Kia releases first pics of K9 flagship – Korea only for now

Kia today revealed the first official images of its new flagship sedan. To be called K9 in Korea, it will be launched there in the first half of 2012. The K9 is Kia’s first rear-wheel drive sedan. As its name denotes, the big sedan slots in above the K5 (Optima) and K7, or Cadenza in export markets.

“K9 is our first rear-wheel drive large sedan, created without compromise in its design, driving performance and new technologies. K9 sets a whole new level of standards and values in the large sedan segment, and its design will be another Kia demonstration of our brand’s power to surprise the world,” said Soon-Nam Lee, Director of Overseas Marketing Group.

The K9’s design concept is “high-tech luxury sedan” and Kia describes the front end as “imposing and characterful”. The BMW style front grille slats may be a touch heavy for some, but it does lend the car presence. The rear end reminds me of the Hyundai Grandeur. No word on what’s inside, but there’s a “3.8 GDI” badge at the back. The 2012 Hyundai Genesis is powered by a 3.8 GDI V6 with 333 hp and 395 Nm, 350 hp/400 Nm for the Genesis Coupe.

It’s interesting to note that while the popular models at the lower end of the scale such as the Forte and Optima K5 sport sharp styling, the large higher end models like the Cadenza and this K9 have round edges and smooth lines.

Danny Tan loves driving as much as he loves a certain herbal meat soup, and sweet engine music as much as drum beats. He has been in the auto industry since 2006, previously filling the pages of two motoring magazines before joining this website. Enjoys detailing the experience more than the technical details.

• wolfsburg on Feb 28, 2012 at 11:31 am

Based on the previous leaked photos, new Forte should be quite similar…

• Front bmw…rear lexus/new camry 2012…..haih….kia….

• Front copy the BMW 5 series GT and rear copy the Camry 2012 ! Kia and Potongs should be friends :)

• Kiasu No Kiasi on Feb 28, 2012 at 6:29 pm

Sharp vision, now i too notice rear of this K9 quite similar to upcomming 2012 Camry.

• Maserati on Feb 28, 2012 at 11:33 am

This is like a exact copy of bmw 5 series..

• ss427 on Feb 28, 2012 at 2:09 pm

Exact copy? Well can you please point out exactly which body panel and/or parts you see here that can be swopped with the new BMW F10?! :(

Potong P321 looks alot like the Forte,esp the front end… why didn’t you accused Potong for copying? Just becos its a Bolehland product ah? duh…:D :D

• khylie555 on Feb 28, 2012 at 5:44 pm

Potong P321 looks alot like the Forte?Well can you please point out exactly which body panel and/or parts you see here that can be swopped with the new Proton P321?why didn’t you accused KIA for copying BMW? Just becos its not a Bolehland product ah?

• HirumaKecil on Mar 02, 2012 at 12:50 pm

hahaha… Nice one… U r lagendary…. BTW, i like the K9 design… I dont care if people see it as copycat or what… I still like it…

• Power to Suprise... Cak!! on Feb 28, 2012 at 10:57 pm

it stated there… “Korea only for now”.. so, simpan je K9 ni kat Korea, xpayah nak jual kat tempat lain… kalau nak bawak jugak keluar korea, keep it original design, do not copy other design… aigoo, baru je nak bangga ngn kereta Korea, tp you guys makes me dissapointed lah..

• Lim Kopi on Feb 29, 2012 at 11:35 am

What the …..

Where the heck is Peter Schreyer? ?? Was he on leave when they did this??

• That’s really cool!

• The 5- Series’ Korean cousin brother…

• ron99 on Feb 28, 2012 at 11:43 am

I see 5-series! what a copy cat

• car lover on Feb 28, 2012 at 11:44 am

the front look like bmw f10

• Iylia H on Feb 28, 2012 at 11:54 am

not bad

• Krauzer on Feb 28, 2012 at 11:56 am

BMW copy,

• Cowboy on Feb 28, 2012 at 11:56 am

IT LOOKS SO EVIL, LIKE DARTH VADER…

• alfred weinberg on Feb 28, 2012 at 11:58 am

the moment i saw it ..reali make me think of BMW 7 series

• albag on Feb 28, 2012 at 11:59 am

do i see a BMW on the front or what?

