SPIED: Nissan Sunny in KL – is it set to debut very soon?

Click to enlarge.

Well, looks like the B-segment Nissan sedan set to be introduced by Edaran Tan Chong Motor this year has arrived, or at least the type approval or evaluation mules have.

The car in question is of course the new Nissan Sunny, which made its debut at Auto Guangzhou in December, 2010.

Reader Kenny Tan snapped a couple of photos of the car somewhere in KL – the silver example, wearing steel wheels, has black tape masking the badging as well as the headlamp and rear light clusters, but is otherwise unmarked.

Click to enlarge.

No indication as to when the car will make its market debut, but the fact that it’s already here means that it can’t be too long before the sedan is set loose. The car should wear the 112 PS and 139 Nm HR15DE 1.5 litre engine, but as to whether it will retain the venerable Sunny moniker Malaysians are very familiar with remains to be seen.

A tip of the hat to Kenny for the pix!

Anthony Lim believes that nothing is better than a good smoke and a car with character, with good handling aspects being top of the prize heap. Having spent more than a decade and a half with an English tabloid daily never being able to grasp the meaning of brevity or being succinct, he wags his tail furiously at the idea of waffling - in greater detail - about cars and all their intrinsic peculiarities here.

• thunder cats on Mar 12, 2012 at 3:06 am

not that good looking,,,anyways will priced same with vios right? this is an interesting year,,,many cars n models are making their way into this country giving us more variety,,,tired of seeing the same car on malaysia pot holes road,,,let’s spice up the car variety n hope they come in with robust rims n suspensions to withstand third world country quality pot holes road,,,hopes Nissan bother makes bring In More models tongive choices to Malaysians

• thunder cats on Mar 12, 2012 at 3:31 am

***hope Nissan n other makes bring in more models to give choices to choose from for malayisans***

• NIssan vs Toyota vs Honda on Mar 12, 2012 at 2:59 pm

Nissan already have 12 lineup of CKD vehicle (included 3 outdated model) – Latio, Sentra, Sylphy, Teana, Serena, Navara, Frontier, X-Trail, Livina, X-Gear, Vanette, Urvan.
        This not include another 3 CBU vehicle all the way from Japan- 370z, Juke, Murano

Toyota only 11 vehicle – Vios, Altis, Camry, Hilux, Fortuner, Avanza, Innova, Rush, Prius, Prius C, Hiace.

Honda only have total of 9 car include both CKD and CBU – Jazz, City, Freed, Civic, Accord, CRV, Stream, CRZ, Insight.

Talk about total line-up, Nissan still have offer more than Toyota and Honda.

• Rokuth on Mar 12, 2012 at 5:54 am

It’s suppose to be the Latio replacement. As for looks, it has the typical Nissan family design, much like the way a Vios looks like the Altis looks like the Camry. If you squint, the Sunny could be mistaken for the Sylphy, or the Teana…

• normal_user on Mar 12, 2012 at 11:09 am

It has the ‘dugong’ look (big nose), but nonetheless its better looking than the other dugong.

Well, if TCM can price it right below the J-spec Vios, but with airbag + ABS, then I’m sure its going to be as legendary as the Sentra (despite this one is a B-segment). We still have some old running Sentra Taxis climbing up Genting daily.

• AlfaRomeo=Ferrari'sCousin on Mar 12, 2012 at 5:11 pm

Dugong is a dugong…that’s why it’s wearing tapes all over….

• Chilavert on Mar 12, 2012 at 8:28 am

i second that. it not a good looking car but if it is priced in vios category, it may appeal to the customer. currently vios is the cheapest non national sedan so if nissan sunny can beat vios price, it will be a very interesting competition.

• You forgotten to mention speed bumps.. lol

• Nissan on Mar 12, 2012 at 9:36 am

Any news about Juke? It’s been published in their Drive-On Magazine that it will be launched here this year.

• ThePolygon on Mar 12, 2012 at 10:50 am

Was very keen on Juke….
        Sadly I sudah beli kereta lain. :(

• Yuzdi on Mar 12, 2012 at 10:00 am

TC promised every mth there’ll b new model.

• timos on Mar 12, 2012 at 8:20 pm

YUP TENGOK PIC ATAS,BOTOT DIE DARI TEPI MACAM VIOSHIT

• Rotiboy….i think u will prefer this over proton p3-21a

• asd asd on Mar 12, 2012 at 4:33 am

we all know how it looks like.. so why the mask?.. anyway.. Nissan Sunny brings back a lot of memories

• Costwise on Mar 12, 2012 at 7:31 am

TCM would do well to plunk in a 1.2L engine with CVT, and priced it 55k, 10% higher than Thai price.

And, similarly bring in March 1.2L with CVT and priced it 50k.

Unfortunately, it would have to loose the Nissan badge and adopt a P1/P2 badge to make this a reality.

