Proton offering step-up financing plan for Proton Saga

Proton is currently offering a step-up financing plan with Maybank and AmBank for the Proton Saga to make it easier for someone to pay for the car the first few years of servicing the loan. This step-up plan is on offer until the 15th March 2012.

The step-up plan is basically a 9 year 90% loan with 3.5% flat per-annum interest which starts you off with a lower than usual monthly repayment, which then increases to a higher amount from the 3rd year onwards, and then up again during the 7th, 8th, and 9th years.

Here’s a sample of the repayment amounts:

One caveat though – Sagas purchased under the step up financing scheme will only have a 3 year manufacturer warranty instead of the 5 year Extended Warranty Programme that Proton Sagas usually come with if you opt for standard financing.

Might be tempting – but 9 year loans should be treated as a last resort if you want to buy a car.

After dabbling for years in the IT industry, Paul Tan initially began this site as a general blog covering various topics of personal interest. With an increasing number of readers paying rapt attention to the motoring stories, one thing led to another and the rest, as they say, is history.

• Black Dog on Feb 22, 2012 at 3:21 pm

By the 7th year when you want to sell the car (half broken by then), you won’t get back a sen!

A great way to make the poor poorer…

• if u think like this u should not buy a car in the 1st place…

• critic_A on Feb 22, 2012 at 3:56 pm

dont mind him~ he is a black dog! a dumb 1!! it wont understand human

• kuncisudu on Feb 22, 2012 at 4:52 pm

why u want to sell the car? proton car u keep for life. it is like diamond.

• yaHAha on Jun 16, 2012 at 8:00 pm

Yes its true. when u wanna sell of no value. This kind of step-up loan ever used before what, if not mistaken last 4 to 5 years ago. So why now no more use?? Simply bcoz 2nd hand value drop like u flush d toilet bold. LOL!! I remember maybank ever offered b4, at 1st RM399, then RM499, then RM599, then RM699.. getting higher, but car value during that period getting lower fuhh..

• perodua on Feb 22, 2012 at 3:24 pm

Enjoy now and suffer later plan. I think it will affect the 2nd hand price of the car under this plan.

• copycat from naza but naza every year increase monthly installment assuming u got increment every year. if the total payment its same or not so much different with normal one why not…

• Hyundai De La Junk on Feb 22, 2012 at 4:42 pm

I remember that too it was KIA Spectra.

Infact i know alot of people bought Spectra use for 3 months then kena tarik kereta, & declare Bankrupcy.

• behck on Feb 22, 2012 at 3:24 pm

With a great number of unsold cars behind the showroom here in Kedah. Not just Saga, Persona as well. I will not surprise if similar offer for Persona soon.

• critic_A on Feb 22, 2012 at 8:25 pm

those r stock la for crying out loud~ how low ur mind is!!! go tell that to toyota, honda, ford and etc not to keep stock~ and u go tell ur mom dont keep extra food in the fridge u fool!!

• tiadaid on Feb 22, 2012 at 3:30 pm

If you can’t afford to buy a car within 7 years – better off on a motorcycle. And this applies for all cars, not just Protons.

• goldfries on Feb 22, 2012 at 3:39 pm

Someone once told me that if you can’t pay off your car within 3 years, it means you can’t afford it. :)

• originals on Feb 22, 2012 at 6:27 pm

malaysian are poor.

• OhMai on Feb 22, 2012 at 8:34 pm

Malaysian of coz poor if the taxes are so high..The money we pay for the taxes can buy a car ad..

• Eyesore on Feb 23, 2012 at 12:02 am

malaysia high taxes? never heard that before…

• Simon Ng on Feb 22, 2012 at 10:30 pm

Agree. I heard this advice on CNBC’s program called Suze Orman.

Malaysia may have crazy tax rates. Australia car are cheap, but the loan rates are insane. A 5 year loan can be as high as 12%!

• Kambing gurun on Feb 23, 2012 at 11:38 am

That was from azizi ali’s book :-)

• goldfries on Feb 22, 2012 at 3:38 pm

Second hand price? Clearly the campaign is targetting at people who will not change their car for a long time to come.

• mamak boy on Feb 22, 2012 at 3:41 pm

stupid plan..from lower to higher payment, but the car price will drop from higher to lower…even proton car after 3 years don’t have value..pay 9 years loan..tiu

• akmal on Feb 22, 2012 at 3:49 pm

same goes to any cheap car… not just proton..

