Ferrari F12berlinetta – Maranello’s fastest ever road-car

Ferrari has unveiled its F12berlinetta online, ahead of the car’s official unveiling at the Geneva show next week. The new V12, which will debut a new Rosso Berlinetta three-layer shade, is heralded as the most powerful and high-performance Ferrari road car, ever.

Designed by the Ferrari Styling Centre and Pininfarina, the coupe is powered by a 6.2 litre 65° V12 mill offering 740 cheval vapeur (CV), which translates to 730 hp, and a peak torque of 690 Nm at 8,700 rpm, 80% of which is available at just 2,500 rpm. The engine is mated to the F1 dual-clutch transmission, which has closer gear ratios developed specifically for the F12berlinetta.

Performance figures are a 0-100 km/h time of 3.1 seconds, and the car manages to get to 200 km/h from standstill in 8.5 seconds. It also completes a lap of the Fiorano circuit in one minute 23 seconds, faster than any other Ferrari road car. Dynamic highlights include smaller steering wheel angles, a shorter stopping distance, increased cornering speed and immediate turn-in characteristics.

Layout-wise, the traditional Ferrari transaxle layout has been reworked – the wheelbase has been shortened and the engine, dashboard and seats have been lowered in the chassis, while the new layout of the rear suspension and gearbox have enabled Ferrari’s engineers to make the rear volume of the car smaller.

The overall result is a very compact car with a lower centre of gravity that is further back in the chassis, and a level of aerodynamic efficiency that sets new standards, the company says.

The car features an all-new Scaglietti-designed spaceframe chassis and bodyshell, which utilises 12 different kinds of alloys, some of which are being used here for the first time in the automotive sector, with new assembly and joining techniques at work. There’s a 20% increase in structural rigidity while bringing the weight down – the car weighs in at 1,525 kg, 70 kg less than the previous V12 coupé.

There has been significant attention to aerodynamic development with this one – downforce has been boosted by 76% (123 kg at 200 km/h), while drag has been significantly reduced, and the car features a Cd of 0.299.

Aerodynamic-related innovations include an Aero Bridge which uses the bonnet to generate downforce by channelling air away from the upper part of the car to its flanks – where it interacts with the wake from the wheel wells to decrease drag – and an Active Brake Cooling system that opens guide vanes to the brake cooling ducts only at high operating temperatures, to reduce drag.

Inside, the car wears an all-new Frau leather interior, and highlights include new carbon fibre and aluminium air vents inspired by the aeronautic field. The company adds that the cabin has been optimised to ensure maximum usability of the interior space with additional luggage capacity behind the seats.

As for standard kit, the F12berlinetta has the latest generation carbon-ceramic brakes (CCM3) and a SCM-E magnetorheological suspension control system, as well as the now usual integrated control system that groups E-Diff, ESP Premium, F1-Trac and high-performance ABS together.

Anthony Lim believes that nothing is better than a good smoke and a car with character, with good handling aspects being top of the prize heap. Having spent more than a decade and a half with an English tabloid daily never being able to grasp the meaning of brevity or being succinct, he wags his tail furiously at the idea of waffling - in greater detail - about cars and all their intrinsic peculiarities here.

• shawal on Mar 01, 2012 at 2:43 pm

Brutal…thats all i could think off , shape is reminiscences of the daytona

• Front looks very similar to Mazda 3…

• Front looks like frog !

• FUckrari on Mar 01, 2012 at 6:40 pm

no hybrid engine? not green like tat…

• armandd on Mar 01, 2012 at 10:35 pm

Hybrids are for slow drivers, auntie, uncle, tree huggers, trend followers, and to get from point A to point B using the least amount of ‘dinosour juice’ . This is for high achievers and people who know how to enjoy the pleasure of driving.

• FUckrari on Mar 01, 2012 at 11:37 pm

Hybrids are for slow drivers? I guess u missed the 2010 news on Ferrari Hy-Kers..http://www.wired.com/autopia/2010/03/ferrari-hy-kers/

Ferrari says the Hy-Kers will do zero to 60 in 3.5 seconds and hit 125 mph in 10.5.

So this hybrid ain’t for high achievers based on ur dumb-ass comment above? go suck ur own dinosour or dino-sour juice okay!

