BREAKING: CKD Volkswagen Passat 1.8 TSI available now for RM170,888, same spec as CBU model

UPDATE: More info from today’s event added.

We just got home from Pekan, Pahang, where DRB-Hicom and Volkswagen unveiled the CKD Volkswagen Passat 1.8 TSI in an event officiated by PM Datuk Seri Najib Tun Razak. Locally assembled by DRB-Hicom at its sprawling and growing Pekan facility, the D-segment sedan is now available at Volkswagen dealerships nationwide at RM170,888.

This is one variant of a future strategy for the Passat family that will eventually see the CKD range priced between RM169,888 and RM184,888. The Passat is already roaming our streets, in fully-imported CBU form, since Volkswagen Group Malaysia launched it last October. The CBU car was priced at RM184,888 – click here to read the review.

We drove the CKD Passat today, and it appears that spec-wise, it’s exactly the same as the CBU unit we reviewed. That means a 1.8 TSI turbocharged engine with 160 PS and 250 Nm from 1,500 to 4,200 rpm. Mated to a seven-speed DSG gearbox, it does 0-100 km/h in 8.5 seconds and gets all the way to 220 km/h.

Bi-Xenons with integrated LED daytime running lights, LED tail lamps, multi-spoke “Minneapolis” 17-inch alloys and 235/45 CSC3 rubber, six airbags, semi-auto seats, cruise control, electric parking brake with auto-hold function and hill-hold control, PDC for the front and rear and a RCD 510 6.5-inch touchscreen head unit are standard kit.

At the event in Pekan, it was revealed that CKD assembly for the Passat started in October last year, and 311 units have been completed to date. Dr Christof Spathelf, Volkswagen AG’s senior VP, Group Manufacturing Overseas, assured that the CKD Passat’s quality is the same as that coming out from Germany. “We don’t compromise on quality,” he said, adding that key DRB-Hicom staff were sent to Europe for training.

“Nowadays, localisation takes a much more important role. At Volkswagen, we have the goal to assemble vehicles within the region of sales. This is what we call ‘local for local’. In combination with German engineering, proven quality standards and high performance, each vehicle we manufacture is a true Volkswagen,” added Spathelf.

The eventual local content target is 40%, and when that is achieved, VW will consider exports to the ASEAN region and even to right-hand-drive markets beyond the region. 2014 is the target. Currently, DRB-Hicom and VW are in the process of assessing local vendors, and so far, 20 out of 27 have passed VW’s “no compromise on quality” standards. The whole process will take 12 to 18 months, but for now, much of the car is shipped in from Europe in kits.

Click here for our review of the Passat, and a full gallery.

Danny Tan loves driving as much as he loves a certain herbal meat soup, and sweet engine music as much as drum beats. He has been in the auto industry since 2006, previously filling the pages of two motoring magazines before joining this website. Enjoys detailing the experience more than the technical details.

• TANKADO on Mar 12, 2012 at 12:14 am

Great. Now it’s more affordable!

• blablabla on Mar 12, 2012 at 1:13 am

We also want CKD for Jetta!!!
      And pls improve the interior of the Jetta.

• True that!

Knowing that the Passat now sells for a cheaper price but SAME spec as CBU is great. I pity the current Passat owners but then wasnt it made public that VW will eventually assemble them locally? so they had it coming.

Once Jetta CKD comes out, ill definitely pay a visit to the VW showroom :D

• francis on Mar 12, 2012 at 10:37 am

Yoyo..

Current Passat owner wont too “hurt” la..anyway they are driving CBU with CBU quality.. If you had any chances.. try out any of CBU and CKD mercedes.. Not to compare the accessories offered but to compare the build-quality and ride feel..
          You will surely feel it..

Like or Dislike: Thumb up 1 Thumb down 10
          • go naza1 on Mar 12, 2012 at 12:35 pm

yea, my cpu made in malaysia feels slower than cpu made in usa.

my tv also. my neighbour’s boy made in usa is smarter than the one opposite my house which is made in kl.

so, i guess even using the same process and QC, the quality is really different.\

i heard local CKD passat handles like a myvi only. i dunno why.

• Your comments are done with a humor but yes there is a room for reflection. I dont think CBU and CKD should be different. Rather I believe if we buy a good brand which is CKD (means assembled locally) it should be better than the CBU. This CBU and CKD thing is just in our imagination. Why CKD is better?? Because they take care of local conditions, they give more equipment, like gadgets, and they give a competitive price. I would always prefer CKD over CBU, at least malaysian workers get some money from it, some jobs are created, and we get the same or better quality if the brand is good (specially european brands). Its a win win situation. Go CKD Go.

• hahahaha, don’t think the germans will agree with you on that… they have a ‘german reputation’ to upkeep.

• edmund on Mar 13, 2012 at 12:19 am

Guys..

Francis said is right.. i dont know about mercedes.. but my ckd santa fe… is piece of shit… there are all kind of ‘tik tak’ sound from behind, from the seat… from site door.. cant be rectified… need to leave the car for checking… Who wants to buy car and leave at service center?!!!
            said.. the sound from the door is normal.. cos of the leather.. ??!!

this is DRB HICOM !!!

