Honda Jazz Hybrid spotted in Taiping, launch on March 15

UPDATE: Reader Prebetsabu sent in a shot of the Jazz Hybrid on display at a Honda showroom in PJ

It’s no secret that the next hybrid car to be launched here will be the Honda Jazz Hybrid – we have already received the event invites and will bring you full details of the car this Thursday. But for now, let’s have one last round of spyshots before the car makes its official debut.

Reader Rui Hao was caught in a jam on a rainy March 12 evening, and in the gridlock heading towards Taiping town (in Perak, for those who don’t know), he spotted this truck ferrying four units of the Jazz Hybrid.

Like our last series of spyshots, we see only green and sliver coloured units here, so perhaps these are the only colour options for the car. The Lime Green metallic colour you see here is the model’s signature hue.

The Jazz Hybrid made its world debut at Paris 2010. Click here for full details and a gallery. More spy shots and a peek at the car’s dashboard can be seen in our previous post.

Danny Tan loves driving as much as he loves a certain herbal meat soup, and sweet engine music as much as drum beats. He has been in the auto industry since 2006, previously filling the pages of two motoring magazines before joining this website. Enjoys detailing the experience more than the technical details.

• RON97 on Mar 13, 2012 at 12:31 pm

Very nice colour… one and only in the market.
    Worst colour–> purple Gen2

• chibeiLung on Mar 13, 2012 at 3:01 pm

my nenek’s myVi also this lime green color….old folks fav color!!!

• VOLVO FOR LIFE on Mar 13, 2012 at 8:26 pm

hmm Focus RS also popular in lime green. focus rs = old people hot hatch?

• nabill on Mar 13, 2012 at 12:50 pm

lets all yawn together!

• ahlee bin ahtan on Mar 13, 2012 at 1:03 pm

this can really JAZZED up our lives.

• nik DBM on Mar 13, 2012 at 1:20 pm

hopefully price wll be around 80K n below :p

• trimm on Mar 13, 2012 at 2:14 pm

nope, it will be priced slightly cheaper than Insight, +-90K…..it will definitely won’t be cheaper than 85K…..

• mustafa on Mar 13, 2012 at 2:16 pm

no lah…just slightly cheaper than the prius C…maybe RM95k…

• Will it be the cheapest Honda car in Malaysia?…

• vee_duble_vey on Mar 13, 2012 at 4:54 pm

RM89,900 OTR price with insurance is still considered the cheapest Honda car in Malaysia, now that the City Grade S is no longer on sale…

• Christopher on Mar 13, 2012 at 1:30 pm

I spotted a truck with four jazzes at jalan genting klang today as well.. Hybrids

• nice….if below 80k.

• walle on Mar 13, 2012 at 1:34 pm

heard the SA said about 95k..hopefully is much lower than this!!!

• sleepwalkerz on Mar 13, 2012 at 2:07 pm

yup…i’ve seen yesterday a truck full of green jazz hybrid near putrajaya highway….

• penang oso got wat…
    tis morning i saw them at the road site…

• what will be the selling price?

• Car Driver on Mar 13, 2012 at 5:07 pm

Dont expect it to be cheap.
    I heard from sales it will be above 90K and the car is smaller than Insight.
    Always disappointing from Honda Malaysia.

• I like the current jazz magic seat and they have placed the battery in the space below the back cover so I don’t think space would be reduced by much? Anyway jazz has always had the biggest space in its class. Very practical car. Only thing is whether hybrid has got enuff power for quick overtaking or not. I suppose if driven sedately then no problem. My friend who owns the insight says if u have two occupants and a full load then even going up the bangsar hill road in front BSC can feel the strain??

• Honda Power on Mar 13, 2012 at 5:31 pm

Now that Honda City Grade S is not on sale anymore, the new Honda Jazz hybrid may be priced slightly higher than City Grade S OTR price of RM85,480. Maybe RM87,000 which is RM10,000 cheaper than Toyota Prius C? Let’s guess the Jazz hybrid’s OTR price, shall we?

• Let’s not buy this if it’s expensive. Show Honda some lesson :)

• Carl Wong on Mar 13, 2012 at 7:34 pm

Another Honda Hybrid coming to town :]………….!!!

• ron99 on Mar 13, 2012 at 9:19 pm

I think will be RM89800 10k different from insight

• Daylight robbery if HM is pricing this higher than RM70K.

Tax-free cars yet still insanely high profit margin. Malaysia Boleh. All these ridiculously high duties has screwed up car prices here even for “tax-free” cars.

• dreaming of maserati on Mar 14, 2012 at 12:54 am

yes…better buy prius at 140k! very the cheap and value!

• stupidgovernment on Mar 14, 2012 at 10:30 am

Hello dei…. Jazz price at 70k… u think this is what? This is Honda la not Myvi la… tolong la

• Hyundai De La Junk on Mar 14, 2012 at 11:00 am

Who said “Tax Free” ? There is still 10% Sales Tax, 70K you better wait for CHEAP KOREAN JUNKYARD Hybrid (If they found one to COPY).

Typical looser who can’t afford any thing better than KOREAN JUNKYARD CAR.

• MKhor7 on Mar 14, 2012 at 1:12 am

PaulTan or DannyTan should do a Prius C vs Jazz Hybrid as soon as possible!

• 1.3 jazz hybrid vs 1.5 prius c hybrid, now this typical malaysian politician and cronies mentality in comparing things, just like comparing car price between local and abroad, or salary between local and abroad.

on another note this green car price is confirm same as Langkawi price RM65874 + 10% sales tax, should be around RM74k~RM75k

http://www.honda.com.my/model/overview/jazz/

• and for fun, include a diesel too…focus TDCI or 320d….hehehehe, wish VW had it polo bluemotion and Ford have its Fiesta econetic here and shows this hybrids how to be frugal and yet powerful too

• only those moron will buy the “prius c”, honda the power of dream rock.

• ron99 on Mar 14, 2012 at 11:51 am

Japan INSIGHT RM74k
    Malaysia INSIGHT RM97k

Japan Jazz Hybrid RM59k
    Malaysia Jazz hybrid should be RM77k

But I dont think 77k is possible . Gov will not approve

• ron99 on Mar 14, 2012 at 2:53 pm

OTR RM94800. Confirm!!
    at this price. totally out!!!

• jeffreyee on Mar 14, 2012 at 3:11 pm

Just received a Sms from Honda SA. The confirmed price mentioned is RM94,800. Havent seen the car yet. Look like I will be cancelling my booking cos I expect it to be not more that RM90k. Too bad Honda.

• sequid on Mar 14, 2012 at 9:37 pm

just want to check the test drive car this Sunday…

then can make a decisions whether this car or prius c….
    its very difficult to buy a car in here….
    the government always force us to buy a local car with poor quality…..

is that logic for this small honda car is near to 95k in our beloved country…

hmmm….
    sorry boss….

• Samlyn on Mar 14, 2012 at 11:56 pm

Only stupid will buy for that price rm 94k plus.
      With extra rm 2k plus…..

Prius C is the choice .

Even I like the magic seat !

• JHope on Mar 15, 2012 at 7:23 am

Inspected the car @ Honda showroom…love it. Much nicer, better quality interior and definitely more spacious than prius c and with 8 airbags. Even for the same price, will buy this:)

• JHope on Mar 15, 2012 at 9:26 am

Have inspected Jazz yesterday…love it. Much nicer interior, better quality finishing and much more spacious than Prius C…plus 8 air bags;) Even if same price as Prius C, will buy this:)