SPIED: Kia Rio – third-gen, five-door hatch on KL roads

It looks like the third-generation Kia Rio is getting very close to its Malaysian debut – reader Kevin spotted two silver-coloured examples of the five-door UB somewhere in the Klang Valley earlier today.

No idea as to what the chosen powertrain for this market is to be – globally, there are six engine choices, including a 1.6 GDI lump offering 138 hp right through to a 69 hp 1.1 litre three-pot diesel. Something like the 107 hp 1.4 litre petrol unit would be right up the alley locally, but guess we’ll have to wait and see.

The car, which was unveiled at last year’s Geneva show, is also available in sedan form, which is the Rio Sedan offered in the US market as well as the K2 derivative, which sells in China.

Anthony Lim believes that nothing is better than a good smoke and a car with character, with good handling aspects being top of the prize heap. Having spent more than a decade and a half with an English tabloid daily never being able to grasp the meaning of brevity or being succinct, he wags his tail furiously at the idea of waffling - in greater detail - about cars and all their intrinsic peculiarities here.

• go naza on Mar 05, 2012 at 4:45 pm

naza made the right bet. and now all naza kia car is going to sell like hot cake.

• Vader on Mar 05, 2012 at 5:05 pm

Pls do make sure there are some ready stock (or short waiting list) before just simply launch the new model..
      look at the sportage, so many roadshow, test drive activities, but no stock can be sell.. what the …….

• kimi_ on Mar 05, 2012 at 6:52 pm

If the badge is fking NAZA and not KIA, then i will definitely not consider it!!!!!

• chidori on Mar 05, 2012 at 7:19 pm

dun wori.. salesman will give free KIA badges.. :P

• Hyundai De La Junk on Mar 06, 2012 at 6:05 pm

Why do you think Inokom Elantra Launching been delayed ? I think the govt had finally wake up to stop those fake National Car from been threat to P1 up coming model, so we may say bye bye to Naza Forte & Inokom Elantra, which mean they can have the original badge & sold under CKD pricing which is 10-25K extra.

Let see hows the Korean Junk been sold without uinfaired advantage, my guess 75% Sales drop at lease ! :-D :-D :-D

• Hyundai De La Junk on Mar 05, 2012 at 4:59 pm

All the past generation Rio was a flop, wonder would this be any different ?

Anyway the real design showned are way below VW Polo or Golf beautiful design.

• chuakz on Mar 05, 2012 at 5:15 pm

no idea what you trying to say man….but if you are saying that the rio looks worse compared to a Polo or Golf…buy some glasses….

• Looks ok but the Polo and the Golf looks way expensive and better looking than this Rio…

• chuakz on Mar 05, 2012 at 6:30 pm

polo and golf designs are very boring….read top gear a few issues back where they reviewed the rio….they will agree with me….anybody who thinks that the golf is better looking than this rio is blinded by the VW badge…I’m no Korean car snob…in fact am a VW fan….but I am not biased

• Hyundai De La Junk on Mar 05, 2012 at 6:47 pm

I think VW Polo & Golf have more matured & Pro design unlike this wannabe Rio mix & match & here & there & going no where.

I am not VW car snob.. infact i am Korean car No.1 Diehard Fan, Look ! I even use Hyundai as my nickname.. i am not biased too.. I am just given constructive critics for Korean to made better car..

Sometime i wonder all this “i am not Korean Car Fanboy/Snob/Lackey commentor” think they are trying to fooled. LOL

• Gebang on Mar 05, 2012 at 8:14 pm

.golf and polo is the most popular car in the europe 2011….

• zebulun69 on Mar 06, 2012 at 9:19 pm

..”infact i am Korean car No.1 Diehard Fan” … or more like Paultan’s No. 1 Korean car troll … lalala

• kadajawi on Mar 06, 2012 at 10:04 pm

Please share your story. Why do you hate the Koreans so much? Did your girlfriend cheat you with a Korean guy? Leave you for one? What has happened to make you hate them so much?

• sick&tired on Mar 05, 2012 at 11:06 pm

kia has improved so much that people are comparing it to VW now!

• tokmoh on Mar 05, 2012 at 5:08 pm

Ford’s Korean cousin

• goldfries on Mar 05, 2012 at 5:13 pm

Wahhh look like a shrunken Sportage!!! nice!!!

