Facelifted Hyundai i20 gets super clean new diesel engine

These are the first images of the facelifted Hyundai i20, which will debut at Geneva 2012. Hyundai’s B-segment supermini wears a new face that’s in line with the brand’s new Fluidic Scupture image, although it looks milder compared to newer, clean sheet designs such as the i40 and new i30.

In terms of dimensions, width (1,710 mm), height (1,490 mm) and wheelbase (2,525 mm) remain the same, while overall length has increased by 55 mm over its predecessor to 3,995 mm. As comparision, the 3,950 mm Ford Fiesta has a 2,489 mm wheelbase.

The big news for Europe is a new 1.1 litre, three-cylinder ‘U-II’ diesel engine. This 75 PS unit is among four powertrain options for the refreshed i20 and has the lowest CO2 emissions of any conventional powertrain car on sale today. When mated to Hyundai’s Blue Drive tech, it emits just 84 g/km of CO2. This is even lower than some hybrids, and will be good for markets like the UK where car tax is aligned to CO2 ratings, not engine capacity.

Besides this, there will be another sub-100 g/km diesel – a 1.4 litre ‘U-II’ 90 PS engine that emits 96 g/km. This is proof that diving into the deep end of the demanding European market is a sure way for a carmaker to improve itself. Sink or swim, as the saying goes.

Danny Tan loves driving as much as he loves a certain herbal meat soup, and sweet engine music as much as drum beats. He has been in the auto industry since 2006, previously filling the pages of two motoring magazines before joining this website. Enjoys detailing the experience more than the technical details.

• OilChange on Mar 05, 2012 at 1:51 pm

it wont come here……….. umno people wont let it happen…

• isuzuki on Mar 05, 2012 at 2:03 pm

Too bad too bad…… our diesel no good…

• PakAbu on Mar 06, 2012 at 9:12 am

This is the Euro version. There’s also petrol powered ones:

http://paultan.org/2008/12/30/new-hyundai-i20-getz-to-be-built-in-india/

I wonder why Inokom does not bring i20 in. If it’s CKD’ed from India, I’m sure it can be “cheap” (relatively, like Suzuki Alto). If they can price it starting from RM 55k …. maybe there’s something there… :mrgreen:

• Hyundai De la Junk on Mar 05, 2012 at 2:24 pm

This suppose to be Getz replacement which we never get, anyway it’s ugly compare to rest of line up.

• Jerry Tan on Mar 05, 2012 at 4:54 pm

this is the type of ppl who can’t afford to buy a Hyundai ….. but later on will reply that he have alots of Ferrari, BMW etc….

• diesels are much better than sissy hybrids

• Hyundai De La Junk on Mar 05, 2012 at 6:23 pm

Are you saying Sonata & Optima Hybrid is also an Sissy car ?

• Gavin on Mar 05, 2012 at 2:44 pm

I wonder where the koreans are getting their knowledge in diesels, they are outrunning the europeans themselves

• Those euro targeted hyundai are based in germans if not mistaken, design are mostly by europeans for europeans market

• Nissan on Mar 05, 2012 at 3:03 pm

even if it does come here, can it digest our diesel?

• “and will be good for markets like the UK where car tax is aligned to CO2 ratings, not engine capacity.”

But surely bad for illogical Bolehland market where the price is at least double price of Protongkat Savvy.

Shame on you Protongkat look at Hyundai how cheap car be so nicely design and highly efficient engine.

“Cheap car must looks ugly” crap is no longer works lah Protongkat!

• khylie555 on Mar 05, 2012 at 5:32 pm

At first,all honda look the same,then VW and audi,now even all hyundai look the same.The only way to differentiate it is to judge on the size of the car.

• will this thing come to malaysia ?