:34 am

VW is not only premium but luxury as well? LOL now that is something laughable.. only in Malaysia people thought that way.
            In Europe/US VW as a brand is only on the same mark as Peugeot, Citroen, Toyota, Honda etc.
            Remember what I said earlier about Malaysian buyer is not that smart? now here goes an example. LMAO!!

• maggimee on Feb 21, 2012 at 10:26 am

I think you’ve got it wrong too, VW is one step above Toyota, Honda in other countries, just that they’re able to compete with all these brands through the numerous different specs they offer.( i.e from a basic to a fully equipped)

• kadajawi on Feb 21, 2012 at 11:14 am

I’m European. Born in Europe, grew up in Europe.

VW is clearly above French cars, which are considered as cheap and a bit unreliable. They are usually at the bottom of reliabillity statistics.

VW is not a real premium brand, however it sits between the premium ones and the normal ones, IMHO slightly above Ford and Opel, it will cost you more than those. In Germany a second hand C segment VW Golf will easily fetch more than a better equipped Volvo C30.

VW offers a lot of equipment, if you are willing to pay for it, so it can be relatively luxurious. Especially compared to ASEAN Toyotas.

• kadajawi on Feb 20, 2012 at 12:21 pm

Compared to the Japanese competitors (if you can even call them competitors) this is very good value for money. It’s still quite expensive, and I wish they had an entry level version with only the safety features and some basic stuff as air condition, but a smaller engine, no sun roof, no leather, 15″ steel rims, etc.

• mister potato on Feb 20, 2012 at 11:23 am

GBP32000 for the highest spec in the UK. That’s about RM150k. Why are Malaysians willingly paying much much more? 1Losers.

• KL fella on Feb 20, 2012 at 12:14 pm

our willingness to pay so much for a car was set by the G when they started our national car project. when the market has willing seller & willing buyer, no matter what is the price then it is the market price anyway.

some may find RM245k cheap (malaysian market price) and some may find it exp (referring and comparing to other countries with minimal tax on car price). but no matter what people mention here there will still be a market for this car.. cuz our market is f**ked up by the G.. long long time ago.. and for many many years to come

• kadajawi on Feb 20, 2012 at 12:17 pm

Highest spec? Are you sure? Highest spec engine, perhaps. But have you added all the equipment? In Europe you have to configure the car yourself, usually it is naked, even in the highest trim there are still many options left.

A BMW 535d will cost you around 50000 Euro in Germany. Once you are finished with adding options you can easily pay 110000 Euro. More than double the original price.

In Malaysia, contis are usually very well spec’ed. Unfortunately they almost never offer an entry level version of the cars… which is a shame. An entry level Ford Galaxy will cost you around 21-25k Euro (Exora price basically). At least it will have many airbags and good safety in general.

• car driver on Feb 20, 2012 at 12:20 pm

can’t compare like that lah. have to compare with some other country which is selling the same car for RM1 million.
      cannot compare with UK, have to compare with uganda, mogadishu, somalia, zimbabwe and other 3rd world country. even better compare it to world’s most poorest countries.

• oligopoli on Feb 20, 2012 at 1:01 pm

another moan in the morning about something you cannot do anything about…

• kadajawi on Feb 20, 2012 at 2:43 pm

Highest spec? Are you sure? Highest spec engine, perhaps. But have you added all the equipment? In Europe you have to configure the car yourself, usually it is naked, even in the highest trim there are still many options left.

A BMW 535d will cost you around 50000 Euro in Germany. Once you are finished with adding options you can easily pay 110000 Euro. More than double the original price.

In Malaysia, contis are usually very well spec’ed. Unfortunately they almost never offer an entry level version of the cars which is a shame. An entry level Ford Galaxy will cost you around 21-25k Euro (Exora price basically). At least it will have many airbags and good safety in general.

• Jessie Ooi on Feb 20, 2012 at 12:00 pm

This is so CHEAP!! I like all the functions and equipment, especially the leather seats. I have already booked a test drive today. So please wait for my test drive review.

