Proton P3-21A meter panel shown at Proton Power of 1

We’re here at the Proton Power of 1 event at Bukit Jalil, and there’s plenty to see. We just brought you scenes from the slalom demo featuring the soon to be launched P3-21A, and browsing through the many pavilions led us to this find – the P3-21A’s instrument cluster in its full glory.

The fully lit-up meter panel shows a twin-dial layout, with digital readouts for fuel level and temperature. Below that is a screen showing average fuel consumption – this should be a part of a multi-info display that will also read out range, journey time, instantaneous fuel consumption and so on.

We can also see warning lights for the airbags, ABS and electronic stability control – ESC appears on a Proton for the first time in the P3-21A. The meter panel is of the “always on” type, meaning you don’t have to turn on the headlights for it to come on. There’s a five-step dimming function. We snapped a pic of the spec sheet – full look in the gallery below.

The fonts for the dials are quite sporty, and the red/black/white theme is a tried and tested formula for a sporty, “technical” and legible cluster – Audi, Volkswagen and BMW M are subscribers, and even Ford has it in its little Fiesta. Like what you see?

Danny Tan loves driving as much as he loves a certain herbal meat soup, and sweet engine music as much as drum beats. He has been in the auto industry since 2006, previously filling the pages of two motoring magazines before joining this website. Enjoys detailing the experience more than the technical details.

• redline at 6000rpm?

• is that really a suprise? if diesel got redline 6k rpm then i think got reason to be suprised la…

• wlighter on Mar 14, 2012 at 12:46 pm

turbocharge is not meant to be high revving…

• Arzaq on Mar 14, 2012 at 1:56 pm

Yeap redline at 6000rpm

It is not because of the turbochrage that limit the rpm but more on the CVT transmission. If im not mistaken the saga flx aslo redline at 6000rpm. I think proton limit it to 6000rpm to prolong the cvt life

and btw, if you look at this CFE engine dyno chart, the torque go down drastically after 5500rpm. There’s no point to rev till that high anymore. But at 2000-4000 rpm you gonna enjoy it LIKE A BOSS

• Why don’t Potongs just show the whole car?!sometime show the headlights and sometime show the meter panel or sometime show the seat ==’ even the premium brands don’t do like that and they just show the whole car…what’s so special about it?

• Proton could have done better if they use white display colour instead of red. It’ll look more premium. This one looks quite sporty I would say.

• The meter should have chrome bezel rather than white bezel…… exora meter look nicer he he….

• SparC on Mar 14, 2012 at 4:07 pm

Most of the european car e.g. VW, bmw and audi are using red display colour.

aren’t Proton towards european taste?

• KL fella on Mar 15, 2012 at 8:55 am

they’re now all going full coloured displays.. current VW models sold here using black background with white coloured fonts.. it blends well with the overall interior

• no offence, looks like my old wira meter panel, not so ‘advance like’

• nas-T on Mar 14, 2012 at 12:56 pm

Wira ada digital display ker?

• MoFaz on Mar 14, 2012 at 1:53 pm

which wira have multi-info display?

• taboogen on Mar 14, 2012 at 1:56 pm

meter does not neet so so sophisticated design, the purpose is to give information to driver… 99% of the time you will not see the meter while driving, and the design must not distract the driver concentration. how I know coz i am into graphic design

• ATR52 on Mar 14, 2012 at 5:13 pm

Yeah right..like Google and Yahoo..
      Google plain site attract million user it than sophisticated Yahoo..
      Easy looking will easy to understand and will easy to drive is key to safe driving..

• David on Mar 14, 2012 at 12:47 pm

So far, from what I’ve seen, all the images including the meter view and its details & also the teaser video, I just simplify it in one word….TESTDRIVE!……it will decide the rest.!!!

• OMG, new myvi meter panel look nicer.

• Prismo on Mar 14, 2012 at 1:09 pm

OMG.. meter look nicer but handling like hell… oh boy…

• This title talk about meter panel, not talk about the handling lah…I agreed that the P1 car handling was better than Myvi. Anyway,still got many ppl buy new Myvi. Haha.

