Volkswagen Amarok Canyon – for the kayaking crowd

Click to enlarge.

Volkswagen has presented another take on its Amarok pick-up, with the Canyon concept paddling in at the Geneva show. While specially configured for the extreme sport of freestyle kayaking, it’s really a means to illustrate the versatility of pick-up configurations that can be created with the truck.

All aspects of the Amarok Canyon concept being shown in Geneva are designed to meet the requirements of the sport, from the pick-up’s running gear to details of the cargo box. The concept vehicle is significantly taller and wider than the production Amarok – it’s 40 mm higher courtesy of a body lift kit, and when the tyres are included, the concept is a full 85 mm taller than the production model.

Meanwhile, the wheel housings have been widened by 35 mm on each side to make room for the big AT tyres the Canyon wears, in this case 275/65 rubbers on 18-inch Durban type wheels painted in High Gloss Adamantium Dark. Even the exterior colour goes the exotic route – the vehicle is finished in a three-layer Baladi Orange shade.

Elsewhere, the concept gets auxiliary headlights mounted on its roof, as well as smoked rear lights and colour-contrasting underbody protection. The 4MOTION-equipped vehicle features a 177 hp 2.0 litre TDI mill, offering 400 Nm from 1,500 to 2,250 rpm.

Click to enlarge.

To aid ingress and egress in light of the raised ride height, two electrically-deployed tread plates make getting in and out of the vehicle an easy job. The tread plates, designed to be visually unobtrusive, retract when the vehicle is moving to maintain the high level of off-road capability.

The two carbon fibre kayaks are securely mounted to the cargo floor: at the rear, the floor is designed with two formed cut-outs with soft padding, while the kayak bows are mounted on a styling bar – again, in High Gloss Adamantium Dark – with straps for firmly securing the boats. The paddles are firmly latched in place on the inside surface of the easy-to-operate tailgate.

All other gear – white water helmets, flotation devices and rafting shoes – are also stowed securely, the helmets in nets on the front wall of the cargo bed and the rest of the gear in smaller boxes that can be locked with watertight lids.

Inside, the leather seats feature a two-tone styling, with the seating surfaces in a shade called Sterling, and the head restraints and side supports offset in what’s called Adamant.

The orange-red finish outside finds its way into the cabin as well – the safety belts and the air outlets wear the shade, as do the decorative seams for the seats, the three-spoke steering wheel and gear shift lever trim. Completing the kit on the concept is a three auxiliary instrument array, which displays the climbing and tilt angles of the Amarok when tackling tough terrain.

Anthony Lim believes that nothing is better than a good smoke and a car with character, with good handling aspects being top of the prize heap. Having spent more than a decade and a half with an English tabloid daily never being able to grasp the meaning of brevity or being succinct, he wags his tail furiously at the idea of waffling - in greater detail - about cars and all their intrinsic peculiarities here.

• pumpkin on Mar 07, 2012 at 12:34 pm

Exited :-)

• Baharum on Mar 07, 2012 at 12:53 pm

Proton, please rebadge this.

• hassan on Mar 07, 2012 at 1:46 pm

u will worry all the existing VW owners…

• rallyart on Mar 07, 2012 at 2:33 pm

nice !!!

• oomph on Mar 07, 2012 at 2:48 pm

We will just wait for proton to rebadge. :)

• Just me on Mar 08, 2012 at 4:22 pm

they will allowed poton to rebadge this when the model and engine is outdated. Can’t sell in rest of the world, yet still making profit in boleh land. You know just like Groupon concept…..

• ericg on Mar 07, 2012 at 1:34 pm

when is this coming to Malaysia?

• 177 hp 2.0 litre TDI mill, offering 400 Nm from 1,500 to 2,250 rpm??!!!?? OMG!!!!

• Black Dog on Mar 07, 2012 at 1:43 pm

So later there’ll be vehicles for bungee jumping, caving, snokeling etc etc etc

• sirimusa on Mar 07, 2012 at 1:46 pm

Oh Mama! What a hot truck! And I thought no one could beat the new Ford Ranger, here comes VW with a big slap to Ford.
    Super impressive!

• oomph on Mar 07, 2012 at 4:33 pm

have you seen ford f150? this amarok is f150 breakfast only…

• Grandpatrucker on Mar 08, 2012 at 4:41 pm

F150 is 5800cc maaaa…I use it for my work in Canada before maaa

• Obama on Mar 07, 2012 at 2:04 pm

Cool…It looks like Golf with 18-inch of rim.

• go naza1 on Mar 07, 2012 at 2:25 pm

the family grill spells

boring.

• iLikewheels on Mar 07, 2012 at 2:33 pm

this is son trucking!after mother and father not very friendly in roadtax….

• Sorchai on Mar 07, 2012 at 2:50 pm

Aiyo…when coming?

Cars sold here so sad lah

• VGM..please bring this to Malaysia..going offroad with my 2 mountain bike.. :)

• Rasanya, tak perlu letak loga VW kat depan tu… dah tahu tu VW!

• k_man on Mar 07, 2012 at 3:40 pm

I WANT THIS!!!

• yeah I vote for Proton to rebadge this. Proton-Keretarakyat Gurun.

• the wheels made from Adamantium?
    is this Adamantium is the same with wolverine’s?
    Adamantium does exist huh? i thought only fiction..

• @8250rpm on Mar 07, 2012 at 8:45 pm

Its color descriptor/name lah not the material…if really made fr adamantium it may cost 100k a wheel…

• paultan.org got paid alot by VW rit recently?

• Anthony Lim (Member) on Mar 07, 2012 at 9:37 pm

We run the news as they come, kind sir. We don’t make it up as we go along. :)

• drchan on Mar 08, 2012 at 1:47 am

Oh my… VW is committed to conquer every vehicle segment… Soon my toilet bowl gonna be VW with DRL led bling bling technology Hu Hu

• catdog on Mar 08, 2012 at 3:24 pm

Yes. Nice.

• pelams on Mar 11, 2012 at 2:53 pm

paultan…. update us when this baby arrives here!