• wow easily mistaken for a BMsW 7 series. personally it looks better than the BMW!

• ss427 on Feb 28, 2012 at 2:13 pm

That I agree. It does looks less ‘hefty’ than the 7 series…

I won’t be too worried about that toothy chrome grill. Korean market Hyundai/Kia tends to have slightly different trims as compared to official export market versions. Chances are the grill may be blackened out or something when the K9 is exported to other countries.

But…. I really do hope they can change the word K9 to something else…

K9=Canine= dog! LOL :D

It’s a dog car…oh no… LOL :D

• whocare on Feb 28, 2012 at 11:07 pm

me think too…it break BMW boring design…..something more prettier…peter schreyer really a Genius ….bty this is 2nd KIA design language which toward to perfect.

• Ferris on Feb 28, 2012 at 12:04 pm

Looks like 5 series mixed with Lexus

• DewaSemut on Feb 28, 2012 at 12:05 pm

Looks like BMW 7 series… very handsome car anyway… :)

• mfahd_88 on Feb 28, 2012 at 12:09 pm

south korea becoming more towards like china nowadays,
    keep on cut and paste (copy) other brands for their own product
    before this, samsung copying iphone for their galaxy model
    now,kia with bmw wannabe design
    what next?
    sigh

• Wisdom on Feb 28, 2012 at 4:31 pm

They have been doing that for years. Remember Jag Sonata?

• At least Koreans can cut and paste and do some slight design. Potong can’t even do that, only know how to rebadge.

• Wallstreet on Feb 28, 2012 at 12:09 pm

WTF!!That’s BMW 5!!

• pumpkin on Feb 28, 2012 at 12:09 pm

korean bmw.

• Poor man’s BMW…

• body mcm P3-21A edisi besar. bangga jugak. pepun rekaan KIA memang memukau

• Hyundai De La Junk on Feb 28, 2012 at 12:15 pm

Booooo… Boooooo…. Booooo…

100% BMW Ciplak

Now what say you David D (Your Comment Please ?)

• Redha on Feb 28, 2012 at 12:17 pm

Nice! Bmw 5-series klon..

• Redha on Feb 28, 2012 at 12:19 pm

Nice..look like bmw 5-series..

• loveit on Feb 28, 2012 at 12:20 pm

BMW 5 series wannabe …but looks good

• yeaahhhh on Feb 28, 2012 at 12:26 pm

wow.. BMW rebadged

• sekali mcm bmw 5 or 7 series daa

• kennytkl on Feb 28, 2012 at 12:30 pm

hmm…just me or wat…i do c some shadows of BMW F10 in the front view….

• seriously thought that this was a new bmw 5 series GT

• Pororo on Feb 28, 2012 at 12:32 pm

Awesome or i say in korean Daebak!! But the design is too BMW-ish lah… Aigoo…

• Ed the Yap on Feb 28, 2012 at 12:33 pm

WTF, copy BMW. Kia had a gd run lately with Rick Schreyer designs. They really do not need to be copycats…..

• Gajen on Feb 28, 2012 at 12:34 pm

wtf copy of 7 series

• is a BM 5 siri! goodness!

• Karl von Jitry on Feb 28, 2012 at 12:42 pm

Kia forgo VAG to Bimmer look. Very much a 5er and 6er design cues. BTW, Kia interior design need to be better.

Kudos Kia.

• Kia lost a lil of my respect with this car. It has BMW written all over it…

• akmal on Feb 28, 2012 at 12:55 pm

so bmw in every angle,to design car like this dont need high profile designer,china copy paste designer do it better.

• turbojin on Feb 28, 2012 at 12:56 pm

look like current BMW 7 series..

• Kia…the Asia’s answer to BMW…(not Protongkat sorry lah)….

• Kelvin on Feb 28, 2012 at 12:59 pm

F10 look alike?

• looks like a combination of BMW + Jaguar
    but still, KIA has gone a long way ahead of the contis and japs
    good on the koreans!

• aizat on Feb 28, 2012 at 1:08 pm

dafak!!! KIA oso copy others BMW n lexus..