• The Titan on Mar 15, 2012 at 2:51 pm

how u know about the handling bad?the test drive unit still not appear

• eh myvi fanboy is here, shuhh3….

• omg, haters gonna hate.

• Arzaq on Mar 14, 2012 at 1:58 pm

I do agree myvi meter panel looks a little nicer, but hey meter panel does not affect the ride and handling of the car anyway…lulz :)

• autojohndoe on Mar 14, 2012 at 5:18 pm

as you said… look nicer… maybe not so nice to some…

• Alexandra on Mar 17, 2012 at 12:25 am

exactly!

• David on Mar 14, 2012 at 12:49 pm

TESTDRIVE will decide the rest…..waiting for its official launch. :)

• The Titan on Mar 15, 2012 at 3:04 pm

wait this last of the month let’s get a test drive yeah baby!

• littlefire on Mar 14, 2012 at 12:57 pm

Sad to said that the meter seems not so attractive enough… I tot they hire continental to help do the LED meter… I think the designer really have to sent for training or some fresh ideas… The fuel meter & temperature meter really weird just to put on the center.. It should have integrated under the info meter, if can make it become 1 meter for easy viewing…

Anyway Thumbs up for P1 implementing the ESC in their cars.. After bashing so many years at last they know the importance of safety and not always using the stupid lotus handling reason to tell ppl no need extra safety features…

• SparC on Mar 14, 2012 at 4:09 pm

If follows other manufacturer design, then Proton said to be copycat….

• tokmoh on Mar 14, 2012 at 1:05 pm

Brace yourselves… Here comes the bashers and their extremely exquisite design taste… If u know what I mean

• littlefire on Mar 14, 2012 at 10:00 pm

Well, i am hoping those hardcore Proton supporter to reply, which previously 100% rejected my safety suggestion, still remember who always ask Proton to beef up their safety feature especially ESC?!? Please google it, i still remember..

While those blindly Proton hardcore supporter say no need laa.. Lotus handling si pek hebat no need ESC 1.. Driver control is the best.. Bla bla bla… Say the technology will cost a bomb, now the new car how much only? Huh.. Sometime we bash, coz we want our Proton to improve, now P1 have done it! So who to thanks?

• Sorry on Mar 14, 2012 at 11:37 pm

And what makes u think proton decided to put esc bcoz of your bashing?

It could be because of european ECE requirements since they want to market it in UK

• littlefire on Mar 15, 2012 at 8:18 am

So why not u represent Proton and go to Europe ECE and explain to them that Lotus handling is superb and no need ESC?

• tokmoh on Mar 15, 2012 at 10:41 am

Their safety concern is appreciated by Proton I assume, thank DSZ that he’s an MD that listens to criticism, unlike his predecessor.

Bt as far as aesthetics is concerned, it’s hard to take comments on how wira and myvi has better looking meter panel seriously. Oh well, to each his own, but at the very least, it’s not ugly

• wolfsburg on Mar 14, 2012 at 1:08 pm

The MFD in the middle looked rather cheap.

• loveit on Mar 14, 2012 at 5:34 pm

i hope there will be aftermarket part for the SID (MFD) with other than red color. I dont really fancy red coz too striking (prefer white or blue or green)..and I not watch the meter half percent less than taboogen said…

• kowreck on Mar 14, 2012 at 1:20 pm

For some reason, i”ve seen the font their using somewhere before. But where?
    The meter cluster, to me at least looks simple but between the 2 gauges, it looks disconnected with each other for some reason.

• makeitmine on Mar 14, 2012 at 1:41 pm

Kudos.. the designer hit it right with the meter panel.. just a little sophistication to differentiate this model from the norm.

Hope in future, it will come with tyre pressure monitoring and one can read the error codes from android or apple gadgets for diagnostics.

• If proton had more interesting meter panel like the one in the New Myvi…It would be perfect! Overall, P3-21A is doing fine :) Specs are realy tempting

• The Titan on Mar 15, 2012 at 2:50 pm

ya i agree with u,new myvi and alza meter really cool but this new proton can say ok lar. the most important part is about the handling,comfot,spacious, nvh and safety.