• gurunathan on Apr 26, 2013 at 10:05 am

I agree with you bro – horrible quality from the CKD assembled model by the morons in Pekan! Having had the passat for just over a month now, here are all the issues I have picked up:

1. Bluetooth handsfree isn’t standard (even the Mazda 2 has it as standard)

2. Sound intrusion into the cabin is HORRIBLE! I am constantly thinking how a Honda might perform even better

3. Dashboard rattles after just 100km – and I drive on the streets of bangsar!

4. Horrible build quality all around! Worst VAG experience given that my other car is a 2000 model Audi A6 from UK.

5. Engine noise is just as intrusive, even at the lower revs.

Obviously DRB-Hicom and VW just want your money and don’t care about complaints. They’re just ruining the VW brand with their shoddy build quality!

• mahalnyerrrr

• lovescars on Mar 12, 2012 at 12:19 am

A small savings for the consumer. Car manufacturers know that the 10k-15k mark always works. Does not matter if they save 30k or more in the cost. Let’s pray VW quality on CKD will not be like BMW’s of which is notorious.

• exprt22 on Mar 12, 2012 at 2:15 am

CKD BMW really so ‘notorious’ ?? any owners mind to share the bad experience?

• VOLVO FOR LIFE on Mar 12, 2012 at 1:05 pm

friend’s cartrade 5 series e39 vs auto bavaria 5 series e39

CBU e39 – still working

CKD e39 – sudah potong

• i had a ckd bmw and most items like rubber hoses,seats were low standard..those days the windows were made by msg instead of sekurit and were a little thinner..paintwork was really low quality as well..today i have a 6 yr old cbu e60 and seems all good..

• SpeakUp on Mar 12, 2012 at 7:25 pm

I own a CKD beemer, it was purchased brand new and not second hand, so I can tell you first hand yeah its full of problems. :0) Google it la … they tell me now the F10 also got issues. As usual …

• jenny ping on Mar 12, 2012 at 12:34 am

This car is much more fuglierest trillion times than P3-21A yet still expensive…..ppffftttt…

• What? looks ugly than the P3-21blabla ? with higher tax of coz it’s still expensive than the National cars plus VW is better than the Potongs …facts it’s looks more luxury,high quality and better looking than the so-called P3-21A !

• jenny ping on Mar 12, 2012 at 1:37 am

Hi..nice to meet you..=)

• jenny ping on Mar 12, 2012 at 2:54 am

If u dont respect national car, just get lost from malaysia and apply germany citizenship ya…if u all agree with me, please thumb up and thumb down me..keh3..

Like or Dislike: Thumb up 7 Thumb down 22
          • what is the relationship between national car with our malaysian citizenship?dont just talking bullshit here,admit it that ur lovely protong is more ugly than this car

• This thing post something like everyones love me..keh2…or thumb up and thumb down me..keh3.. this kid is rubbish lolx !

• I don’t see any of his words that is disrespectful towards P1. He just stated the obvious. (Did he used insulting words?)

And also, be respectful to others, please don’t tell people to get lost from their country, this is disrespectful.

Have a good day. :)

• Nissan on Mar 12, 2012 at 9:19 am

i want to know if any of our rulers or the PM or the minister are using national car. Dare you ask them to change citizenship? Think again before you ask anybody to change his citizenship. Being patriotic doesn’t mean that you must blindly support national product.

• true..only childish thinking would say,xsuka jgn duduk malaysia..very unclever thinking

• Littlebear on Mar 12, 2012 at 9:30 am

How can we respect our national car when they are always giving us shit#%* % quality cars.

• droll on Mar 12, 2012 at 10:12 am

sorry, but this comment doesn’t get my support.

if more people leave, it is worse for malaysia. hate this “tak suka, keluar lah!” mentality.

when these folks leave, they bring along with them a lot of disposable income and tax revenue that would otherwise be spent in this country.

• Idiot – nuff said

• daamz on Mar 12, 2012 at 2:21 pm

Jenny.. wat kind of ppl r u? haha.. P1 is national car, but yet they sell below par car to malaysian who paid the taxes everyday. P1 build from rakyat money, but after 35 years used rakyat money (berbillion lol), the Gomen sell it to the private company? So, what do u want to say now?????? All GLC should give benefit to rakyat after rakyat give their money. Think about it.

Unlike Petronas. Petronas much2 better. They make money and give benefit to rakyat (at least), even though i believe they should make more than now. i’m not really understand why petronas can not counqured malaysia market.

• kekke.. if you see a person standing beside the road the saluting to a piece of proton crap metal, must be jenny ping paying respect to national car.. bcos jenny “bing” liao.. (sick mentally)..

• I wish to be German citizen but i have no choice coz i’m such a poor guy but still can afford non National cars :) good luck lolx

• jenny ping on Mar 12, 2012 at 1:02 pm

wow..everyones love me..keh2…its like one of the sitcom “everybody loves Me not Raymond” hah..is it??huhu..=p

• ‘wow..everyones love me..keh2’…sorry everbody is hating u..hahahaha

• kington on Mar 12, 2012 at 8:34 am

Looks are subjective… and to be comparing the upcoming Proton with the Passat is almost unheard of.

• danedz on Mar 12, 2012 at 12:38 am

the price is not much different compare to CBU model.Expected should be at least RM30K cheaper….

• too early to mark down further discount …. progressive discount like 407 soon … or better interest rates.

• francis on Mar 12, 2012 at 10:48 am

danedz..

Agree with you.. If a person can afford a car with the pricing range around ~180K..
      14K wont make any differences.
      Those loaded people can afford simply can throw ~50K or more as car downpayment..