• MoFaz on Feb 22, 2012 at 6:26 pm

do you get high salary first then lower & lower every year thereafter???
      this plan assumes that you’ll get higher & higher salary in few years gap and able to pay higher installment later. kind of “fresh-grad” scheme.

• akmal on Feb 22, 2012 at 3:48 pm

blame the tax for the high price of cars and longer term for the loan..

• konsep ni mest dia pk makin lama makin naik gaji

• This is the worst part.

One may have increment, but so his / her expenditure.

At that time, he / she may got married, got kid(s), and mortgage to count in every month…

• amustapha on Feb 22, 2012 at 3:52 pm

Targets groups;

1. Those who spends more than what he should be (biar papa asal bergaya)

2. Those who thinks his increment will be big enough in future (angan angan mat jenin)

3. Those who cannot think long term ( pendek akal)

• 9 year 90% loan for car? Seriously, it just means u can’t afford it yet. Signing up for this plan is just like dying a slow painful death!

• point on Feb 22, 2012 at 4:04 pm

everyone can buy but not everyone can use.. that why hujan panas still used motor , car just park at home and balik kampung just for berlagak

• trinitrotoluene on Feb 22, 2012 at 5:53 pm

people use motor not because they cannot afford laa….like me i use motor because i hate traffic jam…

so, think first before u make a conclusion…

• redbull on Feb 22, 2012 at 7:34 pm

dont u look stupid when its raining then basah kuyup but u have nice car park at home…

• trinitrotoluene on Feb 23, 2012 at 8:17 am

Please don’t say stupid to people easily(except you of course), and people don’t like to be called stupid. If I call you stupid, you marah ka?

I can also say stupid to people who use car and stuck in the traffic jam, but no, i did not say that because I respect them as they are able to absorb the pressure caused by the traffic jam.

For me, it’s about practicality. I do not want to waste my time stuck on the road(especially on rainy days). And I do not worry about getting wet as I have a good raincoat.

So, it’s up to each person’s decision and each one of us must RESPECT each other’s decision. That’s how you live in a community.

• Citizen of Selangor on Feb 23, 2012 at 1:25 pm

Try telling that to my friend who rides a Ducati to work and has a Mazda 5. For him its practicality. If you see the gears he use for work, a 3K helmet a 5K riding suit. I’m envious that he makes 30 mins to go to and from work Shah Alam to KLCC while it takes me anywhere between an hour to three hours in the rain with a jam.

• goldfries on Feb 22, 2012 at 4:07 pm

Hrmm. I just realize that RM 333 per month part is for the OLD version of Saga, not the Saga FLX. Total cost is RM 41435.65 in total (after 9 years).

• point on Feb 22, 2012 at 5:04 pm

correct me if i’m wrong. for std manual car price 383619(loan 34525) total pay using step up plan 45434.06 interest for 9years only 10909.06… different with normal plan with 3.5% just 33+. so what the problem…u can get proton car for under 2% interest kaa..

• point on Feb 22, 2012 at 5:08 pm

check at cimb interest for p1/p2 3.1-3.6…

• tiadaid on Feb 22, 2012 at 5:21 pm

I got 2.95% for my FLX SE from Maybank – but then again my d/p was around 10K.

• SAGA BeLum Masak on Feb 22, 2012 at 10:58 pm

Sorry to say, for all P1 and P2 Interest rate is 1% higher than Import cars. Just go and check with any Banks. You’ll be Amazed……Interest is a Bonus…yuuukkksss

• vrooom on Feb 22, 2012 at 4:07 pm

.. a simple way ..leave it take it .. people will not satisfy .. whatever proton offer .. but yet many car on the road is proton ..!!!!!!!!!!! …

• ss427 on Feb 22, 2012 at 4:07 pm

Such nonsense was once quite popular in SG back in the late 90s to early 2000s when car prices shot up no thanks to the speculation on COEs. It was called ‘balloon payment’ and it managed to trap quite a few car owners back then who didn’t know how to count nor have any common sense..

When the owners tried to sell the cars some 5 yrs later, the average used car value for ANY cars back then plunged. And the resale value wasn’t even enough to cover the remaining loan:(

Yes the poor was made even poorer as they were stuck with artifically inflated high car repayment loans and subsequent new cars were significantly cheaper than the ones they bought.

