Facelifted Toyota Prius is here – RM139,900 to RM145,500

We didn’t tell you, but yesterday’s launch of the Toyota Prius c was in fact a double launch – the other car being the facelifted and upgraded third-generation Prius. After focusing on the undoubted star of the show, here’s a look at the Prius that paved the way.

There are no mechanical changes, so big bro Prius continues with the Hybrid Synergy Drive system consisting of a 1.8-litre 2ZR-FXE Atkinson cycle engine (99 PS and 142 Nm) and a 82 PS/207 Nm electric motor. The combined output is 136 PS. There’s an electric water pump, exhaust gas recirculation and no accessory drive belts for max efficiency. The gearbox is a CVT unit. Drivers get to choose between Normal, Power, Eco and EV modes.

No big changes to the trademark Prius look, but small differences include a restyled lower grille (improves air intake, pedestrian protection), repositioned fog lamps, LED daytime running lights, new rear lights and a new Bordeaux Mica Metallic colour. Inside, the theme has been changed from grey to black, and there are new textures to the plastics. The front armrest and cupholders, among other small bits, have been redesigned for better usability.

There’s a Head-Up Display that projects speed and the Hybrid Eco Monitor, and the brightness is auto adjusted. You’ll also notice a new head unit with a 6.1-inch touch screen display, Bluetooth/USB connection and reverse camera. Sound comes from an 8-Green Edge speaker, 8-channel amplifier system by JBL.

Like before, keyless entry and start, cruise control and Touch Tracer are available. On the safety front, the Prius comes with seven airbags, TRC, VSC, ABS, EBD and Brake Assist.

Toyota has a new variant called Prius Luxury. This upscale trim level adds on LED projector headlamps with auto leveling and washer. Normally found on high end Lexus models, LED headlamps are brighter and use less energy than HID bulbs. Luxury trim also brings an electro chromic rear view mirror and leather seats. The front seats are heated.

If you’re wondering why, remember that a small market like ours can’t dictate and custom order specs – I’m guessing that if UMWT wanted leather from TMC, they have to take it with the warmers.

Japan’s best selling car is priced at RM139,900 OTR with insurance, while the Prius Luxury is yours for RM145,500, lower than pre launch estimates.

Danny Tan loves driving as much as he loves a certain herbal meat soup, and sweet engine music as much as drum beats. He has been in the auto industry since 2006, previously filling the pages of two motoring magazines before joining this website. Enjoys detailing the experience more than the technical details.

• Glee Power on Feb 21, 2012 at 11:29 am

the rims look much better now

• VOLVO FOR LIFE on Feb 21, 2012 at 3:52 pm

still i prefer the larger stock rims which toyota usually use in their press pictures

• Wisdom on Feb 22, 2012 at 11:26 pm

Too skinny and still use the same plastic cap over alloy. Cant they just use Camry rims since the price is about the same?

• carnoisseur on Feb 21, 2012 at 11:30 am

The rims still look disturbingly small and tacky , if only Toyota changed that, the whole proportion of this car would look less bulky.

• For Priuses, they prioritize driver comfort and max fuel efficiency over looks. You seldom can have both end of 2 worlds. But you definitely can mod yourself.

• Wisdom on Feb 22, 2012 at 11:29 pm

You saying that the driving comfort will be compromise if they use at least 16 inch? Come on.

• crz01 on Feb 21, 2012 at 11:34 am

Hi dear editor,

Is there a 12inch subwoofer included in the 8-Green Edge JBL speakers?

• The 15in plus wheelcap rims look stupid. They should provide the 17in rims.

• Safe Driver on Feb 21, 2012 at 12:36 pm

Lol the pot calling the kettle black. U want to take high speed corner with this prius C is it?

• Wisdom on Feb 22, 2012 at 11:31 pm

Sorry bro its Prius, not Prius C.

Out of hundreds or thousand owners, for sure somebody will take high speed corner..

• But it really saves the fuel…

• DewaSemut on Feb 21, 2012 at 12:09 pm

Heated seats + Malaysian climate = sweaty butt… :P

• silver on Feb 21, 2012 at 12:20 pm

anyone know could i get the touch screen fitted to my old priuis ,

• this should not even qualify as a facelift…most layman cant even tell the difference.

11 people are excited bcos of this? must really have no life.

• fishbuffdragonred on Feb 21, 2012 at 12:52 pm

1.5 car butt looks like Myvi….duhhhhhhhhhhhhhhhh

• seancorr on Feb 21, 2012 at 1:02 pm

Owhh more spec for a decent price. Kudos to HUD! The Luxury spec should have electronic seats and front parking sensors.

Btw Mr. UMWT, your website still not updated leh!