• buy alphard any day la….this is just too expensive…..

plus the seats in the alphard are waaayyy more comfortable…..

• David D on Feb 20, 2012 at 7:11 pm

Haha, comfortable? Well, the seats in a Alphard/Vellfire really lack the support when the car needs to make a corner turn, although the comfort is there. Besides, 250k for a 2,3 year old Alphard which has minimal or no warranty at all? I’d pass and have the Sharan anyday.

• BeemerFreak on Feb 20, 2012 at 9:19 pm

Finally some one who talks a lot of sense. 2 to 3 yrs old alphard still have to pay so much money. A 2.4 2009 model would still cost near 240k sand some more don’t know which Japanese backside sit on it before, fart on it, sneeze and cough on it and their babies vomitting on the fabric seat. With 10k more u get a brand new non contaminated car with the blessing of a 5 year warranty, it would be brainless not to op for that

• Jack and Jill on Feb 20, 2012 at 12:33 pm

Want a bigger Van – Get a Bus
    Want a faster Van – Get a turbocharged Bus

:) :)

• Is this going to be assembled by DRB? or fully imported?

• Cheah Tat Cheong on Feb 20, 2012 at 12:43 pm

Doesn’t look much bigger than the Touran, but almost 100K more!! And there are some people here who claims it is cheap? Please go and book one, or two…today! Ha ha ha!

• kadajawi on Feb 20, 2012 at 3:36 pm

It is about 40 cm bigger IIRC (3rd row seats of the Touran are a bit cramped, compared to the Sharan), it is wider, probably more comfortable and better spec’ed too. It is not cheap. A Viva is cheap. But for what it offers the price is more than ok. This can be considered luxury MPV. 245k for a very well spec’ed luxury MPV is normal to cheap, you can only get a recon Estima for that price. And that is with probably like 2 airbags and none of the advanced features the Sharan offers.

A Nissan GT-R is not cheap… until you compare it against cars it can beat. Then it is the bargain of the century.

In any case, if you want a cheap, big and reasonable MPV, buy an Exora Bold. It will easily get you from A to B. Paying 3 times as much for a Sharan is… well, you must really want it. It’s not 3 times as good. But some other cars cost just as much as the Sharan while being not as good as it. Thus the Sharan, compared to them, is cheap.

• u got no money to buy doesnt mean no one can afford.

• Hope to see the test drive review form paul tan soon ~~

• seat colour tone same like exora.. ngeh2

• Merc=Real Euro on Feb 20, 2012 at 1:58 pm

VW car are overpriced in malaysia… all the models..

In UK
    SMax = 20.9K
    VW = 25.9K
    Small difference between the two…

Malaysia

Smax = 184K
    VW = 245K
    Wahhh…60K…diference

If u think paying additional 60K for vw is worth it…you gotta be kidding.
    both 2 liter turbo and both have dsg…so what is the 60K for…badge??.
    Ah please VW has no name ask banks and used car dealer….

As an example :
    It is like Camry 2.0 is 140K and Accord 2.0 is 200K….both car are more or less same…. what got gold bar in the engine aahh…

VW are ridiculously over priced in malaysia…and that is a fact….compare all the model
    side by side and you will realize… u are paying between 30 to 40K more compared
    to a comparable model…. another good example.. Golf TSI vs Focus vs Pug 308 Turbo..

• KL fella on Feb 20, 2012 at 2:29 pm

i think you should just compare the s-max and sharan using langkawi or labuan tax-free pricing.. you’ll get a clearer picture.

• irrelevant comparison! get real dowh! we’re in peninsular malaysia! not in langkawi or labuan or what so ever pulau dowh!

kau kat KL cthnya…pe jadah ko nak banding dengan harga kat langkawi..

• kadajawi on Feb 20, 2012 at 3:21 pm

I haven’t done the comparison, but usually a VW in Malaysia is quite loaded with options. I’m not trying to offend you, maybe you know all of this.

In Europe cars are sold differently. You order the exact car you want, and then it is made just for you. First you pick the line of car… like with VW it’s often Trendline, Comfortline, etc. Something like J, G etc. with a Toyota.