If pricing drops to 30K… this will attracts much more people even middle class-earner (those D-Segment T & H buyer-range). But of course I think pricing too low will create issue to those bought CBU model..Remove some of the accessories perhaps can justify the pricing..

• bad sadly it is still a uncle/ah pek-looking car… doesn’t look like a car that could do zero2Hundred within 10’s…

• BeemerFreak on Mar 12, 2012 at 2:15 am

Good isnt it…….when an uncle could surprise a stupid looking waja or satria……Thats the point of a VW. Underpromising overdelivering

• nowadays even ahbeng’s car can do less than 10’s

• BeemerFreak on Mar 12, 2012 at 11:33 pm

Yeah and breakdown about 1km further down the road because turbos got no intercooler.

• More choices is always good.

An article on Passat, 508, Mondeo camparison would be great, given the price point

• VOLVO FOR LIFE on Mar 12, 2012 at 12:41 am

disappointed. the savings of 10k isn’t significant. vw perhaps you could have gave some added kit. and the reliability of ckd vw cars in malaysia is still untried and untested.

• mareshian on Mar 12, 2012 at 12:42 am

Didn’t VW claim they wouldn’t be CKD-ing models that are being sold locally as CBU?

• RM170,888 at VW website: http://my.volkswagen.com/etc/medialib/vwcms/virtualmaster/my/models1/passat0/content.Par.0034.File.pdf/passat_ckd_pm.pdf

• ahshuy on Mar 12, 2012 at 12:44 am

danny, make a comparison between passat and camry/accord please.

• francis on Mar 12, 2012 at 10:50 am

danny, make a comparison between passat and camry/accord please.

+ Mondeo + Sonata + K5 + Teanna + CBU Passat too !!

• Aerotourer on Mar 12, 2012 at 12:46 am

Disapointed by the price only reduce RM10K and same spec as CBU.

• taboogen on Mar 12, 2012 at 12:56 am

wow like asking makcik to sell nasi lemak kosong for 50cent.. commonl lah.. cannot afford dont buy lor..

• C’mon la DRB-Hicom, I seriously expected it to sell around 160k or below, or at least equally priced at the Accord or Camry.

Btw Danny, since you had already drove the CKD version, any obvious quality flaws that differentiate this between the CBU model? We Malaysians always have a bad feeling all German CKD cars here have worse quality than the CBUs.

• Danny Tan (Member) on Mar 12, 2012 at 1:15 am

No. even the smell in the cabin is the same familiar VW scent we’ve been inhaling for the past few years. The story has been updated, do go through it again

• Thanks for the insight! If quality do not differ from Germany models then I really hope they could assemble the facelifted CC here.

Obviously that would never happen but who knows. Then it can be priced at around 210k-220k. But then it will be competing against the Golf GTI price-wise.

Hmmm…..aiya just assemble the whole range here! Haha. :D

• Danny, is it because the 40% local content is not there yet? Hence its practically everything from overseas. Would the quality be different once 40% is reached?

• Danny Tan (Member) on Mar 12, 2012 at 11:18 am

Yes, it will take awhile before the local content hits 40%, as mentioned in the story

• Danny, does it means that Passat CKD 2012 model is better than 2013 model and so on?

• askme on Mar 12, 2012 at 8:37 am

this Passat B7 is against 2.4 Camry/Accord not the 2.0. Look at the spec bro..

• nas-T on Mar 12, 2012 at 12:58 am

What do you expect? RM23 000.00?

• RedBeanBun on Mar 12, 2012 at 1:04 am

now you know who pockets the money..with all this companies buy over and cronies strategy

why VW CKD still expensive? its DRB. (sorry VW CBU owners..)

why Protong is expensive still? its DRB (sorry all Malaysian)

wait for Polo Sedan OEM and (sorry all Protong P3xxx buyers..)

and Syed is aim to be the richest in Msia soon…regardless who is running Putrajaya..

unless you change the law that all wealth under corrupted government with abusing power will be frozen..(like HK during the ICAC formed days)

• no name on Mar 12, 2012 at 1:21 am

then what do you expect? how about you go and become the PM… i bet MY will be gone tomorrow and bankrupt immediately

• johndol on Mar 12, 2012 at 2:06 am

having worked for this guy, following his story i seriously dun mind if he even becoming the richest man in the world. 100 times better than giving other top 10 wealthiest people money. He spent his money open up Al-Bukhary foundation for the poor, spend millions for them. If you ever work directly under him you will know how down to earth this man is. but then again, even good people got people so dengki with him

back to the topic, i thought i saw the launching of passat cc r line by the PM. will it be CKD’ed also? anyone know?

• askme on Mar 12, 2012 at 8:35 am

Passat CC R that was here yesterday was only display model by VW. CKD implies only to Passat B7, and soon Polo and Jetta. No other model discussed so far but there may be additional models as well.

• ryuki on Mar 12, 2012 at 10:17 am

Yep, saw that too.
        Saw the pics of Passat CC R Line, Golf R and Sharan at the launch.

