Geneva preview: Honda’s European CR-V Prototype

Honda has revealed the first images of its European CR-V Prototype ahead of its public debut in Geneva next month.

The prototype showcases the exterior styling direction of the new European Honda CR-V, which is set to go on sale sometime in autumn this year. Essentially, the Euro version of the fourth-generation SUV adopts a slightly more aggressive outlook than its Japanese and North American siblings.

No specific details about the vehicle, but design cues include deeper sculpting of the body lines and a bolder front fascia – there’s a revised lower front bumper, which integrates more smoothly into the fascia for improved aerodynamics. The Euro version also gets more athletic-looking wheels.

Anthony Lim believes that nothing is better than a good smoke and a car with character, with good handling aspects being top of the prize heap. Having spent more than a decade and a half with an English tabloid daily never being able to grasp the meaning of brevity or being succinct, he wags his tail furiously at the idea of waffling - in greater detail - about cars and all their intrinsic peculiarities here.

• KL Stray Cat on Feb 24, 2012 at 7:54 pm

Japanese Volvo, anyone ??

• Gavin on Feb 24, 2012 at 8:09 pm

i could live with this

• Masked Ryder on Feb 24, 2012 at 8:17 pm

Honda Malaysia “We want this ! ” no the US version please.

• TopGear on Feb 24, 2012 at 8:53 pm

any idea when it is going to launch in Malaysia ? Mazda CX-5 is coming to
    malaysia on April/May 2012

• Great, Honda pls bring this version to Malaysia…

• why the back of the new crv looks like the cheap avanza? why?

• Black Dog on Feb 25, 2012 at 4:39 pm

Bcos the ‘cheap Avanza’ doesn’t look cheap. It’s only in your mind bcos it’s a cheap car.

• scandinavian design at the back

• James on Feb 24, 2012 at 11:43 pm

how is this still a prototype, it already looks perfectly ready to launch

• David D on Feb 24, 2012 at 11:48 pm

The car Honda should’ve designed from the start. From US reviews, the car looks a lot more promising then the god-awful 9th gen Civic, which practically removed loads of cues that made the 8th gen FD1/2 really damn desirable. When it comes to Malaysia, i’m just hoping it’ll be give much, much more standard kit, especially when the Tucson, Sportage, and the upcoming CX-5 offer so much more for 10k more(CX-5), and even 10k less(Sportage)!

• Hyundai De La Junk on Feb 25, 2012 at 3:09 pm

Stupid Baseless Comment,
      1st of all do you know Civic Canada best seller for 2011, It also selling tremendously well in USA.
      2nd why should CRV follow lower brand status Korean SUV ? it is because Naza & Inokom know that there is no way people are buying their junk, if not because of lower price & more freebies thrown in, even with that their sales is still pathetic.
      3rd Maybe you should cry for Mummy Daddy to buy you one since Kid like you talk alot but can’t even afford to pay one by yourself.

• David D on Feb 25, 2012 at 5:13 pm

The basis for the CR-V showing great promise after the Civic debacle was after reports of the Civic not receiving the ‘Recommended’ rating by Consumer Reports. While the Civic was heavily slammed for its below-par driving dynamics and its dissappointing interior materials, the 4th Gen CR-V has corrected it. Only gripes? A 6-speed auto would be really nice, and manual override with it would be even better.

Now, i’m absolutely bewildered by your attitude by calling my comments baseless, when you dont even bother looking at your comments first. Like the pot calling the kettle black. No car is perfect, as every car is due to criticism, not even a Ferrari for that matter.

Well, the term ‘bodoh sombong’ comes to mind when people like TurboMan, SS427, Tiadaid, Kumar San and the likes comes looking at your baseless comments, and your bloody childish attitude here. Calling me childish. It’s okay my friend. You can do what ever you want, but at the end of the day, a sensible mind grates the heck out of one that thinks he’s more mature, when the comments that come out tell a different story at the side of the coin.

Think twice. You reap what you sow. And you’re biting too many bullets for your mentality.

• Hyundai De La Junk on Feb 27, 2012 at 12:54 pm

Now what ? boo hu hu for help from your friend ? Grow up !

Dumb ! What consumer recommend report ? who care what craps these self elected specialist think, it’s the actually sales figure people talking about.

Stew pit ! both 5 or 6 speed had it pro & cons the most important it the gearbox much match the engine, maybe dumbo like you think more is alway better, then how about 7 speed Altis is it better than 6 speed Elantra ?

That why i said your comment are baseless ! stop reading those “paid comments & article” start using your brain & think about it yourself ! Kiddo :-P

• This Euro model is nice. Yea ,…Honda Malaysia bring the Euro version to Malaysia pronto. I think Honda designers just woke up after eating a lot of shushi and heavy sake drinking session. Common Honda cant make the koreans eat away the sales………Bring the turbo diesel engine to Malaysia or better yet 2.0 Direct gasoline Turbo or super charge with 6 or 7 speed dual clutch…….DON’T bring in the 2.0 petrol CVT or 2.4 petrol 5 speeder you will loose your die hard fans.

• thunder cats on Feb 25, 2012 at 3:08 am

front Honda back Volvo,,,are they running out of ideas? disgrace. the world is losing the sense of originality,,,,,everyone just copy paste,,,,sad direction

• DewaSemut on Feb 25, 2012 at 7:31 am

Why Euro version is always better than the rest… sad to say Malaysians would probably get the lame J version :(

• Better don’t say anything negative about this car here, sure will get a lot of thumb downs from hardcore fans.

• Weirdo Design on Feb 25, 2012 at 10:52 am

the back looks like Arowana head! lol

• seancorr on Feb 25, 2012 at 12:14 pm

Looks better than the old one which is good. HM better launch it with better spec at the same price!

• Maserati on Feb 25, 2012 at 12:50 pm

Very nice. This is a million times better than sportage and sorento

• Please don’t start to mention Korean car, lose appetite when hearing it.

• john die on Feb 26, 2012 at 7:08 pm

million better than sprotage meh??but we’ll nr know..but if u said sportage rubbish..sure u will say x1 and freelander oso rubbish..watch this :

http://www.youtube.com/watch?v=cwtkD7Y5cyM

any comment maserati???

• wong ah yat on Feb 25, 2012 at 2:36 pm

One word only–> Ugly

• …and it looks very expensive. i just can feel it. sigh.

• Run out of idea H?? on Feb 25, 2012 at 9:38 pm

front copy sportage, back copy XC60…dont thumd down…this statement u can see all over the internet/forum from other country when mentioning to this 2012 CRV…it’s the fact…
    Anyway this CRV its nice…only dont like H they copy other ppl design so obvious…

• Supertram on Feb 26, 2012 at 3:21 pm

how can people say copy this copy that when its clearly somewhat resemble the last gen CRV design ques?

• run ut of design. must engage peter for the design service.

• mentari-o-korea on Feb 26, 2012 at 6:19 pm

..funny they called this prototype because it was way back dated compare to revoque or even kia sportage, did i mentioned korean car again?

• guy actually if u compare to US version its not much different only in Europe Day light running is compulsory hence we have a new headlight, bumper it could be Modulo bumper kit………

• zebulun on Feb 27, 2012 at 5:41 pm

wow..so ugly.. and again ripped-off by Honda Malaysia
    better go for the new sportage.. comparable to X1 and freelander for less money.. haha http://www.youtube.com/watch?v=cwtkD7Y5cyM

• JeBong on Feb 28, 2012 at 2:03 pm

very… very… very… ugly….