Then you can pick what engine and gearbox you want. If you pick Trendline you are limited to the lower end ones, you pick Comfortline you will have to pick from the more powerful ones. Trendline and Comfortline and many more (including special editions… Rolling Stones, Beatles, Pearl Jam, Style (advertised by Karl Lagerfeld), football world cup, whatever, … those special editions will usually give you a set of options for a price lower than what you’d pay normally) will determine what is already included in the car (like aircon, no aircon, …), but you can upgrade from there (within limits… a Trendline will never get all the options that are possible, like leather seats may only be available from Comfortline onwards). If you want a certain feature it is very well possible that you will have to combine it with others that you may not want.

In any case this means not just picking the same engine as they offer in Malaysia, and maybe the same basic specs, but also going through the whole list and checking all the options that DRB Hicom already has picked for Malaysia. The panoramic sun roof is probably a RM 10-15k option. 9 airbags are probably optional, it’s likely the car normally only has 6 or 7 as a standard. DSG usually costs around RM 8-10k… etc. etc.

Also the S-Max is NOT the competitor to the Sharan. The Ford Galaxy is (they are similarly priced though).

I think you pay a premium for the brand here, but it is not as big as you may think. And Ford has pretty competitive pricing in Malaysia.

• Merc=Real Euro on Feb 20, 2012 at 4:44 pm

thanks for the clarification….just that vw are more expensive compared to other conti car…(Lets leave sharan and smax out of the discussion).I just dont see the point in paying addition premium… if audi or merc or bm then fine… Vw, Pug, Ford, Renault are all the same group and 10K premium is ok lah…but more than that then you really have to question…the spec and what are u really paying for… If technology then make sure it is real and reliable and not a gimmick which will give you headache…in long term..

if you look at the Jap they are almost price similarly give or take 10K….
        Is Toyota better than Honda….or Mazda better than Nissan…
        Yes and No…….no matter the technology ….price is very close +/- 10K…

I am sorry for being very critical of VW…..it just that the pricing structure
        is plain ridiculous. If it is built to a Lexus standard of quality and reliability
        then hey then fine….but the quality and reliability issues I hear about vw cars…seriously make me question the premium it has over the rest of the Euro cars. Is it worth it???… My take is the more you pay the better the product should
        be in every aspect… spec, quality, reliability & durability. Is Vw 30K-40K better
        than a Ford, Pug, ?….I fail to see it….

My final statement “Silver is Silver it cannot command gold price”…..

• kadajawi on Feb 20, 2012 at 5:57 pm

No. VW is not in the same group as the French. Think Korean vs Japanese. That being said I/my family has owned nothing but French cars for the past 25 years or so, and we are usually quite happy with them.

But a VW is sitting above the French, and IMHO also (slightly) above Ford and Opel, just underneath the true premium manufacturers such as Volvo, BMW, Audi and Mercedes. (At least as a German I see it that way). But it is closer to Audi than to Peugeot for example (people have been complaining that VW can’t really be called a people’s car (Volkswagen) anymore).

Of course VW is treated too much as a premium brand here. It should a few thousands above Ford, not many thousands.

Being expensive and premium doesn’t mean there are no problems. Audi tends to break down quite often AFAIK, and several batches of BMW and Mercedes models were also very problematic, with some really weird problems (such as the BMW 5 series (F10) steering wheel not going back to the center, and the car being extremely sensitive to wind on the highway.

Btw. a Ford should be several thousands over a Peugeot for example.

• Caruser on Feb 20, 2012 at 2:25 pm

whether Sharan is considered as cheap or expensive…. I don’t know la. All I know is that I can’t afford it. End of debate.

• mentari-o-korea on Feb 20, 2012 at 2:39 pm

EXPENSIVE!! Next..

• Changkul on Feb 20, 2012 at 2:58 pm

few ads from Mudah.my shows that “recond” Toyota Estima 2010 cost you about RM237k average. With no authorized dealer / manufacturer warranty, only “kedai” warranty and low spec compared to VW.
    I would rather buy this VW than “recond” estima for this price. Really worth for your penny.

