SPIED: Honda Jazz Hybrid spotted in Klang, coming soon!

The hybrid fever is set to continue! UMW Toyota launched the Prius c and facelifted Prius to great reception last week, and now we’re seeing a sea of Honda Jazz Hybrids in Malaysia. Reader Ching Hong snapped these pics at PKFZ Klang, and they show a big group of green cars fresh off the boat. With tow hooks in sight, they should be heading to Honda’s stockyard somewhere else.

The Jazz Hybrid uses the same IMA system as the Insight, a 1.3-litre i-VTEC engine paired to an assisting electric motor. Using the standard CVT gearbox which sandwiches the motor in between it and the engine, Honda claims a combined fuel consumption of 4.4 litres per 100 km and emissions of 104 g/km of CO2 for the Jazz Hybrid.

Externally, the Jazz Hybrid is distinguished from the standard car with blue surround headlights, clear rear lights, new front grille, restyled bumpers and a chrome tailgate garnish. Besides the car’s signature Lime Green metallic colour, we can see some silver units in the pics as well.

Inside, the motor-assisted Jazz will get a unique instrument panel incorporating the Charge/Assist meter and Eco Assist function, which uses the speedo ambient lighting to encourage the driver to drive economically. Honda says that the Hybrid will not lose any of the Jazz’s famous practicality; flexible “Magic Seats” and 300 litres of boot space are retained. The battery pack and power control unit are under the boot floor.

The Jazz Hybrid made its world debut at Paris 2010. Click here for the report and gallery. Toyota’s RM97k sticker for the Prius c is widely seen as a good price for the spec – how much do you think the Jazz Hybrid will cost?

Danny Tan loves driving as much as he loves a certain herbal meat soup, and sweet engine music as much as drum beats. He has been in the auto industry since 2006, previously filling the pages of two motoring magazines before joining this website. Enjoys detailing the experience more than the technical details.

• tokmoh on Feb 27, 2012 at 6:45 pm

Ini salesman kata RM85k.

Civic 9th gen pun coming soon RM115k/RM130k for 1.8/2.0 SOHC

http://www.mudah.my/Honda+Jazz+Hybrid+CBU+Japan-13824564.htm

• Alpha on Feb 27, 2012 at 11:28 pm

SOHC???Ohmygod….someone,be careful.I’m about to faint.

• Sentinel Prime on Feb 28, 2012 at 1:07 am

what wrong??!! The newest technology from Honda is using SOHC which is much advanced. Previous generation engine for Honda is DOHC now is been outdated.

• _xXx_ on Feb 28, 2012 at 3:31 pm

Hullo Honda Malaysia, my 17 years old Mazda Lantis engine IS DOHC!!!

• Kuchi Tiau on Feb 28, 2012 at 12:30 pm

1.4 TSI???Ohmygod….someone,be careful.I’m about to faint.

• other car maker too slow to manipulate tax waived by the gov…honda n toyota will dominate this hybrid car market that for sure…….at least until end of this year

• rapidshifter on Feb 28, 2012 at 9:53 am

since Insight RM99k… this hybrid jazz should be around RM80-85k… if below 80k will sold like hot cakes…

• i hope other car maker who have 1.8 hybrid and below can sell here…cheaper for selling those type of car in malaysia than petrol or diesel only version

• OMG….great news if the price was between RM 85K to 90K….

• smartPaul on Feb 28, 2012 at 12:56 pm

I m looking for a hybrid driving alone 99% of the time to work, to gym, to pub, to genting. Hell, my money is gonna spent on the CRZ for sure!!!

• fxfrog on Feb 28, 2012 at 10:11 pm

This car is priced below 90K. Which you choose? PriusC or Jazz Hybrid

• ahshuy on Feb 27, 2012 at 6:51 pm

let me bet – below RM90k :D

• d driver on Feb 27, 2012 at 6:53 pm

Price it around 65k to 70k

• those who bought jazz 1.5 petrol are crying… those just bought jazz 1.5 last month have prepared stones, they want to smash honda’s showroom…

2-year-old 2nd hand jazz 1.5 for rm40,000, anyone?

• y? wat happen??/ izzit that bad?

• alldisc on Feb 27, 2012 at 9:26 pm

new honda jazz was sold at over 100K, the hybrid is rumoured to be around 85K, due to zero taxes for hybrid cars policy.

i think this jazz is slightly more spacious than prius C.

• yh Inc. on Feb 28, 2012 at 6:55 pm

Jazz should be cheaper then Prius C, since Jazz uses the 1.3cc engine with the motor assist while Prius C uses motor with the engine assist.

Jazz no way expensive than Prius C!

• Hi, may I know what is the benefit of engine with the motor assist VS motor with the engine assist?

• if it is rm70k range, i choose this over the fiesta..

• why 4 rm40k? give it to me. ha ha ha. i’m serious. i seeking for da car jz now and aiming da jazz.

• VOLVO FOR LIFE on Feb 27, 2012 at 9:04 pm

honda jazz was always a great car. this one is even better as its the japanese made one. i’d get one chuck the engine out dump in a K20A and my Gran Turismo 5 dreams are fulfilled.