• Confirm !! Kia is a junk that only know how to copy.

• buyunghensem on Feb 28, 2012 at 1:12 pm

It’s beautiful. Only if it uses horizontal grille rather than vertical, I guess it looks more distant than BMW. Design wise, it is far far much better than toyota vios (if you can forget about the category of those cars) ;)

• Design wise for Ferrari 599, it is far far much better than Hyundai I10 (if you can forget about the category of those car ) 

• john dawson on Feb 28, 2012 at 1:12 pm

K9 ? That’s a dog isn’t it ? Its a dog eat dog world after all.

• thebosssedangbercakap on Feb 28, 2012 at 1:16 pm

its ok, even though its a rip off 7 series I dont care, at least the koreans can buy cheap 5/7 bmw series look alike. unlike proton. BOO YAH.

• Vincent on Feb 28, 2012 at 1:17 pm

Look like BMW 7 series…

• wise Man on Feb 28, 2012 at 1:21 pm

If u say proton tuah copy forte…this kia 98% copy BMW…booooo kiaaaaaa!!!! Boooooooo

• whocare on Feb 28, 2012 at 11:11 pm

u say wrong ,if copy sure copy the best ma…….u stole one also theft, u stole ten also theft

• David D on Feb 28, 2012 at 1:25 pm

One word:- YUCK!! I mean, other cars in the Kia stable does look good, but this? It looks like someone just crashed a BMW 7-Series into a Maserati to make this car.

Conclusion:- Too early to say, as we’re currently judging the car by this exterior. But still, it’s a dissppointment, a big one thanks to its exterior.

• Wakakau_kenaga on Feb 28, 2012 at 1:28 pm

the koreans are moving ahead really fast. Shape wise it does looks a little bit like the Bimmer… but the grills headlamps and rear lamps are all Kia’s designs. thumbs up to them! K9 sounds canine tho. haha..

• Rear pls look at camry 2012 asia model….exactly same….need me spoonfeed you with the link?

• Come on KIA should stop doing this copying BMW stuff, KIA ia already among top 10 car manufacturer, not those unknown China Car Mfg, this will spoild KIA if there is any left.

I meant imagine you are driving a car that look like BMW is like wearing a cheap watch that look like a Rolex or carring a cheap bag that look like LV.

This suppose to be KIA Flagship. Please stop this, it bring shame to the whole nation, not forgetting tons of law suit, unless that what KIA intend to do for the sake of advertisement.

• Merc=Real Euro on Feb 28, 2012 at 1:29 pm

I wonder if it will be more reliable than a BMW?. If quarter of the price then why not….ha ha ha ..

• Kia-su on Feb 28, 2012 at 1:33 pm

Pretty nice sure cheaper than the Bimmer ! haha…i dont mind bimmer look alike at least not the china 100% look alike !

• shawal on Feb 28, 2012 at 1:38 pm

front looks like 5-series GT, back looks like lexus LH ….kia, wheres d creativity ??

• K9? A car for dog?

• now people always say m’sian car designers are copycats… so what about this?

• Annihilated on Feb 28, 2012 at 1:48 pm

anjing?

• Stoner on Feb 28, 2012 at 1:52 pm

proton, please copy this

• xperia on Feb 28, 2012 at 2:01 pm

suddenly kia design went backwards…

• ss427 on Feb 28, 2012 at 2:04 pm

I do agree that it looks quite abit like a BMW F10… but can anyone tell me if ANY of the sheetmetal on the K9 an EXACT duplicate of the F10 so much so that the parts are interchangable?! :(

If not, please do not accuse the K9 as a BMW copy… Kia is not those crap chinese pirated car companies. In China, its perfectly OK to create exact duplicates of well established models and the chinese gov will make sure all lawsuits from the originator will fall to nonetheless. And it doesnt matter what kind of materials is being used… so long the shape is the exact duplicates..

Hyundai/Kia are reputable companies and there’s no reasons why they’d get themselves into heaps of lawsuits just because they wanna cop.

Seriously, if its a copy of the F10, then BMW legal dept should have come out with their guns blazing at this point…long before the actual sale date. But the fact that they didn’t speak volumes for themselves.

