New Ford Ranger T6 Test Drive Report from Chiang Rai

This will be an exciting year for the pick-up truck segment. Malaysia will get the Chevrolet Colorado, which we recently drove in Thailand, and Mitsubishi’s Triton VGT should be coming real soon. Already starring in roadshows, mid year will see the launch of the all new Ford Ranger, our topic of discussion here.

We first laid eyes on the handsome new Ranger (code named T6) in March last year, when Ford gave it an ASEAN debut at the Bangkok Motor Show. Production of the Ranger is ongoing as we speak, having already had a Job 1 Ceremony at the AutoAlliance Thailand (AAT) Rayong plant.

Thailand, as one of the few production hubs for the model (others are South Africa and Argentina), will naturally get the first batch. Our turn, according to Sime Darby Auto Connexion, will be the middle of this year, but the company has already started promoting the truck. There’s also the Malaysian leg of the Global Ranger Challenge, where you can win one for yourself.

How does the new Ranger fare against the current crop of trucks? Does it slot in or above? Full report after the jump.

As mentioned, we first saw the T6 Ranger in the metal at last year’s Bangkok Motor Show, where many in the regional press pack were wowed by the T6’s modern good looks and macho style. It’s much bigger than the old one, too, and with the hardware to bring Ford back to the top of the pickup pack.

At 5,359 mm long, the T6 is a substantial 186 mm longer than the old Ranger. And to maximise cabin size, the double cab’s wheelbase now measures a class-leading 3,220 mm, which is 220 mm longer than before. This can only be a good thing, since the ageing Ranger’s rear quarters has been exposed to be tight and hard to access by newer, bigger rivals such as the Hilux and Triton.

When it arrives, the Ranger will be the biggest truck in town, eclipsing current big guy Nissan Navara for size. But Ford designers have made the most of the bulk on offer – instead of appearing big and clumsy, the T6 is handsome and imposing, retaining the customary ‘Built Ford Tough’ machoness of the name despite being more rounded (check out the rake of the windshield) and thoroughly modern in outlook. To these eyes, it’s easily the best looking truck on sale today.

Good looks aside, let’s not forget that many still use trucks as workhorses or dual purpose machines. Along with the larger cab, the T6 boasts a bigger bed as well – L x W x H dimensions are 1,549 x 1,560 x 511 mm, versus 1,530 x 1,458 x 465 mm, so it’s a gain for all.

The truck class may be ‘one-tonne,’ but the Ranger can haul up to 1,333 kg, and the vehicle’s maximum tow rating tops out at 3,350 kg. Ford says the Ranger’s frame is twice as stiff as the previous model.

More importantly, the T6 Ranger is a great truck to drive, and the experience behind the wheel is significantly different from the truck it replaces. For one, the driver’s seat offers a much higher and commanding view than in the old Ranger, and there’s no escaping the feel that you’re driving something really big. And as usual for Ford, the seats are good in terms of position and support, which is not a “standard feature” in this segment.

Speaking of comfort, the old Ranger’s small rear door and tight rear quarters handicap has been eliminated. With the new shape, access is so much easier and head/legroom is good, even for the tall.

The truck’s height mean that it’s quite a climb for the less mobile, but the Ranger is now finally on par with the Triton and Hilux in this. I also like the fact that the bench isn’t set too low, hides two “secret compartments” and has a pouch in the middle for mobile phones.

Back to the driver’s seat, it doesn’t take long to notice the crisp, more direct steering. This more “connected” rack combines with a much firmer ride to give the Ranger surprisingly good handling. It doesn’t feel nervous when you turn up the wick and body control is better than expected. The Ranger is a more precise tool than before, without a doubt. The stiffer ride works well on tarmac, but not so much off road, where jolts pierce harder than before.

Of the two coming soon trucks, the Chevrolet Colorado is the hooligan – brash, but great fun in the right mood – whereas the Ranger is the polished performer, at least that’s what I felt driving both on the hilly roads around Chiang Rai.

If the handling has seen a change for the better, the NVH (that’s noise, vibration and harshness) has taken a quantum leap. The Ranger T6 is by far the most refined pick-up truck in town, and highway cruising is as serene as you’d hope for. We consciously tried to pick up noises by turning off the stereo and going pass the highway limit, which says it all.

By the way, achieving good NVH in a truck is much harder than in a car, since they have to fight a brick like shape, diesel engines and knobbly off road capable tyres. A great achievement, this.