• are u sure u are selling for 40k? come lets meet up..

• yh Inc. on Feb 27, 2012 at 6:58 pm

Honda’s hybrid? haha. You kidding me!

Frankly speaking, Prius C’s spec is better than this. Somemore, it’s a real hybrid instead of this. Technology wise, Prius C wins!

• do u even know what u r talking about?a car with more than 1 power source is a hybrid,in honda’s case it called a mild hybrid.n go have a look at the prius c,its a car for Smurfs,made from china plastic

• haha,ya ya prius c spec is better but the interior design?LIKE MYVI .you pay 97k just to get myvi interior?lololololololol.

• Wisdom on Feb 27, 2012 at 9:13 pm

Some people willing to spend more for so-called better technology. At the end of the day, they real world FC for both cars are comparable.

Even better, the Jazz battery replacement cost were estimated around 5-6k while Prius C 12K.

Still the main selling point for Jazz would be better interior.

• ChiefMechanic on Feb 28, 2012 at 1:22 am

Honda has more battery problems than Toyota. http://money.cnn.com/2011/03/01/autos/honda_civic_hybrid_battery_problems/index.htm

Toyota hybrids have a different battery system that works much better. The Prius has been on the roads since 1997 and there has been virtually no warranty battery replacements (i.e. batteries that failed on their own rather than due to accidents or user abuse). That’s a 15-year track record.

And, the Prius PSD transmission is a lot more reliable than the Fit’s belt-and-pully CVT transmission. Prius transmission has only 27 moving parts, no clutches or torque converters. No need to change transmission fluid. Fit requires a special transmission fluid for the CVT belt every 45,000kms.

Prius has the better hybrid system.

• Wowhaha on Feb 28, 2012 at 9:57 am

Mind you, Mechanic, the Fit hybrid use the same battery as Insight, not the one in the old Civic hybrid that came from Primearth EV Energy, which also supplies the Prius battery.

• Wisdom on Feb 28, 2012 at 10:08 am

Come on chief. I bet u also dunno how to fix Prius engine and drivetrain if its brokedown. Yeah much better technology.

Honda still uses the same concept as conventional cars, with similar engine-flywheel-gearbox layout. only the flywheel changed to electric motor. Hence u can easily repair.

Toyota battery also failing:
          http://www.greencarreports.com/news/1071391_life-after-death-what-happens-when-your-prius-battery-dies

• Chief Mechanic on Feb 29, 2012 at 7:50 am

You might want to actually read that article you linked to. It says Prius batteries on average are lasting past 150,000 miles no problems.

Not the Honda Civic Hybrid batteries, which are beset with problems, and the supposed software flash “fix” kills the fuel economy by minimizing battery use.

Also, Honda Civic does not use Panasonic EV batteries. Panasonic makes the Prius batteries.

Prius is the superior hybrid. Period.

• Chief Mechanic on Feb 29, 2012 at 7:52 am

And there are just 27 moving parts in the Prius PSD transmission, versus 100+ in the Honda transmission. Less moving parts equals less potential failure points.

Failures in the Prius transaxle is VERY rare. They are MUCH MORE reliable than normal transmissions.

• alldisc on Feb 27, 2012 at 9:28 pm

yeah..me too. i agree… but price wise, this jazz hybrid may have some advantage. 1 handicapp for prius C

• yup agree..
      BUT…external looks and interior quality..
      honda wins hands down

• yh Inc. on Feb 28, 2012 at 6:59 pm

After few months of driving then you’ll definitely throw this rubbish away. This is not a hybrid. The engine keep going on all the way! The battery is just assist the engine unlike Prius C can run EV mode!

• lonelyobserve on Feb 28, 2012 at 6:47 am

Here some elaborations on Toyota Hybrid Synergy Drive (HSD) and Honda Integrated Motor Assist (IMA):

Toyota HSD is full hybrid (based on hybrid vehicle drivetrain categorization) where driver can choose the car to completely operate with either engine only, battery only or both. Thus, the battery used is bigger. However, such full hybrid car will have better fuel consumption on city driving, if the car constantly travel long distance through highways, the fuel consumption won’t be as good as what it’s claimed to be. My friend told me that his Australian friends already giving up hybrid cars and go to electric vehicle (EV).

Honda IMA is a mild hybrid whereby the motor powered by electric (supplied by battery) simply assists the engine. Electric motor is mounted between engine and transmission to act as starter motor, engine balancer and traction motor. For this mild hybrid the battery used is smaller than full hybrid car. The main characteristic of IMA is that engine starts when driver starts the car and electric motor will assist the engine when needed. In contrast of full hybrid, the characteristic of IMA enables the car can have better fuel consumption on highway driving.

• I agreed…this jazz ada 7 air bags?ada push start button? and better safety features? T.prius C ada advantage even the price was expensive.

