My Proton Makeover – Iswara goes back to Norzamzarini

The third car to undergo a complete refurbishment in the My Proton Makeover programme has gone back to its owner. Engineer Norzamzarini Mohd Bajuri received his R3-rebuilt 1996 Proton Iswara Aeroback at a simple handing over ceremony at the Proton Centre of Excellence yesterday.

The red, second-hand Iswara AB 1.3 that Norzamzarini purchased in 1998 received the full R3 treatment, though the ideas that went into the reworking of the car, as explained by R3 head honcho Tengku Djan Ley, was to ensure its practicality without compromising its external looks.

“As it is the primary mode of transport for Norzamzarini and his family, the car clocked high mileage with its daily use. Knowing that the consistency of its usage will continue, the work that was done to the car’s performance was not so much as to give it more power but to improve its drivability and efficiency,” Djan explained.

“Norzamzarini mentioned that he liked the colour orange. We then explored that option and decided to do the car up in Lotus orange,” he added. The colour was first seen in photos through work-in-progress stories run earlier.

“There was a slight fear that this could potentially make his car look a little tacky. However, the decision to use a significant amount of titanium-coloured detailing helped us avoid that and ultimately gives the car a uniquely classy and sporty look,” he explained. The car also sports a dark interior with strong hints of Lotus orange, fittingly complementing its exterior.

Mechanically, the engine and the gearbox were given a full overhaul, while the suspension system received special attention – it was adjusted to give Norzamzarini’s car a standard feel whilst looking sporty, with an emphasis to provide a balanced performance for day-to-day driving.

“We also opted to use 15-inch rims to improve and sustain the car’s balance, so that it will not result in high fuel consumption,” Djan added.

Meanwhile, Norzamzarini was pretty chuffed with the results. “This new lease of life that Proton has given to my car is a gift beyond words and is truly a blessing to me and my family,” the software engineer from Muar enthused.

The Iswara AB joins Sashideran Radha Krishnan’s 17-year-old Wira and Fadly Hisham Roplay’s 1992 Saga as the R3 makeover specials. Next on the cards is a Satria GTI belonging to Salina Hisham from Johor Bahru.

Anthony Lim believes that nothing is better than a good smoke and a car with character, with good handling aspects being top of the prize heap. Having spent more than a decade and a half with an English tabloid daily never being able to grasp the meaning of brevity or being succinct, he wags his tail furiously at the idea of waffling - in greater detail - about cars and all their intrinsic peculiarities here.

• is it legal to change the looks of the car like tat????JPJ Approve??

• BOYRACER on Feb 22, 2012 at 10:51 am

Looks like an orange Proton Iswara to me.Does not look like an orange Lambo.

• nizam1402 on Feb 22, 2012 at 11:11 am

whats wrong with changing colours ?

• aiyo, just send to jpj apply for car color change la…

• critic_A on Feb 22, 2012 at 12:00 pm

ofcuz its legal ==”

• left.lane.driver on Feb 22, 2012 at 12:12 pm

Stupid questions. It’s R3 that made the makeover FFS. And only color change, slap in minor bodykit and sport rims.Standard engine and tranny. WTF do U wanna JPJ’s approval for??

• which part?

• The plate is definitely illegal.
      Refer to this
      http://www.abunyer.com/wp-content/uploads/2009/11/plet_no.jpg

• Dunno why i think this is the best looking and clean Iswara ever ! much much better than those Evolswara !

• Jebat binti Rosmah on Feb 22, 2012 at 10:40 pm

The number plate does not seem to be something that JPJ approve though

• Miraclemall on Feb 22, 2012 at 10:48 am

Color is great!

• thebosssedangbercakap on Feb 22, 2012 at 10:48 am

wayyyyy better than the previous makeover. something unique. never seen an iswara with this colour.

• How about putting a more powerful power steering into it to improve drivability. That, I’ll be very impressed.

• theanswer on Feb 22, 2012 at 2:11 pm

more powerful? can turn without using ur hands? ;)

• Quite obvious that you never drove that type of car before.

• HirumaKecil on Feb 22, 2012 at 6:08 pm

U mean power steering???

• pomen_gtr on Feb 22, 2012 at 11:59 pm

why???

i’ve driven kancil with faulty steering rack..i’ve driven old datsun 160j without power steering….seems the steering work not that hard….

• Excuse me bro I dont see any big changes which require JPJ approval deiii……the only changes is the 15in rim ………

• ApaSaJa on Feb 22, 2012 at 11:09 am

Number place font legal ? Police and JPJ tak kacau?

• First thing first, the no. plate pass JPJ? Later kena blocked saying “fancy no. plate”

• Looks like a Taxi because of the colour.