While you guys don’t have wildly fluctuating COE $$ to worry about, you still can’t escape the fact that the Potong Saga is a totally crap car and no one will pay top dollar 7- 9 yrs down the road… just to allow you to clear your outstanding loans… LOL :D

And then there’s a big question mark if your Potong is still in one piece at that time… haha… Rem it is Potong, not Japs, Korean nor European cars…

Let’s see, you’re going to make progressively bigger repayment as your car grew older… Does that seems right??

Its like a monkey deciding whether to have 2 bananas for breakfast and then 3 bananas for dinner….. OR 3 bananas for breakfast and 2 for dinner…. :D

To my Bolehland chinese friends who knows Hokkien…. Do you know the meaning of LP=PL?? :D

• alldisc on Feb 22, 2012 at 7:35 pm

this did happened in malaysia… nazakia did it.. with spectra especially, and perhaps citra models

• this plan will not work. people who buy this is just reaping the short term benefits and do not understand the long term consequences. and 3.5% is too high especially when Proton are targeting people who can’t afford to buy cars in the first place.

• syedhs on Feb 22, 2012 at 4:11 pm

I think the step-up plan is quite reasonable.. the biggest change is 650-450=200.. 200/450 is less than 50% increment.. what is ridiculous is something like volvo step up plan.. if I remember correctly the last payment amount to 17,000 and the initial monthly payment is less than 1000 (I don;t remember really, but max is 2000).

• vrooom on Feb 22, 2012 at 4:14 pm

.. leave it or take it .. but yet many proton cars on the road …!!!!!!!!!!!!!!!!!!!!!!!!!!!!!!!!!!

• blackbox on Feb 22, 2012 at 4:20 pm

You still can drive the car for first 3 years with low repayment, warranty and less problem. After 3 years when warranty over, all the wear and tear start to surface, petrol price increase and increased repayment then the only things you can do is to give up and let the bank take back the car.

• Sub prime car loans.. lol

Banks will be able to become 2nd hand vendor in a few years time.

• khairulx19a on Feb 22, 2012 at 4:25 pm

please make saga estate with new looks n bigger wheels

• ss427 on Feb 22, 2012 at 5:29 pm

Saga estate?? haha :D I really wonder when will Potong offer anything even remotely similar to the wonder Hyundai i40 wagon.

It was just launched in SG… Its a Euro market Sonata FYI and for the 1st time in SG, we can have the latest 2L Nu series GDI engines! :) The 2L makes a heady 178hp WITHOUT any forced induction.

http://www.hyundaimotors.com.sg/ebrochures/i40.pdf

Oh yes, Hyundai will never beat Potong nor the Japs… Maserati Bro, are you reading this?? :)

• guys.. any idea what is this car? Confirm is not Tuah… looks like new saga hatchback or new savvy?

http://a8.sphotos.ak.fbcdn.net/hphotos-ak-snc7/429545_10150670080746151_724691150_11526412_2101409324_n.jpg

• Excellence on Feb 22, 2012 at 4:35 pm

If i pick this plan, warranty with only 3 years instead of normal warranty of 5 years, what a unreasonable plan for us, how to support proton anymore?

• MoFaz on Feb 22, 2012 at 6:36 pm

do you get 5 years warranty from City or Vios?? 3 YEARS also laaaa..
      but proton did give 5 years if you buy normal package.

• Statistician on Feb 22, 2012 at 10:31 pm

Hi Mofaz,
        I wonder how come you still supporting this proton s&$@ after so many years ? Wake up ! I usually skip reading news about Proton until this one which really get my attention.
        Actually it is not Proton employees/engineers fault To be incompetent, but it is our incompetent leaders who champion their pet project are spoiling the free market Eco system.
        In capitalism, pet project is the worst thing a country can implement, quoted from the
        Book ‘ capitalism ‘ written by Ayn Rand.

• MoFaz on Feb 22, 2012 at 11:33 pm

i didn’t. i’m just answering or give opinion on the issue. in this case is about 5 years warranty. i don’t care about western ideologies. whatever they said or wrote are not absolute truth that you must take religiously. they once said we must not bailout sick companies, but look at what they did in the recent economic crisis in US.. they bailed-out GM for billions of dollars. and you still listening to them when they also didn’t practice what they said? good luck.