• Merc=Real Euro on Feb 27, 2012 at 6:59 pm

Prius C vs Jazz Hybrid…let the price war begin….Hopefully below Toyota pricing.
    I prefer the design of the Jazz. Interior and exterior…

• vtec200k on Feb 27, 2012 at 7:02 pm

fuel consumption slightly lower than prius c . . . i hope it price at rm94,888

• vtec200k on Feb 27, 2012 at 8:55 pm

prius c combined 25.6 km/l . . . jazz hybrid 22.7km/l . . . on second thought i should put it as FC of prius c slightly better than jazz hybrid . . .

• On KL road, IMA hybrid can only dream of getting 22KM/L. It is more like 15~18KM/L. For Prius C at least 22~25KM/L is achievable as normal Prius already getting 21~24KM/L on KL road.

Yes, Prius C interior is really ugly but exterior is not bad. Prius C Interior space seating is comparable to Vios and slightly bigger than Fiesta but smaller than Accent. At RM97K is more expensive than Jazz RM85K so it depends on owner preferences. For Prius C has make up the difference i.e 7 airbags, Prius drivetrain is proven and reliable, battery is reliable as it is used as taxi, FC is lower (can get at least 700KM @ 32L) and fully hybrid (different driving feelings, silence engine).

• Tall Pan on Feb 28, 2012 at 5:47 pm

lol nice exterior and crap gawd-awful interior for what? no one sits on their car hood/roof to drive. wait, do u? o_0

• wolfsburg on Feb 27, 2012 at 7:02 pm

I guess shud be btw 85-90k

• vroom on Feb 27, 2012 at 7:06 pm

not far by then Prius C ..abt 90k++ time to make money for H & T

• BENSON11 on Feb 27, 2012 at 7:11 pm

wah, that good. definitely below 100k for sure

• khylie555 on Feb 27, 2012 at 7:13 pm

Finally not I-dsi engine.I love I-Vtec!!!!

• Wisdom on Feb 27, 2012 at 9:26 pm

Infact the engine used on Insight and Jazz comes with i-vtec, idsi and IMA. Dont laugh.

The i-vtec gives the engine option to vary valve timing/lift and gives the engine ability to deactivate all 4 cylinder when it goes to electric mode below 50km/h.

The engine also comes with 2 spark plug per cylinder, hence, idsi. (dual spark ignition).

IMA, the electrical part of course. Motor + battery.

• yes bro,the engine is still an i-Dsi engine,but wiht 2 stage i-vtec system

• isuzuki on Feb 28, 2012 at 12:08 pm

http://world.honda.com/CIVICHYBRID/Technology/NewHondaIMASystem/PowerUnit/index_1.html

• Kuchi Tiau on Feb 28, 2012 at 12:38 pm

NSX…u sound like Honda engineer in Alor Gajah plant…

• isuzuki on Feb 29, 2012 at 10:43 pm

Only manage to google this URL:

http://en.wikipedia.org/wiki/Honda_L_engine#LDA_.28i-DSI_.2B3_stage_i-VTEC.29

LDA (i-DSI + pause-cylinder i-VTEC)

SOHC 8 valve cylinder i-DSI + pause i-VTEC
          Displacement: 1,339 cc
          Bore x Stroke: 73.0 mm (2.9 in) × 80.0 mm
          Horsepower: 65 kW (88 PS; 87 hp) / 5,800 rpm
          Torque: 121 N·m (89 lb·ft) / 4,500 rpm
          Honda Insight (ZE2) sedan

[edit] LDA (i-DSI +3 stage i-VTEC)

SOHC 8 valve i-DSI +3 stage i-VTEC
          Displacement: 1,339 cc
          Bore x Stroke: 73.0 mm (2.9 in) × 80.0 mm
          Horsepower: 70 kW (95 PS; 94 hp) / 6,000 rpm
          Torque: 123 N·m (91 lb·ft) / 4,600 rpm
          Honda Civic Hybrid (FD3)

No 2 stage, hm…..

• raoul on Feb 27, 2012 at 7:15 pm

I think the ideal price will be between 88k – 90k

• BN=barang naik on Feb 27, 2012 at 7:16 pm

price it below 80k and i will seriously consider this car

• Masked Ryder on Feb 27, 2012 at 7:17 pm

Should have launch it earlier, then can drive it to Kuantan for Green 2.0 gathering.

Well ! just as i expected more & more Hybrid are here to stay, battery price should drop once economy of scale run in.

• smith on Feb 27, 2012 at 10:02 pm

another example of plain ignorance..you plan to drive a hybrid car for the sake of Green 2.0 which the cause is to reject rare earth processing plant?!! hahaha…so funny..bold enough to show how ignorance you are..u better go study about hybrid car battery first boy!!

• Agreed with Smith.. End product from rare earth plant is to be in used as one of the component in the battery.. :-)

• Wisdom on Feb 28, 2012 at 2:22 pm

Furthermore, given the Lynas plant is build and controlled according to standard, it should be safe and a good opportunity for Malaysia to supply soon-to-be nuclear powerplant fuel. Thorium itself is not that radioactive (0.2mSV) but have a potential to be used as nuclear plant fuel after priming/ bombarded by other element/s.