Hey the drivetrain is shared with the Hyundai Genesis sedan… What copying are you talking about here?? And did Hyundai/Kia copied BMW engines and gearboxes?

In anycase, I fully agree with some brothers here that Kia SHOULD be Asian’s BMW… not Potong…LOL :D

Until Potong can offer something like this, they’ll be laughing stocks to everyone everytime they claimed they’re world class this, the best in that blah blah blah… :D

How about a new Perdana that can match (or even topple) the Sonata/Optima? Well prob we will need another 30 yrs of protectionism from your gov to see that happen… And Potong needs to pray hard that your competitors will not progress for the next 25-30 yrs…LOL :D

• David D on Feb 28, 2012 at 2:48 pm

Well said. Yeap, i would still stick to my guns that this K9 is kinda too BMW-ish, but well, i think i’m really nitpicking here. 7-Series size, 5-Series power for a price in between the 3 and 5 Series? Hmm, i think people wouldn’t mind if they can get past the badge and look beyond it.

It won’t be for everyone, especially Korean haters and brand snobs. And that’s a fact one will never deny, given the current situation.

• Dont think those china brand car’s panel can be exchange with the ori copy…. Get a life la….need to be exact shape and measurement and color and feel and performance only consider copying right?
      You sounded so seriously sick with all your comments..you dont need to always bash other brand and prsuse every did of korean brand….
      This is ooen forum bro…you really have shallow mind….every negative boit korean car you’ll scold ppl…and when ppl praising japanese brand and even proton you get angry again…..

• ss427 on Feb 28, 2012 at 4:58 pm

Sorry me driving a current model FD1 too and I’m very pleased with it :)

No doubt in terms of design, packaging and features, the Forte and Elantra has beaten my FD1 to it. But it can still hold its own in engine tech and drivetrain despite sporting only a 5AT and a SOHC R18A.

I’m not anti Japs but there’s no denying that the Japs are either resting on their laurels and hope they can sell by the badges alone, or they’ve put cost cutting as top priority over everything else… so much so that they seems to forget how to design a great car.

I suppose they could still afford to do that back in the late 90s to the early 2000s (they could offer crap cars eg Gen8 Corolla and EK Civics), because Koreans weren’t up to the mark yet and the Americans were still trying to build a creditable econobox… and Euro cars ain’t that reliable and were expensive compartively…

But its 2012 bro, the Japs could ill afford to repeat their cost cutting nonsense these days for the competition are all ready to pounce onto them and win big time.

• David D on Feb 28, 2012 at 5:53 pm

I’m not being angry here for heaven’s sake. It’s just some people here really can get sick, especially people who bash for nothing. And when one comes to correct them, they get all enraged in a flurry of retaliation as if their comments are correct from day one, while it says otherwise.

Truth be told, if the cars sold here are of European or American specs, i’d be delighted. Sadly, some makes here really are of the case. For example, the Sonata, Tucson and Santa Fe come only with 2 airbags, opposed to what Kia does. I mean, come on!! Cant they offer the same number of airbags as Kia does? I mean, it isnt that hard right?

The time where the big Jap makes like Toyota, Honda and Nissan rule are not the case in most countries, bar ASEAN countries here, where Toyota rules the roost. Sure, they may be reliable, but here, they’re madly expensive for what you get. I mean, the upcoming Camry 2.0 for 2012 gets a 4-speeder, as opposed to the 6-speed for the new 2.5. Is that a joke? Yeap, really. But it being a Toyota, the people that would line up for this feast of banality would stretch all the way until who knows!

• Err…who said a thing that you are angry David D?

• Hyundai De La Junk on Feb 28, 2012 at 6:50 pm

Do you remember that you had said why every time Korean been bring into other car article for the sake of bashing.

Now can you tell me why on earth Camry been bring into this, infact K9 & Camry are not even under same segment, unless you are talking about the Toyota Avalon (then i shall as you to see how similar the real design of K9 with Avalon especially the rear view, can you denial that K9 rear design is not “inspire” by Avalon ? go & check out on US toyota website incase you can’t find Avalon image).