• Maserati on Mar 12, 2012 at 7:37 am

Why does it look to have a huge scratch on its rear door in the second pic?

• Director on Mar 12, 2012 at 11:17 am

Its too ugly to start with, people start scratching the car even in disguise form…

• Lynas on Mar 12, 2012 at 8:11 am

Are they phasing out Latio???

• Nissan Sunny 1.5L Petrol manual (indian market)
    http://www.team-bhp.com/forum/official-new-car-reviews/108106-nissan-sunny-test-drive-review.html
    What you’ll like:
    • Spectacular rear leg room and comfortable rear bench
    • Mature and compliant ride matched by predictable handling
    • Excellent city driveability & low end torque
    • Convenience & comfort features such as true keyless-entry & start, rear fan vents etc.
    • Interior quality & cabin fit / finish
    • Safety kit across all 3 variants (ABS, EBD, Brake Assist & Airbag/s)

What you won’t:
    • 1.5L Petrol engine lacks outright performance. Runs out of breath quickly
    • Engine noise above 3,000 rpm is very noticeable
    • Vague gearbox isn’t always keen to slot into gear
    • Rear head-room & under-thigh support are in short supply
    • No automatic transmission offered

Nissan Sunny 1.4L Diesel manual (indian market)
    http://www.team-bhp.com/forum/official-new-car-reviews/114769-nissan-sunny-diesel-test-drive-review.html
    What you’ll like:
    • Spectacular rear leg room and comfortable rear bench
    • Excellent city driveability, great low end torque and the promise of diesel economy
    • Mature and compliant ride matched by predictable handling
    • Convenience & comfort features such as true keyless-entry & start, rear fan vents, folding mirrors etc.
    • Interior quality & cabin fit / finish
    • Safety kit is consistent on both variants (ABS, EBD, Brake Assist & 2 Airbags)

What you won’t:
    • Brakes feel slow to react and aren’t confidence-inspiring
    • Noticeable road-noise once you get up to highway speeds
    • Vague gearbox isn’t always keen to slot into gear
    • No base (XE) variant offered on the diesel
    • Rear head-room & under-thigh support are in short supply
    • Nissan’s dealer network is still fairly limited, most cities have just one dealer.

Other competitor:
    Toyota Etios 1.5L petrol
    http://www.team-bhp.com/forum/official-new-car-reviews/93914-toyota-etios-test-drive-review.html
    Toyota Etios 1.4L diesel
    http://www.team-bhp.com/forum/official-new-car-reviews/107596-toyota-etios-diesel-test-drive-review.html

• not good looking, such vios, but people who parents’ had 130Y / 120Y in those days sure include this car in their list, due to its reliability

• Dugong is good looking?

• paparadzi on Mar 12, 2012 at 11:45 am

To some people, yes.

What is ugly to you is not necessarily ugly to others. You might think you looks good yourself, but some people may not think so.

• clemenza on Mar 12, 2012 at 8:32 am

satu persaingan yg sihat dgn T dan H..harap2 yg ni lagi bagus dari segi harga dan spesifikasinya

• azrai on Mar 12, 2012 at 8:37 am

Nissan same old menopause women design again? Ah So’s car.

• BlackBJQ on Mar 12, 2012 at 8:45 am

looks like vios and definitely priced like vios. front mcpherson and rear tosion beam, that’s for sure.

• carnoisseur on Mar 12, 2012 at 8:48 am

first impressions? Yawn Bore !

• tiadaid on Mar 12, 2012 at 8:56 am

First glance – a Vios….

• francis on Mar 12, 2012 at 10:31 am

tiadaid..
      I also has the same impression..looks like extended size of Vios..
      Anyway if TC offer this Sunny “Slighly” lower price than the Vios G + better accessories equip… Definitely will outsale Vios..

• Antisocial on Mar 12, 2012 at 9:11 am

It looks better with the black tape masking

• RON97 on Mar 12, 2012 at 9:12 am

NO to T Chong !! The worst dealer in the Country.

• nissan has always been using lower pricing strategy compare to their same segment Nippon arch-rival. replacement for long due Nissan sentra perhaps

• jonet on Mar 12, 2012 at 10:02 am

SORRY NOT MY TASTE !!

• peter_pj on Mar 12, 2012 at 10:14 am

Sloping roofline – so bad head space like the Gen.2?
    Actually, to me it seems like a hatch with a boot (very badly) tacked on.

• elite on Mar 12, 2012 at 10:38 am

proton can never price its car above a nissan

• Bring on the Leaf!

• Rulered on Mar 12, 2012 at 11:10 am

Well as mentioned, if it’s as ‘reliable’ or even more ‘reliable’ than the usual suspects why not. We could even see more Nissan Sunny taxis like the good old days.