• statistician on Feb 23, 2012 at 12:52 am

Insaf lah fren. That’s why the American is suffering, bailing out the ‘too big to fail’ companies. They should let those company bleed to death. I look down on them. Look at their typical financial profile, malulah:

http://visualeconomics.creditloan.com/the-american-familys-financial-turmoil_2010-04-29/

American is not our model but Singapore is. No fancy national brands, no pet projects but supporting MNC with talented manpower. Their sovereign fund (USD 480 billion by Temasek and GIC) is 12 times stronger than Malaysia (USD40 billion by Khazanah). I stopped herelah since this is not a political blog. I think u work with Proton right, change your job, trust me.

• MoFaz on Feb 23, 2012 at 9:51 am

no dude.. i have no relation with Proton besides being a customer. i work in SG.. go check my ip if you could.

• azman on Feb 23, 2012 at 1:41 pm

notwithstanding, i am eager to waitout for Proton P3, see whether they have improve, if so good for them….

• Oblong on Feb 22, 2012 at 7:08 pm

My P1 WiSE only got 2 years warranty…the shorter the warranty would be better, if you want to maintain the 5yrs warranty meaning you’ll have to invest more in P1 SC instead of pay less for ‘bawah pokok’ mechanic. But this theory only apply to any P1 car with Japanese ‘sibling’ a.k.a lot of similar spare part. That stupid IAFM alone may cost you nearly 1K :-(

• only the moron blind protong supporter will always support wht protong do although clearly show tht is the dumbest thing ever..tht is the effect for become the proton cum sippers..moron

• look at the thumbdown..only hardcore moron protong cum sippers will thumbdown.

• pls bring back kancil and saga at 20~30K price range
    now aday proton perodua installment on persona/myvi also need to pay 600 per month
    crazy tax and goverment

• kamarul on Feb 22, 2012 at 5:30 pm

Don’t get conned !!
    Taking a 9 year loan will make you a slave to the banks for the next 9 years.
    Trust me I have seen many yuppies taking this easy payment 9 years/10 years for govt scheme and after 5 years will regret cos Proton cars will start giving major problems and after selling off the car ,still have to service the remaining loan amount.
    Proton after 5 years is worthless !!

• they take 9/10years not bcoz they get conned. They cannot afford monthly installment for 3years like you… they want pay less monthly then the duration its long la. Nothing to do with get conned/bank make u slave. u want it bank just give it…

• Klbloke on Feb 22, 2012 at 5:50 pm

This is not the way to make proton car affordable to the rakyat.. They are more interested to make big bucks and max profits rather than losing market share to P2.
    Why on earth they want to drag the refinancing plan to 9 years at the first place??? Can’t they see that we are already burdened by house repayments, insurance and cost of living? Not forget to mention maintenance cost for Proton. If u want to help us, abolish the stupid tax and duty structure!!!
    If their plan works, this only means more cars to jam te already congested Klang Valley.

• MoFaz on Feb 22, 2012 at 6:20 pm

if you can buy car with cash, this scheme is not for you, it’s for those who earn a mid-income salary range but need a car. also for those who just started working. many people did buy a car first, then only buy a house. you see, people get to travel to work or do business easier if they have car. it’s kind of stupid to buy a house when you just started working and still changing jobs. you can bring your car to anywhere you work but not house. that’s why people just renting house in their early working life.
      don’t be stupid asking proton to abolish tax while proton has no power to reduce tax. so this is what they could came up with to help those lower income group to earn a car.

• Klbloke on Feb 22, 2012 at 7:40 pm

Proton is brainchild of Dr M.. So it govt who actually own this P1.

• Crazy9 on Feb 22, 2012 at 8:29 pm

you said people are changing jobs… . and plus you said people are renting house and got others bills that would be another reasons not to take 9 years loans. yeah you thinking of people will sleep inside the car? so can move around and bring their car?

Trust me when you start keep changing jobs, you need too change places to renting also..another good reason NOT to take that 9 years loan..you wont be able to pay..the worse is..you keep the car at home…and take a bus to worked. But how long you can tahan??

• MoFaz on Feb 22, 2012 at 10:24 pm

changing jobs is normal in private sector. some change because they get bored with the same job, and some because of higher offer from other company. when i said renting house, i mean that they could easily rent another house if they move to new area when they change job. you can’t bring your house to move with you. get it? and because you didn’t take any loan yet to buy a house, your monthly commitment is considered low.
          when you’re more comfortable with your work, and get higher salary, then buy a house and settle down. some people buy house only when they get married or moving out from their parents house.