After the handling and NVH, the 150 PS/375 Nm 2.2L Duratorq TDCi engine itself doesn’t stand out so much for me, but it’s quietly competent. The VG Turbo equipped mill provides good take off acceleration, is flexible enough and works smoother and quieter than many rival diesels we can think off – and because it’s 0.3 litres smaller than the regular truck engine size, you pay less road tax as well.

The 200 PS/470 Nm 3.2L five-cylinder TDCi powering the Wildtrak is much stronger, but the 2.2L is all the engine you need, really. My dream combo will be the Wildtrak’s visual appeal with the 2.2L engine.

The automatic transmission is similarly inconspicuous, which is a good thing for a self-shifting gearbox. More outstanding is the six-speed manual gearbox we sampled, which has an unusually short throw and nice snick snack action for a truck. We didn’t expect such a “sporty feel”, but hey, no complaints! Nice knob, too.

No complaints on the cabin as well. While the Colorado tries harder to be modern and flash at the expense of ease of use and legibility, the Ranger’s dashboard is more clear and cohesive, while maintaining the sport/tough (think G-Shock) theme. There’s some cool detailing going on too if you look harder, on the right dial’s cowl, for instance.

Storage is a strong point here, since the glove box can swallow up a 16-inch laptop flat. The door pockets can fit 1.5 litre bottles and if you have more stuff, the 8.5 litre centre console bin will do the job. Plenty of cubbies too, and there’s a handy tray below the air-con controls and two power points.

I’m not much of a truck guy, but this is one truck I’d consider owning (800 mm water wading capability good to fight flash floods), more than any other one-tonner on sale today. It’s so complete, we can’t think of anything to find fault with except for the overly hard off road ride. The clincher is the five-star rating from Euro NCAP in a segment lagging behind in terms of safety.

In terms of sales – as great as the T6 may be, we doubt that it will unseat the Hilux as the top selling truck in Malaysia. But product-wise, you’re looking at the new class leader!

Danny Tan loves driving as much as he loves a certain herbal meat soup, and sweet engine music as much as drum beats. He has been in the auto industry since 2006, previously filling the pages of two motoring magazines before joining this website. Enjoys detailing the experience more than the technical details.

• wenshun on Feb 25, 2012 at 4:11 pm

Waiting for the test drive of Wildtrak in Sabah! :)

• Danny, why this ranger used red plates instead of usual white plates?

• Danny Tan (Member) on Feb 25, 2012 at 4:27 pm

Temporary plates, like our trade plates

• David D on Feb 25, 2012 at 8:26 pm

The last paragraph you said in this text drive review is spot on. Yes, the Hilux may still be the king of sales, but, with the slew of competitors coming in, the Hilux will be looking at a rather significant slash in sales, due to the increasing number of consumers who start doing their research on the vehicles they want to buy, not buy based on what their friends, family and neighbours say.

Let the pick-up truck wars begin!!

• somphop79 on Feb 14, 2014 at 2:31 pm

Red plates are issued for three months for new cars in TH. Thereafter, change to white plates. Techincally, yes, temporary plates.

• luqman on Feb 25, 2012 at 5:38 pm

the white wildtrakk version looks damn nice! all i need is black rims, some spotlights, a snorkel and a roof rack… :)

• Booked the 2.2L XLT last year (Oct/Nov); but changed to the Wildtrak 3.2 together with my tuner.
    Just cannot wait for the Wildtrak. EIther one is a winner!

• iloveranger on Feb 25, 2012 at 5:52 pm

the 3.2 wildtrak ranger gonna be crazy, i found this tuner online, european diesel tuner, got rechip to 258 PS and 559Nm torque, thats damn powerful!!!!!!!

• If this SUT wear T logo, easily can sell 1000 units monthly. Very carlike truck. Kudos Ford.

• Mulyadir Fitri on Feb 25, 2012 at 7:57 pm

Properly designed. Like how they hide the camera with the logo at the tailgate. Unlike the Hilux. I’ll get this anytime over Hilux! Hope the reliability is there. Here in Sarawak, if you mention Ranger to the mechs, they will immediately say injector prone to failure. Hopefully has been rectified

• mangata on Feb 25, 2012 at 9:04 pm

seriously there is too many hilux on the road and the thing that bothers me that how come hilux still leads the sales even after triton and navara been in market for few years????

• Cy Han on Mar 13, 2012 at 8:57 am

Hilux Vigo is only good in 2nd hand resell value if compare to other truck which has much more to offer. This happen only in Sabah.

• skiborne on Feb 25, 2012 at 11:15 pm

handsome lah this truck

• seancorr on Feb 26, 2012 at 1:14 am

True on what Danny said, if I were in the market I would take this Ranger any time. It has class leading specs indeed.