• HMMM…Germans always expensive!!!

• Merc=Real Euro on Feb 20, 2012 at 4:50 pm

yeah… with report like this it doesnt help their image….

http://www.cnbc.com/id/41831956/?fb_ref=s%3DshowShareBarUI%3Ap%3Dfacebook-like&fb_source=timeline

• vendor on Feb 20, 2012 at 3:34 pm

mahalnyaaaaaaaaaaaaa………………….

• likehondanotsomuch on Feb 20, 2012 at 4:22 pm

expensive?how much is mazda cx8 or cx9?HOW MUCH?,,,,,,i drove grand livina,,,hehehehe

• kadajawi on Feb 20, 2012 at 4:29 pm

Ok, so I went all out with a Sharan. 7 seats is a RM 8,5k option (it seems like even in top spec it’s a 5 seater unless you pay more… or it is for getting the good aircon and 7 seats). 9 airbags are an option too. Xenon and parking assistant are an option. You want an ashtray, it’s an option, you’ll have to pay for that (RM 80). And that is the top of the line model.

Anyway, this is the result (not checking all options yet… but most are, this one is definitely better spec’ed than the Malaysian Sharan, but the Malaysian Sharan is closer to this than to base spec):
    Gesamtpreis+ 58.546,90 €
    In this very moment that means RM 233463,81. So yeah, cheaper (it has 18″ rims, adaptive sports suspension, the high end speakers etc.). But not that much. Keep in mind that the car started at 38200 Euro, which was already the highest spec with DSG and the most powerful engine (same as the one in Malaysia). The remaining 20000 are just options. The sun roof, satnav, leather, adaptive sports suspension, iPod dock, phone mount/holder with Bluetooth and many more.

• Keyboard Warrior on Feb 21, 2012 at 8:41 am

brother no money dont talk la.. iyo.. waste good internet bandwidth .. ish2..

• Victor on Feb 20, 2012 at 4:53 pm

Actually in the new big MPV market it goes head-to-head with the Honda Odyssey or the Mazda CX-9, both of which conveniently forgotten by commentators.

No point comparing it with the Estima and Alphard, as both are on available as stink-of-ciggie-smoke recons in Malaysia.

• KL fella on Feb 20, 2012 at 5:17 pm

and i can’t recall where i read it from, either here or another car forum, UMW is willing to bring in an Alphard with warranty to a particular buyer upon enquiry, but the selling price will be RM500k. that’s overkill i’d say..

• The spec is really generous but too bad it looks Exactly the same as the cheaper Touran.

• biggbro on Feb 20, 2012 at 6:50 pm

200k sounds more reasonable pricing for this kind of ppl mover…i think thats the sweet spot for most car buyers here. i’d buy one if it were priced on that range

• ichiban on Feb 20, 2012 at 6:53 pm

245k?? Dont buy yet la….wait till they throw 15k discounts, free road tax la, free insurance, free touch n go… just like they throw for Polo and golf..

• “…..Park Assist parallel parking system”. We will be seeing people parking without their hands manoeuvring the steering wheel. A cool high tech feature for a car priced at RM 245k with addition of other features.

• Keyboard Warrior on Feb 21, 2012 at 12:07 am

wah so many here no money; talk talk.. eh sorry; type – type only.. isay man..

• Ha Gnih on Feb 21, 2012 at 1:08 am

With this, I can actually buy 3 Proton Exora Bold CFE.

• seeking mpv on Feb 21, 2012 at 10:06 am

Externally, it looks a bit plain but the features make me drool. 245K is on the high side though. Based on Cross Touran’s price, I was expecting Sharan to be around 220K or 230K max. For me, as far as new MPVs are concerned, this should be compared to Mazda 8 and Naza Ria and I certainly think, at this point, Sharan has much more power and is better-equipped MPV. Need to see it in real-life though to assess the leg-room, ingress and egress to the 3rd row.

