Chevrolet Cruze station wagon pops out before Geneva

The Chevrolet Cruze range will welcome a new member come Geneva, and it’s this station wagon that will join the hatchback and sedan. The Cruze has been a global success for GM, with the range selling in excess of one million units since launch in 2009, and with this wagon, Chevy will be eyeing a bigger piece of Europe.

Engine wise, in addition to the current 1.6L and 1.8L petrols, a new 1.4L turbo petrol, a new 1.7L diesel and an improved 2.0L diesel engine have been added. The latter three come with start-stop tech as standard. All engines are Euro 5 compliant.

The Cruze station wagon, at 4,675 mm, is slightly longer than the sedan (4,597 mm). Load space ranges from 500 litres up to the window line in the rear to nearly 1,500 litres up to the roof with the rear seats folded down. Roof racks are standard.

The whole Cruze family gets some small changes for 2012. These include a remodeled front fascia, modified head-lamp interiors and fog lamps, and new wheel styles. Inside, Chevy says there are refinements to the center console and a greater choice of seat finishes. New Cruzes are equipped with keyless entry and start as well.

Also, a brand-new Chevrolet infotainment system called MyLink will be introduced in higher trim levels later this year. MyLink brings owners’ smartphone capabilities into the vehicle.

Danny Tan loves driving as much as he loves a certain herbal meat soup, and sweet engine music as much as drum beats. He has been in the auto industry since 2006, previously filling the pages of two motoring magazines before joining this website. Enjoys detailing the experience more than the technical details.

• ss427 on Feb 29, 2012 at 10:45 am

Hmm… this is one seriously nice station wagon. Although its not as curvy as the i30 wagon, the Cruze body style has always been the straight, serious, no nonsense kind of look that will wear well with age. With the intro of the wagon, buyers will have more Cruze choices :)

Ok you Korean car haters, how do you like the Cruze? :) It’s designed for the American market although its is sold in Europe as well. The wagon version was designed in Europe… :)

But the Cruze can still be considered a Korean product for in this part of the world, the Cruze is built by GM Daewoo in Korea…ohhh… so its a Korean car again… LOL :

Someone mentioned Proton should build a Saga station wagon… well…. see if Proton can offer anything similar to this 1st before anything else la… haha :)

• shawal on Feb 29, 2012 at 10:54 am

i loike wagons, its very practical, naza shud bring it over, my only qualm witurrent cruze is d all grey steering wheel

• dreaming of maserati on Feb 29, 2012 at 11:23 am

Still no match for my Vios TRD S-spec !

• ss427 on Feb 29, 2012 at 11:38 am

Ohh…. our Maserati bro is here LOL :)

TRD S spec… is just a heap of bodykits, wheels and spoilers to make your Vios heavier, increase wind resistance, dampen performance and lose fuel economy…

No wonder the Cruze can’t compare it to yours :)

• hoho… “0” like”

• akmal on Feb 29, 2012 at 11:27 am

beautiful and handsome,both word define this stationwagon,i want one, :)

• drMpower on Feb 29, 2012 at 11:39 am

wagon sells there. why no here?
    well apart from the caldina. but even caldina owners dont submit to the fact caldina is a wagon.
    i guess its poor fantasies that they often mistook a wagon for a … ish. no word for it.

it is a wagon. fullstop.

is wagon coming back? i mean yes they never be away but with this spectacular designs even i want one.
    and i havent got kids. or wife. but i do got tons of friends.

maybe that long body is perfect for a weed smoking near tasik banding.

• noNICKname on Feb 29, 2012 at 1:15 pm

I didnt agreed with ur statement. Caldina is not a wagon but i dont know what species is that. Wagon should hv a sedan version. Just like this model, it hv sedan version.

• It’s the corolla for the sedan you smart..

• NONICKNAME on Feb 29, 2012 at 9:49 pm

You should check the fact 1st, Caldina n Corolla is the different species. Do u think u smart?