• Chris on Mar 05, 2012 at 5:17 pm

Great!! What is the estimated price for Rio ?

• Love the front hate the back…

• jonet on Mar 05, 2012 at 5:25 pm

WOW NICE….GOOD BYE PROTON SATRIA NEO

• koochai on Mar 05, 2012 at 5:41 pm

wait til p1 start making neo cfe…who’ll have the last laugh…hahaha…

• ride&handling on Mar 05, 2012 at 5:28 pm

manyak tonggek ooo ini kereta..harge brp?

• jonet on Mar 05, 2012 at 5:31 pm

now Korean(K&H) car is better(design) than Japan(T&H)……proton..errmm mehhhh

• anti-Porsche on Mar 05, 2012 at 5:35 pm

back looks a bit like the Seat

• Kiassu No Kiasi on Mar 05, 2012 at 5:40 pm

This Korean Car spoiled the VW design by making this Copy Cat Crap Car.

• alldisc on Mar 05, 2012 at 5:47 pm

the direct injection GDI engine surely wont come to malaysia due to poor quality petrol with sulphur content.

so is 1.1 diesel… gues, just make do with a 1.4 engine. like the previous one. that failed miserably.

• Masked Ryder on Mar 05, 2012 at 6:04 pm

Seem like 1.4 is the only option that possible make into Malaysia market, it may filled the vacuum left by Getz, but this is a tough category as too many player.

• But why? even 1.1 diesel cant sell in Malaysia? But then there are cars with turbo diesel being used in Malaysia.. eg Santa Fe 2.2 Turbo diesel. Our diesel should be good enuf. On a similar note are there no GDI petrol cars being used in Malaysia???

After browsing Paul’s site for sometime I would think most readers would be going for Cars with more tech (eg DIff engine tech) rather than the same old tech with bodywork/design changes only.

Personally I would not buy another car unless it’s Turbo something or GDI something…. else I’ll just keep my myvi.

• Sell it at around RM60,000 for 1.4i if Naza wanna take some Lagi Best’s share. More than that defy the logic since C-segment Inokom Elantra MD around RM80,000.

Where is this world ‘cheap’ starting with RM60,000 mark?

• Malcolm Lim on Mar 05, 2012 at 6:50 pm

Rear looks like mini sportage :P

• Jeremy Clarkson on Mar 05, 2012 at 7:01 pm

Looks a bit like Renault Mehane

• Jeremy Clarkson on Mar 05, 2012 at 10:29 pm

Oh sorry guys , I mean megane folks (The rear lights) .. Really sorry, jizzed in my pants when i saw mehane

• Henry Ford the XII on Mar 06, 2012 at 12:12 pm

You’re like this eh Jeremy?

http://www.youtube.com/watch?v=VLnWf1sQkjY&ob=av3e

• Pororo on Mar 05, 2012 at 7:41 pm

wuhoo.. DAEBAK!!!! i can see the Kia power to suprise people.. Cannot wait for naza to launch this car… I think they should bring the sedan version also.. and Naza, please bring the new Picanto and Soul to Malaysian market..

• Albert on Mar 05, 2012 at 8:05 pm

New Kia Rio design nicer than Ford Fiesta hatchback

• carwise on Mar 05, 2012 at 8:23 pm

i’m waiting for MPV by Peter Schreyer touch.

• policeman on Mar 05, 2012 at 8:43 pm

Nothing exciting. Same old specs will be brought in to this country.

1.6 Petrol, Auto and 1.4 Petrol, Auto

Priced at 65K and above.

Its getting boring and predictable.

• Shit cant see the front headlamps,dunno got day time running lights onot.i expect this year’s automotive scene to be very interesting

• rear light on Mar 05, 2012 at 9:23 pm

Still waiting for veloster & focus titanium..launch it la..aduyai..

• Henry Ford The XII on Mar 06, 2012 at 1:17 pm

There wont be an ‘EcoBoost’ed Focus coming here laa.. Sooo disappointed.

• McKay1 on Mar 05, 2012 at 9:32 pm

6 speed manual tranny spotted..make it one of Malaysian car fan choice please..Clutches need to be pressed physically..not virtually..