• Dont Fight on Feb 21, 2012 at 11:21 am

Wow; so many angry mobs here.
    Just think; if this VW so suck why in the world does VW owns:
    – VW car
    – Audi; which also owns quattro and Lambo
    – Bentley
    – Bugatti
    – Seat
    – Skoda

Additional stats is in 2010 they are the world’s 3rd largest automaker and in EU 2010 they are no 1…

Price is not an issue.
    Is just like demand and supply.
    Offer and acceptance.
    Hence buyer and seller.
    If u seek around u see Malaysian here are pretty wealthy as u can see they drive cars mostly RM100K++ on the roads..
    There are many Civic, Altis, Camry, Accord, Lancer..
    Also Contis: BM 3 and 5 series, Merc C and E class, VW Golf TSI and GTI, Audi A4…
    Other EU brand; 308/407…
    Many are on Malaysian road..
    So i doubt price is a factor.
    Also the VW brand started to picking up in 2nd value.
    Check their Mk5 and Mk6 GTI… they sustained high resale value.

Well when u talk about defect; all manufacturer got defect no one is 100% defect free.

Based on my experienced warranty claim with VW one of the easiest and fastest..
    If problem defect found; they just change it.
    If no stock/part then they will fly it from German in 2-3 weeks time.

Its just in our country all import(s) are bit stiff in pricing.
    Just go with it.
    Take a drive.
    Take many drive around with this car.
    Think; if it suits all ur needs; then take it.
    If not; sneak around for others.

• wheeler on Feb 21, 2012 at 12:25 pm

Nice but to me, highly priced.. No arm-rest for the 1st & 2nd row?

• kadajawi on Feb 21, 2012 at 3:22 pm

I think you can fold the center seat in the 2nd row to the front, which might give you an arm-rest. Also the first row has an arm rest, although it is too far in the back. Perhaps you can pull it to the front a bit…?

• 1malaysia2020 on Feb 21, 2012 at 4:06 pm

I’d appreciate the positive and very constructive arguments made by kadajawi and some other readers. I have a plan to buy an MPV this year and prior to Sharan launch, Peugeot 5008 was the target. Now with Sharan, I am having a second thought. I understand both are not in the same league but I think I might go for Sharan instead. Anyway both Peugeot 5008 and VW Sharan looks good in white…

• kadajawi on Feb 21, 2012 at 7:20 pm

Thanks!

A Sharan should be quite a bit more…

The Cross Touran isn’t bad either, it’s just that you will have to change the rims, the importer installed ones make a relatively stiff car downright brutal. No clue how the Sharan is… we’ll have to see.

Other options are the big Citroens and Renaults. I’m driving a Renault and am very happy with it, my other car is a Citroen and I can’t complain either (it’s in Europe though, so servicing is less of an issue). TC is doing a decent job in terms of service, although my Renault is pretty common so they know it. Those are cheaper cars than the Sharan though, so unless you save quite a bit it might not make as much sense (French cars are still relatively cheaply put together vehicles although they have improved a lot…). Also the VW service is supposed to be very good, and resale value esp. of VW is improving.

Generally I prefer MPVs over SUVs… especially kids or elderly people may have problems climbing into an SUV, and you carry around 4 wheel drive etc. which is wasting fuel and not really necessary (IMHO). They are usually also not as spacious for the exterior size as an MPV. I had some luggage (around 120 kg) in the Ford Galaxy, it all fit into the boot easily with the 3rd row folded away. In an X-Trail we had to stack much more (rear visibility was impaired), and still had to put quite a bit into the passenger compartment.

(Yeah, the white Sharan is pretty nice, that would be my choice).

• seeking MPV on Feb 23, 2012 at 7:57 am

Yeah same feeling here…..white looks nice. For the interior, I’d opt for the titanium black/buffalo leather. So have you seen or test drove sharan? Any feedback? I am also scouting for a MPV. Have seen many including Peu5008, grand picasso, cross touran, mazda8, s-max etc etc…none actually interests me enough (each of them must have something which i don’t fancy….either specs, power or space)…unless bermaz brings in the mazda8 2.3 turbo (with multifunction steering). If ford decides to launch their galaxy in malaysia, that would be interesting.