The Hilux is popular coz of its durability. Not only in Malaysia that the Hilux is ruling but if u look across the globe…its the same…even more so in the middle east. According to the rest of the world this thing does not know when to die (watch the Top Gear ep on the Hilux) so…that’s why its sales figures are always top notch.

• Moruh on Feb 26, 2012 at 1:14 am

I just book 2 unit.. 2.2 & 3.2wildtrak.. built quality is up market… once i saw this, i cancel Evoque which i think its over price..

• gavin on Feb 26, 2012 at 3:52 am

with an extra cyclinder the 3.2 should be a monster

• hairul.nizam on Feb 26, 2012 at 9:07 am

Ahaa., i really wanted to win this truck for the malaysian leg of Global Ranger Challenge.. :)

wanna roam the remote ‘kampungs’ (village) and hard to reach durian orchard with this new ranger.

vote for me folks! >> http://www.fordrangerchallenge.com.my/contests/showentry/1021310

hehe.. free iklan..

• Ha Gnih on Feb 26, 2012 at 9:15 am

Definitely giving up the Hilux and Navara for this. And it looks stunning as well !!! Hoo Yeaah !!!

• OilChange on Feb 26, 2012 at 1:01 pm

red pick up?

wow… haven’t seen 1 in ages

• Maggimee on Feb 26, 2012 at 1:52 pm

Park pilot on a pickup truck??! Thats insane!!

• silver on Feb 26, 2012 at 3:02 pm

don,t know why but this car’s design reminds me of hilux… lol.. how is the back seat comfort… cause the hilux back seat is bad.. if you go off roads or goes through a bump… but i don’t tihnk ppl will start changing hilux for any other brand soon… since most company will still buy T instead of other brand just because parts are easier to find and cheaper especially older model. but i can see this car taking a big share from personal car owners though

• 3stn_enj on Feb 26, 2012 at 3:20 pm

I agree. Based on flood experiences, I’d rather research vehicles that are useful rather for majority suggestions. Durability, useful feature purposes rather than looks .

• i went to Shah Alam Car Booth Sale this morning, one booth from Sime Darby Car distribute the pricelist for this truck, 2.2L (A) priced at RM98k, not bad

• isuzuki on Feb 26, 2012 at 8:27 pm

Anyone knows if the 2.2 diesel is using timing belt or chain ? Thx

• AnakSarawak on Feb 26, 2012 at 9:05 pm

Any 4 by 2’s kaaa…??? Hopefully there’s one…A 4 by 2’s with same hight with the 4 by 4’s will be a hit here…..I’ll definitely take one if available…

• Both 2.2 & 3.2 engines are using timing chains and made in UK, while the overall vehicle was designed and built in Australia, though our Malaysian units might be assembled in Thailand. These T6’s is currently the best selling new pickup truck,as least in Australia & South Afrika currently, where it’s marketed. Toyota Hilux is a damn good truck, chain cam driven, solid, cheap parts and is wears a T badge, even if it has some niggling handling & transmission issues, it will still sell. Top Gear Hilux is not the same version as the one we are referring to, so don’t expect our Hilux to conquer the same. Tritons are still one of the handsomest around, good handling even though with a belt cam & a 5000km servicing schedule. It’s so good looking, some are buying it just as fashion accessories … which is quite OK nowadays. D-max is a workhorse of choice. So it really depends on your preference… :-)

• rally_fan on Feb 27, 2012 at 12:39 pm

looks pretty good actually, and the rear seats seem decent enuf.. i’ve always had a soft spot for the ranger, having driven them quite a bit from 2002 to 2004.

• Checked it out yesterday. Cool looking truck. But a question for Danny to ask Auto Connexion. Why aren’t they bringing in the 3.2XLT and why is the 3.2 Wildtrak only in Orange or White? Any chance we are going to get the aussie accessory options (or some of it at least)?

• Danny Tan (Member) on Feb 27, 2012 at 6:53 pm

Not feasible to offer so many variants/colours/options in our small market. The 2.2 will be good enough for most, and the 3.2 Wildtrak, with its great looks and equipment, will be for those who want “the ultimate truck”

• Danny, I can understand the lack of variants but why just Orange and White only for Wildtrak? Anyway, the Ranger outsold every Ford model when the 1st generation came out here. So they should be as widespread on product offering if they are to re-take this segment from Toyota (or at least carve out some market share from them).