Higher sales volume, abundance material, we should have enough excuse to attract them, car manufacturer/ assembler to assemble hybrid locally, and later HEV or EV.

• Masked Ryder on Feb 28, 2012 at 1:03 pm

Can’t even understand a reversed joke.

Look like you are ignorance

1.) The radioactive compound are Thorium (use in TV production & nuklear power).
        2.) Hybrid car use dysprosium & Neodymium.

Go back & study your self, Toddler !

• Honda will f**k us by put high price tag on hbrid cars…gila la u all nk big profit margin..those who buy high price tag hybrid car are been duped.hybrid cars should be cheaper than petrol/diesel powered cars la weh..then more people can afford to buy it & save the earth..

• dude even in U.S hybrids a considered expensive la.thats y honda n toyota are launching more affordable hybrids.u go buy proton exora REEV la.c wheter its wat u call as cheap onot

• Ibex7 on Mar 01, 2012 at 3:42 pm

That’s why la u need to press the gov to lower down the excise duty & improve our economy growth so that the currency exchange is almost on par with US or Japan…then more people can afford to buy hybrid..

U mau save the earth but at astronomical cost…haih..

• If the Prius is sold at RM97K then tis Jazz would be at least RM90K..

• Carl Wong on Feb 27, 2012 at 7:23 pm

Beautiful, who would get the normal version now? Hybrid version is more stylish with much much better fuel efficiency and even performance…..

• Carl Wong on Feb 27, 2012 at 7:26 pm

I hope it’ll be cheaper than City grade S, which would make it the cheapest Honda and Hybrid in our country :)!!!! City is just heavily taxed…..

• wolfsburg on Feb 27, 2012 at 9:25 pm

Maybe you should say City is heavily profit-ted. Fiesta sedan fully loaded with powershift and 7 airbags+ESP is cheaper than City E.

• Geronimo on Feb 27, 2012 at 7:31 pm

Should be around 91-92k+. Low enough to undercut Prius C and Insight.

• Why would they want to undercut Insight??

• Honda Power on Feb 27, 2012 at 10:11 pm

Honda Hazz hybrid is smaller than Insight so its price must be lower than Insight. If it’s priced at RM85K, it will be even cheaper than City Grade S (my car), thus making it the cheapest Honda car and hybrid car in Malaysia.

• notorius on Feb 27, 2012 at 7:34 pm

got anoher color?

• asgard on Feb 27, 2012 at 7:35 pm

in mudah, the ads show price of around RM85000

• In the spec Prius C was very attractive. However, when I’d sit inside the interior looks weird to me and the quality of the cushion even worst than myvi SE that I test drive before.

• Thedaoaks on Feb 27, 2012 at 7:47 pm

hmmm too many options now..should I buy Polo (not hybrid), Prius C or this one?

• Test drive and find out yourself. Nobody can tell you what you desire.

• Gebang on Feb 27, 2012 at 11:07 pm

Polo is diff league la bro…..

• Zippy Polo on Feb 27, 2012 at 11:46 pm

Give Polo a try….. u be amazed….

• Merc=Real Euro on Feb 28, 2012 at 12:07 am

Yes we are amazed on the price… Polo on the road cost nearly 120K !!!!!.
        Driven it….. and hard to justify the price tag…. if 90K then ok can consider…

• agreed

• dyky02 on Feb 28, 2012 at 9:41 am

Jazz is nowhere matching Polo!! That tiny 1.2 TSI engine can leave you speechless for awhile. Honda & Toyota tech are old-school.

• why not?standard jazz kicks out 120PS,the Polo is 105 PS.the advantage the Polo has in only the torque figure is higher,thanks to Turobcharging.its good in city drive,but wont be able to hit the highway at higher speeds due to lower hp.Jazz may lose out on pickup,but once the v-tec kicks in its bye bye polo.n the jazz is more practical in terms of size and comfort.sorry to say,polo doesnt justify the price.its a sprinter,not a long distance runner.

• @avd, even if the v-tec kicks in, it still might not make it. It would probably still be behind the Polo by not much of a margin, all due to the 7speed DSG that gives the Polo it’s optimal performance zone. Top speed is @ 190kph, Jazz @ 177kph. How to bye bye?

I do not agree that the Polo is not a long distance runner. It can maintain 110 km/h at about 2,200 rpm, which is the typical legal cruising speed.

I wouldn’t say who is the clear winner out of these 2. But we can see that mini turboing is better than vtec in terms of fc without hybrid.

Other than that, yea, you’ll be probably looking for the bigger interior space in the Jazz.

• Pologise on Feb 28, 2012 at 10:00 am

Compare VW with Japanese? … WT …

Somemore German dont use Battery one la!! Go take a look at ~ Bluemotion.

• seancorr on Feb 27, 2012 at 7:52 pm

Actually Mudah advertisements indicate a price of just under RM90k.

They also reveal the 9th Gen Civic is arriving soon together with the face lift City.