• WOW! YOU WORK FOR SYED MOKHTAR!….IN THE SAME OFFICE? WOW!!!
        If I were you I will be very tempted to put rat poison in his morning tosai and paraquat in his teh tarik.
        He is the one and only reason why we pay gold price for wrought iron……………. Due to the european crisis , VW germany decided to sell the Passat at about RM57,000 in europe and around the world! Can you believe it? RM57,000!!!
        Your boss enjoys subsidies to make proton a success but colludes with every other manufacturer to bring down proton. What a con job!…….. sigh

• Mickey McFinnigan on Mar 12, 2012 at 1:19 pm

Hey Max, I live in Newington, London and I could not find any VW Passat for the price that you quoted me. Every dealership here quoted me somewhere around £20390 to £22990 (you do the math) for 1.8 TSI model. I really need to drive to my workplace, even having to cough up the £10 daily for congestion charge during office hours. But with the £1.38 per litre fuel price this day, having a fuel economical VW Passat will be smashing!

Cheers mate.

• Ooops! you’re right, price starts at GBP20,765 for the 2.5L 2012 Passat. After “grappling” with the math , I found out it is about RM 65,825 plus minus a few cents . Sorry for the anxiety I might have caused you.

• It is USD 20,765 instead of GBP. Sorry!

• askme on Mar 12, 2012 at 2:11 pm

bro MAX, use ur brain not emo..cheers..

• BeemerFreak on Mar 12, 2012 at 2:19 am

Richest man in malaysia? Maybe not this lifetime. He is still too far away from Robert Kuok and Ananda Krishnan…………Unless he finally owns malaysia

• sukasuki on Mar 12, 2012 at 8:34 am

this syed bukhary never aim to be the richest man in malaysia, because he spend half of his wealth for the albukhary foundation. do u know that robert kuok only give 10million for his own foundation? and yet also same with ananda krishnan, buying a huge property in australia, but in other hand gives little amount of money for charity?and yet always want to increase the price of the astro although nowadays astro have a lot of commercial ads? thats the different between humble and pious person like syed bukhary compared to other billionaire in malaysia.

• VOLVO FOR LIFE on Mar 12, 2012 at 2:29 pm

what’s the point of giving your own money for your own foundation, when the money never belonged to you in the first plae. syed mokhtar is a crook. u can ISA me, send me to jail. do it. but this guy is worse than satan.

• BeemerFreak on Mar 12, 2012 at 3:16 pm

Sorry Robert kuok only giving 10 million to who? Eh as the saying goes, why give someone the fish when u can teach him to fish. Robert kuok through his kuok foundation has given over 200 million in scholarships. And furthermore true philanthropist never reveals his own deeds. You can praise SAB how you like but the fact will always be fact

• VOLVO FOR LIFE on Mar 12, 2012 at 2:27 pm

Syed Mokhtar is a total liar. The Al-Bukhary foundation is just a mask to cover up his wrongdoings. Do you know how many people he has cheated over the years, i have no idea how many of my friends are still in debt because of him and I even have a friend who committed suicide beause of him. he enjoys not paying up his payments fully while he continues becoming rich. He cons everyone regardless if you are malay, chinese or indian. Don’t be a fool. You are lucky you work for him, we have to slave for him.

• Glee Power on Mar 13, 2012 at 11:26 am

oh please you haven’t had it bad. not only that this guy did not honour my contract refused to pay, he filed a lawsuit against me for not completing my work on time and i had to pay him after doing work for him. no joke. this country is governed by the rich and powerful. justice does not exist. but life goes on and its a good lesson learnt.

• hey lets start a tikam game of how many units can they sale by the end of the year. me @ 150 unit the most.

• I’m just happy that they have not touch the holy grail of VW for now- the Golf!

• Perhaps, Passat sedan 1.4TSI 160ps with below RM150,000 will better if VW serious over Malaysian buyers.

• how about the Jetta for RM130K ?

• yeap, and bring the Sharan 1.4tsi too…the 2.0 is too expensive…..wish we can have the tdi version, more torque but frugal too, damn our diesel quality

• If VW really serious they’ll sell at below RM160 000

• eter23 on Mar 12, 2012 at 8:05 am

If Karl is serious he’ll make his salary at above RM160 000

• ABTguy on Mar 12, 2012 at 9:17 am

VW is serious, but unfortunately there are many cronies around in Malaysia who wanted to jack prices up.

In relative terms, if you look at what ppl get from T&H on their 2.0 or 2.4 model, and no. of passive safety features, they are blown away.

I think by the age we are, we can’t complain why in Malaysia cars are expensive, or ether comparing with US / UK. If you want a cheap car, I suggest you study harder, work hard and smart, bring a better life for your children or migrate.

To change the G…….. we need a lot of collective wills and bolds. I will and I won’t give up hopes, you need to act on it too plzzzz….

• golfgti on Mar 12, 2012 at 7:00 pm

lol, possibly wait till the year end, you may get even lower, I guess

• No Plans To Rebadge Volkswagen Polo To Replace Proton Saga, Says DRB-Hicom

• Maggimee on Mar 12, 2012 at 7:26 am

Can never please the Malaysian buyer.. When it was 180k everyone complained it was expensive. Now that it’s cheaper than the Camry 2.4 everyone still complain it’s expensive. Might as well sell the car at 90k or better.. have it for free.

• arcana on Mar 12, 2012 at 7:09 pm

I agree, rm170k was within my estimate and gladly its cheaper than japs with more kit.
      I dont understand why ppl are hoping for rm30k cut, which is so impossible.
      Did u guys even compare the spec of a rm150k jap car to the passat?
      on a side note the ckd model of mazda 3 only cuts rm10k of the price tag.

• tmsoo on Mar 12, 2012 at 7:28 am

Rm10K cheaper did not encourage much. I would rather pay for CBU.

