Mitsubishi Triton VGT is here – 178 PS, 350 Nm, RM106k

The Triton VGT has appeared on Mitsubishi Motors Malaysia’s website, with specs and price. This “Hardcore” Triton comes after the Pajero Sport SUV got the VGT treatment last September. VGT stands for Variable Geometry Turbo, which is more efficient than the fixed geometry type.

The VGT diesel engine is essentially the same 2.5 litre DOHC 16-valve direct injection unit we’re familiar with, but fortified with VGT and new engine management. From 136 PS and 314 Nm, the figures now read 178 PS at 4,000 rpm and 350 Nm of torque from 1,800 to 3,500 rpm.

Apart from the 42 PS and 36 Nm advantage, max torque is now available across a broad range (MMM calls it flat torque), as opposed to the fixed 2,000 rpm point of old. Drivability should be much improved as a result.

With 178 PS, MMM is claiming the “most powerful in its class” title from the 174 PS Nissan Navara. In fact, the Triton VGT’s figures shadow the discontinued Triton 3.2’s 160 PS/343 Nm, making the bigger capacity truck redundant.

It’s not just the engine that’s new, but its drivetrain partner as well. Out goes the four-speed auto and in comes a five-speed automatic gearbox with Sports Mode. The option to select gears manually is unique in the segment, for now. No stick shift VGT available here.

Looks-wise, the Triton VGT gets a front bumper extender, matte black roll bar and 17-inch alloy wheels. Inside, you’ll find a Bluetooth and iPod compatible Kenwood head unit and auto climate control. Front corner sensors with display visual join the rear ones to aid parking.

Dual airbags, ABS/EBD and the multi info RV meter (range, average speed, fuel consumption, digital compass, barometer, altimeter and outside temperature) are standard. Click on the pic below to enlarge the equipment list.

Available in three colours – White Solid, Black Mica and Cool Silver Metallic – the imported-from-Thailand Triton VGT is priced at RM105,997 on-the-road, inclusive of insurance. By the way, the Triton VGT is not a replacement for the non-VGT Triton – both will be sold by MMM alongside the Triton Lite.

A test drive report will be coming soon, stay tuned!

Danny Tan loves driving as much as he loves a certain herbal meat soup, and sweet engine music as much as drum beats. He has been in the auto industry since 2006, previously filling the pages of two motoring magazines before joining this website. Enjoys detailing the experience more than the technical details.

• thunder cats on Mar 02, 2012 at 2:47 am

so paddle shift is only for pajero sport then

• i find it funny that everytime a new truck comes out or enters our shore, it always comes with the baggage to dethrone Navara…from triten vgt to wildtrak, all want to outclass the almost 10 years old model from nissan.

• Hadi75 on Mar 03, 2012 at 7:52 pm

Cause right now navara is THE MOST POWERFUL AND BIG TRUCK right now with 174ps and 403nm of torque although the latest spec navara in Aussie got 190ps and 450nm….

• mmealin on Mar 02, 2012 at 3:28 am

a bit pricy…but damn good…why MMM didn’t bring the manual VGT? the price must be below 100k…but just like danny say “The option to select gears manually…” this could be the answers…

• Good Tech.i want one, But does the engine compatible with our Local Euro 2 diesel fuel quality?

• MoFaz on Mar 02, 2012 at 11:47 am

if it’s not, why would they bring it here??
      engines from japanese manufacturers still ‘consider’ about the low fuel quality in some markets, but european engines are mostly not.

• Silas on Mar 05, 2012 at 9:05 pm

Yups, Euro 2 engine. To ensure it can tahan the current diesel quality.

• Looks like Mazda Skyactiv diesel is really a far more advance engine. It has 173hp and 375nm torque from only a 2.2 engine!

• BeemerFreak on Mar 02, 2012 at 9:41 pm

Hmm you seem to be forgetting Hyundai-Kia’s 2.2 Diesel in the Santa Fe. That pushes out nearly 200bhp and more than 400NM of torque.

• Yes but you also forgot this Santa Fe returns 8.1-8.2L/100km while Skyactiv returns 4.6L/100km…that’s almost half of it!

• lalok_stylo on Mar 05, 2012 at 11:28 am

dont forget santa fe’s kerb weight…..
          it’s SUV, not a sedan car…..

• This rating is based on CX-5 and if you don’t know, its a SUV also. Latest result from US, CX-5 won the best fuel consumption in SUV class.

• Silas on Mar 05, 2012 at 9:06 pm

Take all those wonderful cars here, fill them up with “Malaysia Boleh” diesel and test the consumption vs power output after 6months.

• nighttrain on Mar 02, 2012 at 8:23 am

It’s beginning to look like vios with the 27th version.. New model already la..

• lonelyobserve on Mar 02, 2012 at 8:43 am

Where is the remaining 50Nm of torque?

• Silas on Mar 05, 2012 at 9:07 pm

Available in the MT version and that’s available only in Aussie and Thailand, I think.

• Wisdom on Mar 02, 2012 at 9:11 am

Limited slip differential (hybrid type)

Seems everybody want to offer their version of hybrid, in any form..

• its not hybrid engine….its hybrid LSD…. combination of helix gears and multiple plates clutch if im not mistaken….better traction when your tire slips….