• Paint on Feb 21, 2012 at 1:26 pm

I suppose in the US there’s a plug-in hybrid of the Prius. Mind checking why are they not bringing it to Malaysia?

• Visitor on Feb 21, 2012 at 10:53 pm

That would be too expensive IMO. Besides, where are you going to plug it in when you are outside your house? And car parks at high rise apartments in this country are not equipped with plugs at all.

• chrislai75 on Feb 21, 2012 at 1:28 pm

yes…eat your vege and go green

• Ash Menon on Feb 21, 2012 at 2:36 pm

I agree that Malaysia on its own is too small a market to demand customization, but surely someone realized that the entire southeast Asian region doesn’t need heated seats?!

• Gavin on Feb 21, 2012 at 2:38 pm

Hahaha at that price, 200% confirm a diesel of similar price would smash it’s savings from this by years

• Sure ka diesel can get 1000km+ per tank (45L)?

• http://paultan.org/2011/05/02/ford-focus-tdci-1365-5-km-done-on-one-tank-of-diesel/

To be exact, 1159km on 45L of diesel. Do note that it’s a 2.0L TurboDiesel. (Still it’s 2L)

So the answer is -> SURE.

• Gavin on Feb 21, 2012 at 8:26 pm

Easily if you don’t try 800-900kms, plus diesel is only RM1.80, but about 120nM and 60HP more than this, practically you can fit another 1.5 engine to the prius

• Low2215 on Feb 22, 2012 at 8:43 am

Problem with diesel is the emission , i think European manufacturer has put in tons of high tech stuff into their turbo diesel just to meet euro 5 standard , imagine when Euro 6 is coming .

• FYI, modern diesel produces less CO2 than petrol and it’s much cleaner as well (NOx, PM).

And fyi, it is not very high tech compared to the hybrid system. :) Just some EGR, PM Filter, Post combustion fuel injection, etc.

Euro6 is no problem for them as their fuel, even without newer technology as their fuel is much cleaner compared to ours. The G must do it’s part to work out on this.

• hway de Cruz on Feb 21, 2012 at 3:37 pm

gosh… wat r those japanese thinking? heated seats? here in the tropics, they give heated seats, hah! can’t think any reason why they wan give this feature…. unless they know we get snow soon, due to the climate change… :-p

• U don’t read the article first?

• Ongtk on Feb 21, 2012 at 7:18 pm

My Ssangyong Kyron has heated seats and I used it frequently especially during my weekly KL/PG/KL drive at night. I find it does help to relief the stress on the lower back as the heat is generated to the back rest too. The heater is thermostatically controlled. So you need not worry about burnt buttocks, haha!

• auto-guy-but-not-quite on Feb 22, 2012 at 6:28 pm

yeah… thats the good feedback from guys who turn on their heated seats during long journeys.. reduce back stress…
        anyway.. if you not using it, switch it off la… you are buying a global car, bound to have global combination items like “leather + seat warmers” . can turn it off, not linked to air cond system .

• alldisc on Feb 21, 2012 at 3:45 pm

prius is the best selling car in japan?? how come cannot be best selling in malaysia…

• Because fuel in Japan is expensive, Malaysia not yet.

• Ya i agreed with you for time being. But, our lovely G gradually will remove all the subsidies on food, petrol, groceries and eventually our fuel will follow international price; However, what about the car pricing in M’sia? can we also follow international price ?
        Yet, is this so called Rakyat Didahulukan, Pencapaian Diutamakan….

• Rulered on Feb 21, 2012 at 5:58 pm

Because in Malaysia there are many more dieselheads, we want biodiesel bro, that’s more real fuel alternative than batts

• Wisdom on Feb 22, 2012 at 11:37 pm

Because in japan cheap. Here 139.9K!!!

• may i know what is the Touch Tracer?

• Paul Tan on Feb 21, 2012 at 5:07 pm

It’s the steering wheel controls – they have 2-mode operation – touch and press.

http://www.youtube.com/watch?v=JWZ9SX2tyAc?w=300

• CK200H on Feb 21, 2012 at 6:02 pm

Heated seat? A Japanese friend sat in my car, and he think of 2 reasons to have heated seat.

1. when you buy pizza, you can get it back home still in hot condition
    2. you were wet from rain, then it helps to dry up ur pants.

• yh Inc. on Feb 21, 2012 at 6:11 pm

This is true Hybrid vehicle. Insight? Don’t kidding me!

• Insightowner on Feb 22, 2012 at 11:42 pm

RM139,900 vs RM99,800. U must be kidding. Seems people still compare Prius and Insight. Its a compliment.

Prius lost because of price. Some say 140K better buy Accord/Camry/Teana/Sonata.