• NONICKNAME on Feb 29, 2012 at 11:23 pm

If u said Corona, yes. But for the 1st generation only. Now, dont waste ur Streamyx for porn, u should use it to find fact!!

• 4G63T DSM on Feb 29, 2012 at 6:12 pm

They never went away. they just changed name to MPV.

Citra, Wish, Alza….list goes on. Basically are sedan/hatchback chassied cars with a bigger body and 2 extra seats. Lets not forget some wagons of yore had 7 seats too.

Basically the Grand Livina is the Wagon version of the shorter X-gear “hatchback”.

I have a Citra with the 2 useless rear seats removed and a privacy cover installed. this is as wagon’ish as it gets.

• drMpower on Feb 29, 2012 at 9:42 pm

jezz. grand livina is wagon version of the short xxx rated thing?

heh? this is worlds first i guess. so how nissan end up classing it as mpv then?

and a wagon must have a sedan to be qualified as a wagon in the first place.

and what citra’s version of the sedan?
        wish? corolla?

nevermind, i’d like to smoke em up with my pals nikotine

• clutch_plate on Feb 29, 2012 at 11:48 am

Hey.. its look nice rite.. wonder how many power will squeeze from their 1.4 liter turbocharged engine version. Can’t wait to see NAZA bring it here & read a test drive review from paultan.org.

p.s: Kalau kita tengok sana sini skrg ni org Malaysia kebanyakkannya suka dengan MPV.. ada tak kemungkinan lepas ni ada kegilaan kepada wagon style car? Maybe… hehe.. :)

• noNICKname on Feb 29, 2012 at 1:17 pm

I always prefer wagon over sedan. More practicle. And, my 1st car is wagon, my next car should be wagon also.

• ss427 on Feb 29, 2012 at 2:50 pm

Sorry ah abang, saya Singaporean, saya tak mau malayu… LOL :D

To answer your question if the 1.4L turbo engine is enuf for the cruze, please see its power o/p here.

The 1.4L Turbo is already being offered in reg Cruze sedan in the US. And its the top of the line model. Their base model is the 1.8L Ecotec that you have in Malaysia.

http://www.chevrolet.com/cruze-compact-car/

• agreed, try driving the soo called small cc 1.4 golf tsi….or even the 1.2 tsi polo, and tell us if its underpowered….hehehehe

• jonny blaze on Feb 29, 2012 at 12:00 pm

Will we get the 2L VCDi diesel engine?

• Saab 93 - Hirsch Tuned on Feb 29, 2012 at 3:59 pm

not sure will get in bolehland….but tom-yumland most likely will get

cruze in sedan body is available in 2.0 turbo diesel in to-yumland

remove d DPF, live wth a bit of blacky smoke, turbo diesel will make u feel very fun

• jonny blaze on Feb 29, 2012 at 9:09 pm

The sedan weigh 1.3 ton and the wagon should weigh a little more. The anaemic 1.8 will have a hard time pulling this car. With 300+ Nm and 6-AT, the particulate filter can be left in situ.

• Front bodykit look alike mazda 6 FL…

• wagon is always my favourite.. however not much left in malaysia with affordable price.. such volvo wagon (i.e V50),

the cheap one do not look so good hehe such KIA and Chevelorret Estate..

looking at current cruze price tag.. i think wagon price is affordable ehehe

• Hope hyundai bring in the i40 & new i30 estate…looks nice especially wt the frugal but torquey 1.7crdi

• optra estate on Feb 29, 2012 at 1:59 pm

are they going to bring it to malaysia?pls do so as i’m planning to change it with my current optra estate. Please..

• DewaSemut on Feb 29, 2012 at 4:12 pm

Hopefully with the new line ups of wagon to Malaysia, it will bring back the Nissan AD resort era which was made popular those days…

even today there is owners’ club for AD Resort, all modded with “California” name.. :P