• mnazri.tan on Feb 22, 2012 at 11:30 am

engine and tranny overhauled and cleaned up….chassis being repainted in side out removing all the rust, new interior, new paint, new tyre and rim, new absorber….what else you need anyway…this will give the car new lease of life…would last for another good ten years….perhaps as good as new….lucky guy

• ZenZarray on Feb 22, 2012 at 11:35 am

Many ppl gonna bash this car due to colour,no X-treme makeover….typical… c’mon its free ok…free powertrain…free cushion..free overhaul…but wat i dun like is only is the rim…kinda small…btw good job R3 for restoring iswara…= )

• Highwaystar82 on Feb 22, 2012 at 11:39 am

Nicely done but could have installed airbags (if can).. the poor fellar got kids for god’s sake. The car looks good. He looks happy and that’s all that matters.

There was no major change done on the car. This is more like reviving the car and repainting it. so, doesnt make a difference to JPJ.

wait a minute. Is that number plate legal? Don’t want him to get jpj summons for that. hahaha..

• alldisc on Feb 22, 2012 at 2:01 pm

for kids, better to install ISOFIX mounts. so that can fix R3 child seat!!

• bobdbilder on Feb 22, 2012 at 11:42 am

It would be nice if they have plans to make the bits and pieces available for retail. I know they have some for the Limited Edition Vehicles. When I owned the Satria GLi, I had to look around for the bling stuffs like GTi mid consoles. Of course you could still get some of these still, but to get an official one would be nicer.

• blackrythms on Feb 22, 2012 at 11:42 am

do we have to payfor it? how to participate

• JLean on Feb 22, 2012 at 11:44 am

I don’t see any Engine pic.. Is there any?

• Mou Mou Ren on Feb 22, 2012 at 11:45 am

The plate number not approve by JPJ. The JEH too close with the number. Saman dia….

• hway de Cruz on Feb 22, 2012 at 11:49 am

nice color, the rims in black would b nice if they put in matt silver, but overall great job done. guess this car would b road worthy for another 5 years easily, with some TLC may get another additional 5 years to that. would proton consider a remodelling on the perdana too? like to c what these guys can come out with

• the best PIMP MY RIDE by proton so far.

rim look nice , colour look nice.

• want new car on Feb 22, 2012 at 12:02 pm

funny to see voting button..ada gak Angry & Sad on this news….something wrong with them.LOL

• Nissan Indomobil on Feb 22, 2012 at 12:19 pm

Paul, the color is orange or yellow? It’s beautiful that you combine with black list color

• I kinda like the unique colour though…

• WALASiZO on Feb 22, 2012 at 12:47 pm

Congratulations!..rezeki~

• wow….they turned a lemon into an orange :P

• imeanwheni on Feb 22, 2012 at 1:37 pm

Nice…
    When could we see more extreme pimp up ride eh?..

• evo8gsr on Feb 22, 2012 at 1:52 pm

number plate fail again……

• HirumaKecil on Feb 22, 2012 at 6:16 pm

Haih… Got nothing to comment but still want to comment… Dun need to repeat the same point many,many,many,many time lah.. Just like the first comment about the number plate lah if u like it so much… Always like that… so ‘mencapap’…

• kusochon on Feb 22, 2012 at 2:23 pm

still looks better than most korean cars

• Anti turbo on Feb 23, 2012 at 7:45 am

Er…. Really dude? IT’s better looking than Forte?? Sonata??

• jolly_idiot on Feb 22, 2012 at 2:53 pm

Norzamzarini Mohd Bajuri now can sell of this car with higher value then go to buy other brand.

He’ll thank R3 for appreciating his car value so that he can save on his down payment on his next ride.

• as usual lah! on Feb 22, 2012 at 3:03 pm

nice colour..mcm toyota gt86 jer…hehe :D

• OilChange on Feb 22, 2012 at 3:03 pm

the number plate will not pass jpj….

• _xXx_ on Feb 22, 2012 at 3:14 pm

ello bang Norzamzarini, tibalah masanya ko pi TOYOTA showroom ngan Saga R3 ko tu….Cantiknya PriusC tu bang….hehehe

• Spring on Feb 22, 2012 at 3:53 pm

i will be more than happy if perodua want to do total overhaul my kenari like this iswara. at least i can drive for another 7yrs. only brainless will complain this and that. the owner will appreciate what he got.

• mystvearn on Feb 22, 2012 at 3:55 pm

No interior shot? Would like to see the engine bay :)

• Anthony Lim (Member) on Feb 22, 2012 at 5:11 pm

Unfortunately, there were no engine bay or interior shots that came with the release.