• kadajawi on Feb 23, 2012 at 1:58 pm

Seen, yes, mostly previous generations though. Never sat in one.

The Ford Galaxy would be very interesting, that one I drove, and if you are interested in comfort that might be the one to get. Exterior is pretty nice (I do miss sliding doors though, greatest invention since sliced bread). The interior is even better. Feels good, it’s easy to use, the car is easy to drive and stable even at higher speeds (got up to 190 despite having the tiny 1.6 Diesel). It’s not as soft as butter, but it is rather comfortable (at least on the highway, didn’t drive it over Malaysian style roads).

I don’t think the Sharan is far behind that though, but you’ll have to try it yourself (I’m happy with my MPV, so I won’t be heading towards VW to try it). The VW interior should be quite nice too, I did drive several other VW that are positioned below the Sharan (Touran, Cross Touran, Golf+ and Golf IV and sitting in the V), and they were quite good (the Galaxy was nicer though, but then again it’s a very pleasant car also compared to smaller/cheaper Fords).

What I’d worry about is the dreaded resale value of the Ford (at least VW is improving) and especially customer service/repairs (VW has a great reputation, Ford a pretty bad one that is said to improve…?). On the other hand I expect the Galaxy to be quite competitively priced (maybe around 200-220k?), IF they chose to bring it in. Big Fords aren’t selling that well though.

• seeking MPV on Feb 23, 2012 at 3:21 pm

I thought Sharan would be priced around 220K too (about 50 to 60K more than its smaller sibling) but it did not turn out to be so. Sharan is much bigger than cross-T but galaxy is only a tad bigger than s-max….so u might be right in guessing the galaxy to be around 220K. Anyway, we’d never know how those guys determine the price. Furthermore a cheaper price tag might not be good news as it is known that they can trim down the specs for attractive pricing, right? In addition Galaxy might or might not come to malaysian shore so i will not be waiting for it. 245K for sharan sounds damn expensive at first but having thought about it, the same amount of $$ would only get me a recon estima 2.4 which is 3 or 4 years old (no offense to estima lovers). And with so many estimas running around, many people must have felt 230 – 250K is a reasonable price for a high-spec mpv…even more so if it is a new mpv. So now i think sharan is worth considering despite its price tag. I have no issues with resale value really. The most important thing is the mpv suits my needs and taste, reliable and has good and convenient after-sales service. The last thing i want to happen is to spend lots of $$ and yet need to wait for weeks or months for parts or even worse when the servicemen can’t manage to diagnose or solve a prob. From ur posts you seem to be confident of vw and that is a plus point for me in deciding whether i should consider sharan. Now i am really eager to make a trip to KL to see and try it out.

• mstrbtron on Feb 21, 2012 at 7:24 pm

i prefer the seat version… called ALHAMBRA

http://i.telegraph.co.uk/multimedia/archive/01775/Seat-Alhambra-1_1775486c.jpg

• Galvin Tan on Feb 22, 2012 at 11:04 am

Nice! Just wondering if the Sharan comes with a backrow aircon vent? Problem with 7-seaters is it can get pretty hot right at the back row.

• Sharan is the fastest large size MPV I ever driven. It’s powerful for this class of vehicle and the handling is the best I have come across for this vehicle size. It’s almost like driving a saloon car, some how the car make you feel like you are driving a smaller sized vehicle. Power delivery is good and smooth, not too jumpy like Passat CC in slow traffic. Cruising is effortless on the highway.

Cabin space is smaller than Estima(previous version) and access to the back is reasonable easy although not the walk-thru ease of the Estima 7 seaters. However, the side seats on the middle row has low head clearance and if you are 1.8m tall your hair will brushed with the air-con duct on the side. It’s has a clear glass ceiling and does not come with a solid blind, you need a good tint to block out the sun heat. The high spec version with ‘lane assist’ can be a nuisance and it will nudge ur steering if you change lane without signalling. It can’t be disable, however the cheaper version does not has ‘lane assist’. All in all, I can’t think of a new full sized 7 seaters MPV that I can compared with which give such agility and performance.