• Meter panel Saga lama kah bang? Kesian nyer…

• autojohndoe on Mar 14, 2012 at 5:20 pm

improved one… tu la continuous improvement… aka kaizen… apa daa..

• sixtythree on Mar 14, 2012 at 2:03 pm

Malaysians….meter want look like audi, engine powerful as golf R, fuel save like kelisa, body solid as BMW, creature comfort as RR…price?? mahal weyyy 70k!!!…50k enough laaa

• SparC on Mar 14, 2012 at 4:10 pm

and somemore…..Still not satisfied…because is a Proton brand…..

• swifty on Mar 14, 2012 at 2:06 pm

Conventional and dated. At least P1 didn’t use white face dials

• Tengokje.. on Mar 14, 2012 at 2:07 pm

Yup…must test drive this baby..

• I dont understand la you malaysian if Toyota or Mercedes or volvo use white display us say very class high standard or even MyVi no comment people say nice things when Proton use white display u say not look premium lah……..

Guys give Proton a break la …….

• The Titan on Mar 15, 2012 at 2:45 pm

hahaha me also dont understd why still complain again and again,
      ok lah for everybody out there if u afford to buy this new proton just pay for the d/paymt for the booking this last of the month will appear to every show room and let get a test drive , if not just ignore about this car because still many ppl out there still waiting the surprise.

Fort For Four,is it looking good?but still have many fan out there hahaha..

• ss427 on Mar 14, 2012 at 2:37 pm

Hmm… redline at 6000rpm only? Even the 12 yr old Toyota 1ZZ-FE redlines at 6500rpm la… What kind of CFE is this? :)

Someone said the CVT box cant handle such big torque o/p… well in that case, use conventional 5MT or 6AT and make sure the new boxes can handle the torque stress…

Oh wait Potong doesn’t have any conventional 5 nor 6 speed MT/AT

• SparC on Mar 14, 2012 at 4:06 pm

You need a high rev engine for town use or fuel saving and responsive engine between 2-4k rpm?

• MoFaz on Mar 14, 2012 at 4:42 pm

the ‘bodoh’ will always be ‘bodoh’ if they didn’t bother to learn anything…
      previous article about CFE already meantioned that you get the highest torque (205Nm) at very low 2,000 rpm and highest HP (138hp) at 5,000 rpm. there’s no need for you to rev more than 6,000 rpm in normal daily driving. the engine will just cut off the power beyond that rpm.

• eims @ gold on Mar 14, 2012 at 2:37 pm

other parts are so interesting..
    meter panel is so so only… :-|

• drMpower on Mar 14, 2012 at 3:22 pm

jesus christ. what they’ve been smoking these days when they decided red is the best colour for the information screen in between the dials?
    lets hope this get a decent optitron, or whatever they call it, but the one with backlight come out when front light is on. these days others been doing the digital dails but nevermind for proton i give special case. sui sui case.

• Ninja on Mar 14, 2012 at 3:43 pm

To all readers here who bashed Proton, I believe your time of in-mature Proton bashing is over. Proton has impressed big time here and I believe this is the best car money can buy for now. The Japs and the Korean are nowhere close to this awesome new Proton model. Unless the Japs and Korean can response positively to reward their loyal Malaysian slaves to their brand with high spec car with reasonable price soon, it makes the Japs and Korean cars crappies a mere ‘kereta lembu’, just looks good on the outside and empty with no soul in the inside, just like a prostitute. So to all those Japs and Korean slave car owners here, sweet dreams. You’ll never beat the performance of this P3-1A. Rest in Peace!

Syabas Proton. I just booked one and am paying full in cash!!!

• I hear LHDN knocking on your door

• littlefire on Mar 15, 2012 at 8:31 am

Are you sure? I believe a transplant 4G93T old wira can eat your new car everyday… somemore cheaper after buy 2nd wira & convert the engine..

You also comment that Korean & Japs are ‘Kereta Lembu”? How about Proton? Got soul also? Ppl already commenting the new car it is a Rojak car like the Hyundai old sonata, copy CRZ front lights, Jaguar rear side & forte body line.. In the end, is still a Proton.. By the way, inspira also a re-badge car so got soul? Look at yourself first, before laughing others..