• thunder cats on Feb 27, 2012 at 8:07 pm

85 k

• mangata on Feb 27, 2012 at 8:13 pm

dude seriously jazz interior is wayyy awesome than prius c and yes prius may be more advance than jazz in terms of hybrid tech but end of day both of them have almost similar fuel comsumption

• 70k will be the right price for 1.3 car imported with free tax… i hope honda will consider win-win situation with users… go for quantity and make your market segment bigger than toyota hehe

• I want open market price!

• Also mentioned in the ads about Honda Freed 1.5 i-Vtec-New Model arriving soon. Any news on Freed hybrid (7 seater with rear blower for aircond ?) waiting for one…

• and price for freed hybrid must be <95k.. then only in consideration.

• oops. copied blindly. Freed already has the 1.5 i-VTEC and 5spd AT. Let it be the hybrid then. wonder whats new then. CVT ? 6 Spd auto ?

• over 110k…

• Pororo on Feb 27, 2012 at 9:03 pm

i like the green one.. the colour is really suitable for the cute car like jazz….

• Green on Feb 27, 2012 at 9:32 pm

Jazz would beat Prius C in terms of sales given they price it low enough. However, it also depend on stocks/ delivery.

Prius C, nah. Give me other dashboard please. And stop those 30+km/l advertisement (under control). Existing owner (Japan, europe US) tested real world mileage only 22-23km/l.

• after buy it we test then sue them.haha…dont la sue banyak2 just enough to pay lump sump loan dah la..

• tokmoh on Feb 28, 2012 at 10:14 am

Someone actually did… and won.

http://autos.yahoo.com/news/woman-wins-small-claims-suit-over-honda-civic-hybrid.html

• shawal on Feb 27, 2012 at 9:41 pm

RM 94,888 probably….

• It will be priced at least RM95k to RM105k. Reason is simple: Honda will be very foolish to undercut its top-selling model, i.e. Honda City. The pricing will be somewhere in between the current price point of City (i.e. RM85-90k) and regular Jazz (i.e. RM110k).

• i think that briliant.one way to avoid tax by launching hybrid or ev car……advantage for hybrid car maker…more cars sell..

• Honda Power on Feb 27, 2012 at 10:06 pm

Let me put the Honda Jazz hybrid’s OTR price at RM85K, thus making it cheaper than Toyota Prius C by RM12K. If Honda Malaysia price it at RM85K, it will be the best selling hybrid in Malaysia because it’s cheaper than Prius C and also cheaper than its bigger brother, the Honda Insight. If that’s the case, it will be the cheapest hybrid in Malaysia. Let the hybrid war between Honda and Toyota begin!

• How many ‘cheapest hybrid’ you want to say?

• Abuya on Feb 28, 2012 at 1:24 pm

Their war price is benefit to us….. before election la…. After election i’m sure either BN or PR want more revenue to run all subsidy….. and might waived tax examption for hybrid car.

BTW, whats wrong he say cheaper af few times instead of you say a few words?

• OMG….How cheap your cheapest Jazz Hybrid price tag? Below RM85K..i would say cheap.

• yh Inc. on Feb 28, 2012 at 8:27 pm

HALLO MALAYSIA!!!!! WAKE UP! There is no way to compare orange with apple!!!!!

Honda Using IMA which the 1300cc engine gonna keep running while the motor only assist to give extra power or output. This is what Honda called “hybrid”, which I found really funny! It can’t totally running EV mode, which move your vehicle in 0 rpm.

I’m not a Toyota supporter but it gives the real Hybrid! Battery gives the power to motor and thus creates output, this is the main resources to move the Toyota vehicle. If you want more powerful driving experience, the 1500cc (T. Prius C) engine will on and gives you extra power. The car can moves with 0 rpm or completely EV mode!

The battery by Toyota really powerful than Honda. Of course the price gonna lower than Toyota because we are comparing Proton with Benz

• Char Kuey Tiaw on Feb 27, 2012 at 10:10 pm

already ask honda vsa..price around 100k..so very happy lah…take prius c lah….cheap plastic high performance low fuel consumption..think what purpose u buy car.if cannot eat char kuey tiaw and then you will know which better…go hybrid go

• rosdi on Feb 27, 2012 at 11:18 pm

Hodoh lah tail light dia…

• driver on Feb 27, 2012 at 11:46 pm

I wonder whether it has 7 airbags like Prius?

• Slightly disappointed it didn’t come with the panoramic roof and sav nav . Anyway it is a good car if you aren’t asking for performance(power).

• jenggo on Feb 28, 2012 at 6:25 pm

yup..
      i agree with muzi..
      they only bring the low specs here..
      pretty disappointing..

• Fong Sai Yuk on Feb 28, 2012 at 12:14 am

this technology in malaysia still new…so you pay for it.some people say mahal lah…so go for petrol car.no matter how is it..we need to know what is hybrid then i will understand why it costly.people do no and hentam as they really know so much.use your brain lah kawan..if u not ready let other people buy it..don’t bcoz u dont like u say this car not good lah and what so ever.nothing is cheap and cheap is nothing….

• Dr Mamak on Feb 28, 2012 at 12:17 am

Fuyoh thats a lot of green jamban door handles.

