Volkswagen Cross Coupé concept – now, the diesel path

At last year’s Tokyo Motor Show, Volkswagen unveiled its Cross Coupé concept, which was powered by a plug-in petrol-electric hybrid system. This week, a new version of the Cross Coupé is set to debut in Geneva, with an even more frugal plug-in hybrid drivetrain.

The concept now goes the diesel route, and the Swiss show car is powered by a combination of a turbodiesel direct-injection engine (TDI) and two electric motors, in total offering 306 PS of power.

Top speed for the 1,858 kg vehicle is 220 km/h, and the combined fuel consumption in the New European Driving Cycle (NEDC) is a sensationally low 1.8 litres per 100 km, or a staggering 55.5 km per litre, with just 46 g/km of C02 emissions. More details on the Cross Coupé redux, soon enough.

Anthony Lim believes that nothing is better than a good smoke and a car with character, with good handling aspects being top of the prize heap. Having spent more than a decade and a half with an English tabloid daily never being able to grasp the meaning of brevity or being succinct, he wags his tail furiously at the idea of waffling - in greater detail - about cars and all their intrinsic peculiarities here.

• Really nice. For some reason i feel there’s a hint of an Porsche Cayenne!!

• carnoisseur on Mar 05, 2012 at 1:27 pm

interesting first impressions !

• go naza on Mar 05, 2012 at 1:49 pm

the family look grill is sick….-_-

• hway de Cruz on Mar 05, 2012 at 3:29 pm

hah,wat to go diesel… that’s the cue to the future. this is certainly excellent for FC, wonder when we get the car n right diesel in bolehland?

• Japs eat your heart out….Diesels hybrid make more sense than petrol hybrid, excellent FC without sacrificing power & torque.

• Well we do have to give credit where it’s due. Toyota is the one who nearly perfected the hybrid concept. Although they are trying hard to compensate with those Atkinson cycle engine but I guess TurboD is somewhat superior.

I do like to see how T will fair when they finally come to sense that turbocharging is the transition to the future.

• 1.8l/100km?? Amazing fc. I think that is almost the same as an ex-5. Lol. Kudos to vw. Turbodiesel hybrid is the way to go…that and range extender electric car