• the main question its can “rakyat” afford monthly installment for 5years period. let say interest 2.95% for saga flx std manual solid monthly installment 660 vs 9 year step up plan 355 for the 1st 36 month..if u can find another 300 go for 5 year if not ,proton already give solution for u or kapcai it its..

• GTR 2.0 on Feb 22, 2012 at 6:07 pm

They should doing a promo with lower interest. Not this kind of promo….

• 9 years and step up loan. It may look cheap in the short term, but on the longer term, this will make the people poorer.

What is proton’s initial mission again when launched 25+ years ago? Ah, YES! To make quality and affordable cars for all Malaysians.

• hello on Feb 22, 2012 at 6:53 pm

Hi personally i would suggest not to take this plan, reason:
    1) after 5th yrs there will be alot of noise here and there
    2) some part may wear and tear
    3) price of the car will drop
    4) u still need to pay the loan with a hiking price, petrol increase, spare part increase,everythings will be increase, income tax increase, road tax increase n end up u wanna sell ur car away but ur car loan havent finished.
    5) bank in win win situation. (treats u lik a fool)
    6) and u started to complaint this n that…
    7) u will be jelly wit ur fren’s new car….
    8) but what to do, face ma bigger than money

• DArkerMarker on Feb 22, 2012 at 7:09 pm

signing the car purchase contract is up to individual. NOT at gun point…

Sendiri sign the contract, sendiri tanggung if hutang…

No one to be blamed except your own, the buyer…

• trinitrotoluene on Feb 23, 2012 at 8:20 am

I agree. You must RESPECT each other’s decision. The least you can do is advise them. Unless you are going to be the guarantor, then definitely you have the rights not to choose this package.

• ahmadmckk on Feb 22, 2012 at 7:16 pm

who the hell came up with a 9-year car loan???? it’s beyond ridiculous……..

• ayooo. the want to give u opportunity to get a car even though u you cannot afford it so they make 9years tenure… u want it u sign it then u get it..

• Same to those loaning for 7 years…

• the older the car is, the more u have to pay..lol..when many thing start making sound, change many parts, then have to pay more for monthly payment..this is very wrong..

• squawk on Feb 22, 2012 at 8:15 pm

Don’t worry. We’re supposedly the country with the second lowest cost of car ownership. Semuanya ok! :-P

• This campaign only looks tempting on the surface. Even normal car loan is not advisable to take upto 9 years..this is even worse with 3 years warranty sommore -_-

• Alvin on Feb 22, 2012 at 8:25 pm

This is an example of another stupid policy by Proton and the government. When the car is 5 years and above, it starts to give problems here and there but instead of paying the same amount or lesser, we end up paying more. They are only interested in selling and making money but we are left with this hefty loan for 9 years!

• slurpp on Feb 22, 2012 at 8:43 pm

its not policy it scheme its up to you.. no one gun point it t you

• Henry on Feb 22, 2012 at 8:48 pm

LAME enough

• cAmparison on Feb 22, 2012 at 8:56 pm

1.How about separate factory price and car taxes?

Bank loan interest charges on apply for factory price, while car taxes are interest-free/exempted

That way, it’ll avoid double-tax charged (tax over tax) and total car loan settlement less burden

Eg.RM50K Saga SE (round up figure estimated)

OTR price: Factory price + Excise duty 75% + sales tax 10% + insurance RM1K

Assuming you’re taking full-loan for 9 years (if approved lah)

Rm50,000 – insurance RM1K – 10% downpayment RM5K = RM44,000
    RM44,000 – sales tax 10%(RM4,400) = RM39,600
    RM39,600 – Excise duty 75%(RM29,700) = RM9,900 (Factory price)
    Here, interest-free items total = RM4,400 + RM29,700 = RM34,100

So factory price is RM9,900 the only item factored for hire-purchase bank loan interest rates 3.5% p.a
    Therefore if 9-years car loan would be:
    RM9,900 @ 3.5% p.a. = Rm385.88
    For total 9 years interest charges = RM346.50 X 9 = RM3,118.50
    Therefore RM9,900(Factory price) + RM3,118.50(Total interest charges) = Rm13,018.50

Finally combine the interest-free items and interest-charged item:
    RM34,100 + Rm13,018.50 = RM47,118.50