• loplopl on Feb 28, 2012 at 12:22 am

Less than 90K? Then I guess should around RM89,890 On the Road..

• I will price it at RM79K to win both the Prius C, AND the VIOS market.

Its time for Honda to take on the Toyo!! the City sold 1/3 of the VIOS, but with this JAZZ Hybrid, it will take the lead! Common Honday! RM79K!! 2 bird in 1 stone!!

• hondasalesman on Feb 28, 2012 at 12:44 am

The Comfirmation Price of Jazz H is Rm 82,998.The date will be launch on 21-4-2012.

thanks you very much.

• loplopl on Feb 28, 2012 at 12:59 am

Not trying to speculate here but pricing at RM83K is impossible. U can check how Honda UK pricing both low spec for Insight & Jazz Hybrid: ~17K; 16K, so you can roughly assume price in Msia Insight; Jazz= 99K; 93K…

Anyway I believe the discipline of Honda salesman which dare not to (or I say not so hardworking) disclose the price tag at 12:44am…LoL…

• nothing is impossible in Malaysia dude..its Bolehland remember

• honda will beat toyo!!!

• Maserati on Feb 28, 2012 at 8:51 am

In terms pf technology and fuel saving, the prius c win hands down. This jazz hybrid is nowhere as good as toyota. Having said that, jazz looks and feels more solid.

And guess what, the koreans dont even dare to come up with a hybrid because they are still lacking behind the japs in terms of tech.

• BeemerFreak on Feb 28, 2012 at 10:31 am

A post unrelated to Koreans you also want to bash them. Damn childish. Praise japs enough d la, don’t talk bad about others.

• What are you talking about? pls check US motor websites….there are hybrids Sonatas & optimas selling in north america!!..with good review to boot.

• hassan on Feb 28, 2012 at 8:54 am

there are some silver if I am correct.

• Today Mudah says RM87K…

http://www.mudah.my/Honda+jazz+hybrid-13969738.htm

• roland on Feb 28, 2012 at 9:37 am

OTR confirmed RM88,888.00

However it is a very small car and tiring for long journey . Prius C is also a small car .

so what say you guys . My opinion city is a better option because for 5 years down the road the hybrid of Jazz or Prius or Prius C would not give you a justifiable payback .

The government now in the campaign of election since 2 years ago so they keep the duty minimum ……. before that they are blood suckers and after the election they will become a worst blood sucker again ( provided they can win this round )

Never trust the current government on environmental consious ( they talked like hero of hybrid encouragement ) ! they are bull shit . look at lynas … i am sure they will pay a heavy price this round !

Cheers

• tokmoh on Feb 28, 2012 at 3:18 pm

You don’t say?

Rare earth refinery in Msia: “OMG, govt so not environmental friendly!”
      Hybrid cars tax exempted: “Wow, Prius, Insight, etc so cheap now! We can be green and responsible! Go hybrid!”
      Hybrid’s battery use rare earth element : “………….”

*ancient alien guy* ENVIRONMENTALISTS

• base on japan website:
    Prius C = 1690K Yen x 0.04 = RM 67600 x 1.1(sales Tax)
    = RM 74360 + 20k(profit) = 94360 + insurance = RM 97000

Honda fit hybrid = 1230K Yen x 0.04 = RM 49200 x 1.1(sales Tax)
    (1.3 +CVT) = RM 54120 + (15~20K Profit)
    = RM 69K ~ 74K + Insurance

Should be below 80K?

• Impossiberu.. MITI won’t allow, below 80k will deal a heavy blow to P1.

• jazz_it_up on Feb 28, 2012 at 2:26 pm

Yeah, the price should be below RM80k…if the price is greater than RM80k, surely toyota prius c is the more “value for money” car between the two, right?

• To know the real value, come to your nearest toyota and feel the car. I wont buy that even if they sell RM70K.

• My own view

Exterior design -> Prius C still looks better

Interior design -> Definitely Honda Jazz (Prius C looks too cheap and ugly for the interior..Disappointing actually)

Price -> Honda Jazz would obviously be lower than the Prius C i guess

Specs -> No comment . Both have similar specs I guess?

• wheeler on Feb 28, 2012 at 11:49 am

Malaysia – for hybrid hub

• DC5turbo on Feb 28, 2012 at 12:45 pm

id rather go for 2nd hand jazz 1.5 normal, more power at your disposal… cant compare la actually hybrid & non hybrid…

• Lets check Honda Jazz/Fit 1.3L Hybrid….how much difference???
    http://www.batfa.com/newcar-honda_fit_hybrid.htm
    Price plus shipping and marine insurance: USD$24,000 + USD$900 + USD$120 = USD$25,020.00
    USD$25,020.00 = RM75,372.75 ???
    Nahh…gotta be RM10K more expensive so RM85,000.00!