Ya ! you come to correct them, by who’s standard ? you own ? by using your constuction site standard language ? please don’t divert from this K9 into other issue, I am sure there will be a 2.5 version Camry as well, if you insist US KIA Sportage & Optima c/w 2.4 & 2.0T engine not that lousy underpower 2.0 engine we have here (how that ?)

Now you see more & more people tembak you in this blog, why ? think about it !

• David D on Feb 28, 2012 at 8:59 pm

For this case, it was a mistaken identity in replying, Hyundai De La Junk. And your claims of people tembaking me? Haha!! As far as i can see, you’re getting the bigger bullet for a bite, plainly by looking at your comments, which is nothing more of a witch hunt . And that attempt to dare me to comment on this car? Now, we’ve already seen who’s the bigger kid here. You. Calling and taunting people when one tries to reason with a reasonable stand. Enough stalking of people like us, daring us to reply to your bullcrap?

• Hyundai De La Junk on Feb 29, 2012 at 1:56 pm

It doesn’t matter what bait we use as long as we got the fish, it doesn’t matter what trap i use as long as the rat like you come out get caught.

Avoiding & diverting issue when Korean come out with copy cat car like this i see, enough said ! you have just reveal your true color !

Hypocrite Charlatan !

• ss427 on Feb 28, 2012 at 6:52 pm

well bro, the new Camry 2L is specially build for tax crazy countries like yours and mine where ancient stupid rules where engine capacities denotes how lux or how big the car should be.

Actually starting from the current gen, the 2L Camry was already a total goner and Toyota just build it so that more people can buy the cars and still be able to evade hefty taxes.

That doesn’t mean the Camry was designed with such tiny engines in mind.

The 2.5L is the one designed for the new Camry.
          BTW the new Camry is here in SG… do come by and check it out if you like…

The Asian/Russian market front end looks very boring and alot like the Renault Latitude… (aka Samsung SM5)

Made in Thailand as usual

• Masked Ryder on Feb 28, 2012 at 2:18 pm

Bimbibab Motor Work :-)

I’ll spare the insult zzz……

• arapaima9 on Feb 28, 2012 at 2:35 pm

Wat the H**l, BMW 5 series wanna be…this is exactly like the 5 series…
    still people are praising it….??????
    If proton did the same design sure kena kutuk KAW KAW…..but when KIA is doing it puji…
    Haish…….

• ss427 on Feb 28, 2012 at 3:31 pm

The big difference between this K9 and Potong is that after you’ve looked past the exterior and marvel at the interior, you have renowned Hyundai Genesis chassis and Hyundai’s excellent 3.8L V6 and 4.6L V8 GDIs and 8 speed AT to power this car with fineese and authority…

There’s no need to copy BMW on that. :) And I’d say you can get 99% F10 driving, ride comfort for a fraction of the cost only.

• You sure k9 has the same ride,driving and comfort of the f10?walau the car havent even launch yet and you can know how great it drives…..salute you…..
        Kia president spotted commenting in paultan!wow!

• ss427 on Feb 28, 2012 at 5:21 pm

Sigh…. the K9 is based on the Genesis sedan…

If the Genesis is doing that great in North America, the K9 should perform and ride similarly…

http://youtu.be/OPRf0Nu1MVU
          http://youtu.be/RDV6JeLNdes

And if you still think there’s not enuf power in the Genesis, there is always the the R Spec
          http://youtu.be/CxDp1_22MBY :)

Just becos the Genesis is not sold in this part of the world doesn’t mean its not there nor Hyundai can’t build a great lux car ya… duh! :(

• Again…i dont see anything in the videos or anything you say being having the same ride,driving and comfort of f10….
            Act smart…
            Yo toyota camry is doing great in many part of the world…..so is a camry so damn great in ‘ride,driving and comfort of f10′?
            Myvi is doing great in malaysia…so i bet myvi being the best car in malaysia and in the same time having the’ride,driving and comfort of f10’?
            Aih…..and no1 asking what car you driving dude…why you wanna tell ppl that you can only afford the lower spec civic instead of the full spec civic?you’re same as those who bought forte1.6,viosJ……

• this looks so much like the F10 BMW 5 series

• loveit on Feb 28, 2012 at 2:36 pm

if swap with the kidney front grill (trademark) people gonna taught its a BMW seriously… bet if come to malaysia people will buy n do that for first mod..