For 100K saving(richer) and a smaller size, I wanted to buy the Peugeot 5008, unfortunately I have to wait for the next batch of 5008 which only be made available in Oct this year. They don’t even have a test drive unit, you can only test drive the 3008 which have the same engine and lighter, drive dynamics not as nice as the Sharan.

• kadajawi on Feb 28, 2012 at 3:00 pm

How about signaling when changing lanes? I mean… that’s what they are meant for, and it helps other drivers avoiding crashing into you. It works and helps in other countries. Or should they offer an indicator free version, to save a few bucks? I wish this feature was mandatory in Malaysia and impossible to disable (if you try to you get electrocuted…). Sorry if I’m harsh, but it would help if people used their indicators.

There should be the possibility to order the car the way you want. Some may not want the glass ceiling, and that’s quite an expensive option (should be around 8-10k…).

• Agreed on the need to signal before changing lane, it’s just a bad habit of mine not to signal, I have experience that Klang valley drivers will speed up and try to block you changing lane if you signal ahead. It’s definitely a plus safety features for highway travel on PLUS. The cheaper version does not has this.

Unfortunately, we don’t have choice to pick and choose options like car buyers in other countries. Sadly, it’s is a trade practice here not to offer them, VM sales person did explained they can’t offer pick and choose because VM Malaysia has limited AP to import their cars and they carefully choose their versions for our market. Each version required approval from the goverment. Until we have freemarket, we will not have the pick and choose option in buying cars. I prefer not to have the glass roof (as I don’t like the strong sun) but VM Malaysia can’t offer that at the moment.

• kadajawi on Feb 29, 2012 at 4:48 pm

Unfortunately that is true… the egoism on the roads is just staggering.

So if I understand it correctly it is the governments fault that we don’t get any entry level conti? Because if the importer tried to bring in a reasonably priced one (as it doesn’t have all sorts of not so necessary features) they just wouldn’t get an AP, or would have to pay so much for taxes that no one would buy it? Too bad.

Actually I thought the glass roof is very cool in the Cross Touran, however I was only in it at night. During the day… not cool. Nice perhaps, but not cool. And not really necessary, considering the premium we have to pay for it (and are forced to pay for it…).

Btw., how is the comfort/suspension in the Sharan? I have only been driving the Touran (a bit stiff, Euro spec so small rims and still acceptable comfort) and the Cross Touran (Malaysian spec, absolutely appaling creature comfort), but those are smaller. The Ford Galaxy was near perfect, it leaned a bit in corners, but it didn’t feel dangerous or wobbly at high speeds and it was pretty comfortable. Great balance.

• In a way when the Govt dedicts the number of AP, has effects on imported cars pricing and versions. It’s not freemarket where car sellers can completely call their shots.

The Sharan suspension can be considered excellent a large size MPV, over rough road it soaked up irregularities nicely and I don’t feel the jutters over pot holes. The vehicle is stable in sharp corners compared to other large size MPV I driven, very car like at speed and in sharp maneuvers. Go test drive and you can compare to Ford Galaxy.

• ajzdr on Mar 30, 2012 at 11:57 am

Sorry lah…the Alphards and Estimas look like black maria vans to me….in terms of safety , performance, handling, aesthetics they cannot hold a candle to the Ford s-max and VW Sharan.

For big family i will opt for the VW Sharan, for small family my money is on Ford S- max.

• I’m a working mom and drive a Grandis. Driven a VW and power beats any Jap cars of similar engines, hands down! Sharan is an excellent alternative to Alphards and Estimas.

For the same pricing, I would go for brand new than pre-owned, worse part is you know even know exactly how old are the pre-own cars.

• EyeingCompactMPV on May 13, 2012 at 4:06 am

I wonder why Cross Tuoran seat design looks like taxi in 80’s a.k.a teksi zaman badul…

It should be leather though

• zahid abbasi on Aug 01, 2012 at 7:38 pm

nice bullt its realy realy upgraded frm last model but prix wwwooooooooooooooooooo,