Volkswagen R cars are here – Golf R and Passat CC R-Line

Volkswagen Passenger Cars Malaysia has launched two products from Volkswagen R GmbH in Malaysia, and they are the Golf R and Passat CC R-Line. Both the Golf R and the Passat CC R-Line are performance flagships for their respective families.

Let’s start with the Golf R. This is the flagship of the Golf range, and is a step up from the popular Golf GTI. While the previous Mk5 R32 was powered by a (great sounding) 3.2L V6, this new one follows the downsizing trend and is motivated by a 2.0 litre four-cylinder TSI turbo engine. Despite the switch, this is the most powerful Golf ever, with 255 PS and 330 Nm of torque from 2,400 to 5,200 rpm.

The engine is mated to a six-speed dual-clutch DSG gearbox and power is channeled to the wheels via Volkswagen’s 4MOTION all-wheel drive system. 0-100 km/h is done in just 5.7 seconds on to a limited 250 km/h top speed. Fuel consumption is 13.4% better than the R32 at 8.4 litres per 100 km.

Available here as a five-door hatchback like the GTI, the Golf R is packed with goodies befitting its performance. Adaptive Chassis Control (DCC), internally ventilated discs all around with R-specific brake calipers, ESP with delayed intervention, 19-inch “Talladega” alloys with 235/35 tyres, bi xenons with dynamic cornering lamps, trademark central tailpipes and “Motorsport Bucket Seats” are all standard, among other kit.

Also included is Climatronic, the RNS 510 sat nav system with DYNAUDIO “Excite” 300W, 8-speaker stereo and an electric tilt/slide sunroof. Available in six colours (Candy White, Tornado Red, Rising Blue, Reflex Silver, United Grey, and Deep Black), the Golf R is yours for RM268,888.

Like big power but prefer a sleek saloon? The Passat CC R-Line will tempt. The Passat CC R-Line comes with a 3.6 litre V6 engine with 300 PS and 350 Nm between 2,400 and 5,300 rpm. It’s actually faster than the Golf R to 100 km/h, by a tenth, 5.6 seconds versus 5.7.

Like the hot hatch, the flagship Passat CC also comes with a six-speed DSG, 4MOTION AWD and DCC. From the outside, you can spot the R-Line by its 18-inch “Mallory” wheels, panoramic tilting glass roof and R badges at both ends. Bi-xenon and bending lights are also standard.

Inside, the top dog CC is enhanced with aluminium front scuff plates with the R logo, sports seats finished in Nappa leather, a flat-bottomed multifunction steering wheel, brushed aluminium inserts and an auto-dimming rear-view mirror.

Also on the kit list are Climatronic with dual-zone control, DYNAUDIO 600-watt “Confidence” sound system with 10 speakers, keyless entry and start, electronic parking brake with hill hold and auto hold, Park Distance Control with Rear Assist reverse camera and the RNS510 touch screen stereo with integrated sat nav.

The Passat CC R-Line is yours for RM373,888. Choose from nine colours – Urano Grey, Candy White, Night Blue, Reflex Silver, Light Brown, Iron Grey, Deep Black, Mocca Anthracite and Icelandic Grey.

Danny Tan loves driving as much as he loves a certain herbal meat soup, and sweet engine music as much as drum beats. He has been in the auto industry since 2006, previously filling the pages of two motoring magazines before joining this website. Enjoys detailing the experience more than the technical details.

• nice…but sadly…cant afford it :(

• donkeymonkey on Mar 06, 2012 at 2:48 am

manual version not available?? dsg-phobia here..

• farizY on Mar 06, 2012 at 9:33 am

Yeah..most Malaysians won’t be able to afford…sad, but true….

• Plain on Apr 27, 2012 at 10:24 pm

UNTRUE!

You guys can actually AFFORD this car! If only AP were given to the Malaysians! In fact, the car is far much cheaper in the overseas but we Malaysians have to pay MORE. That’s fact!

• Wisdom on Mar 05, 2012 at 7:28 pm

Now let me see… either 269K or 374K…. mmm

Nope. Too much for a people’s car. R or no R.

• Fool ! people’s car are not cheap !