Now compare with…the PriusC/Aqua ex-factory including shipping from Japan:
    http://www.batfa.com/new_car_toyota_aqua_hybrid.htm
    Toyota Aqua PriusC = USD$25,300.00
    Shipping: USD$900, Marine insurance:USD$120
    Total: USD$26,320.00 = RM79,289.00
    Price difference: RM97,000 – RM79,289.00 = RM17,711.00!

On average zero-duty Hybrids are still have hidden duties around RM15K-RM40K more…

• How arr? where you put sales tax?, local agent, UMW profit?

• jazz_it_up on Feb 28, 2012 at 2:29 pm

it’s not hidden duties maa…it’s the profit gained by umw toyota/honda malaysia

• easily they (toyota/honda) makan 20k-30k per car..fuuuuuffuuuuuu

• november on Feb 28, 2012 at 1:02 pm

prefer Toyota Prius C over this one.

• kabal on Feb 28, 2012 at 1:32 pm

yesteday saw an Estima Hybrid.. wonder how to get spareparts (i.e. battery) for this car since it’s an imported car by those grey importers.. (off topic a bit)

• ahlee bin ahtan on Feb 28, 2012 at 1:57 pm

Frankly RM79 K is good bet and sound much more realistic yeh!

• Looks like zero-duty hybrid cars here not really zero duty afterall still got hidden costs…??

Toyota Prius ex-factory including shipping from Japan:
    http://www.batfa.com/new_car_toyota_prius.htm
    Toyota Prius = USD$29,700.00
    Total: USD$30,720.00 = RM92,544.00
    Price difference: RM139,900 – RM92,544.00 = RM47,356.00!
    Is this ZERO import duty excise duty kah???

Hmmm let’s check another Prius the Alpha 7-seater shall we…
    http://www.batfa.com/new_car_toyota_prius_alpha.htm
    Toyota Prius Alpha 7-seater = US$ 42,200
    Toyota Prius Alpha 5-seater = US$ 34,200
    Total: Alpha 7-seater = USD$43,220.00 = RM130,200.25 ???
    Total: Alpha 5-seater = USD$35,220.00 = RM106,100.25 ???
    Nope probably add that hidden duties again how about..RM40K??
    Final price Alpha 7-seater = RM170,200.25 ???
    Final price Alpha 5-seater = RM146,100.25 ???

Honda Insight 1.3L Hybrid price difference:
    http://www.batfa.com/newcar-hondainsight.htm
    RM99,800.00 – RM87,422.75 = RM12,377.25!

Honda CR-Z 1.5L Hybrid price difference:
    http://www.batfa.com/newcar-hondacrz.htm
    RM115,000.00 – RM101,581.50 = RM13,418.50!

No wonder this Lexus CT200h also got spoofed…
    http://www.batfa.com/new_car_lexus_ct200h.htm
    Price plus shipping and marine insurance: USD$53,400 + USD$900 + USD$120 = USD$54,420.00
    USD$54,420.00 = RM163,940.25???
    http://lexus.com.my/models/CT200h/content_pricelist.html
    Against local price here RM172,619.20 – RM163,940.25 = RM8,678.95 price difference ???

But wait, how about Nissan Leaf fully-electric car?
    http://www.batfa.com/newcar-nissanleaf.htm
    Price plus shipping and marine insurance: USD$56,500 + USD$900 + USD$120 = USD$57,520.00
    Let’s check…USD$57,520.00 = RM173,279.00 ???
    Nahhh…must add hidden duties too RM15K so total price RM188,279.00 ???

Therefore just forget about this tiny fully-electric Misubishi i-Miev lah
    http://www.batfa.com/mitsubishi_i-miev.htm
    Price plus shipping and marine insurance: USD$53,500 + USD$900 + USD$120 = USD$54,520.00
    Let’s check…USD$54,520.00 = RM164,241.50 ???
    Final icing on the cake add RM15K so total price RM179,241.50 ???!!! Madness! Better buy Lexus CT200h!

On average zero-duty Hybrid cars still got hidden cost around RM15K-RM40K each???

Hmmmm wonder how much Protongkat EMASs price later on???

• _xXx_ on Feb 28, 2012 at 3:09 pm

I think it’s not zero tax. Sales tax of 5% still exist…

• november on Feb 28, 2012 at 3:55 pm

dealer/ agent/ umw toyota/ honda malaysia mesti mau markup maa.. mau untung la..

• rapidshifter on Feb 28, 2012 at 4:09 pm

those who brought cars into Malaysia still need to consider profit margin for each car… since Malaysian car market not as huge as Japan or Thais profit margin will be higher for each car if compare to those country- to cover commission, operating cost, branches cost etc…

• _xXx_ on Feb 28, 2012 at 4:39 pm

Hidden-cost = cost of AP?

• ckutch basah on Feb 28, 2012 at 5:35 pm

You are correct, there is no such thing as hidden tax, the surplus cost is actually profits marked up by the importer.
        Before any cars are marketed in Malaysia these importers have to submit proposals to certain ministries (MITI?). This is when price structure is decided.

• jenggo on Feb 28, 2012 at 4:48 pm

no skyroof for malaysian specs?..

• paparadzi on Feb 28, 2012 at 6:28 pm

Insight, Prius c or Jazz Hybrid?

