Peugeot 408 sighted again, still wearing tape

Thanks to Xdaudx for taking photos of this slightly disguised car. No prizes for guessing what this car is. Astute eyes will reveal that the open slit above the air dam and the placement of the covered badge is actually a Peugeot 408.

There are pictures of it without blinders for its blinkers and if you want to have a peek at it again, click here, here and here.

So, there is nothing new here other than the fact that we can safely assume that Silver and Black are two colors that will be on sale when the car in the near future.

With the frequent sightings of the Peugeot 408, one question remains – when will it be launched?

Chris Ng

Chris Ng believes that all cars are made equal, and each one has its own unique story to tell. As such, the ex-advertising man is here doing what he truly loves, which is authoring the allegories and anecdotes of automobiles. Having served time in a motoring mag, he believes there's nothing more sublime than keeping the pedal floored and things burbling in top gear.

• VOLVO FOR LIFE on Mar 12, 2012 at 1:02 pm

what’s the tape for. this is the internet generation. we all know what it looks like

• Baba O'Reilly on Mar 12, 2012 at 1:53 pm

Factory SOP I guess. I’m sure you’d attract less attention WITHOUT the taped up badges.

• actually i think the cover up is for those who would be seeing the car live. it looks different live as compared to pictures so, i guess that even if you can google pictures of the car, it will still look very different in the flesh and this is what those guys were thinking when plastering up the car; to prevent those seeing it live to have an actual idea how the car looks like and the actual trimmings that come with the car.

• loveit on Mar 12, 2012 at 5:49 pm

even saw non-tape picture in internet also I can’t distinguish it (with tape) on real world meh…so the tape is still relevant..

• jenny ping on Mar 12, 2012 at 1:05 pm

1st!!!!!!!!!!!!!!!

• Hyundai De La JUNK on Mar 12, 2012 at 1:36 pm

After seen the ugly real light i don’t blame them for tapping the light.

Coz it damn UGLY !!!!!!!

• thinkerr on Mar 12, 2012 at 5:05 pm

You must be ugly as well. ROFL

• Hyundai De La Junk on Mar 12, 2012 at 5:51 pm

Marginally handsome than you. :-P

Somehow the real of this car seem to be longer than the front, remind me of the first batch pre-facelift Honda city (Flowerhorn Fish).

• shawal on Mar 12, 2012 at 1:38 pm

should compare it with proton’s new offering, since both is powered by a 1.6 turbo ,
    Any 308 1.6 turbo owners would like to share their ownership experience ?

• artnanz on Mar 12, 2012 at 7:23 pm

just saw a completely untaped silver-colored 408 with the “408” wording on the plate going down a trailer near HKL just now. Wasn’t quick enough to whip out my camera to snap some shots. I guess the launching is just around the corner.

• Joker The Great on Mar 12, 2012 at 11:49 pm

yap this black color 408 recently always in and out in North South Highway from Gurun, Kedah to South…. Not sure where they go.. Always 2 drivers inside there….

Did try to catch up them from behind, but this car is damn powerful….

• laluan sehala on Mar 21, 2012 at 11:01 pm

they’re a few running around klang valley too. seen another one with 308 turbo rims.

• I wonder what is there to go round in mask tape for testing ?? C’mon these car has been tested and proven by Peugeot !

Not like Naza developed this car and need to tR&D ….. just launched the car la, why waste time ? To time it to clash with Proton P3-21A launch ? They are different target market and pricing altogether.