• Ferrari or any super car put in to increase hp and that’s what they say not me…I couldn’t agree more as driving a supercar and you want to talk about green?

• armandd on Mar 05, 2012 at 12:22 am

That’s just marketing gimmick by Ferrari for uneducated people like you. Go ask any Ferrari owner to change their cars to hybrids and they’ll laughing their ass off. Why don’t you just ride a bicycle, they produce less pollutant than hybrid cars you know? LOL…

• If hybrids are for slow drivers, then does this mean that you are calling Porsche Cayenne Hybrid, Porsche Panamera S Hybrid and Fisker Karma slow cars?

• armandd on Mar 05, 2012 at 12:14 am

Porsche build these hybrids only for their executive sedans and SUV, because there’s big market for them. That’s why there’s no hybrid in their more sporty lineup like 911 or Cayman models. Fisker Karma is not that fast. They are not very succesful either.

• i have to work harder to get this one

• Gavin on Mar 01, 2012 at 2:43 pm

Toybaru 86 backside

• clutch basah on Mar 01, 2012 at 2:51 pm

Wow, quite a credential for 599 replacement. The butt sure looks like it want to go fast.

• confused on Mar 01, 2012 at 2:56 pm

I prefer FF’s devil front fascia more..

But it’ll grow on me. Coz it’s a Ferrari.

Bravissimo!

• Johnny on Mar 01, 2012 at 2:57 pm

front or mid engined?

• sembang-automobil on Mar 01, 2012 at 3:07 pm

the styling look a bit clam.. should have an upgrade super duper sport version.. wanna.. go faster!!!!!!

• Quantum Leap on Mar 01, 2012 at 3:08 pm

Mazda 3 Smiley Face ! Toyota GT86 Backside ! OMG Ferrari copying Japanese Car ?

• PakAbu on Mar 01, 2012 at 4:00 pm

:mrgreen: :mrgreen: :mrgreen:

• SAGA BeLum Masak on Mar 02, 2012 at 10:39 am

No lah… Its the return of Datsun Fairlady 260Z… Tih… Tih… Tih…

http://forums.nicoclub.com/fs-1977-datsun-fairlady-z-2-2-jdm-400-texas-t545080.html

The makeover….

• paohyean on Mar 01, 2012 at 3:21 pm

This car looks like a mash up of the few recent units of Ferrari..
    The front looks like the Ferrari FF..
    The side profile looks like a blend of the 599 and the FF..
    The rear looks like a mixture of the 599 and the Italia..

And the steering wheel..
    Can’t you please give us a proper steering wheel..
    I may not be able to afford this car..
    But those who can afford it I don’t think they are Formula 1 drivers..

• moron..if ferrari offer other type of steering u will said,ferrari have no idea,just give a normal steering for their car..but if they used this kind of steering,u keep barking to get a proper steering..what the hell with ur mind??i bet u just a typical minded person..moron

• Damn! prefer this than R35 coz its NA, the power comes from the nuts n guts of the engine itself only…juz my opinion la..

• carazy on Mar 01, 2012 at 4:06 pm

i love the power, but not the looks of this car, 458 are more pleasant to look at..for me..

• exist_ting on Mar 01, 2012 at 4:36 pm

typical malaysian…every car look the same…pity

• ropapa on Mar 01, 2012 at 4:46 pm

ramainye expert ferrari kt cni? pki viva pon utang 9thn nk komen psl ferrari..sadis

• albag on Mar 01, 2012 at 4:47 pm

i like it… seems like the new corporate face fits well in all Ferrari cars…LOL!

• I am waiting for people to say they copied Potong…..

• blackrythms on Mar 01, 2012 at 10:37 pm

dude…mana ada macam mazda 3…but the is similar like LFA..but better exhaust

• johncooper on Mar 02, 2012 at 9:29 am

700hp++? seems they are racing to put more hp cars. they just beaten aventador figures.

• Typical Ferrari… Rear lights are still round in shape. Anyway, it looks good. Kinda look like a combination of 458 Italia, FF and 599 GTB… Thumbs up to Ferrari for coming up with another splendid supercar design.

• Annaeh on Mar 03, 2012 at 11:44 pm

FC how many km per litre of petrol ah?

• Aventador looks better, but Lamborghini is a showoff car, this is the real driver’s car!!!