If like that then it’s too much for a Taxi Mercedes E Class …

but it’s too late…VW CC 2013 launch already…golf 2013~2014 is coming soon…

• Alpha on Mar 05, 2012 at 7:36 pm

Whoa,the price of the Golf R is surprisingly good.Lower than parallel importers.This should really make young C-Class/3-Series/A4 buyer think twice.

And the Passat CC R-line’s 3.6L V6 sounds awesome!!

Danny,no Scirocco R for now??

• Anthony Lim (Member) on Mar 05, 2012 at 7:59 pm

Not yet, but should be on the way soon enough, from what we gather.

• Alpha on Mar 05, 2012 at 8:28 pm

I would love a test drive review of these two bad boys and a comparison with their less ballsy siblings from you guys.

• Danny Tan (Member) on Mar 06, 2012 at 12:45 am

Only these two, for now

• pyroteknika on Mar 05, 2012 at 7:36 pm

Bravo VW!! Its a 4-wheel compact monster! booking soon!

• Retep on Mar 05, 2012 at 7:40 pm

If you are on a tight budget and is interested solely in raw power, I guess the ABT ECU tuning would suffice.

• azlan on Mar 05, 2012 at 7:42 pm

Where is Scirocco R?

• Chriszoom on Mar 05, 2012 at 7:51 pm

My god….expensive

• Proton boleh on Mar 05, 2012 at 7:51 pm

I think Proton Golf R

• supertoron on Mar 05, 2012 at 7:53 pm

i saw this golf r at putrajaya basement parking last january:
    http://forum.lowyat.net/topic/2101429/+720
    http://forum.lowyat.net/topic/2101429/+740

• A bit too late arriving here considering a new 2013 Golf model on the way . In S’pore , already arrived 1.5 years ago and many preowned Golf & Scirroco R already in the market. High chances that R spec might not meet the expectations of boy racer or a lot of defects here and there.

• black on Mar 05, 2012 at 8:08 pm

passat cc R line?? thought the new facelift for cc coming end of april… whats gonna happen?

• black on Mar 05, 2012 at 8:09 pm

passat cc R line…. i heard the cc facelift coming end of april… whats gonna happen then

• CAN’T WAIT TO DRIVE THAT.!!! HAHAAHAHAHA

• Too expensive for front transversely mounted engine cars.

• BeemerFreak on Mar 05, 2012 at 8:47 pm

Haha transversely mounted cheap car? Go buy a saga. That is cheap. FYI an Audi s3 is also a transversely mounted engine car, will that be cheap?

• lovescars on Mar 06, 2012 at 1:53 pm

Sorry to say, if can’t afford dun say too expensive la.

• Anwar on Mar 05, 2012 at 8:24 pm

Even with a regular Golf GTI I am struggling to drive within legal speed limit. I am not sure with these R series, what will happen then. I just hope the driver is skillful enough to deal with the power so that it’s still safe to all on the road.

• Agreed…even the 1.4TSI Golf u’re having a hard time driving w/in the national limit (remedy, had to set the speed limit chime, coz u wont notice how fast u’re going)…cannot imagine the GTI and what more this “ultimate Golf”.

• noname on Mar 06, 2012 at 12:10 pm

that’s why they bring this beast here…so, police can collect more saman maa….haha

• kancil on Mar 07, 2012 at 9:52 am

aiyah, even with my kancil, i also did not keep to speed limit lah tiu.
      it’s about the driver’s attitude..not about the car at all.

• VOLVO FOR LIFE on Mar 05, 2012 at 8:57 pm

pricing not that bad for the Golf R. But then sorry the renaultsport megane was already here a year ago. Passat CC R-Line, another of those unfathomable cars they bring in. they should have just given the normal passat cc’s the r-line treatment.

• go-all-the-way on Mar 06, 2012 at 1:22 pm

Personally i think ‘treatment’ don’t show the differences with base model. just piece and patches here there, and sell for higher price. the Jap car are like that in our market. VW has good selling point here(it doesn’t mean agree on the selling price!).

• if you go check the 2012 price list for BMW, the exact same RM268k will only get you a lousy X1 xDrive20d.

I believe the Golf R is the most powerful car you can buy at this price range….wait a minute, i think the equally powerful Mazdaspeed 3 is the one which is more bang for buck.