• Excuse me Danny, I’m a little curious, , if you notice this photo, the white ranger has a wildtrak writing on it’s side , but it also wears a “2.2 6speed” badge.
    I thought the wildtrak version only comes in 3.2 liter guise… Please enlighten me with some answers … By the way, I’m so excited with this truck, I’m getting one myself …adios my mercedes s class !!!

http://paultan.org/2012/02/25/new-ford-ranger-t6-test-drive-report-from-chiang-rai/p1060321b/

• Danny Tan (Member) on Feb 27, 2012 at 6:45 pm

You’re sharp!

The units we drove were early units, so perhaps they were trying out some Wildtrak bits on the 2.2. But for commercial sales, Wildtrak = 3.2

• Darren on Feb 27, 2012 at 9:03 pm

oh man this truck is so freaking awesome, going to save up and get this sweet truck! btw will ford have the everest base on the T6?

• zanggief on Feb 27, 2012 at 11:37 pm

when vw malaysia will bring in the amarok to fight with the japanese rival?

• PAYNE on Feb 28, 2012 at 9:13 am

and u’ll be getting 4 times of the usual price. rm50k will be rm250k. are u sure u still want this 2.0 liter amarok for rm250k?

• Yes, it’s a direct competition, and Amarok is on the loosing side, at least in terms of horsepower, torque and pricing. How we wished that the Amarok is here in Malaysia, so that we could have another continental badged pickup truck to compare with. There’s nothing better then a healthy competition to keep things at it’s best … don’t you thing so ?

http://www.honestjohn.co.uk/carbycar/ford/ranger-2012/?section=road-test

• PCSoh on Feb 29, 2012 at 9:08 pm

Last weekend just booked 2.2(A) on the road show at sunway pyramid..and feel very happy and exited. This truck will have all the active safety. First SUT in malaysia with active safety.. Sales person say what u see on the 3.2(A) XLT is the same as the 2.2(A) XLT only minus the side airbag and the engine CC different.. No spec…

Just now when to the roadshow in Queensbay Penang and received copy of the full spec.. Autoconnexion.. Guess what? Full features will only be in the 3.2L wildtrak..

The 2.2XLT will only get the basic.. NO ESP, NO Locking rear differential (LRD), NO hill descent control (HDC) and of course NO side airbag.. This is all what i wanted plus safety come first. I dont need the big CC 3.2L.. Expensive road tax.. Drink more diesel.. Expensive by another RM20K+road tax+higher fuel consumption… What is the point?

So i am wondering,
    Ford build such a good truck with all the safety features.. Received ANCAP 5 STAR..
    When bring in to Malaysia, u only two choice.. Want safe? U have to pay more (of course i am willing to pay more but i dont need 3.2L) plus bigger CC, expensive road tax, and etc.. Why there is no 2.2L version with full spec? Why not to have one? It will beat other rival with the safety features.. Give us Malaysian just one more choice to choose.. 2.2L with full spec..

So mostly i will cancel the booking. No point for me to have the 3.2L.. Ford just loose me as their customer..

• IkmalRedza on Mar 19, 2012 at 8:52 pm

Is it possible to send the 2.2 model for a massive upgrade to match the extra safety features like the 3.2 model? Last time I went to SDAC Jalan Ipoh and the sales person said some owner bring their truck to Ford Thailand for the upgrade. They also have the 2.2 Wildtrak model right?

And the best part is the spare part is easy to get and its cheaper than our Malaysian market.

• Agreed with PCSoh. In my opinion, they should have the high spec version of 2.2. The 2.2 manual can be reserved for the basic version, while the automatic can have a higher spec, close to the 3.2 Wildtrak. If not all, probably the safety features like reverse camera, additional airbags, etc, minus the fancy leather seats … oh and of course, make that 18″ as an option. Overall …it’s a very handsome gentlemen’s truck. In comparison with Mitsu’s Triton, the later has a more boy racer kind of character . If the ranger is a versatile leather jacket, then the Triton is the fancy sports T-shirt

• Disappointed to hear Ford Malaysia offers so limited options. I was hopping 2.2 full or 3.2 manual version but seems Ford is just offering 2.2 Basic manual and 3.2 full version automatic.

Looking from this, I think I’ll hold my decision back, perhaps let’s see how the sister version, the BT-50 going to offer.

• BT-50? I think it still the same. Dont hope too much. Only the top end model gets all the goodies included .. I expect the same with new Chevy Colorado..This is the way of Malaysian market go..

• moto-moto on Mar 04, 2012 at 10:42 am

is the 2.2L consumes less diesel than the usual 2.5L pickups?