• i m still waiting for the Soul

• vroom on Mar 06, 2012 at 8:25 am

competitive year 2012
    New Proton P3
    New RIO
    New Optima
    NV200
    New Ezora Turbo
    New Sunny
    Prius C
    New FOCUS

wonder why Blue Motion VW wont get tax rebate…it is hybrid..shud price it reasonably.

• will naza bring in the sedan version?

• hassan on Mar 06, 2012 at 8:59 am

really cant see the point to launch this car here

• Breadboy on Mar 06, 2012 at 9:52 am

More information on specs here:-
    http://www.kia-rio.com/

6 Speed Manual Tranny is a definite, but depending on Kia Malaysia to see if they’re bringing this specs in.

My best bet would be 1.4l – 4 speed auto would be the model Kia Malaysia bringing in.

The 1.6 GDI + 6 speed Auto is only available in US & AU only, but news is the Rio RS would be coming soon.

Been searching for a B-Segment car lately :P Thats why the info ekeke..Would be lovely if its priced at 65k. :)

• Seriously on Mar 06, 2012 at 10:06 am

too bad that even the best powertrain for this nice-looker is dissapointing.

• mentari-o-korea on Mar 06, 2012 at 11:17 am

Naza, please dun bring the RIO sedan, the looks like a cheaper version of Kia Koup, and will pour some ice to ur hot market now. Remember, the cheap look of Peugeot 207, yep no need such type of a model!

• kadajawi on Mar 06, 2012 at 2:24 pm

Wow. At first I thought it’s an older Seat. Like early 00s, late 90s…?

• kadajawi on Mar 06, 2012 at 2:25 pm

Wow. At first I thought it’s an older Seat. Like early 00s, late 90s…? I mean the rear.

• Black Dog on Mar 06, 2012 at 3:44 pm

Great to see Kia’s flood the market. Go Kia, Go!

• i got too tired waiting for this rio and picanto, so i just go on and booked a myvi
    will be signing the agreement tonite
    n now comes this spyshot, what the heck :'(

• OilChange on Mar 06, 2012 at 9:18 pm

rio………. such a lame name for a car….

eventhough this time, the rio comes in style, but the name is so lame, owning 1 is a freaking nightmare…

what car do u drive…?
    forte!
    ohhh… nice car! I like the rearview mirror with the built in lcd.

what car do u drive….?
    rio..
    oh really?….. :O

• make it 1.6L to compete wit latio, ford fiesta, mazda hatchback

will they keep the car name rio or rio5?

wat about kia Venga (k-car)? or kia soul (too pricey for small car kot)

• zaff1984 on Mar 12, 2012 at 12:01 am

any idea when Rio 2012 launch..?

• zaff1984 on Mar 12, 2012 at 2:15 pm

and will it comes with 7years warranty as per other countries get..?

• Edwin on Jun 30, 2012 at 4:08 am

Come on! Do you know about Kia designer, Peter Schreyer? Go wikipedia and check it please. He used to work at VW and Audi. That’s why nowadays Kia is more to European design!

• Can’t wait for this to go on sale! Beautiful…definitely wil not have the vw quality but it does look better than the golf. I wouldnt say that Kia is a wannabe. Their designers are Germans..lyrics naturally their cars wil tend to look more euro in styling. If they change their design direction, immediately pol say they are a wannabe. It’s called progress

• Car Enthusiast on Nov 14, 2012 at 9:29 am

another K5 sibling…guess Peter Schreyer is banging his head to his wall now…since they reuse and reuse and reuse and reuse AGAIN his K5 design
    *facepalm*

• kadajawi on Nov 14, 2012 at 1:57 pm

That’s called brand identity. That’s why Schreyer was hired, to bring consistency and identity to the brand. You should be able to identify the brand of the car just by looking at it. Audi is doing it to the extreme, while BMW is trying to vary a bit, even if that means the car will be ugly. But still a BMW looks like a BMW. There are design element that have been used for the past 60 or so years.

• William on Nov 18, 2012 at 1:24 pm

Whatever the price, dont buy any car unless you can pay off the loan in 3 years or less. Buy cash is even better.

• enrico on Nov 28, 2012 at 7:06 pm

People who dont have a clue are overlooking the 6 speed auto, direct injection engine and 4 disc brakes… The only one in its class