Final E90 BMW 3 Series rolls out of Kulim plant

Time to bid farewell to the fifth-generation BMW 3 Series, from a local perspective. The final locally-produced E90, vehicle number 8,930, has rolled out of BMW Malaysia’s assembly facility in Kulim, Kedah, and brings to a close local assembly of the model.

The E90 was the first BMW to be locally assembled at the Kulim plant – production of the car began in 2006, first at the Associated Motor Industries (AMI) plant in Shah Alam, before moving to the company’s current premises in the Inokom Corporation Plant from July 2008. To date, a total of 10,743 E90s have been sold locally, of which the above number were locally-assembled units.

The final production schedule of the E90 paves the way for the introduction of the highly- anticipated sixth-gen F30, which is set to be introduced in Malaysia very shortly – the car has already been spotted around town, after all.

Anthony Lim believes that nothing is better than a good smoke and a car with character, with good handling aspects being top of the prize heap. Having spent more than a decade and a half with an English tabloid daily never being able to grasp the meaning of brevity or being succinct, he wags his tail furiously at the idea of waffling - in greater detail - about cars and all their intrinsic peculiarities here.

• drgn86 on Mar 09, 2012 at 2:00 pm

“The E90 was the first BMW to have ever been locally assembled,” I thought the E32 was the one… Please correct me if I am wrong…

• Anthony Lim (Member) on Mar 09, 2012 at 3:12 pm

The car was the first model to be assembled at the BMW plant in Kulim; it wasn’t made clear in the story earlier, and has since been amended to reflect that.

• Leave a Comment on Mar 09, 2012 at 2:22 pm

Seriously, is there any difference between this locally assembled one and imported one? in term of assembly quality?

• kurakura on Mar 09, 2012 at 2:41 pm

enough laaaa…. x yakin dengan kebolehan tenaga negara sendiri. how long will you be like that?!

• armmar on Mar 10, 2012 at 10:56 pm

kualiti superb..
        we produce premier car……..
        dont worry…

kalu nk tau… salah satu beli bmw pun.. nk cari yg ckd mcm nni…

• VOLVO FOR LIFE on Mar 09, 2012 at 5:50 pm

there would still be certain quality, fit and finish issues. nothing is perfect though but the benefits of a ckd car is that the car is more suitable for usage in our country as the materials have been localised or tuned to our conditions.

• exprt22 on Mar 10, 2012 at 11:09 am

nonsense! their weather condition there much more harsher than ours, summer or winter…

• VOLVO FOR LIFE on Mar 12, 2012 at 9:02 pm

not really.their harshest weather is during winter but ours is harsher during summer. i can’t exactly explain this but the cbu version which is tropicalised for malaysia from bmw vs the cbu model from uk which has not been tropicalised are two different cars.

• mohd90210 on Mar 09, 2012 at 6:09 pm

Very good question, i also very curious as to the locally assembled units’ quality, any owners/sales rep to share experience here?

• people want to car maker make car here…yet the complaint wont stop..that st*p*d…u want or not want? If want dont complaint, live with it..

• cannot bring T/C/H/N to build plant here = complain.
      locally CKD = complain.
      haters gonna hate no matter what.

• carnoisseur on Mar 09, 2012 at 2:48 pm

I think they were referring to the Kulim plant

• The last of the line… I wonder who will be the lucky one to get this final E90?

• Errr…lucky? Seriously?
      I pity the owner…unless he got a great discount/promotion..then its ok..

• umm, lucky in the sense that he got the final E90 that was assembled in here. That’s considered to be quite unique. Maybe BMW should have put some sort of marking or decals at the car to show the number 8930 on it.

• Jeremy Clarkson on Mar 09, 2012 at 3:13 pm

So does the last few E90 in the production line will be sold cheaper than the new F30? Just wondering… If anyone knows this answer me please =)

• Kokoi on Mar 09, 2012 at 3:34 pm

Of course lorr salesman told me 218000 for 320. 228000 for 323

• erwinkarim on Mar 09, 2012 at 4:46 pm

they are clearing out the stocks everywhere. so it’s the used premium selection or you get a lot of freebies from BMW. they did the same thing for F10

the final E60 batch got 19″ wheels, all the options ticked, so it’s not a bad deal at all…

• RedBeanBun on Mar 09, 2012 at 10:27 pm

when you see the F30 CBU at RM300K over, and later the CKD at RM250K for basic, its very easy to decide, then people will think why don’t i get a 320 earlier at RM210K…:)

• x-vios on Mar 09, 2012 at 4:31 pm

I wonder whether the Thai people or Indon people complain why BMW choose to assemble here and not in their country….

• hway de Cruz on Mar 09, 2012 at 4:45 pm

even though locally assembled, but still heavily and insanely taxed by gomen…..

• d driver on Mar 09, 2012 at 8:30 pm

I wan real world car price, n i also wan real world petrol price. How i drive n plan my journey is my f&@cking bzns, i just wan the real deal. Not the so called fuel subsidy n totally unacceptable tax imposed on marvelous driving machines.

• nighttrain on Mar 09, 2012 at 7:20 pm

these 320s final batch are fitted with specs equavalent to 335s.. everything in. at super low prices too..

• Sonic on Mar 09, 2012 at 11:51 pm

I suggest getting this for everyday driving as its maintenance free for 5 years..
    and get the F30 for weekends.. hahahaha….

• Supertram on Mar 11, 2012 at 5:43 am

end of life , still looking damn good.

• Hi,

Was just wondering if anyone has Any inkling as to when the new f30 Will be assembled locally in malaysia-I understand There is no announcement as yet but based to previous
    Experience what is the usual period btw CBU and the CKD assembly In malaysia for other bmw models could anyone provide any opinion on this? Any advice is greatly appreciated
    Thanks