Bentley EXP 9 F – the SUV experiment finally arrives

Seems the SUV path mulled a little while ago has taken shape – Bentley is unveiling its EXP 9 F all-wheel drive luxury SUV concept at the Geneva show, and the study is set to examine the potential for a third Bentley model-line alongside the bespoke Mulsanne and performance Continental ranges.

Key Bentley styling cues – such as the matrix grille, round lamps and the strong power-line and haunch along each flank – have been re-interpreted for the EXP 9 F, with plenty of sculptured flowing surfaces to emphasise the power, muscularity and robustness of the design.

Cues at the front include daytime running light apertures that act as the charge cooler air intakes for the twin-turbo W12 engine, each with a dramatic, mesh-covered turbine fan design and rifled inner surface finish.

At the rear, the swooping lines of the tailgate takes a sporting profile, with an ultra-wide, two-part split tailgate to boot. The EXP 9 F also gets twin exhaust tailpipes with rifled inner surfaces, their elliptical shapes echoing those of the rear light clusters, the design of which is inspired by the form and details of fighter jet engines, so it goes.

The 6.0 litre, twin-turbocharged W12, together with an eight-speed transmission, is the powertrain of choice for the concept, but the production form could well see the company’s recently-launched 4.0 litre twin-turbo V8 or a hybrid drivetrain.

Meanwhile, the 4+1 seating cabin is contemporarily Bentley, with the hallmarks of the usual craftsmanship and level of tailored luxury from the brand. You’ll find traditional handcrafted elements such as wood, leather and polished metals such as aluminium, bronze and gunmetal helping to create the scene. Oh, and reversible silk wool floormats as well, with one side finished in durable, ribbed saddle leather for those rougher outdoor moments.

The company looks set to take the vehicle into production; it says that the show vehicle, which wears 23-inch multi-spoke alloys, is to provide a basis for feedback and comments with the aim of refining the concept further.

Anthony Lim believes that nothing is better than a good smoke and a car with character, with good handling aspects being top of the prize heap. Having spent more than a decade and a half with an English tabloid daily never being able to grasp the meaning of brevity or being succinct, he wags his tail furiously at the idea of waffling - in greater detail - about cars and all their intrinsic peculiarities here.

• 'Thom'LEe on Mar 06, 2012 at 1:30 pm

This SUV looks like it’s from the 80’s… Sorry Bentley, I don’t think it looks nice…

• Alpha on Mar 06, 2012 at 2:07 pm

I dont think they’re meant to look nice.The are meant to ooze the fact that you have money.Look at the Rolls Royce and other Bentleys.They all looks like they’re from the 80s or even before that.

• Vader on Mar 06, 2012 at 3:56 pm

their target mainly for rich ppl with “unique” taste.. haha..

• Nice exhaust tailpipes!

The rest of the car can only be appreciated by people with a lot of excess money.

• Alanore on Mar 06, 2012 at 1:38 pm

Personally, this thing came out much much better than what I was expected, B still have time to update their design cue…

• Hyundai De La Junk on Mar 06, 2012 at 1:42 pm

Remind me of London Taxi !

• meh..it looks so ‘cartoon’ ! hard to imagine it is coming from big B

• Jeremy Clarkson on Mar 06, 2012 at 1:56 pm

Looks kind a ugly…. I rather want a Land Rover Range Rover Sports HSE or Audi Q7 4.2 quattro

• Aaron Lee on Mar 06, 2012 at 2:03 pm

I say it looks fantastic. Awesome.

• quottro on Mar 06, 2012 at 2:11 pm

why is everyone trying to capture the SUV market nowadays?

• Ayecaramba! on Mar 06, 2012 at 3:09 pm

Is that supposed to be a trick question or what? How about you ask Porsche with their Cayenne? It’s a money making machine. Nuff said.

• PakAbu on Mar 06, 2012 at 2:12 pm

This is really an over-compensation. :mrgreen:

• what’s up with that round thingy under the headlamp? yerrr

• Cheah Tat Cheong on Mar 06, 2012 at 2:21 pm

Whoa…I’m actually happy I can’t afford to buy this car :) It is simply a hideous piece of metal.

• carnoisseur on Mar 06, 2012 at 2:41 pm

sometimes when an auto company is good at doing something ,they should stick to it . Bentley is good at creating posh luxury sedans and limousines , what more they have a name to that . But this so called SUV is rubbish , so the moral of the story , stick to what youre good at . Auto companies have also invested in bicycles these days ……dont kid yourselves , there are bike companies who can do a better ,cheaper , greater job !

• Seriously on Mar 07, 2012 at 11:14 am

and Porsche should have just stuck with their 2 doors sports car? I dont think so. It’s also about progressing in time and actually making money to sustain the brand by widening their automotive scope.

• Sgt Scoop on Mar 06, 2012 at 3:15 pm

Uglyyyyyyy

If you are very rich, please don’t buy this. I really don’t want to see this eyesore on the roads. Cayanes are bad enough.

• VoidDance on Mar 06, 2012 at 3:35 pm

What? Is this a joke?

• Black Dog on Mar 06, 2012 at 3:39 pm

Looks like many blokes here never driven an SUV before or don’t understand at all the advantages of SUVs. Can’t blame these kids, all they know are GTi & sports cars.

Just like, if you haven’t stay in a 5 star hotel or never been to fine dining, how to explain to them, ah?

Don’t be surprise Rolls Royce & Ferrari will be next to follow successful path of Porsche & BMW. Even Lambo is doing it.

Only Potong still in a daze of what’s happening!

• PKR Cyber trooper on Mar 06, 2012 at 3:56 pm

Oh my God!

• Yucks to the MAX!!!

• Paint on Mar 06, 2012 at 4:47 pm

Put this next to an X5, and the X5 will look like a Perodua Kembara.

• shawal on Mar 06, 2012 at 4:51 pm

its frikkin hideous , why would you choose it over cayenne turbo speeced up to 11, or The Overfinch & Holland&Holland Range Rover.

• tiadaid on Mar 06, 2012 at 6:23 pm

I can accept the Range Rover – but this is much, much better than the even more hideous Cayenne!

• Iylia H on Mar 06, 2012 at 8:21 pm

i thought it was something from China… or it really is designed from china?

• hanifhamzah on Mar 06, 2012 at 9:24 pm

super ugly

• Kelvin on Mar 06, 2012 at 10:06 pm

I think the B designers are lost ..screwup..or trying to think out of the box

• VOLVO FOR LIFE on Mar 06, 2012 at 11:01 pm

wtf

• Uber ugly. I think they target the rich and stupid peoples.

• my maid just ran away after looking at the rim….

• Seriously on Mar 07, 2012 at 11:16 am

It looks weird, scary and bulky all at the same time.

• Looks like an audi with a bentley face.