Nah, I’d rather have a Prius…

• Astroguy on Feb 28, 2012 at 9:49 pm

waste of time discussing all the duty import/excise taxes
    just accept and live with it
    stop comparing with other countries….
    e.g. 300% import taxes on cars in India and no fuel subsidies…
    62% income tax in Denmark… so how?
    or better just live in the US with no job..

no matter what car prices.. it will always expensive to some people
    if cannot afford then buy cheaper cars la

• Henry on Feb 28, 2012 at 10:47 pm

A SUZUKI SWIFT IS ONLY 500,000 RUPEE. THATS AROUND RM30,000

WHAT 300% IMPORT TAX ON INDIA CAR YOU TALK ABOUT?

• astroguy on Feb 29, 2012 at 11:02 am

My mistake. import taxes approx 110%.
        suzuki is considered as local brand in india becoz of JV with local co.

Petrol price Rm4 per litre.

• fxfrog on Feb 28, 2012 at 10:12 pm

This car priced below 90K. Which car your choose for Hybrid compact ?

• Side track a bit. Any news on Honda freed hybrid ?
    Also same platform as jazz right ? Hybrid freed already available in Japan.
    Bring it in and sell it less than 90k.

• tikus on Feb 29, 2012 at 9:46 am

This Means WAR !!!

• Hyundai Fan on Feb 29, 2012 at 1:31 pm

I believe the price will be lower than Prius C because Toyota cars here always sell at higher price than other brands in the same segment. If Prius C is going to increase the price by a few thousands more 2 months later, this Hybrid Jazz will still be selling below RM10K. So, I guess the price of this Hybrid Jazz will be around RM95K.

• R3TR0sp@rk on Feb 29, 2012 at 5:59 pm

hey..i got from my source, it will be around RM 80K++… awesome..

• ex 5 series on Feb 29, 2012 at 8:55 pm

i go with my ex5, runs cheaper than any hybrid, can travel longer than a hybrid in the traffic jams. can wake up late and arrive early at the office. can do overtime when outside is raining.

• Honda Power on Feb 29, 2012 at 11:26 pm

Checked Honda Malaysia’s website just now. No more Honda City Grade S OTR RM85,480. Now there’s only City Grade E at OTR RM90,480. Only one spec of Honda City. My guess is Honda Malaysia is not selling the cheaper City Grade S because the new Honda Jazz hybrid which will be launched next month may be priced below RM85K OTR. This is to avoid competition between City Grade S and Jazz hybrid. If you can buy City Grade S at RM85K and Jazz hybrid at RM85K, which will you choose? So to avoid Jazz hybrid undercutting the bigger City Grade S, HM decided not to sell it anymore hence only one type of City is on sale that is City Grade E (full spec). Am I right?

• bad car too bad..boring…since what year the same design..bored with T & H..

• sequid on Mar 02, 2012 at 11:55 am

just put my booking on this car,
    the SA said i am the first in b.m he,he,he….
    cant wait any more dude…..

• Samlyn on Mar 03, 2012 at 10:56 pm

My wife and I tested the Insight for power and feel.
    Check petrol jazz size and etc.

Booked it at noon. 3-3-2012. :)

Checked Prius c last week.
    Price out…..style also out.

• honda insight user here since July 2011 with full stage eco award completed, current mileage 15k, engine type SM OW-20(Fully-Synthetic)…recent trip from Kuala lumpur – Penang- Tronoh- KL , average speed 130km/h total trip 1200km total fuel spend RM120.00
    p/s tax exempted is only for import tax but u still need to pay for the sales tax, total tax exempted is nearly 70k!

• blife on Mar 04, 2012 at 3:35 am

honda insight user here since july 2011 , current mileage 15k, engine oil OW-20, recent trip cheras-penang-tronoh-cheras total mileage 1200km, average speed 130km, total fuel spend approx RM110.00, average fuel consumption in total 18-20km/l

p/s gov just exempted the import tax approx RM70k but not the sales tax approx RM10k

• hassel on Mar 05, 2012 at 4:10 pm

Just place a booking, hope the price will be 85k….otherwise ill go for prius C..wait n c this 20/21 March for their launching :)

• ron99 on Mar 10, 2012 at 7:31 am

Latest from my source. <90k price rejected by gov. So should be around 92k.

• samlyn on Mar 12, 2012 at 9:39 am

If confirmed RM 92k.

I will take back my deposeit.

Then add RM 5k.
      Prius C is the better choice…more fuel saving :)

Jazz at RM 92k…..Prices totally out :(

• hassel on Mar 12, 2012 at 9:21 pm

Yup agreed….even spacious and look more umphh then prius C, but with that price, no 7 airbags, no push start button n keyless entry, and just an integrated motor (instead of real hybrid like prius C), definately they will loose some of their customers…and ill be one of them…

• sequid on Mar 14, 2012 at 8:59 pm

waaaa….

the SA call me and he just conform the price already
    its RM 94,800 for OTR price…..

hmmm…,
    must think twice la to buy this car now….