For 9 years loan the monthly repayment is only:
    Rm47,118.50 / 108 months = RM436.29 / month

Notice that:
    Saga FLX SE metallic (auto CVT) using the step-up financing plan package shows monthly repayment range from RM450, RM555, RM645, respectively

But using the above proposal (no double-taxation charges) the monthly repayment much cheaper and fair to buyers too

Well this is just a proposal lah

Unless govt really think double-taxation is OK and even tax must be put interest charges like AhLong well so be it…but funny how some personal income tax can be paid in instalment without interest being charged by LHDN

But remember car category RM50K mostly cater for low/medium income families which treated car as necessity and not luxury so it is unfair to double tax them

2.Another issue here is the excise duty rate at 75% merely based on engine capacity below 1800cc

Again this is unfair as car engine capacity doesn’t reflect the car actual worth in term of efficiency and emission level

Eg.Some 1600cc car produce less emission, better mileage but still slapped same duty rate to other worse inferior 1600cc cars (regardless of many fuel-saving techs and gadgets installed)

It is great disservice and demotivated to bring new technology isn’t it

That’s why fuel efficiency/CO2 emission-based car excise duty rate is the only way forward

Well you all folks think yourself lah

Whether this kind of automotive system and tax system really reflect actual market competition and promote efficiency and cleaner emission, only NAP or Proton can see the light at end of the tunnel

If Proton really confident that its Campro engine really efficient and clean emission than don’t afraid to face fuel efficiency/CO2emission-based car excise duty structure

Cakap mau jadi Global Car…Proton masih takut open fight kah?

Revise that 75% excise duty rate and stop double-taxation for all of car buyers benefit lah!

Imagine if Saga FLX 1.6 SE really that fuel efficient with factory price only RM9,900 who knows the final price is way cheaper if it can achive 14km/L and less than 150g CO2 per km…car excise duty of RM29,700 surely can be lowered accordingly and monthly repayment is close to nothing then…

• akmal on Feb 22, 2012 at 9:10 pm

man,youre idea and proposal are the greatest,you run for the upcoming election and become minister of trade or finance or whatever that involve rakyat punya duit,i will support you till the end,huhu….:D

• Aroma on Feb 22, 2012 at 10:11 pm

What do u mean bt excise duty 75 percent ? This is Proton babe

• MoFaz on Feb 22, 2012 at 10:54 pm

Tax is the main income for the country. billions of RM from excise and import tax being used for petrol subsidy, in fact, those tax is not even enough to cover the subsidy amount. big and expensive cars paying higher tax, and the small cars could enjoy the petrol subsidy at the same rate even though they pay lesser tax. kind of the “rich help the poor” thing.
      I agree that lower tax for cars would help us get better car at cheaper price, but can you also guarantee that the petrol price won’t go up because the govt have no money to sustain the subsidy? some other countries may have lower tax for cars but they have tax for petrol, some petrol tax is even higher than the petrol itself. for example in UK, fuel tax is more than 170% even though UK produces twice our petroleum output annually.

• gigganet on Feb 23, 2012 at 2:44 am

Petrol tax = pay when u use
        Car Tax = Paid even if not used

• MoFaz on Feb 23, 2012 at 11:56 am

why you buy car if you’re not using it? soooo clever!
          in Taiwan, you need to pay fuel charge of RM490 yearly for a car like Myvi even though the car doesn’t even move, or doesn’t even consume a litre of petrol in that year.

• gigganet on Feb 23, 2012 at 5:04 pm

if u don’t understand, don’t try to be soooo clever!

car taxes are paid upfront. petrol tax paid depending on usage. 2 different types of taxes. going by your logic, can u also guarantee that petrol price won’t increase if the car duties are maintained?

you pay car tax tens of thousands UPFRONT with a 9-year loan! even when u use it less than your neighbour! now u understand ka?

• MoFaz on Feb 24, 2012 at 12:49 am

of course i understand. but why would you buy a car if you’re not going to use it? home decoration? or just because your house has a porch, you need a car there???..
            simple.. if you didn’t buy a car, would you have to pay for the tax? that’s the same logic you used for your petrol example above. anybody here buy petrol but not using them???

• tokmoh on Feb 23, 2012 at 11:33 am

1. Even with the current insane tax structure, our budget is still a deficit so there’s no way the govt wants to lower tax overall.