• Ongtk on Feb 21, 2012 at 7:03 pm

I booked a luxury unit 10 days ago and I am happy to note the price for the luxury version is now almost at par with the price quoted for the standard version at the time I booked the car. However, until today, the sales adviser is unable to confirm the delivery timeline; he is saying this can only be known end of February. I failed to understand why is this so; especially with all the computerization today at UMW Toyota? Anyone out there facing the same problem?

• James on Feb 21, 2012 at 8:15 pm

stock allocation to showrooms are done manually.

• I booked it Mid Jan ..getting it next week. Car already allocated and awaiting the delivery to JB … I guess u got more time to wait …. ;)

• funny thing is…in USA, Prius and Prius C price difference like 10-20% different if extreme, but we are like 50% different. UMWT really milking Msia customer. Boycott!!!

• kereta jimat n mesra alam, tapi mahal~~~

• alldisc on Feb 22, 2012 at 9:32 am

kalau jual 50K, proton dan perodua mati bro…. sedangkan vios kerajaan blok tak boleh turun bawah 70K – jgn kacau kereta nasional.

• Dr Mamak on Feb 21, 2012 at 11:14 pm

Where the heck is my Prius V ??

• XC70XC on Feb 22, 2012 at 5:50 am

Good to see the hybrid cars being launched in Malaysia and so soon after its global launch. Over here, Toyota has started to run adverts showing the new Prius family, new look Prius, the compact Prius c and the 7 seater MPV-like Prius v. The Prius v has the same hybrid engine and equipments as the Prius with fogs and DRLs (Daylight Running Lights) as standard. The body is akin to slightly larger version of Wish.

Danny, any news or indication if UMW will launch the Prius v in Malaysia. It will be ideal for one who is looking for a 7 seater and like a CBU and good FC. The tax scheme for hybrids under 2.0L will make it one of the cheapest CBU 7 seater I reckoned. I would be interested to get one if I am back.

• kemang on Feb 22, 2012 at 10:28 am

Approximate price for Prius in Asean countries:

Singapore: RM400K
    Thai: RM120K
    Brunei: RM140K
    Indon: RM160K
    Philiphines: RM160K
    Malaysia: RM140K

• alldisc on Feb 24, 2012 at 5:19 pm

RM400K in singapore? i dont think so… maybe with COE. you have to bid to buy a car in singapore, because of limited space available.

how about the plain car price?

• paparadzi on Feb 22, 2012 at 11:51 am

What are the available colors?

• skoop on Feb 22, 2012 at 9:07 pm

7 colors are available. white, silver, grey, purple, red, black and blue

• Hi Danny,

In future article, I would like to recommend for you team to do side by side comparison. It’s much easier for your reader. This picture is taken from your site. I just copy and paste. A picture is worth than a thousand words.

http://i.imgur.com/h3Krx.png

Just my 2 cents

• Kent Tan on Feb 24, 2012 at 1:40 am

Its available in the showroom already?

• flyer168 on Jan 02, 2013 at 7:45 am

Already have the 2011 Prius which I am very happy with. Am looking to upgrade to the Prius + 7 seater model. Any idea when it will be available in Malaysia and what will be the price? Any ideas suggestions. Tq. Email – [email protected]

• st8888 on Apr 04, 2013 at 2:05 pm

I’m from the US and Prius’ are a big hit over there. We are moving from SG to Malaysia and looking to get the Prius Luxury model. I’ve been doing a lot of comparisons with C-segment cars (e.g. Civic, Corolla, Lancer, Focus, etc.), but this is, in my opinion, the most sensible choice. One of the very few choices that has 7 airbags! Yes, generally quite useless, but if you do need it just once, it can save your life (happened to me before). Also, great on gas, full spec (LED headlights, JBL stereo? Wow!), CBU from Japan, etc… Corolla and Civic don’t make sense considering what you DON’T get for the money you pay. Elantra has lower price, but on a monthly basis, including gas savings, etc.. the difference is not bad.. Prius should cost about RM400 per month (assuming 1000km useage per month).

Any 3rd generation Prius owner out there having any problems or issues with the car?

Thanks.

• st8888 on Apr 04, 2013 at 2:09 pm

…Prius should cost about RM400 per month more than an Elantra (assuming 1000km per month). Not bad considering how much more you get with the Prius vs. the Elantra. Tough choice though since the Elantra does look quite nice and comes with a better warranty, but since we have kids, safety is important and I presume a Toyota should have better RV.

• Dan Say on Nov 25, 2013 at 7:03 pm

Problem with Prius low base. Even at low speed the base can scrap some road humps. Any suggestions?

• Wondering niw on Oct 30, 2017 at 1:58 am

After 5 years, how many Malaysian own a prius, a hybrid or an electric car? This comment is posted in 2017 after 5 years. 0.1% of Malaysian cars are in the above category. Malaysian are just too poor to own new technologies.