• that’s true. cos when u’re already in this price bracket, 10k is negligible if u can better quality & a true blue german cbu! most would agree that they would prefer to pay the 10k cbu premium just to have their cars shipped out whole from Wolfsburg, Germany!

• Maserati on Mar 12, 2012 at 7:34 am

Its a good car but nowhere as great as bmw or mercedes..

• MovingForward on Mar 12, 2012 at 7:48 pm

In what aspect..?. comfort? badge? frugality?. No, you don’t know.

• Lynas on Mar 12, 2012 at 8:03 am

Luv this car….. 508 still can sell?? hemm…………
    btw, Fartin’ Adnan…. bikin rosak itu gambar!! Apasal tak tunjuk gesture lucah lu and suruh sume org “go to hell”????

• However, icing on the cake would be Hybrid Passat-Jetta (quite slow moving model) Hybrid.

The “micro-mild” Passat demonstrator has an output of 142PS (140hp) and 275Nm of torque, up from the standard engine’s 122PS (120hp) and 200Nm, rivaling the performance of normally aspirated 2.0-liter cars.

Yet it emits less than 130 g/km of CO2, which is 10 g/km less than the already best-in-class figure of the standard Passat 1.4 TSI – and 23 percent less than the comparable 1.8-liter Passat TSI.

The Passat Cc replacement or mere CC with 1.4 TSI can push toward RM200,000 bracket and definitely better TIV.

• autojohndoe on Mar 12, 2012 at 8:35 am

aiya… Malaysia back to assembly cars…

and ppl are happy with it…

so ppl… dont bother to ask why we dont progress… bcoz we choose to not progress…

• loveit on Mar 12, 2012 at 8:41 am

Oh VW please bring the hybrid…and priced is CKDly…

• Gebang on Mar 12, 2012 at 8:49 am

Pada sidang media itu juga beliau ditanya mengenai adakah benar ura-ura Volkswagen Polo bakal dijadikan sebagai model Proton benar dan jawapannya adalah tidak benar sama sekali. Hanya spekulasi dari pihak media dan tiada kaitan dengan DRB-HICOM. Menurutnya, DRB-HICOM tidak bercadang untuk rebadge mana-mana jenama luar sebagai kereta Proton. Ia merupakan satu langkah kebelakang kerana Proton telah wujud selama 27 tahun dan sepatutnya perlu terus dipacu kehadapan.

Hahahahaha…..

• can just dump the price rm20K like that……..pity the current owners who bought theirs at 190k.

price dumping becuase VW aint getting the projected volumes with the passat as they expected they would….

• Baba O'Reilly on Mar 12, 2012 at 11:48 am

They’re aggressive to achieve their sales targets. But yeah why do they have to drop so much? Why not just have a seamless transition from CBU to CKD? I think earlier they had 190k -20k discount so now just about RM170k lah. But the question is do they still have that 20k discount or nothing given now?

• laluan sehala on Mar 12, 2012 at 2:28 pm

they’re just kicking the butts of those who bought the CBU before. just see the used value of their CBU passat drop like a stone. knowing vw, they will also throw discounts for the newly CKD’d car as their objective is to gain market share at all costs even at the expense of the buyer.

• K-Man on Mar 12, 2012 at 10:28 pm

Well, they’ve been discounting the TSi via pre-reg, overtrades, quick sale of demo cars etc at more than RM10k simply because they want to ‘buy’ market share. I think even the Polo can be bought cheaply despite the sky high price tag. So, the actual value is lower than what’s on the price list. Good for buyers now but when it comes to the time to sell, then they will feel the consequences of the heavy discounting. But then, maybe they want to keep the car for a very long time… a bit like Volvo’s old tag line ‘Volvo for life’ ;)

• laluan sehala on Mar 12, 2012 at 10:29 pm

precisely!

• Garfield on Mar 12, 2012 at 8:59 am

In case some of u guys may not realize, VW’s target market for this car would be the corporate (company-registered) cars. Govt had increased the tax break for company cars’ depreciation up to 170K starting this year (used to be 150K). So it had been ‘designed’ to benefit this Passat just in time.

My point is, no need to dream it would drop any further than this for this segment.

• carnoisseur on Mar 12, 2012 at 9:01 am

I think the jetta will be next . By the way , this car is not ugly at all for those of you who think it is . It is a pure minimalist german design that only people with understanding of the finer elements in life can appreciate .It is not a design that shouts our loud nor is it exhibitionist in nature .

• 4G63T DSM on Mar 12, 2012 at 9:03 am

For those that deem its not cheap enough for the CKD, absolutely correct.

But then again, VW wont be stupid enough to undercut the Camry and Accord even if they can. Why would they? Besides, its already under the Camry 2.4V in price and matches spec to spec. if not better….which just shows how expensive the Japanese sedans are.

Interestingly so, its only 7 grand more than the Sonata 2.4L… I would guess that one would rather spend that extra 5% and get a proper German engineered sedan with better specs.

• Power8003 on Mar 12, 2012 at 5:38 pm

I total agreed with you that Japanese car in the Malaysia are overprice. But this does not give a green light for VW to be super overprice. If price different of RM14k, I would like rather take the CBU unit anytime. CKD mean cheaper taxes and using local content.For me a price a reduction of RM14k is completely a rip off in my point of view. If someone said that VW is a premium brand, please rethink again, in us or europe or some of the country, it is consider a normal car for daily use. just like Japanese car. They are still below brand like Audi, Benz and BMW.