• Aku lah on Mar 05, 2012 at 9:51 pm

235/35/R19 tyres? Is it suitable on our bad condition road?
    In Singapore they use 225/40/R18 as standard..

• Aku lah on Mar 06, 2012 at 10:45 am

Please somebody comment this!
      Someone with experience with that kind of rims and tyres!

• mentari-o-korea on Mar 05, 2012 at 10:27 pm

Overpriced, thats it!

• Just me on Mar 05, 2012 at 10:29 pm

I’m waiting for Proton Salesman/fan to say Proton going to rebadged this R models

• Aku lah on Mar 05, 2012 at 10:42 pm

HAAAA…now i’m talking….
      Proton going to rebadge this one alsolah….So, what?
      Proton Golf R3….hahaha..

• Cool, stop waiting and start dreaming . That’s where you will end up. You need help!!

• Dont Fight on Mar 05, 2012 at 10:30 pm

Iyo yo yo…
    Clearly many here got no money..
    Hence…
    No money then dont fight or bash or put dumb comment…

• downsys on Mar 05, 2012 at 10:47 pm

The Golf R’s price is reasonable. 58k extra. But the Passat CC R? Almost 130k extra! I know it’s a 3.6, but the price difference is too much to bear.

• seancorr on Mar 05, 2012 at 10:59 pm

The Golf R will be a niche model here…for that kind of price many will opt for the premium German marques. Not too sure about the Passat CC R as the FL is even more stunning with more goodies booted into it.

I guess you’ll be a lucky bugger to catch one of these on the roads here…

• This is the Uber Golf! Drool.

• Jolly_idiot on Mar 05, 2012 at 11:55 pm

Golf GTI and Passat CC oledi expensive. Tis lagi expensive. Really rich the richer toy

• hassan on Mar 06, 2012 at 8:57 am

if cant sell just offer to rebadged by proton.

• tmsoo on Mar 06, 2012 at 9:17 am

Apart from higher hp, this car has all wheel drive. The handling should be better and pick up should be more responsive.

• In the US, the Golf R is 6-speed manual only, see: http://www.vw.com/en/models/golf-r/trims-specs.html#/tab=3c8355959c84d9be1a0acd23f708f183

• Seriously on Mar 06, 2012 at 10:01 am

YUMMY… this will eat almost anything on the road :)

• droll on Mar 06, 2012 at 11:18 am

bmw 335, here comes the R boys!

honestly the golf r is priced quite competitively (especially vs the older R32) for the rich folks lah.

• 6711GTI on Mar 06, 2012 at 12:22 pm

Love the Golf R!

But, is it better than GTI? Is it worth the extra money?
    Or tuning the GTI with ABT or APR is a better option? :D

Heard a lot of GTI boys tuned their ride with either tuner and managed to get more than 300hp! :O

• droll on Mar 06, 2012 at 6:31 pm

yes, there is that argument. the one thing the R has over the regular GTI is 4WD.

• Henry Ford The XII on Mar 06, 2012 at 12:39 pm

If not mistaken in other markets the normal GTI has been replaced with GTI E35 with 235bhp and 300Nm. If/when VW bring this here and dont jack up the price then this Golf R would really seem to be overpriced.

GTI E35 uses Mk5 engine and so does this R (again, if I am not mistaken).

SDAC please bring in ST to make the competition hotter!

• DROOL. The UBER GOLF is here!

• jenggo on Mar 06, 2012 at 5:50 pm

hope audi malaysia will do the same..to bring in the S3 and RS3.
    that should be the golf competitor..

• Too bad VW golf will surpass audi a3 or even s3 in this country. its bcoz our market is full of conservative buyers. unlike singapore, its different stories.

• To be honest, I think it’s cheap compared to other premuim brand withsuch a powerful engine and tons of latest tech. With all due respect, those who cant afford can at least appreciate VW brought this in. Don’t just whine about the price.

• what’s the price of golf R without gov tax?

• Harakah on Oct 09, 2012 at 9:45 pm

Seringit Sepuluh Sen.. Happy ? So that all the malaysian youngster can buy this car rather than lousy neo.. So happy ? Satisfied ? What a joke man.. If cant afford dont ask about the price before or after the tax !! Like a famous phrase >> NO MONEY NO TALK !!.. shuhh shuhh pergi showroom proton !