GALLERY: Proton P3-21A on handling display at Power of 1

The Proton P3-21A earlier made a handling display run at the Power of 1 event here in Bukit Jalil. The heavily-taped car was pitted against a Persona in a series of exercises – straight-line acceleration, chase and slalom, the last as seen in the earlier video.

The disguise doesn’t give much away about the car, but it does afford a decent general view of the upcoming vehicle. They’ve even taped the wheels, mind you! Enjoy the gallery; we’ll have more photos of the car as the day progresses, so check back for more updates.

View the full gallery after the jump.

Anthony Lim believes that nothing is better than a good smoke and a car with character, with good handling aspects being top of the prize heap. Having spent more than a decade and a half with an English tabloid daily never being able to grasp the meaning of brevity or being succinct, he wags his tail furiously at the idea of waffling - in greater detail - about cars and all their intrinsic peculiarities here.

• namew on Mar 14, 2012 at 12:16 pm

ugly

• Pixel on Mar 14, 2012 at 12:23 pm

Are they going to show the real version in this roadshow?

• thojim on Mar 14, 2012 at 12:26 pm

first time

• takNakP1 on Mar 14, 2012 at 12:30 pm

hmm… why windows wind down??? maybe they inherited the prev models power windows :P

• looks like mixed of chevy cruze and kia forte…

• is it my eyes..or the car looks somewhat dated..?

• fap fap fap!!! the 1st time P1 using BMW disguise tape! nampak mahal sket… hahaha…

• powder1 on Mar 14, 2012 at 2:00 pm

where they download that camouflage wallpaper? seems most test car has same pattern of camouflage

• swifty on Mar 14, 2012 at 2:11 pm

Body size and wheels looks disproportionate. Body seems to dwarf the 16 incher. Could be due to the heavy taping playing trick with my eyes. Is that a Champiro I see?

• Ninja on Mar 14, 2012 at 3:46 pm

To all readers here who bashed Proton, I believe your time of in-mature Proton bashing is over. Proton has impressed big time here and I believe this is the best car money can buy for now. The Japs and the Korean are nowhere close to this awesome new Proton model. Unless the Japs and Korean can response positively to reward their loyal Malaysian slaves to their brand with high spec car with reasonable price soon, it makes the Japs and Korean cars crappies a mere ‘kereta lembu’, just looks good on the outside and empty with no soul in the inside, just like a prostitute. So to all those Japs and Korean slave car owners here, sweet dreams. You’ll never beat the performance of this P3-1A. Rest in Peace!

Syabas Proton. I just booked one and am paying full in cash!!!

• The international market with level playing field will prove if ur statement on this new model being more worthy of that from Japan and Korea.

• Look at the side profile on how the curves and body lines doesnt look good, looks so damn dated, timing belt eng with no direct inj is way old skool.. kia has direct inj tbo even..this car should hve been launched 10 yrs ago when volvo introduced the light press tbo..nope not good enough and the sales fig will show..sigh..

• Kaiyo on Mar 14, 2012 at 5:08 pm

Must you flaunt the same comment over & over again to every single one of P3-21A posts?? Chill the F out bro.. Jangan takabur sangat pasal bayar cash tu.. Nanti tuhan bayar cash balik baru tau..

• Vincent Ang on Mar 14, 2012 at 7:18 pm

Prove yourself on the international scene and silence all Proton bashers forever. If not Proton supporters are nothing but slaves parroting the master’s propaganda,

• try remove the heavy duties and see..i think the co that should lower their prices is proton

• I think every car gets bashed over here. Not just the Proton, but i would admit that Proton gets bashed a bit more because most of us here have owned a Proton at least once in our lifetime and fell victim to it. Well, it certainly is a step in the right direction for Proton. I just hope it doesnt turn out like the Waja, where there was so much hype before the launch. These guys dared to even put a tagline like “Asia”s answer to BMW” which is a joke. Luckily they are not doing it now..perhaps playing it safe.

if Proton were to launch this car with so many features..its good for all Malaysians because the Japs and Koreans will be forced to do the same at a more competitive price. Maybe built in gps will be a standard issue in future. So it works out well. We must thank Proton for this. More of us will be able to own Jap and Korean cars at a more reasonable price and with better features. We cannot deny that the Japs and Koreans are way ahead in terms of technology and build quality. Korean cars are accepted globally, winning numerous awards. That is a measure of how successful the Kia and hyundai brands have become. Being the No 1 selling car locally is not a measure of success. The playing field is now becoming level and competition is intensifying. Its a good wake up call for Proton which has been resting on its laurels for too long. lets hope at least this time they have come up with a real global car…a car that can be accepted as a quality product by even developed countries and not just the underdeveloped and third world countries.

• Damien Liew on Mar 15, 2012 at 5:08 pm

I drive a German made car.

• i see that this car is in yellow colour, from one of the image which focused on the tyre brand.

• Honda Power on Mar 14, 2012 at 5:27 pm

Nothing to shout about. What’s the big deal? It’s only a Proton, not Mercedes or BMW. So much hype over a Proton. Pffft!

• Ei Wei on Mar 14, 2012 at 8:36 pm

I don’t like the painting

• fraz006 on Mar 14, 2012 at 11:04 pm

body big like this ud better book dark color ones… trust me in this b4 u regret… unless u put 17-18inch wheels, different story.

this looks like saga BLMish.. it looks shit from far due to big effing body but effing small wheel arch..

but if u are clever enough.. choose the DARK ones!!!

• P321 tired follower on Mar 15, 2012 at 7:27 am

I am afraid your marketing strategy and gimmick wont’t work. Let’s be real and expose everything to impress the prospective buyers out there. Untaped and reveal your true colors. If it is value for money, people will buy. Show off and prove that P3-21A is the car with warranty of course. We are quite tired of the teasers.

Today is the buyers’ market and not the seller’s market.

Cheers

• Angry ex Proton owner on Mar 15, 2012 at 9:01 pm

Another try to hoodwink the public with outdated technology car. Waiting for top gears UK fellar bashed or machine gunned this car

• Proton must change. Being waiting for long time. Same issues. Looks very funny. Why Proton cars price very much higher for Malaysia domestic market but price for outside Malaysia almost half price.

• I am upset with Proton. Good gimmick but nothing proven. Always quality is the issue.

• Agreed, design looks dated BUT the specs for the CFE model looks impressive, I doubt the Koreans and the Japs (especially) can do much better.