• ozedude on Mar 09, 2012 at 11:39 am

For you guys looking for something with road manners i would steer clear (anything in this type UTE class).

I though this looked great to until i found it has the dreaded leaf spring and drum brake setup. This setup belongs in the past.

Otherwise is great but this is a deal (heart ) breaker for me.

Cheers,

• Besides that, I found out as well, the engine is originally designed to comply with Euro V spec. Don’t know how they are going to cope with our poor Euro 2M diesel. I’m afraid we might be restless servicing the fuel system by owning this vehicle later on. Servicing fuel system will cost a bomb all the time.

• okey mbamalu on Apr 18, 2012 at 11:39 pm

After having a test drive on this beauty I changed my mind over getting a Hilux truck, the all new T6 ford ranger has it all, with a trendy and modern looks. And don’t forget safety first. She’s da bomb..

• pedro cruz on Apr 30, 2012 at 5:53 am

anyone know the actual spec. for our 2.2 (at) ?

• Denny Lim on May 14, 2012 at 10:45 am

I can’t wait for my video to be loaded to the website. The one that me and my family test drived was a 3.2 XLT Ford Ranger in white. It was very comfortable for me and my family. Power wise, it was a powerful truck during the mountain climbing with a very rough road. When doing downhill. The decent control really help, you can just need to focus of the road. I also feel confidence during the river crossing where usually we get stuck. Yes, it was a tough truck.

• mbada on May 15, 2012 at 2:26 pm

the ford ranger is a smaller version of the amarok no doubt the body the shape the stylin its all the same even if u look at the grill no doubt

• Denny Lim, have you try to sit in rear row seat? Are it feel jumpingness like Hilux? fill comfortable or not if sit in rear row seat? 10Q if you can give me the imformation. I only want to know the performance of leaf spring.

• Ronald amma on Jul 02, 2012 at 12:16 pm

ford always has this gear box thingy. They just don’t last long when you go up and down hill frequently with fully loaded truck. The reason I know coz I own the 1st model, ford courier. I ve changed the gear box 4 times now. I also own the new mother trucker Nissan Navara 2.5 173hp. But I hope this new model change it all for the better.

• 4 wheeler on Jul 03, 2012 at 1:43 am

Finally,T6 arrived on our soil.I’ve test driven the 2.2L(Auto)2012 Ford Ranger & it’s that good.However,I noticed it’s seem to suffering from a known condition called “Turbo Lag”,where during take off acceleration,you will be waiting for a few seconds for the car to moved.This can be troublesome / dangerous if you are entering a busy highway from standstill.

• jongkong emas on Jul 10, 2012 at 6:39 pm

i like this 4×4… prise please?

• herman on Jul 26, 2012 at 9:06 am

wow…mancho and look more like an american truck..

• Johnny be Good on Apr 07, 2013 at 9:34 am

The Ranger is “the” 4X4 of the day. I buy technology not second hand valve. By comparison HIlux are out of date especially with the 4 gear gearbox. Nobody wants it anymore but it was dump into Malaysia market. Thailand does not wants it too !!!

Do your research on the internet before your buy. You be surprise a new dawn of 4X4 is on the market today. Once you drive it you can feel its a car , its a 4X4. Does you all know the auto version can also used as manual with gear box ? Its real cool.

• Alvin on Apr 24, 2013 at 8:49 am

Hi Danny, Is the Ranger 2.2 XL safety and performance features reliable? since there is no airbag, abs and ebd and have lower horsepower for this ersion?

• Hi.I just bought a Ford Ranger XL model last end of March in Temerloh.The salesman and other staff were helpfull and friendly. But within 2 weeks i started having problem with the transmision of gear from low gear to normal high gear.i lodged a complaints to the service centre in temerloh( SRI M****** Sdn Bhd)asap.after 3 days delay they agreed to tow my brand new car.the next day the chief mechanic called and informed us its was nothing and failed to explained to us the real problem.the only thing he told us ‘all ok just bring back ur car’. since than( 2months plus has passed) the problem continuous and still didnt get responce from the mechanic.last week the mechanic called and told me he cant claim for towing my car a month ago and suggest he will change somekind of motor just so he can claim his towing charges too. is tis how i get treated as a ford customer? costomer is very ill treated, responded us a month later and even that, its because it favours them.i called the HQ hotline ,no response from them too. now im sick and tired waiting and driving my car in low gear for a weeks plus.
    Disappointed Customer

• alton on Feb 04, 2017 at 7:08 pm

My first ever 4wd vehicle… well…. 5star… good one.. worth for my money