• typistavenger on Feb 28, 2012 at 2:53 pm

Kia has been producing really nice designs until this…

Looks too much like a beemer.

• mofidz9 on Feb 28, 2012 at 3:47 pm

next kia’s car the grille will be completely mitosis-ing to kidney grille wakakaka

• gohck on Feb 28, 2012 at 3:49 pm

My thought is that this K9 is much better than BMW F10 at least externally for now!!

• Cheah Tat Cheong on Feb 28, 2012 at 3:51 pm

To those who think this is an original design and not a BMW copy, please get your eyes checked. Ironically, Proton also used to claim they are Asia’s BMW and look where they are. Frankly, the F10 doesn’t even look as good as the E60, so not sure why Kia felt they needed to copy.

• fadhli on Feb 28, 2012 at 4:40 pm

all i can say is its soo BMW…

• i think it looks Exactly like a BMW 5-Series GT.

• Paul Tan on Feb 28, 2012 at 5:14 pm

Yeah, its like a 5 GT Sedan.

• ss427 on Feb 28, 2012 at 6:36 pm

Sigh…. please go and see a doctor!this is definitely better than the BMW.blind!

• ron99 on Feb 28, 2012 at 11:22 pm

Hey dude! Kia obviously is a copy cat!! Look at the majority comments here!!
          Don’t think everyone need to see doctor

• Kiddo on Feb 29, 2012 at 7:57 am

perhaps you are the one who should go get your eyes checked.

SIGH!

• Hyundai De La Junk on Feb 28, 2012 at 6:50 pm

Front only, back Toyota Avalon

• The Enthusiast on Feb 28, 2012 at 4:51 pm

Wow! A quick glance and one would think this is a BMW, apart from the headlamps and the rear diffuser. But this is not necessary a bad thing. I just hope the performance is as good as the looks.

• JeremyNg on Feb 28, 2012 at 4:57 pm

Holy shit !!! It’s not a Kia it’s a rebadge kia …………… it’s BMW leh !!! are Kia and BMW shared same designer ??

• AlexLkKia on Feb 28, 2012 at 5:23 pm

Good looking car, now ditch that idiot Geely grill and you get a great car

• kusochon on Feb 28, 2012 at 5:31 pm

lol another copying job from korean

• ben wong on Feb 28, 2012 at 5:32 pm

looks like they took a bmw gt and the lexus gs, do a little bit of enhancement and voila, out comes the bemus….codename K9…

• Are you ‘BMW-enough’?

• hanifhamzah on Feb 28, 2012 at 6:22 pm

the front grill is hideous

• Kiasu No Kiasi on Feb 28, 2012 at 7:13 pm

Don’t Worry KIA will have perfect alibi on this “Hyundai Hire Ex BMW Designer Christopher Chapman during December 2011” so it a “Coincidently” that the design look “a tiny bit of similarity to BMW ” remember same case by hiring Peter Schyerer their car too come a hint of VW, Audi latest design ?

Now Proton do know what to do next, don’t waste your time designing your own car just see what ever brand you like to copy, hire their retiring designer then your got your license to COPY kaw kaw. :-)

• Ahmad on Feb 28, 2012 at 7:14 pm

Just assume that this model is “BWM1:1 copy BMW” heheh….;)

• chikubi on Feb 28, 2012 at 7:16 pm

Lucky they copy bmw….if they copy perdana!??

• Kiasu No Kiasi on Feb 28, 2012 at 7:29 pm

Got this officially from KIA chief designer.

As for the styling, the Kia K9 was inspired by the Maserati Quattroporte, according to company chief design officer Peter Schreyer. At the front you can see some resemblance, particularly around the pronounced centre fascia and grille area.

Maserati are reading this ?

• tok-kok on Feb 28, 2012 at 7:41 pm

Wah Lau eh!!!!!

Kia has been BMWnized oredi !!!!!

