GALLERY: Live shots of the VW Golf R – AWD, 255 PS

We were in Pekan, Pahang over the weekend for the launch of the CKD Volkswagen Passat by DRB-Hicom and VW, and while all the attention was on the PM and Passat, we spotted a rather appealing sideshow in a corner – Volkswagen’s R cars!

Last week, Volkswagen Passenger Cars Malaysia announced the availability of its high performance R cars for the first time in Malaysia. To start things, they have brought in the Golf R and the Passat CC R-Line. Both cars are are performance flagships for their respective families and are fruits of Volkswagen R GmbH, VeeDub’s performance division.

Let’s focus on the Golf R for now. This successor to the Mk5 R32 has a downsized engine. It no longer uses a V6, but a four-cylinder turbocharged 2.0 TSI that makes 255 PS and 330 Nm from 2,400 to 5,200 rpm. The engine is mated to a six-speed dual-clutch DSG gearbox and power is channeled to the wheels via VW’s 4MOTION AWD system.

0-100 km/h is done in just 5.7 seconds on to a limited 250 km/h top speed. Fuel consumption is 13.4% better than the R32 at 8.4 litres per 100 km.

The RM268,888 Golf is only available as a five-door here, like the GTI. Goodies include Adaptive Chassis Control (DCC), internally ventilated discs all around with R brake calipers, ESP with delayed intervention, 19-inch Talladega alloys with 235/35 tyres, bi xenons with dynamic cornering lamps, trademark central tailpipes and the really cool looking “Motorsport Bucket Seats”.

Golf GTI owners also won’t recognise the instrument’s blue needles, and the push start button. The latter is unusually located where the key normally goes in, which explains why it sports some scratches in the display car!

Danny Tan loves driving as much as he loves a certain herbal meat soup, and sweet engine music as much as drum beats. He has been in the auto industry since 2006, previously filling the pages of two motoring magazines before joining this website. Enjoys detailing the experience more than the technical details.

• awesome!

• Alpha on Mar 13, 2012 at 3:51 pm

The “R” badge at the back needs to be bigger.Hehe.

• THE GOLF!

• ChrisLai75 on Mar 13, 2012 at 4:24 pm

I’m always in love with this R.

• just curious, dont flame me.. can this car run on RON95??

• xavier lert on Mar 13, 2012 at 4:53 pm

yummy

• askme on Mar 13, 2012 at 5:07 pm

love it but can’t afford it..bila la nak turun harga jadi 60k nie..second pun takpe..

• So nice… specially the seats… awesome!

• heeman on Mar 13, 2012 at 6:02 pm

19″ wheels are nice but not practical in Bolehland.

• alien.workshop on Mar 14, 2012 at 1:34 am

People who get performance cars don’t care much about practicality bro. Even people with normal cars change to bigger wheels.

• heeman on Mar 14, 2012 at 3:07 pm

If I have the money to buy this car (I would prefer Megane RS than this BTW), I rather have 18″ wheels which are still acceptable for everyday use but still can be driven hard. It will be a hassle to try to avoid potholes every time it is driven. VW should provide an option to choose.

• noname on Mar 14, 2012 at 6:14 pm

Ya lorr….I will change to 18″ rims and 225/40 tyres. In Singapore, they use that tyres as standard.

• Yep, but the size of the tyres is normally 225/45/R18.

I don’t recall seeing bucket seats in the Golf R in Singapore.

• the UBER GOLF is here! Awesome!

• Muddy on Mar 13, 2012 at 6:14 pm

Should have taken the rear view with LED lights on!

• pgqayyum on Mar 13, 2012 at 6:23 pm

much better than mini cooper s

• look wise anytime p322a wins hands down
    only soft turbocharged engine is the disdv
    much cheaper so no complaint at all!
    at least better than japs and korean hatchback

• DArkerMarker on Mar 13, 2012 at 7:19 pm

no doubt with its good performance…but the rim design is a bit ah beng….

• tilapia on Mar 14, 2012 at 1:26 am

There is term “ah beng rims” meh? I thought “ah beng” only applies to other parts like bumpers. Things you buy at accessory shops. So tyre shops are considered ah beng now?

• harris murad on Mar 14, 2012 at 1:29 pm

until now i still dont really understand the term ah beng hahahahaha!
        Superb car though, the R..:O

• lkhoe on Mar 13, 2012 at 7:32 pm

For those who can barely fit in the Golf GTI’s seats… forget about sitting in those R seats… its very tight.. worse than the megane rs.

• noname on Mar 13, 2012 at 7:49 pm

SOOO CUTEEE..!!!!!

• VOLVO FOR LIFE on Mar 13, 2012 at 8:25 pm

good but no sweet revving r32

• khairulx19a on Mar 13, 2012 at 8:59 pm

the rims remind me the same rim on the RS6

• nabill on Mar 13, 2012 at 9:12 pm

arent those seats the same on the Megane 250??

• i thought it’s 270PS? o.O

• Medic on Mar 14, 2012 at 9:00 am

Golf R exported to Asia has been detuned to suite our local climate and lower rating of RON fuel.

• cecibo on Mar 13, 2012 at 9:53 pm

no… this will probably hurt my spine

• muddy on Mar 13, 2012 at 10:14 pm

“Golf GTI owners also won’t recognise the instrument’s blue needles, and the push start button. The latter is unusually located where the key normally goes in, which explains why it sports some scratches in the display car!”

> Why? You still need to use the key to unlock the door? With the Push Start button, it should be keyless entry right? Keep-the-key-knob-in-your-pocket kinda thing…

• JasJos on Mar 14, 2012 at 1:43 am

It should come with Keyless entry. VW calls it KESSY. Keyless Entry, Start and Exit System.

• nebula87 on Mar 13, 2012 at 10:17 pm

Drive like a boss!

• ivreich on Mar 14, 2012 at 12:36 am

The back look like shrink Estima

• ahlee bin ahtan on Mar 14, 2012 at 7:29 am

a quarter million ringgit to be seated like a naughty toddler for the whole journey?

• don’t get me wrong, this is one helluva car… but in term of coolness/hotness… it’s way off lancia delta integrale :) but cant get em now… not even if u have the money.