• lchan on Mar 12, 2012 at 9:13 am

14K cheaper only?….wtf?

• Medicineman on Mar 12, 2012 at 9:26 am

A 1.8cc CKD model going for RM170,000, VW Malaysia must surely be testing the malaysian car buyers’ pain treshold in these trying times. But its a supply and demand economy and i believe a reduced price elasticity of 20% and a little less add-ons in equipment for RM 142,000 – 148,000 ought to move these babies.

• abit disappointed, i expect it should around $160k.. i doubt those who affort this car will care $15k different or not.. anywhere at least now camry/accord/sonata/K5/508 got another competitor prise wise around $150-$170k… more D-segment car to choose…

• blurberry on Mar 12, 2012 at 10:20 am

You guys do not know what u talking about ….. VW Passat compare with Honda Accord/Toyota Camry?

You are comparing Mid Range Car (Passat ) with Low Cost Car (Accord/Camry) mana boleh compare….Passat componenst come from Europe…. Accord Camry come from Thailand wor…..

But having said that, the US Passat has been positioned to complete with Camry and Accord better…by using lower quality material and a bigger body…to compare with Camry/Accord…

Our Passat is European model with comprehensive kit la….

• $15k still money what..if u can afford that car would you mind giving away $15k for free to anybody?

anyway $15k still means something..eventually with more localisation it will go down further..chill la bro..always ask for the sun and moon..

• rally_fan on Mar 12, 2012 at 10:28 am

I dont think they view the japanese as direct competition and they also believe they have a “brand premium” over their japanese rivals, hence the higher prices in general. Everyone wants to sell at a higher price to make more profit. With the right brand premium, you can do that, and VW is exploiting it. people can moan and complain all they want, but VW is definitely not finding any shortage of buyers in malaysia.

• Everybody whines like a bitch. When passat was selling here during previous gen. It was 220k++. Now it reaches 170k+. u all still whine. Better dont buy. This car is meant for those camry n accord buyer to haveorw choices. Even its 1.8. It can wasily smoke camry 2.4 la. Those who can buy, good for u all. Those who cant and yet whine non stop. Pls go somewhere else. Thank u. This article is for VW fans.

• Alex CH on Mar 13, 2012 at 1:30 am

Well said John. Just took delivery of my Passat last week (CBU) after months of deliberating on the options. The turning point was the special CNY package from VW, which made the CBU more or less about the same price as the CKD version. No regret, totally enjoying the car now. Its a great car, solid body, 1.8 turbo & 250Nm torque from 1500 rpm onward. I mean what more do you want, a German made car for RM170K+ only? Bear in mind Merc starting point (for the C200) is RM265k.

• Merc=Real Euro on Mar 12, 2012 at 10:22 am

10K reduction are u serious…..30K then I say VW is serious about making in road in malaysia…. and 170K is not on the road yet with insurance….

Like i said before vw cars in malaysia is overpriced by 30-40K…
    If it is high quality and reliable and durable then maybe worth the additional
    premium but so far… if you see in mudah there are many 1-2 years old golf is already for sale. What does that tell you. ? . Owner upgrading ? yes maybe one or two cars but so many of them selling !!. Do search for other makes and it is hard to find cars aged 1-2 yrs for sale!!!!!. This is a telling sign what lies beneath….. My guess is reliability issue, high servicing cost and dwindling value is forcing those to reconsider their decision. You can imagine those who took 9 years loan will be stuck for sometime or if ever !!!.

Again do get me wrong…I am all for vw if they price it reasonably and injected with solid engineering not gimmick that fail and you send to service frequently and worse still leave it overnight…not exceptable for car costing over 100K.

• rally_fan on Mar 12, 2012 at 12:47 pm

you definitely have some interesting points, but end of the day, pretty speculative. i don’t have any VW’s, yet (jetta delivered in 2 weeks time).. although in my family, we have the rest of the german marques including your favourite(no japanese).. but i’m sure VW didn’t get where they are today by selling gimmicks.

i suppose i’ll soon find out if what you say is merely speculation, or truth. but on a whole, im pretty confident with VW and what they’re offering currently.

• BeemerFreak on Mar 12, 2012 at 11:37 pm

No worries on owning a VW. I have a scirocco for 3 years, it has not given me any headaches for nearly 80 000km done. Good car and great way to start your morning.

• Why are you writing like utusan and tv3? Just pluck something from the air and say these are facts…all speculation with no evidence whatsoever.. In other words fitnah..just like what utusan likes to do

• big boy on May 22, 2012 at 7:28 am

lol:-)u still dont know malaysian attitude!buy expensive car used it for 2 to 3 months and they will let go cos cannot afford the monthly installment…

• vincent on Mar 12, 2012 at 10:30 am

They should have make it 171k INCLUSIVE of insurance.

• This will kill off all the 2.4s from T/H/N

• Rulered on Mar 12, 2012 at 11:05 am

Just wondering whether the SW version will be introduced as CKD?

• joe_232 on Mar 12, 2012 at 12:20 pm

DRB-Hicom; FOC ideas from me to steal some market from T/H consumers (like me) :

1. Priced it at 150K nett (all in)
    2. 3 years free service & labour
    3. 5 years unlimited warranty
    4. Freebies amounting to $3K

The price of 150K is Realistic dah..over confident, sombong lak tu.
    Rather than cakap besar heboh kat semua but price is not much beza ngan CBU.
    U ingat org x tau ke U dah enjoy the benefits of CKDing it?
    napela ramai lagi yg insaf2 lagi n still supporting the current govt sampai ke lubang cacing….macamna la negara ni boleh keluar dari kezaliman Org2 yg memang perosak Negara…..