Double tax? Interest on tax is collected by banks, not govt. Your suggestion will hurt banks more, and perhaps the govt as well since your suggestion will result lower profit for banks, hence lower chargable tax.

Our country currently have 9 local banks, of which the govt wants to reduce to 3 by consolidating them together. BNM is arranging marriage proposals for the banks to accept. One recent failed attempt is RHB takeover by Maybank or CIMB.

We don’t know if the benefits of reducing to 3 local banks will be passed down to end users like us, but it can’t be denied 9 is a little too big amount of banks for our small country.

2. Hah, I’m sorry, but I never like the idea of tax based on emission. It’s inconsistent, expensive and impractical to implement. Imagine having to test your car’s emission by puspakom/jpj/whoever every year to know how much tax you need to pay. Never rely on manufacturer’s co2 rating as they can be biased for their marketing benefit, and also cuz co2 emission will change over the years due to wear and tear. F/c meanwhile is too subjective as there’s many variables: occupant’s weight, tyre pressure, traffic, city/urban environment etc.

Tax by engine cc may sound oldskool, but it’s consistent simply cuz manufacturers price using that basis. Ever heard carmakers sell low co2 cars cheaper than high co2 cars? Why when prius/prius c at tax-free price still more expensive than heavily taxed altis/vios? So it’s only fair people who can afford huge-ass engine cars taxed higher, and reward those who downsize for efficiency with lower tax.

Going back to basics of taxation, engine cc is just the more fair basis of taxation than co2 or f/c.

• squawk on Feb 24, 2012 at 3:54 pm

The guy who can afford a VW Cross Touran 1.4 gets to enjoy lower road tax than one who buys a Saga 1.6.

• tokmoh on Feb 22, 2012 at 9:13 pm

Hmm, many many years ago, Auto Bavaria did it with E46 3-series. IIRC, they kept spamming ads how you can afford one from RM888/month or something like that. Except of course, that amount was only for the first year, the subsequent ones are insanely high. I can’t brain why they did that at all, as if they’re expecting those who were shopping for a Civic/Altis would be tempted and get the 3er instead… and then dump it the following year.

This is just pathetic. They’re not doing the poor a favour to afford to buy a new car, but just trapping them into a financial pit. Those who take up this offer is bound to be the biggest loser.

IMHO, they’re resorting to this desperate scheme to boost sales for their financial year ending 31st March. Sure-fire way to keep DRB’s shareholders happy.

• Statistician on Feb 22, 2012 at 9:17 pm

I think they are really desperate:

http://www.thesundaily.my/news/301676

• BOYRACER on Feb 22, 2012 at 11:04 pm

Banks are getting strict because of those who default their monthly payments.Car salesmen wants sales because its their periuk nasi.If more people buys cars means more commission for them but they do not care whether the buyers pay the monthly repayments or not as long they have sales.If more people dont pay then more cars kena tarik.
      If cant afford new cars,then buy 2nd hand ones which is another story here.Of course 2nd hand sometimes need a bit of repair but monthly is lower.
      1 question here; how come buying 2nd hand cars is more difficult than buying nre cars?
      The other day my friend wanted to buy a 2nd hand Waja which costs less than rm30k.
      But the salesman said 2nd hand car require guarantor and some other thing which makes it more leceh to apply.

2nd hand waja rm30k = monthly rm450++ roughly (7 years) guarantor needed.
      Brand new Myvi rm57k=monthly rm620 (9 years) no guarantor needed.
      Where is the logic here?

• tokmoh on Feb 23, 2012 at 11:02 am

Such a pity eh?

Banks perceive 2nd hand cars as higher risk, hence higher interest and it seems requires a guarantor as well. From consumer’s pov though, it makes little sense as 2nd hand cars are cheaper, only the lower income, or just simply those who wants to be prudent buys 2nd hand.

But banks being banks, they’ll continue with this lopsided logic to make higher profit.

• BOYRACER on Feb 23, 2012 at 3:07 pm

It is a pity alright.
          Higher risk?risk from what?Maybe I am not a bank officer,therefore i would not understand.*sigh*
          At the meantime I just use my 20-year old proton until I can afford a new car next time.

• tokmoh on Feb 23, 2012 at 3:46 pm

Higher risk of being not road worthy. This can be solved if there’s mandatory inspection to ensure road worthiness of old cars, but again: banks being banks, will give every excuse to make higher profit.