The only thing that you can win is the safety spec and maybe fuel efficient a bit only, due to it is a low boost engine.. By the way, Proton CFE engine is not yet a perfect engine.. Due to a lot of stupid fuel quality reason, they have throw away the direct fuel injection system, which will even improve the fuel efficiency! Sad!

• tu la malaysians…proton dr dlu smpi skrg mmg x henti2 kena kutuk.pas ni nk klua dh global model pun org hentam gak lg…standards yg mcm mn lg yg korang nk??

pada aku dlm pasaran skrg ni klu buat perbandingan keta Japs n Korean,aku lebih suka Korean.Japs car just blh bangga dgn enjin dia je…while Korean car penuh dengan inovasi dari rekaan model n also upgrade for their spec.very nice looks than Japs car.

dan sekarang bila mn proton sendiri yg kluarkan keta dengan new upgrade spec nape mesti korang nk kutuk lg?don’t care about model design, the important thing is ‘Change by Proton’ to make all of us buka mata dgn kemampuan proton.

P321A-the best model fm proton due to price n spec…x perlu la compare dgn mn2 keta.xkn nk sama dgn model lain…?Come Malaysians be proud n support proton!!

• Superman on Mar 15, 2012 at 11:20 am

Well said Bro. proud of you.

• Jolly_idiot on Mar 14, 2012 at 3:50 pm

Wow! nothing special.

• tokmoh on Mar 14, 2012 at 4:09 pm

Loving this. Simple, clean line. Just like in Waja

Eg in pre-fl persona and Saga BLM, so many smaller scale linings, making it look kinda busy. They’ve improved.

Better than Waja, it’s white coloured, red needle. All red in waja sometimes can be a bit dizzying :S . In Myvi 1.5, both needle and meter panel white, can be a bit hard to see in a glance. Best of all, Audi, BMW M and VW does that, sweet.

If ever, chrome rings perhaps will make it perfect :)

• SparC on Mar 14, 2012 at 4:13 pm

Good,

We are not going to see anything on the display except

Fuel, temperature,distance and the speed.

aren’t we?

So the design is ok, the information is ok. The rest want to add colour, stylish is not necessary

• zanggief on Mar 14, 2012 at 4:28 pm

why no optitron/led type of meter display happen in this model since it is the best ever proton build…come on proton should show this off to their rivals not this conventional lar…

• Izhar on Mar 14, 2012 at 4:40 pm

agak2 kalau modified sumbat kat wira boleh x??curve macam boleh masuk jer…

• Cheap and old fashioned looking metre, very sad indeed ;(

• policeman on Mar 14, 2012 at 6:58 pm

tacho and speedo like my old Iswara.

• wong ah yat on Mar 14, 2012 at 10:17 pm

speedo top at 240, wonder what is the top speed? 220?

• waja2006 on Mar 14, 2012 at 11:10 pm

Should be use color display on SD, event 2.5 inch 256 color display LCD also enough.
    maybe proton reserve for FL,

• fungsi utama meter tu untuk show information kt driver lah. kalau lawa sangat sampai tak tahu ape info nk ditunjuk tak guna juga. ok la it’s nice & simple, i like it. hope dapat tengok meter ni waktu malam, classy! btw IMO so far persona elegance punya meter paling cantik. :)

• Cheah Tat Cheong on Mar 15, 2012 at 10:57 am

Old Iswara lives again in the P3, hahahahaha!

• Superman on Mar 15, 2012 at 11:17 am

P3 21A was designed by Ital-Design and engineered by MAGNA Styer of Europe. it is a real global car and extremlet well made. I suggest all of you to test drive it and experience it before you make any comments. a new model for the P3 21A will be coming to you in the next 4 to 6 month and will blow your mind. trust me on this guys.

• unnon on Mar 15, 2012 at 6:12 pm

it’s simple and good-looking. and i like the font, this is the most fine font for the meter i think. ^^ . i’m gonna like this car a lot!

• Can not simply look at and then to determine the car’s quality is not good, because your information is limited. Most practical: drive it and you’ll know it.

• khairul on Nov 09, 2018 at 10:19 am

meter nie boleh masuk pada wira sedang ke tuan??