• MAKING-OVER SHIT ,STILL LOOK LIKE SHIT. JUST LIKE MAHATHIR’S FACE.

• nasha on Feb 22, 2012 at 4:30 pm

lucky fella. i assume the car already finish installment, no more to pay bank, got to drive like new car some more. very lucky fella.

• Dr Mamak on Feb 22, 2012 at 4:38 pm

Even the owner looks meh.

• zainal abidin on Feb 22, 2012 at 4:42 pm

One good thing that come out of this is :

1. The lucky owner gets his/her car rebuilt by R3. (and I do mean REBUILT !!).
    2. He/she gets to make friends with the R3 fraternity.
    3. The guys at R3 really know how to make an older car look good.
    4. This lucky guy will not have to buy a new car with endless installment headaches,
    as he can use this car for many more years to come.

• albag on Feb 22, 2012 at 5:22 pm

hey this kinda plate number font acceptable meh???

• no soundproofing for engine hood?

• edy halim on Feb 22, 2012 at 6:32 pm

THANK YOU ANTHONY LIM :)

• DArkerMarker on Feb 22, 2012 at 7:13 pm

makeover = make up.

What about the performance of the car??? any improvement worth mentioning??

• Is the owner happy? i mean…u want to drive a car with that color?

its mean to market the protong with the expense of owner..

• zainal abidin on Feb 23, 2012 at 8:02 am

In all possibility R3 must have consulted and informed the owner regarding everything prior to the car’s ‘rebuilt’. Maybe this is the colour the owner wanted?

• HirumaKecil on Feb 23, 2012 at 8:15 am

I think they ask the owner la before they do it it. And, why not??? So many people use that colour in their car… I’ve many… I see a lot of people drive a car in that color.. U don’t like does’t mean others don’t like too… For me that car look better than standard one… More ‘garang’ and sporty…

• corolla_KE70 on Feb 23, 2012 at 10:00 am

nak kata buta, boleh buka webpage. tapi tak reti nak baca full report. penat2 Mr Anthony tulis tapi tak ada orang baca, terus jump to conclusion.

• SAGA BeLum Masak on Feb 23, 2012 at 10:35 am

The problem with some readers (if they read) and some commenters is they didn’t understand (or try to understand) the whole story. Instead most of them keep on asking or commenting on nonrelated subject which already been written clearly in the related articles.

Pitty…..

• Commentator on Feb 23, 2012 at 7:25 am

Hi Danny/Paul, I think there’s a typo near the end of the article.

“the software from Muar enthused. “?

• anthony~ more pic please~ tq~!

• wanmi16 on Feb 24, 2012 at 4:34 pm

for a common, average guy like most of us.. this would be a bless in any way…
    this is his primary transport for god’s sake.. it doesn’t need to be that powerful… it just need to be reliable…

while most of ppl drove a nice japs / conti, this man settled for his saga.. seems like most of the condemning comes from a lucky boy of god..

if i were him.. i’d take this chance.. anytime!

• hafifi on Feb 27, 2012 at 12:38 am

adoi la kawan…

u can read past report/pic about his car progress. they already overhauled this car’s engine, total body paint, its TOTAL okeh! no rust left behind (u can estimate how much needed for that) plus few refurbishment works.

number plate? aloo kawan, he already drove this car for YEARS and he already know if its illegal. how much he need to change plate? nah… just few ringgit only. make it standard n can slap ur face to shut ur mouth (no bashing again). why this car looks like no X or extreme looks? for sure R3 wanna make it as legal as possible n for family-used car. its cool wat? 15″ rims plus nice lamps, paints, n new refurbished interior, n i think tht his car like ‘anak dara’ lor… stop bashing, stop complaining and ask stupid question as i think this owner/engineer not tht stupid to hear tht.

congratulation to the owner, we proud of u for ur car to have new life n extended so serve u!

• staff-mimos on Feb 28, 2012 at 12:43 pm

Tahniah Zam,

gempak jugak staff Mimos dapat masuk media, kereta ko pasti gempak abis lepas ni !!! woohoooo !!!

• NORIKO on Mar 01, 2012 at 10:22 am

as ugly as your face

• turboEvo on Mar 07, 2012 at 9:26 am

Ugly like his face? no larr…if ugly than he’s still single, but he’s married already.
      Got problem with that? Better than u, who got big mouth & fat ass ,NORIKO…

• khalx666 on Mar 16, 2012 at 5:13 am

Congrats to Norzamzarini !!!

For those yg comment tak tentu hala kat sini, their so jealous sebab kereta diorang tak dapat masuk contest nih tuh jer…cuba dapat masuk tengok…mau melompat berguling atas tanah…it’s free for god sake, lagi mau bising.