• Fyi, all VW come with :

2). Yes, already provided 3 years free service & labour ( service interval for 15k, 30k & 45k FOC…fyi, service intervals is every 15k)
      3) Yes already provided with 5 yrs unlimited mileage warranty plus 5 yrs mobility guaranteed
      4) This you need to sweet talk the Sales Adviser…

only missing is the price not below 150K for the passat

• tun tansari on Mar 12, 2012 at 12:26 pm

price is high for ckd model, 145k good la

• Kok Chi on Mar 12, 2012 at 12:41 pm

Camry and Accord also CKD la… Yet they are more expensive than the Passat. How can Japanese be more expensive than German and the Passat has more kit.

• Merc=Real Euro on Mar 12, 2012 at 2:18 pm

good point unfortunately in malaysia manufactures dont set the price…it is miti.. so whether cbu or ,ckd made in balakong with indon labour… the price is fixed by miti.
        What manufacure can do since they are forced to sell at high price..is give more kit.
        But the problem is once you are used to getting 40% margin it is hard to reduce the expectation to the company shareholders… So once the earning is set it is hard to reduce. So the whole system is wrong…. As for WV this is what they need to do to compete head to head with Camry or Accord. Price at 150K OTR with 3-5 or 100,000km years free maintenance…. That will definitely will shake up the major player.

Remember TSI and DSG alone will not win over accord and camry buyer.
        Since vw strength is not reliability or durability then they should try another way to win over and that is by offering free service.
        VW must understand the mind of T&H buyer. It is not the gadget and the gizmo. It is
        the piece of mind. And yes T&H also will have issue but it is not as severe as conti cars. So the only way to strike at the heart of T&H buyer is offer free services.
        This will make them think…hard…leaving the resale value aside from the discussion.

Resale value is depends on how good is your product. IF Majority of the population have good ownership experience then will definitely result in good resale value.
        Again this is not attained over night but rather over time through 2 model generation. So the key is continuous good ownership experience.
        Agreed….??. VW dont flatter yourself with gimmicks…they are nice but deliver quality and tried and tested technology. Deliver strong product with good ownership experience otherwise…you will see 1-2 years
        vw car for sale (dumping)…in mudah like what is happening right now….

• Power8003 on Mar 12, 2012 at 5:51 pm

Do not forget, maintenance of VW is not cheap. It is like a maintenaning a european car. Ppl will take into consideration when buying the car. I think VW should price it car cheaper for now until they get customer confidence before they can price the car higher.

• u sure service maintenance are higher than Japs….take a look at “H” maintenance cost for every 5k interval, can refer to their website. VW service intervals are for every 15k. If u add up every 5k (3 times servicing for “H” = 1 time servicing for VW) cost of servicing for a “H” brand and compared to VW once every 15k…..more the less the same and i can bet “H” srvicing can be more expensive

• Power8003 on Mar 12, 2012 at 9:12 pm

I have just checked H first 15k ard RM550 and another 15k ard RM950. I would like to tell u that change oil and filter for DSG is very expensive. Do you know the price for VW services?

• Merc=Real Euro on Mar 12, 2012 at 9:53 pm

bro..i got news for u… servicing at 15,000 is not viable…TSI engine does consume oil by the time reach service time…… it will be quite low.
            Malaysian whether & traffic does not permit long service interval. In UK it is fine but not malaysia. Another problem..long service interval can lead to sludge in the engine by the time that happens warrant finished…

Think about it…

• Dear power8003

Pls check again…”H” service interval is every 5k…add 5k,10k & 15K = 15k

accord 2.4 = 1k(rm28),5k(rm168),10k(rm247),15k(rm168) = rm611…….20k(rm400),25k(rm168),30k(rm395) = rm963…35k(rm168),40k(rm865),45k(rm168)=rm1,201

while little city = 1k(rm28),5k(rm147),10k(rm226),15k(147)=rm548…..20k(rm345),25k(rm147),30k(rm310)=rm802……35k(rm147),40k(rm785),45k(rm147)=rm1,079

anyway, passat using dsg7 (dry clutch)…maintenance slighly cheaper than dsg6 (wet clutch). Furthermore, you don’t have the hassle of servicing every 5k interval coz vw service interval is only every 15k.

cheerss!!

• Honda only needs to be serviced at every 10k interval if you use the fully synthetic oil like the European cars. The 5k interval is for mineral oil.

• Accord & Camry are much bigger cars & thus will have more metal than the Passat. Even though the Japs have less safety kits, yet they have more comfort kits like fully auto chairs, GPS built-in unit, smart keyless entry & auto start systems etc. In addition, the resale value & maintenance costs of Japs will give you less worrries & it is much easier & cheaper to source for spare & body parts of Japs from the spare part shops.

• keep dreaming on.. malaysia boleh land.. dreams to become high income nation.. the cronies dreams to suck the people money all round.. #ABU

• I think Peugeot 508 can tapao, until its CKD comes out.

• Gimbab on Mar 12, 2012 at 2:01 pm

Optima K5 & Sonata YF looks 100 times better than this Ah Pek Car, Hyundai/KIA beat VW soon Mercedes, Audi & BMW as well.