• Niki-Z on Mar 02, 2012 at 9:17 am

With 176 horses and the given price very soon these kind of vehicles shall be roaming our roads. It would be occupying the right lanes and annoys other sedan especially night driving. Hope it would not contribute to the accident statistics. Would love to have one though.

• fahlahlee on Mar 02, 2012 at 9:23 am

wah….this or wildtrak……….i’ll pick wildtrak 3.2 MT!

• Drust on Mar 02, 2012 at 9:26 am

3.2L still selling? This VGT engine performance is better than the 3.2L and the appearance looks the same. but now sure the price if which one is cheaper.

• Is there a manual option for the VGT? Or is the manual still stuck with the non-VGT?

• SAGA BeLum Masak on Mar 02, 2012 at 10:11 am

It’s looks like this machine is trying hard to outclass Navara but forget about the size of both Navara and T6 which is bigger and longer. Both of them came in standard package but there’s lots of tuner out there that can increase the power band to almost double.

Not to mention the Mazda skyactive diesel engine….

• Vendetta on Mar 02, 2012 at 10:25 am

Wud love to replace tis with my sedans…nice tax bracket too….tempted Wei…

• Vendetta on Mar 02, 2012 at 10:26 am

But the crash rating?????

• The Navara producing a powerful 174 PS at 4,000rpm and 403Nm of torque at 2,000rpm…more torquee but less 4hp only.

• buduk on Mar 02, 2012 at 12:46 pm

still i dont get why people still worship the lame & weak Hilux -.-

• 1. resale value
      2. durability
      3. reliability
      4. service centre

at least that’s what ppl in sabah think when choosing 4wd, n most of the time, they choose hilux

• Silas on Mar 05, 2012 at 9:11 pm

1. resale value – no such thing nowadays
        2. durability – really? maybe
        3. reliability – hmmmm
        4. service centres – mitsu is almost as good as toyota in the east msia segment

everyday, more and more customers are considering and acting upon the options to buy pickups other than Hilux.

• Gavin on Mar 02, 2012 at 3:02 pm

Instead of going for numbers i think any diesel truck coming in should be the first to offer best of class engine refinement

• wildcat on Mar 02, 2012 at 3:11 pm

i think the new ford ranger wildtrak will have that, cos its 5 cylinder, much smoother than 4 cylinder

• more cylinders come with more cost to maintain… for ex. glow plug, p. rings, etc….
        can cause you more holes to your wallet too…
        just make the best output from simple engine (4 cylinder) would be great enough….

• TurboMan!!! on Mar 03, 2012 at 8:31 pm

A car has 4 wheels. More expensive to maintain compared to a motorcycle.

A motorcycle has an engine, more expensive to maintain than a bicycle.

You get my point? You don’t get things in life for free.

You want a refined diesel, its 5 cyl and you pay a bit more in engine maintenance. If you want more refined than that, BMW offers 6 cyl diesel although not in Msia. That again, costs more to maintain.

Once you do try out the 5-6 cyl engines, its very hard to turn back to 4 cyl engine. The refinement is simply out of this world. A 6 cyl engine would sound more like an electric motor winding up.

• Paul Tan on Mar 03, 2012 at 8:44 pm

BMW has 6 cylinder diesels in Malaysia, in the 730Ld and the X5 3.0d. Sadly, no 330d or 530d.

• TurboMan!!! on Mar 03, 2012 at 8:53 pm

Yeah man.

Too bad most of us can’t afford that 730 or even the x5.

The 320d and 520d only 4cyl and its kinda rough sounding for a luxury sedan. But that torque, esp with that performance kit. Out of this world.

• Paul Tan on Mar 03, 2012 at 9:08 pm

F10 520d much better than the E90 320d. Most of the time during smooth and efficient driving, I don’t even hear the engine. Perhaps the F30 320d will be better.

6 cylinder diesel power is even harder to reach now in the F10 – the 525d used to be 6 cylinder but now it’s a tuned up 2.0 liter four.

• Diesel monster on Mar 02, 2012 at 3:45 pm

test drive today, quite ok.. i like the + – gear, you can drop or up like manual..
    but the seat is not nice compare to nissan navara, and the VGT turbine is quite big than navara/hilux 3.0 (to my sense)… overall still not back in pick up class…

and 1thing, the air intake is next to radiator, can say cool air intake, compare to other same class that connect to fender…

• isuzuki on Mar 04, 2012 at 9:38 am

The location of the air intake is not good for water crossing. Of course you can always fix that with a snorkel.

• Hmm , Danny, I wonder if this version of Triton comes with timing chain & a 10 k service intervals …? to compete with the rest perhaps

• RadzLee on Mar 02, 2012 at 9:32 pm

i thought the new wildtrak ranger is the best in class. just look at the figures! correct me if im wrong

• a suggestion to this website, can u always write about fuel consumption value for every new cars shown on here? thanks!

• munir on Mar 08, 2012 at 7:02 pm

booked already…yeeeehhaaaa

• nameeee on Mar 13, 2012 at 3:47 pm

yeah buy buy uyz

• Just got my triton vgt. Comfort. Quiet. Power. If u guy plan to use as family car. Pls go for triton.