• Director on Mar 12, 2012 at 11:20 am

I know the side profile of the rear bumper improve aerodynamic. But…

• AbgTutor.com on Mar 12, 2012 at 11:43 am

This is great looking car

• paparadzi on Mar 12, 2012 at 11:46 am

May I guess that this one wears rear drum brakes, without any rear discs option like the Vios and City?

• ChrisLai75 on Mar 12, 2012 at 11:49 am

Great! time to change me Sentra…..not

• kepala bapak korg on Mar 12, 2012 at 12:13 pm

SEBAB KERETA NI BRAND NISSAN PUJI2 LA(WALAUPUN HODOH) CUBA KALAU PROTON SAH2 KENA KUTUK MACAM2….KORANG NI SIAL LAH….

• We dont need sunny/sentra

we need Juke

tq

• Don’t think is Sentra from the size, should be Latio replacement?

• policeman on Mar 12, 2012 at 1:25 pm

The hell with this. Almost same size/price as Latio. Where’s my Datsun?

• Pororo on Mar 12, 2012 at 1:52 pm

kalau xlaku xpe, it can sold as taxi or gomen will buy the car become gomen official car for Kementerian Kesihatan or other kementerian…

• Cheah Tat Cheong on Mar 12, 2012 at 1:58 pm

Like it or not, there’s a reason why such a car like the Sunny exist, just see how successful the Vios is.

• raoul on Mar 12, 2012 at 4:03 pm

But those 120Y/130Y era could be too old to purchase it.

• no big surprise lah nowadays to cover sana sini the car…www.google.com…enter key word..nah…

• shahrul on Mar 12, 2012 at 5:14 pm

I always wanted a Nissan Sunny. Reminds me of my late dad’s Nissan Sunny 1.3. Not beautiful but economical and reliable.

• Have a feeling this will be 90K above

• what name you prefer? on Mar 12, 2012 at 6:34 pm

Almera (Singapore and Thai)
    Sunny (India and China)
    Versa (US)

• davidzfort on Mar 12, 2012 at 7:56 pm

Make sure you get all the discounts you are entitled to. You might qualify if your vehicle has an alarm, for example check “Clearance Auto” site.

• Tan See Hua on Mar 12, 2012 at 9:04 pm

This is Nissan Almera in Thailand right???

• CrabStick on Mar 12, 2012 at 9:24 pm

RUBBISH!

• OilChange on Mar 12, 2012 at 10:34 pm

last time in the old days… i saw many nissan sunny with big stickers on their rear bumpers sayaing something like this;

‘ warning, absorbers bumpers ‘ … bla bla bla…

what’s that actually? still puzzled me to this days

• not a car enthusiast on Mar 13, 2012 at 8:19 am

Means that there is an absorber in there. If you hit the car (at less than 10 km/h), the bumper will move inwards and then springs back. Both your car and the Sunny will feel the bounch from that impact. As for the sunny, no real damage (except for paintwork) will be visible.

I was in a Nissan Sunny when such an impact occured. The front bumper of a wira which hit the back of our sunny was badly damaged and had to be replaced. The Sunny – as good as new (save for the paintwork). I was slighly thrown (bumped) forward. Luckily I wore seatbelt at that time. So nothing serious happened. The stuffs we put on our seat get strewn all over the place. But that was about the only damage done.

• RedBeanBun on Mar 13, 2012 at 9:01 am

the never broke down, cheap to maintain, but boring Nissan Sunny is back! (thats the perception in my time..)

Sunny was position slightly expensive than Wira then…but that car WONT easily broke down, and the BIG black bumper always allow you with less repair :P

Lets see how its price positioned now…

• Johnny on Mar 13, 2012 at 10:22 am

Judging from the reports.
    I love the technology and stuff. But the interior design is kinda of a turn off..
    I mean, can’t they build a economical AND good looking car?

• longbean on Mar 13, 2012 at 12:57 pm

i more prefer vios than this ugly nissan car…

• rotiboy on Mar 14, 2012 at 7:22 pm

Rupa keta hodoh dah macam rupa babi. Rupa Toyota Altezza, Toyota Altis, Honda Accord, Honda Civic EK, Mitsubishi Lancer GT, Proton Persona, Proton Satria Neo, Proton P312A lagi lawa & macho dari rupa ini Nissan Sunny Babi. Pada aku la kan, orang yang beli kereta ni memang bodoh macam babi la.

• i like the look. not too extreme + low profile principle + long boot.at least we have the meter panel right in front of the driver. just imagine this car with an 18inch / 17inch rims with low profile tires… a beautiful, macho sight.

• Class1 on Apr 15, 2012 at 10:00 pm

the car is parked just next to a waste disposal bin.. hahaha..
    plz tell me what it means?..

• Kevin on Apr 16, 2012 at 4:28 pm

This car is called the Almera in Singapore and is said to have interior ques of the Nissan Juke. This car will replace the current Nissan Sentra. It has taken a while for this Sentra replacement to come into market.