• Wah Korean cars r gonna beat VW and German premium car brands soon ! so scare leh but pity those Koreans is still cant beat the Japanese then want to beat the German or European brands ?! yaloyalo Sonata looks better but ho different people with different taste but 1 thing for sure Hyundai and Kia just like a regular Potong lolx

• Gebang on Mar 12, 2012 at 8:39 pm

Mabuk ke?

• Cheah Tat Cheong on Mar 12, 2012 at 2:06 pm

So Danny, what is the on-the-road price WITH insurance?

• Power8003 on Mar 12, 2012 at 3:09 pm

It does not make sense that a CBU car and CKD car different only RM14k. In actual fact, the tax has been cut down by half. If I am not mistaken CBU car should be tax ard 100%- 300%. The CKD should be tax half of the CBU rate. Please someone correct me if I am wrong. I think someone is making a huge profit here.

• rally_fan on Mar 12, 2012 at 6:16 pm

the answer could already be in the article in the last para “The eventual local content target is 40%”

just coz its CKD..you have to remember that all the parts to build almost the whole car is still shipped in.. they just assemble it in the local plant. the question is, how much of that is local content right now? 0%? 5%? of course, by the time they hit 40%.. the price will definitely be cheaper.. by then.. leather and seats maybe local, locally made tyres (continental?), local glass (MSG), local rims.. (JRD? Jerman engineering) .. and so on and so forth.. ;)

• rally_fan on Mar 13, 2012 at 12:50 am

the 2 who thumbed down my opinion has no idea what CKD means.

• Tell me which Teutonic brands merely drop RM14k when they swap from CBU to CKD or now, SKD? RM15k not justify the status changed from German citizen to Pekan-born.

• d driver on Mar 12, 2012 at 5:32 pm

Not attractive pricing for ckd, wrong move VW

• rally_fan on Mar 12, 2012 at 6:21 pm

i just don’t get all the master automotive strategists here.. VW wrong move.. cant compete with japanese…etc.. Their cars are selling so well at the current pricing already. or didn’t you guys not notice the large amount of VW’s on the roads today.. from golfs, to polos, and sciroccos, and now the passat.. and jetta. There isn’t a day that i drive in any part of the klang valley recently, where i dont see a current model VW.

Personally.. as i said earlier in my post.. i dont think they wanna compete with the japanese.. you dont need to sell the same numbers as the japanese when you have a price premium.. coz your profit margins are way better… and you maintain some exclusivitiy.. which VW seems to have at the moment in malaysia.. they dont really have that in other countries.. but since they have it here.. why not exploit it? you would too wouldn’t you if you owned VW?!!??

• Merc=Real Euro on Mar 12, 2012 at 7:54 pm

bro…haven’t u heard the news…VW wants to become number 1 in the world in terms of sales. Yes there are number of VW on the road….like wise what is alarming is less than 1-2 years old car dumped in mudah also…not a good sign. Look at the proportion particular brand popularity vs Used car currently sold aged less than 1-2 years old.

Dont take my word for it….go see for yourself……

• rally_fan on Mar 12, 2012 at 8:29 pm

hi bro.. im talking about malaysia. other countries.. they really can move metal.. but in malaysia.. they have premium pricing and premium brand.. which strangely enuf.. isn’t the case in other countries where they sell.. its really a unique situation for them.

i dont deny the fact you mentioned about cars selling on mudah.. but i have quite a few friends driving VW’s currently. from just bought, to around the 5 year old mark. i think its not really out of the ordinary.

• Merc=Real Euro on Mar 12, 2012 at 9:40 pm

well whatever it is…if vw wants to win the minds of the ppl they need to start
            with better pricing and if that is not possible then…give 3-5 years free maintenance…that should grab the fence sitters. You sell by volume and coupled with good ownership experience will guarantee….good resale value in the future, More ppl will come and join the bandwagon….. There has to be a carrot first..

• they ARE giving 3 years free maintenance…FOC for first 3 service at 15k, 30k & 45k

• BeemerFreak on Mar 12, 2012 at 11:31 pm

I see many toyotas and hondas less than 6 months on mudah. Mercs too……Does that make vw so much different?

• Merc=Real Euro on Mar 13, 2012 at 12:30 am

In proportion to car population… There are more Toyota and Honda and Merc compare to VW. Yes you can see handful 2010 camry for sale but consider
            how many was registered back in 2010. VW sold more cars than Toyota back in 2010?. Highly doubt so…. Again this is not about how good a toyota is or whatever

it is about vw delivery good reliable product and most importantly after sale service…after all it is expected from a so called “premium brand”…..You paid for it….

• Here he goes again..facts please…and actual numbers..if not you become like umno..fitnah here fitnah there

• Hyundai De La Junk on Mar 12, 2012 at 7:06 pm

Would Passat Beat 2.4 Sonata YF “FLAT” ?

• woklt on Mar 12, 2012 at 7:42 pm

Disappointed~

• Dr Mamak on Mar 13, 2012 at 11:53 am

170k worth of arrogance and greed. Takpe, new Camry will eat it for breakfast come june.

• I went for CBU 2011 rather than CKD 2012

• big boy on May 22, 2012 at 7:48 am

:-)u know why they let go their 2 to 3 yr old car?came on,seems you dont know most of the malaysian attitude?they like to show off, buy expensive stuff and after few months cannot afford pay their bills, thats the reason why they let go their car…

• passat CKD and CBU ‘s side mirror is manually foldable …. can u guy accept???