• maddroid on Feb 28, 2012 at 7:43 pm

Proton? Where are you? Still mad at BNM while your childhood players has done more important things by achieving more?

Kia has gone far, far from your reach.

• beauty on Feb 28, 2012 at 8:34 pm

whatever hates or comments being thrown to this car, I still think this one is a beauty. Copy or not, that’s how Japanese started their products before creating their own Global image. Cheers!!!

• anwar ibrahim on Feb 28, 2012 at 9:00 pm

when kia copycat bmw… most malaysian say good la, hansome la, nice la n what la.. when proton copycat lancer most malaysian say what a stupid act, not mutured, and all bad words come out.. what a typical malaysia with 3rd world brain.. u should proud n support local product… it may not perfect, but it made in ur own country… think la wei

• A rebadged and a copy is different. U are the typical Malaysian, think before u talk.

• Sedan Suck on Feb 28, 2012 at 9:32 pm

Good copycat. Let see many unit will be on M’sia road.

• cutester on Feb 28, 2012 at 10:04 pm

Put your finger at the middle of the grille on that picture…. you now see a BMW…

• ahmadfaris93 on Feb 28, 2012 at 10:28 pm

Copy BMW/Lexus ? At least can go further and make more sales. Proton ? Not sure.

• Dr Mamak on Feb 28, 2012 at 10:32 pm

K9 is a copy dog.

• beauty on Feb 28, 2012 at 10:53 pm

Now everyone can own a BMW, oops… a copycat BMW.

• RedBeanBun on Feb 28, 2012 at 11:02 pm

RM170K and bye bye Camry…

• Rulered on Feb 28, 2012 at 11:28 pm

More than 110 comments for a car only meant for Korean domestic market? Gotta be kidding me!

• Rulered on Feb 28, 2012 at 11:31 pm

Guys, this car can look like Jeremy Clarkson’s face with Simon Cowell rear end for it doesn’t matter because it’s only for Koreans only, not for the rest of the world to see.

• VOLVO FOR LIFE on Feb 28, 2012 at 11:55 pm

kia, seriously? just when everything you make looks like something one would throw money at..u have to come out with this disaster

• Leseid Obrut on Feb 28, 2012 at 11:57 pm

sure…it heavily borrows design cues from beemer and lexus…but who gives a crap? it works! can’t wait to see it in person! =D

• sportback on Feb 29, 2012 at 12:56 am

Latest news……kia jv with toyota (only in korea).

• Better copy anything good from established marque, especially the dynamic BMW or Audi. No point to have a very Proton Proton if potential buyers do not appreciate it eg Proton P3-21A has Gen2/Persona grille despite pretty good Concept of Tuah.

Kia’s tiger nose grille now turn from Maserati to BMW.

• BeemerFreak on Feb 29, 2012 at 9:17 am

Another Merc/BMW wanna be. For once i am proud of proton.

• amonrei on Feb 29, 2012 at 10:21 am

I swear i was looking at BMW 6 Gran Coupe pic until i saw the title. o_O

• How do you say BMW 5 series or 5 series GT in Korean? Probably sounds like KIA!!!

• ProudMalaysian on Feb 29, 2012 at 12:12 pm

lol.. no more honeycomb grill? first glance you see the 5 series. even the rims also wanna copy?!
    put 2 pictures together. same angle. this one and a 5 series. u will see 90% resemblance.. from the shape of the front to the aerodynamic arch of the car… haha….

• eggman01 on Feb 29, 2012 at 4:09 pm

Replacement for the Opirus..

Looks much better than the Hyundai Genesis Sedan.

• asi na matan kelok on Mar 01, 2012 at 2:21 am

well..truth be told i love it..
    so is K5, forte and such..
    last time i saw a brand new K5 driven by a Brunei on Miri’s road..
    and i was like..how i wish i could drive or afford one..
    it was so beautiful from the rear..

and in my heart..well what to do..im a poor Malaysian..i just drove my Myvi with a jealous heart knowing that i will never be able to afford one in my life as long as im a middle-class Malaysian..while on the other hand our Beloved Tun M son is driving a Bugatti in KL..

• sick of that front grille…it getting ugly.

• The profile looks similar to a BMW?