I also drive a 21 year old saga or my dad’s 10 year old waja. Some arrogant cocks up there think driving a proton cannot be bergaya. Fact is, our ‘junks’ are definitely more bergaya than buying a brand new vios kene tarik balik by bank, or worse still, declared bankrupt bcuz of the “stylish” dugong. And anytime more bergaya than depending our pathetic public transport *cough* Keretapi Terlambat Malaysia *cough*.

• Kelvin on Feb 22, 2012 at 9:24 pm

I came out with this slogan “Senang dulu Susah kemudian”

• This step up plan has been practised in UK for ages. You see, cars in Malaysia can last more than 9 years, no problem, some treat it like their first wife. My mum’s 2005 gen 2 and dad’s 2006 Waja still does not rattle and can go as fast as when it was brand new. Our salary will also increase after 9 years. Anyway it is just a choice, it is up to us (tepuk dada tanya selera). My sister choose a flat payment loan for a Saga FLX and pay 7 years.

• razak on Feb 23, 2012 at 2:43 pm

saya miskin…punya sendiri kereta bukan bank punya..kereta proton saga 1.5 magma engine tahun 89..tiap-tiap hari pakai travel 60 km away from home dgn anak lelaki. avg speed ~70 km/h. fuel ~ rm 6-7 per day.jarang2 change engine oil only if temperature rising ~twice anually .gaji bawah taraf kemiskinan tegar.mana mampu nak beli kereta baru nak bayar roadtax+ ins lagi.nasib baik pakai kereta proton ni dah masuk tahun ke 8.
      pendek cerita lah…kereta proton memang tahan dan sungguh berbaloi-baloi..tak tipu…tak comfort lah sangat…duit boleh pikir nak simpan utk anak-anak masa depan…just personal view.IMO.

• driver on Feb 23, 2012 at 8:11 am

9 years for a car loan, as rightly pointed out, means you can’t afford it.

The thing is that even at such ridiculous prices and “affordability packages”, cars remain unacceptably expensive in Malaysia. But you guys keep on buying. The only people to blame for high prices are the car buyers themselves.

Why would the industry change anything if cars are still being sold? Let the people pay more, we are still getting the money, nevermind if they starve or have no money to afford other nice things.. at least they have a piece of crap car for their hard earned money. We are still making the profits and driving around in our Mercs and Porsches.

If everyone were to just hold off buying anything for 3 months, I’m sure the government will panic. As long as you keep buying, nothing will change for the poor joe on the street.

• Zulhusni on Feb 23, 2012 at 8:50 am

Is it Islamic? Buying and selling practice? Anyone can confirmed???

• azman on Feb 23, 2012 at 1:36 pm

yes, it is islamic, in fact islam encourages trade… willing buyer willing seller concept,,,, but a very high profit margin usually does not confirm well with islamic concept of public interest

• Rulered on Feb 23, 2012 at 10:10 am

My concept of making things affordable is just simple….. lower the price, that’s it.

• kienchan on Feb 23, 2012 at 10:52 am

With the current BNM strict requirements on loans, can this be another way to get around BNM requirement? lower repayment for first few years, but more later on.
    May be BNM has not thought about this loophole?

Banks are good in scheming, remember subprime loans ?

• tryout on Feb 23, 2012 at 1:43 pm

ducati owner never honk to others car to make path for him.. it obvious jam no where can other car go why keep honk. thats stupid…btw kinda boring with my ‘friend’ statement..

• hello… i’m using saga fl 1.6 exec ( the one with the lining on the side) and i have this problem… after i changed my rim to 15″ the rear camber is negative… the rear axle is dead.. how to get back 0 camber?can use camber nut or what? the mechanic not from sc said it can be done by “ketuk” with air or something… and i’m not so sure about that… the standard size, i’m not so sure… maybe 165/60/14…. the 60/40 is true but not so sure whether 165 or 175… currently i’m using 185/55/15… please help… the tire kinda “makan dalam” oredi….

• baju bayi murah on Oct 08, 2012 at 10:03 am

Proton offering step-up financing plan for Proton Saga I was recommended this blog by my cousin. I’m not sure whether this post is written by him as nobody else know such detailed about my problem. You’re incredible! Thanks! your article about Proton offering step-up financing plan for Proton SagaBest Regards Cassetta